DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
2. This is an office action in response to Applicant's arguments and remarks filed on 04/02/2026. Claims 1-3 and 5-20 are pending in the application. Claims 11-20 have been withdrawn and claims 1-3 and 5-10 are being examined herein.
Status of Objections and Rejections
3. All rejections from the previous office action are withdrawn in view of Applicant's amendment.
New grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 are necessitated by the amendments.
Response to Arguments
4. In the arguments presented on p.6-8 of the amendment, the Applicant argues that Aoh, alone or in combination with Bohlen and Hirai fail to teach the amended claim 1 limitations.
Applicant’s arguments , with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Keeler et al. (US 20210322914 A1), further in view of Choi et al. (US 20050287945 A1), further in view of Bohlen (US 20130052090 A1, cited in prior office action), further in view of Hirai et al. (JP 2001062228 A, cited in prior office action).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-3 and 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keeler et al. (US 20210322914 A1), further in view of Choi et al. (US 20050287945 A1), further in view of Bohlen (US 20130052090 A1, cited in prior office action), further in view of Hirai et al. (JP 2001062228 A, cited in prior office action).
Regarding claim 1, Keeler teaches an air purification unit (Fig. 1-7) having a shape and sized to fit within a cell of a suspension grid drop ceiling (“The ceiling air purifier can be installed in replace of a ceiling tile or into the ceiling drywall”, [0030]);
a filtration chamber (Fig. 6) configured to receive air from an external setting (airflow from environment denoted by arrows, Fig. 6) in which the diffuser air purification unit is installed (ceiling, [0030]) and comprising a filter that creates filtered air upon filtration of the air when the air flows through the filtration chamber (12, Fig. 6);
a separator piece (baffle 15A, Fig. 5) laterally separating only the filtration chamber (Fig. 6) from a purification chamber (see drawing below), the separator piece extending from a bottom portion of the housing (baffle 15A extends from the bottom surface of housing 10, Fig. 3) to an upper surface of the housing (to the top surface of housing 10, Fig. 3) to define a full lateral boundary between the filtration chamber and the purification chamber (see drawing below);
the purification chamber further comprising an ultraviolet lamp (lamps 24, Fig. 5) positioned upstream of an intake of the blower (blower 18, Fig. 5), the purification chamber configured to receive the air from the filtration chamber (see arrows denoting airflow above, moving air from filtration chamber to the purification chamber) and to cause a purification of the air when the air flows through the purification chamber to create filtered and purified air ([0030]), wherein a first lateral boundary of the filtration chamber is defined by a first side of the housing (first lateral boundary, see drawing above) and a second lateral boundary of the purification chamber is defined by an opposing side of the housing relative to the first side (second lateral boundary, see drawing above);
a blower configured to pull the air from the external setting (fans 16 or 18, Fig. 5) and into the filtration chamber (arrows denoting airflow, Fig. 5), the air being contained within the filtration chamber and separated from the purification chamber by the separator piece (baffle 15A, Fig. 5), the air further being pulled through the filter to create the filtered air (filter 12, Fig. 6), the blower further pulling the filtered air from the filtration chamber into the purification chamber (airflow denoted by arrows, see drawing above), the blower further expelling the filtered and purified air into the external setting (filtered and purified air denoted by arrows, Fig. 7); a housing at least partially enclosing the filtration chamber and the purification chamber (housing 10, Fig. 1-7);
While Keeler teaches the air purification unit having a shape and sized to fit within a cell of a suspension grid drop ceiling, Keeler fails to teach a diffuser placed upstream of the filtration chamber and downstream of the fan expelling the filtered and purified air.
Choi teaches a ceiling-mounted ventilation system (100, Fig. 2-3) having a louver (111 and 131, Fig. 3) mounted on the cabinet/housing (100, Fig. 2), positioned upstream of the filtration chamber (filter 160, Fig. 2), and downstream of the fan expelling the filtered and purified air (150, Fig. 2), all in order to control the inflow/direction of air ([0063]).
Keeler and Choi are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of ceiling-mounted air filtration and purification systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ceiling mounted air purification unit of Keeler by incorporating a louver mounted to the housing as taught by Choi in order to control the inflow/direction of air (Choi, [0063]).
Modified Keeler teaches the purification chamber comprising an ultraviolet lamp positioned upstream of an intake of the blower, but fails to teach a bipolar ionization unit.
Bohlen teaches an air purifier (200, Fig. 2) having a filtration chamber (pre-filter 222, Fig. 2) and a purification chamber configured to cause a purification of the air when the air flows through the purification chamber to create purified air (electrostatic precipitator cell 224 and photo-catalytic oxidizing assembly 230 containing UV LEDs 530, Fig. 2-3 and 5, see [0023], [0068], and [0078]), where the purification chamber components are upstream of the blower (fans 234, Fig. 2), the electrostatic precipitator serving the added purpose of ionizing and collecting air particulates ([0041]).
Modified Keeler and Bohlen are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of air purification systems utilizing filtration and purification chambers to produce filtered and purified air.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the purification chamber of modified Keeler by incorporating an electrostatic precipitator as taught by Bohlen in order to ionize and collect air particulates (Bohlen, [0041]), thus further purifying the air.
Modified Keeler mentions how its ceiling air purification unit is “safe to be operated while persons in the same room going about their daily activities” ([0005]), but is silent to the limitations of:
an occupancy sensor secured at a central location on an external surface; and
a control module secured to the housing in communication with the occupancy sensor, the control module being configured to control an operation of the diffuser air purification unit and to activate the blower in response to detecting an occupant in the external setting or deactivate the blower in response to failing to detect an occupant in the external setting following a predetermined period of time that is programmable via the control module to maintain a target number of filtered air changes per hour within the external setting. Hirai teaches an air purifier (Fig. 2a, 2b) having a control panel (circuit board 40, Fig. 1a) communicating with an occupancy sensor secured at a central location on an external surface (occupancy sensor 7 is on a central, external surface of the air purifier, Fig. 1a, in order to detect a human and consequently start operation of the air purifier and stop operation when the sensor no longer senses a human, see p.5, 2nd paragraph of English translation, via “controlling an operation state of the fan block 5”, [0008]) secured to the housing (outer housing 4, Fig. 2b).
Modified Keeler and Hirai are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of air purification units that are safely operable even when humans are in the vicinity.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ceiling-mounted air purifier of modified Keeler by incorporating a control panel and an occupancy sensor in communication with the control panel as taught by Hirai for the detection of a user in proximity to the air purifying device and accordingly activating/deactivating the device (e.g., turning on/off the fan) when the user is/is not detected (Hirai, p.5, 2nd paragraph of English translation).
In view of this modification, the limitation of “programmable via the control module to maintain a target number of filtered air changes per hour within the external setting” is directed to the manner of operating the apparatus. All the structural limitations of the claim has been disclosed by the Keeler/Choi/Bohlen/Hirai combination and the control panel of Hirai is capable of maintaining a target number of filtered air changes per hour within the external setting. As such, it is deemed that the claimed apparatus is not differentiated from the applicant' s invention (see MPEP §2114).
NOTE: this is a recitation of intended use / functional language, and so long as the prior art structure reads on the instant claimed structure, this limitation would be met because the same structure would be capable of the same function; in this case, Hirai provides a plurality of air volume-based operating modes, such as “automatic mode, silent operation mode, weak operation mode, standard operation mode, rapid operation mode, and off” via an air volume switching button (29, Fig. 1a) in communication with the control panel (“the air volume switching button 29 is connected to the microcomputer 8”, see p.6, 3rd to last paragraph of English translation, Fig. 6), which imply that a target number of filtered air changes per hour (which is a proxy parameter for air volume that depends on the room size) within the external setting is possible to multiple degrees.
Per MPEP 2114,II, claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Regarding claim 2, the Keeler/Choi/Bohlen/Hirai combination teaches wherein the diffuser comprises a permeable cover (Choi’s louvers 111 and 131 are permeable to air, Fig. 3) secured to a lower portion of the housing (modification onto Keeler would require the louvers of Choi to be secured to a lower portion of the housing as Choi’s louvers are in Fig. 3), for the same modification purpose as stated in the claim 1 rejection above.
Regarding claim 3, the modification of Choi onto Keeler would necessarily mean that the diffuser/louver is removable because the modification is an addition to Keeler’s air purification device/housing, thus reading on “wherein the diffuser is removable from the housing”.
Assuming arguendo, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi’s louver mounted onto the Keeler’s device/housing of the Keeler/Choi/Bohlen/Hirai combination by making separable the louver and Keeler’s device/housing for cleaning or replacement purposes.
Regarding claim 5, the Keeler/Choi/Bohlen/Hirai combination teaches a diffuser (Choi, louvers 111 and 131, Fig. 3), but fails to teach a status indicator secured to the diffuser, the status indicator configured to provide an indication of a status of the diffuser air purification unit.
Bohlen further teaches a status indicator secured to a diffuser (LED lenses 282 as indicator lights on outer top housing 252 that is secured to diffuser/inlet grill 210, Fig. 2 and [0030]), the status indicator configured to provide an indication of a status of the diffuser air purification unit (indicator lights show status of a multitude of components in the air cleaner 100 of Fig. 1, where Fig. 1 is an assembled view of the exploded air cleaner view of Fig. 2, see [0085] and [0087]).
The Keeler/Choi/Bohlen/Hirai combination and Bohlen are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of diffuser air purification units.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the diffuser of the Keeler/Choi/Bohlen/Hirai combination by incorporating a status indicator secured to the diffuser further taught by Bohlen in order to show status of a multitude of components in the air cleaner (Bohlen, [0085] and [0087]).
Regarding claim 6, the Keeler/Choi/Bohlen/Hirai combination teaches wherein the filtration chamber (Keeler, Fig. 6) comprises a lower cavity (lower cavity would already be present because of Choi’s louver modification adding another layer and space/cavity on top of Keeler’s filter 12 as shown in Keeler’s Fig. 6, because Choi’s louvers have depth, see Choi’s Fig. 3), a filter (Keeler, 12, Fig. 6), and an upper cavity (Keeler, cavity that airflow denoted by arrows is traveling through, Fig. 6), wherein the filtration of the air that flows through the filtration chamber is caused when the air flows from the lower cavity, through the filter, and into the upper cavity (Keeler, air flows from top to bottom as shown in Fig. 6, meaning the Keeler/Choi/Bohlen/Hirai combination would have air flow from Choi’s louver to the lower cavity between Keeler’s filter 12 in Fig. 6 and Choi’s louvers in Fig. 3, through Keeler’s filter 12, and into cavity of Keeler’s Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 7, the Keeler/Choi/Bohlen/Hirai combination teaches wherein the purification chamber comprises an ultraviolet lamp (Keeler, UV lamps 24, Fig. 5) and a bipolar ionization unit (Bohlen, electrostatic precipitator 224, Fig. 2) wherein the purification of the air that flows through the purification chamber is caused by the ultraviolet lamp (Keeler, [0006] and [0030]).
Regarding claim 8, modified Keeler teaches wherein the purification chamber comprises an ultraviolet lamp (UV lamps 24, Fig. 5), wherein the purification of the air that flows through the purification chamber is caused by the ultraviolet lamp ([0006] and [0030]).
Regarding claim 9, the Keeler/Choi/Bohlen/Hirai combination teaches wherein the purification chamber comprises a bipolar ionization unit (Bohlen, electrostatic precipitator 224, Fig. 2), wherein the purification of the air that flows through the purification chamber is caused by the bipolar ionization unit (Bohlen, [0041]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Keeler teaches wherein the blower comprises an axial fan (fan 18, Fig. 3).
Conclusion
7. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Aham Lee/Examiner, Art Unit 1758
/MARIS R KESSEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1758