Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/23/2026 have been carefully and fully considered. With respect to applicant’s argument regarding the rejection under 35 U.S.C § 103 which recites:
“Suzuki and Enoki fail to describe the claimed “measurement device”… the combination of Suzuki with Enoki is improper… the sensor of Champaigne is incompatible with Suzuki and Enoki”
Examiner notes that the rejection is now made with the combination of Suzuki and Champaigne. As the projection surface is of the measurement device examiner now points to Suzuki [0028] some of the accelerated shot materials S contact the inner surface 15 a of the tip of the shooting nozzle. The elastic waves are generated by those contacts …which outputs signals to the counter circuit 11 and the circuit 12 for measuring the peak values. Therefore any arguments regarding Enoki are moot. Champaigne is compatible with Suzuki as Champaigne’s sensor can be used as a pre-process calibration
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-15, 17-18, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (US20110097972), in further view of Champaigne (US20200269388A1).
Regarding claim 1, Suzuki teaches A shot processing system comprising: a shot processing apparatus configured to perform shot processing by projecting shot media particles from an outlet nozzle of the shot processing apparatus ([0010] shot peening is to process a work by shooting the shot materials with compressed air from a shooting nozzle against the work) ; a measurement device having a projection surface that faces the outlet nozzle of the shot processing apparatus, wherein the measurement device is configured to output a signal waveform generated in response to collision of the shot media particles projected from the shot processing apparatus against the projection surface of the measurement device; ([0010] values of the shot materials, which pass through the shooting nozzle, are measured and monitored based on the signals, [0020] The AE sensor 1 detects the elastic waves that are generated by the shot materials that pass through the shooting nozzle 2. It transduces the elastic waves to high-frequency electrical signals, and outputs the signals, [0028] some of the accelerated shot materials S contact the inner surface 15 a of the tip of the shooting nozzle. The elastic waves are generated by those contacts …which outputs signals to the counter circuit 11 and the circuit 12 for measuring the peak values. Thus, the number of occurrences of the envelope detection (the number of hits) and the peak values in the demodulated waves detected by the envelope detection (the intensities of the hits) are measured, [0030] The results of the measurements of the intensities of the hits and the number of hits of the shot materials are analyzed to control the machine. If the amount of the shot materials remains constant and the number of the hits increases, then the shot materials become smaller in diameter. Thus, the supply of new shot materials is required. If the intensity of the hits is lowered and the number of hits remains normal, then it is seen that the efficiency of the acceleration is reduced due to the abrasion of the Venturi section 16, etc., [0028] some of the accelerated shot materials S contact the inner surface 15 a of the tip of the shooting nozzle. The elastic waves are generated by those contacts. They are detected by the AE sensor 1 and are transduced to high-frequency electrical signals. Then, the high-frequency electrical signals are output to the envelope-detecting circuit 10 through the communication line 8 and the amplifying circuit 10 a, [0034] elastic waves can be detected when they are generated by having the shot materials S that pass through the shooting nozzle 2 contact its inner surface); and a control device configured to control the shot processing ([0029] the circuit 13 for controlling the shooting, which is a controlling means, controls the device 5 for adjusting the amount of the materials to be shot and the device 6 for adjusting the pressure of the compressed air based on the measured values, [0006] A controller controls the amount of the shot materials and the pressure for shooting by inputting data on that condition. Thus, no measurement can be done while an actual work is being processed. ) , apparatus by: acquiring a required intensity indicating an intensity of the shot processing to be performed on a processing object; (Fig. 3, [0030] The results of the measurements of the intensities of the hits and the number of hits of the shot materials are analyzed to control the machine, [0020] The AE sensor 1 detects the elastic waves that are generated by the shot materials that pass through the shooting nozzle 2. It transduces the elastic waves to high-frequency electrical signals, and outputs the signals, [0020] a device 5 for adjusting the amount of the materials to be shot based on the volume flow or mass flow of them, a device 6 for adjusting the pressure of the compressed air to be used for shooting the materials, a shooting nozzle 2 to shoot the materials), determining a first shot condition ([0006] The best condition for the amount of the shot materials and pressure for shooting is determined based on the results of the measurement) for acquiring the required intensity based on a correlation between a shot condition of the shot processing apparatus and an intensity ([0030] The results of the measurements of the intensities of the hits and the number of hits of the shot materials are analyzed to control the machine. If the amount of the shot materials remains constant and the number of the hits increases, then the shot materials become smaller in diameter. Thus, the supply of new shot materials is required. If the intensity of the hits is lowered and the number of hits remains normal, then it is seen that the efficiency of the acceleration is reduced due to the abrasion of the Venturi section 16, etc. Thus, the pressure of compressed air at which the materials are shot is adjusted, or an alarm signal is generated) causing the shot processing apparatus to perform the shot processing to the measurement device under a first shot condition; acquiring the signal waveform output from the measurement device in response to the shot processing performed to the measurement device under the first shot condition; determining a measured intensity indicating an intensity of the shot processing under the first shot condition, based on the signal waveform acquired, determining a second shot condition to reduce a difference between the measured intensity and the required intensity; and correcting the shot condition of the shot processing apparatus from the first shot condition to the second shot condition (Fig. 1, Fig. 3, [0030] The results of the measurements of the intensities of the hits and the number of hits of the shot materials are analyzed to control the machine, [0029] the circuit 13 for controlling the shooting, which is a controlling means, controls the device 5 for adjusting the amount of the materials to be shot and the device 6 for adjusting the pressure of the compressed air based on the measured values, [0025] a circuit for comparing the characteristic values to the values that are predetermined and memorized (not shown), a circuit for judging if the characteristic values exceed the predetermined values (not shown), and a circuit for giving an alarm if a characteristic value exceeds the predetermined values (not shown), [0006] a specimen is processed by shot peening before an actual work is to be processed. Then, the processed surface of the specimen is measured. The best condition for the amount of the shot materials and pressure for shooting is determined based on the results of the measurements. A controller controls the amount of the shot materials and the pressure for shooting by inputting data on that condition. Thus, no measurement can be done while an actual work is being processed, [0011] The controller is electrically connected to the transducer, to the device for adjusting the amount of materials to be shot, and to the device for adjusting the pressure of the compressed air. It comprises a circuit for measuring the characteristic values of the materials that pass through the shooting nozzle. The measurement is based on the high-frequency electrical signals from the transducer. It also comprises a controlling means for monitoring the characteristic values, [0027] The shot materials S are supplied from the storage tank 4 by the device 5 for adjusting the amount of the materials to be shot, [0031] Since in the normal operation the intensities of the hits of the shot materials are calculated, an abnormal state, such as if the hose 3 between the device 5 for adjusting the amount of the materials and the shooting nozzle 2 becoming worn and a hole thereby being formed, can be detected. Using the characteristic values that are measured by the counter circuit 11 and the circuit 12 for measuring the peak values for controlling the device 5 for adjusting the amount of the materials to be shot and the device 6 for adjusting the pressure of the compressed air, generating an alarm, detecting a hole in the hose 3).
Suzuki does not teach a pre-stored model equation representing… before performing the shot processing to the measurement device
Champaigne teaches a pre-stored model equation representing… before performing the shot processing to the measurement device (Fig. 2 94 Set speed, Fig. 4-6, [0018] See FIG. 2. For a first intensity value, the rotation per minute (RPM) of the roto-flap peening tool is set 94. This RPM value is set according to the roto-flap peening device which provides a chart showing an RPM that will yield a particular intensity when a corresponding flap is used in the roto-flap peening tool. Reference to the chart included with the roto-flap peening device is how an operator chooses the correct parameters to peen according to the first intensity level that is in the range of intensity levels that are desired. Once the RPM value is set, an Almen strip is roto-flap peened 100 to confirm that the desired intensity achieved is the same as the intensity that was predicted by the chart supplied with the roto-flap peening device. This step 100 may be used to confirm the accuracy of the chart supplied with that RPM value in actual use)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Suzuki’s teaching of having a corrective unit to adjust the pressure and amount of materials to be shot based on the measurements with Champaigne’s teaching of having a first/set value for intensity before performing shot processing on the measurement device. The combined teaching provides an expected result of having a first/set value for intensity before performing shot processing and then having a corrective unit make adjustments based on measurement. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated as described by Champaigne [0011] to save time and expense.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Suzuki and Champaigne teach The shot processing system according to claim 1, wherein the measurement device includes (Suzuki, Fig. 1); an Acoustic Emission (AE) sensor configured to output the signal waveform related to an elastic wave generated due to collision of the shot media particles with the projection surface of the measurement device ([0010] values of the shot materials, which pass through the shooting nozzle, are measured and monitored based on the signals, [0020] The AE sensor 1 detects the elastic waves that are generated by the shot materials that pass through the shooting nozzle 2. It transduces the elastic waves to high-frequency electrical signals, and outputs the signals, [0028] some of the accelerated shot materials S contact the inner surface 15 a of the tip of the shooting nozzle. The elastic waves are generated by those contacts …which outputs signals to the counter circuit 11 and the circuit 12 for measuring the peak values. Thus, the number of occurrences of the envelope detection (the number of hits) and the peak values in the demodulated waves detected by the envelope detection (the intensities of the hits) are measured, [0030] The results of the measurements of the intensities of the hits and the number of hits of the shot materials are analyzed to control the machine. If the amount of the shot materials remains constant and the number of the hits increases, then the shot materials become smaller in diameter. Thus, the supply of new shot materials is required. If the intensity of the hits is lowered and the number of hits remains normal, then it is seen that the efficiency of the acceleration is reduced due to the abrasion of the Venturi section 16, etc., [0028] some of the accelerated shot materials S contact the inner surface 15 a of the tip of the shooting nozzle. The elastic waves are generated by those contacts. They are detected by the AE sensor 1 and are transduced to high-frequency electrical signals. Then, the high-frequency electrical signals are output to the envelope-detecting circuit 10 through the communication line 8 and the amplifying circuit 10 a, [0034] elastic waves can be detected when they are generated by having the shot materials S that pass through the shooting nozzle 2 contact its inner surface).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Suzuki and Champaigne teach The shot processing system according to claim 1, wherein the shot processing apparatus further includes a nozzle sensor fixed to a nozzle of the shot processing apparatus, wherein the nozzle sensor is an Acoustic Emission (AE) sensor that is configured to measure an elastic wave generated when the shot media particles are projected through the nozzle and to output a signal waveform related to the measured elastic wave, and wherein the control device is further configured to measure a shot condition of the shot processing apparatus based on the signal waveform output from the nozzle sensor. (Suzuki, Fig. 1, [0020] The AE sensor 1 detects the elastic waves that are generated by the shot materials that pass through the shooting nozzle 2. It transduces the elastic waves to high-frequency electrical signals, and outputs the signals. The shooting nozzle 2 is located in the shooting room 9. It processes a work (not shown) there by shot peening. The AE sensor 1, the device 5 for adjusting the amount of the materials, and the device 6 for adjusting the pressure of the compressed air, are electrically connected to the controller 7 through respective communication , [0011] The transducer, which is located in the shooting nozzle, detects the elastic waves that are generated by the materials that pass through the shooting nozzle.)
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Suzuki and Champaigne teach The shot processing system according to claim 4, wherein the control device is further configured to output an alarm indicating that an abnormality has occurred in the shot processing apparatus to determining that a difference between the shot condition of the shot processing apparatus set by the control device and a shot condition measured based on the nozzle sensor exceeds a predetermined threshold (Suzuki, [0025] the controller 7 comprises, as the controlling means, a circuit for comparing the characteristic values to the values that are predetermined and memorized (not shown), a circuit for judging if the characteristic values exceed the predetermined values (not shown), and a circuit for giving an alarm if a characteristic value exceeds the predetermined values, [0031] an abnormal state, such as if the hose 3 between the device 5 for adjusting the amount of the materials and the shooting nozzle 2 becoming worn and a hole thereby being formed, can be detected). (i.e. exceeded values Is interpreted as an abnormality).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Suzuki and Champaigne teach The shot processing system according to claim 5, wherein the control device is further configured to correct the shot condition of the shot processing apparatus in response to determining that the difference between the shot condition set based on the measurement device and the shot condition measured via the nozzle sensor exceeds a predetermined threshold value (Suzuki, [0025] The controller 7 comprises, as the controlling means, a circuit for comparing the characteristic values to the values that are predetermined and memorized (not shown), a circuit for judging if the characteristic values exceed the predetermined values (not shown), and a circuit for giving an alarm if a characteristic value exceeds the predetermined values, [0029] the circuit 13 for controlling the shooting, which is a controlling means, controls the device 5 for adjusting the amount of the materials to be shot and the device 6 for adjusting the pressure of the compressed air based on the measured values, [0030] The results of the measurements of the intensities of the hits and the number of hits of the shot materials are analyzed to control the machine. If the amount of the shot materials remains constant and the number of the hits increases, then the shot materials become smaller in diameter. Thus, the supply of new shot materials is required. If the intensity of the hits is lowered and the number of hits remains normal, then it is seen that the efficiency of the acceleration is reduced due to the abrasion of the Venturi section 16).
Regarding claim 7, Suzuki teaches A method of adjusting a shot processing apparatus that performs a shot processing projecting shot media particles ([0010] shot peening is to process a work by shooting the shot materials with compressed air from a shooting nozzle against the work, [0029] controlling the shooting, which is a controlling means, controls the device 5 for adjusting the amount of the materials to be shot and the device 6 for adjusting the pressure of the compressed air based on the measured values), the method comprising: acquiring a required intensity indicating an intensity of the shot processing to be performed on a processing object (Fig. 3, [0030] The results of the measurements of the intensities of the hits and the number of hits of the shot materials are analyzed to control the machine, [0020] The AE sensor 1 detects the elastic waves that are generated by the shot materials that pass through the shooting nozzle 2. It transduces the elastic waves to high-frequency electrical signals, and outputs the signals, [0020] a device 5 for adjusting the amount of the materials to be shot based on the volume flow or mass flow of them, a device 6 for adjusting the pressure of the compressed air to be used for shooting the materials, a shooting nozzle 2 to shoot the materials); determining a first shot condition ([0006] The best condition for the amount of the shot materials and pressure for shooting is determined based on the results of the measurement) for acquiring the required intensity based on a correlation between a shot condition of the shot processing apparatus and an intensity ([0030] The results of the measurements of the intensities of the hits and the number of hits of the shot materials are analyzed to control the machine. If the amount of the shot materials remains constant and the number of the hits increases, then the shot materials become smaller in diameter. Thus, the supply of new shot materials is required. If the intensity of the hits is lowered and the number of hits remains normal, then it is seen that the efficiency of the acceleration is reduced due to the abrasion of the Venturi section 16, etc. Thus, the pressure of compressed air at which the materials are shot is adjusted, or an alarm signal is generated) causing the shot processing apparatus to perform the shot processing to a projection surface of measurement device under the first shot condition; acquiring a signal waveform generated by the measurement device in response to collision of the shot media particles projected from the shot processing apparatus against the projection surface of the measurement device under the first shot condition; acquiring a measured intensity indicating an intensity of the shot processing performed to the measurement device under the first shot condition based on the signal waveform generated by the measurement device; determining a second shot condition to reduce a difference between the measured intensity and the required intensity; and correcting the shot condition of the shot processing apparatus from the first shot condition to the second shot (Fig. 1, Fig. 3, [0030] The results of the measurements of the intensities of the hits and the number of hits of the shot materials are analyzed to control the machine, [0029] the circuit 13 for controlling the shooting, which is a controlling means, controls the device 5 for adjusting the amount of the materials to be shot and the device 6 for adjusting the pressure of the compressed air based on the measured values, [0025] a circuit for comparing the characteristic values to the values that are predetermined and memorized (not shown), a circuit for judging if the characteristic values exceed the predetermined values (not shown), and a circuit for giving an alarm if a characteristic value exceeds the predetermined values (not shown), [0006] a specimen is processed by shot peening before an actual work is to be processed. Then, the processed surface of the specimen is measured. The best condition for the amount of the shot materials and pressure for shooting is determined based on the results of the measurements. A controller controls the amount of the shot materials and the pressure for shooting by inputting data on that condition. Thus, no measurement can be done while an actual work is being processed, [0011] The controller is electrically connected to the transducer, to the device for adjusting the amount of materials to be shot, and to the device for adjusting the pressure of the compressed air. It comprises a circuit for measuring the characteristic values of the materials that pass through the shooting nozzle. The measurement is based on the high-frequency electrical signals from the transducer. It also comprises a controlling means for monitoring the characteristic values, [0031] Since in the normal operation the intensities of the hits of the shot materials are calculated, an abnormal state, such as if the hose 3 between the device 5 for adjusting the amount of the materials and the shooting nozzle 2 becoming worn and a hole thereby being formed, can be detected. Using the characteristic values that are measured by the counter circuit 11 and the circuit 12 for measuring the peak values for controlling the device 5 for adjusting the amount of the materials to be shot and the device 6 for adjusting the pressure of the compressed air, generating an alarm, detecting a hole in the hose 3).
Suzuki does not teach a pre-stored model equation representing… before performing the shot processing to a measurement device
Champaigne teaches a pre-stored model equation representing… before performing the shot processing to a measurement device (Fig. 2 94 Set speed, Fig. 4-6, [0018] See FIG. 2. For a first intensity value, the rotation per minute (RPM) of the roto-flap peening tool is set 94. This RPM value is set according to the roto-flap peening device which provides a chart showing an RPM that will yield a particular intensity when a corresponding flap is used in the roto-flap peening tool. Reference to the chart included with the roto-flap peening device is how an operator chooses the correct parameters to peen according to the first intensity level that is in the range of intensity levels that are desired. Once the RPM value is set, an Almen strip is roto-flap peened 100 to confirm that the desired intensity achieved is the same as the intensity that was predicted by the chart supplied with the roto-flap peening device. This step 100 may be used to confirm the accuracy of the chart supplied with that RPM value in actual use)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Suzuki’s teaching of having a corrective unit to adjust the pressure and amount of materials to be shot based on the measurements with Champaigne’s teaching of having a first/set value for intensity before performing shot processing on the measurement device. The combined teaching provides an expected result of having a first/set value for intensity before performing shot processing and then having a corrective unit make adjustments based on measurement. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated as described by Champaigne [0011] to save time and expense.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Suzuki and Champaigne teach The method according to claim 7, wherein the measured intensity is acquired by: determining an Acoustic Emission (AE) parameter value of the signal waveform output from the measurement device (Suzuki, [0020] The AE sensor 1 detects the elastic waves that are generated by the shot materials that pass through the shooting nozzle 2, [0031] the normal operation the intensities of the hits of the shot materials are calculated, an abnormal state, such as if the hose 3 between the device 5 for adjusting the amount of the materials and the shooting nozzle 2 becoming worn and a hole thereby being formed, can be detected);
Champaigne further teaches and calculating the measured intensity based on an additional pre-stored model equation correlating the AE parameter value with the measured intensity (Fig. 2 94 Set speed, Fig. 4-6, [0018] See FIG. 2. For a first intensity value, the rotation per minute (RPM) of the roto-flap peening tool is set 94. This RPM value is set according to the roto-flap peening device which provides a chart showing an RPM that will yield a particular intensity when a corresponding flap is used in the roto-flap peening tool. Reference to the chart included with the roto-flap peening device is how an operator chooses the correct parameters to peen according to the first intensity level that is in the range of intensity levels that are desired. Once the RPM value is set, an Almen strip is roto-flap peened 100 to confirm that the desired intensity achieved is the same as the intensity that was predicted by the chart supplied with the roto-flap peening device. This step 100 may be used to confirm the accuracy of the chart supplied with that RPM value in actual use).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Suzuki and Champaigne teach The method according to claim 7, further comprising: … treating a surface of an object with the shot processing, performing one or more iterations of a sequence including: acquiring an additional measured intensity indicating an intensity of the shot processing performed on the measurement device under a current shot condition of the shot processing apparatus (Suzuki, [0006] a specimen is processed by shot peening before an actual work is to be processed. Then, the processed surface of the specimen is measured. The best condition for the amount of the shot materials and pressure for shooting is determined based on the results of the measurements. A controller controls the amount of the shot materials and the pressure for shooting by inputting data on that condition) ; determining a new shot condition to reduce a difference between the additional measured intensity and the required intensity; and correcting the shot condition of the shot processing apparatus from the current shot condition to the new shot condition, wherein the one or more iterations are repeated until the difference between the additional measured intensity and the required intensity is within a predetermined range, … treating the surface of the object ([0011] The controller is electrically connected to the transducer, to the device for adjusting the amount of materials to be shot, and to the device for adjusting the pressure of the compressed air, [0006] The best condition for the amount of the shot materials and pressure for shooting is determined based on the results of the measurements. A controller controls the amount of the shot materials and the pressure for shooting by inputting data on that condition. Thus, no measurement can be done while an actual work is being processed, [0025] the controller 7 comprises, as the controlling means, a circuit for comparing the characteristic values to the values that are predetermined and memorized (not shown), a circuit for judging if the characteristic values exceed the predetermined values (not shown), and a circuit for giving an alarm if a characteristic value exceeds the predetermined values (not shown).
Champaigne further teaches before (Fig. 2 94 Set speed, Fig. 4-6, [0018] See FIG. 2. For a first intensity value, the rotation per minute (RPM) of the roto-flap peening tool is set 94. This RPM value is set according to the roto-flap peening device which provides a chart showing an RPM that will yield a particular intensity when a corresponding flap is used in the roto-flap peening tool. Reference to the chart included with the roto-flap peening device is how an operator chooses the correct parameters to peen according to the first intensity level that is in the range of intensity levels that are desired. Once the RPM value is set, an Almen strip is roto-flap peened 100 to confirm that the desired intensity achieved is the same as the intensity that was predicted by the chart supplied with the roto-flap peening device. This step 100 may be used to confirm the accuracy of the chart supplied with that RPM value in actual use)
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Suzuki and Champaigne teach The shot processing system according to claim 1, wherein the control device is further configured to determine the measured intensity by: acquiring an Acoustic Emission (AE) parameter value from the signal waveform output from the measurement device (Suzuki, [0020] The AE sensor 1 detects the elastic waves that are generated by the shot materials that pass through the shooting nozzle 2);
Champaigne further teaches and calculating the measured intensity based on an additional pre-stored model equation correlating the AE parameter value with the measured intensity (Fig. 2 94 Set speed, Fig. 4-6, [0018] See FIG. 2. For a first intensity value, the rotation per minute (RPM) of the roto-flap peening tool is set 94. This RPM value is set according to the roto-flap peening device which provides a chart showing an RPM that will yield a particular intensity when a corresponding flap is used in the roto-flap peening tool. Reference to the chart included with the roto-flap peening device is how an operator chooses the correct parameters to peen according to the first intensity level that is in the range of intensity levels that are desired. Once the RPM value is set, an Almen strip is roto-flap peened 100 to confirm that the desired intensity achieved is the same as the intensity that was predicted by the chart supplied with the roto-flap peening device. This step 100 may be used to confirm the accuracy of the chart supplied with that RPM value in actual use).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Suzuki and Champaigne teach The shot processing system according to claim 10, wherein the AE parameter is selected from the group consisting of: a waveform amplitude, a duration, an AE count, and a rise time of the signal waveform (Suzuki, [0020] The envelope-detecting circuit 10 is connected to both a counter circuit 11 that counts the number of occurrences of the envelope detection and a circuit 12 for measuring the peak values in the demodulated waves. The number of occurrences of the envelope detection that are counted by the counter circuit 11 and the peak values in the demodulated waves that are measured by the circuit 12 correspond to the amount of the shot materials and the pressure of compressed air at which the materials are shot, respectively).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Suzuki and Champaigne teach The shot processing system according to claim 1, wherein the shot condition includes at least one condition selected from the group consisting of: a projection pressure and a projection amount of the shot media particles (Suzuki, [0005] controlling the pressure for shooting and the amount of materials to be shot, just controls the conditions of the operation).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Suzuki and Champaigne teach The shot processing system according to claim 1, wherein the control device is further configured to iteratively correct the shot condition of the shot processing apparatus by carrying out one or more iterations of a sequence including: acquiring an additional measured intensity indicating an intensity of the shot processing to the measurement device under a current shot condition of the shot processing apparatus; determining a new shot condition to reduce a difference between the additional measured intensity and the required intensity; and correcting the shot condition of the shot processing apparatus from the current shot condition to the new shot condition, and wherein the one or more iterations are repeated until the difference between the additional measured intensity and the required intensity is within a predetermined range (Suzuki, [0011] The controller is electrically connected to the transducer, to the device for adjusting the amount of materials to be shot, and to the device for adjusting the pressure of the compressed air, [0006] The best condition for the amount of the shot materials and pressure for shooting is determined based on the results of the measurements. A controller controls the amount of the shot materials and the pressure for shooting by inputting data on that condition. Thus, no measurement can be done while an actual work is being processed, [0025] the controller 7 comprises, as the controlling means, a circuit for comparing the characteristic values to the values that are predetermined and memorized (not shown), a circuit for judging if the characteristic values exceed the predetermined values (not shown), and a circuit for giving an alarm if a characteristic value exceeds the predetermined values (not shown))
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Suzuki and Champaigne teach The shot processing system according to claim 13, wherein at each iteration, the new shot condition is set in proportion to the difference with the required intensity (Suzuki, [0011] The controller is electrically connected to the transducer, to the device for adjusting the amount of materials to be shot, and to the device for adjusting the pressure of the compressed air, [0006] The best condition for the amount of the shot materials and pressure for shooting is determined based on the results of the measurements. A controller controls the amount of the shot materials and the pressure for shooting by inputting data on that condition. Thus, no measurement can be done while an actual work is being processed, [0025] the controller 7 comprises, as the controlling means, a circuit for comparing the characteristic values to the values that are predetermined and memorized (not shown), a circuit for judging if the characteristic values exceed the predetermined values (not shown), and a circuit for giving an alarm if a characteristic value exceeds the predetermined values (not shown)).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Suzuki and Champaigne teach The shot processing system according to claim 1, wherein the measurement device includes a communication device configured to output the signal waveform, and wherein the control device includes a communication device that is communicatively coupled with the communication device of the measurement device to receive the signal waveform ([0020] The AE sensor 1 detects the elastic waves that are generated by the shot materials that pass through the shooting nozzle 2, [0020] The AE sensor 1, the device 5 for adjusting the amount of the materials, and the device 6 for adjusting the pressure of the compressed air, are electrically connected to the controller 7 through respective communication lines 8).
Regarding claim 17, Suzuki teaches A shot processing system comprising: a shot processing apparatus configured to perform shot processing by projecting shot media particles from an outlet nozzle of the shot processing apparatus ([0010] shot peening is to process a work by shooting the shot materials with compressed air from a shooting nozzle against the work); a measurement device having a projection surface that faces the outlet nozzle of the shot processing apparatus, wherein the measurement device is configured to generate an electronic signal in response to collisions of the shot media particles projected against the projection surface of the measurement device ([0010] values of the shot materials, which pass through the shooting nozzle, are measured and monitored based on the signals, [0020] The AE sensor 1 detects the elastic waves that are generated by the shot materials that pass through the shooting nozzle 2. It transduces the elastic waves to high-frequency electrical signals, and outputs the signals, [0028] some of the accelerated shot materials S contact the inner surface 15 a of the tip of the shooting nozzle. The elastic waves are generated by those contacts …which outputs signals to the counter circuit 11 and the circuit 12 for measuring the peak values. Thus, the number of occurrences of the envelope detection (the number of hits) and the peak values in the demodulated waves detected by the envelope detection (the intensities of the hits) are measured, [0030] The results of the measurements of the intensities of the hits and the number of hits of the shot materials are analyzed to control the machine. If the amount of the shot materials remains constant and the number of the hits increases, then the shot materials become smaller in diameter. Thus, the supply of new shot materials is required. If the intensity of the hits is lowered and the number of hits remains normal, then it is seen that the efficiency of the acceleration is reduced due to the abrasion of the Venturi section 16, etc., [0028] some of the accelerated shot materials S contact the inner surface 15 a of the tip of the shooting nozzle. The elastic waves are generated by those contacts. They are detected by the AE sensor 1 and are transduced to high-frequency electrical signals. Then, the high-frequency electrical signals are output to the envelope-detecting circuit 10 through the communication line 8 and the amplifying circuit 10 a, [0034] elastic waves can be detected when they are generated by having the shot materials S that pass through the shooting nozzle 2 contact its inner surface); and a control device in communication with the measurement device, wherein the control device is configured to ([0029] the circuit 13 for controlling the shooting, which is a controlling means, controls the device 5 for adjusting the amount of the materials to be shot and the device 6 for adjusting the pressure of the compressed air based on the measured values, [0006] A controller controls the amount of the shot materials and the pressure for shooting by inputting data on that condition. Thus, no measurement can be done while an actual work is being processed): set the shot processing apparatus to project the shot media particles to the measurement device under a first shot condition; acquire a measured intensity indicating an intensity of the shot processing performed under the first shot condition, based on the electronic signal generated by the measurement device (Fig. 3, [0030] The results of the measurements of the intensities of the hits and the number of hits of the shot materials are analyzed to control the machine, [0020] The AE sensor 1 detects the elastic waves that are generated by the shot materials that pass through the shooting nozzle 2. It transduces the elastic waves to high-frequency electrical signals, and outputs the signals, [0020] a device 5 for adjusting the amount of the materials to be shot based on the volume flow or mass flow of them, a device 6 for adjusting the pressure of the compressed air to be used for shooting the materials, a shooting nozzle 2 to shoot the materials, [0006] The best condition for the amount of the shot materials and pressure for shooting is determined based on the results of the measurement, [0030] The results of the measurements of the intensities of the hits and the number of hits of the shot materials are analyzed to control the machine. If the amount of the shot materials remains constant and the number of the hits increases, then the shot materials become smaller in diameter. Thus, the supply of new shot materials is required. If the intensity of the hits is lowered and the number of hits remains normal, then it is seen that the efficiency of the acceleration is reduced due to the abrasion of the Venturi section 16, etc. Thus, the pressure of compressed air at which the materials are shot is adjusted, or an alarm signal is generated); determine a second shot condition to reduce a difference between the measured intensity and the target intensity; and set the shot processing apparatus to the second shot condition (Fig. 1, Fig. 3, [0030] The results of the measurements of the intensities of the hits and the number of hits of the shot materials are analyzed to control the machine, [0029] the circuit 13 for controlling the shooting, which is a controlling means, controls the device 5 for adjusting the amount of the materials to be shot and the device 6 for adjusting the pressure of the compressed air based on the measured values, [0025] a circuit for comparing the characteristic values to the values that are predetermined and memorized (not shown), a circuit for judging if the characteristic values exceed the predetermined values (not shown), and a circuit for giving an alarm if a characteristic value exceeds the predetermined values (not shown), [0006] a specimen is processed by shot peening before an actual work is to be processed. Then, the processed surface of the specimen is measured. The best condition for the amount of the shot materials and pressure for shooting is determined based on the results of the measurements. A controller controls the amount of the shot materials and the pressure for shooting by inputting data on that condition. Thus, no measurement can be done while an actual work is being processed, [0011] The controller is electrically connected to the transducer, to the device for adjusting the amount of materials to be shot, and to the device for adjusting the pressure of the compressed air. It comprises a circuit for measuring the characteristic values of the materials that pass through the shooting nozzle. The measurement is based on the high-frequency electrical signals from the transducer. It also comprises a controlling means for monitoring the characteristic values, [0027] The shot materials S are supplied from the storage tank 4 by the device 5 for adjusting the amount of the materials to be shot, [0031] Since in the normal operation the intensities of the hits of the shot materials are calculated, an abnormal state, such as if the hose 3 between the device 5 for adjusting the amount of the materials and the shooting nozzle 2 becoming worn and a hole thereby being formed, can be detected. Using the characteristic values that are measured by the counter circuit 11 and the circuit 12 for measuring the peak values for controlling the device 5 for adjusting the amount of the materials to be shot and the device 6 for adjusting the pressure of the compressed air, generating an alarm, detecting a hole in the hose 3).
Suzuki does not clearly teach second shot condition
Champaigne teaches second shot condition ([0015] levels of intensity are desired to be measured within the established range 20 (in other words, all intensity levels of interest have not been measured), then parameters of the peening machine are set for the next intensity level 28 and the successive steps 36, 40, 52 are done until all levels of interest are measured, Claim 1 setting second parameters for another blast stream corresponding to said other intensity level)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Suzuki’s teaching of having a corrective unit to adjust the pressure and amount of materials to be shot based on the measurements with Champaigne’s teaching of having a second set parameter for intensity before performing shot processing on the measurement device. The combined teaching provides an expected result of having a first/set value and second set for intensity and then having a corrective unit make adjustments based on measurement. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated as described by Champaigne [0011] to save time and expense.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Suzuki and Champaigne teach The shot processing system according to claim 17, wherein the measurement device includes a communication device configured to output the electronic signal, wherein the control device includes a communication device that is communicatively coupled with the communication device of the measurement device to receive the electronic signal, and wherein the control device is further configured to determine the measured intensity based on the electronic signal received (Suzuki, Fig. 1, [0020] The AE sensor 1 detects the elastic waves that are generated by the shot materials that pass through the shooting nozzle 2, [0020] The AE sensor 1, the device 5 for adjusting the amount of the materials, and the device 6 for adjusting the pressure of the compressed air, are electrically connected to the controller 7 through respective communication lines 8).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Suzuki and Champaigne teach The shot processing system according to claim 17, wherein the shot processing apparatus is set to the first shot condition, , and wherein the control device is configured to determine the first shot condition ([0020] The AE sensor 1 detects the elastic waves that are generated by the shot materials that pass through the shooting nozzle 2, [0030] The results of the measurements of the intensities of the hits and the number of hits of the shot materials are analyzed to control the machine. If the amount of the shot materials remains constant and the number of the hits increases, then the shot materials become smaller in diameter. Thus, the supply of new shot materials is required. If the intensity of the hits is lowered and the number of hits remains normal, then it is seen that the efficiency of the acceleration is reduced due to the abrasion of the Venturi section 16, etc. Thus, the pressure of compressed air at which the materials are shot is adjusted, or an alarm signal is generated, [0006] a specimen is processed by shot peening before an actual work is to be processed. Then, the processed surface of the specimen is measured. The best condition for the amount of the shot materials and pressure for shooting is determined based on the results of the measurements. A controller controls the amount of the shot materials and the pressure for shooting by inputting data on that condition. Thus, no measurement can be done while an actual work is being processed);
Champaigne teaches before performing the shot processing to the measurement device… based on a pre-stored model equation representing a correlation between a shot condition of the shot processing apparatus and an intensity (Fig. 2 94 Set speed, Fig. 4-6, [0018] See FIG. 2. For a first intensity value, the rotation per minute (RPM) of the roto-flap peening tool is set 94. This RPM value is set according to the roto-flap peening device which provides a chart showing an RPM that will yield a particular intensity when a corresponding flap is used in the roto-flap peening tool. Reference to the chart included with the roto-flap peening device is how an operator chooses the correct parameters to peen according to the first intensity level that is in the range of intensity levels that are desired. Once the RPM value is set, an Almen strip is roto-flap peened 100 to confirm that the desired intensity achieved is the same as the intensity that was predicted by the chart supplied with the roto-flap peening device. This step 100 may be used to confirm the accuracy of the chart supplied with that RPM value in actual use)
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Suzuki and Champaigne teach The shot processing system according to claim 17, wherein the shot processing apparatus further includes a nozzle sensor fixed to a nozzle of the shot processing apparatus, wherein the nozzle sensor is configured output a signal waveform in response to the shot media particles being projected through the nozzle, and wherein the control device is further configured to: measure a shot condition of the shot processing apparatus based on the signal waveform output from the nozzle sensor; and correct the shot condition of the shot processing apparatus in response to determining that a difference between the shot condition set by the control device based on the measurement device and the shot condition measured via the nozzle sensor exceeds a predetermined threshold value (Suzuki, Fig. 1, [0020] The AE sensor 1 detects the elastic waves that are generated by the shot materials that pass through the shooting nozzle 2. It transduces the elastic waves to high-frequency electrical signals, and outputs the signals. The shooting nozzle 2 is located in the shooting room 9. It processes a work (not shown) there by shot peening. The AE sensor 1, the device 5 for adjusting the amount of the materials, and the device 6 for adjusting the pressure of the compressed air, are electrically connected to the controller 7 through respective communication , [0011] The transducer, which is located in the shooting nozzle, detects the elastic waves that are generated by the materials that pass through the shooting, [0025] the controller 7 comprises, as the controlling means, a circuit for comparing the characteristic values to the values that are predetermined and memorized (not shown), a circuit for judging if the characteristic values exceed the predetermined values (not shown), and a circuit for giving an alarm if a characteristic value exceeds the predetermined values, [0031] an abnormal state, such as if the hose 3 between the device 5 for adjusting the amount of the materials and the shooting nozzle 2 becoming worn and a hole thereby being formed, can be detected).
Claim(s) 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (US20110097972), in further view of Champaigne (US20200269388A1), in further view of Ho et al. (US20210046611, herein Ho).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Suzuki and Champaigne teach The shot processing system according to claim 15, wherein the communication device of the measurement device and the communication device of the control device are both … communication devices that are coupled via a …communication network (Suzuki, [0020] The AE sensor 1, the device 5 for adjusting the amount of the materials, and the device 6 for adjusting the pressure of the compressed air, are electrically connected to the controller 7 through respective communication lines 8).
The combination of Suzuki and Champaigne do not teach wireless… via a wireless communication network
Ho teaches wireless… via a wireless communication network ([0056] Operation information including the flow rate of the shot media can be displayed or wireless/wired transmitted via IoT (Internet of Things) for remote transmission, data analytics or diagnosis)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Suzuki’s teaching of having a communication lines between the AE sensor and controller with Ho’s teaching of having wireless communication lines. The combined teaching provides an expected result of having wireless communication lines between the AE sensor and controller. Therefore, one of ordinary skill would be motivated to improve system mobility instead of using physical wires.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Suzuki and Champaigne teach The shot processing system according to claim 17, wherein the measurement device includes a… communication device, and wherein the control device includes a wireless communication device that is coupled to the wireless communication device of the measurement device … (Suzuki, [0020] The AE sensor 1, the device 5 for adjusting the amount of the materials, and the device 6 for adjusting the pressure of the compressed air, are electrically connected to the controller 7 through respective communication lines 8).
The combination of Suzuki and Champaigne do not teach wireless… via a wireless communication network
Ho teaches wireless… via a wireless communication network ([0056] Operation information including the flow rate of the shot media can be displayed or wireless/wired transmitted via IoT (Internet of Things) for remote transmission, data analytics or diagnosis)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Yamamoto (US20020170327) discloses controlling a shot peening device.
In view of the substantive amendments to the claims and new claims, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YVONNE T FOLLANSBEE/
Examiner, Art Unit 2117
/ALICIA M. CHOI/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117