Continued Examination Under
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/17/2025 have been carefully and fully considered. With respect to applicant’s argument regarding the rejection under 35 U.S.C § 102 which recites:
“Applicant respectfully submits that Suzuki does not teach or render obvious at least the features of “a determination unit to determine a first shot condition for acquiring the required intensity based on a pre-stored model equation representing a correlation between a shot condition of the shot processing apparatus and an intensity before performing the shot processing to the measurement device”
Examiner agrees that Suzuki does not disclose amended limitations, and relies on Champaigne Fig. 2 94 Set speed, Fig. 4-6, [0018] See FIG. 2. For a first intensity value, the rotation per minute (RPM) of the roto-flap peening tool is set 94. This RPM value is set according to the roto-flap peening device which provides a chart showing an RPM that will yield a particular intensity when a corresponding flap is used in the roto-flap peening tool. Reference to the chart included with the roto-flap peening device is how an operator chooses the correct parameters to peen according to the first intensity level that is in the range of intensity levels that are desired. Once the RPM value is set, an Almen strip is roto-flap peened 100 to confirm that the desired intensity achieved is the same as the intensity that was predicted by the chart supplied with the roto-flap peening device. This step 100 may be used to confirm the accuracy of the chart supplied with that RPM value in actual use.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (US20110097972), in further view of Champaigne (US20200269388A1).
Regarding claim 1, Suzuki teaches A shot processing system comprising: a shot processing apparatus that performs shot processing to project shot media ([0010] shot peening is to process a work by shooting the shot materials with compressed air from a shooting nozzle against the work) ; a measurement device to receive the shot media projected from the shot processing apparatus and output a signal waveform related to a wave generated due to collision of the shot media ([0010] values of the shot materials, which pass through the shooting nozzle, are measured and monitored based on the signals, [0020] The AE sensor 1 detects the elastic waves that are generated by the shot materials that pass through the shooting nozzle 2. It transduces the elastic waves to high-frequency electrical signals, and outputs the signals, [0028] which outputs signals to the counter circuit 11 and the circuit 12 for measuring the peak values. Thus, the number of occurrences of the envelope detection (the number of hits) and the peak values in the demodulated waves detected by the envelope detection (the intensities of the hits) are measured, [0030] The results of the measurements of the intensities of the hits and the number of hits of the shot materials are analyzed to control the machine. If the amount of the shot materials remains constant and the number of the hits increases, then the shot materials become smaller in diameter. Thus, the supply of new shot materials is required. If the intensity of the hits is lowered and the number of hits remains normal, then it is seen that the efficiency of the acceleration is reduced due to the abrasion of the Venturi section 16, etc.); and a control device to control the shot processing apparatus ([0029] the circuit 13 for controlling the shooting, which is a controlling means, controls the device 5 for adjusting the amount of the materials to be shot and the device 6 for adjusting the pressure of the compressed air based on the measured values, [0006] A controller controls the amount of the shot materials and the pressure for shooting by inputting data on that condition. Thus, no measurement can be done while an actual work is being processed. ) , wherein the control device includes a processing condition acquisition unit to acquire a required intensity indicating an intensity of the shot processing to be performed on a processing object (Fig. 3, [0030] The results of the measurements of the intensities of the hits and the number of hits of the shot materials are analyzed to control the machine, [0020] The AE sensor 1 detects the elastic waves that are generated by the shot materials that pass through the shooting nozzle 2. It transduces the elastic waves to high-frequency electrical signals, and outputs the signals, [0020] a device 5 for adjusting the amount of the materials to be shot based on the volume flow or mass flow of them, a device 6 for adjusting the pressure of the compressed air to be used for shooting the materials, a shooting nozzle 2 to shoot the materials), a determination unit to determine a first shot condition ([0006] The best condition for the amount of the shot materials and pressure for shooting is determined based on the results of the measurement) for acquiring the required intensity based on a correlation between a shot condition of the shot processing apparatus and an intensity ([0030] The results of the measurements of the intensities of the hits and the number of hits of the shot materials are analyzed to control the machine. If the amount of the shot materials remains constant and the number of the hits increases, then the shot materials become smaller in diameter. Thus, the supply of new shot materials is required. If the intensity of the hits is lowered and the number of hits remains normal, then it is seen that the efficiency of the acceleration is reduced due to the abrasion of the Venturi section 16, etc. Thus, the pressure of compressed air at which the materials are shot is adjusted, or an alarm signal is generated) a control unit to control the shot processing apparatus to cause the shot processing apparatus to perform the shot processing to the measurement device under a first shot condition, an intensity analysis unit to acquire a measured intensity indicating an intensity of the shot processing to the measurement device by analyzing the signal waveform output from the measurement device in response to the shot processing performed to the measurement device under the first shot condition, and a correction unit to correct a shot condition of the shot processing apparatus from the first shot condition to a second shot condition to reduce a difference between the required intensity and the measured intensity (Fig. 1, Fig. 3, [0030] The results of the measurements of the intensities of the hits and the number of hits of the shot materials are analyzed to control the machine, [0029] the circuit 13 for controlling the shooting, which is a controlling means, controls the device 5 for adjusting the amount of the materials to be shot and the device 6 for adjusting the pressure of the compressed air based on the measured values, [0025] a circuit for comparing the characteristic values to the values that are predetermined and memorized (not shown), a circuit for judging if the characteristic values exceed the predetermined values (not shown), and a circuit for giving an alarm if a characteristic value exceeds the predetermined values (not shown), [0006] a specimen is processed by shot peening before an actual work is to be processed. Then, the processed surface of the specimen is measured. The best condition for the amount of the shot materials and pressure for shooting is determined based on the results of the measurements. A controller controls the amount of the shot materials and the pressure for shooting by inputting data on that condition. Thus, no measurement can be done while an actual work is being processed, [0011] The controller is electrically connected to the transducer, to the device for adjusting the amount of materials to be shot, and to the device for adjusting the pressure of the compressed air. It comprises a circuit for measuring the characteristic values of the materials that pass through the shooting nozzle. The measurement is based on the high-frequency electrical signals from the transducer. It also comprises a controlling means for monitoring the characteristic values).
Suzuki does not teach a pre-stored model equation representing… before performing the shot processing to the measurement device
Champaigne teaches a pre-stored model equation representing… before performing the shot processing to the measurement device (Fig. 2 94 Set speed, Fig. 4-6, [0018] See FIG. 2. For a first intensity value, the rotation per minute (RPM) of the roto-flap peening tool is set 94. This RPM value is set according to the roto-flap peening device which provides a chart showing an RPM that will yield a particular intensity when a corresponding flap is used in the roto-flap peening tool. Reference to the chart included with the roto-flap peening device is how an operator chooses the correct parameters to peen according to the first intensity level that is in the range of intensity levels that are desired. Once the RPM value is set, an Almen strip is roto-flap peened 100 to confirm that the desired intensity achieved is the same as the intensity that was predicted by the chart supplied with the roto-flap peening device. This step 100 may be used to confirm the accuracy of the chart supplied with that RPM value in actual use)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Suzuki’s teaching of having a corrective unit to adjust the pressure and amount of materials to be shot based on the measurements with Champaigne’s teaching of having a first/set value for intensity before performing shot processing on the measurement device. The combined teaching provides an expected result of having a first/set value for intensity before performing shot processing and then having a corrective unit make adjustments based on measurement. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated as described by Champaigne [0011] to save time and expense.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Suzuki and Champaigne teach The shot processing system according to claim 1, wherein the shot processing apparatus further includes a second AE sensor fixed to a nozzle of the shot processing apparatus, wherein the second AE sensor is configured to measure an elastic wave generated when the shot media is projected and output the signal waveform related to the measured elastic wave, and wherein the control device further includes a shot condition analysis unit to measure a shot condition of the shot processing apparatus by analyzing the signal waveform output from the second AE sensor. (Suzuki, Fig. 1, [0020] The AE sensor 1 detects the elastic waves that are generated by the shot materials that pass through the shooting nozzle 2. It transduces the elastic waves to high-frequency electrical signals, and outputs the signals. The shooting nozzle 2 is located in the shooting room 9. It processes a work (not shown) there by shot peening. The AE sensor 1, the device 5 for adjusting the amount of the materials, and the device 6 for adjusting the pressure of the compressed air, are electrically connected to the controller 7 through respective communication , [0011] The transducer, which is located in the shooting nozzle, detects the elastic waves that are generated by the materials that pass through the shooting nozzle.)
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Suzuki and Champaigne teach The shot processing system according to claim 4, wherein the control device further includes an alarm output unit to output an alarm indicating that an abnormality has occurred in the shot processing apparatus when a difference between a shot condition set in the shot processing apparatus by the control unit and a shot condition measured by the shot condition analysis unit exceeds a predetermined threshold (Suzuki, [0025] the controller 7 comprises, as the controlling means, a circuit for comparing the characteristic values to the values that are predetermined and memorized (not shown), a circuit for judging if the characteristic values exceed the predetermined values (not shown), and a circuit for giving an alarm if a characteristic value exceeds the predetermined values, [0031] an abnormal state, such as if the hose 3 between the device 5 for adjusting the amount of the materials and the shooting nozzle 2 becoming worn and a hole thereby being formed, can be detected). (i.e. exceeded values Is interpreted as an abnormality)
Regarding claim 7, Suzuki teaches A shot processing method with a shot processing system including a shot processing apparatus that performs a shot processing to project shot media ([0010] shot peening is to process a work by shooting the shot materials with compressed air from a shooting nozzle against the work), the method comprising: acquiring a required intensity indicating an intensity of the shot processing to be performed on a processing object (Fig. 3, [0030] The results of the measurements of the intensities of the hits and the number of hits of the shot materials are analyzed to control the machine, [0020] The AE sensor 1 detects the elastic waves that are generated by the shot materials that pass through the shooting nozzle 2. It transduces the elastic waves to high-frequency electrical signals, and outputs the signals, [0020] a device 5 for adjusting the amount of the materials to be shot based on the volume flow or mass flow of them, a device 6 for adjusting the pressure of the compressed air to be used for shooting the materials, a shooting nozzle 2 to shoot the materials); determining a first shot condition ([0006] The best condition for the amount of the shot materials and pressure for shooting is determined based on the results of the measurement) for acquiring the required intensity based on a correlation between a shot condition of the shot processing apparatus and an intensity ([0030] The results of the measurements of the intensities of the hits and the number of hits of the shot materials are analyzed to control the machine. If the amount of the shot materials remains constant and the number of the hits increases, then the shot materials become smaller in diameter. Thus, the supply of new shot materials is required. If the intensity of the hits is lowered and the number of hits remains normal, then it is seen that the efficiency of the acceleration is reduced due to the abrasion of the Venturi section 16, etc. Thus, the pressure of compressed air at which the materials are shot is adjusted, or an alarm signal is generated) causing the shot processing apparatus to perform the shot processing to a measurement device under the first shot condition; acquiring a signal waveform related to a wave generated in response to collision of the shot media with the measurement device under the first shot condition; acquiring a measured intensity indicating an intensity of the shot processing to the measurement device under the first shot condition by analyzing the signal waveform; and correcting a shot condition of the shot processing apparatus from the first shot condition to a second shot condition to reduce a difference between the required intensity and the measured intensity (Fig. 1, Fig. 3, [0030] The results of the measurements of the intensities of the hits and the number of hits of the shot materials are analyzed to control the machine, [0029] the circuit 13 for controlling the shooting, which is a controlling means, controls the device 5 for adjusting the amount of the materials to be shot and the device 6 for adjusting the pressure of the compressed air based on the measured values, [0025] a circuit for comparing the characteristic values to the values that are predetermined and memorized (not shown), a circuit for judging if the characteristic values exceed the predetermined values (not shown), and a circuit for giving an alarm if a characteristic value exceeds the predetermined values (not shown), [0006] a specimen is processed by shot peening before an actual work is to be processed. Then, the processed surface of the specimen is measured. The best condition for the amount of the shot materials and pressure for shooting is determined based on the results of the measurements. A controller controls the amount of the shot materials and the pressure for shooting by inputting data on that condition. Thus, no measurement can be done while an actual work is being processed, [0011] The controller is electrically connected to the transducer, to the device for adjusting the amount of materials to be shot, and to the device for adjusting the pressure of the compressed air. It comprises a circuit for measuring the characteristic values of the materials that pass through the shooting nozzle. The measurement is based on the high-frequency electrical signals from the transducer. It also comprises a controlling means for monitoring the characteristic values).
Suzuki does not teach a pre-stored model equation representing… before performing the shot processing to a measurement device
Champaigne teaches a pre-stored model equation representing… before performing the shot processing to a measurement device (Fig. 2 94 Set speed, Fig. 4-6, [0018] See FIG. 2. For a first intensity value, the rotation per minute (RPM) of the roto-flap peening tool is set 94. This RPM value is set according to the roto-flap peening device which provides a chart showing an RPM that will yield a particular intensity when a corresponding flap is used in the roto-flap peening tool. Reference to the chart included with the roto-flap peening device is how an operator chooses the correct parameters to peen according to the first intensity level that is in the range of intensity levels that are desired. Once the RPM value is set, an Almen strip is roto-flap peened 100 to confirm that the desired intensity achieved is the same as the intensity that was predicted by the chart supplied with the roto-flap peening device. This step 100 may be used to confirm the accuracy of the chart supplied with that RPM value in actual use)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Suzuki’s teaching of having a corrective unit to adjust the pressure and amount of materials to be shot based on the measurements with Champaigne’s teaching of having a first/set value for intensity before performing shot processing on the measurement device. The combined teaching provides an expected result of having a first/set value for intensity before performing shot processing and then having a corrective unit make adjustments based on measurement. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated as described by Champaigne [0011] to save time and expense.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (US20110097972), in view of Champaigne (US20200269388), and in further view of Enoki et al. (US20130138363, herein Enoki).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Suzuki and Champaigne teach The shot processing system according to claim 1, wherein the measurement device includes: a projection surface to receive the shot media (Suzuki, Fig. 1);
Suzuki does not teach and a first AE sensor to output the signal waveform related to an elastic wave generated due to collision of the shot media with the projection surface.
Enoki teaches and a first AE sensor to output the signal waveform related to an elastic wave generated due to collision of the shot media with the projection surface (Fig. 1 , [0021] The signal acquiring unit acquires a detected waveform output during the laser peening processing by an AE sensor that detects an elastic wave generated in the workpiece member, [0025] The AE sensor is attached to the workpiece member and receives an elastic wave generated in the workpiece member and outputs a detected waveform, [0070] One or plural AE sensors 1 are connected to the measuring instrument 4 via a preamplifier, [0011] An evaluation method according to an aspect of the present invention is a method of evaluating impact force input to a workpiece member with a laser irradiated in laser peening processing).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Suzuki’s teaching of having an AE sensor fixed to the nozzle gathering measurement data with Enoki’s teaching of having multiple AE sensors and having one attached to the workpiece measuring collision. The combined teaching provides an expected result of having a plurality of AE sensors measuring at the nozzle and at the workpiece. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to “perform more accurate evaluation” as shown by Enoki [0089].
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (US20110097972), in view of Champaigne (US20200269388), and in further view of Harris et al. (US6023612, herein Harris).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Suzuki and Champaigne teach The shot processing system according to claim 5, wherein the control device further includes… to correct the set shot condition when a difference between the set shot condition and the measured shot condition exceeds a predetermined threshold value (Suzuki, [0025] The controller 7 comprises, as the controlling means, a circuit for comparing the characteristic values to the values that are predetermined and memorized (not shown), a circuit for judging if the characteristic values exceed the predetermined values (not shown), and a circuit for giving an alarm if a characteristic value exceeds the predetermined values, [0029] the circuit 13 for controlling the shooting, which is a controlling means, controls the device 5 for adjusting the amount of the materials to be shot and the device 6 for adjusting the pressure of the compressed air based on the measured values, [0030] The results of the measurements of the intensities of the hits and the number of hits of the shot materials are analyzed to control the machine. If the amount of the shot materials remains constant and the number of the hits increases, then the shot materials become smaller in diameter. Thus, the supply of new shot materials is required. If the intensity of the hits is lowered and the number of hits remains normal, then it is seen that the efficiency of the acceleration is reduced due to the abrasion of the Venturi section 16).
Suzuki does not teach a second correction unit
Harris teaches a second correction unit (page 57 Col. 14 lines 35-42 exceeds a predetermined threshold (e.g., 20%) for a predetermined amount of time (e.g., 1 minute), the controller 131 sends a fault message to the redundant system controller 200 (FIG. 5A), notifying the redundant system controller 200 that a potentially damaging amount of reflected power has been observed so that the redundant system controller 200 may take corrective action.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Suzuki’s teaching of having a corrective unit to adjust the pressure and amount of materials to be shot based on the measurements with Harris’s teaching of having a redundant controller to take corrective action if a threshold is exceeded. The combined teaching provides an expected result of having a corrective unit to make adjustments based on measurement and a redundant controller to take corrective action if a threshold is exceeded. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to increase reliability of the system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Yuan (US10202663) discloses a shot peening treatment for cavitation erosion resistance.
/YVONNE T FOLLANSBEE/
Examiner, Art Unit 2117
/ROBERT E FENNEMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117