Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment to the claims has overcome the objections to the abstract and 112(b) rejection to claims 1-2 previously set forth in the Final Office Action mailed 8/15/2025.
The amendment filed 11/12/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-3 remain pending in this application and claim 3 remains withdrawn.
The amendment filed 12/04/2025 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) because it introduces new matter into the claims. 35 U.S.C. 112(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the claims of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is noted below.
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Lines 10-11 of claim 1 recite “such that the temperature sensor measures directly a temperature of the contact area.” The instant specification does not recite this limitation explicitly or in other words. The instant drawings do show the sensor in direct mechanical contact with a contact area, however the examiner does not see how that directly and clearly supports and amendment of “such that the temperature sensor measures directly a temperature of the contact area.” The examiner advises either an amendment and/or a clear and detailed explanation of how the instant specification and drawings show support for the amendment.
Lines 16-17 recite “a heat sink having an extended surface … thermally coupled directly with a cooling fan.” Not only is it unclear what this means, there is not clear support in the instant specification and drawings. The examiner can see support for direct mechanical coupling between the heat sink and cooling fan, however the thermal coupling is not recited explicitly or in other words in the instant specification. Contact doesn’t necessarily imply thermal coupling. While the bus bar given the nature of a bus bar may be conductive, a fan, is not inherently a conductive material such as metal, especially because of the electrical components within. One would actually expect the opposite, that the fan is an insulating material or at least not electrically or thermally conductive. Additionally, the instant specification does not describe the material of the fan or how it would be thermally coupled with the extended heat sink surface. The examiner advises either an amendment and/or a clear and detailed explanation of how the instant specification and drawings show support for the amendment.
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Lines 16-17 recite “a heat sink having an extended surface … thermally coupled directly with a cooling fan.” It is unclear how the heat sink is thermally coupled with the cooling fan. The examiner can see support for direct mechanical coupling between the heat sink and cooling fan, however contact doesn’t necessarily imply thermal coupling. While the bus bar given the nature of a bus bar may be conductive, a fan, is not inherently a conductive material such as metal, especially because of the electrical components within. One would actually expect the opposite, that the fan is an insulating material or at least not electrically or thermally conductive. Additionally, the instant specification does not describe the material of the fan or how it would be thermally coupled with the extended heat sink surface. The examiner advises either an amendment and/or a clear and detailed explanation of how they are features are thermally coupled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto et al. (US 2014/0356657 A1) in view of Hinterberger et al. (US 2018/0026251 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yamamoto et al. teaches a battery stack (see e.g. the battery module 21 in Fig. 3 and Para. 52) comprising:
a plurality of batteries (40) arranged adjacently to each other (see e.g. by the plurality of battery cells 51 as seen in Fig. 3 and Para. 53 and horizontally arranged adjacently as seen by Fig. 3); and
bus bars (10) (see e.g. bus bars 44 in Fig. 3 and Para. 52) having contact feet (12, 14) at their ends (see e.g. the two ends of connecting part 61 found in Fig. 7 and Para. 62 and one of which is seen in annotated Fig. A due to the angle of the drawing), for connecting the bus bar (10) to poles of the batteries (40) (see e.g. by Para. 61-62, 83, and Fig. 3 of the battery cells 52 via the terminals 25 electrically connected by the bus bars 44 and cell terminals 52 by Para. 62 and Fig. 3); wherein each of the bus bars (10) connects two poles of two adjacent batteries (40) (see e.g. the cell terminals 52 of batteries 51 and bus bars 44 in Fig. 3 connecting the battery poles or terminals), such that the bus bars (10) form electrical connection between the batteries (40) within the battery stack (see e.g. electrical connection between cell terminals 52 and bus bars 44 in Para. 61);
wherein at least one battery has connected thereto a battery management system (BMS) (30) (see e.g. the module control device 23 in Para. 52 and 67, contact area, as seen by connecting part 54, and sensor part 53 in Para. 54 are considered to collectively make up a BMS. This is because the claim defines a BMS to further comprise a temperature sensor and contact area in lines 10 and 12. The specification also defines it as such from page 3 line 24 to page 4 line 14. Therefore, the battery cells 51 are connected via holder 42 and cover 43 to BMS as shown by Para. 59, 52, and Fig. 3. They are also connected via the coupling of sensor part 53 in Para. 54 with battery via cell terminals 52 and bus bars 44, as seen in Fig. 3), for controlling and local optimization of battery charging and discharging parameters by (see e.g. Para. 67 in which the module control device 23 controls the fan to control the temperature of the bus bars or the battery cells within a target range in coordination with the battery control apparatus 13 that controls the ability for the battery system to supply power in Para. 37-39), wherein the BMS (30) comprises a temperature sensor (33) (see e.g. the temperature sensor or sensor part 53 in Para. 54).
wherein a contact area (31) (see e.g. fastening member 54 that connects the module terminals 52 and bus bars 44 together so that they contact each other as noted in Para. 61 and shown in Fig. 3-4) is coupled to a pole (41) of the battery (see e.g. Fig. 4 in which the fastening member 54 surrounds and contacts the vertical central portion of the terminal 52) such that the contact area (31) is located between the pole (41) of the battery and one of the contact feet of the bus bars (10) (see e.g. Annotated Fig. B in which along the annotated diagonal line, a portion of the contact area or fastening member 54 is between the vertical central portion of the cell terminal 52 and the foot of the bus bar 44)
wherein the contact area (31) has a shape of a circle or of a polygon (see e.g. the contact area may be a nut as noted in Para. 61 which is hexagon as shown by the hexagonal shape in Fig. 3 of the fastening member 54, a polygon); and
wherein at least one bus bar (10) of the bus bars is connected to the battery (40) that has the BMS (30) connected thereto (see e.g. the battery cells 51 are electrically connected with one another by the bus bars 44 in Para. 83 and as seen in Fig. 1, thus being electrically connected with the bus bars themselves. The BMS or module control device 23 is connected to the battery cell 51 via the cover assembly 73 in Para. 79of which is mounted on the case assembly 71 in Para. 80 which fixes the case 41 holding the battery cells 51 in Para. 77 and shown in Fig. 4), the at least one bus bar having integrated therein a heat sink having an extended surface (11) (see e.g. by the extended surface of the heat transfer part 63 of bus bar 44 made up of fins in Fig. 7 and Para. 62 of which is integrated as an extension of the bus bar structure as seen in Fig. 7 and noted as integrally made of metal material in Para. 62), mechanically and thermally coupled directly with a cooling fan (20) (see e.g. the heat sink is coupled to fan 22 in Para. 52 via module control device 23 and sensor part 53 as explained in Para. 67. This is further shown in Fig. 4 where the fan 22 is mounted on the cover 43 in Para. 55 of which contacts the heat transferring part 62 of the bus bars 44 in Fig. 4. They are thermally coupled as the fan 22 sucks air as the heat transfer medium in Para. 85 of which flows along the heat transferring part 62 of the bus bar also in Para. 85. As best understood of what thermally coupled may mean, this would meet the limitation.), and
wherein the BMS (30) has a power outlet (34) connected to power the cooling fan (20) and configured to deliver power to the cooling fan (20) depending on the temperature measured by the temperature sensor (33) (see e.g. Para. 72 and in Fig. 4 how the driver 35 connects the fan 22 to the rest of the module control device 23. The electric cable 48 supplies power controlled by the driver 35 to the fan 22. Para. 44-49 and Fig. 2 note the temperature control section 34, part of the module control device, provides input on the control of the fan based on the temperature input. This temperature input is provided by the sensor part 53 in Para. 54. Therefore, the driver, part of the BMS, is reasonably capable of controlling the electric cable 48, which supplies power to the fan 22, based upon the temperature input provided by the sensor part 53).
Yamamoto teaches a temperature sensor (see e.g. the temperature sensor or sensor part 53 in Para. 54).
Yamamoto however fails to explicitly teach the temperature sensor location, specifically the temperature sensor in direct mechanical contact with a contact area (31) such that the temperature sensor measures directly a temperature of the contact area.
However, as one can see in Fig. 3-4 of Yamamoto et al. of the temperature sensor 53, even if Yamamoto does not explicitly describe the location in further detail or in other drawings, it would have been obvious or expected that it is in direct mechanical contact with the contact area via the battery and/or the bus bar in order for the sensor to measure the temperature of the battery and potentially the bus bar as noted in Para. 54, 73, 78, 84, and 113 of Yammaoto.
Additionally, Hinterberger et al. teaches a bus bar 10 comprising a sensor unit 22 in Para. 55 and Para. 58 and Fig. 6-7. The sensor records the temperature of the bus bar in Para. 56 and 63. The structural form of the sensor unit may be small in size and weight so it may be more robust in regard to mechanical loads, such as vibrations, impacts, and or the like in Para. 60.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to either have expected the temperature sensor of Yamamoto et al. to be in direct contact with the contact area or to to modify the BMS of Yamamoto et al. to have a temperature sensor on the bus bar, as taught by Hinterberger et al., in order to measure the temperature of the bus bar and be more robust in regard to mechanical loads, such as vibrations, impacts, and or the like as noted in Para. 56, 60, and 63 of Hinterberger et al.. This would result in direct measuring of the contact area considering the materials of a nut, battery terminal, and bus bar would be inherently conductive and considering the close proximity of the features. This is further supported by the electrical connection between these parts in Para. 61 of Yamamoto et al.
Figure A. Annotated Fig. A of Fig. 7 of Yamamoto et al.
Figure B. Annotated Fig. B of Fig. 4 of Yammamoto
Regarding claim 2, Yamamoto et al. in view of Hinterberger et al. teaches the battery stack according to claim 1.
As best understood, because of the wording of this limitation of “wherein the circle has an area larger than the area of the foot (12) of the bus bar (10) such that the temperature sensor (33) is coupled with the region of the contact area (31) that extends over the area of the foot (12) of the bus bar (10)”, it only requires that if the contact area is a circle, the rest of the limitation must be met i.e. further defining the sizing of the contact area if it’s a circle. Claim 2, as currently worded, does not require the contact area to be a circle. Thus, if the contact area is interpreted to be a polygon shape, as noted above in the rejection of claim 1, the limitation of “wherein the circle has an area larger than the area of the foot (12) of the bus bar (10) such that the temperature sensor (33) is coupled with the region of the contact area (31) that extends over the area of the foot (12) of the bus bar (10)” does not need to be met.
However, for the purpose of examination, even if Yamamoto et al. does not explicit disclose the contact area is a circle, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the polygonal shape of the fastening member 54 of Yamamoto et al. to be circle as modifications to size and shape are considered obvious. See MPEP. 2144.04 IV B.
Furthermore, as looking at Fig. 3, Fig. 4, and annotated Fig. C of Yamamoto et al., it would have been obvious to modify the size of the fastening member 54 to be larger than the size of the foot of the bus bar 44 of Yamamoto et al., as directed to in Annotated Fig. A. The result of this would not only help potentially fasten the sensor, upon the combination of references of Yamamoto et al. and Hinterberger et al., but also help strongly secure or fasten the terminal and bus bar together, especially considering the added weight of the sensor to the bus bar and the purpose of fastening in Para. 61 of Yamamoto et al.. This is further supported by the fast that changes in size/proportion are considered obvious modifications and therefore unpatentable. See MPEP 2144.04 IV A.
Figure C. Annotated Fig. C of Fig. 3 of Yamamoto et al.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-2 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection relies on a new combination of the references cited in the Final Rejection filed 8/15/2025 and Hinterberger et al. (US 2018/0026251 A1) to address the newly added limitations
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2002/0080564 A1 shows a bus cooling fan with the fan directly next to the bus bar.
US 2022/0026282 A1 teaches a temperature sensor mounted by a bolt on a bus bar.
US 2015/0125727 A1 teaches fastening a sensor by a battery terminal on a bus bar.
US 2011/0058391 A1 teaches fastening a current sensor with a terminal and bus bar.
/KATHERINE J METZGER/Examiner, Art Unit 1723
/TONG GUO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723