Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn.
Claims 2-3, 6-9 are canceled. Claims 10-11, 16 are withdrawn. Claims 1, 4-5, 12-15 are under consideration.
Priority: This application is a CON of PCT/US2020/066287, filed December 21, 2020, which claims benefit of foreign application EP 19219568.3, filed December 23, 2019. A copy of the foreign priority document has been received in the instant application on August 1, 2022 and is in the English language.
Objections and Rejections
Claims 1, 4-5, 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beier II (EP 3476935A1; IDS 09.08.22, previously cited) in view of Jones et al. (US 20140073030). Beier II discloses a detergent composition comprising a DNase variant and an adjunct and one or more enzymes such as mannanase, where the DNase variant comprises a variant of SEQ ID NO: 1 (at least paragraphs 0228-0231, p. 56 lines 4-10), where SEQ ID NO: 1 of Beier II is the DNase of Bacillus cibi (at least paragraph 0012). Beier II discloses DNase and DNase variants means a polypeptide with DNase activity (at least paragraph 0022). Beier II discloses DNase variants in a detergent composition, including a DNase variant of the polypeptide of SEQ ID NO: 1 comprising the substitutions T1I, S13Y, T22P, S27L, L33K, S39P, S42G, D56I, S57W, S59V, T65V, V76L, Q109R, S116D, T127V, S144P, A147H, S167L, G175D (at least p. 73 lines 29-32). Therefore, Beier II can be deemed to disclose a cleaning composition comprising a DNase having at least 90% but less than 100% amino acid sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 1, with the proviso that the DNase is not the amino acid sequence shown in SEQ ID NO: 36. Beier II further discloses the adjunct is a surfactant (at least paragraphs 0004,0021, 0043, 0228-0230). Beier II differs from the claimed cleaning composition by not explicitly reciting the mannanase amino acid sequence.
Jones et al. disclose a mannanase from Bacillus agaradhaerens (Bag Man1) and disclose that formulations containing mannanase are highly suitable for use as detergents (at least paragraphs 0006-0007). Jones et al. disclose homologous mannanases to Bag Man1, including a mannanase homolog comprising SEQ ID NO: 20 (example 7, Table 7-1), which has 79% sequence identity with instant SEQ ID NO: 16.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the mannanase polypeptide comprising SEQ ID NO: 20 of Jones et al. for the mannanase enzyme in the cleaning composition comprising the DNase variant and surfactant of Beier II noted above because the prior art disclose combining DNase enzymes and mannanase enzymes to formulate a cleaning composition (instant claims 1, 5). One of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success because combining DNase enzymes, mannanases, and adjunct ingredients to form cleaning compositions was known in the art.
Regarding instant claim 4, Beier II discloses the DNase variant is in a concentration in the range of 0.001-100 ppm, 0.001-1000 ppm enzyme protein (at least paragraphs 0145, 0235) and that the amount of the additional enzyme(s) is compatible with the other enzymatic ingredients and present in effective amounts (at least paragraphs 0254-0255), where compatible amounts would include the amounts present for DNase enzymes, including the noted ranges of 0.001-100 ppm, 0.001-1000 ppm enzyme protein. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05. Therefore, it would have been obvious to arrive at the recited DNase present in an amount 0.01 to 1000 ppm and the recited at least one mannanase present in an amount 0.01 to 1000 ppm by routine optimization.
Regarding instant claim 12, as noted above, Beier II discloses a DNase variant of the polypeptide of SEQ ID NO: 1 comprising the substitutions T1I, S13Y, T22P, S27L, L33K, S39P, S42G, D56I, S57W, S59V, T65V, V76L, Q109R, S116D, T127V, S144P, A147H, S167L, G175D (at least p. 73 lines 29-32).
Regarding instant claim 13, Beier II discloses the detergent adjunct comprises an anionic surfactant to nonionic surfactant in a weight ratio from 25:1 to 1:2 (at least paragraph 0230).
Regarding instant claim 14, Beier II discloses the detergent composition further comprises additional enzymes selected from pectinases, pectin lyases, xanthanases, catalases, laccases (at least paragraphs 0231, 0254).
Regarding instant claim 15, Beier II discloses the detergent composition is in the form of a liquid laundry composition (at least paragraph 0021).
Reply: In view of Applicants’ amendments/remarks, the previous 103 rejection over Beier II in view of Gori has been withdrawn. However, the claims remain unpatentable under a new 103 rejection over Beier II in view of newly cited Jones et al. for the reasons noted above.
Claims 1, 4-5, 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beier II (EP 3476935A1; IDS 09.08.22, previously cited) in view of each of Klinger et al. (WO 2019081515), Monrad et al. (WO 2020007875), Damager et al. (WO 2020201403) or Weide et al. (WO 2021122117), and Hoff et al. (WO 2019068713), individually.
The teachings of Beier II are noted above. As noted above, Beier II differs from the claimed cleaning composition by not explicitly reciting the mannanase amino acid sequence.
Each of the noted references Klinger et al., Monrad et al., Damager et al., Weide et al., and Hoff et al. disclose detergent compositions comprising mannanase enzymes (see noted references). Klinger et al. disclose the mannanase is a polypeptide comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 3, where SEQ ID NO: 3 has 100% sequence identity with instant SEQ ID NO: 16 (Klinger et al. p. 4 lines 16-17); Monrad et al. disclose the mannanase is a polypeptide comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 34, where SEQ ID NO: 34 has 100% sequence identity with instant SEQ ID NO: 16 (Monrad et al. p. 9 lines 33-36); Damager et al. disclose the mannanase is a polypeptide comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 81, where SEQ ID NO: 81 has 100% sequence identity with instant SEQ ID NO: 16 (Damager et al. p. 7 line 33); Weide et al. disclose the mannanase is a polypeptide comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 34, where SEQ ID NO: 34 has 100% sequence identity with instant SEQ ID NO: 16 (Weide et al. p. 11 lines 29-31); Hoff et al. disclose the mannanase is a polypeptide comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 8, where SEQ ID NO: 8 has 100% sequence identity with instant SEQ ID NO: 16 (Hoff et al. p. 3 lines 18-21).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the mannanase polypeptide comprising SEQ ID NO: 3 of Klinger et al. or the mannanase polypeptide comprising SEQ ID NO: 34 of Monrad et al. or the mannanase polypeptide comprising SEQ ID NO: 81 of Damager et al. or the mannanase polypeptide comprising SEQ ID NO: 34 of Weide et al. or the mannanase polypeptide comprising SEQ ID NO: 8 of Hoff et al. for the mannanase enzyme in the cleaning composition comprising the DNase variant and surfactant of Beier II noted above because the prior art disclose combining DNase enzymes and mannanase enzymes to formulate a cleaning composition (instant claims 1, 5). One of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success because combining DNase enzymes, mannanases, and adjunct ingredients to form cleaning compositions was known in the art.
Regarding instant claim 4, Beier II discloses the DNase variant is in a concentration in the range of 0.001-100 ppm, 0.001-1000 ppm enzyme protein (at least paragraphs 0145, 0235) and that the amount of the additional enzyme(s) is compatible with the other enzymatic ingredients and present in effective amounts (at least paragraphs 0254-0255), where compatible amounts would include the amounts present for DNase enzymes, including the noted ranges of 0.001-100 ppm, 0.001-1000 ppm enzyme protein. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05. Therefore, it would have been obvious to arrive at the recited DNase present in an amount 0.01 to 1000 ppm and the recited at least one mannanase present in an amount 0.01 to 1000 ppm by routine optimization.
Regarding instant claim 12, as noted above, Beier II discloses a DNase variant of the polypeptide of SEQ ID NO: 1 comprising the substitutions T1I, S13Y, T22P, S27L, L33K, S39P, S42G, D56I, S57W, S59V, T65V, V76L, Q109R, S116D, T127V, S144P, A147H, S167L, G175D (at least p. 73 lines 29-32).
Regarding instant claim 13, Beier II discloses the detergent adjunct comprises an anionic surfactant to nonionic surfactant in a weight ratio from 25:1 to 1:2 (at least paragraph 0230).
Regarding instant claim 14, Beier II discloses the detergent composition further comprises additional enzymes selected from pectinases, pectin lyases, xanthanases, catalases, laccases (at least paragraphs 0231, 0254).
Regarding instant claim 15, Beier II discloses the detergent composition is in the form of a liquid laundry composition (at least paragraph 0021).
Reply: In view of Applicants’ amendments/remarks, the claims are unpatentable under new 103 rejections over Beier II in view of each newly cited reference Klinger et al., Monrad et al., Damager et al., Weide et al., and Hoff et al., individually, for the reasons noted above.
Claims 1, 4-5, 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beier I (WO 2018011277; previously cited) in view of Jones et al. (US 20140073030). Beier I discloses Bacillus Cibi DNase variants suitable for use in cleaning compositions, e.g. detergent compositions (at least abstract, p. 2 lines 3-4, p. 17 lines 1-3, p. 53-55). Beier I discloses SEQ ID NO: 1 is Bacillus Cibi DNase (at least p. 35 lines 16-17). Beier I discloses DNase and DNase variants means a polypeptide with DNase activity (at least p. 8 lines 9-10). Beier I discloses detergent compositions comprising at least one DNase variant and a detergent adjunct ingredient, the DNase variant comprising the polypeptide of SEQ ID NO: 1, comprising one or more substitutions, the substitutions being T1I, S13Y, T22P, S27L, S39P, S42G, D56I, S57W, S59V, T65V, V76L, Q109R, S116D, T127V, S144P, A147H, S167L, G175D (at least p. 53 lines 15 to p. 56 lines 5), where the detergent adjunct is a surfactant, which improves wash performance in the detergent composition comprising DNase, and one or more enzymes, where the one or more enzymes are mannanases (at least p. 55 lines 1-9). Therefore, Beier I can be deemed to disclose a cleaning composition comprising a DNase having at least 90% but less than 100% amino acid sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 1, with the proviso that the DNase is not the amino acid sequence shown in SEQ ID NO: 36. Beier I differs from the claimed cleaning composition by not explicitly reciting the mannanase amino acid sequence.
Jones et al. disclose a mannanase from Bacillus agaradhaerens (Bag Man1) and disclose that formulations containing mannanase are highly suitable for use as detergents (at least paragraphs 0006-0007). Jones et al. disclose homologous mannanases to Bag Man1, including a mannanase homolog comprising SEQ ID NO: 20 (example 7, Table 7-1), which has 79% sequence identity with instant SEQ ID NO: 16.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the mannanase polypeptide comprising SEQ ID NO: 20 of Jones et al. for the mannanase enzyme in the cleaning composition comprising the DNase variant and surfactant of Beier I noted above because the prior art disclose combining DNase enzymes and mannanase enzymes to formulate a cleaning composition (instant claims 1, 5). One of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success because combining DNase enzymes, mannanases, and adjunct ingredients to form cleaning compositions was known in the art.
Regarding instant claim 4, Beier I discloses the amount of DNase in the cleaning composition is from at least 0.01 ppm to at least 20 ppm (at least p. 55 lines 27-30) and that the amount of the additional enzyme(s) is compatible with the other enzymatic ingredients and present in effective amounts (p. 64 lines 35 to p. 65 lines 4), where compatible amounts would include the amounts present for DNase enzymes, including at least 0.01 ppm to at least 20 ppm. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05. Therefore, it would have been obvious to arrive at the recited DNase present in an amount 0.01 to 1000 ppm and the recited at least one mannanase present in an amount 0.01 to 1000 ppm by routine optimization.
Regarding instant claim 13, Beier I discloses the cleaning composition comprises an anionic surfactant (0 wt% to 40 wt%) and a nonionic surfactant (0 wt% to 40 wt%) (at least p. 59 lines 5-6).
Regarding instant claim 14, Beier I discloses the cleaning composition further comprises additional enzymes selected from pectinases, pectin lyases, xanthanases, catalases (at least p. 55 lines 5-10, p. 64 lines 34 to p. 65 lines 1).
Regarding instant claim 15, Beier I discloses the cleaning composition is in the form of a liquid laundry composition (at least p. 56 lines 7 to p. 58 lines 33).
Regarding instant claim 12, as noted above, Beier I discloses a DNase variant comprising the polypeptide of SEQ ID NO: 1, comprising one or more substitutions, the substitutions being T1I, S13Y, T22P, S27L, S39P, S42G, D56I, S57W, S59V, T65V, V76L, Q109R, S116D, T127V, S144P, A147H, S167L, G175D (at least p. 53 lines 15 to p. 56 lines 5), where Beier I discloses all the amino acid residues or substitutions recited in the DNA variant of instant claim 12, except at position 33. Beier I do disclose incorporating a substitution at position 32 (at least p. 53) and construction of the DNase variants by site-directed mutagenesis (at least p. 94), including random mutagenesis (at least p. 42). MPEP 2144.09 notes that a prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. In this instance, Beier I can be deemed to disclose a DNase variant that is structurally similar to the recited DNase variant and having the same utility. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify other amino acid positions in the DNase variant of Beier I, including at position 33 to arrive at a lysine residue in combination with the substitutions noted above in the DNase variant of Beier I because there was interest in forming cleaning compositions with DNase enzymes. One of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success because mutagenesis is a known method for engineering protein variants having the same or enhanced functions and there are a finite number of amino acid substitutions.
Reply: In view of Applicants’ amendments/remarks, the previous 103 rejection over Beier I in view of Gori has been withdrawn. However, the claims remain unpatentable under a new 103 rejection over Beier I in view of newly cited Jones et al. for the reasons noted above.
Claims 1, 4-5, 12, 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beier I (WO 2018011277; previously cited) in view of Jones et al. (US 20140073030) and Beier III (WO 2019081721; IDS 09.08.22, previously cited). The teachings of Beier I and Jones et al. over at least instant claims 1, 4-5, 13-15 are noted above.
Regarding instant claim 12, Beier I discloses the DNase variant comprises the polypeptide of SEQ ID NO: 1, comprising one or more substitutions, the substitutions being T1I, S13Y, T22P, S27L, S39P, S42G, D56I, S57W, S59V, T65V, V76L, Q109R, S116D, T127V, S144P, A147H, S167L, G175D (at least p. 53 lines 15 to p. 56 lines 5). Beier III discloses DNase variants including the substitutions T1I, S13Y, T22P, S27L, S39P, S42G, D56I, S57W, S59V, T65V, V76L, Q109R, S116D, T127V, S144P, A147H, S167L, G175D of Beier I, in combination with the substitution L33K (at least p. 18). Beier III also discloses the DNase variants are incorporate into detergent compositions (p. 1), comprising one or more enzymes including mannanase (p. 94), and a surfactant (p. 88-89). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the L33K substitution in the DNase of Beier III with the substitutions of Beier I noted above to arrive at the recited DNase variant comprising T1I, S13Y, T22P, S27L, L33K, S39P, S42G, D56I, S57W, S59V, T65V, V76L, Q109R, S116D, T127V, S144P, A147H, S167L, G175D. One of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success because the prior art discloses amino acid substitutions to arrive at DNase variants for cleaning compositions, including L33K.
Reply: In view of Applicants’ amendments/remarks, the previous 103 rejection over Beier I in view of Gori has been withdrawn. However, the claims remain unpatentable under a new 103 rejection over Beier I in view of newly cited Jones et al. for the reasons noted above. Additionally, the 103 rejection has been clarified to incorporate the substitution L33K of Beier II with the substitutions of Beier I.
Claims 1, 4-5, 12-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 14, 16, 19-24, 26-28 of copending Application No. 16757580 (‘580) (reference application) (now passed to issue) in view of Jones et al. (supra) or any one of Klinger et al. (supra), Monrad et al. (supra), Damager et al. (supra), Weide et al. (supra), and Hoff et al. (supra). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant claims and the ‘580 application claims recite a DNase variant that is structurally the same and/or similar. The ‘580 application claims recite a polypeptide having DNase activity comprising the same amino acid residues and/or substitutions as recited in at least instant claims 1, 12. The ‘580 application claims differ from the instant claims by not explicitly reciting a composition comprising the DNase, in combination with one more enzymes elected from mannanase, and a cleaning adjunct. The teachings of any one of Jones et al., Klinger et al., Monrad et al., Damager et al., Weide et al., and Hoff et al. are noted above, where each of the noted references disclose a detergent composition comprising a mannanase polypeptide comprising an amino acid sequence having at least 65% sequence identity with instant SEQ ID NO: 16, and further including surfactants. Therefore, in view of the noted teachings of any one of Jones et al., Klinger et al., Monrad et al., Damager et al., Weide et al., and Hoff et al. above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to incorporate the mannanase polypeptide and surfactant of any one of Jones et al., Klinger et al., Monrad et al., Damager et al., Weide et al., and Hoff et al. in a composition comprising the DNase variant of the ‘580 application claims. One of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success because combining DNase enzymes, mannanases, and adjunct ingredients, including surfactants, to form cleaning compositions was known in the art.
Additionally, the components and/or features recited in the instant dependent claims, i.e. surfactants, anionic surfactant, nonionic surfactants, are also reasonably recited and/or suggested in the teachings of any one of Jones et al., Klinger et al., Monrad et al., Damager et al., Weide et al., and Hoff et al. for incorporation into a composition comprising DNase and a mannanase (see the teachings of each of the cited references).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Reply: Applicants’ remarks have been considered but they are not persuasive. The reasons for maintaining the provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection are the same as noted above.
Claims 1, 4-5, 13-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 37-45 of copending Application No. 17782279 (‘279) (reference application) in view of Jones et al. (supra) or any one of Klinger et al. (supra), Monrad et al. (supra), Damager et al. (supra), Weide et al. (supra), and Hoff et al. (supra). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant claims and the ‘279 application claims are drawn to a composition comprising a DNase variant and a cleaning adjunct (surfactant) (see at least claim 37 of the ‘279 application). The ‘279 application claim 37 recites a DNase comprising substitutions that result in a DNase having at least 90% but less than 100% amino acid sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 1, with the proviso that the DNase is not the amino acid sequence shown in SEQ ID NO: 36, as recited in at least instant claim 1. The ‘279 application claims differ from the instant claims by not explicitly reciting the amino acid sequence of a mannanase enzyme. However, in view of the noted teachings of any one of Jones et al., Klinger et al., Monrad et al., Damager et al., Weide et al., and Hoff et al. above, where each of the noted references disclose a detergent composition comprising a mannanase polypeptide comprising an amino acid sequence having at least 65% sequence identity with instant SEQ ID NO: 16, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to incorporate the mannanase polypeptide of any one of Jones et al., Klinger et al., Monrad et al., Damager et al., Weide et al., and Hoff et al. above in the composition comprising the DNase variant and surfactant of the ‘279 application claims. One of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success because combining DNase enzymes, mannanases, and adjunct ingredients to form cleaning compositions was known in the art.
Additionally, the components and/or feature recited in the instant dependent claims are also reasonably recited and/or suggested in the ‘279 application claims and/or any one of Jones et al., Klinger et al., Monrad et al., Damager et al., Weide et al., and Hoff et al.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Reply: Applicants’ remarks have been considered but they are not persuasive. The reasons for maintaining the provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection are the same as noted above.
Claims 1, 4-5, 12-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 10781408 (‘408) in view of Jones et al. (supra) or any one of Klinger et al. (supra), Monrad et al. (supra), Damager et al. (supra), Weide et al. (supra), and Hoff et al. (supra). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant claims and the ‘408 patent claims are drawn to a composition comprising a DNase variant and a cleaning adjunct (surfactant) and a mannanase (see at least claims 1, 13-14 of the ‘408 patent). The ‘408 patent claims 2, 6 recite a DNase comprising the same amino acid residues and/or substitutions as recited in at least instant claims 1, 12. The ‘408 patent claims differ from the instant claims by not explicitly reciting the amino acid sequence of a mannanase enzyme. However, in view of the noted teachings of any one of Jones et al., Klinger et al., Monrad et al., Damager et al., Weide et al., and Hoff et al. above, where each of the noted references disclose a detergent composition comprising a mannanase polypeptide comprising an amino acid sequence having at least 65% sequence identity with instant SEQ ID NO: 16, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to incorporate the mannanase polypeptide of any one of Jones et al., Klinger et al., Monrad et al., Damager et al., Weide et al., and Hoff et al. above in the composition comprising the DNase variant and cleaning adjunct of the ‘408 application claims. One of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success because combining DNase enzymes, mannanases, and adjunct ingredients to form cleaning compositions was known in the art.
Additionally, the components and/or feature recited in the instant dependent claims are also reasonably recited and/or suggested in the ‘408 patent claims and/or any one of Jones et al., Klinger et al., Monrad et al., Damager et al., Weide et al., and Hoff et al.
Reply: Applicants’ remarks have been considered but they are not persuasive. The reasons for maintaining the nonstatutory double patenting rejection are the same as noted above.
Claims 1, 4-5, 13-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 10774293 (‘293) in view of Jones et al. (supra) or any one of Klinger et al. (supra), Monrad et al. (supra), Damager et al. (supra), Weide et al. (supra), and Hoff et al. (supra). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant claims and the ‘293 patent claims are drawn to a composition comprising a DNase variant and a cleaning component and a mannanase (see at least claims 1, 10-12 of the ‘293 patent). The ‘293 patent claims 1-2 recite a DNase comprising substitutions that result in a DNase having at least 90% but less than 100% amino acid sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 1, with the proviso that the DNase is not the amino acid sequence shown in SEQ ID NO: 36, as recited in at least instant claim 1. The ‘293 patent claims differ from the instant claims by not explicitly reciting the amino acid sequence of a mannanase enzyme. However, in view of the noted teachings of any one of Jones et al., Klinger et al., Monrad et al., Damager et al., Weide et al., and Hoff et al. above, where each of the noted references disclose a detergent composition comprising a mannanase polypeptide comprising an amino acid sequence having at least 65% sequence identity with instant SEQ ID NO: 16, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to incorporate the mannanase polypeptide of any one of Jones et al., Klinger et al., Monrad et al., Damager et al., Weide et al., and Hoff et al. above in the composition comprising the DNase variant and cleaning component of the ‘293 application claims. One of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success because combining DNase enzymes, mannanases, and adjunct ingredients to form cleaning compositions was known in the art.
Additionally, the components and/or feature recited in the instant dependent claims are also reasonably recited and/or suggested in the ‘293 patent claims and/or any one of Jones et al., Klinger et al., Monrad et al., Damager et al., Weide et al., and Hoff et al.
Reply: Applicants’ remarks have been considered but they are not persuasive. The reasons for maintaining the nonstatutory double patenting rejection are the same as noted above.
Claims 1, 4-5, 13-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 11447723 (‘723) in view of Jones et al. (supra) or any one of Klinger et al. (supra), Monrad et al. (supra), Damager et al. (supra), Weide et al. (supra), and Hoff et al. (supra). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant claims and the ‘723 patent claims are drawn to a composition comprising a DNase variant and a cleaning component and a mannanase (see at least claim 1 of the ‘723 patent). The ‘723 patent claim 1 recites a DNase comprising substitutions that result in a DNase having at least 90% but less than 100% amino acid sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 1, with the proviso that the DNase is not the amino acid sequence shown in SEQ ID NO: 36, as recited in at least instant claim 1. The ‘723 patent claims differ from the instant claims by not explicitly reciting the amino acid sequence of a mannanase enzyme.
However, in view of the noted teachings of any one of Jones et al., Klinger et al., Monrad et al., Damager et al., Weide et al., and Hoff et al. above, where each of the noted references disclose a detergent composition comprising a mannanase polypeptide comprising an amino acid sequence having at least 65% sequence identity with instant SEQ ID NO: 16, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to incorporate the mannanase polypeptide of any one of Jones et al., Klinger et al., Monrad et al., Damager et al., Weide et al., and Hoff et al. above in the composition comprising the DNase variant and cleaning component of the ‘723 application claims. One of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success because combining DNase enzymes, mannanases, and adjunct ingredients to form cleaning compositions was known in the art.
Additionally, the components and/or feature recited in the instant dependent claims are also reasonably recited and/or suggested in the ‘723 patent claims and/or any one of Jones et al., Klinger et al., Monrad et al., Damager et al., Weide et al., and Hoff et al.
Reply: Applicants’ remarks have been considered but they are not persuasive. The reasons for maintaining the nonstatutory double patenting rejection are the same as noted above.
No claim is allowed.
/Marsha Tsay/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1656