DETAILED ACTION
This written action is responding to the amendment submitted on 03/02/2026.
Claims 1-13 and 17-23 are submitted for examination.
Claims 1-3 and 22 has been amended and all other claims are previously presented.
Claims 1-13 and 17-23 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment filed on 03/02/2026 has claims 1-3 and 22 has been amended and all other claims are previously presented.
Applicant’s arguments, presented in the remarks dated on 03/18/2026, at pages 11-12, indicates “Applicant submits that the cited references fail to disclose or suggest, at least, prohibiting the user and all other users, or the user device and all other user devices from direct or indirect access to the requested cryptographic key or a cryptographic algorithm for performing cryptographic operations. In contrast, Sloan describes that cryptographic material is provided to a user device during a crypto graphic session to enable the device to perform one or more cryptographic operations. Sloan, paras. 46, 59, 141. Sloan further describes that if a user is not authenticated, or if one or more operations are not permitted, the central control module will trigger the interface module to return a suitable error message to the user. Sloan, para. 103. Thus, Sloan only describes a contingency of a user being unauthenticated, or not permitted to perform certain operations, but does not describe that all users or all user devices are prohibited from direct or indirect access to the requested cryptographic key or a cryptographic algorithm. In fact, as mentioned above, Sloan describes the opposite of Applicant's claim 1 because Sloan at least permits a user to access cryptographic material. None of the other cited references remedy the deficiencies of Sloan. Moreover, Sloan fails to disclose or suggest a user token defining cryptographic permissions of individual entries, wherein entries comprise a row, a column, or a value. In contrast, Sloan describes access rights at the level of a data file, not at the granularity level of individual entries. None of the other cited references remedy the deficiencies of Sloan. For example, L'Heureux also describes permissions for file operations on an encrypted file and not of individual entries. Defining cryptographic permissions at the granularity level of individual entries is a technical benefit because of the increased flexibility and versatility of defining different degrees of permissions. Applicant hereby traverses the 35 USC 103 rejection of independent claim 1 at least because the cited references fail to disclose or render obvious, prohibiting the user and all other users, or the user device and all other user devices from direct or indirect access to the requested cryptographic key or a cryptographic algorithm for performing cryptographic operations, or that a user token defining cryptographic permissions of individual entries, wherein entries comprise a row, a column, or a value.”
Applicant’s argument has been considered and is found persuasive. Therefore, the previous prior-art rejection is withdrawn. However, Applicant’s amendment necessitates a new ground of rejection.
Accordingly, the new ground of rejection is based on the newly identified prior-art by Youn (US 2007/0230706) in combination with previously applied prior-art references.
Specifically, Youn discloses receiving a request at a database server from a user to perform a cryptographic operation on data on the database server, wherein the user is a member of a role, and wherein the role has been granted permission to perform the cryptographic operation on the data. Specifically, Parag. [0040] of Youn discloses, “in a variation of this embodiment, the data key is a column key, which is used to perform cryptographic operations on a column, a row, or a cell, within database 132”, and Parag. [0052] and [0054] of Youn discloses, that the user could store the token and then proceeds to provide it to the database, and indicates that the permissions are stored in each token and wrapped with the appropriate keys. Therefore, Examiner submits that Youn teaches the amended feature “the user request including a user token associated with a user of the user device, the user token defining cryptographic permissions of individual entries, wherein entries comprise a row, a column, or a value”. Please refer to the detailed rejection below.
In addition, Examiner respectfully traverses the Applicant’s argument regarding “prohibiting the user and all other users, or the user device and all other user devices from direct or indirect access to the requested cryptographic key or a cryptographic algorithm for performing cryptographic operations”. Specifically, Examiner submits that Sloan teaches the particular amended limitation. That is, parag. [0023-0025] of Sloan discloses, “… physical possession of the cryptographic material by the user entity being necessary in order to perform cryptographic operations. However, with the present invention, the third-party provider performs cryptographic operations on behalf of the user entity, as well as managing and maintaining the necessary cryptographic material. Accordingly, there is no need for a user entity to have in their possession the cryptographic material used to perform their requested cryptographic operations. Nor is there any requirement for the cryptographic material ever to be communicated outside the boundary of the provider system. … It also avoids the risk associated with storing cryptographic material on user devices which may be lost or stolen, thereby compromising data protected by those keys. Moreover, since keys are stored centrally, key management processing, such as re-keying of data, is straightforward to perform”. In addition, parag. [0098] of Sloan further discloses “accordingly, the end user does not need to possess cryptographic material to access the content of encrypted files or perform other cryptographic operations. Rather, access to cryptographic operations provided by the system is granted or denied on the basis of authentication of the identity of the user and the access rights policy in place for that user, as described in more detail below.”. That is, the user will not need to possess the cryptographic material or perform cryptographic operations.
Examiner respectfully submits that the newly formulated rejection based on the combination of Sloan, Munsil, Ma, Youn and L’Heureux would render the claimed limitations of the amended independent claim 1 obvious. Same rationale applied to independent claims 2 and 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 (and similarly for independent claims 2 and 3) is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The specification as originally filed on 06/22/2022, does not describe the limitation “storing, in a data storage, the cryptographically processed portion, wherein the data storage prevents any one or more non-cryptographic operations from being performed on the cryptographically processed portion”. As best, the specification discloses, on page 17, lines 3-9, “Said computational and/or storage nodes are configured to trust each other. In addition, high trust environment is one in which only highly trusted code may executed inside the compute engine and/or key storage service. Users can be authenticated in the system, but are unable to write and execute code within the nodes of the high trust environment. For example, a compute service in the high trust environment may only perform or execute certain approved operations on the compute engine, which in this case is encryption and/or other cryptographic operations”. In addition, on pages 14-15, lines 30-6, the specification describes the data storage, as follows: “Data Storage: Any computer readable storage medium and/or device (or collection of data storage mediums and/or devices). Examples of data stores include, but are not limited to, optical disks (e.g., CD-ROM, DVD-ROM, etc.), magnetic disks (e.g., hard disks, floppy disks, etc.), memory circuits (e.g., solid state drives, random-access memory (RAM), etc.), and/or the like. Another example of a data store is a hosted storage environment that includes a collection of physical data storage devices that may be remotely accessible and may be rapidly provisioned as needed (commonly referred to as "cloud" storage)”. Therefore, Examiner submits that the description from the specification of the instant application fails to provide adequate support for the limitations presented above. Specifically, the specification merely states that a user is unable to write or execute code within the trust environment, but does not describe how the data storage itself prevents the claimed non-cryptographic operations being performed or denies a request for performing non-cryptographic operations. In view of the absence of such disclosure, it is unclear how the inventor had possession of this aspect of the invention at the time of filling.
Claims 4-13 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as they are dependent to independent claim 1.
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as they are dependent to independent claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 11-12, 17-21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sloan et al. (WO 2012/120313) hereinafter Sloan in view of Munsil et al. (US 2020/0065500) hereinafter Munsil and further in view of Ma (CN 110602132A), Youn (US 2007/0230706) and L’Heureux et al. (US 8,621,036) hereinafter L’Heureux.
As per Claim 1, Sloan teaches a computer-implemented method for performing a cryptographic operation in a high-trust environment (Sloan, Parag. [0095]; “The cryptographic management system 10 provides a trusted and secure environment which carries out cryptography functions, such as encrypting and decrypting data files, on request from a registered user from within a user entity of the system.”) comprising a compute service (Sloan, Parag. [0102]; “A central control module 24 is connected to the interface modules 20, 21 and to the user authentication module 22. The central control module 24 is configured to start a cryptographic operation session on receipt of an identity token issued on successful authentication of a user by the authentication and identity token modules.”) and key storage service (Sloan, Parag. [0105]; “A key management and storage module 26 is connected to the central control module. The key management and storage module is configured to create, transport, refresh, archive and destroy cryptographic material including cryptographic keys and digital certificates, as required in order to perform requested cryptographic operations.”), the method comprising:
receiving, at the compute service from a user device, a user request for performing a cryptographic operation [on at least a portion of a large-scale dataset] (Sloan, Parag. [0027]; “The reference to a user entity being located remotely from the system means a user entity having a user computing system which is located remotely from the system. The user computing system may comprise one or more user devices.” … Parag. [0049]; “receiving from one of said plurality of user entities a request to perform one or more cryptographic operations.” … Parag. [0097]; “The cryptographic management system 10 comprises an abstracted interface module 20, through which users within a user entity interact with the system to perform cryptographic operations. The abstracted interface module 20 provides a graphical user interface which can be accessed by users of the system. Alternatively, or in addition, the abstracted interface module 20 may provide an automated mechanism which operates under software control without user intervention. The abstracted interface module is used to submit a request for cryptographic services to the system. The graphical user interface (if present) may prompt the user to provide authentication credentials, details of cryptographic operations to be performed”), [the user request including a user token associated with a user of the user device, the user token defining cryptographic permissions of individual entries, wherein entries comprise a row, a column, or a value];
sending, by the compute service to the key storage service, a cryptographic key access request corresponding to the received user request (Sloan, Parag. [0049]; “receiving from one of said plurality of user entities a request to perform one or more cryptographic operations.” … Parag. [0095]; “The cryptographic management system 10 provides a trusted and secure environment which carries out cryptography functions, such as encrypting and decrypting data files, on request from a registered user from within a user entity of the system.” … Parag. [0105]; “The central control module 24 is configured to identify the cryptographic material required to perform a requested operation, and obtain this from the key management and storage module 26. This may involve, for example, requesting an existing stored key or the generation and storage of a new key.”), the cryptographic key access request including data representative of the user token or a compute service token (Sloan, Parag. [0120]-[0123]; “The request includes authentication information (i.e., user token) for user A. The request also attaches document X, and includes an indication that user A is entitled to read/write access to the document and that user B is entitled to read only access to the document. The abstracted interface module 20 receives the request and passes the authentication information to the authentication module 22. On successful authentication of user A, the authentication module passes an identity token for user A to the central control module 24. The central control module obtains details of the requested operation, and looks up the rights policy for user A. The central control module finds that user A is authorised to upload encrypted documents to the data centre. The central control module 24 then updates the access rights policy information stored therein, to indicate that user A is entitled to read/write access to the document, and that user B is entitled to read only access. Accordingly, the central control module 24 forwards the request to the key management and storage module 26. The key management generates a key for encrypting the data, and stores the new key together with details which identify the document to be encrypted. The key is then transmitted to the central control module.” Examiner submits that the compute service token is an optional feature.);
processing, [at the key storage service], the user token or compute service token to determine whether the user has permission to have the cryptographic operation performed and whether to grant the compute service access to data representative of the cryptographic key associated with the cryptographic operation of the user request when the user has permission (Sloan, Parag. [0102]; “the central control module 24 receives details of the requested operation(s) from the interface module 20. These details, together with user details contained in the identity token are looked up in an access rights policy database 25. The access rights policy database stores details of access rights for each registered user. These details indicate whether a requested cryptographic operation may be performed on behalf of that user. The access rights database may comprise general access rights details, and access rights details which relate to specific data files.” … Parag. [0105-0106]; “The central control module 24 is configured to identify the cryptographic material required to perform a requested operation, and obtain this from the key management and storage module 26. This may involve, for example, requesting an existing stored key or the generation and storage of a new key. Having identified a permitted request for an authenticated user, and obtained the necessary cryptographic material from the key management and storage module 26, the central control module 24 determines whether a data file is required in order to complete the requested operation and the location of that file, and then obtains the file for processing.”);
[in response to the key storage service granting access to the compute service], performing the steps of:
attempting to perform the cryptographic operation at the key storage service (Sloan, Parag. [0123]; “Accordingly, the central control module 24 forwards the request to the key management and storage module 26. The key management generates a key for encrypting the data, and stores the new key together with details which identify the document to be encrypted. The key is then transmitted to the central control module.”);
[determining that the key storage service is unable to perform the cryptographic operation];
[in response to determining that the key storage service is unable to perform the cryptographic operation], sending, from the key storage service to the compute service, data representative of the requested cryptographic key (Sloan, Parag. [0123]; “Accordingly, the central control module 24 forwards the request to the key management and storage module 26. The key management generates a key for encrypting the data, and stores the new key together with details which identify the document to be encrypted. The key is then transmitted to the central control module.”) and [the cryptographic algorithm associated with the cryptographic operation of the user request], while prohibiting the user and all other users, or the user device and all other user devices, from direct or indirect access to the requested cryptographic key or a cryptographic algorithm for performing cryptographic operations (Sloan, Parag. [0023-0025]; “… physical possession of the cryptographic material by the user entity being necessary in order to perform cryptographic operations. However, with the present invention, the third party provider performs cryptographic operations on behalf of the user entity, as well as managing and maintaining the necessary cryptographic material. Accordingly, there is no need for a user entity to have in their possession the cryptographic material used to perform their requested cryptographic operations. Nor is there any requirement for the cryptographic material ever to be communicated outside the boundary of the provider system. … It also avoids the risk associated with storing cryptographic material on user devices which may be lost or stolen, thereby compromising data protected by those keys. Moreover, since keys are stored centrally, key management processing, such as re-keying of data, is straightforward to perform”. … Parag. [0098]; “Accordingly, the end user does not need to possess cryptographic material to access the content of encrypted files or perform other cryptographic operations. Rather, access to cryptographic operations provided by the system is granted or denied on the basis of authentication of the identity of the user and the access rights policy in place for that user, as described in more detail below.”);
cryptographically processing, by the compute service, [the portion of the large-scale dataset] based on the received data representative of the requested cryptographic key and [cryptographic algorithm] (Sloan, Parag. [0124]; “The central control module 24 then selects a suitable security module 27, 28 to perform the operation, and prepares instructions to perform the operation in a language/interface appropriate to the selected security module. The instructions are forwarded to the selected security module together with the key and the document (i.e., data) to be encrypted.”);
storing, in a data storage, the cryptographically processed [portion] (Sloan, Parag. [0112]; “For example, if a user A requests the system to store an encrypted version of document X at a specified location in a data centre, the selected security module will encrypt document X and the central control module 24 will route the encrypted document to the data centre 14.” … Parag. [0120]; “user A may send document X to the cryptographic management system 10 over the network, with a request to store an encrypted version of the document at a specified location in the data centre 14.”), [wherein the data storage prevents any one or more non-cryptographic operations from being performed on the cryptographically processed portion];
sending a user response indicating [the portion of the large-scale] dataset has been cryptographically processed (Sloan, Parag. [0120]; “user A may send document X to the cryptographic management system 10 over the network, with a request to store an encrypted version of the document at a specified location in the data centre 14. The request includes authentication information (i.e., identity token) for user A. The request also attaches document X, and includes an indication that user A is entitled to read/write access to the document.” … Parag. [0124-0125]; “The central control module 24 then selects a suitable security module 27, 28 to perform the operation, and prepares instructions to perform the operation in a language/interface appropriate to the selected security module. The instructions are forwarded to the selected security module together with the key and the document to be encrypted. The security module 27, 28 encrypts the document according to the instructions, and returns the encrypted document to the control centre for onward transmission to the specified location in the data centre 14, via the abstracted interface module. The central control module 24 also triggers the abstracted interface module 20 to send confirmation of successful completion of the task to user A (i.e. cryptographic operation performed).” (Examiner submits that the confirmation sent to user is an indication that the cryptographic operation (encryption/decryption) requested by the user has been executed accordingly.); and
in response to the key storage service determining user does not have permission and denying cryptographic key access to the compute service, sending, by the compute service, a user response indicating denial of the user request (Sloan, Parag. [0103]; “If the user is not authenticated, or if one or more operations are not permitted, the central control module will trigger the interface module to return a suitable error message to the user.”)
Sloan does not expressly teach:
performing a cryptographic operation on at least a portion of a large-scale dataset,
the cryptographically processed portion …
the user request including a user token associated with a user of the user device, the user token defining cryptographic permissions of individual entries, wherein entries comprise a row, a column, or a value;
processing, at the key storage service, the … compute service token;
in response to the key storage service granting access to the compute service …;
attempting to perform the cryptographic operation at the key storage service;
determining that the key storage service is unable to perform the cryptographic operation;
in response to determining that the key storage service is unable to perform the cryptographic operation, send … the cryptographic algorithm associated with the cryptographic operation of the user request;
cryptographically processing, … dataset based on the received … and cryptographic algorithm; and
wherein the data storage prevents any one or more non-cryptographic operations from being performed on the cryptographically processed portion
the portion of the large-scale dataset has been cryptographically processed
However, Munsil teaches:
performing a cryptographic operation on at least a portion of a large-scale dataset (Munsil, Parag. [0026]; “The encryption operation utilized by the conventional memory sub-system can operate on data blocks based on certain constraints such as the size of the data blocks. For example, the encryption operation can encrypt data blocks that are less than or equal to a threshold size but cannot be used to securely encrypt data blocks that are larger than the threshold size. Certain host systems can provide host data as data blocks at a large size that exceeds the threshold size utilized by the encryption operation. Thus, if the conventional memory sub-system is utilized by a host system that provides the host data as data blocks of a large size that exceeds the capability of the encryption operation utilized by the conventional memory sub-system, then the memory sub-system will not be able to encrypt the host data.”)
the cryptographically processed portion (Munsil, Parag. [0029]; “Referring to FIG. 2, at block 240 the processing logic performs the encryption operation with the segments of data and, at block 250, the processing logic stores the encrypted segments of data at the memory sub-system. Thus, host data of a size that exceeds a constraint of an encryption operation is received and the host data is separated or divided into segments that satisfy the constraints or requirements of the encryption operation.”)
determining that the key storage service is unable to perform the cryptographic operation (Munsil, Abstract; “A determination can be made that the host data exceeds a threshold size associated with an encryption operation.” … Parag. [0014]; “Certain host systems can provide host data as data blocks at a large size that exceeds the threshold size utilized by the encryption operation. Thus, if the conventional memory sub-system is utilized by a host system that provides the host data as data blocks of a large size that exceeds the capability of the encryption operation utilized by the conventional memory sub-system, then the memory sub-system will not be able to encrypt the host data.” … Parag. [0029]; “Thus, host data of a size that exceeds a constraint of an encryption operation is received and the host data is separated or divided into segments that satisfy the constraints or requirements of the encryption operation.”); and
in response to determining that the key storage service is unable to perform the cryptographic operation (Munsil, Abstract; “A determination can be made that the host data exceeds a threshold size associated with an encryption operation.” … Parag. [0014]; “Certain host systems can provide host data as data blocks at a large size that exceeds the threshold size utilized by the encryption operation. Thus, if the conventional memory sub-system is utilized by a host system that provides the host data as data blocks of a large size that exceeds the capability of the encryption operation utilized by the conventional memory sub-system, then the memory sub-system will not be able to encrypt the host data.” … Parag. [0029]; “Thus, host data of a size that exceeds a constraint of an encryption operation is received and the host data is separated or divided into segments that satisfy the constraints or requirements of the encryption operation.”) sending, … the cryptographic algorithm associated with the cryptographic operation of the user request (Munsil, Parag. [0030]; “The encryption of the segments of data can utilize the XTS-AES encryption operation. In some embodiments, the XTS - AES encryption operation can encrypt each segment based on a first cryptographic key, a second cryptographic key, and a tweak value. Each segment of data can be encrypted by using the first cryptographic key and the second cryptographic key and a different tweak value. For example, a first segment of the data can be encrypted by the XTS-AES encryption operation with the first and second cryptographic keys and a first tweak value. For the next segment of the data, the first tweak value can be incremented to generate a second tweak value. The next segment of data can be encrypted with the same first and second crypto graphic keys and the second tweak value. For each subsequent segment of data, the tweak value can be incremented and used to encrypt the respective segment of data.”);
cryptographically processing, … dataset based on the received … and cryptographic algorithm (Munsil, Parag. [0029-0030]; “Referring to FIG. 2, at block 240 the processing logic performs the encryption operation with the segments of data and, at block 250, the processing logic stores the encrypted segments of data at the memory sub-system. Thus, host data of a size that exceeds a constraint of an encryption operation is received and the host data is separated or divided into segments that satisfy the constraints or requirements of the encryption operation. The encryption of the segments of data can utilize the XTS-AES encryption operation. In some embodiments, the XTS - AES encryption operation can encrypt each segment based on a first cryptographic key, a second cryptographic key, and a tweak value. Each segment of data can be encrypted by using the first cryptographic key and the second cryptographic key and a different tweak value. For example, a first segment of the data can be encrypted by the XTS-AES encryption operation with the first and second cryptographic keys and a first tweak value. For the next segment of the data, the first tweak value can be incremented to generate a second tweak value. The next segment of data can be encrypted with the same first and second crypto graphic keys and the second tweak value. For each subsequent segment of data, the tweak value can be incremented and used to encrypt the respective segment of data.”);
the portion of the large-scale dataset has been cryptographically processed (Munsil, Parag. [0029]; “Referring to FIG. 2, at block 240 the processing logic performs the encryption operation with the segments of data and, at block 250, the processing logic stores the encrypted segments of data at the memory sub-system. Thus, host data of a size that exceeds a constraint of an encryption operation is received and the host data is separated or divided into segments that satisfy the constraints or requirements of the encryption operation.”)
Sloan and Munsil are from similar field of technology. Prior to the instant application’s effective filling date, there was a need for a method for encrypting large data sets in trusted environments.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Munsil system into Sloan-Murray-Ma system, with a motivation to provide a method for determining when a data size exceeds a threshold (Munsil, Abstract).
The combination of Sloan and Munsil does not expressly teach:
the user request including a user token associated with a user of the user device, the user token defining cryptographic permissions of individual entries, wherein entries comprise a row, a column, or a value;
processing, at the key storage service, the … compute service token
in response to the key storage service granting access to the compute service …
wherein the data storage prevents any one or more non-cryptographic operations from being performed on the cryptographically processed portion
However, Ma teaches:
processing, at the key storage service, the … compute service token (Ma, page 4, lines 3-7; “In some embodiments, applying for a key from a token and an identification code to a key management service comprises: sending, by the object storage gateway, the token and the identity to a key management service; accessing, by a key management service, an authentication token of an authentication service; and accessing the database multi-master synchronization cluster by the key management service in response to the token passing the verification to obtain a key corresponding to the identification code and sending the key to the object storage gateway.”)
in response to the key storage service granting access to the compute service (Ma, page 4, lines 3-7; “In some embodiments, applying for a key from a token and an identification code to a key management service comprises: sending, by the object storage gateway, the token and the identity to a key management service; accessing, by a key management service, an authentication token of an authentication service; and accessing the database multi-master synchronization cluster by the key management service in response to the token passing the verification to obtain a key corresponding to the identification code and sending the key to the object storage gateway.”) …
Sloan, Munsil and Ma are from similar field of technology. Prior to the instant application’s effective filling date, there was a need for a method for encrypting large data sets in trusted environments.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ma system into Sloan-Murray system, with a motivation to provide a method for providing device authentication using a token or credentials (Ma, Page. 4).
The combination of Sloan, Munsil and Ma does not expressly teach:
the user request including a user token associated with a user of the user device, the user token defining cryptographic permissions of individual entries, wherein entries comprise a row, a column, or a value;
wherein the data storage prevents any one or more non-cryptographic operations from being performed on the cryptographically processed portion
However, Youn teaches:
the user request including a user token associated with a user of the user device, the user token defining cryptographic permissions of individual entries, wherein entries comprise a row, a column, or a value (Youn, Parag. [0033]; “The system operates by receiving a request at a database server 130 from a user 110 to perform a cryptographic operation on data on the database server 130. In this embodiment, user 110 is a member of a role, and the role has been granted permission to perform the cryptographic operation on the data.” … Parag. [0040]; “In a variation of this embodiment, the data key is a column key, which is used to perform cryptographic operations on a column, a row, or a cell, within database 132.” …Parag. [0048]; “The process begins when database 132 receives a request to encrypt/decrypt data from user 112 (step 200). Database 132 then sends the user-token, {Ukey} Usecret, to user 112, which enables user 112 to decrypt the user-token (step 202). Next, database 132 receives the decrypted user-key, Ukey, from user 112 (step 204). Note that Ukey can be part of an asymmetric key pair or can be a symmetric key. After receiving Ukey database 132 uses Ukey to decrypt the role key, Rkey (step 206). Next, the system uses Rkey to decrypt the column key, Ckey (step 208). The system then uses Ckey to encrypt/decrypt data in database 132 (step 210).” … Parag. [0052]; “ In one embodiment, the tokens are stored on database server 130, while in another embodiment, the tokens are stored at the users' systems and passed to database server 130 when required.” … Parag. [0054]; “In one embodiment of the present invention, permissions are stored in each token and wrapped with the appropriate keys.” Examiner submits that Youn discloses an additional alternative for providing the token. As disclosed on Parag. [0052], the user provides the token comprising the permissions/roles to perform a cryptographic operation.)
Sloan, Munsil, Ma and Youn are from similar field of technology. Prior to the instant application’s effective filling date, there was a need for a method for encrypting large data sets in trusted environments.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Youn system into Sloan-Munsil-Ma system, with a motivation to provide a method for determining if the user is allow or not allow to perform cryptographic operations on an encrypted column, row or value based on permissions defined in a token (Youn, Parag. [0033], [0040] and {0054]).
The combination of Sloan, Munsil, Ma and Youn does not expressly teach:
wherein the data storage prevents any one or more non-cryptographic operations from being performed on the cryptographically processed portion
However, L’Heureux teaches:
wherein the data storage prevents any one or more non-cryptographic operations from being performed on the cryptographically processed portion (L’Heureux, Col. 6, lines 1-5; “FIG. 2 further depicts file access permission data 230 including one or more user identifiers such as USERID 240, USER ID 242, and USER ID 244, and a set of one or more designated actions such as OPEN, SAVE, SAVE AS, COPY, and PRINT. (i.e., non-cryptographic operations)” … Col. 6, lines 46-53; “Operation 314 comprises saving the encrypted file to a data storage device. In at least some implementations, the encrypted file may be saved as a file having a “.ss” file extension. However, other suitable file extensions may be utilized to indicate that the file is encrypted. The encrypted file may be stored locally at a computing device in mass storage and/or may be transmitted to a remote data store for storage.” … Col. 7, lines 16-23; “Operation 318 may be performed in response to receiving the request to access the encrypted file at operation 316. In at least some implementations, the access query may further indicate an action that is requested by the computer program or by a user via the computer program, such as one or more of an open action, a save action, a save as action, a copy action, or a print action, for example.” … Col. 8, lines 11-28; “As previously described, the set of one or more designated actions may include, for example, one or more of an open action, a save action, a save as action, a copy action, a print action. The access query may further indicate a requested designated action to be performed on the file. The access reply may indicate whether the requested designated action indicated by the access query is authorized to be performed. If, for example, a requested designated action is not authorized to be performed, the file access server may withhold the second decryption key from the requesting computing device to deny the requested access. Alternatively, the process flow of method 300 may proceed to operation 326 if access has not been authorized by the file access server. Operation 326 comprises receiving an access reply from the file access server that indicates denial of access to the encrypted second segment.”)
Sloan, Munsil, Ma, Youn and L’Heureux are from similar field of technology. Prior to the instant application’s effective filling date, there was a need for a method for encrypting large data sets in trusted environments.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of L’Heureux system into Sloan-Munsil-Ma-Youn system, with a motivation to provide a method for determining if the user is allow or not allow to perform non-cryptographic operations on an encrypted file (L’Heureux, Col. 6-8).
As per claim 2, it is a method claim that recites similar limitations as of claim 1. Therefore, claim 2 is rejected based on the same rationale and motivation applied to claim 1.
As per claim 3, it is a method claim that recites similar limitations as of claim 1. Therefore, claim 3 is rejected based on the same rationale and motivation applied to claim 1.
As per claim 4, the combination of Sloan, Munsil, Ma, Youn and L’Heureux teach the computer-implemented method according to claim 1. Sloan further teaches wherein each user is associated with a cryptographic license stored in the high trust environment, and determining whether said user has permission to request said cryptographic operation based on retrieving the cryptographic license associated with the user based on said user token (Sloan, Parag. [0102]; “the central control module 24 receives details of the requested operation(s) from the interface module 20. These details, together with user details contained in the identity token are looked up in an access rights policy database 25. The access rights policy database stores details of access rights (i.e., license) for each registered user. These details indicate whether a requested cryptographic operation may be performed on behalf of that user.”).
As per claim 5, the combination of Sloan, Munsil, Ma, Youn and L’Heureux teach the computer-implemented method according to claim 1. Sloan further teaches the method comprising sending, by the compute service to the key storage service, the cryptographic key access request corresponding to the received user request (Sloan, Parag. [0105]; “The central control module 24 is configured to identify the cryptographic material required to perform a requested operation, and obtain this from the key management and storage module 26. This may involve, for example, requesting an existing stored key or the generation and storage of a new key.”), the cryptographic key access request including data representative of the user token (Sloan, Parag. [0120]-[0123]; “The request includes authentication information (i.e., user token) for user A. The request also attaches document X, and includes an indication that user A is entitled to read/write access to the document and that user B is entitled to read only access to the document. The abstracted interface module 20 receives the request and passes the authentication information to the authentication module 22. On successful authentication of user A, the authentication module passes an identity token for user A to the central control module 24. The central control module obtains details of the requested operation, and looks up the rights policy for user A. The central control module finds that user A is authorised to upload encrypted documents to the data centre. The central control module 24 then updates the access rights policy information stored therein, to indicate that user A is entitled to read/write access to the document, and that user B is entitled to read only access. Accordingly, the central control module 24 forwards the request to the key management and storage module 26. The key management generates a key for encrypting the data, and stores the new key together with details which identify the document to be encrypted. The key is then transmitted to the central control module.”) and
In addition, Ma teaches:
the compute service token (Ma, page 4, lines 3-7; “In some embodiments, applying for a key from a token and an identification code to a key management service comprises: sending, by the object storage gateway, the token and the identity to a key management service; accessing, by a key management service, an authentication token of an authentication service; and accessing the database multi-master synchronization cluster by the key management service in response to the token passing the verification to obtain a key corresponding to the identification code and sending the key to the object storage gateway.”).
As per claim 6, the combination of Sloan, Munsil, Ma, Youn and L’Heureux teach the computer-implemented method according to claim 1. Sloan further teaches the method comprising:
sending, by the compute service to the key storage service, a first cryptographic key access request corresponding to the received user request (Sloan, Parag. [0105]; “The central control module 24 is configured to identify the cryptographic material required to perform a requested operation, and obtain this from the key management and storage module 26. This may involve, for example, requesting an existing stored key or the generation and storage of a new key.”), the first cryptographic key access request including data representative of the user token (Sloan, Parag. [0120]-[0123]; “The request includes authentication information (i.e., user token) for user A. The request also attaches document X, and includes an indication that user A is entitled to read/write access to the document and that user B is entitled to read only access to the document. The abstracted interface module 20 receives the request and passes the authentication information to the authentication module 22. On successful authentication of user A, the authentication module passes an identity token for user A to the central control module 24. The central control module obtains details of the requested operation, and looks up the rights policy for user A. The central control module finds that user A is authorised to upload encrypted documents to the data centre. The central control module 24 then updates the access rights policy information stored therein, to indicate that user A is entitled to read/write access to the document, and that user B is entitled to read only access. Accordingly, the central control module 24 forwards the request to the key management and storage module 26. The key management generates a key for encrypting the data, and stores the new key together with details which identify the document to be encrypted. The key is then transmitted to the central control module.”);
processing, at the key storage service, the user token to determine whether the user has permission to have the cryptographic operation performed (Sloan, Parag. [0102]; “the central control module 24 receives details of the requested operation(s) from the interface module 20. These details, together with user details contained in the identity token are looked up in an access rights policy database 25. The access rights policy database stores details of access rights for each registered user. These details indicate whether a requested cryptographic operation may be performed on behalf of that user. The access rights database may comprise general access rights details, and access rights details which relate to specific data files.”);
In addition, Ma teaches:
in response to the key storage service determining the user has permission, sending, by the compute service to the key storage service, a second cryptographic key access request corresponding to the received user request, the second cryptographic key access request including data representative of the compute service token (Ma, page 4, lines 3-7; “In some embodiments, applying for a key from a token and an identification code to a key management service comprises: sending, by the object storage gateway, the token and the identity (i.e., compute service token) to a key management service; accessing, by a key management service, an authentication token of an authentication service; and accessing the database multi-master synchronization cluster by the key management service in response to the token passing the verification to obtain a key corresponding to the identification code and sending the key to the object storage gateway.” … lines 10-15; “it can be seen from the foregoing embodiments that, in the data encryption processing method provided in the embodiments of the present invention, the object storage gateway receives the encryption request, the original information, the user information of the key management service, and the identification code of the key management service; applying for a token to the authentication service according to the user information; applying for a key from a key management service according to the token and the identity code; the technical scheme of encrypting and storing the original information according to the secret key can improve the technical scheme of storage safety and can improve the storage safety” Examiner submits that the second request is interpreted as when the key storage process the compute service token.); and
processing, at the key storage service, the compute service token to determine whether to grant the compute service access to data representative of the cryptographic key associated with the cryptographic operation of the user request when user has permission (Ma, page 4, lines 3-7; “In some embodiments, applying for a key from a token and an identification code to a key management service comprises: sending, by the object storage gateway, the token and the identity to a key management service; accessing, by a key management service, an authentication token of an authentication service; and accessing the database multi-master synchronization cluster by the key management service in response to the token passing the verification to obtain a key corresponding to the identification code and sending the key to the object storage gateway.” … lines 10-15; “it can be seen from the foregoing embodiments that, in the data encryption processing method provided in the embodiments of the present invention, the object storage gateway receives the encryption request, the original information, the user information of the key management service, and the identification code of the key management service; applying for a token to the authentication service according to the user information; applying for a key from a key management service according to the token and the identity code; the technical scheme of encrypting and storing the original information according to the secret key can improve the technical scheme of storage safety and can improve the storage safety”).
As per claim 7, the combination of Sloan, Munsil, Ma, Youn and L’Heureux teach the computer-implemented method according to claim 1. Sloan further teaches wherein the key storage service previously granted the user permission to a previous user request, the method further comprising receiving a further request associated with the previous user request (Sloan, Parag. [0062]; “In a preferred embodiment, the system may comprise interface means for receiving authentication information for identifying a user entity of the user device. This may be the same interface means which receives the authentication information for identifying the user device, or a separate module. In this embodiment, the system may comprise authentication means for identifying the user entity. This may be the same authentication means which identifies the user device, or a separate module. In this embodiment, the session management means is preferably configured to establish a cryptographic session, only in the event that the user device and the user entity are successfully authenticated.” … Parag. [0098]; “Rather, access to cryptographic operations provided by the system is granted or denied on the basis of authentication of the identity of the user and the access rights policy in place for that user”), and sending, by the compute service to the key storage service, the cryptographic key access request corresponding to the received request (Sloan, Parag. [0105]; “The central control module 24 is configured to identify the cryptographic material required to perform a requested operation, and obtain this from the key management and storage module 26. This may involve, for example, requesting an existing stored key or the generation and storage of a new key.”),
In addition, Ma teaches the cryptographic key access request including data representative of the compute service token (Ma, page 4, lines 3-7; “In some embodiments, applying for a key from a token and an identification code to a key management service comprises: sending, by the object storage gateway, the token and the identity (i.e., compute service token) to a key management service; accessing, by a key management service, an authentication token of an authentication service; and accessing the database multi-master synchronization cluster by the key management service in response to the token passing the verification to obtain a key corresponding to the identification code and sending the key to the object storage gateway.” … lines 10-15; “it can be seen from the foregoing embodiments that, in the data encryption processing method provided in the embodiments of the present invention, the object storage gateway receives the encryption request, the original information, the user information of the key management service, and the identification code of the key management service; applying for a token to the authentication service according to the user information; applying for a key from a key management service according to the token and the identity code; the technical scheme of encrypting and storing the original information according to the secret key can improve the technical scheme of storage safety and can improve the storage safety” Examiner submits that the second request is interpreted as when the key storage process the compute service token.); and
processing, at the key storage service, the compute service token to determine whether to grant the compute service access to data representative of the cryptographic key associated with the cryptographic operations of the request when user has permission (Ma, page 4, lines 3-7; “In some embodiments, applying for a key from a token and an identification code to a key management service comprises: sending, by the object storage gateway, the token and the identity (i.e., compute service token) to a key management service; accessing, by a key management service, an authentication token of an authentication service; and accessing the database multi-master synchronization cluster by the key management service in response to the token passing the verification to obtain a key corresponding to the identification code and sending the key to the object storage gateway.” … lines 10-15; “it can be seen from the foregoing embodiments that, in the data encryption processing method provided in the embodiments of the present invention, the object storage gateway receives the encryption request, the original information, the user information of the key management service, and the identification code of the key management service; applying for a token to the authentication service according to the user information; applying for a key from a key management service according to the token and the identity code; the technical scheme of encrypting and storing the original information according to the secret key can improve the technical scheme of storage safety and can improve the storage safety” Examiner submits that the second request is interpreted as when the key storage process the compute service token.).
As per claim 8, the combination of Sloan, Munsil, Ma, Youn and L’Heureux teach the computer-implemented method according to claim 1. Ma additionally teaches determining whether said compute service is authorized to perform said cryptographic operation on at least said portion of the large-scale dataset based on said compute service token (Ma, page 4, lines 3-7; “In some embodiments, applying for a key from a token and an identification code to a key management service comprises: sending, by the object storage gateway, the token and the identity to a key management service; accessing, by a key management service, an authentication token of an authentication service; and accessing the database multi-master synchronization cluster by the key management service in response to the token passing the verification to obtain a key corresponding to the identification code and sending the key to the object storage gateway.” … lines 10-15; “it can be seen from the foregoing embodiments that, in the data encryption processing method provided in the embodiments of the present invention, the object storage gateway receives the encryption request, the original information, the user information of the key management service, and the identification code of the key management service; applying for a token to the authentication service according to the user information; applying for a key from a key management service according to the token and the identity code; the technical scheme of encrypting and storing the original information according to the secret key can improve the technical scheme of storage safety and can improve the storage safety”).
As per claim 11, the combination of Sloan, Munsil, Ma, Youn and L’Heureux teach the computer-implemented method according to claim 1. Sloan further teaches wherein each authorized user is linked to a cryptographic license stored within the high trust environment, each cryptographic license of an authorized user specifying data representative of permissions for said user to have one or more cryptographic operations performed in relation to corresponding data of a large-scale dataset, said processing the user token (Sloan, Parag. [0102]; “the central control module 24 receives details of the requested operation(s) from the interface module 20. These details, together with user details contained in the identity token are looked up in an access rights policy database 25. The access rights policy database stores details of access rights (i.e., license) for each registered user. These details indicate whether a requested cryptographic operation may be performed on behalf of that user.”) further comprising:
determining the user of the user device providing the user token is an authorized user (Sloan, Parag. [0100]; “The user authentication module is configured to receive users' authentication credentials from the relevant interface module, and then to verify the authentication of a user by means of, for example, a username and password, RADIUS authentication, two factor authentication, and/or service issued third party digital certificates. Such authentication means are referred to herein as "identity tokens".);
retrieving a linked cryptographic license corresponding to the authorized user (Sloan, Parag. [0102]; “the central control module 24 receives details of the requested operation(s) from the interface module 20. These details, together with user details contained in the identity token are looked up in an access rights policy database 25. The access rights policy database stores details of access rights (i.e., license) for each registered user. These details indicate whether a requested cryptographic operation may be performed on behalf of that user. The access rights database may comprise general access rights details, and access rights details which relate to specific data files. For example, the database may specify that a user A is entitled to create and send encrypted, digitally signed documents in a specified application. It may also specify that user A is entitled to read and overwrite a specified data file X. By default, access rights are positively specified. Thus, if the access rights database for user A does not specify a data file Y, the system will not perform a requested cryptographic operation on data file Y when requested to do so by user A.” Examiner submits that the details on the access rights (i.e., cryptographic license) needs to be retrieved in order to perform the authorized operation.); and
determining whether said authorized user has permissions to request one or more cryptographic operations to be performed on at least said portion of the large-scale dataset based on the retrieved cryptographic license (Sloan, Parag. [0100]; “The user authentication module is configured to receive users' authentication credentials from the relevant interface module, and then to verify the authentication of a user by means of, for example, a username and password, RADIUS authentication, two factor authentication, and/or service issued third party digital certificates. Such authentication means are referred to herein as "identity tokens". Parag. [0102]; “The central control module 24 is configured to start a cryptographic operation session on receipt of an identity token issued on successful authentication of a user by the authentication and identity token modules. If an identity token is not issued in association with a particular request, the central control module will trigger the relevant interface module to return an error message to the user without starting a session. The central control module 24 receives details of the requested operation(s) from the interface module 20. These details, together with user details contained in the identity token are looked up in an access rights policy database 25. The access rights policy database stores details of access rights (i.e., license) for each registered user. These details indicate whether a requested cryptographic operation may be performed on behalf of that user.”).
In addition, Munsil discloses the cryptographic operation performed into a portion of large-scale dataset (Munsil, Parag. [0026]; “The encryption operation utilized by the conventional memory sub-system can operate on data blocks based on certain constraints such as the size of the data blocks. For example, the encryption operation can encrypt data blocks that are less than or equal to a threshold size but cannot be used to securely encrypt data blocks that are larger than the threshold size. Certain host systems can provide host data as data blocks at a large size that exceeds the threshold size utilized by the encryption operation. Thus, if the conventional memory sub-system is utilized by a host system that provides the host data as data blocks of a large size that exceeds the capability of the encryption operation utilized by the conventional memory sub-system, then the memory sub-system will not be able to encrypt the host data.”).
As per claim 12, the combination of Sloan, Munsil, Ma, Yun and L’Heureux teach the computer-implemented method according to claim 1. Sloan teaches wherein the one or more cryptographic operations comprises at least one from the group of:
encryption;
decryption;
hashing; and/or any other cryptographic function or operation (Sloan, Parag. [0035]; “The cryptographic operations performed by the system preferably include encryption of specified data and decryption of specified data. They preferably include digital signing of specified data and verification of digital signatures and data. They preferably include re-keying of data.”).
As per claim 17, the rejection of claim 2 is included and it is a method claim that recites similar limitations as disclosed in claim 5. Therefore, claim 17 is rejected based on the same rationale applied to claim 5.
As per claim 18, the rejection of claim 2 is included and it is a method claim that recites similar limitations as disclosed in claim 6. Therefore, claim 18 is rejected based on the same rationale applied to claim 6.
As per claim 19, the rejection of claim 2 is included and it is a method claim that recites similar limitations as disclosed in claim 7. Therefore, claim 19 is rejected based on the same rationale applied to claim 7.
As per claim 20, the rejection of claim 2 is included and it is a method claim that recites similar limitations as disclosed in claim 8. Therefore, claim 20 is rejected based on the same rationale applied to claim 8.
As per claim 21, the combination of Sloan, Munsil, Ma, Youn and L’Heureux teach the computer-implemented method according to claim 1. Sloan teaches further comprising deleting the data representative of the cryptographic key in response to cryptographically processing, by the compute service, the portion of the large-scale dataset (Sloan, Parag. [0046]; “erasure means for causing cryptographic material provided by the system to the device to be deleted from the device on termination of the cryptographic session.” … Parag. [0081]; “perform cryptographic operations using said cryptographic material during a cryptographic session; and delete cryptographic material provided by the system on termination of a cryptographic session.”).
As per claim 23, the combination of Sloan, Munsil, Ma, Youn and L’Heureux teach the computer-implemented method according to claim 1. Sloan teaches wherein the determining whether the user has permission comprises determining particular entries that the user has permission (Sloan, Parag. [0052]; “determining whether the cryptographic operation (s) requested by a user entity are permitted in accordance with the access rights stored for the user entity as identified at the authentication step; and permitting only those operation (s) which are permitted by said access rights to be performed.”).
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sloan et al. (WO 2012/120313) hereinafter Sloan in view of Munsil et al. (US 2020/0065500) hereinafter Munsil and further in view of Ma (CN 110602132A), Youn (US 2007/0230706) and L’Heureux et al. (US 8,621,036) hereinafter L’Heureux as applied to claim 8, and Grawrock (US 2004/0117318).
As per claim 9, the combination of Sloan, Munsil, Ma, Youn and L’Heureux teaches the computer-implemented method according to claim 8.
The combination of Sloan, Munsil, Ma, Youn and L’Heureux does not expressly teach:
wherein the compute service token is generated for the compute service when the compute service operates in the high trust environment, and determining whether said compute service is authorized to perform said cryptographic operation further comprising determining the compute service operates in the high trust environment based on said compute service token.
However, Grawrock teaches:
wherein the compute service token is generated for the compute service when the compute service operates in the high trust environment, and determining whether said compute service is authorized to perform said cryptographic operation further comprising determining the compute service operates in the high trust environment based on said compute service token (Grawrock, Abstract, “In one embodiment, the computing device stores information on the portable token that is required in order to launch the trusted environment. In another embodiment, information that is required to launch the trusted environment is encrypted with a key that has been sealed to a portable token.” … Parag. [0003]; “Further, the fixed token may be used by a computing device to establish a trust environment in which secrets may be protected. In particular, the trusted environment may encrypt such secrets such that only the trusted environment may decrypt the secrets. Accordingly, untrusted environments are unable to obtain such secrets without requesting the trusted environment for the secrets. While this generally provides an isolated container for protecting secrets, a local user of the computing device may want further assurances that the computing device will not release secrets of a trusted environment without the authorization of the user or the user being present.”)
Sloan, Munsil, Ma, Youn, L’Heureux and Grawrock are from similar field of technology. Prior to the instant application’s effective filling date, there was a need for a method for encrypting large data sets in trusted environments.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Grawrock system into Sloan-Munsil-Ma-Youn-L’Heureux system, with a motivation to provide a method for determining that a device is authorized to perform cryptographic operations by verifying a device token (Grawrock, Abstract).
As per claim 10, the combination of Sloan, Munsil, Ma, Youn, L’Heureux and Grawrock teaches the computer-implemented method according to claim 9. Grawrock teaches wherein the compute service operates in the high trust environment when the compute service only executes cryptographic operations approved or authorized by the operator of the high trust environment (Grawrock, Abstract, “In one embodiment, the computing device stores information on the portable token that is required in order to launch the trusted environment. In another embodiment, information that is required to launch the trusted environment is encrypted with a key that has been sealed to a portable token.” … Parag. [0003]; “Further, the fixed token may be used by a computing device to establish a trust environment in which secrets may be protected. In particular, the trusted environment may encrypt such secrets such that only the trusted environment may decrypt the secrets. Accordingly, untrusted environments are unable to obtain such secrets without requesting the trusted environment for the secrets. While this generally provides an isolated container for protecting secrets, a local user of the computing device may want further assurances that the computing device will not release secrets of a trusted environment without the authorization of the user or the user being present.”).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sloan et al. (WO 2012/120313) hereinafter Sloan in view of Munsil et al. (US 2020/0065500) hereinafter Munsil and further in view of Ma (CN 110602132A), Youn (US 2007/0230706) and L’Heureux et al. (US 8,621,036) hereinafter L’Heureux as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Horvath (EP 3407237 A1).
As per claim 13, the combination of Sloan, Munsil, Ma, Youn and L’Heureux teaches the computer-implemented method according to claim 1. Sloan teaches wherein the one or more cryptographic operations comprises an encryption cryptographic operation (Sloan, Parag. [0035]; “The cryptographic operations performed by the system preferably include encryption of specified data and decryption of specified data. They preferably include digital signing of specified data and verification of digital signatures and data. They preferably include re-keying of data.”) and the portion of the large-scale dataset is at least one from the group of: a bulk dataset or full dataset.
The combination of Sloan, Munsil, Ma, Youn and L’Heureux does not expressly teach:
the portion of the large-scale dataset is at least one from the group of: a bulk dataset or full dataset
Horvath teaches:
the portion of the large-scale dataset is at least one from the group of: a bulk dataset or full dataset (Horvath, page 6, parag. 3; “A dataset here describes a non-empty finite set of data elements or data objects. In this case, a data volume comprises at least one data element. Data elements may include, for example, letters, numbers, special characters, or the like, as well as combinations thereof, such as formulas, words, numerical values, measurements, strings, or the like. For example, a dataset may include datasets, data fields, or data items. For example, a dataset may include a set of metrics or words. For example, a set of data includes one or more sentences, paragraphs, paragraphs, or chapters. Further, a set of data may include a text such as an essay, a scientific journal article, a document, a study, a journal, a book, or the like. Likewise, a quantity of data may also include image and/or sound data, such as photo, video, or sound recordings.”)
Sloan, Munsil, Ma, Youn, L’Heureux and Horvath are from similar field of technology. Prior to the instant application’s effective filling date, there was a need for a method for encrypting large data sets in trusted environments.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Horvath system into Sloan-Munsil-Ma-Youn-L’Heureux system, with a motivation to provide a method for to perform cryptographic operations on a dataset belonging to bulk or group (Horvath, Page 6).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sloan et al. (WO 2012/120313) hereinafter Sloan in view of Munsil et al. (US 2020/0065500) hereinafter Munsil and further in view of Ma (CN 110602132A), Youn (US 2007/0230706) and L’Heureux et al. (US 8,621,036) hereinafter L’Heureux as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Carlough, et al. (US 10,313,117) hereinafter Carlough.
As per claim 22, the combination of Sloan, Munsil, Ma, Youn and L’Heureux teaches the computer-implemented method according to claim 1. Sloan teaches wherein the user request comprises a first user request (Sloan, Parag. [0027]; “The reference to a user entity being located remotely from the system means a user entity having a user computing system which is located remotely from the system. The user computing system may comprise one or more user devices.” … Parag. [0049]; “receiving from one of said plurality of user entities a request to perform one or more cryptographic operations.”);
the cryptographic operation comprises a first cryptographic operation (Sloan, Parag. [0027]; “The reference to a user entity being located remotely from the system means a user entity having a user computing system which is located remotely from the system. The user computing system may comprise one or more user devices.” … Parag. [0049]; “receiving from one of said plurality of user entities a request to perform one or more cryptographic operations.”); and
[the data representative of the requested cryptographic key and the cryptographic algorithm identifies a first attribute associated with the first cryptographic operation, the first attribute comprising a scale or a rate of the first cryptographic operation]; and
the computer-implemented method further comprising:
receiving, at the compute service from a second user device, a second user request for performing a second cryptographic operation on [at least a portion of the large-scale dataset or a second large-scale dataset], the second user request including a second user token associated with a second user of the second user device (Sloan, Parag. [0019]; “interface means for receiving from one of said plurality of user entities a request to perform one or more cryptographic operations, and authentication information for identifying the user entity, associated with the request (i.e. user identity token).” … Parag. [0027]; “The reference to a user entity being located remotely from the system means a user entity having a user computing system which is located remotely from the system. The user computing system may comprise one or more user devices.” … Parag. [0049]; “receiving from one of said plurality of user entities (i.e., first or second user) a request to perform one or more cryptographic operations (i.e., first and second operations).” … Parag. [0097]; “The cryptographic management system 10 comprises an abstracted interface module 20, through which users within a user entity interact with the system to perform cryptographic operations. The abstracted interface module 20 provides a graphical user interface which can be accessed by users of the system. Alternatively, or in addition, the abstracted interface module 20 may provide an automated mechanism which operates under software control without user intervention. The abstracted interface module is used to submit a request for cryptographic services to the system. The graphical user interface (if present) may prompt the user to provide authentication credentials (i.e., user token), details of cryptographic operations to be performed.” … Parag. [0100]; “The user authentication module is configured to receive users' authentication credentials from the relevant interface module, and then to verify the authentication of a user by means of, for example, a username and password, RADIUS authentication, two factor authentication, and/or service issued third party digital certificates. Such authentication means are referred to herein as "identity tokens".);
sending, by the compute service to the key storage service, a second cryptographic key access request corresponding to the received second user request (Sloan, Parag. [0049]; “receiving from one of said plurality of user entities a request to perform one or more cryptographic operations.” … Parag. [0095]; “The cryptographic management system 10 provides a trusted and secure environment which carries out cryptography functions, such as encrypting and decrypting data files, on request from a registered user from within a user entity of the system.” … Parag. [0105]; “The central control module 24 is configured to identify the cryptographic material required to perform a requested operation, and obtain this from the key management and storage module 26. This may involve, for example, requesting an existing stored key or the generation and storage of a new key.”), the second cryptographic key access request including data representative of the second user token or a second compute service token (Sloan, Parag. [0120]-[0123]; “The request includes authentication information (i.e., user token) for user A. The request also attaches document X, and includes an indication that user A is entitled to read/write access to the document and that user B is entitled to read only access to the document. The abstracted interface module 20 receives the request and passes the authentication information to the authentication module 22. On successful authentication of user A, the authentication module passes an identity token for user A to the central control module 24. The central control module obtains details of the requested operation, and looks up the rights policy for user A. The central control module finds that user A is authorised to upload encrypted documents to the data centre. The central control module 24 then updates the access rights policy information stored therein, to indicate that user A is entitled to read/write access to the document, and that user B is entitled to read only access. Accordingly, the central control module 24 forwards the request to the key management and storage module 26. The key management generates a key for encrypting the data, and stores the new key together with details which identify the document to be encrypted. The key is then transmitted to the central control module.” Examiner submits that the compute service token is an optional feature.);
processing, [at the key storage service], the second user token or second compute service token to determine whether the user has permission to have the second cryptographic operation performed and whether to grant the compute service access to data representative of the second cryptographic key associated with the second cryptographic operation of the user request when the second user has permission (Sloan, Parag. [0102]; “the central control module 24 receives details of the requested operation(s) from the interface module 20. These details, together with user details contained in the identity token are looked up in an access rights policy database 25. The access rights policy database stores details of access rights for each registered user. These details indicate whether a requested cryptographic operation may be performed on behalf of that user. The access rights database may comprise general access rights details, and access rights details which relate to specific data files.” … Parag. [0105-0106]; “The central control module 24 is configured to identify the cryptographic material required to perform a requested operation, and obtain this from the key management and storage module 26. This may involve, for example, requesting an existing stored key or the generation and storage of a new key. Having identified a permitted request for an authenticated user, and obtained the necessary cryptographic material from the key management and storage module 26, the central control module 24 determines whether a data file is required in order to complete the requested operation and the location of that file, and then obtains the file for processing.”);
selectively sending, from the key storage service to the compute service, second data representative of the requested second cryptographic key (Sloan, Parag. [0123]; “Accordingly, the central control module 24 forwards the request to the key management and storage module 26. The key management generates a key for encrypting the data, and stores the new key together with details which identify the document to be encrypted. The key is then transmitted to the central control module.”) and the cryptographic algorithm associated with the cryptographic operation of the user request, [wherein the second data representative of the requested second cryptographic key and the cryptographic algorithm associated with the cryptographic operation of the user request is associated with a second attribute associated with the second cryptographic operation, the second attribute being different from the first attribute;]; and
selectively cryptographically processing, by the compute service, [the portion of the large- scale dataset based on the received] data representative of the requested cryptographic key and [cryptographic algorithm] (Sloan, Parag. [0124]; “The central control module 24 then selects a suitable security module 27, 28 to perform the operation, and prepares instructions to perform the operation in a language/interface appropriate to the selected security module. The instructions are forwarded to the selected security module together with the key and the document (i.e., data) to be encrypted.”).
In addition, Munsil teaches:
second cryptographic operation on at least a portion of the large-scale dataset or a second large-scale dataset (Munsil, Parag. [0026]; “The encryption operation utilized by the conventional memory sub-system can operate on data blocks based on certain constraints such as the size of the data blocks. For example, the encryption operation can encrypt data blocks that are less than or equal to a threshold size but cannot be used to securely encrypt data blocks that are larger than the threshold size. Certain host systems can provide host data as data blocks at a large size that exceeds the threshold size utilized by the encryption operation. Thus, if the conventional memory sub-system is utilized by a host system that provides the host data as data blocks of a large size that exceeds the capability of the encryption operation utilized by the conventional memory sub-system, then the memory sub-system will not be able to encrypt the host data.” Examiner submits that performing a cryptographic operation does not represent any difference in the method applied to a first data. Applying a cryptographic operation on a second data set is an obvious design regarding this invention.)
cryptographically processing, … the portion of the large- scale dataset based on … and cryptographic algorithm (Munsil, Parag. [0029-0030]; “Referring to FIG. 2, at block 240 the processing logic performs the encryption operation with the segments of data and, at block 250, the processing logic stores the encrypted segments of data at the memory sub-system. Thus, host data of a size that exceeds a constraint of an encryption operation is received and the host data is separated or divided into segments that satisfy the constraints or requirements of the encryption operation. The encryption of the segments of data can utilize the XTS-AES encryption operation. In some embodiments, the XTS - AES encryption operation can encrypt each segment based on a first cryptographic key, a second cryptographic key, and a tweak value. Each segment of data can be encrypted by using the first cryptographic key and the second cryptographic key and a different tweak value. For example, a first segment of the data can be encrypted by the XTS-AES encryption operation with the first and second cryptographic keys and a first tweak value. For the next segment of the data, the first tweak value can be incremented to generate a second tweak value. The next segment of data can be encrypted with the same first and second crypto graphic keys and the second tweak value. For each subsequent segment of data, the tweak value can be incremented and used to encrypt the respective segment of data.”)
Additionally, Ma teaches:
processing, at the key storage service, the second user token (Ma, page 4, lines 3-7; “In some embodiments, applying for a key from a token and an identification code to a key management service comprises: sending, by the object storage gateway, the token and the identity to a key management service; accessing, by a key management service, an authentication token of an authentication service; and accessing the database multi-master synchronization cluster by the key management service in response to the token passing the verification to obtain a key corresponding to the identification code and sending the key to the object storage gateway.”)
The combination of Sloan, Munsil, Ma, Youn and L’Heureux does not expressly teach:
the data representative of the requested cryptographic key and the cryptographic algorithm identifies a first attribute associated with the first cryptographic operation, the first attribute comprising a scale or a rate of the first cryptographic operation;
wherein the second data representative of the requested second cryptographic key and the cryptographic algorithm associated with the cryptographic operation of the user request is associated with a second attribute associated with the second cryptographic operation, the second attribute being different from the first attribute
However, Carlough teaches:
the data representative of the requested cryptographic key and the cryptographic algorithm identifies a first attribute associated with the first cryptographic operation, the first attribute comprising a scale or a rate of the first cryptographic operation (Carlough, Col. 2, lines 15-21; “This disclosure relates to limiting the rate of access to cryptographic keys that can be used to decrypt data that is protected using the cryptographic keys. In an example, a customer of a computing resource service provider submits a request to a cryptographic key management service to impose a rate limit for accessing a cryptographic key managed by the computing resource service provider.” … Col. 11, lines 26-36; “In response to the request, the cryptographic key management service 304 may obtain one or more grants applicable to the request. The one or more grants may specify whether the client 302 is authorized to utilize the cryptographic key to perform one or more operations. Further, the one or more grants may specify a usage rage limitation for the cryptographic key. For instance, the one or more grants may specify that the client 302 is authorized to utilize the cryptographic key a certain number of times within a particular interval of time.”)
wherein the second data representative of the requested second cryptographic key and the cryptographic algorithm associated with the cryptographic operation of the user request is associated with a second attribute associated with the second cryptographic operation, the second attribute being different from the first attribute (Carlough, Col. 2, lines 15-21; “This disclosure relates to limiting the rate of access to cryptographic keys that can be used to decrypt data that is protected using the cryptographic keys. In an example, a customer of a computing resource service provider submits a request to a cryptographic key management service to impose a rate limit for accessing a cryptographic key managed by the computing resource service provider.” … Col. 11, lines 26-36; “In response to the request, the cryptographic key management service 304 may obtain one or more grants applicable to the request. The one or more grants may specify whether the client 302 is authorized to utilize the cryptographic key to perform one or more operations. Further, the one or more grants may specify a usage rage limitation for the cryptographic key. For instance, the one or more grants may specify that the client 302 is authorized to utilize the cryptographic key a certain number of times within a particular interval of time.”)
Sloan, Munsil, Ma, Youn, L’Heureux and Carlough are from similar field of technology. Prior to the instant application’s effective filling date, there was a need for a method for encrypting large data sets in trusted environments.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Carlough system into Sloan-Munsil-Ma-Youn-L’Heureux system, with a motivation to provide a method for determining and assigning to a user a rate for performing cryptographic operations. (Carlough, Col. 2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rubin et al. (US 2006/0206485) relates to row level security (RLS) and cell level security (CLS) are implemented in a database to provide secure dynamic access to database data. Encryption keys are created based on either security classification meta-data tags associated with the individual fields of an incoming data stream or on the security classification of the source network. Without prior knowledge of the incoming data security classification, the present system may generate encryption keys and, if necessary, security classification meta-data on the fly.
Elovici et al. (US 9,934,388) relates to encrypting a database, according to which a dedicated encryption module is placed inside a Database Management Software above a database cache. Each value of the database is encrypted together with the coordinates of said value using a dedicated encryption method, which assumes the existence of an internal cell identifier that can be queried but not tampered.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.D.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2498
/YIN CHEN SHAW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2498