DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-3, 5, 6, and 9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a plurality of ferrite elements arranged in an elliptical configuration” as amended claim 9 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3, 5, 6 and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, it appears “the elliptical magnetic core” should be --the elliptical ferrite core--.
Claims 2, 3, 5, 6, and 9 are objected to as being dependent on claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 9, the originally filed specification does not disclose “the elliptical ferrite magnetic core comprises a plurality of ferrite elements arranged in an elliptical configuration” as amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2009/0289755 A1) in view of Finnemore et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6,246,311 B1).
With respect to claim 1, Yu et al., hereinafter referred to as “Yu,” teaches an electromagnetic wave shielding filter 300 (Fig. 3) for high-frequency communication, comprising:
an outer enclosure 360;
an elliptical magnetic core 305 disposed along a central axis (imaginary axis around the center) of the outer enclosure, the elliptical magnetic core having high-frequency characteristics suitable for transmitting high-frequency signals;
a primary coil 310 and a secondary coil 320 wound around the elliptical magnetic core at opposing positions (left and right positions) such that the primary coil and the secondary coil are disposed symmetrically with respect to the elliptical magnetic core;
a core shielding and penetration unit 366 formed of a high-conductivity material, wherein the core shielding and penetration unit surrounds a portion of the elliptical magnetic core extending between the primary coil and the secondary coil, and is in close contact with an inner surface (interior surface) of the outer enclosure to thereby form an electromagnetic shield between the primary coil and the secondary coil (paras. [0021] and [0024]).
Yu does not expressly teach a ferrite magnetic core.
Finnemore et al., hereinafter referred to as “Finnemore,” teaches inductive device (Fig. 1), comprising:
a ferrite magnetic core 12 (col. 3, lines 1-4). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the ferrite magnetic core as taught by Finnemore to the electromagnetic wave shielding filter of Yu to reduce eddy current loss.
With respect to claim 2, Yu in view of Finnemore teaches the electromagnetic wave shielding filter according to claim 1, wherein the elliptical ferrite magnetic core has a high magnetic permeability to facilitate signal transmission in the form of a magnetic field from the primary coil to the secondary coil through the elliptical magnetic core, and
wherein the core shielding and penetration unit electromagnetically shields a space around the elliptical magnetic core to maintain electromagnetic shielding between the primary coil and the secondary coil (Yu, paras. [0021] and [0024], Finnemore, col. 3, lines 1-4).
With respect to claim 5, Yu in view of Finnemore teaches the electromagnetic wave shielding filter according to claim 2, wherein the core shielding and penetration unit is formed of a high-conductivity material including one of iron, copper or aluminum (Finnemore, para. [0024]).
With respect to claim 6, Yu in view of Finnemore teaches the electromagnetic wave shielding filter according to claim 2, wherein the primary coil and the secondary coil are each wound around the elliptical ferrite magnetic core one or more turns to enable transmission of a radio frequency (RF) signal from a primary end to a secondary end (Yu, para. [0021]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu in view of Finnemore, as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Watanabe (U.S. Patent No. 6,391,222 B1).
With respect to claim 3, Yu in view of Finnemore teaches the electromagnetic wave shielding filter according to claim 2. Yu in view of Finnemore does not expressly teach the ferrite magnetic core is formed of an NiMn-type ferrite material having low electrical conductivity and high magnetic permeability for high-frequency signal transmission.
Watanabe teaches a filter (FIG. 3c), wherein the elliptical ferrite magnetic core 11 is formed of an NiMn-type ferrite material having low electrical conductivity and high magnetic permeability for high-frequency signal transmission (col. 9, lines 33-45). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the NiMn-type ferrite magnetic core as taught by Watanabe to the electromagnetic wave shielding filter of Yu in view of Finnemore to provide the desired saturation magnetic flux density so that the DC pre-magnetization is excellent (col. 9, lines 55-59).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu in view of Finnemore, as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Pagenkopf (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2020/0403595 A1).
With respect to claim 9, Yu in view of Finnemore teaches the electromagnetic wave shielding filter according to claim 2. Yu in view of Finnemore does not expressly teach the elliptical ferrite magnetic core comprises a plurality of ferrite elements arranged in an elliptical configuration.
Pagenkopf teaches a filter (e.g. FIG. 3), wherein the elliptical ferrite magnetic core 14 comprises a plurality of ferrite elements 34 arranged in an elliptical configuration (para. [0023]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the ferrite elements as taught by Pagenkopf to the electromagnetic wave shielding filter of Yu in view of Finnemore to adjust inductance as needed (para. [0006]).
Conclusion
/MANG TIN BIK LIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837