DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
Amendment filed 16 January 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 21-25 have been canceled. Claims 1, 3, 5, and 18 have been amended. Claims 26-30 have been added. Claims 1-11, 13, 14, 18, 20, and 26-30 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
Information disclosure statement filed 22 October 2025 has been fully considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11, 13, 14, 18, 20, 26, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jo et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2017/0294491, hereinafter Jo ‘491) of record in view of Zou et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2017/0236465, hereinafter Zou ‘465).
With respect to claim 1, Jo ‘491 teaches (FIG. 5) a display substrate substantially as claimed, comprising: a plurality of first sub-pixels (upper SG of pixel unit GP), a plurality of second sub-pixels (SR), a plurality of third sub-pixels (SB), and a plurality of fourth sub-pixels (lower SG of pixel unit GP) ([0104]),
the plurality of second sub-pixels (SR) and the plurality of third sub-pixels (SB) are arranged in a plurality of first groups in a first direction, the plurality of first sub-pixels (upper SG) and the plurality of fourth sub-pixels (lower SG) are arranged in a plurality of second groups in a second direction, and the first direction intersects with the second direction ([0104]),
in the first direction, a distance between one of the plurality of second sub-pixels (SR) and one of the plurality of third sub-pixels (SB) that are adjacent to each other at least comprises a first distance (shorter distance between SR and SB) and a second distance (longer distance between SR and SB), and the first distance is less than the second distance ([0104]),
in the second direction, a distance between one of the plurality of first sub-pixels (upper SG) and one of the plurality of fourth sub-pixels (lower SG) that are adjacent to each other at least comprises a third distance (shorter distance between upper SG and lower SG) and a fourth distance (longer distance between upper SG and lower SG), and the third distance is less than the fourth distance ([0104]),
the plurality of first sub-pixels (upper SG of pixel unit GP), the plurality of second sub-pixels (SR), the plurality of third sub-pixels (SB), and the plurality of fourth sub-pixels (lower SG of pixel unit GP) constitute a plurality of pixel groups, each of the plurality of pixel groups comprises one first sub-pixel, one second sub-pixel, one third sub-pixel, and one fourth sub-pixel, the plurality of pixel groups are arranged in an array to form a plurality of rows and a plurality of columns ([0104]).
Thus, Jo ‘491 is shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of the display substrate further comprises a first drive line and a second drive line,
in a same row of pixel groups, the third sub-pixel and the first sub-pixel are connected to the first drive line and are configured to be driven by the first drive line, and the second sub-pixel and the fourth sub-pixel are connected to the second drive line and are configured to be driven by the second drive line.
However, Zou ‘465 teaches (FIG. 3) a display substrate comprising a first drive line (301) and a second drive line (302), wherein in a same row of pixel groups, a third sub-pixel (“blue sub-pixel”) and a first sub-pixel (“green sub-pixel”) are connected to the first drive line and are configured to be driven by the first drive line, and a second sub-pixel (“red sub-pixel”) and a fourth sub-pixel (“white sub-pixel”) are connected to the second drive line and are configured to be driven by the second drive line to control the switches of the sub-pixels ([0031-0039, 0044]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the display substrate of Jo ‘491 further comprising a first drive line and a second drive line, in a same row of pixel groups, the third sub-pixel and the first sub-pixel are connected to the first drive line and are configured to be driven by the first drive line, and the second sub-pixel and the fourth sub-pixel are connected to the second drive line and are configured to be driven by the second drive line as taught by Zou ‘465 to control the switches of the sub-pixels.
With respect to claim 2, Jo ‘491 teaches wherein, in the first direction, distances between two adjacent sub-pixels of the plurality of second sub-pixels (SR) and the plurality of third sub-pixels (SB) are arranged in an alternating manner of the first distance and the second distance, and in the second direction, distances between two adjacent sub-pixels of the plurality of first sub-pixels (upper SG) and the plurality of fourth sub-pixels (lower SG) are arranged in an alternating manner of the third distance and the fourth distance ([0104]).
With respect to claim 3, as best understood by Examiner, Jo ‘491 teaches wherein the plurality of second sub-pixels (SR) and the plurality of third sub-pixels (SB) are arranged in the first direction and in the second direction, center connection lines of second sub-pixels and third sub-pixels that are adjacent to each other in the first direction are substantially on a straight line, and center connection lines of second sub-pixels and third sub-pixels that are adjacent to each other in the second direction are at least partially not on a straight line with respect to the second direction ([0104]).
With respect to claim 4, Jo ‘491 teaches wherein among the second sub-pixels (SR) and the third sub-pixels (SB) that are adjacent to each other in the second direction, orthographic projections of the second sub-pixels on a straight line extending in the first direction overlap with orthographic projections of the third sub-pixels on the straight line extending in the first direction, and among first sub-pixels (upper SG) and fourth sub-pixels (lower SG) that are adjacent to each other in the first direction, orthographic projections of first sub-pixels on a straight line extending in the second direction overlap with orthographic projections of the fourth sub-pixels on the straight line extending in the second direction ([0104]).
With respect to claim 5, as best understood by Examiner, Jo ‘491 teaches wherein the plurality of first sub-pixels (upper SG) and the plurality of fourth sub-pixels (lower SG) are arranged in the first direction and in the second direction, center connection lines of first sub-pixels and fourth sub-pixels that are adjacent to each other in the second direction are substantially on a straight line, and center connection lines of the first sub-pixels and the fourth sub-pixels that are adjacent to each other in the first direction are at least partially not on a straight line with respect to the first direction ([0104]).
With respect to claim 6, Jo ‘491 teaches wherein, among second sub-pixels (SR) and third sub-pixels (SB) that are adjacent to each other in the second direction, center connection lines of the second sub-pixels are substantially on a straight line, and center connection lines of the third sub-pixels are substantially on a straight line ([0104]).
With respect to claim 7, Jo ‘491 teaches wherein a center connection line of the second sub-pixel (SR) and the third sub-pixel (SB) that are adjacent to each other and with the first distance (shorter distance between SR and SB) in the first direction intersects with a center connection line of the first sub-pixel (upper SG) and the fourth sub-pixel (lower SG) that are adjacent to each other and with the fourth distance (longer distance between upper SG and lower SG) in the second direction; a center connection line of the second sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel that are adjacent to each other and with the second distance (longer distance between SR and SB) in the first direction intersects with a center connection line of one of the plurality of first sub-pixels and one of the plurality of fourth sub-pixels that are adjacent to each other and with the third distance (shorter distance between upper SG and lower SG) in the second direction ([0104]).
With respect to claim 8, Jo ‘491 teaches wherein a center connection line of the second sub-pixel (SR) and the third sub-pixel (SB) with the second distance (longer distance between SR and SB) in the first direction is substantially perpendicular to a center connection line of the first sub-pixel (upper SG) and the fourth sub-pixel (lower SG) with the third distance (shorter distance between upper SG and lower SG) in the second direction, and a center connection line of the second sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel with the first distance (shorter distance between SR and SB) in the first direction is substantially perpendicular to a center connection line of the first sub-pixel and the fourth sub-pixel with the fourth distance (longer distance between upper SG and lower SG) in the second direction ([0104]).
With respect to claim 9, Jo ‘491 teaches wherein a center connection line of two first sub-pixels (upper SG) and two fourth sub-pixels (lower SG) surrounding one second sub-pixel (SR) or one third sub-pixel (SB) and adjacent to the second sub-pixel or the third sub-pixel is substantially in a shape of a trapezoid ([0104]).
With respect to claim 10, Jo ‘491 teaches wherein a center connection line of two second sub-pixels (SR) and two third sub-pixels (SB) surrounding one first sub-pixel (upper SG) or one fourth sub-pixel (lower SG) and adjacent to the first sub-pixel or the fourth sub-pixel is substantially in a shape of a trapezoid ([0104]).
With respect to claim 11, Jo ‘491 teaches wherein at least one diagonal line of the trapezoid does not pass through a center of an intermediate sub-pixel located in the trapezoid, and the intermediate sub-pixel is one sub-pixel surrounded by four sub-pixels at four vertices of the trapezoid ([0104]).
With respect to claim 13, Jo ‘491 teaches wherein the first sub-pixel (upper SG) has unequal distances with two second sub-pixels (SR) adjacent thereto, or the first sub-pixel has unequal distances with two third sub-pixels (SB) adjacent thereto; the fourth sub-pixel (lower SG) has unequal distances with two second sub-pixels adjacent thereto, or the fourth sub-pixel has unequal distances with two third sub-pixels adjacent thereto ([0104]).
With respect to claim 14, Jo ‘491 teaches wherein the first sub-pixel (upper SG) has unequal distances with two second sub-pixels (SR) adjacent thereto, and the first sub-pixel has unequal distances with two third sub-pixels (SB) adjacent thereto; the fourth sub-pixel (lower SG) has unequal distances with two second sub-pixels adjacent thereto, and the fourth sub-pixel has unequal distances with two third sub-pixels adjacent thereto ([0104]).
With respect to claim 18, Jo ‘491 teaches (FIG. 5) a display substrate substantially as claimed, comprising a plurality of pixel groups (see annotated FIG. 5 below), wherein the plurality of pixel groups are arranged in an array to form a plurality of rows and a plurality of columns, and two adjacent rows of the plurality of pixel groups are arranged in a staggered manner ([0104]),
each of the plurality of pixel groups comprises a first sub-pixel (upper SG), a second sub-pixel (SR), a third sub-pixel (SB), and a fourth sub-pixel (lower SG), in a same pixel group, the second sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel are arranged in a first direction, and the first sub-pixel and the fourth sub-pixel are located on both sides of a pair of sub-pixels formed by the second sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel ([0104]),
a distance between the second sub-pixel (SR) and the third sub-pixel (SB) that are adjacent to each other and in two adjacent pixel groups in the first direction is greater than a distance between the second sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel that are in the same pixel group, and a distance between the first sub-pixel (upper SG) and the fourth sub-pixel (lower SG) that are adjacent to each other and in two adjacent pixel groups in the second direction is less than a distance between the first sub-pixel and the fourth sub-pixel that are in the same pixel group ([0104]);
or,
a distance between the second sub-pixel (SR) and the third sub-pixel (SB) that are adjacent to each other and in two adjacent pixel groups in the first direction is less than a distance between the second sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel that are in the same pixel group, and a distance between the first sub-pixel (upper SG) and the fourth sub-pixel (lower SG) that are adjacent to each other and in two adjacent pixel groups in the second direction is greater than a distance between the first sub-pixel and the fourth sub-pixel that are in the same pixel group ([0104]),
Thus, Jo ‘491 is shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of the display substrate further comprises a first drive line and a second drive line,
in a same row of pixel groups, the third sub-pixel and the first sub-pixel are connected to the first drive line and are configured to be driven by the first drive line, and the second sub-pixel and the fourth sub-pixel are connected to the second drive line and are configured to be driven by the second drive line.
However, Zou ‘465 teaches (FIG. 3) a display substrate comprising a first drive line (301) and a second drive line (302), wherein in a same row of pixel groups, a third sub-pixel (“blue sub-pixel”) and a first sub-pixel (“green sub-pixel”) are connected to the first drive line and are configured to be driven by the first drive line, and a second sub-pixel (“red sub-pixel”) and a fourth sub-pixel (“white sub-pixel”) are connected to the second drive line and are configured to be driven by the second drive line to control the switches of the sub-pixels ([0031-0039, 0044]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the display substrate of Jo ‘491 further comprising a first drive line and a second drive line, in a same row of pixel groups, the third sub-pixel and the first sub-pixel are connected to the first drive line and are configured to be driven by the first drive line, and the second sub-pixel and the fourth sub-pixel are connected to the second drive line and are configured to be driven by the second drive line as taught by Zou ‘465 to control the switches of the sub-pixels.
With respect to claim 20 Jo ‘491 teaches wherein, in the same pixel group, one of a center connection line of the second sub-pixel (SR) and the third sub-pixel (SB) and a center connection line of the first sub-pixel (upper SG) and the fourth sub-pixel (lower SG) is substantially parallel with the first direction, and the other one of the center connection line of the second sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel and the center connection line of the first sub-pixel and the fourth sub-pixel is substantially parallel with the second direction ([0104]).
With respect to claims 26 and 29, Jo ‘491 and Zou ‘465 teach the device as described in claims 1 and 18 above, but primary reference Jo ‘491 does not explicitly teach the additional limitation wherein the first drive line extends in the first direction, and the second drive line extends in the first direction, and the first drive line and the second drive line are arranged in the second direction.
However, Zou ‘465 teaches (FIG. 3) a first drive line (301) and a second drive line (302) extending in a first direction and arranged in a second direction to control the switches of the sub-pixels ([0031-0039, 0044]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the first drive line and the second drive line of Jo ‘491 and Zou ‘465 extending in the first direction and arranged in the second direction as taught by Zou ‘465 to control the switches of the sub-pixels.
Claims 27 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jo ‘491 and Zou ‘465 as applied to claims 1 and 18 above, and further in view of Toyomura et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2019/0131372, hereinafter Toyomura ‘372).
With respect to claims 27 and 30, Jo ‘491 and Zou ‘465 teach the device as described in claims 1 and 18 above with the exception of the additional limitation wherein a plurality of first drive lines are provided, a plurality of second drive lines are provided, and the plurality of first drive lines and the plurality of second drive lines are alternately arranged.
However, Toyomura ‘372 teaches (FIG. 2) a display (20) comprising a plurality of alternating first drive lines (312) and second drive lines (322) ([0042]) to control emissions of sub-pixels (210) of said display ([0056, 0061]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the display substrate of Jo ‘491 and Zou ‘465 wherein a plurality of first drive lines are provided, a plurality of second drive lines are provided, and the plurality of first drive lines and the plurality of second drive lines are alternately arranged as taught by Toyomura ‘372 to control emissions of sub-pixels of said display substrate.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jo ‘491 and Zou ‘465 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang (US Patent Application Publication 2016/0293678, hereinafter Wang ‘678) of record.
With respect to claim 28, Jo ‘491 and Zou ‘465 teach the device as described in claim 1 above, with primary reference Jo ‘491 teaching the additional limitation wherein the plurality of second sub-pixels (SR) and the plurality of third sub-pixels (SB) are arranged in a plurality of third groups in the second direction, one of the plurality of third groups is located between adjacent ones of the plurality of second groups ([0104]).
Thus, Jo ‘491 is shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of additional limitation the display substrate further comprises a first data line and a second data line, first sub-pixels and fourth sub-pixels among one of the plurality of second groups are connected to the first data line to input data signals, second sub-pixels and third sub-pixels among one of the plurality of third groups are connected to the second data line to input data signals.
However, Wang ‘678 teaches (FIGs. 4B and 4C) a display comprising a first data line (DL2) and a second data line (DL1), first sub-pixels (upper G) and fourth (lower G) sub-pixels among one of a plurality of second groups are connected to the first data line to input data signals, second sub-pixels (R) and third (B) sub-pixels among one of a plurality of third groups are connected to the second data line to input data signals for providing data to the sub-pixels ([0085]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the display substrate of Jo ‘491 and Zou ‘465 further comprising a first data line and a second data line, first sub-pixels and fourth sub-pixels among one of the plurality of second groups are connected to the first data line to input data signals, second sub-pixels and third sub-pixels among one of the plurality of third groups are connected to the second data line to input data signals as taught by Wang ‘678 for providing data to the sub-pixels.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments to claims 1 and 18 and Applicant’s cancelation of claims 21, 22, and 24 are sufficient to overcome the objections to claims 1, 18, 21, 22, and 24 made in the final rejection filed 23 October 2025. The objections to claims 1, 18, 21, 22, and 24 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments to claims 3 and 5 are sufficient to overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of claims 3 and 5 made in the final rejection filed 23 October 2025. The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of claims 3 and 5 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claim(s) 1 and 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Statement Concerning Related Prior Art
Examiner identifies the following prior references as potentially teaching the claimed subject matter as amended: Liu et al. (Chinese Patent Application Publication 207883217) and Liu et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0119107) of record. Examiner notes that these references share a common Applicant or Assignee. For the purposes of expediting prosecution, if any of these references can be excepted as prior art (e.g. by perfecting the application’s foreign priority by providing a certified translation of the foreign priority document, by providing a statement of common ownership excepting the reference under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) if applicable, etc.), Applicant is respectfully requested to do so.
Conclusion
/C.M.R./Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/YARA B GREEN/Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893