DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 1/30/2026 has been entered. In response to amendment filed on 1/30/2026, claims 1, 52- 53 and 61 are amended. Claims 3, 5- 7, 9, 11- 13, 17- 45, 47- 51, 54, 57, 59 are cancelled. claims 1- 2, 4, 8, 10, 14- 16, 46, 52- 53, 55- 56, 58 and 60- 61 are pending for examinations.
Information Disclosure Statement
Information disclosure statements filed on 12/5/2025, 12/19/2025 are under compliance and have been accepted.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) filed on 1/30/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 52- 53 and 61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Regarding claim 1, limitations “…..selecting a same communication parameter set from the subset for transmitting an uplink signal in response to a downlink control information (DCI) command; transmitting, by the first communication node, the uplink signal according to the selected same communication parameter set selected from the subset and the association…. downlink signal according to the same communication parameter set according to which the uplink signal is transmitted”; are not disclosed in the specification. Same way claim 52’s limitations, “…..a downlink control information (DCI) command for selection of a same communication parameter set from the subset for transmission of an uplink signal; receiving, by the second communication node from the first communication node, the uplink signal according to the selected same communication parameter set selected from the subset and the association.. a downlink signal according to the same communication parameter set according to which the uplink signal is received”; are not disclosed in the specification. Claims 53 and 61’s have similar above discussed limitations. Hence those particular limitations are also not disclosed in the specification. Hence it’s a new matter scenario. Dependent claims can be rejected based on same above rationale.
Claims 1, 52- 53 and 61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claim 1, limitation, “selecting same communication parameter” is confusing to understand since “same” regarding to what parameter set? Is it a power control parameter or the one determined a subset of the plurality of communication parameter sets in response to a MAC-CE one? Or its something different. Hence it’s a indefinite claim language. Same thing applies to claims 52- 53 and 61. Dependent claims can be rejected based on same above rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 8, 10, 14- 16, 52- 53, 55- 56, 58, 61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over VIVO: "Discussion on beam management latency and overhead reduction",3GPP DRAFT; R1-1810411, 3RD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT (3GPP), MOBILE COMPETENCE CENTRE ; 650, ROUTE DES LUCIOLES; F-06921 SOPHIA-ANTI, vol. RAN WG1, no. Chengdu, China; 29 September 2018 (see IDS filed on 1/25/2024 page 1, B8), hereafter VIVO in view of Rahman et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0067979 A1) Cirik et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0029650 A1) and in further view of John Wilson et al. (US Pub. No. 2019/0115955 A1), hereafter John.
Regarding claim 1, VIVO teaches a method for wireless communication (see section 2), comprising:
determining a plurality of communication parameter sets in response to a radio resource control (RRC) first command (section 2, "each state of M candidate TCI states are RRC configured ... ", "set of M TCI states");
associating, by a first communication node, a power control parameter with one communication parameter set of the plurality of communication parameter sets, the one communication parameter set comprising at least one reference signal (RS) resource and at least one quasi co-location (QCL) type parameter (section 2, "power control parameters indication", "For PUSCH, the actual transmission beam/power control parameter is indicated by SRI, and the linkage of them are preconfigured by RRC.", "when uplink and downlink beam pair association was changed, power control parameters may also need to be reconfigured"), the communication parameter set comprising at least one reference signal (RS) resource and at least one quasi co-location (QCL) type parameter (section 2, " ... with a DL RS set used as a QCL reference", "the source RS indicated by TCI state for QCL indication"; here UE can be a first communication node).
determining a subset of the plurality of communication parameter sets in response to a medium access control control element (MAC-CE) command from among the plurality of communication parameter sets (section 2, "MAC-CE is used to select up to 8 TCI states out of M").
Bur Vivo is silent about selecting a same communication parameter set from the subset for transmitting an uplink signal in response to a downlink control information (DCI) command; transmitting, by the first communication node, the uplink signal according to the same communication parameter set selected from the subset and the association and receiving by the first communication node, a downlink signal according to the same communication parameter set according to which the uplink signal is transmitted.
However Cirik states regarding selecting a same communication parameter set from the subset for transmitting an uplink signal in response to a downlink control information (DCI) command; transmitting, by the first communication node, the uplink signal according to the same communication parameter set selected from the subset and the association (see [0307] and Fig. 19… The wireless device 1904 may select/determine a power control parameter set, among the plurality of power control parameter sets 1916 or the at least one power control parameter set, to determine/calculate a transmission power for the TB, for example, based on receiving the DCI 1924 ...; now refer to [0308] regarding .. wireless device 1904 may send (e.g., transmit) the TB (i.e. uplink signal) based on the determined/calculated transmission power. The wireless device 1904 may send/transmit the TB with the transmission power; further see [0309].)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Cirik with the teachings of Vivo to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein selecting a same communication parameter set from the subset for transmitting an uplink signal in response to a downlink control information (DCI) command; transmitting, by the first communication node, the uplink signal according to the same communication parameter set selected from the subset and the association; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Bur Vivo is silent about receiving by the first communication node, a downlink signal according to the same communication parameter set according to which the uplink signal is transmitted.
However John states in [0073] about … if UE 115-a receives an indication of an updated TCI state in a DCI, UE 115-a may identify updated QCL relationships between antenna ports based on the updated TCI state. Specifically, UE 115-a may identify one or more reference signals associated with the TCI state, and the antenna ports used to transmit (i.e. uplink signal) the one or more reference signals may be quasi co-located with antenna ports used to transmit data or control information (i.e. uplink sign al) to the UE 115-b. The one or more reference signals may include SSBs, periodic CSI-RSs, aperiodic CSI-RSs, or semi-persistent CSI-RSs. Thus, UE 115-b may perform channel estimation based on the one or more reference signals associated with the TCI state. UE 115-b may then demodulate the data or control information (i.e. downlink signal) received from base station 105-b based on the channel estimation (i.e. estimation is as per on the one or more reference signals associated with the TCI state). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of John with the teachings of VIVO in view of Cirik to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism about receiving by the first communication node, a downlink signal according to the same communication parameter set according to which the uplink signal is transmitted; greater way more standardized communication can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 4, VIVO in view of Cirik and John teaches as per claim 1, wherein the uplink signal comprises a sounding reference signal (SRS), a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH); Vivo see section 2 PUSCH.
Regarding claim 8, Vivo in view of Cirik and John teaches as per claim 1, wherein the power control parameter comprises a target power, a path loss RS, a scaling factor for path loss, or a closed loop process; Cirik states in [0256] about ..Each power control parameter set of the plurality of power control parameter sets may comprise a respective alpha set index, of the alpha set indices, indicating a power control parameter (e.g., target power level (p0), pathloss scaling factor (alpha)…
Regarding claim 10, VIVO in view of Cirik and John states as per claim 1, wherein the downlink signal comprises a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), or a channel-state information reference signal (CSI-RS); already described above in claim 1 see John.
Regarding claim 14, VIVO in view of Cirik and John teaches as per claim 1, further comprising: determining at least one of a spatial relation or the power control parameter of the uplink signal according to the selected communication parameter set, wherein the uplink signal comprises a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) or a sounding reference signal (SRS); see Vivo section 2, "When K> 1 TCI states are configured per CORESET, MAC-CE can indicate which one TCI state to use for PDCCH QCL state.", "the mapping between TCI state and CORESET can be dynamically switched ... to avoid always configuring too many TCI states for CORESET", "For PUSCH, the actual transmission beam/power control parameter is indicated by SRI, ... "; further see section 2 .. Considering the possibly large amount of work involving above various techniques, it is beneficial for the community to evaluate and compare different techniques in different sub-categories separately at least for DL. For UL, the major focus falls in beam measurement, for which SRS for beam management overhead reduction could be considered… In NR Rel-15, uplink beam indication mechanisms can be reused as power control parameters indication. For PUSCH, the actual transmission beam/power control parameter is indicated by SRI, and the linkage of them are preconfigured by RRC. For PUCCH, the actual transmission beam/power control parameter is indicated by MAC CE, and the linkage of them are preconfigured by RRC. For SRS, as SRS is trigger by set level, the transmission beam/power control parameter are set level preconfigured by RRC.
Regarding claim 15, VIVO in view of Cirik and John teaches as per claim 14, wherein the PUCCH comprises a PUCCH resource; already described above see claim 14.
Regarding claim 16, VIVO in view of Cirik and John teaches as per claim 14, further comprising: determining the spatial relation of the uplink signal according to the at least one RS resource; as per claim 14 recitations, determining at least one of a spatial relation or the power control parameter ..” i.e. “OR” limitations“.
Regarding claim 52, VIVO teaches a method for wireless communication (see section 2), comprising:
transmitting, by a second communication node, a radio resource control (RRC) command for determination of a plurality of communication parameter sets (section 2, "each state of M candidate TCI states are RRC configured ... ", "set of M TCI states");
transmitting, by the second communication node to a first communication node association command to assocoiate a power control parameter with one communication parameter set of the plurality of communication parameter sets, the one communication parameter set comprising at least one reference signal (RS) resource and at least one quasi co-location (QCL) type parameter (section 2, "power control parameters indication", "For PUSCH, the actual transmission beam/power control parameter is indicated by SRI, and the linkage of them are preconfigured by RRC.", "when uplink and downlink beam pair association was changed, power control parameters may also need to be reconfigured"), the communication parameter set comprising at least one reference signal (RS) resource and at least one quasi co-location (QCL) type parameter (section 2, " ... with a DL RS set used as a QCL reference", "the source RS indicated by TCI state for QCL indication" i.e. UE can be first communication node and gnb as a second communication node).
Transmitting, by the second communication node, a medium access control element (MAC-CE) command for determination of a subset of the plurality of communication parameter sets from among the plurality of communication parameter sets (section 2, "MAC-CE is used to select up to 8 TCI states out of M").
Bur Vivo is silent about transmitting, by the second communication node, a downlink control information (DCI) command for selection of a same communication parameter set from the subset for transmission of an uplink signal; receiving, by the second communication node from the first communication node, the uplink signal according to the same communication parameter set selected from the subset and the association; and transmitting a downlink signal according to the same communication parameter set according to which the uplink signal is received.
However Cirik states regarding transmitting, by the second communication node, a downlink control information (DCI) command for selection of a same communication parameter set from the subset for transmission of an uplink signal; receiving, by the second communication node from the first communication node, the uplink signal according to the same communication parameter set selected from the subset and the association (see [0307] and Fig. 19… The wireless device 1904 may select/determine a power control parameter set, among the plurality of power control parameter sets 1916 or the at least one power control parameter set, to determine/calculate a transmission power for the TB, for example, based on receiving the DCI 1924 ...; now refer to [0308] regarding .. wireless device 1904 may send (e.g., transmit) the TB (i.e. uplink signal) based on the determined/calculated transmission power. The wireless device 1904 may send/transmit the TB with the transmission power; further see [0309].)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Cirik with the teachings of Vivo to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein transmitting, by the second communication node, a downlink control information (DCI) command for selection of a same communication parameter set from the subset for transmission of an uplink signal; receiving, by the second communication node from the first communication node, the uplink signal according to the same communication parameter set selected from the subset and the association; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Bur Vivo is silent about transmitting a downlink signal according to the same communication parameter set according to which the uplink signal is received.
However John states in [0073] about … if UE 115-a receives an indication of an updated TCI state in a DCI, UE 115-a may identify updated QCL relationships between antenna ports based on the updated TCI state. Specifically, UE 115-a may identify one or more reference signals associated with the TCI state, and the antenna ports used to transmit (i.e. uplink signal) the one or more reference signals may be quasi co-located with antenna ports used to transmit data or control information (i.e. uplink sign al) to the UE 115-b. The one or more reference signals may include SSBs, periodic CSI-RSs, aperiodic CSI-RSs, or semi-persistent CSI-RSs. Thus, UE 115-b may perform channel estimation based on the one or more reference signals associated with the TCI state. UE 115-b may then demodulate the data or control information (i.e. downlink signal) received from base station 105-b based on the channel estimation (i.e. estimation is as per on the one or more reference signals associated with the TCI state). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of John with the teachings of VIVO in view of Cirik to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism about transmitting a downlink signal according to the same communication parameter set according to which the uplink signal is received; greater way more standardized communication can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 53, VIVO teaches a wireless communications apparatus comprising: a memory storing a plurality of instructions; and a processor configured to execute the plurality of instructions, and upon execution of the plurality of instructions, is configured to (see section 2):
Determine a plurality of communication parameter sets in response to a radio resource control (RRC) first command (section 2, "each state of M candidate TCI states are RRC configured ... ", "set of M TCI states");
Associate, by a first communication node, a power control parameter with one communication parameter set of the plurality of communication parameter sets, the one communication parameter set comprising at least one reference signal (RS) resource and at least one quasi co-location (QCL) type parameter (section 2, "power control parameters indication", "For PUSCH, the actual transmission beam/power control parameter is indicated by SRI, and the linkage of them are preconfigured by RRC.", "when uplink and downlink beam pair association was changed, power control parameters may also need to be reconfigured"), the communication parameter set comprising at least one reference signal (RS) resource and at least one quasi co-location (QCL) type parameter (section 2, " ... with a DL RS set used as a QCL reference", "the source RS indicated by TCI state for QCL indication").
determine a subset of the plurality of communication parameter sets in response to a medium access control control element (MAC-CE) command from among the plurality of communication parameter sets (section 2, "MAC-CE is used to select up to 8 TCI states out of M" i.e. apparatus as a UE).
Bur Vivo is silent about selecting a same communication parameter set from the subset for transmitting an uplink signal in response to a downlink control information (DCI) command; transmitting, by the first communication node, the uplink signal according to the same communication parameter set selected from the subset and the association; and receiving a downlink signal according to the selected communication parameter set according to which the uplink signal is transmitted.
However Cirik states regarding selecting a same communication parameter set from the subset for transmitting an uplink signal in response to a downlink control information (DCI) command; transmitting, by the first communication node, the uplink signal according to the same communication parameter set selected from the subset and the association (see [0307] and Fig. 19… The wireless device 1904 may select/determine a power control parameter set, among the plurality of power control parameter sets 1916 or the at least one power control parameter set, to determine/calculate a transmission power for the TB, for example, based on receiving the DCI 1924 ...; now refer to [0308] regarding .. wireless device 1904 may send (e.g., transmit) the TB (i.e. uplink signal) based on the determined/calculated transmission power. The wireless device 1904 may send/transmit the TB with the transmission power; further see [0309].)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Cirik with the teachings of Vivo to make system more effective. Having a mechanism electing a same communication parameter set from the subset for transmitting an uplink signal in response to a downlink control information (DCI) command; transmitting, by the first communication node, the uplink signal according to the same communication parameter set selected from the subset and the association; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Bur Vivo is silent about receiving a downlink signal according to the selected communication parameter set according to which the uplink signal is transmitted.
However John states in [0073] about … if UE 115-a receives an indication of an updated TCI state in a DCI, UE 115-a may identify updated QCL relationships between antenna ports based on the updated TCI state. Specifically, UE 115-a may identify one or more reference signals associated with the TCI state, and the antenna ports used to transmit (i.e. uplink signal) the one or more reference signals may be quasi co-located with antenna ports used to transmit data or control information (i.e. uplink sign al) to the UE 115-b. The one or more reference signals may include SSBs, periodic CSI-RSs, aperiodic CSI-RSs, or semi-persistent CSI-RSs. Thus, UE 115-b may perform channel estimation based on the one or more reference signals associated with the TCI state. UE 115-b may then demodulate the data or control information (i.e. downlink signal) received from base station 105-b based on the channel estimation (i.e. estimation is as per on the one or more reference signals associated with the TCI state). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of John with the teachings of VIVO in view of Cirik to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism about receiving a downlink signal according to the selected communication parameter set according to which the uplink signal is transmitted; greater way more standardized communication can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 55, VIVO in view of Cirik and John teaches as per claim 52, wherein the uplink signal comprises a sounding reference signal (SRS), a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH); Vivo see section 2 PUSCH; further see John [0073].
Regarding claim 56, Vivo in view of Cirik and John states as per claim 52, wherein the power control parameter comprises a target power, a path loss RS, a scaling factor for path loss, or a closed loop process; Cirik states in [0256] about ..Each power control parameter set of the plurality of power control parameter sets may comprise a respective alpha set index, of the alpha set indices, indicating a power control parameter (e.g., target power level (p0), pathloss scaling factor (alpha)…
Regarding claim 58, VIVO in view of Cirik and John teaches as per claim 52, further comprising: determining at least one of a spatial relation or the power control parameter of the uplink signal according to the communication parameter set, wherein the uplink signal comprises a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) or a sounding reference signal (SRS); see Vivo section 2, "When K> 1 TCI states are configured per CORESET, MAC-CE can indicate which one TCI state to use for PDCCH QCL state.", "the mapping between TCI state and CORESET can be dynamically switched ... to avoid always configuring too many TCI states for CORESET", "For PUSCH, the actual transmission beam/power control parameter is indicated by SRI, ... "; further see section 2 .. Considering the possibly large amount of work involving above various techniques, it is beneficial for the community to evaluate and compare different techniques in different sub-categories separately at least for DL. For UL, the major focus falls in beam measurement, for which SRS for beam management overhead reduction could be considered… In NR Rel-15, uplink beam indication mechanisms can be reused as power control parameters indication. For PUSCH, the actual transmission beam/power control parameter is indicated by SRI, and the linkage of them are preconfigured by RRC. For PUCCH, the actual transmission beam/power control parameter is indicated by MAC CE, and the linkage of them are preconfigured by RRC. For SRS, as SRS is trigger by set level, the transmission beam/power control parameter are set level preconfigured by RRC.
Regarding claim 61, VIVO teaches a wireless communications apparatus comprising: a memory storing a plurality of instructions; and a processor configured to execute the plurality of instructions, and upon execution of the plurality of instructions, is configured to (see section 2):
transmit a radio resource control (RRC) command for determination of a plurality of communication parameter sets (section 2, "each state of M candidate TCI states are RRC configured ... ", "set of M TCI states");
transmit an association command to associate a power control parameter with one communication parameter set of the plurality of communication parameter sets, the one communication parameter set comprising at least one reference signal (RS) resource and at least one quasi co-location (QCL) type parameter (section 2, "power control parameters indication", "For PUSCH, the actual transmission beam/power control parameter is indicated by SRI, and the linkage of them are preconfigured by RRC.", "when uplink and downlink beam pair association was changed, power control parameters may also need to be reconfigured"), the communication parameter set comprising at least one reference signal (RS) resource and at least one quasi co-location (QCL) type parameter (section 2, " ... with a DL RS set used as a QCL reference", "the source RS indicated by TCI state for QCL indication" i.e. apparatus as a gnb).
Transmit a medium access control control element (MAC-CE) command for determination of a subset of the plurality of communication parameter sets from among the plurality of communication parameter sets (section 2, "MAC-CE is used to select up to 8 TCI states out of M").
Bur Vivo is silent about transmit a downlink control information (DCI) command for selection of a same communication parameter set from the subset for transmission of an uplink signal; receive the uplink signal according to the same communication parameter set selected from the subset and the association; and transmit a downlink signal according to the same communication parameter set according to which the uplink signal is received.
However Cirik states regarding to transmit a downlink control information (DCI) command for selection of a same communication parameter set from the subset for transmission of an uplink signal; receive the uplink signal according to the same communication parameter set selected from the subset and the association (see [0307] and Fig. 19… The wireless device 1904 may select/determine a power control parameter set, among the plurality of power control parameter sets 1916 or the at least one power control parameter set, to determine/calculate a transmission power for the TB, for example, based on receiving the DCI 1924 ...; now refer to [0308] regarding .. wireless device 1904 may send (e.g., transmit) the TB (i.e. uplink signal) based on the determined/calculated transmission power. The wireless device 1904 may send/transmit the TB with the transmission power; further see [0309].)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Cirik with the teachings of Vivo to make system more effective. Having a mechanism to transmit a downlink control information (DCI) command for selection of a same communication parameter set from the subset for transmission of an uplink signal; receive the uplink signal according to the same communication parameter set selected from the subset and the association; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Bur Vivo is silent about to transmit a downlink signal according to the same communication parameter set according to which the uplink signal is received.
However John states in [0073] about … if UE 115-a receives an indication of an updated TCI state in a DCI, UE 115-a may identify updated QCL relationships between antenna ports based on the updated TCI state. Specifically, UE 115-a may identify one or more reference signals associated with the TCI state, and the antenna ports used to transmit (i.e. uplink signal) the one or more reference signals may be quasi co-located with antenna ports used to transmit data or control information (i.e. uplink sign al) to the UE 115-b. The one or more reference signals may include SSBs, periodic CSI-RSs, aperiodic CSI-RSs, or semi-persistent CSI-RSs. Thus, UE 115-b may perform channel estimation based on the one or more reference signals associated with the TCI state. UE 115-b may then demodulate the data or control information (i.e. downlink signal) received from base station 105-b based on the channel estimation (i.e. estimation is as per on the one or more reference signals associated with the TCI state). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of John with the teachings of VIVO in view of Cirik to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism about to transmit a downlink signal according to the same communication parameter set according to which the uplink signal is received; greater way more standardized communication can be carried out in the communication system.
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over VIVO: "Discussion on beam management latency and overhead reduction",3GPP DRAFT; R1-1810411, 3RD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT (3GPP), MOBILE COMPETENCE CENTRE ; 650, ROUTE DES LUCIOLES; F-06921 SOPHIA-ANTI, vol. RAN WG1, no. Chengdu, China; 29 September 2018 (see IDS filed on 1/25/2024 page 1, B8), hereafter VIVO in view of Cirik et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0029650 A1) in further view of John Wilson et al. (US Pub. No. 2019/0115955 A1), hereafter John and further in view of Matsumura et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0408371 A1), hereafter Yuki.
Regarding claim 2, Vivo in view of Cirik and John teaches as per claim 1, but Vivo silent about receiving, with the first communication node, an association command from a second communication node, wherein the associating comprises associating the power control parameter with the one communication parameter set of the plurality of communication parameter sets in response to receiving the association command; however Yuki states in [0206] (in context with [0157, 0193- 0194]) about In a case where the TCI state or QCL assumption used as the default spatial relation is updated, the UE may update the power control parameters of the specific UL transmission to the candidates for the power control parameter associated with the TCI state (automatic update of power control parameter). The TCI state or the QCL assumption may be updated by at least one of the MAC CE, the DCI, and the PRACH transmission (i.e. either one can be association command); further see [0207- 0209]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Yuki with the teachings of Vivo in view of Cirik and John to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein receiving, with the first communication node, an association command from a second communication node, wherein the associating comprises associating the power control parameter with the communication parameter set in response to receiving the association command; greater way standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Claim(s) 46 and 60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over VIVO: "Discussion on beam management latency and overhead reduction",3GPP DRAFT; R1-1810411, 3RD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT (3GPP), MOBILE COMPETENCE CENTRE ; 650, ROUTE DES LUCIOLES; F-06921 SOPHIA-ANTI, vol. RAN WG1, no. Chengdu, China; 29 September 2018 (see IDS filed on 1/25/2024 page 1, B8), hereafter VIVO in view of Cirik et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0029650 A1) in further view of John Wilson et al. (US Pub. No. 2019/0115955 A1), hereafter John and further in view of Rahman et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0067979 A1).
Regarding claim 46, Vivo in view of Cirik and John teaches as per claim 1, but VIVO is silent about reporting to a second communication node at least one of: an indicator of supporting a medium access control element (MAC-CE) cross carrier component indicator; an indicator of supporting the communication parameter set for both downlink transmissions and uplink transmissions; or an indicator of supporting a downlink control information (DCI) command comprising a plurality of communication parameter set identifiers (IDs); however Rahman states in [0135] about Whether the UE is capable of supporting such common MAC-CE activation for TCI indication can be reported by the UE via capability signaling. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Rahman with the teachings of Vivo in view of Cirik and John to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein reporting to a second communication node at least one of: an indicator of supporting a medium access control element (MAC-CE) cross carrier component indicator; an indicator of supporting the communication parameter set for both downlink transmissions and uplink transmissions; or an indicator of supporting a downlink control information (DCI) command comprising a plurality of communication parameter set identifiers (IDs); greater way more standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 60, Vivo in view of Cirik and John teaches as per claim 52, further comprising:
receiving, with the second node, at least one of:
an indicator of supporting a medium access control element (MAC-CE) cross carrier component indicator;
an indicator of supporting the communication parameter set for both downlink transmissions and uplink transmissions; or
an indicator of supporting a downlink control information (DCI) command comprising a plurality of communication parameter set identifiers (ID s); however Rahman states in [0135] about Whether the UE is capable of supporting such common MAC-CE activation for TCI indication can be reported by the UE via capability signaling.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Rahman with the teachings of Vivo in view of Cirik and John to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein receiving, with the second node, at least one of:
an indicator of supporting a medium access control element (MAC-CE) cross carrier component indicator;
an indicator of supporting the communication parameter set for both downlink transmissions and uplink transmissions; or
an indicator of supporting a downlink control information (DCI) command comprising a plurality of communication parameter set identifiers (ID s); greater way more standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Conclusion
PARTH PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2479
/PARTH PATEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2479