DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20140151998, Jahn.
In regards to claim 1, in Figure 4 and paragraphs detailing said figure, Jahn discloses a pressure balancer for a tube (210, 370) comprising: a compression collar (310) for threadably mating with a component (365) comprising a seal (272); a gripper (245) for anchoring to the tube and threadably mating with the compression collar; a ferrule (230) disposed over the tube, wherein the ferrule anchors the gripper to the tube; and wherein rotating the compression collar causes a threaded engagement of the compression collar with the component comprising a seal and a threaded connection between the compression collar and the gripper to axially displace the component comprising the seal and the gripper with respect to one another, thereby applying an axial force to the tube due to the gripper being anchored to the tube.
In regards to claim 2, in Figure 4 and paragraphs detailing said figure, Jahn discloses a nut (225) for compressing the ferrule and anchoring the gripper to the tube.
In regards to claim 3, in Figure 4 and paragraphs detailing said figure, Jahn discloses rotating the compression collar in one direction applies the axial force to the tube toward the component comprising the seal and rotating the compression collar in the other direction applies the axial force to the tube away from the component comprising the seal.
In regards to claim 4, in Figure 4 and [0027], Jahn discloses a method for making a pressure balanced connection with a component comprising a seal, wherein the method comprises the steps of: threadably mating a compression collar to the component comprising a seal; anchoring a gripper to a tube proximate the compression collar; threadably mating the gripper with the compression collar; and rotating the compression collar, wherein said rotation causes the threaded engagement of the compression collar with the component comprising a seal and the threaded engagement between the compression collar and the gripper to axially displace the component comprising a seal and the gripper with respect to one another, thereby applying an axial force to the tube.
In regards to claim 5, in Figure 4 and [0027], Jahn discloses anchoring the gripper to the tube comprises the step of deforming a gripper female.
In regards to claim 6, in Figure 4 and [0027], Jahn discloses
a method for making a pressure balanced connection with a component comprising a seal, wherein the method comprises the steps of: sliding a compression collar onto a tube; threadably engaging the component comprising the seal with the compression collar; sliding a gripper onto the tube; rotating the compression collar, wherein said rotation causes the threaded engagement of the compression collar with the component comprising a seal and the threaded engagement between compression collar and the gripper to axially displace the component comprising a seal and the gripper with respect to one another, thereby applying an axial force to the tube.
In regards to claim 7, in Figure 4 and [0027], Jahn discloses gripping the tube comprises: sliding a ferrule over the tube inside the gripper; and compressing the ferrule.
In regards to claim 8, in Figure 4 and [0027], Jahn discloses compressing the ferrule deforms the ferrule and anchors the ferrule to the tube.
In regards to claim 9, in Figure 4 and [0027], Jahn discloses the ferrule is compressed with a jam nut.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Jahn does not disclose a component comprising a seal. The Examiner disagrees. Jahn clearly illustrates a component (365) comprising a seal (272), as claimed.
Applicant argues that rotating Jahn’s jam nut would allow contamination between the inner tube and the instrument housing. The Examiner disagrees. Applicant has failed to provide any evidence that rotating Jahn’s jam nut would allow contamination between the inner tube and the instrument housing. Applicant has only provided arguments, and arguments are not evidence.
Conclusion
/AARON M DUNWOODY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679