DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Amendment filed 29 April 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 26-30 have been canceled. Claims 1 and 18 have been amended. Claims 31-35 have been added. Claims 1-11, 13, 14, 18, 20, and 31-35 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the subject matter of claims 33-35, “further comprising a plurality of spacers,” in combination with the subject matter of claim 1, “the display substrate further comprises a first drive line and a second drive line,” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: the subject matter of claims 33-35, “further comprising a plurality of spacers,” in combination with the subject matter of claim 1, “the display substrate further comprises a first drive line and a second drive line,” must find support in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 33-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 33 recites the limitation, “further comprising a plurality of spacers.” This limitation is not supported by the disclosure as originally filed in combination with the feature of claim 1, “the display substrate further comprises a first drive line and a second drive line.”
Claims 34 and 35 are rejected for merely containing the flaws of the parent claim.
Claims 33-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 33 recites the limitation, “further comprising a plurality of spacers.” It is unclear how this feature is implemented in combination with the elements from claim 1, “the display substrate further comprises a first drive line and a second drive line.” As best understood by Examiner, the invention comprising first and second drive lines does not further comprise a plurality of spacers.
Claims 34 and 35 are rejected for merely containing the flaws of the parent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11, 13, 14, 18, 20, and 31-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (Chinese Patent Application Publication 207883217, hereinafter Liu ‘217) of record.
Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application to overcome this rejection because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
With respect to claims 1-11, 13, 14, 18, 20, and 31-35, Liu ‘217 teaches (FIGs. 2D and 8) the display substrate as claimed ([0056, 0103]). Examiner notes that FIGs. 2D and 8 of Liu ‘217 are identical to FIGs. 2D and 8 of the instant application from which the claims derive their support.
Liu ‘217 appears to teach the same invention as disclosed and has a publication date of 18 September 2018. The effective filing date of the instant application, absent a translation of the certified copy of the foreign priority document submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate, is presently 28 December 2018. Accordingly, Liu ‘217 is prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11, 13, 14, 18, 20, 31, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jo et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2017/0294491, hereinafter Jo ‘491) of record in view of Zou et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2017/0236465, hereinafter Zou ‘465) of record and Yoon et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2011/0241014, hereinafter Yoon ‘014).
With respect to claim 1, Jo ‘491 teaches (FIG. 5) a display substrate substantially as claimed, comprising: a plurality of first sub-pixels (upper SG of pixel unit GP), a plurality of second sub-pixels (SR), a plurality of third sub-pixels (SB), and a plurality of fourth sub-pixels (lower SG of pixel unit GP) ([0104]),
the plurality of second sub-pixels (SR) and the plurality of third sub-pixels (SB) are arranged in a plurality of first groups in a first direction, the plurality of first sub-pixels (upper SG) and the plurality of fourth sub-pixels (lower SG) are arranged in a plurality of second groups in a second direction, and the first direction intersects with the second direction ([0104]),
in the first direction, a distance between one of the plurality of second sub-pixels (SR) and one of the plurality of third sub-pixels (SB) that are adjacent to each other at least comprises a first distance (shorter distance between SR and SB) and a second distance (longer distance between SR and SB), and the first distance is less than the second distance ([0104]),
in the second direction, a distance between one of the plurality of first sub-pixels (upper SG) and one of the plurality of fourth sub-pixels (lower SG) that are adjacent to each other at least comprises a third distance (shorter distance between upper SG and lower SG) and a fourth distance (longer distance between upper SG and lower SG), and the third distance is less than the fourth distance ([0104]),
the plurality of first sub-pixels (upper SG of pixel unit GP), the plurality of second sub-pixels (SR), the plurality of third sub-pixels (SB), and the plurality of fourth sub-pixels (lower SG of pixel unit GP) constitute a plurality of pixel groups, each of the plurality of pixel groups comprises one first sub-pixel, one second sub-pixel, one third sub-pixel, and one fourth sub-pixel, the plurality of pixel groups are arranged in an array to form a plurality of rows and a plurality of columns ([0104]).
Thus, Jo ‘491 is shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of:
the display substrate further comprises a first drive line and a second drive line,
in a same row of pixel groups, the third sub-pixel and the first sub-pixel are connected to the first drive line and are configured to be driven by the first drive line, and the second sub-pixel and the fourth sub-pixel are connected to the second drive line and are configured to be driven by the second drive line, and
in a plan view of the display substrate, the first drive line passes through a light emitting area of the third sub-pixel and a light emitting area of the first sub-pixel, and the second drive line passes through a light emitting area of the second sub-pixel and a light emitting area of the fourth sub-pixel.
However, Zou ‘465 teaches (FIG. 3) a display substrate comprising a first drive line (301) and a second drive line (302), wherein in a same row of pixel groups, a third sub-pixel (“blue sub-pixel”) and a first sub-pixel (“green sub-pixel”) are connected to the first drive line and are configured to be driven by the first drive line, and a second sub-pixel (“red sub-pixel”) and a fourth sub-pixel (“white sub-pixel”) are connected to the second drive line and are configured to be driven by the second drive line to control the switches of the sub-pixels ([0031-0039, 0044]).
Further, Yoon ‘014 teaches (FIGs. 4, 6, and 7) drive lines (V) passing through light emitting areas (defined by emission layer 223; [0055]) of pixels (PA) to increase the transmittance of the transmitting region (TA) ([0050]). When applied to the display substrate of Jo ‘491 and Zou ‘465, this would result in the first drive line passing through a light emitting area of the third sub-pixel and a light emitting area of the first sub-pixel, and the second drive line passing through a light emitting area of the second sub-pixel and a light emitting area of the fourth sub-pixel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the display substrate of Jo ‘491 further comprising a first drive line and a second drive line, in a same row of pixel groups, the third sub-pixel and the first sub-pixel are connected to the first drive line and are configured to be driven by the first drive line, and the second sub-pixel and the fourth sub-pixel are connected to the second drive line and are configured to be driven by the second drive line as taught by Zou ‘465 to control the switches of the sub-pixels; and to have formed in a plan view of the display substrate of Jo ‘491 and Zou ‘461 the first drive line passing through a light emitting area of the third sub-pixel and a light emitting area of the first sub-pixel, and the second drive line passing through a light emitting area of the second sub-pixel and a light emitting area of the fourth sub-pixel as taught by Yoon ‘014 to increase the transmittance of a transmitting region.
With respect to claim 2, Jo ‘491 teaches wherein, in the first direction, distances between two adjacent sub-pixels of the plurality of second sub-pixels (SR) and the plurality of third sub-pixels (SB) are arranged in an alternating manner of the first distance and the second distance, and in the second direction, distances between two adjacent sub-pixels of the plurality of first sub-pixels (upper SG) and the plurality of fourth sub-pixels (lower SG) are arranged in an alternating manner of the third distance and the fourth distance ([0104]).
With respect to claim 3, Jo ‘491 teaches wherein the plurality of second sub-pixels (SR) and the plurality of third sub-pixels (SB) are arranged in the first direction and in the second direction, center connection lines of second sub-pixels and third sub-pixels that are adjacent to each other in the first direction are substantially on a straight line, and center connection lines of second sub-pixels and third sub-pixels that are adjacent to each other in the second direction are at least partially not on a straight line with respect to the second direction ([0104]).
With respect to claim 4, Jo ‘491 teaches wherein among the second sub-pixels (SR) and the third sub-pixels (SB) that are adjacent to each other in the second direction, orthographic projections of the second sub-pixels on a straight line extending in the first direction overlap with orthographic projections of the third sub-pixels on the straight line extending in the first direction, and among first sub-pixels (upper SG) and fourth sub-pixels (lower SG) that are adjacent to each other in the first direction, orthographic projections of first sub-pixels on a straight line extending in the second direction overlap with orthographic projections of the fourth sub-pixels on the straight line extending in the second direction ([0104]).
With respect to claim 5, Jo ‘491 teaches wherein the plurality of first sub-pixels (upper SG) and the plurality of fourth sub-pixels (lower SG) are arranged in the first direction and in the second direction, center connection lines of first sub-pixels and fourth sub-pixels that are adjacent to each other in the second direction are substantially on a straight line, and center connection lines of the first sub-pixels and the fourth sub-pixels that are adjacent to each other in the first direction are at least partially not on a straight line with respect to the first direction ([0104]).
With respect to claim 6, Jo ‘491 teaches wherein, among second sub-pixels (SR) and third sub-pixels (SB) that are adjacent to each other in the second direction, center connection lines of the second sub-pixels are substantially on a straight line, and center connection lines of the third sub-pixels are substantially on a straight line ([0104]).
With respect to claim 7, Jo ‘491 teaches wherein a center connection line of the second sub-pixel (SR) and the third sub-pixel (SB) that are adjacent to each other and with the first distance (shorter distance between SR and SB) in the first direction intersects with a center connection line of the first sub-pixel (upper SG) and the fourth sub-pixel (lower SG) that are adjacent to each other and with the fourth distance (longer distance between upper SG and lower SG) in the second direction; a center connection line of the second sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel that are adjacent to each other and with the second distance (longer distance between SR and SB) in the first direction intersects with a center connection line of one of the plurality of first sub-pixels and one of the plurality of fourth sub-pixels that are adjacent to each other and with the third distance (shorter distance between upper SG and lower SG) in the second direction ([0104]).
With respect to claim 8, Jo ‘491 teaches wherein a center connection line of the second sub-pixel (SR) and the third sub-pixel (SB) with the second distance (longer distance between SR and SB) in the first direction is substantially perpendicular to a center connection line of the first sub-pixel (upper SG) and the fourth sub-pixel (lower SG) with the third distance (shorter distance between upper SG and lower SG) in the second direction, and a center connection line of the second sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel with the first distance (shorter distance between SR and SB) in the first direction is substantially perpendicular to a center connection line of the first sub-pixel and the fourth sub-pixel with the fourth distance (longer distance between upper SG and lower SG) in the second direction ([0104]).
With respect to claim 9, Jo ‘491 teaches wherein a center connection line of two first sub-pixels (upper SG) and two fourth sub-pixels (lower SG) surrounding one second sub-pixel (SR) or one third sub-pixel (SB) and adjacent to the second sub-pixel or the third sub-pixel is substantially in a shape of a trapezoid ([0104]).
With respect to claim 10, Jo ‘491 teaches wherein a center connection line of two second sub-pixels (SR) and two third sub-pixels (SB) surrounding one first sub-pixel (upper SG) or one fourth sub-pixel (lower SG) and adjacent to the first sub-pixel or the fourth sub-pixel is substantially in a shape of a trapezoid ([0104]).
With respect to claim 11, Jo ‘491 teaches wherein at least one diagonal line of the trapezoid does not pass through a center of an intermediate sub-pixel located in the trapezoid, and the intermediate sub-pixel is one sub-pixel surrounded by four sub-pixels at four vertices of the trapezoid ([0104]).
With respect to claim 13, Jo ‘491 teaches wherein the first sub-pixel (upper SG) has unequal distances with two second sub-pixels (SR) adjacent thereto, or the first sub-pixel has unequal distances with two third sub-pixels (SB) adjacent thereto; the fourth sub-pixel (lower SG) has unequal distances with two second sub-pixels adjacent thereto, or the fourth sub-pixel has unequal distances with two third sub-pixels adjacent thereto ([0104]).
With respect to claim 14, Jo ‘491 teaches wherein the first sub-pixel (upper SG) has unequal distances with two second sub-pixels (SR) adjacent thereto, and the first sub-pixel has unequal distances with two third sub-pixels (SB) adjacent thereto; the fourth sub-pixel (lower SG) has unequal distances with two second sub-pixels adjacent thereto, and the fourth sub-pixel has unequal distances with two third sub-pixels adjacent thereto ([0104]).
With respect to claim 18, Jo ‘491 teaches (FIG. 5) a display substrate substantially as claimed, comprising a plurality of pixel groups (see annotated FIG. 5 below), wherein the plurality of pixel groups are arranged in an array to form a plurality of rows and a plurality of columns, and two adjacent rows of the plurality of pixel groups are arranged in a staggered manner ([0104]),
each of the plurality of pixel groups comprises a first sub-pixel (upper SG), a second sub-pixel (SR), a third sub-pixel (SB), and a fourth sub-pixel (lower SG), in a same pixel group, the second sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel are arranged in a first direction, and the first sub-pixel and the fourth sub-pixel are located on both sides of a pair of sub-pixels formed by the second sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel ([0104]),
a distance between the second sub-pixel (SR) and the third sub-pixel (SB) that are adjacent to each other and in two adjacent pixel groups in the first direction is greater than a distance between the second sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel that are in the same pixel group, and a distance between the first sub-pixel (upper SG) and the fourth sub-pixel (lower SG) that are adjacent to each other and in two adjacent pixel groups in the second direction is less than a distance between the first sub-pixel and the fourth sub-pixel that are in the same pixel group ([0104]);
or,
a distance between the second sub-pixel (SR) and the third sub-pixel (SB) that are adjacent to each other and in two adjacent pixel groups in the first direction is less than a distance between the second sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel that are in the same pixel group, and a distance between the first sub-pixel (upper SG) and the fourth sub-pixel (lower SG) that are adjacent to each other and in two adjacent pixel groups in the second direction is greater than a distance between the first sub-pixel and the fourth sub-pixel that are in the same pixel group ([0104]),
Thus, Jo ‘491 is shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of:
the display substrate further comprises a first drive line and a second drive line,
in a same row of pixel groups, the third sub-pixel and the first sub-pixel are connected to the first drive line and are configured to be driven by the first drive line, and the second sub-pixel and the fourth sub-pixel are connected to the second drive line and are configured to be driven by the second drive line, and
in a plan view of the display substrate, the first drive line passes through a light emitting area of the third sub-pixel and a light emitting area of the first sub-pixel, and the second drive line passes through a light emitting area of the second sub-pixel and a light emitting area of the fourth sub-pixel.
However, Zou ‘465 teaches (FIG. 3) a display substrate comprising a first drive line (301) and a second drive line (302), wherein in a same row of pixel groups, a third sub-pixel (“blue sub-pixel”) and a first sub-pixel (“green sub-pixel”) are connected to the first drive line and are configured to be driven by the first drive line, and a second sub-pixel (“red sub-pixel”) and a fourth sub-pixel (“white sub-pixel”) are connected to the second drive line and are configured to be driven by the second drive line to control the switches of the sub-pixels ([0031-0039, 0044]).
Further, Yoon ‘014 teaches (FIGs. 4, 6, and 7) drive lines (V) passing through light emitting areas (defined by emission layer 223; [0055]) of pixels (PA) to increase the transmittance of the transmitting region (TA) ([0050]). When applied to the display substrate of Jo ‘491 and Zou ‘465, this would result in the first drive line passing through a light emitting area of the third sub-pixel and a light emitting area of the first sub-pixel, and the second drive line passing through a light emitting area of the second sub-pixel and a light emitting area of the fourth sub-pixel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the display substrate of Jo ‘491 further comprising a first drive line and a second drive line, in a same row of pixel groups, the third sub-pixel and the first sub-pixel are connected to the first drive line and are configured to be driven by the first drive line, and the second sub-pixel and the fourth sub-pixel are connected to the second drive line and are configured to be driven by the second drive line as taught by Zou ‘465 to control the switches of the sub-pixels; and to have formed in a plan view of the display substrate of Jo ‘491 and Zou ‘461 the first drive line passing through a light emitting area of the third sub-pixel and a light emitting area of the first sub-pixel, and the second drive line passing through a light emitting area of the second sub-pixel and a light emitting area of the fourth sub-pixel as taught by Yoon ‘014 to increase the transmittance of a transmitting region.
With respect to claim 20 Jo ‘491 teaches wherein, in the same pixel group, one of a center connection line of the second sub-pixel (SR) and the third sub-pixel (SB) and a center connection line of the first sub-pixel (upper SG) and the fourth sub-pixel (lower SG) is substantially parallel with the first direction, and the other one of the center connection line of the second sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel and the center connection line of the first sub-pixel and the fourth sub-pixel is substantially parallel with the second direction ([0104]).
With respect to claims 31 and 32, Jo ‘491, Zou ‘465, and Yoon ‘014 teach the device as described in claim 1 above, but primary reference Jo ‘491 does not explicitly teach the additional limitations wherein each of the third sub-pixel and the first sub-pixel is divided into two parts by the first drive line, and each of the second sub-pixel and the fourth sub-pixel is divided into two parts by the second drive line; and wherein the first drive line further passes through the second sub-pixel, the second drive line further passes through the third sub-pixel, and each of the third sub-pixel and the second sub-pixel is divided into three parts by the first drive line and the second drive line.
However, Zou ‘465 teaches (FIG. 3) a display substrate comprising a first drive line (301) and a second drive line (302), wherein in a same row of pixel groups, a third sub-pixel (“blue sub-pixel”), a first sub-pixel (“green sub-pixel”), and a second sub-pixel (“red sub-pixel”) are connected to the first drive line and are configured to be driven by the first drive line, and a second sub-pixel (“red sub-pixel”), a fourth sub-pixel (“white sub-pixel”), and a third sub-pixel (“blue sub-pixel”) are connected to the second drive line and are configured to be driven by the second drive line to control the switches of the sub-pixels ([0031-0039, 0044]).
Further, Yoon ‘014 teaches (FIGs. 4, 6, and 7) drive lines (V) passing through light emitting areas (defined by emission layer 223; [0055]) of pixels (PA) to increase the transmittance of the transmitting region (TA) ([0050]). When applied to the display substrate of Jo ‘491 and Zou ‘465, this would necessarily result in each of the third sub-pixel and the first sub-pixel being divided into two parts by the first drive line, each of the second sub-pixel and the fourth sub-pixel being divided into two parts by the second drive line, the first drive line passing through the second sub-pixel, the second drive line passing through the third sub-pixel, and each of the third sub-pixel and the second sub-pixel being divided into three parts by the first drive line and the second drive line.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the second sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel of Jo ‘491, Zou ‘465, and Yoon ‘014 connected to the first drive line and the second drive line respectively as taught by Zou ‘465 to control the switches of the sub-pixels; and to have formed the display substrate of Jo ‘491, Zou ‘465, and Yoon ‘014 wherein each of the third sub-pixel and the first sub-pixel is divided into two parts by the first drive line, and each of the second sub-pixel and the fourth sub-pixel is divided into two parts by the second drive line; and wherein the first drive line further passes through the second sub-pixel, the second drive line further passes through the third sub-pixel, and each of the third sub-pixel and the second sub-pixel is divided into three parts by the first drive line and the second drive line as taught by Yoon ‘014 to increase the transmittance of a transmitting region.
Claims 33-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jo ‘491, Zou ‘465, and Yoon ‘014 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Park (US Patent Application Publication 2016/0254476, hereinafter Park ‘476) of record.
With respect to claims 33-35, Jo ‘491, Zou ‘465, and Yoon ‘014 teach the device as described in claim 1 above with the exception of the additional limitations further comprising a plurality of spacers, wherein at least one spacer of the plurality of spacers is located within a space surrounded by one first sub-pixel, one second sub-pixel, one third sub-pixel, and one fourth sub-pixel; wherein the at least one spacer of the plurality of spacers is located between adjacent ones of the plurality of pixel groups; and wherein the at least one spacer of the plurality of spacers is spaced apart from the first sub-pixel, the second sub-pixel, the third sub-pixel, and the fourth sub-pixel that surround the at least one spacer.
However, Park ‘476 teaches (FIG. 1) a display substrate comprising a plurality of spacers (SP), wherein at least one spacer of the plurality of spacers is located within a space surrounded by one first sub-pixel (OL1), one second sub-pixel (left OL3), one third sub-pixel (right OL3), and one fourth sub-pixel (OL2); wherein the at least one spacer of the plurality of spacers is located between adjacent ones of the plurality of pixel groups; and wherein the at least one spacer of the plurality of spacers is spaced apart from the first sub-pixel, the second sub-pixel, the third sub-pixel, and the fourth sub-pixel that surround the at least one spacer ([0038]) to minimize interference due to a second substrate by increasing an interval between an organic emission layer and the second substrate in an arrangement that minimizes dent defects to said spacers ([0081-0082]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the display substrate of Jo ‘491, Zou ‘465, and Yoon ‘014 further comprising a plurality of spacers, wherein at least one spacer of the plurality of spacers is located within a space surrounded by one first sub-pixel, one second sub-pixel, one third sub-pixel, and one fourth sub-pixel; wherein the at least one spacer of the plurality of spacers is located between adjacent ones of the plurality of pixel groups; and wherein the at least one spacer of the plurality of spacers is spaced apart from the first sub-pixel, the second sub-pixel, the third sub-pixel, and the fourth sub-pixel that surround the at least one spacer as taught by Park ‘476 to minimize interference due to a second substrate by increasing an interval between an organic emission layer and the second substrate in an arrangement that minimizes dent defects to said spacers.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claim(s) 1 and 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.M.R./Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/YARA B GREEN/Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893