DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This communication is in response to the amendment filed on 5/1/2026 for the application No. 17/845,855, Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined. Claims 1-20 have been rejected as follow,.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being anticipated over claims 1, 7-8, 10-13 of US Patent No. 12,346,873.
Claims 1, 14 and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 12, 13 of Patent No. 12,346,873. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference claim anticipates the claims under examination.
Claim 10 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of Patent No. 12,346,873. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference claim anticipates the claims under examination.
Claim 11 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of Patent No. 12,346,873. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference claim anticipates the claims under examination.
Claim 12 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10 of Patent No. 12,346,873. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference claim anticipates the claims under examination.
Claim 13 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of Patent No. 12,346,873. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference claim anticipates the claims under examination.
Claims 2-9 and 16-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatenble over claims 1, 12, 13 of Patent No. 12,346,873 in view of US PG. Pub. No. 20180096417 (Cook) in view of US PG. Pub. No. 20100030518 (WEBER).
As to claims 2 and 16, independent claims of claims 1, 12, 13 of Patent No. 12,346,873 teaches all the limitations of independent claims 1, 14, 15 as indicated above. However it does not specifically teach, but Cook teaches wherein the frequency model comprises a parametric probability distribution function over the plurality of frequency values (paragraph 237. See also paragraph 41 and Fig. 13). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Cook’s teaching with the teaching of US Patent No. 12,346,873. One would have been motivated to provide functionality to combine or to group data in order to present aggregated data.
As to claims 3 and 17, independent claims of claims 1, 12, 13 of Patent No. 12,346,873 teaches all the limitations of independent claims 1, 14, 15 as indicated above. However it does not specifically teach, but WEBER teaches wherein the parametric probability distribution function is a linear combination of a plurality of constituent probability distribution functions, wherein each constituent probability distribution function defines a probability distribution over the plurality of frequency values (paragraphs 175 and 180). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate WEBER’s teaching with the teaching US Patent No. 12,346,873. One would have been motivated to provide functionality to combine or to group data in order to “optimizes the grouped data variance” (WEBER paragraph 175).
As to claims 4 and 18, independent claims of claims 1, 12, 13 of Patent No. 12,346,873 teaches all the limitations of independent claims 1, 14, 15 as indicated above. However it does not specifically teach,
where j indexes the constituent probability distribution functions, J is a number of constituent probability distribution functions, α is a set of parameters derived from the input transmission commitment, λ.sub.j defines parameters of the frequency model corresponding to constituent probability distribution function P.sub.j(⋅), each constituent probability distribution function P.sub.j(⋅) is parametrized by α.Math.λ.sub.j, each w.sub.j is a scaling factor corresponding to constituent probability distribution function P.sub.j(⋅), and C is a scaling factor derived from the input transmission commitment.
But WEBER discloses the components of the model (see at least abstract, claim 1, 7, 10 and 19 and paragraphs 175, 180, 219 ). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate WEBER’s teaching of capital sigma summation of values with a limit means to limit the sum of terms taught in (paragraphs 175 and 180 of WEBER); where j indexes the constituent probability distribution functions, J is a number of constituent probability distribution functions, taught in ( claim 1 ) and α is a set of parameters derived from the input transmission commitment taught in (claim 10R); λ.sub.j defines parameters of the frequency model corresponding to constituent probability distribution function P.sub.j(⋅), each constituent probability distribution function P.sub.j(⋅) is parametrized by α.Math.λ.sub.j, taught in, (paragraph 219); each w.sub.j is a scaling factor corresponding to constituent probability distribution function P.sub.j(⋅), and C is a scaling factor derived from the input transmission commitment, taught in, (claim 7 and claim 19), with the teaching of Patent No. 12,346,873. One would have been motivated to provide functionality to combine combined the elements as claimed by known methods as show above and that in combination, each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As to claims 5 and 19, independent claims of claims 1, 12, 13 of Patent No. 12,346,873 teaches all the limitations of independent claims 1, 14, 15 as indicated above. However it does not specifically teach
But WEBER discloses the components of the model:(claim 1, 10). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate WEBER’s teaching of j indexes publishers in the set of publishers, taught in claim 1 , α[j] is a j-th component of α,taught in claim 10 , with the teaching of Patent No. 12,346,873. One would have been motivated to provide functionality to combine the elements as claimed by known methods as show above and that in combination, each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As to claims 6 and 20, independent claims of claims 1, 12, 13 of Patent No. 12,346,873 teaches all the limitations of independent claims 1, 14, 15 as indicated above. However it does not specifically teach, but, WEBER discloses
wherein each constituent probability distribution function is a Poisson probability distribution function. (paragraph 293). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate WEBER’s teaching of ( in paragraph 293), with the teaching of Patent No. 12,346,873. One would have been motivated to provide functionality to combine the elements as claimed by known methods as show in WEBER paragraph 293 and the results of would have been predictable.
As to claim 7, independent claims of claims 1, 12, 13 of Patent No. 12,346,873 teaches all the limitations of independent claims 1, 14, 15 as indicated above. However it does not specifically teach, but, WEBER discloses
(i) a scaling factor of the constituent parametric probability distribution in the linear combination, (paragraph 83); (ii) a set of parameters of the constituent parametric probability distribution ( paragraph 59). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate WEBER’s teaching of “a set of parameters”, taught in paragraph 59), with the teaching of Patent No. 12,346,873. One would have been motivated to provide functionality to combine set of parameters as claimed in order to support different list of intervals for histograms (WEBER paragraph 59).
As to claims 8 and 9, independent claims of claims 1, 12, 13 of Patent No. 12,346,873 teaches all the limitations of independent claims 1, 14, 15 as indicated above. However it does not specifically teach, but, WEBER discloses
wherein the objective function is optimized subject to constraints requiring that: (i) each scaling factor is non-negative and (ii) a sum of the scaling factors results in a default value.( paragraph 72); and wherein the default value is 1. ( paragraph 72). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate WEBER’s teaching with the teaching of Patent No. 12,346,873 . One would have been motivated to provide functionality to stablish constrains such as positive scaling factors and default value for scaling factors or sum of scaling factors in order to support different histogram appearances(see WEBER paragraph 79).
Examiner’s Note
It is well known in prior art that L1 and L2 are loss functions to measure the error between predicted and actual values. L1 (Least Absolute Deviations) computes the sum of absolute difference, and L2 (Least Squares) computes the sum of squared differences.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claims 1-20 are not compliant with 101, according with the last “2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance” (2019 PEG), published in the MPEP 2103 through 2106.07(c). Examiner’s analysis is presented below for all the claims
As to claim 1, Step 1 of 2019 PGE, does the claim fall within a Statutory Category? Yes. The claim recites a method.
Step 2A - Prong 1: Is a Judicial Exception recited in the claim? Yes. The claim recites the limitations of “ generating a frequency model based on the plurality of observed frequency histograms, wherein: the frequency model is a parametric model parameterized by a set of model parameters, the frequency model is configured to process an input defining an input transmission commitment to generate an output that defines a predicted frequency histogram corresponding to the input transmission commitment, and generating the frequency model comprises training the set of model parameters of the frequency model, using a numerical optimization technique, to optimize an objective function that depends on the observed frequency histograms; and in response to receiving the request: generating a predicted frequency histogram for the target transmission commitment using the frequency model; and generating one or more predictions characterizing the target transmission commitment using the predicted frequency histogram”
The “generating ” limitation, as drafted, is a process and system that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations as certain methods of organizing human activity, advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors. A method for predicting reach and frequency of digital component transmissions. Thus, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A - Prong 2: Integrated into a Practical Application? No. The claim recites additional limitations, such as,
“obtaining a plurality of observed frequency histograms that each correspond to a respective observed transmission commitment, wherein: a transmission commitment corresponds to a subset of publishers from a set of publishers and specifies, for each publisher in the subset publishers, a number of transmissions of a digital component by way of the publisher, and a frequency histogram corresponding to the transmission commitment defines, for each of a plurality of frequency values, a respective number of users who received a number of transmissions of the digital component given by the frequency value when the digital component is transmitted in accordance with the transmission commitment…receiving a request to predict a frequency histogram for a target transmission commitment corresponding to a target subset of publishers; “These are limitations toward accessing or receiving data. It is merely gathering data.
The Examiner analyses other supplementary elements in the claim in view of the instant disclosure: “one or more computers”. The limitation comprises generic recited computer elements.
The use of a “one or more computers; for each of the plurality of the observed frequency histograms, measures an error between (i) a predicted frequency histogram generated using the frequency model, and (ii) the observed frequency histogram; transmitting the digital component from a server to a plurality of remotely located user devices over a data communications network, comprising: limiting transmission of the digital component based at least in part on the one or more predictions characterizing the target transmission commitment to reduce a likelihood of exceeding a target reach for transmissions of the digital component” is not sufficient to integrate the abstract idea because it merely reflects the use of conventional technology, and software comprising business rules. The claim amounts to only generally linking the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment. MPEP 2106.05(h).
The combination of these additional elements can also be considered no more than mere instructions “to apply” the exception, See MPEP 2106.05(f).
The Examiner gives the broadest reasonable interpretation to the above elements. They are insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claim as a whole does not integrate the method of organizing human activity into a practical application. Thus, the claim is ineligible because is directed to the recited judicial exception (abstract idea).
Step 2B : claim provides an inventive concept? No.
As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements in the claim,
“one or more computers; for each of the plurality of the observed frequency histograms, measures an error between (i) a predicted frequency histogram generated using the frequency model, and (ii) the observed frequency histogram; transmitting the digital component from a server to a plurality of remotely located user devices over a data communications network, comprising: limiting transmission of the digital component based at least in part on the one or more predictions characterizing the target transmission commitment to reduce a likelihood of exceeding a target reach for transmissions of the digital component” amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception. i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception using generic hardware and software cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
Under the 2019 PEG, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B.
Here, the limitations: “one or more computers; for each of the plurality of the observed frequency histograms, measures an error between (i) a predicted frequency histogram generated using the frequency model, and (ii) the observed frequency histogram; transmitting the digital component from a server to a plurality of remotely located user devices over a data communications network, comprising: limiting transmission of the digital component based at least in part on the one or more predictions characterizing the target transmission commitment to reduce a likelihood of exceeding a target reach for transmissions of the digital component” were considered to be extra-solution activity in Step 2A, and thus it is re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if it is more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field.
Other limitations in the claim, such as:
“obtaining a plurality of observed frequency histograms that each correspond to a respective observed transmission commitment, wherein: a transmission commitment corresponds to a subset of publishers from a set of publishers and specifies, for each publisher in the subset publishers, a number of transmissions of a digital component by way of the publisher, and a frequency histogram corresponding to the transmission commitment defines, for each of a plurality of frequency values, a respective number of users who received a number of transmissions of the digital component given by the frequency value when the digital component is transmitted in accordance with the transmission commitment…receiving a request to predict a frequency histogram for a target transmission commitment corresponding to a target subset of publishers; “These are limitations toward accessing or receiving data (gathering data). Accessing or receiving data is very well understood, routine and conventional computer task activity; It represents insignificant extra solution activity. Mere data-gathering step[s] cannot make an otherwise nonstaturory claim statutory In re Grams,888 F.2d 835, 840 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (quoting In re Meyer, 688 F.2d 789, 794 (CCPA 1982)).
Further, the instant specification does not provide any indication that the elements
“one or more computers; for each of the plurality of the observed frequency histograms, measures an error between (i) a predicted frequency histogram generated using the frequency model, and (ii) the observed frequency histogram; transmitting the digital component from a server to a plurality of remotely located user devices over a data communications network, comprising: limiting transmission of the digital component based at least in part on the one or more predictions characterizing the target transmission commitment to reduce a likelihood of exceeding a target reach for transmissions of the digital component” are anything other than generic software and hardware, and the “i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information)” and the OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); court decisions cited in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that merely computer receives and sends information over a network and presenting or displaying information, is a well‐understood, routine, conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here).
Accordingly, a conclusion that the “one or more computers; for each of the plurality of the observed frequency histograms, measures an error between (i) a predicted frequency histogram generated using the frequency model, and (ii) the observed frequency histogram; transmitting the digital component from a server to a plurality of remotely located user devices over a data communications network, comprising: limiting transmission of the digital component based at least in part on the one or more predictions characterizing the target transmission commitment to reduce a likelihood of exceeding a target reach for transmissions of the digital component” limitations (pointed above) are well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer Option 2. The claim is ineligible.
Claim 14: Step 1 of 2019 PGE, does the claim fall within a Statutory Category? Yes. The claim recites a system.
Step 2A - Prong 1: Is a Judicial Exception recited in the claim ? Yes. Because the same reasons pointed above.
Step 2A - Prong 2: Integrated into a Practical Application? No. Because the same reasons pointed above.
Step 2B : claim provides an inventive concept? No. Because the same reasons pointed above. The claim is ineligible.
Claim 15: Step 1 of 2019 PGE, does the claim fall within a Statutory Category? Yes. The claim recites a computer storage media .
Step 2A - Prong 1: Is a Judicial Exception recited in the claim ? Yes. Because the same reasons pointed above.
Step 2A - Prong 2: Integrated into a Practical Application? No. Because the same reasons pointed above.
Step 2B : claim provides an inventive concept? No. Because the same reasons pointed above. The claim is ineligible.
Dependent claims 2-13 and 16-20, the claims recite elements such as “wherein the frequency model comprises a parametric probability distribution function over the plurality of frequency values”, etc. These elements do not integrate the system of organizing human activity into a practical application. The claims are ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 10, 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by US PG. Pub. No. 20180096417 (Cook).
As to claims 1, 14 and 15: Cook discloses a method performed by one or more computers, the method comprising: (see in Cook objects that are items for recommendation, (“an object recommendation channel”, abstract , Fig. 1 and associated disclosure. See also at least Fig. 18, “[0046] FIG. 18 is a landscape view of a GUI for object discovery after a purchase of an object,…”, paragraph 46. See also signal provider or seller and signal user, paragraph 65 and Fig. 4.
Cook discloses transmission commitment called signal, “[0087] In the virtual marketplace, purchases of signals are tracked by the owners, sellers, and external observations within the remote server computer, and in the signals marketplace. Signal information is assigned a unique identifier so that it can be properly routed between buyer and seller within active agreements. Tracking of signal performance occurs through feedback obtained by observers, which may include buyers, sellers, publishers, retailers, consumers…”, paragraph 87 and Fig. 4.
“[0199] Additionally, in one embodiment, the present invention is utilized as an improvement in the technical field of advertising. The present invention relates to methods and systems for quantitative collaborative cognition in advertising, which is an improvement in the field of advertising. More preferably, the present invention provides for indexing, discovery, attribution, optimization, and forecasting in advertising. In one embodiment, the present invention utilizes signals for quantitative collaborative cognition in advertising. Quantitative collaborative cognition has not been used in the technical field of advertising, and thus is an improvement in the technical field of advertising. Advantageously, the present invention allows for network learning and identification and discovery of heterogeneous data held remotely by a multitude of participants in a way that protects the integrity of the data…”, paragraph 199);
a) obtaining a plurality of observed frequency histograms that each correspond to a respective observed transmission commitment, wherein:
(Cook discloses transmission commitment called signal,“0237] The Graphical User Interface provides a central three dimensional interactive fly through in a central data view area. In Set Up mode the data view shows the univariate frequency histogram of the currently highlighted signal, plus any peripheral data that the Signal Seller may wish to provide and the Signal Buyer is permissioned to receive via the Federated Data Platform. In Sensitivity mode the full set of frequency histograms for the selected set of signals is displayed. In Test Market mode, the p-tuple of signal values for each individual consumer provided by the Signal Seller is plotted….”, paragraph 237.
See also
Cook discloses transmission commitment called signal, “[0037] FIG. 12A shows a Set Up Process for Example (Targeted Marketing), showing how a multiplicity of Signal Sellers, Signal Buyers and objects or messages can be accommodated”, paragraph 37.
“…The signal construct defines the source, the destination, the delivery channel, the method for securing the data, the agreement under which the data is exchanged, a transaction identifier, a transaction time, information necessary to confirm receipt, template which describe the message type, and the payload of the message…”, paragraph 94.
“…FIG. 13 shows a Graphical User Interface for such an application. In this application, a multiplicity of signals from a multiplicity of Signal Sellers and a multiplicity of marketing messages is created and delivered in a Signal Buyer's application. While the example shows a Graphical User Interface for a single Signal Buyer's application, it can be appreciated that the invention would accommodate a multiplicity of such applications for a multiplicity of Signal Buyers”, paragraph 231 and Fig. 13.
“[0232] This Graphical User Interface provides an area for the Signal Buyer's application operator to enter a multiplicity of Marketing Messages for a Campaign. By engaging the “Add New . . . ” button in the Marketing Messages area, the Signal Buyer's application is invoked. The text field containing a title for each Marketing Message as well as Benefits and Costs associated with each Marketing Message contained in the Signal Buyer's application are passed to the Analytics Module and redisplayed, and control is returned to this Graphical User Interface. Within this Graphical User Interface the user can select or de-select the marketing messages, which is performed using check boxes in one embodiment of the invention. For selected messages a tag is displayed by the system”, paragraph 232 and Fig. 13.
“[0064] The present invention also provides for at least one correlation engine operable in conjunction with neural network services within the object behavior estimator and object state estimator for discovering relevant signals toward an object and/or a behavior objective through a neural network (FIG. 3) operating within a distributed signals environment, as illustrated in FIG. 2. By way of example and not limitation, historically when a person (Joe) travels to Chicago he has historically flown by United Airlines, stays at a Marriott, and eats at a steak chain restaurant for dinner. This information is held by many signal sellers such as airlines, credit card companies, hotel chains, mobile phone companies, etc. Thus the object Joe has behaviors that are correlated to travel to Chicago. In this example, the airline observer would correlate their historical travel data on passenger travel to Chicago for object Joe and return information regarding the recency and frequency of Joe's travel to Chicago. An object behavior estimator [Examiner interprets also that an objects behavior , can be expressed as frequency histograms ]could further predict the future travel based not only on an airline observer's historical data
, …. To summarize, the statistical machines within the data correlation engines and the estimators provide correlation of internal data to external objects and behaviors, and the reputations of the source. These systems follow the pattern of a neural network and allow for prediction of future state and behavior to external stimuli, with internal information protected by the signals construct”, paragraph 64 and Figs. 2-5 and associated disclosure.
“[0095] Buyer Initiated Behavior Signal (BIBS). Behavior signals [Examiner interprets as observed transmission commitment] are published by sellers which observe object behavior. For a given buyer initiated behavior signal, the buyer of a behavior signal requests behavior signal from seller for a given event, object or category of objects. The content of the seller's signal is based upon an historical interaction with one or more events, objects or activities that correspond to the behavior of an object. To obtain the seller's signal, the buyer must provide a reference point for the seller to create the behavior signal. In this model it is the request of the buyer triggers the exchange of data. For a given reference point, the seller's signal describes a behavior such and such information as the recency and the frequency of the behavior. By way of example and not limitation, a behavior name is illustrated by “Travel-To [Variable]”. The buyer initiates the request and seeds the reference point variable for the signal. Each buyer could pay a different price depending on the value they derive from the signal”, paragraph 95);
b) a transmission commitment corresponds to a subset of publishers from a set of publishers
(Cook discloses transmission commitment called signal, “[0087] In the virtual marketplace, purchases of signals are tracked by the owners, sellers, and external observations within the remote server computer, and in the signals marketplace. Signal information is assigned a unique identifier so that it can be properly routed between buyer and seller within active agreements. Tracking of signal performance occurs through feedback obtained by observers, which may include buyers, sellers, publishers, retailers, consumers…”, paragraph 87 and Fig. 4),
and specifies, for each publisher in the subset publishers, a number of transmissions of a digital component by way of the publisher,
(“[0096] Buyer Initiated Event Signal (BIES). Event signals are published by sellers which observe events. For a given buyer initiated event signal, the buyer of an event signal requests objects, or categories of objects from seller that have a relationship to a given event. The content of the seller's signal is based upon an historical interaction with one or more events, objects or activities that correspond to an event. To obtain the seller's signal, the buyer must provide a reference point for the seller to create the event signal. In this model it is the request of the buyer triggers the exchange of data. A signal request is initiated by the buyer asking the seller if a given reference event has occurred. The signal response can contain information on the event, objects within the event, recency, frequency, location, as well as specifics surrounding the event. By way of example and not limitation, consider “movie purchases in Cincinnati Ohio in last five minutes” as a signal request of this type, each buyer could pay a different price depending on the value they derive from the signal”, paragraph 96-100.
“[0219] The Signal Seller then provides the total number of individuals available for message delivery and the Signal Buyer selects the number of individuals to which they wish to deliver the message….”, paragraph 219);
c) and a frequency histogram corresponding to the transmission commitment defines,
(“[0237] The Graphical User Interface provides a central three dimensional interactive fly through in a central data view area. In Set Up mode the data view shows the univariate frequency histogram of the currently highlighted signal, plus any peripheral data that the Signal Seller may wish to provide and the Signal Buyer is permissioned to receive via the Federated Data Platform. In Sensitivity mode the full set of frequency histograms for the selected set of signals is displayed. In Test Market mode, the p-tuple of signal values for each individual consumer provided by the Signal Seller is plotted. In this example the axes are the first three signal values, tagged as x.sub.1, x.sub.2 and x.sub.3 in the figure. The estimated probability density function can be shown for the targeted audience for each marketing message….”, paragraph 237),
for each of a plurality of frequency values, a respective number of users who received a number of transmissions of the digital component given by the frequency value when the digital component is transmitted in accordance with the transmission commitment;
(“[0219] The Signal Seller then provides the total number of individuals available for message delivery and the Signal Buyer selects the number of individuals to which they wish to deliver the message [Examiner interprets as a respective number of users who received a number of transmissions of the digital component ]. In the Analytics Module this deterministic decision to send the message to an entire list of n individuals by the Mavens is accommodated by setting the estimated distribution function value to 1 for any individual's signal value of X for each Responder, and to 0 for the Non-Responder. This will cause the Analytics Module to initially classify each individual on the list as a Responder [frequency value ] and indicate that each individual should be contacted. Notably, the Analytics Module informs Signal Users which individuals should be contacted…. In one embodiment, a Sender Module contacts the individuals directly. The net effect is that the n of N individuals comprise a test market by which the ƒ.sub.k(X) can be empirically obtained by federating the response obtained [frequency value ] by the Signal Buyer from the n individuals with any numeric value in the Signal for those n individuals as supplied by the Signal Seller. The Responders and non-Responders are segregated into separate samples and the response rate calculated. …”, paragraph 219)
d) generating a frequency model based on the plurality of observed frequency histograms, wherein:
(Cook teaches constructing a model and forecast process for one message or signal, Figs 11 and for a suit of messages Figs. 12, paragraphs 33-40, “…The outcomes of the step of catenating the training samples in step 449 are reported as outcomes in step 447 to the signal provider 201 and reported as outcomes to the signal user in step 451. In step 453, the number of responders are identified as n.sub.1. In step 455, the number of non-responders are identified as n.sub.2. Step 457 includes determining a signal value for each signal. If there is no signal value, the process moves to step 459 which includes ending the process. However, if there is signal value, the process continues to FIG. 11C.”, paragraph 220 and Figs. 11A, 11B and 11C and associated disclosure. See also Figs. 12A, 12B, 12C and 12C and associated disclosure.
“…FIG. 13 shows a Graphical User Interface for such an application. In this application, a multiplicity of signals from a multiplicity of Signal Sellers and a multiplicity of marketing messages is created and delivered in a Signal Buyer's application. While the example shows a Graphical User Interface for a single Signal Buyer's application, it can be appreciated that the invention would accommodate a multiplicity of such applications for a multiplicity of Signal Buyers….”, paragraph 231 and “[0237] The Graphical User Interface provides a central three dimensional interactive fly through in a central data view area. In Set Up mode the data view shows the univariate frequency histogram of the currently highlighted signal, plus any peripheral data that the Signal Seller may wish to provide and the Signal Buyer is permissioned to receive via the Federated Data Platform. In Sensitivity mode the full set of frequency histograms for the selected set of signals is displayed. In Test Market mode, the p-tuple of signal values for each individual consumer provided by the Signal Seller is plotted. In this example the axes are the first three signal values, tagged as x.sub.1, x.sub.2 and x.sub.3 in the figure. The estimated probability density function can be shown for the targeted audience for each marketing message…”, paragraph 237);
e) the frequency model is a parametric model parameterized by a set of model parameters,
(Cook’s model parameters “… each data owner in control of rules and parameters for the release of information to approved buyers; allowing the centralized market to manage rules during the exchange and provide for clearing and settlement of federated data (signals) for multiple participants and/or multiple federated data sources…”, paragraph 116.
“[0163] After defining the signals to sell, and registering their corresponding rules and constraints, signals information is exchanged within the virtual signal marketplace. There are five primary data flows between a signal provider and the signal marketplace or signal exchange, including:…., input parameters (e.g., destination city, campaign type, price offered (per item and per success), time, expiry time, minimum fill, maximum, settlement….”, paragraph 163.
“…The net effect is that the n of N individuals comprise a test market by which the ƒ.sub.k(X) can be empirically obtained by federating the response obtained by the Signal Buyer from the n individuals with any numeric value in the Signal for those n individuals as supplied by the Signal Seller. …”, paragraph 219.
“[0315] For each pair wise relationship, the signal marketplace platform enables optimization of the objectives of both the signal buyer and signal seller, subject to constraints such as privacy, budget, or policy. This defines how a “signal” component is constructed using unstructured data and those necessary and sufficient structured data components to instantiate and complete a transaction. The peripheral structured data often become parameters of the rules management capabilities of the “commerce” component to provide context to the “signal” component”, paragraph 315);
f) the frequency model is configured to process an input defining an input transmission commitment to generate an output that defines a predicted frequency histogram corresponding to the input transmission commitment,
(see “[0032] FIG. 10 shows a Multiplicity of Signal Providers and Signal Users [Examiner equates as an input defining an input transmission commitment ] , each capable of fielding numerous instances for an open data market”, paragraph 32, Fig. 10 and associated disclosure.
“[0037] FIG. 12A shows a Set Up Process for Example (Targeted Marketing), showing how a multiplicity of Signal Sellers, Signal Buyers and objects or messages can be accommodated”, paragraph 37 and Fig. 12A.
“0237] The Graphical User Interface provides a central three dimensional interactive fly through in a central data view area. In Set Up mode the data view shows the univariate frequency histogram of the currently highlighted signal, plus any peripheral data that the Signal Seller may wish to provide and the Signal Buyer is permissioned to receive via the Federated Data Platform. In Sensitivity mode the full set of frequency histograms for the selected set of signals is displayed. In Test Market mode, the p-tuple of signal values for each individual consumer provided by the Signal Seller is plotted”, “frequency histogram of the currently highlighted signal”, paragraph 237 and Fig. 13 ),
g) and generating the frequency model comprises training the set of model parameters of the frequency model, using a numerical optimization technique, to optimize an objective function
(Cook teaches training the set of model parameters, “[0038] FIG. 12B illustrates a Test Market Process for Example 2 (Targeted Marketing), showing how a test market including n of N individuals by which the ƒ.sub.k(X) can be empirically obtained by federating the response obtained by the Signal Buyer from the n individuals with any numeric value in the Signal for those n individuals as supplied by the Signal Seller.
[0039] FIG. 12C shows a Training Process for Example 2 (Targeted Marketing”, paragraphs 38-39. paragraph 237 and Fig. 13.
“[0315] For each pair wise relationship, the signal marketplace platform enables optimization of the objectives of both the signal buyer and signal seller, subject to constraints such as privacy, budget, or policy. This defines how a “signal” component is constructed using unstructured data and those necessary and sufficient structured data components to instantiate and complete a transaction….”, paragraph 315.
Cook teaches using a numerical optimization technique, “Specifically, one embodiment of the present invention is directed to a method of instantiating a multiplicity of marketing campaigns in a federated data marketplace to provide for collaborative attribution, optimization, and forecasting through a graphical user interface (GUI) including providing at least two signals through a federated data marketplace using the GUI on a computing device connected over a communication network with a server including the federated data marketplace, estimating at least one probability density function using the at least two signals, wherein the at least one probability density function is based on a probability of at least one action of at least two users corresponding to at least two signals in response to at least one advertisement or at least one offer, paragraph 199.
See also
“[0210] FIG. 8 provides an illustration of the method by which gain and loss for the federated constituencies are accommodated by the system for one signal provider and one signal user. The individual receiving the offer from the signal user will either respond or not respond. Therefore, the categories are: θ.sub.1=Responder and θ.sub.2=Non Responder. The vertical axis is f(x) 101. The horizontal axis 103 is the numeric value of the signal associated with the individual to which the offer is to be delivered. In this illustration the f.sub.k(X) are non-Gaussian with distortions to the familiar bell-shaped graph. The method will work for any valid mathematical model for f.sub.k(X) or derivation thereof. Shown are the estimated probability density function [Examiner equates as generating the frequency model ] for the Non-Responder population 105 and the estimated probability density function for the Responder population 107 [Examiner equates as generating the frequency model ] ….”, paragraph 210 and Fig. 8.
“….In Sensitivity mode the full set of frequency histograms for the selected set of signals is displayed. In Test Market mode, the p-tuple of signal values for each individual consumer provided by the Signal Seller is plotted”, paragraph 237 and Fig. 13. See also
“[0104] The present invention provides methods for creating signals or indicators by corresponding signal owners, the method steps performed by a signal owner includes: constructing at least one signal associated with a behavior of an object and/or an activity and/or an event associated with the object in a signal owner computer that is constructed and configured for network-based communication with a remote server computer, wherein the value of the signals is controlled by the seller and based upon at least two factors associated with each value, the at least two factors selected from the group consisting of: event, object state, change in state, behavior of an object, relationship to another object, relationship to a behavior, economic indicators, relevance to an objective, near-real-timeliness, frequency, recency, predictive accuracy, fidelity, reputation of the signal, reputation of the seller, affinity to a target, usefulness to an objective, and combinations thereof; generating a first value for each of the at least one signal; and tracking usage of the at least one signal. Also, the at least one signal provides a feedback corresponding to the behavior, activity, and/or the event…”, paragraph 104);
that for each of the plurality of observed frequency histograms;
measures an error between (i) a predicted frequency histogram generated using the frequency model, and (ii) the observed frequency histogram;
(Cook’s system comprises an algorithm to calculate an error, “…The algorithm works in a two-step process. In the prediction step, the Kalman filter produces estimates of the current state variables, along with their uncertainties. Once the outcome of the next measurement (necessarily corrupted with some amount of error, including random noise) is observed, these estimates are updated using a weighted average, with more weight being given to estimates with higher certainty. The method utilizes various mathematical multivariate structural time series models and applies Kalman filters where appropriate. The mathematical multivariate structural time series models are enormously powerful tools which open the way to handling a wide range of data. A strong feature of time series models used in conjunction with state-space models is the usage of an algorithm for filtering, smoothing and predicting. A state-space model is a two-layer model. An external layer involves an observed process ‘y’. This process is assumed to follow a measurement equation”, paragraphs 72 and “computation of the error in estimation”, paragraph 78);
h) receiving a request to predict a frequency histogram for a target transmission commitment corresponding to a target subset of publishers;
(“…In the Analytics Module of one embodiment of the present invention, a Signal User samples n individuals from a population of N individuals from the Signal Providers. The expected outcome for each individual (Respond and Non-Respond) is calculated from the estimated density functions [Examiner equates as receiving a request to predict a frequency histogram], and the actual result is observed…”, paragraph 195. See also “…The present invention relates to methods and systems for quantitative collaborative cognition in advertising, which is an improvement in the field of advertising. More preferably, the present invention provides for indexing, discovery, attribution, optimization, and forecasting in advertising…”, paragraph 199.
“[0215] FIG. 9 shows a generalized method and object model for a multiplicity of signal providers and users. Actions occur between a signal provider 201 and a signal user 203 via a system 205. The signal provider 201 provides a set of signals 207 and an initial loss function l(θ.sub.i) 209. The signal user 203 configures a campaign [Examiner equates as receiving a request to predict a frequency histogram for a target transmission commitment ] by specifying the number of categories of offers 225. The signal user further configures the elements of a loss function l(θ.sub.r) 223 and then selects a subset of signals 211 from the set of signals 207 through the system 205. Preferably, the selection is made through a Graphical User Interface or an Application Interface…”, paragraph 215 and Fig. 9.
“…The signal provider 201 forecasts the report in step 473. The signal user 203 forecasts the report in step 477. Step 479 includes determining a profit according to how predictive the model was…”, paragraph 221 and Fig. 9 );
i) and in response to receiving the request: generating a predicted frequency histogram for the target transmission commitment using the frequency model;
(See also Figs. 12A, 12B, 12C and 12C and associated disclosure);
(“0037] FIG. 12A shows a Set Up Process for Example (Targeted Marketing), showing how a multiplicity of Signal Sellers, Signal Buyers and objects or messages can be accommodated …”, paragraph 0037.
“0226] In the Analytics Module this deterministic decision to send the message to an entire list of n individuals is accommodated by setting the estimated distribution function value to 1 for each Responder, and to 0 for the Non-Responder [Examiner equates as in response to receiving the request: generating a predicted frequency histogram ]…”, paragraph 226.
“….In Sensitivity mode the full set of frequency histograms for the selected set of signals is displayed. In Test Market mode, the p-tuple of signal values for each individual consumer provided by the Signal Seller is plotted”, paragraph 237 and Fig. 13);
j) and generating one or more predictions characterizing the target transmission commitment using the predicted frequency histogram.
(“….FIG. 11C is a continuation of the process began in FIGS. 11A and 11B and shows the model fit and forecast process for Example 1. X, a vector of signals for an individual to be classified, is set equal to a signal value in step 461. In process step 463, the functional form for the probability density function ƒ(x) ….. Process step 465 includes estimating μ.sub.1, σ.sub.1.sup.2 for the probability density function of responders (ƒ.sub.1(x)). Process step 467 includes estimating μ.sub.2, σ.sub.2.sup.2 for the probability density function of non-responders (ƒ.sub.2(x)). In process step 469, the decision for X is calculated for all individuals (d(x) for all n.sub.i D). The Benefit/Cost Matrix B is applied in step 475. The signal provider 201 forecasts the report [generating one or more predictions ]in step 473…”, paragraph 221.
“..[0237] The Graphical User Interface provides a central three dimensional interactive fly through in a central data view area. In Set Up mode the data view shows the univariate frequency histogram of the currently highlighted signal [Examiner equates as generating one or more predictions]. , plus any peripheral data that the Signal Seller may wish to provide and the Signal Buyer is permissioned to receive via the Federated Data Platform. In Sensitivity mode the full set of frequency histograms for the selected set of signals is displayed [Examiner equates as generating one or more predictions]. …”, paragraph 237. See also paragraph 41 and Fig. 13).
k) transmitting the digital component from a server to a plurality of remotely located user devices over a data communications network, comprising:
(…”[0063] Referring now to the figures, in particular, FIG. 1, FIG. 2, and FIG. 3, at least one distributed data correlation engine 360 is illustrated for processing signals from at least one source 370, 380 within a system having at least one buyer 100 and at least one feedback from a behavior measurement 600 to provide toward a specific objective (such as, by way of example and not limitation, an advertising campaign). …”, paragraph 63 and Figs 1-3),
limiting transmission of the digital component based at least in part on the one or more predictions characterizing the target transmission commitment
(“[0088] The present invention also provides an embodiment including a method for creating and using a virtual marketplace for valuing and selling signals generated from distributed data sources that are controlled by a multiplicity of owners, the method steps including: providing at least one signal from a first data source and at least one signal from a second data source to a remote server computer for a signal marketplace or exchange; wherein the signals originate from different distributed data sources controlled by different owners and the signals are indexed and listed in a centralized database and each of the indexed signals is linked to corresponding relational databases; and wherein a value for each centralized indexed signal is automatically generated by the remote server computer associated with the seller where terms of use have been agreed. The value of the signals is controlled by the seller and based upon at least …., frequency, recency, predictive accuracy, …and/or limiting signal availability based upon a rules engine that automatically considers buyer agreement [Examiner interprets as limiting transmission of the digital component based at least in part on the one or more predictions ], identity, campaign type, signal requested, price, redemption signal type, purchase quantity, past performance of signal, past performance of campaign type, past performance of buyer; automatically correlating how the value of the information decays over time and with respect to relevance to the objective; and combinations thereof”, paragraph 88.
“..after constructing signals, their distribution or sale to buyers is controlled by the signal owner and rules governing seller signals or owner signals that provide for limiting signal availability based upon a rules engine that automatically considers buyer identity, campaign type, signal requested, price, redemption signal type, purchase quantity, past performance of signal, past performance of campaign type, past performance of buyer, and combinations thereof. The rules engine resides within a remote computer of the signal seller and is communicated through a distributed network, either directly and/or within a virtual marketplace having a centralized rules engine governing the management of the exchange of signals for a multiplicity of signal sellers and signal buyers”, paragraph 100.
“[0219] The Signal Seller then provides the total number of individuals available for message delivery and the Signal Buyer selects the number of individuals to which they wish to deliver the message [Examiner interprets as a respective number of users who received a number of transmissions of the digital component ].”, paragraph 219.
“[0134] Method of governing exchange of consumer information within a data marketplace that is dependent on consumer permission and consumer defined fees 550-200. [0135] Rules governing the exchange of signals in a marketplace 200”, paragraphs 134-135. [0154] Method restraining signal exchange through rules based upon local laws of each transaction participant”, paragraphs 154 and 163),
to reduce a likelihood of exceeding a target reach for transmissions of the digital component. (“Signal Buyer selects the number of individuals to which they wish to deliver the message”, paragraph 219.
The Examiner notes that limitation “to reduce a likelihood of exceeding a target …”, is considered intended use, reference is provided for the sake of compact prosecution).
As to claim 14: it comprises the same limitations than claim 1 above, therefore is rejected in similar manner. Further the claim comprises
one or more computers; (see at least Figs. 1 and 6 and associated disclosure); and one or more storage devices communicatively coupled to the one or more computers, wherein the one or more storage devices store instructions that, when executed by the one or more computers, cause the one or more computers to perform operations (see Fig. 1 and associated disclosure).
As to claim 15: it comprises the same limitations than claim 1 above, therefore is rejected in similar manner. Further the claim comprises
One or more non-transitory computer storage media storing instructions that when executed by one or more computers cause the one or more computers to perform operations (see Fig. 1 and associated disclosure).
As to claims 2 and 16: Cook discloses
wherein the frequency model comprises a parametric probability distribution function over the plurality of frequency values.
(See “…a frequency of use of the object…”, paragraph 19.
See at least “… each data owner in control of rules and parameters for the release of information to approved buyers; allowing the centralized market to manage rules during the exchange and provide for clearing and settlement of federated data (signals) for multiple participants and/or multiple federated data sources…”, paragraph 116.
“[0163] After defining the signals to sell, and registering their corresponding rules and constraints, signals information is exchanged within the virtual signal marketplace. There are five primary data flows between a signal provider and the signal marketplace or signal exchange, including:…., input parameters (e.g., destination city, campaign type, price offered (per item and per success), time, expiry time, minimum fill, maximum, settlement….”, paragraph 163.
“..[0237] The Graphical User Interface provides a central three dimensional interactive fly through in a central data view area . In Set Up mode the data view shows the univariate frequency histogram of the currently highlighted signal, plus any peripheral data that the Signal Seller may wish to provide and the Signal Buyer is permissioned to receive via the Federated Data Platform. In Sensitivity mode the full set of frequency histograms for the selected set of signals is displayed…”, paragraph 237. See also paragraph 41 and Fig. 13).
As to claims 10: Cook discloses
wherein for each of the plurality of observed frequency histograms, the objective function measures an error between: (i) a predicted frequency histogram generated by processing data defining the observed transmission commitment corresponding to the predicted frequency histogram using the frequency model, and
(“[0030] FIG. 8 provides an illustration of the method by which gain and loss for the federated constituencies are accommodated by the system for a Signal Provider and a Signal User”, paragraph 30, Fig. 8 and associated disclosure.
“0210] FIG. 8 provides an illustration of the method by which gain and loss for the federated constituencies are accommodated by the system for one signal provider and one signal user. The individual receiving the offer from the signal user [Examiner interprets a predicted frequency histogram generated by processing data defining the observed transmission commitment ] will either respond or not respond. Therefore, the categories are: θ.sub.1=Responder and θ.sub.2=Non Responder. The vertical axis is f(x) 101. The horizontal axis 103 is the numeric value of the signal associated with the individual to which the offer is to be delivered [a predicted frequency histogram generated by processing data defining the observed transmission commitment]”, paragraph 210);
(ii) the observed frequency histogram.
(“0210] FIG. 8 provides an illustration of the method by which gain and loss for the federated constituencies are accommodated by the system for one signal provider and one signal user. The individual receiving the offer from the signal user will either respond or not respond. Therefore, the categories are: θ.sub.1=Responder and θ.sub.2=Non Responder.[Examiner interprets as the observed frequency histogram] ….”, FIG. 8 paragraph 210).
As to claims 12: Cook discloses
wherein generating one or more predictions characterizing the target transmission commitment using the predicted frequency histogram comprises: generating a prediction for a number of users that will receive a specified number of transmissions of the digital component under the target transmission commitment.
(“[0037] FIG. 12A shows a Set Up Process for Example (Targeted Marketing), showing how a multiplicity of Signal Sellers, Signal Buyers and objects or messages can be accommodated. See element 605 [number of users that will receive a specified number of transmissions of the digital component].
[0038] FIG. 12B illustrates a Test Market Process for Example 2 (Targeted Marketing), showing how a test market including n of N individuals by which the ƒ.sub.k(X) can be empirically obtained by federating the response obtained by the Signal Buyer from the n individuals with any numeric value in the Signal for those n individuals as supplied by the Signal Seller.
[0039] FIG. 12C shows a Training Process for Example 2 (Targeted Marketing).
[0040] FIG. 12D shows Deployment & Attribution for Example 2 (Targeted Marketing)”, paragraphs 37-40 and Figs. 12A-D and associated disclosure).
As to claims 13: Cook discloses
wherein generating one or more predictions characterizing the target transmission commitment using the predicted frequency histogram comprises: generating a prediction for a total number of users that will receive at least one transmission of the digital component under the target transmission commitment.
(“[0033] FIG. 11A shows a set up process for Signal Sellers and Signal Buyers for Example 1. See element 407 [users that will receive at least one transmission ].
[0034] FIG. 11B illustrates a Broadcast for Example 1 showing a Marketplace Process with Feedback Loop, including a test market including n of N individuals by which the ƒ.sub.k(X) can be empirically obtained by federating the response obtained by the Signal Buyer from the n individuals with any numeric value in the Signal for those n individuals as supplied by the Signal Seller.
[0035] FIG. 11C illustrates a Model Fit and Forecast Process for Example 1, with the estimated mean and standard deviation calculated to fit the model for the n.sub.1 Responders and the n.sub.2 Non-Responders.
[0036] FIG. 11D shows a Deployment & Attribution Process for Example 1”, paragraphs 33-35 and Figs. 11A-D and associated disclosure).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-9 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PG. Pub. No. 20180096417 (Cook) in view of US PG. Pub. No. 20100030518 (WEBER).
As to claims 3 and 17: Cook discloses
wherein the parametric probability distribution function is a linear [combination of a plurality of constituent probability distribution functions], wherein each constituent probability distribution function defines a probability distribution over the plurality of frequency values.
(“[0069] In one embodiment of the present invention a behavior estimator is provided. A behavior estimator is a unique linear, multi-staged adaptive filter which models a synaptic processor. The multistage filter is a sequence of interacting processes which interact with defined stimuli or signals. Processes are impacted by other processes, other signals, environmental forces and most importantly the history of process patterns within any given object….”, paragraphs 69 and 191.
“[0193] Because the Federated Analytics Module of the present invention will accommodate any probability density function, a wide array of applications can be supported by a scalable module. For example, Gaussian probability density functions are well recognized and attribution of the predictive contribution of each Signal is straightforward and quantitatively unbiased. Further, Gaussian estimators do not require that the data identifying individuals be retained, as only summary statistics are needed…”, paragraph 193).
Cook does not expressly disclose but WEBER discloses
combination of a plurality of constituent probability distribution functions
(see abstract and histogram with grouped data, “[0175] Appearances do not directly determine histograms. The same appearance almost always occurs with many width and location parameter combinations. A given appearance corresponds to an appearance level set polygon of many possible location and width values for histograms all having the given appearance. From this domain, what (e, w) values lead to a histogram that has a mean for the grouped data that equals or is closest to the actual sample mean is determined. Similarly a histogram with grouped data sample…”, paragraphs 175 and 180).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate WEBER’s teaching with the teaching of Cook. One would have been motivated to provide functionality to combine or to group data in order to “optimizes the grouped data variance” (WEBER paragraph 175).
As to claims 4 and 18: Cook does not expressly disclose
where j indexes the constituent probability distribution functions, J is a number of constituent probability distribution functions, α is a set of parameters derived from the input transmission commitment, λ.sub.j defines parameters of the frequency model corresponding to constituent probability distribution function P.sub.j(⋅), each constituent probability distribution function P.sub.j(⋅) is parametrized by α.Math.λ.sub.j, each w.sub.j is a scaling factor corresponding to constituent probability distribution function P.sub.j(⋅), and C is a scaling factor derived from the input transmission commitment.
But WEBER discloses the components of the model
wherein the frequency model F is given by:(see abstract and histogram with grouped data, paragraphs 175 and 180. See also “a set of histogram density functions …”, abstract of WEBER);
where j indexes the constituent probability distribution functions, J is a number of constituent probability distribution functions,
(“…generating a set of all possible histogram shapes of exactly, or at most, or any finite subset of, any prescribed finite positive integer number or numbers of bins for a data sample via a histogram application on a target device with one or more processors, wherein the data sample is obtained from a data analysis application or from a pre-determined data source;…”, claim 1 of WEBER),
α is a set of parameters derived from the input transmission commitment
(“ determining whether a minimum number of relevant graphic and sample moments … a number of parameters that specify a distribution or other statistical model…”, claim 10 of WEBER),
λ.sub.j defines parameters of the frequency model corresponding to constituent probability distribution function P.sub.j(⋅), each constituent probability distribution function P.sub.j(⋅) is parametrized by α.Math.λ.sub.j,
(“……. the function f(x) will be a probability density function. The n.sup.th moment … of a probability density function f(x) is the expected value of X.sup.n….”, paragraph 219 of WEBER),
each w.sub.j is a scaling factor corresponding to constituent probability distribution function P.sub.j(⋅),
(“…exactly determining a supremum of a likelihood function of histogram densities for each histogram shape in the generated set of all possible histogram shapes, wherein the supremum is a statistical estimate that maximizes a likelihood function among a set of histogram density functions having a same histogram shape and is selected from a set of finitely many histogram shapes; and displaying a graphical histogram of the data sample corresponding to a maximum likelihood for a selected histogram shape or a selected set of histogram shapes using the determined supremum via a histogram application on a graphical user interface on the target device”, claim 1 of WEBER).
and C is a scaling factor derived from the input transmission commitment.
(“…exactly determining an infimum of a likelihood function of histogram densities [Examiner interprets as scaling factor derived from the input transmission commitment] for each histogram shape in the generated set of all possible histogram shapes, wherein the infimum is a statistical estimate that minimizes a likelihood function among a set of histogram density functions having a same histogram shape…”, claim 7 of WEBER.
“…means for determining a minimum and a maximum interval width [[Examiner interprets as scaling factor derived from the input transmission commitment] ] for each histogram appearance in a set of all possible histogram appearances creating a set of interval width values…”, claim 19 of WEBER)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate WEBER’s teaching of capital sigma summation of values with a limit means to limit the sum of terms taught in
(a “set of histogram density functions …”, abstract and histogram with grouped data, paragraphs 175 and 180 of WEBER); where j indexes the constituent probability distribution functions, J is a number of constituent probability distribution functions, taught in (“…generating a set of all possible histogram shapes of exactly, or at most, or any finite subset of, any prescribed finite positive integer number or numbers of bins for a data sample via a histogram application…”, claim 1 of WEBER) and α is a set of parameters derived from the input transmission commitment taught in (“a number of parameters that specify a distribution or other statistical model…”, claim 10 of WEBER); λ.sub.j defines parameters of the frequency model corresponding to constituent probability distribution function P.sub.j(⋅), each constituent probability distribution function P.sub.j(⋅) is parametrized by α.Math.λ.sub.j, taught in, (“… a probability density function f(x) is the expected value of X.sup.n….”, paragraph 219); each w.sub.j is a scaling factor corresponding to constituent probability distribution function P.sub.j(⋅), and C is a scaling factor derived from the input transmission commitment, taught in, (“…exactly determining an infimum of a likelihood function of histogram densities for each histogram shape in the generated set of all possible histogram shapes, wherein the infimum is a statistical estimate that minimizes a likelihood function among a set of histogram density functions having a same histogram shape…”, claim 7 of WEBER.
“…means for determining a minimum and a maximum interval width for each histogram appearance in a set of all possible histogram appearances creating a set of interval width values…”, claim 19 of WEBER), with the teaching of Cook. One would have been motivated to provide functionality to combine combined the elements as claimed by known methods as show above and that in combination, each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As to claims 5 and 19: Cook’s teaches
p is a number of publishers in the set of publishers,
(“[0215] FIG. 9 shows a generalized method and object model for a multiplicity of signal providers and users. Actions occur between a signal provider 201 and a signal user 203 via a system 205. The signal provider 201 provides a set of signals 207 [Examiner interprets as p number of publishers ], paragraph 215);
N.sub.inp[j] is a number of transmissions of the digital component by way of publisher j according to the input transmission commitment,
(“[0219] The Signal Seller then provides the total number of individuals available for message delivery and the Signal Buyer selects the number of individuals to which they wish to deliver the message [N.sub.inp[j] ]….”, paragraph 219);
and N.sub.inv[j] is a hyper-parameter corresponding to publisher j.
(Cook’s teaches machine learning approach, “[0069] In one embodiment of the present invention a behavior estimator is provided. A behavior estimator is a unique linear, multi-staged adaptive filter which models a synaptic processor. The multistage filter is a sequence of interacting processes which interact with defined stimuli or signals. Processes are impacted by other processes, other signals, environmental forces and most importantly the history of process patterns within any given object. The behavior estimator is a computational model of principles seen in the biological model. It produces a response to the current primary input which is proportional not only to that input, but also to both the history of the input and, optionally, the history of secondary correlated inputs. By way of example, a synaptic processor within a neural network is described within U.S. Pat. No. 5,504,839 (Mobus), referenced and incorporated supra. This device is the basis of a new machine learning approach that addresses a critical problem in the construction of autonomous and/or automatic or intelligent agents within a federated data and distributed signals environment”, paragraph 69.
[0265] The IoI of the present invention is extensible to include any parameters, estimated or actual. The IoI is also an object in one embodiment of the present invention. In one embodiment, the app utilizes a rollup algorithm to calculate numeric elements in the IoI object from one or more log file entries. Numerical elements are preferably incremented for each action made in the app and decremented with time by using functions of recency and frequency of usage. The app of the present invention also accommodates a more sophisticated algorithm including multiple memory traces to calculate an IoI. By way of example, real-time, online, lifetime learning algorithms by Mobus as described above are utilized to calculate an IoI. …”, paragraph 265.
See also Mobus discussion of a hyper-Parameter like weight “(11) The weights of a neuron may be either fixed or adaptable. Adaptable weights make a neural network much more flexible. Adaptable weights are modified by learning laws or rules.
(12) Most learning laws are based on associativity. Starting with a learning rule proposed by Donald O. Hebb in 1949 (Hebb's rule), learning theory has generally assumed that the essence of learning phenomena involved an association between two or more signals. In Hebb's rule, for instance, the weight associated with an input is increased if both the input line and the output line are concurrently active. There have been many variations on this theme but in one way or another, most of the neural learning rules derive from this basis.
(13) More recently, other learning laws have looked at associative rules based on concurrent input signals. In this approach, the weight of one input is increased if that input and a designated neighboring input are both active…”, Mobus: 1:53-67 and 2:1-5.
See also “… In a continuous system, system parameters are updated continuously and are said to be continuously variable. In a discrete system, system parameters are updated at discrete time intervals, typically denoted as .DELTA.t.”, Mobus: 8:15-20.)
Cook does not expressly disclose
where j indexes publishers in the set of publishers, α[j] is a j-th component of α,
But WEBER discloses the components of the model:
j indexes publishers in the set of publishers
(“…generating a set of all possible histogram shapes of exactly, or at most, or any finite subset of, any prescribed finite positive integer number or numbers of bins for a data sample via a histogram application on a target device with one or more processors, wherein the data sample is obtained from a data analysis application or from a pre-determined data source;…”, claim 1 of WEBER),
α[j] is a j-th component of α,
(“ determining whether a minimum number of relevant graphic and sample moments …a number of parameters that specify a distribution or other statistical model…”, claim 10 of WEBER),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate WEBER’s teaching of j indexes publishers in the set of publishers, taught in claim 1 of WEBER; α[j] is a j-th component of α,taught in claim 10 of WEBER, with the teaching of Cook. One would have been motivated to provide functionality to combine the elements as claimed by known methods as show above and that in combination, each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As to claims 6 and 20: Cook does not expressly disclose
wherein each constituent probability distribution function is a Poisson probability distribution function.
But, WEBER discloses
wherein each constituent probability distribution function is a Poisson probability distribution function.
(“…the limiting ML density estimator is … a discrete model assigning probabilities to each sample value in proportion to the relative frequency of each value, …”, paragraph 293).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate WEBER’s teaching of “a discrete model assigning probabilities to each sample value” in paragraph 293), with the teaching of Cook. One would have been motivated to provide functionality to combine the elements as claimed by known methods as show in WEBER paragraph 293 and the results of would have been predictable.
As to claim 7: Cook does not expressly disclose
wherein the set of model parameters of the frequency model comprise, for each constituent probability distribution function: (i) a scaling factor of the constituent parametric probability distribution in the linear combination, and
(ii) a set of parameters of the constituent parametric probability distribution.
But, WEBER discloses
(i) a scaling factor of the constituent parametric probability distribution in the linear combination,
(“…In one embodiment, closed histogram intervals "[a, b]," with a<b, are used. [Examiner interprets as a scaling factor ] In another embodiment, half-open histogram intervals "[a, b)," with a<b, are used so that there is no ambiguity regarding sample values that are the same as interval end points…”, paragraph 55. “Changing a … parameter”, paragraph 59. “(e, w) location and width parameter pair”, paragraph 83);
(ii) a set of parameters of the constituent parametric probability distribution
(“….Changing a location parameter, … a width parameter, leads to a different enumeration of a same set of intervals, …”, paragraph 59)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate WEBER’s teaching of “a set of parameters”, taught in paragraph 59), with the teaching of Cook. One would have been motivated to provide functionality to combine set of parameters as claimed in order to support different list of intervals for histograms (WEBER paragraph 59).
As to claims 8 and 9: Cook does not expressly disclose
wherein the objective function is optimized subject to constraints requiring that: (i) each scaling factor is non-negative and (ii) a sum of the scaling factors results in a default value.
wherein the default value is 1.
But WEBER discloses
Claim 8:
wherein the objective function is optimized subject to constraints requiring that: (i) each scaling factor is non-negative and (ii) a sum of the scaling factors results in a default value.
(“[0072] In one exemplary embodiment, at Step 22, histogram appearances for histograms having data interval widths greater than or equal to any strictly positive value, …”, paragraph 72);
Claim 9:
wherein the default value is 1.
(“…The enumeration of the first positive count is one [default value ] (1)…”, paragraph 72)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate WEBER’s teaching with the teaching of Cook. One would have been motivated to provide functionality to stablish constrains such as positive scaling factors and default value for scaling factors or sum of scaling factors in order to support different histogram appearances(see WEBER paragraph 79).
Claims 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PG. Pub. No. 20180096417 (Cook) in view of US PG. Pub. No. 20210365611 (Agrawal).
As to claim 11, Cook does not expressly disclose but Agrawal discloses
wherein the error comprises one or more of an L.sub.1 error, an L.sub.2 error, or a cross-entropy error.
(“[0127] The method may further include fitting the equation parameters with the data using a global optimization algorithm (1712). Using the initial values and boundary conditions based on domain-specific knowledge, the equation parameters may be fit to the actual time-series data using techniques such as a Levenberg-Marquardt algorithm (equivalent to a Gauss-Newton using a trust region) or the Nelder-Mead algorithm. …”, paragraph 127.
“128] The method may also include performing a simulated annealing algorithm (1714). The simulated annealing algorithm may include a probabilistic technique for approximating a global optimum value that prevents the solution from getting stuck in a local min/max. …. This method uses the simulated annealing algorithm in a new context in which it has not been used before. Instead of optimizing on physical energy, these embodiments optimize based on the error or loss function”, paragraph 128.
.”The method of claim 1, wherein simplifying the model further comprises performing a simulated annealing algorithm on the model that optimizes based on an error function”, claim 8 of Agrawal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Agrawal’s teaching with the teaching of Cook. One would have been motivated to provide functionality such as the well known Nelder-Mead optimization method in order to offer optimization of data (Agrawal claim 8 ).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments of 5/1/2026 have been very carefully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues (remarks 11-12)
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 102 and 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1, 2, 10, and 12-16 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(l) as being anticipated
by Cook, U.S. Patent No. 20180096417. Claims 3-9 and 17-20 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. §
103 over Cook in view of Weber, U.S. Patent No. 20100030518. Claim 11 was rejected under 35
U.S.C. § 103 over Cook in view of Agrawal, U.S. Patent No. 20210365611.
Claim 1 has been amended to recite: "generating the frequency model comprises training
the set of model parameters of the frequency model, using a numerical optimization technique, to
optimize an objective function that, for each of the plurality of the observed frequency
histograms, measures an error between (i) a predicted frequency histogram generated using the
frequency model, and (ii) the observed frequency histogram."
Applicant respectfully submits that the cited portions of the references do not teach or
suggest at least this feature of claim 1 as amended.
The Action cited paragraphs 30,210, and FIG. 8 of Cook as teaching a similar feature of
claim 10.
The cited portion of Cook describes an advertising system that evaluates the financial risk
and reward for various parties involved in a marketing campaign…Thus, Cook describes maximizing financial gains based on binary classification
outcomes, rather than "an objective function that, for each of the plurality of the observed
frequency histograms, measures an error between (i) a predicted frequency histogram generated
using the frequency model, and (ii) the observed frequency histogram" as recited in amended claim 1…
In response the Examiner asserts that the it seems that applicant is arguing the new amended limitations. The Office did not have possession of the amended limitations before, this Office action addresses all the amended limitations.
Applicant argues (remarks 11-12)
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 101
Claims 1-20 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as allegedly reciting non-patentable
subject matter.
This rejection should be withdrawn at least because any judicial exceptions recited in the
claims are integrated into a practical application.
A claim can integrate an abstract idea into a practical application "when the claimed
invention improves the functioning of a computer or improves another technology or technical
field." (MPEP at 2106.04).
The MPEP states that, in order to find that a claimed invention provides an improvement
in the functioning of a computer: (i) the specification must "provide[s] sufficient details such that…
In response the Examiner asserts that a prima facie of unpatentability has been established in this case.
Next, this case is not rejected under 101 only because the invention ability to run on a general purpose computer, but also because the detail facially sufficient analysis provided above, where the Examiner looked both the instant claims and the specification to elaborate Examiner's facially sufficient analysis. The additional elements in the instant claims do not provide significantly more to the abstract idea identified above, as the additional elements do not: Improve another technology or technical field; Improve the functioning of a computer itself; Add a specific limitation other than what is well-understood, routine, and conventional in the field; Add meaningful limitations that amount to more than generally linking the use of the exception to a particular technological environment; Improve computer related technology by allowing computer performance of a function not previously performable by a computer. (see MPEP 2106.05).
The present claims provide an improvement in the functioning of a computer by reducing
consumption of network bandwidth during transmission of digital components over a data
communications network, e.g., as described in the Specification:
"Moreover, the predictions characterizing the transmission commitment generated
by the systems and methods described in this specification can enable more
efficient use of resources. For example, it may be desirable for a digital content
provider to achieve a target reach and/or a target frequency of transmission of a
digital component. In such cases, the digital content provider can use the
systems and methods described in this specification to determine the number
of times the digital component should be transmitted in order to achieve the
target, therefore reducing the likelihood of unnecessarily exceeding the target
and facilitating a more efficient use of resources." (Specification at page 4 line
30 - page 5 line 5, emphasis added).
Further, the claims "include the components or steps of the invention that provide the
improvement described in the specification" (Id.). For instance, independent claims 1, 14, and 15
each recite:
"transmitting the digital component from a server to a plurality of
remotely located user devices over a data communications network, comprising:
limiting transmission of the digital component based at least in part
on the one or more predictions characterizing the target transmission commitment
to reduce a likelihood of exceeding a target reach for transmissions of the digital
component."
Therefore the claimed invention satisfies the standard as stated in MPEP 2106.04(d)(l),
for providing an improvement in the functioning of a computer.
In response the Examiner agrees that the instant application is in compliance with the utility requirement. The claimed invention has a readily apparent well-established utility (see MPEP 2107). But, per MPEP 2106 an invention also must have to comply with the Subject Matter Eligibility test under Alice framework (see MPEP 2106). The instant claims are directed to an abstract idea. None of the limitations considered as an ordered combination, provides eligibility, because taken as a whole, the claim simply instruct the practitioner to implement an abstract idea with routine, conventional technology. Accordingly, the claims are ineligible (see complete and facially sufficient analysis of the rejection above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
“System Identification: A Frequency Domain Approach”. IEEE. 2012.
This book discloses: “System identification is a general term used to describe mathematical tools and algorithms that build dynamical models from measured data. Used for prediction, control, physical interpretation, and the designing of any electrical systems, they are vital in the fields of electrical, mechanical, civil, and chemical engineering.
Focusing mainly on frequency domain techniques, System Identification: A Frequency Domain Approach, Second Edition also studies in detail the similarities and differences with the classical time domain approach. It high??lights many of the important steps in the identification process, points out the possible pitfalls to the reader, and illustrates the powerful tools that are available.
Readers of this Second Editon will benefit from:
MATLAB software support for identifying multivariable systems that is freely available at the website http://booksupport.wiley.com
State-of-the-art system identification methods for both time and frequency domain data
New chapters on non-parametric and parametric transfer function modeling using (non-)period excitations
Numerous examples and figures that facilitate the learning process
A simple writing style that allows the reader to learn more about the theoretical aspects of the proofs and algorithms”.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ashraf Waseem can be reached on 571-270-3948. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MARIA V VANDERHORST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3621 7/2/2026