DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims and Other Notes
Claims 1–20 are pending.
The paragraph numbers cited in this Office Action in reference to the instant application are referring to the paragraph numbering of the PG-Pub of the instant application. See US 2022/0416291 A1.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 25 January 2023, 13 July 2023, and 08 December 2024 were filed before the mailing of a first Office Action on the merits. The submissions comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
The view numbers of FIGS. 1–12 are not larger than the letters, numbers, and reference characters used in the drawing. The view numbers must be larger than the numbers used for reference characters. See 37 CFR 1.84 (u)(2).
The numbers, letters, and/or reference characters of FIGS. 2, 7–9, and 12 are not at least 0.32 cm (1/8 inch) in height. Numbers, letters, and reference characters must measure at least 0.32 cm. (1/8 inch) in height. See 37 CFR 1.84 (p)(3).
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: LITHIUM ION BATTERY INCLUDING COVER PLATE ASSEMBLY CONNECTED WITH BATTERY CELL TAB ASSEMBLY THROUGH POLARITY CONNECTING PIECE AND ELECTRIC CAR WITH THE SAME.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Reference character 12 is referred to as a sealing plug in paragraph [0073]. Reference character 12 is used to designate a sealing ring; and reference character 16 is used to designate a sealing plug. Refence character 12 should be referred to as a sealing ring in paragraph [0073].
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2–18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the opening of the shell" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the side, facing the battery assembly, of the polarity plate body" in lines 3–4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the edge of the first folded edge" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the groove wall of the first groove" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the surface of the battery cell" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the side wall of the first groove" in lines 6–7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "two battery cell assemblies." Claim 1, which claim 5 is directly dependent, recites the limitation "a battery cell assembly." It is unclear if one of "two battery cell assemblies" recited in claim 5 is further limiting or referencing "a battery cell assembly" recited in claim 1. If one of "two battery cell assemblies" recited in claim 5 is further limiting or referencing "a battery cell assembly" recited in claim 1, the number of battery cell assemblies required by at two battery cell assemblies. If one of "two battery cell assemblies" recited in claim 5 is not further limiting or referencing "a battery cell assembly" recited in claim 1, the number of battery cell assemblies required by at three battery cell assemblies. Therefore, the number of battery cell assemblies required by claim 5 is unclear.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "two poles." Claim 1, which claim 5 is directly dependent, recites the limitation "a pole." It is unclear if one of "two poles" recited in claim 5 is further limiting or referencing "a pole" recited in claim 1. If one of "two poles" recited in claim 5 is further limiting or referencing "a pole" recited in claim 1, the number of poles required by at two poles. If one of "two poles" recited in claim 5 is not further limiting or referencing "a pole" recited in claim 1, the number of poles required by at three poles. Therefore, the number of poles required by claim 5 is unclear.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the polarity connecting pieces" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the poles" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the outer surface of the cover plate" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the second through holes" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 7 and 8 are directly dependent from claim 6, and indirectly dependent from claim 2, and include all the limitations of claims 2 and 6. Therefore, claims 7 and 8 are also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "an outer surface of the cover plate." Claim 6, which claim 9 is directly dependent, recites the limitation "the outer surface of the cover plate." It is unclear if "an outer surface of the cover plate" recited in claim 9 is further limiting or referencing "the outer surface of the cover plate" recited in claim 6.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "two battery cell tab assemblies." Claim 1, which claim 10 is indirectly dependent, recites the limitation "at least one battery cell tab assembly." It is unclear if one of "two battery cell tab assemblies" recited in claim 10 is further limiting or referencing "at least one battery cell tab assembly" recited in claim 1. If one of "two battery cell tab assemblies" recited in claim 10 is further limiting or referencing "at least one battery cell tab assembly" recited in claim 1, the number of battery cell tab assemblies required by at two battery cell tab assemblies. If one of "two battery cell tab assemblies" recited in claim 10 is not further limiting or referencing "at least one battery cell tab assembly" recited in claim 1, the number of battery cell tab assemblies required by at three battery cell tab assemblies. Therefore, the number of battery cell tab assemblies required by claim 10 is unclear.
Claim 11 is directly dependent from claim 2 and includes all the limitations of claim 2. Therefore, claim 11 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the outer surface of at least one of the first U-shaped plate and the second U-shaped plate" in lines 6–7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 13–16 are directly or indirectly dependent from claim 11, are indirectly dependent from claims 2 and 10, and include all the limitations of 2, 10, and 11. Therefore, claims 13–16 are also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 is directly dependent from claim 10, is indirectly dependent from claim 2, and includes all the limitations of claims 2 and 10. Therefore, claim 17 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 is directly dependent from claim 9, is indirectly dependent from claims 2 and 6, and includes all the limitations of claims 2, 6, and 9. Therefore, claim 18 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the opening of the shell" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 9–17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2012/0052341 A1, hereinafter Kim '341).
Regarding claim 1, Kim '341 discloses a lithium ion battery (100, [0049]), comprising:
a cover plate assembly (20), comprising a pole (21) and a polarity connecting piece (31, [0053]), and
the pole (21) is connected with the polarity connecting piece (31, [0064]);
a battery cell assembly (10), provided with at least one battery cell tab assembly (11a, [0052]), and
the pole (21) is connected and conducted with the at least one battery cell tab assembly (11a) through the polarity connecting piece (31, [0053]).
Regarding claim 5, Kim '341 discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a lithium ion battery:
wherein there are two battery cell tab assemblies (11a, 12a) and two poles (31, 32; [0064]),
the number of the polarity connecting pieces (31, 32) is two (FIG. 5, [0053]),
the two battery cell tab assemblies (11a, 12a) and the two polarity connecting pieces (31, 32) are disposed in a one-to-one correspondence mode (FIG. 5, [0053]),
the two polarity connecting pieces (31, 32) and the two poles (21, 22) are disposed in a one-to-one correspondence mode (FIG. 5, [0048]),
wherein one of the two battery cell tab assemblies (12a) is positive (FIG. 5, [0052]), and
the other one is negative (11a, [0052]).
Regarding claim 2, Kim '341 discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a lithium ion battery, further comprising:
a shell (15, [0044]), and
the battery cell assembly (10) and the polarity connecting piece (31) are disposed in the shell (15, [0048]);
a supporting part (60), disposed in the shell (15) and configured to support the battery cell assembly (10, [0046]), and
the cover plate assembly (20) is disposed at the opening of the shell (15) and connected with the supporting part (60, [0044]).
Regarding claim 6, Kim '341 discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a lithium ion battery, wherein the cover plate assembly (20) comprises:
a cover plate (20, [0044]),
at least one second through hole (311) is formed in the cover plate (20, [0058]),
the poles (21, 22) are located on one side of the outer surface of the cover plate (20, [0058]), and
part of the pole (21) penetrates through the second through hole (311) to be connected with the polarity connecting piece (31, [0064]); and
an insulating support (41, [0070]),
the insulating support (41) is connected with the cover plate (20) and provided with third through holes corresponding to the second through holes one by one (FIG. 5, [0070]), and
an end part of the insulating support (41) is clamped with the supporting part (60, [0084]).
Regarding claim 9, Kim '341 discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a lithium ion battery, wherein the cover plate assembly (20) further comprises:
a protective sleeve (37, [0072]),
the protective sleeve (37) is disposed on the pole (21) in a sleeving mode (FIG. 5, [0072]),
the protective sleeve (37) is located on a side where an outer surface of the cover plate (20) is located (FIG. 5, [0072]), and
a sealing ring (36) is disposed between the protective sleeve (37) and the cover plate (20, [0061]).
Regarding claim 10, Kim '341 discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a lithium ion battery, wherein the supporting part comprises:
two fixing frames (611, 612; [0076]),
the two fixing frames (611, 612) are oppositely disposed and connected in a first direction (FIG. 3, [0076]);
two protection plates (613, 614; [0076]),
the two protection plates (613, 614) are oppositely arranged in a second direction (FIG. 2, [0076]),
the two protection plates (613, 614) are located on two sides of the two fixing frames (611, 612) respectively (FIG. 2, [0076]),
the two fixing frames (611, 612) and the two protection plates (613, 614) define an installation space (FIG. 3, [0044]),
the battery cell assembly (10) is located in the installation space (FIG. 5, [0044]),
the battery cell assembly (10) is provided with two battery cell tab assemblies (11a, 12a; [0052]), and
the two battery cell tab assemblies (11a, 12a) are disposed facing a side where the protection plates (613, 614) are located (FIG. 5, [0076]).
Regarding claim 17, Kim '341 discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a lithium ion battery:
wherein the protection plate (613, 614) is of a hollow structure (FIG. 3, [0094]),
a first limiting column (616) and a second limiting column (616) are disposed on a surface of a side, facing the fixing frame, of the protection plate (613, 614; [0077]),
the first limiting column (616) and the second limiting column (616) are oppositely disposed (FIG. 2, [0077]), and
the first limiting column (616) and the second limiting column (616) abut against the fixing frame (611, 612; [0077]).
Regarding claim 11, Kim '341 discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a lithium ion battery:
wherein one of the two fixing frames (611, 612) is provided with a locking column (617, [0077]),
the other fixing frame of the two fixing frames (611, 612) is provided with a connecting hole (627) matched with the locking column (617, [0077]), or,
a first end of each fixing frame (611, 612) is provided with a locking column (617, [0077]), and
a second end of the each fixing frame (611, 612) is provided with a connecting hole (627, [0077]).
Regarding claim 12, Kim '341 discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a lithium ion battery, wherein each fixing frame (611, 612) comprises:
a plate body structure (61),
a first U-shaped plate (623) is disposed on a side, facing the protection plate (61), of a first end of the plate body structure (61, [0085]),
a second U-shaped plate (624) is disposed on a side, facing the protection plate (61), of a second end of the plate body structure (61, [0085]),
an opening side of the first U-shaped plate (623) and an opening side of the second U-shaped plate (624) are oppositely disposed (FIG. 3, [0085]), and
at least one second protrusion (628, 629) is disposed on the outer surface of at least one of the first U-shaped plate (623) and the second U-shaped plate (624) and abuts against a connecting plate (63, 64, 65, 66) of the battery cell tab assembly (11a, 11b; [0079]).
Regarding claim 13, Kim '341 discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a lithium ion battery:
wherein at least one first limiting groove (602) is formed in an end part of the first end of the plate body structure (61, [0095]), and
a first protrusion of the polarity connecting piece (31) extends into the first limiting groove (602, FIG. 5).
Regarding claim 14, Kim '341 discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a lithium ion battery:
wherein at least one of the first U-shaped plate (623) and the second U-shaped plate (624) is of a hollow structure (FIG. 3, [0085]).
Regarding claim 15, Kim '341 discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a lithium ion battery:
wherein second limiting grooves (602) are formed in outer surfaces of two oppositely disposed side plates of the second U-shaped plate (624, [0077]), and
part (618, 619) of the protection plates (613, 614) extend into the second limiting grooves (602, [0077]).
Regarding claim 16, Kim '341 discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a lithium ion battery, wherein each protection plate (613, 614) comprises:
a protection plate body (613, 614; [0076]),
an inner surface of a first end of the protection plate body (613, 614) is of an arc-shaped chamfer structure (FIG. 3, [0076]),
a second folded edge (FIG. 3, [0077]) is disposed at a second end of the protection plate body (613, 614; [0076]),
a length direction of the second folded edge (FIG. 3, [0077]) is disposed in a width direction of the protection plate body (613, 614; [0076]),
a third protrusion (618, 619, 628, 629) is disposed on a surface of a side, facing the fixing frame (611, 612), of the second folded edge (FIG. 3, [0076]), and
the third protrusion (618, 619, 628, 629) and a corresponding second limiting groove (602) in the second limiting grooves (602) are disposed in a matched mode (FIG. 3, [0076]).
Regarding claim 19, Kim '341 discloses an electric car (see electric vehicle, [0006]), comprising a lithium ion battery (100), wherein the lithium ion battery , [0049]) comprises:
a cover plate assembly (20), comprising a pole (21) and a polarity connecting piece (31, [0053]), and
the pole (21) is connected with the polarity connecting piece (31, [0064]);
a battery cell assembly (10), provided with at least one battery cell tab assembly (11a, [0052]), and
the pole (21) is connected and conducted with the at least one battery cell tab assembly (11a) through the polarity connecting piece (31, [0053]).
Regarding claim 20, Kim '341 discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an electric car, wherein the lithium ion battery comprises:
a shell (15, [0044]), and
the battery cell assembly (10) and the polarity connecting piece (31) are disposed in the shell (15, [0048]);
a supporting part (60), disposed in the shell (15) and configured to support the battery cell assembly (10, [0046]), and
the cover plate assembly (20) is disposed at the opening of the shell (15) and connected with the supporting part (60, [0044]).
Claims 1–4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2015/0364732 A1, hereinafter Kim '732).
Regarding claim 1, Kim '732 discloses a lithium ion battery (400, [0091]), comprising:
a cover plate assembly (150), comprising a pole (122) and a polarity connecting piece (121, [0054]), and
the pole (122) is connected with the polarity connecting piece (121, [0064]);
a battery cell assembly (110), provided with at least one battery cell tab assembly (111a, [0049]), and
the pole (122) is connected and conducted with the at least one battery cell tab assembly (111a) through the polarity connecting piece (121, [0055]).
Regarding claim 2, Kim '732 discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a lithium ion battery, further comprising:
a shell (140, [0047]), and
the battery cell assembly (110) and the polarity connecting piece (121) are disposed in the shell (110, [0047]);
a supporting part (360), disposed in the shell (140) and configured to support the battery cell assembly (110, [0088]), and
the cover plate assembly (150) is disposed at the opening of the shell (140) and connected with the supporting part (360, [0088]).
Regarding claim 3, Kim '732 discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a lithium ion battery, wherein the polarity connecting piece (121) comprises:
a polarity plate body (121, [0055]),
a first through hole (121a) is formed in the polarity plate body (FIG. 2, [0055]),
a first protrusion and a first folded edge (FIG. 3, [0055]) are disposed on the side, facing the battery cell assembly (110), of the polarity plate body (121, [0055]),
a first groove is formed in the edge of the first folded edge (FIG. 3, [0055]),
the first protrusion is connected with the supporting part (360, [0088]),
part of the pole (122) penetrates through the cover plate assembly (150) and extends into the shell (140) to be in interference fit with the polarity plate body through the first through hole (121a, [0055]), and
the groove wall of the first groove is connected with the battery cell tab assembly (111a, [0055]).
Regarding claim 4, Kim '732 discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a lithium ion battery:
wherein the battery cell assembly (110) comprises a battery cell (110, [0048]),
the battery cell tab assembly (111a) is disposed on the surface of the battery cell (110, [0055]), and
the battery cell tab assembly (111a) comprises two polarity lugs (FIG. 3, [0055]),
wherein the two polarity lugs are oppositely disposed to form a limiting space (FIG. 3, [0055]);
a connecting plate (see vertical region, [0055]),
part of the connecting plate is located in the limiting space (FIG. 3, [0055]), and
an end of the connecting plate extends into the first groove and is connected with the side wall of the first groove (FIG. 3, [0055]);
a base plate (see horizontal region, [0055]),
wherein the base plate is connected with outer surfaces of the two polarity lugs (111a, [0055]).
Regarding claim 6, Kim 732 discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a lithium ion battery, wherein the cover plate assembly (150) comprises:
a cover plate (150, [0061]),
at least one second through hole (is formed in the cover plate (20, [0056]),
the poles (120, 130) are located on one side of the outer surface of the cover plate (150, [0047]), and
part of the pole (122) penetrates through the second through hole to be connected with the polarity connecting piece (121, [0055]); and
an insulating support (361, [0088]),
the insulating support (361) is connected with the cover plate (150) and provided with third through holes corresponding to the second through holes one by one (FIG. 6, [0088]), and
an end part of the insulating support (361) is clamped with the supporting part (360, [0088]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim '341 (US 2012/0052341 A1) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Kohno et al. (US 2011/0236750 A1).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Kim '732 discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a lithium ion battery:
wherein the cover plate (150) and the insulating support (361) are provided with fourth through holes (FIG. 6, [0088]),
each fourth through hole is provided with an explosion-proof valve (154, [0072]); and
wherein the cover plate (150) and the insulating support (361) are provided with fifth through holes (FIG. 6, [0088]),
each fifth through hole is provided with a sealing plug (153, [0072]).
Kim '732 does not explicitly disclose:
a protective sticker, and
the protective sticker is disposed on a side where an outer surface of the explosion-proof valve is located; and
a sealing sticker, and
the sealing sticker is disposed on a side where an outer surface of the sealing plug is located.
Kim '537 discloses a lithium ion battery comprising a protective sticker (see label, [0056]), and the protective sticker is disposed on a side where an outer surface is located (FIG. 2, [0056]); and a sealing sticker (see label, [0056]), and the sealing sticker is disposed on a side where an outer surface of a sealing plug (370) is located (FIG. 2, [0056]) to increase the binding force and protect the battery from external impact (see label, [0056]). Kim '732 and Kim '537 are analogous because they are directed to lithium ion batteries. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the lithium ion battery of Kim '732 with the protective sticker and sealing sticker of Kim '537 in order to increase the binding force and protect the battery from external impact.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim '341 (US 2012/0052341 A1) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Kohno et al. (US 2011/0236750 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Kim '341 discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose a lithium ion battery:
wherein at least one of the sealing ring and the insulating support is made of PFA material.
Kohno discloses a lithium ion battery comprising a sealing ring (13) made of PFA (see perfluoroalkoxy, [0046]) to improve insulation and airtightness of the sealing ring (13, [0084]). Kim '341 and Kohno are analogous because they are directed to lithium ion batteries. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the sealing ring of Kim '341 with the PFA of Kohno in order to improve insulation and airtightness of the sealing ring.
Conclusion
/Sean P Cullen, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725