DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Examiner acknowledges the amending of claims 1-3, 6, 8, the cancellation of claim 4 and addition of claims 20-21..
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 3 are accepted.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The Examiner notes new art is cited to account for the updated language of claim 8.
The Examiner notes US 7444046 is understood to additionally read on at least claim 8 in its current form.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8, 9, 11, 20, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a2 as being anticipated by Shi et al. (US 2022/0066036).
With respect to claim 8, Shi discloses a laser light source (fig.1, VCSEL #120, [0025]) comprising: a submount (fig.1 #102) having an upper surface (fig.1 top of #102); a semiconductor laser element (fig.1 #120, [0025]) located on the upper surface of the submount and having an end surface from which a laser beam is emitted (fig.1 #120 top side); a lens (fig.1 #112) facing the end surface of the semiconductor laser element; and a support member (fig.1 #104/106) bonded to the upper surface of the submount (fig.1 via #126 at either side) and supporting the lens (fig.1 via connection using #124, [0030]), wherein: the lens comprises: a collimating portion (fig.1 central rounded portion of #112, [0024]) that faces the end surface of the semiconductor laser element and is configured to collimate the laser beam emitted from the semiconductor laser element (fig.1 #112, [0024]); and an extension that extends from the collimating portion (fig.1 flat sides of #112) in a direction (fig.1 left/right) that is parallel to the end surface of the semiconductor laser element; and the lens is supported via a bonding member disposed at least between the extension and the support member (fig.1 #124, [0030]; seen also in fig.6a #624-1, [0073]); wherein in a front view, which is a view from a direction perpendicular to the end surface of the semiconductor laser element (fig.1 top down), a portion of the support member that is located adjacent to the semiconductor laser element in a direction parallel to the upper surface of the submount is bonded to the upper surface of the submount (fig.1 sides of #104/106 bonded to upper surface of #102 and adjacent to laser); and a portion of the upper surface of the submount on which the semiconductor laser element is located is coplanar with a portion of the upper surface of the submount to which the support member is bonded (laser and bonded portions on same plane of #102).
With respect to claim 9, Shi teaches the extension extends in a direction normal to the upper surface of the submount (as seen in fig.1 the defined extension is 3 dimensional and therefore extends in the up/down direction which is normal to the submount upper surface).
With respect to claim 11, Shi teaches the collimating portion and the extension are monolithic (all figures of Shi show element #112, which includes central collimating portion and lateral extensions, are of a single unified element/material).
With respect to claim 20, Shi teaches the support member has a symmetrical shape and bridges over the semiconductor laser element located on the upper surface of the submount (fig.1 #104/106 symmetrical and bridges over #120).
With respect to claim 21, Shi teaches the support member comprises: a first portion (fig.1 left side of #104/106) and a second portion (fig.1 right side of #104/106) that are arranged at a lateral side of the semiconductor laser element and that are bonded to the upper surface of the submount (fig.1 via #126 on each side), and a third portion that connects the first portion and the second portion and overlaps a portion of the semiconductor laser element in a plan view (fig.1 central portion of #104/106).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi in view of Lissotschenko (US 2004/0258124).
With respect to claim 10, Shi teaches the device outlined above, but does not teach the bonding member is disposed only at positions such that the bonding member is not irradiated with the laser beam emitted from the semiconductor laser element when the semiconductor laser element is driven. Lissotschenko teaches a related laser device integrated with a lens wherein the bonding material (fig.1 #8) is positioned such that it is not irradiated by the laser (as seen in fig.1 beam #3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to adapt the device of Shi to place the lens bonding material outside the beam path as demonstrated by Lissotschenko in order to avoid unwanted scattering, reflection, beam path divergence, and avoid the bonding material falling atop the laser (as the bonding agent would be outside the laser boundaries when outside the beam path).
With respect to claim 18, Shi teaches the device outlined above, but does not teach the collimating portion is configured to collimate a fast axis direction of the laser beam. Lissotschenko further teaches a collimating lens (fig.1 #6) which collimates the fast axis ([0011]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to adapt the device of Shi to collimate in the fast axis direction as taught by Lissotschenko in order to control the beam path in total.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 12-17 are allowed.
Please see the reasons outlined in the non-Final rejection of 01/27/2026 noting that the subject matter of claim 4 has been added to claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TOD T VAN ROY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828