Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-9, 11-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Kim (US 20200370616).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a fluid flow control device (fig 1) comprising: a central structure (1100); a main piston (1200) disposed around said central structure (fig 1), wherein said main piston has at least one vent (1210/1220); a two stage boost valve assembly (1300, [0055] wherein valve assembly 1300 may serve to generate the damping force that changes with frequency during the rebound stroke and two stage has been interpreted as low frequency range [0073] and high frequency range [0074]) including a boost valve (1300/1310), wherein said boost valve has a gap (at least 1315) fit to receive fluid (fig 1); a shim stack (at least 1350 and above 1350) disposed between said main piston and said boost valve such that said at least one vent (1220) is covered (fig 1); a piston (at least 1330) disposed on top of said gap of said boost valve (fig 1); a spring (at least spring washer 230/232 and/or 1360 [0068] wherein 1360 adjusts elastic deformation coefficient) disposed to bias said piston against said boost valve (fig 1); and a pilot (at least 1110/1111/1112) chamber running through said central structure (fig 1), said pilot chamber fluidly coupled to said gap (at least [0049]).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses wherein said main piston (1200) has a chamber that is perpendicular (fig 1 at least a portion of the opening of 1220 has been interpreted as perpendicular) and fluidly coupled to said pilot chamber (fig 1).
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses wherein said main piston (1200) does not move relative to said central structure (at least [0069], wherein the piston valve 1200 and the valve assembly 1300 move together with the piston rod 1100).
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses wherein fluid may flow through said fluid flow control device from a first chamber (120) into a second chamber (110), but fluid may not flow from said second chamber into said first chamber (at least wherein depending on the direction of the piston, fluid may not flow against a closed valve passage, i.e during compression, no fluid would flow from 120 to 110).
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses wherein as fluid flows into said gap, said boost valve is pressed against said shim stack ([0067], at least during the rebound stroke).
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses wherein after a pressure threshold is reached fluid flow through said vent will open said shim stack, which in turn will raise said boost valve and said piston without changing a volume of fluid in said gap ([0067], wherein the pilot disk 1350 is elastically deformed so that the working fluid passes through thereof depending on the pressure rise of the pilot chamber 1315 during the rebound stroke).
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses wherein a pilot valve acts as an inlet to said pilot chamber (at least 1320 at 1323).
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses a fluid flow control device (fig 1) comprising: : a central structure (1100); a main piston (1200) disposed around said central structure (fig 1), wherein said main piston has at least one vent (1210/1220), said main piston having a chamber that is perpendicular and fluidly coupled to a pilot chamber (fig 1 at least a portion of the opening of 1220 has been interpreted as perpendicular); a two stage boost valve assembly (1300, [0055] wherein valve assembly 1300 may serve to generate the damping force that changes with frequency during the rebound stroke and two stage has been interpreted as low frequency range [0073] and high frequency range [0074]) including a boost valve (1300/1310), wherein said boost valve has a gap (at least 1315) fit to receive fluid (fig 1); a shim stack (at least 1350 and above 1350) disposed between said main piston and said boost valve such that said at least one vent (1220) is covered (fig 1), wherein as fluid flows into said gap said boost valve is pressed against said shim stack ([0067], at least during the rebound stroke); a piston (at least 1330) disposed on top of said gap of said boost valve (fig 1); a spring (at least spring washer 230/232 and/or 1360 [0068] wherein 1360 adjusts elastic deformation coefficient) disposed to bias said piston against said boost valve (fig 1); and a pilot (at least 1110/1111/1112) chamber running through said central structure (fig 1), said pilot chamber fluidly coupled to said gap (at least [0049]).
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses wherein said main piston (1200) does not move relative to said central structure (at least [0069], wherein the piston valve 1200 and the valve assembly 1300 move together with the piston rod 1100).
Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses wherein fluid may flow through said fluid flow control device from a first chamber (120) into a second chamber (110), but fluid may not flow from said second chamber into said first chamber (at least wherein depending on the direction of the piston, fluid may not flow against a closed valve passage, i.e during compression, no fluid would flow from 120 to 110).
Regarding claim 13, Kim discloses wherein after a pressure threshold is reached fluid flow through said vent will open said shim stack, which in turn will raise said boost valve and said piston without changing a volume of fluid in said gap ([0067], wherein the pilot disk 1350 is elastically deformed so that the working fluid passes through thereof depending on the pressure rise of the pilot chamber 1315 during the rebound stroke).
Regarding claim 14, Kim discloses wherein a pilot valve acts as an inlet to said pilot chamber (at least 1320 at 1323).
Regarding claim 15, Kim discloses a fluid flow control device (fig 1) comprising: : a central structure (1100); a main piston (1200) disposed around said central structure (fig 1), wherein said main piston has at least one vent (1210/1220), said main piston having a chamber that is perpendicular and fluidly coupled to a pilot chamber (fig 1 at least a portion of the opening of 1220 has been interpreted as perpendicular); a two stage boost valve assembly (1300, [0055] wherein valve assembly 1300 may serve to generate the damping force that changes with frequency during the rebound stroke and two stage has been interpreted as low frequency range [0073] and high frequency range [0074]) including a boost valve (1300/1310), wherein said boost valve has a gap (at least 1315) fit to receive fluid (fig 1); a shim stack (at least 1350 and above 1350) disposed between said main piston and said boost valve such that said at least one vent (1220) is covered (fig 1), wherein as fluid flows into said gap said boost valve is pressed against said shim stack ([0067], at least during the rebound stroke); a piston (at least 1330) disposed on top of said gap of said boost valve (fig 1); wherein after a pressure threshold is reached fluid flow through said vent will open said shim stack, which in turn will raise said boost valve and said piston without changing a volume of fluid in said gap ([0067], wherein the pilot disk 1350 is elastically deformed so that the working fluid passes through thereof depending on the pressure rise of the pilot chamber 1315 during the rebound stroke) ; a spring (at least spring washer 230/232 and/or 1360 [0068] wherein 1360 adjusts elastic deformation coefficient) disposed to bias said piston against said boost valve (fig 1); and a pilot (at least 1110/1111/1112) chamber running through said central structure (fig 1), said pilot chamber fluidly coupled to said gap (at least [0049]).
Regarding claim 17, Kim discloses wherein said main piston (1200) does not move relative to said central structure (at least [0069], wherein the piston valve 1200 and the valve assembly 1300 move together with the piston rod 1100).
Regarding claim 18, Kim discloses wherein fluid may flow through said fluid flow control device from a first chamber (120) into a second chamber (110), but fluid may not flow from said second chamber into said first chamber (at least wherein depending on the direction of the piston, fluid may not flow against a closed valve passage, i.e during compression, no fluid would flow from 120 to 110).
Regarding claim 19, Kim discloses wherein a pilot valve acts as an inlet to said pilot chamber (at least 1320 at 1323).
Regarding claim 20, Kim discloses a shock absorber comprising: a cylinder (100), said cylinder comprising a cylinder inner diameter; a rod (1100); a main damping piston (1200), said main damping piston coupled to said rod and configured for operation within said cylinder (fig 1), said main damping piston configured to divide said cylinder into a compression side (110) and a rebound side (120); and a fluid flow control system fluidically coupled to said damper chamber for controlling fluid flow in said shock absorber comprising: a central structure (1100); a main piston (1200) disposed around said central structure (fig 1), wherein said main piston has at least one vent (1210/1220); a two stage boost valve assembly (1300, [0055] wherein valve assembly 1300 may serve to generate the damping force that changes with frequency during the rebound stroke and two stage has been interpreted as low frequency range [0073] and high frequency range [0074]) including a boost valve (1300/1310), wherein said boost valve has a gap (at least 1315) fit to receive fluid (fig 1); a shim stack (at least 1350 and above 1350) disposed between said main piston and said boost valve such that said at least one vent (1220) is covered (fig 1); a piston (at least 1330) disposed on top of said gap of said boost valve (fig 1); a spring (at least spring washer 230/232 and/or 1360 [0068] wherein 1360 adjusts elastic deformation coefficient) disposed to bias said piston against said boost valve (fig 1); and a pilot (at least 1110/1111/1112) chamber running through said central structure (fig 1), said pilot chamber fluidly coupled to said gap (at least [0049]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 10, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US-9534653)
Regarding claims 3, 10, and 16, Kim lacks at least one o-ring disposed between said central structure and said boost valve; at least one o-ring disposed between said central structure and said piston; at least one o-ring disposed between said piston and said boost valve. Kim ‘653 teaches a piston/valve assembly wherein O-ring between working parts can prevent leakage of working fluid (col. 7, line 20-21 and cl. 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make use of O-rings between working parts in order to prevent leakage of working fluid (Kim, col. 7, line 20-21).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claims 1, 9, 15, and 20, Applicant argues that the prior art of record does not disclose a two stage boost valve assembly, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant notes [0022]-[0027] as said disclosure for said two stage boost valve assembly but does not specifically argue as to what or how the two stage boost valve assembly is distinguished from Kim, only that Kim is lacking. It has been interpreted that Kim discloses in at least paragraphs [0055] and [0073-0075] wherein the boost valve assembly 1300 operates in two stages, wherein valve assembly 1300 may serve to generate the damping force that changes with frequency during the rebound stroke. The two stages have been interpreted as the low frequency range [0073] and the high frequency range [0074]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.K.H/Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/Robert A. Siconolfi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3616