DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 11-12,14-21,23-29 and 31 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references/or references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Specifically, the Applicant has amended the claims to add “the emissivity of the second material and a surface area of the exposed surface are configured to dissipate heat from the exposed surface by the thermal radiation that is greater than thermal energy absorbed by the substrate during processing” and “the localized plasma source processes a localized portion of the substrate”, and the second material being hard anodized coating such that the scope of the claims has changed, thus requiring further search and consideration. The resulting rejection, based on United States Patent Application No. 2009/0002913 to Naim in view of United States Patent No. 5452510 to Barnes et al is presented below.
Furthermore, the rejection for claim 18 has also been updated due to the new claim amendments with the teachings of United States Patent Application No. 2002/0130275 to Mack et al in view of United States Patent Application No. 2009/0002913 to Naim. The rejection below is thus made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11, 12, 14-17 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application No. 2009/0002913 to Naim in view of United States Patent No. 5452510 to Barnes et al.
In regard to Claim 11, Naim teaches a substrate holder comprising: a chuck Fig. 1 configured to immobilize a substrate (not shown, but wafer) at a first side of the chuck (top surface of the chuck, indicated to 31 in Fig. 3) comprising a first material (mesa structure with a film such as carbon, silicon dioxide, silicon nitride, aluminum nitride, polyimid, flouorocarbons of siloxanes [0022]); a heater disposed on or in the chuck and configured to heat the substrate (polyimide flexible heater bonded to the assembly, [0037]); and a second material 14 disposed at a second side of the chuck (bottom of chuck in Fig. 1) opposing the first side (top of the chuck), the second material comprising an exposed surface facing away from the substrate (see exposed surface of 13, made of aluminum that is anodized [0021]) and configured to cool the substrate by emitting thermal radiation (as 14 is a heat sink), the emissivity of the first material being lower than the emissivity of the second material (as it is anodized aluminum on the backside exposed area [0021]), wherein the emissivity of the second material and a surface area of the exposed surface are configured to dissipate heat from the exposed surface by the thermal radiation [0012-0038].
Naim does not expressly teach that the material is hard anodized aluminum.
Barnes teaches that the insulation or coating is a hard coat anodization/alumina on an electrostatic chuck, as this type of coating is non-porous so that the electrical breakdown voltage of the insulator is as high as possible (Col. 3 lines 3-33).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to have modified the anodized aluminum coating of Naim, to make it a hard coat anodization as taught by Barnes. One would be motivated to do so for the predictable result of making the electrical breakdown voltage of the insulator as high as possible and make the coating is non-porous. See MPEP 2143 Motivation A.
It has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2144.07. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). Therefore, because it is known to make an anodized coating analogous to that of Naim hard anodized, as taught by Barnes, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to do so. The resulting apparatus would fulfill the limitations of Claim 1, and results in a hard anodized aluminum coating on the bottom of the chuck.
Naim does not expressly teach that the emissivity is greater than thermal energy absorbed by the substrate during processing.
However, this limitation is based on the substrate. As such, if the substrate has a material or size that has an emissivity smaller than that of the second material, it would fulfill the claimed limitations.
It has been held that expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim. Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969). Inclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims. In re Young, 75 F.2d 966, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)). In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235; In re Rishoi, 94 USPQ 71; In re Young, 25 USPQ 69; In re Dulberg, 129 USPQ 348; and Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647. Thus the type of substrate is not considered a positive limitation and the apparatus of Naim would be capable of processing a substrate that has a smaller emissivity, based on user selection of the type of substrate, there being no structural limitations in the claims to prevent this otherwise, as there is a material and exposed surfaces area in the teachings of claim that fulfill this limitation for the second material emissivity.
The resulting apparatus fulfills the limitations of the claim.
In regard to Claim 12, Naim teaches the substrate comprises a major surface (the surface of 31, as shown in Fig. 3 [0024]) and wherein the first side of the chuck entirely overlaps the major surface of the substrate (as generally shown in Fig. 3).
In regard to Claim 14, Naim teaches the second material is a coating or film covering the second side of the chuck (as the backside or exposed area is anodized, which results in an implicit coating or film [0021]).
In regard to Claim 15, Naim in view of Barnes teaches the coating or film is a hard anodized coating, as per the rejection of Claim 1 above.
In regard to Claim 16, Naim in view of Barnes teaches the coating or film is a high emissivity coating configured to also provide chemical resistance, as it is hard anodized aluminum, as per the rejection of Claim 1 above.
In regard to Claim 17, Naim in view of Barnes teaches the second material is a high emissivity ceramic, as per the rejection of Claim 1 above.
In regard to Claim 29, Naim teaches a substrate holder Fig. 1-4 comprising: a chuck Fig. 1 configured to immobilize a substrate (wafer not shown) at a first side of the chuck (top side of the chuck) comprising a first material (mesa structure with a film such as carbon, silicon dioxide, silicon nitride, aluminum nitride, polyimid, flouorocarbons of siloxanes [0022]); the substrate comprising a major surface (implicit horizontal surface, as it is a wafer), the first side of the chuck entirely overlaps the major surface of the substrate, a heater disposed on or in the chuck and configured to heat the substrate (polyimide flexible heater bonded to the assembly, [0037]) and a second material 14 disposed at a second side of the chuck (bottom of chuck in Fig. 1) opposing the first side (top of the chuck), the second material comprising an exposed surface facing away from the substrate (see exposed surface of 13, made of aluminum that is anodized [0021]) and configured to cool the substrate by emitting thermal radiation (as 14 is a heat sink), the emissivity of the first material being lower than the emissivity of the second material (as it is anodized aluminum on the backside exposed area [0021]), wherein the emissivity of the second material and a surface area of the exposed surface are configured to dissipate heat from the exposed surface by the thermal radiation [0012-0038].
Naim does not expressly teach that the material is hard anodized aluminum.
Barnes teaches that the insulation or coating is a hard coat anodization/alumina on an electrostatic chuck, as this type of coating is non-porous so that the electrical breakdown voltage of the insulator is as high as possible (Col. 3 lines 3-33).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to have modified the anodized aluminum coating of Naim, to make it a hard coat anodization as taught by Barnes. One would be motivated to do so for the predictable result of making the electrical breakdown voltage of the insulator as high as possible and make the coating is non-porous. See MPEP 2143 Motivation A.
It has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2144.07. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). Therefore, because it is known to make an anodized coating analogous to that of Naim hard anodized, as taught by Barnes, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to do so. The resulting apparatus would fulfill the limitations of Claim 1, and results in a hard anodized aluminum coating on the bottom of the chuck.
Naim does not expressly teach that the emissivity is greater than thermal energy absorbed by the substrate during processing.
However, this limitation is based on the substrate. As such, if the substrate has a material or size that has an emissivity smaller than that of the second material, it would fulfill the claimed limitations.
It has been held that expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim. Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969). Inclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims. In re Young, 75 F.2d 966, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)). In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235; In re Rishoi, 94 USPQ 71; In re Young, 25 USPQ 69; In re Dulberg, 129 USPQ 348; and Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647. Thus the type of substrate is not considered a positive limitation and the apparatus of Naim would be capable of processing a substrate that has a smaller emissivity, based on user selection of the type of substrate, there being no structural limitations in the claims to prevent this otherwise, as there is a material and exposed surfaces area in the teachings of claim that fulfill this limitation for the second material emissivity.
The resulting apparatus fulfills the limitations of the claim.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of United States Patent Application No. 2002/0130275 to Mack et al in view of United States Patent Application No. 2009/0002913 to Naim.
In regard to Claim 18, Mack substrate processing apparatus Fig. 2 comprising: a vacuum chamber 102; a localized plasma source 104, 106 [0021, analogous structures of Fig. 3]; an electrostatic chuck (ESC) 150 disposed in the vacuum chamber and having no liquid cooling mechanism (as cooling is not found in Mack), the ESC being configured to clamp a substrate (not shown but a wafer/substrate) to an upper surface of the ESC facing the localized plasma source (as shown in Fig. 2, 3); and a mechanical arm 202, 204 attached to the ESC and configured to move the substrate laterally relative to the localized plasma source to scan the localized plasma source across process the substrate while the localized plasma source processes a localized portion of the substrate [0020; 0017-0041].
Mack does not expressly teach a heater integrated within the ESC and configured to heat the substrate while processing the substrate.
Naim teaches a substrate holder comprising: a chuck Fig. 1 configured to immobilize a substrate (not shown, but wafer) at a first side of the chuck (top surface of the chuck, indicated to 31 in Fig. 3) comprising a first material (mesa structure with a film such as carbon, silicon dioxide, silicon nitride, aluminum nitride, polyimid, flouorocarbons of siloxanes [0022]); a heater disposed on or in the chuck and configured to heat the substrate (polyimide flexible heater bonded to the assembly, [0037]); and a second material 14 disposed at a second side of the chuck (bottom of chuck in Fig. 1) opposing the first side (top of the chuck), the second material comprising an exposed surface facing away from the substrate (see exposed surface of 13, made of aluminum that is anodized [0021]) and configured to cool the substrate by emitting thermal radiation (as 14 is a heat sink), the emissivity of the first material being lower than the emissivity of the second material (as it is anodized aluminum on the backside exposed area [0021]), wherein the emissivity of the second material and a surface area of the exposed surface are configured to dissipate heat from the exposed surface by the thermal radiation [0012-0038].
As it is known to provide a heater in an electrostatic chuck, as taught by Mack, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Mack as taught by Naim to include a heater in the electrostatic chuck. One would be motivated to do so in order to yield the predictable result of an electrostatic chuck with a heater. See MPEP 2143, Exemplary Rationales A.
The resulting apparatus fulfills the limitations of the claim.
Claims 19, 21, 23, 24, 25, 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of United States Patent Application No. 2002/0130275 to Mack et al in view of United States Patent Application No. 2009/0002913 to Naim and United States Patent No. 5452510 to Barnes et al.
The teachings of Mack in view of Naim are relied upon as set forth in the above rejection of Claim 18.
In regard to Claim 19, Mack does not expressly teach a first material comprising the upper surface of the ESC; and a second material comprising a lower surface of the ESC, the lower surface being an exposed surface configured to cool the substrate by emitting thermal radiation, the emissivity of the first material being lower than the emissivity of the second material.
Naim teaches a substrate holder comprising: a chuck Fig. 1 configured to immobilize a substrate (not shown, but wafer) at a first side of the chuck (top surface of the chuck, indicated to 31 in Fig. 3) comprising a first material (mesa structure with a film such as carbon, silicon dioxide, silicon nitride, aluminum nitride, polyimid, flouorocarbons of siloxanes [0022]); a heater disposed on or in the chuck and configured to heat the substrate (polyimide flexible heater bonded to the assembly, [0037]); and a second material 14 disposed at a second side of the chuck (bottom of chuck in Fig. 1) opposing the first side (top of the chuck), the second material comprising an exposed surface facing away from the substrate (see exposed surface of 13, made of aluminum that is anodized [0021]) and configured to cool the substrate by emitting thermal radiation (as 14 is a heat sink), the emissivity of the first material being lower than the emissivity of the second material (as it is anodized aluminum on the backside exposed area [0021]), wherein the emissivity of the second material and a surface area of the exposed surface are configured to dissipate heat from the exposed surface by the thermal radiation [0012-0038].
Naim does not expressly teach that the material is hard anodized aluminum.
Barnes teaches that the insulation or coating is a hard coat anodization/alumina on an electrostatic chuck, as this type of coating is non-porous so that the electrical breakdown voltage of the insulator is as high as possible (Col. 3 lines 3-33).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to have modified the anodized aluminum coating of Naim, to make it a hard coat anodization as taught by Barnes. One would be motivated to do so for the predictable result of making the electrical breakdown voltage of the insulator as high as possible and make the coating is non-porous. See MPEP 2143 Motivation A.
It has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2144.07. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). Therefore, because it is known to make an anodized coating analogous to that of Naim hard anodized, as taught by Barnes, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to do so. The resulting apparatus would fulfill the limitations of Claim 1, and results in a hard anodized aluminum coating on the bottom of the chuck.
Naim does not expressly teach that the emissivity is greater than thermal energy absorbed by the substrate during processing.
However, this limitation is based on the substrate. As such, if the substrate has a material or size that has an emissivity smaller than that of the second material, it would fulfill the claimed limitations.
It has been held that expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim. Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969). Inclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims. In re Young, 75 F.2d 966, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)). In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235; In re Rishoi, 94 USPQ 71; In re Young, 25 USPQ 69; In re Dulberg, 129 USPQ 348; and Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647. Thus the type of substrate is not considered a positive limitation and the apparatus of Naim would be capable of processing a substrate that has a smaller emissivity, based on user selection of the type of substrate, there being no structural limitations in the claims to prevent this otherwise, as there is a material and exposed surfaces area in the teachings of claim that fulfill this limitation for the second material emissivity.
It has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2144.07. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). Therefore, because it is known to make an electrostatic chuck analogous to that of Mack out of the materials as taught by Naim in view of Barnes, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to do so.
The resulting apparatus fulfills the limitations of the claim.
In regard to Claim 21, Mack teaches the substrate comprises a major surface (horizontal surface of the substrate/wafer), and wherein the upper surface of the ESC entirely overlaps the major surface of the substrate (as shown in Fig. 2, 3).
In regard to Claim 23, Mack in view of Naim in view of Barnes teaches the second material is a coating or film covering an entire side of the ESC facing away from the substrate, as per the teachings of Naim of the backside being anodized aluminum, as per the rejection of Claim 19 above.
In regard to Claim 24, Mack in view of Naim in view of Barnes teaches the coating or film is a hard anodized coating, as per the rejection of Claim 19 above.
In regard to Claim 25, Mack in view of Naim in view of Barnes teaches the coating or film is a high emissivity coating configured to also provide chemical resistance, as it is hard anodized aluminum, as per the rejection of Claim 19 above.
In regard to Claim 26 Mack in view of Naim in view of Barnes teaches the second material is a high emissivity ceramic as it is hard anodized aluminum, as per the rejection of Claim 19 above.
Claims 20 and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of United States Patent Application No. 2002/0130275 to Mack et al in view of United States Patent Application No. 2009/0002913 to Naim and United States Patent No. 5452510 to Barnes et al and in further view of United States Patent Application No. 2013/0105087 to Cho et al.
The teachings of Mack in view of Naim and Barnes are relied upon as set forth in the above 103 rejection above.
In regard to Claims 20, 27 and 28, Mack in view of Naim and Barnes teaches an overscan shield in the teachings of the ceramic 6 of Naim does not expressly teach an overscan shield comprising an exposed upper surface extending laterally from outer edges of the substrate, the exposed upper surface also comprising the second material.
Cho teaches an overscan shield in the form of a protective ceramic frame 115 that is made out of alumina (the same material as anodized aluminum) that surrounds the aluminum body, the frame protecting the aluminum body and protects the chuck from corrosion [0026; 0021-0026].
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified the apparatus of Mack in view of Naim and Barnes with the teachings of Cho and have added an alumina/anodized aluminum material frame to the outer vertical surfaces of Mack in view of Naim and Barnes, instead of the overscan shield 6 in Naims. One would be motivated to do so for the predictable result of protecting the aluminum body from corrosion. See MPEP 2143 Motivation A. The resulting structure would have an overscan shield comprising an exposed upper surface extending laterally from outer edges of the substrate, the exposed upper surface also comprising the second material, as the frame would be added to the pre-existing aluminum body and thus extend laterally outward, thus resulting in the claimed limitations.
In regard to Claim 27, Mack in view of Naim and Barnes does not expressly teach an overscan shield comprising an exposed upper surface extending laterally from outer edges of the substrate, and an exposed lower surface opposite the exposed upper surface, the exposed lower surface also comprising the second material.
Cho teaches an overscan shield in the form of a protective ceramic frame 115 that is made out of alumina (the same material as anodized aluminum) that surrounds the aluminum body, the frame protecting the aluminum body and protects the chuck from corrosion [0026; 0021-0026].
It would be obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified the apparatus of Mack in view of Naim and Barnes with the teachings of Cho and have added an alumina/anodized aluminum material frame to the outer vertical aluminum surfaces of Mack in view of Naim and Barnes. One would be motivated to do so for the predictable result of protecting the aluminum body from corrosion. See MPEP 2143 Motivation A. The resulting structure would have an overscan shield comprising an overscan shield comprising an exposed upper surface extending laterally from outer edges of the substrate, and an exposed lower surface opposite the exposed upper surface, as the frame would be added to the pre-existing aluminum body and thus extend laterally outward, exposed lower and upper surfaces, thus resulting in the claimed limitations.
In regard to Claim 28, Mack in view of Naim and Barnes and Cho teach the exposed upper surface also comprises the second material, as per the teachings of Cho above.
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application No. 2009/0002913 to Naim in view of United States Patent No. 5452510 to Barnes et al, as applied to Claim 29, and in further view of United States Patent Application No. 2013/0105087 to Cho et al.
The teachings of Naim in view of Barnes are relied upon as set forth in the above 103 rejection above.
In regard to Claim 31, Naim teaches an overscan shield 6 integrated with the chuck, the overscan shield comprising an exposed upper surface extending laterally from outer edges of the substrate and an exposed lower surface opposite the exposed upper surface but does not expressly teach the exposed upper surface and the exposed lower surface each comprising the second material.
Cho teaches an overscan shield in the form of a protective ceramic frame 115 that is made out of alumina (the same material as anodized aluminum) that surrounds the aluminum body, the frame protecting the aluminum body and protects the chuck from corrosion [0026; 0021-0026].
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified the apparatus of Naim in view of Barnes with the teachings of Cho and have added an alumina/anodized aluminum material frame to the outer vertical surfaces of Naim in view of Barnes, instead of the overscan shield 6 in Naims. One would be motivated to do so for the predictable result of protecting the aluminum body from corrosion. See MPEP 2143 Motivation A. The resulting structure would have an overscan shield comprising an exposed upper surface extending laterally from outer edges of the substrate, the exposed upper surface also comprising the second material, as the frame would be added to the pre-existing aluminum body and thus extend laterally outward, thus resulting in the claimed limitations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TIFFANY Z NUCKOLS/Examiner, Art Unit 1716
/Jeffrie R Lund/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716