DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species II in the reply filed on July 15, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 2-4 and 15-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on July 15, 2025.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Lines 3-4 of claim 11 recites: “…reversed at a position corresponding to the center of each coil.” It is recommended to be changed to read: “…reversed at a position corresponding to a center of each coil.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-14, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bai el al. (U.S. Publication No.: 2012/0076486), and further in view of Gong et al. (CN110703534).
Regarding claim 1:
Bai discloses a blade driving device (FIGS. 1-6) in which a central axis (FIG. 1, represented by the vertical line in the middle passing through the centers of the openings of (40)/(30)/(10)) is defined, comprising: a plurality of blades ((20), [0025]) arranged around the central axis (FIG. 4); and a plurality of groups each comprising a magnet (FIGS. 2-6, (31), [0026]) and a coil ((11), [0026]), and arranged at intervals along a circumference of a circle centered on the central axis (FIGS. 2-6), wherein a winding axis direction of the coil coincides with a normal direction of a facing surface of the magnet facing the coil (FIG. 3), when viewed from the winding axis direction, magnetic poles formed on the facing surface are reversed at a position corresponding to a center of the coil (FIG. 4, indicated below), each of the groups generates an electromagnetic force along a circumference direction of the circle to drive the blades ([0014, 0026]).
Bai does not specifically disclose that each group comprises at least two coils.
Gong teaches a variable aperture device (FIGS. 1-6), comprising a group comprising a magnet (FIG. 5, (11), [0030]) and at least two coils (FIG. 4, (9), [0030]), wherein a winding axis direction of the coil coincides with a normal direction of a facing surface of the magnet facing the coil (FIGS. 3, 6), when viewed from the winding axis direction, magnetic poles formed on the facing surface are reversed at a position corresponding to a center of the coil (FIG. 3, indicated below), the group generates an electromagnetic force along a circumference direction of the circle to drive the blades ([0030, 0032, 0038, 0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the feature of Gong’s with the blade driving device taught by Bai for the purpose of providing a continuously variable aperture device without affecting the thickness (Gong: [0004, 0031]).
Regarding claim 5:
Bai and Gong disclose and teach of the blade driving device according to claim 1, wherein Gong further discloses that when viewed from the central axis direction, two or more coils are linearly connected and aligned (FIGS. 3, 4, 6).
Regarding claim 6:
Bai and Gong disclose and teach of the blade driving device according to claim 1, wherein Gong further discloses that in an alignment direction of the coils, areas of portions magnetized to one magnetic pole at both ends of the magnet are smaller than areas of other portions magnetized to one magnetic pole (indicated below).
Regarding claim 7:
Bai and Gong disclose and teach of the blade driving device according to claim 1, wherein Gong further discloses that in an alignment direction of the coils, end portions of the magnet are located at positions corresponding to centers of the coils (indicated below).
Regarding claim 8:
Bai and Gong disclose and teach of the blade driving device according to claim 1, wherein Bai further discloses: a fixed portion (FIG. 1, (40)/(10), [0025]); and a movable ring ((30), [0025, 0043]) which is supported so as to be rotatable about the central axis with respect to the fixed portion and drives the blades by rotation (FIGS. 2-5, [0025, 0045, 0047]), wherein one of the coils and the magnets are arranged at the fixed portion (FIG. 1, (11) is arranged at (10), [0026]), and the other is arranged on the movable ring (FIG. 1, (31) is arranged at (30), [0026]).
Regarding claim 9:
Bai and Gong disclose and teach of the blade driving device according to claim 1, wherein Gong further discloses that a winding axis direction of the coil and a normal direction of a facing surface of the magnet facing the coil face a radial direction centered on the central axis as a whole (illustrated below).
Regarding claim 10:
Bai and Gong disclose and teach of the blade driving device according to claim 9, wherein Gong further discloses that when viewed from the central axis direction, the at least two coils are linearly connected and aligned (FIGS. 3, 4, 6), and the magnetic poles are reversed at a position corresponding to a center of each coil (indicated below).
Regarding claim 11:
Bai and Gong disclose and teach of the blade driving device according to claim 9, wherein Gong further discloses that when viewed from the central axis direction, the at least two coils are connected and aligned along the circumference direction of the circle (FIGS. 3, 6), and the magnetic poles are reversed at a position corresponding to a center of each coil (indicated in claim 10 above).
Regarding claim 12:
Claim 12 is similarly rejected as in claim 6 above.
Regarding claim 13:
Claim 13 is similarly rejected as in claim 7 above.
Regarding claim 14:
Claim 17 is similarly rejected as in claim 8 above.
Regarding claim 19:
Bai and Gong disclose and teach of a camera device comprising the blade driving device according to claim 1 (Bai: FIG. 7, “imaging elements inside the main unit 110”, [0076-0078]).
Regarding claim 20:
Bai and Gong disclose and teach of an electronic apparatus comprising the camera device according to claim 19 (Bai: FIG. 7, “surveillance camera” (100), [0076-0078]).
Conclusion
/FANG-CHI CHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2852
/STEPHANIE E BLOSS/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852