DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 12/01/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 20, Applicant argued the amendment in accordance with the interview dated 12/01/2025, would overcome the art rejection, however claim 20 is not amended.
Claim Objections
Claim 22 is objected to because of the following informalities: it depends on the canceled claim 21. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claims 8-9, 11, 15-19, 27-29, 31-32 and 35-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8, last line recites “at least in part on the geographic information”.
Claim 9, line 3 recites “at least in part on the RF signature”.
Claim 11, line 8 recites “based at least in part on the radio frequency”.
Claim 27, line 3 recites “based at least in part on”.
Claim 28, line 3 recites “based at least in part”.
Claim 29, line 4 recites “based at least in part on the RF signature”.
Claim 31, line 11 recites “based at least in part on”.
However the term “in part” is not clearly defined in relation with other claim limitations.
Claims 15-19, 32 and 35-41 are rejected for depend from claim 11 or 31.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claim(s) 20, 22 and 25-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI (US 20240353523 A1) in view of ENDO (US 20230135955 A1).
For claim 20. LI discloses An apparatus, comprising: a memory; at least one transceiver; at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver, and configured to: receive radio frequency sensing assistance data from a server (figure 9 step 901, [0221]-[0234], [0281]); perform radio frequency sensing operations based at least in part on the radio frequency sensing assistance data (figure 9 steps 902, 903, [0284]-[0300]); determining at least one environmental characteristic of a plurality of objects based on the radio frequency sensing operations, the at least one environmental characteristic of the plurality of objects including a direction of motion for the plurality of objects ([0090]-[0092], figure 8); and report radio frequency sensing results to the server, the radio frequency sensing results including the at least one environmental characteristic of the plurality of objects ([0349]-[0354], [0358], [0372], [0401]).
LI fails to explicitly disclose the at least one environmental characteristic of the plurality of objects including a rate of change of a quantity of the plurality of objects, an average speed of the plurality of objects, or a direction of motion of the plurality of objects.
In the same field of endeavor, ENDO discloses (Abstract, [0038], [0049]) an information processing apparatus includes a crowd characteristic estimator and a plan controller. The crowd characteristic estimator estimates information regarding a characteristic of a crowd on the basis of a sensing result of an external environment, and including at least one environmental characteristic of the plurality of objects including a rate of change of a quantity of the plurality of objects, an average speed of the plurality of objects, or a direction of motion of the plurality of objects ([0055]: the crowd characteristic estimator 103 may regard the average of the moving directions and the average of the moving speeds of the respective individuals 20 included in the crowd 30 as the moving direction and the moving speed of the crowd 30; [0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by ENDO into the art of LI as to track a crowd for route planning and navigation and providing services by at least using average direction and average speed of tracked targets/objects.
For claim 22. LI in combination with ENDO substantially teaches the apparatus of claim 21 (treated as depend on claim 20), LI discloses wherein the radio frequency sensing results are aggregated with a plurality of radio frequency sensing results received from a plurality of wireless devices, and the one or more environmental characteristics are determined based on an aggregation of the radio frequency sensing results (figure 8, [0397]).
For claim 25. LI in combination with ENDO substantially teaches the apparatus of claim 20 LI discloses wherein the radio frequency sensing assistance data includes information related to at least one of a movement, a location a target object, or any combinations thereof ([0133], [0174], [0192], [0203]-[0204], [0284]-[0300]).
For claim 26. LI in combination with ENDO substantially teaches the apparatus of claim 20 LI discloses wherein the radio frequency sensing assistance data includes information related to one or more attributes of a target object ([0133], [0174], [0192], [0203]-[0204], [0284]-[0300]).
For claim 27. LI in combination with ENDO substantially teaches the apparatus of claim 20 LI discloses wherein the radio frequency sensing assistance data includes geographic information, and the at least one processor is further configured to perform the radio frequency sensing operations based at least in part on the geographic information ([0133], [0174], [0192], [0203]-[0204], [0284]-[0300]).
For claim 28. LI in combination with ENDO substantially teaches the apparatus of claim 20 LI discloses wherein the radio frequency sensing assistance data includes transmitter configuration information, and the at least one processor is further configured to perform the radio frequency sensing operations based at least in part on the transmitter configuration information ([0221]-[0234], [0281]).
For claim 29. LI in combination with ENDO substantially teaches the apparatus of claim 20 LI discloses wherein the radio frequency sensing assistance data includes RF signature or attribute information associated with one or more potential target objects, and the at least one processor is further configured to performing the radio frequency sensing operations is based at least in part on the RF signature or attribute information ([0133], [0174], [0192], [0203]-[0204], [0284]-[0300]).
For claim 30. LI in combination with ENDO substantially teaches the apparatus of claim 20 LI discloses wherein the radio frequency sensing assistance data is received via one or more Radio Resource Control (RRC) messages or one or more IP messages or TCP/IP messages ([0049]).
Allowable Subject Matter
12. Claims 1, 3, 6-7 and 10 are allowed, because none of the references, either alone or in combination, discloses or renders obvious the invention as a whole.
Conclusion
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300, submitted online via the USPTO's Electronic Filing System-Web (EFS-Web) (Registered eFilers only, Registered users of the USPTO's EFS-Web system may submit a response electronically through EFS-Web at https://efs.uspto.gov/TruePassSample/AuthenticateUserLocalEPF.html), or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
/Rui Meng Hu/
R.H./rh
January 14, 2026
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643