DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Election/Restrictions Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 16-26 in the reply filed on 8/6/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 27-29 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/6/2025. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b ) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the appl icant regards as his invention. Claim s 23 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 23 recites the limitation "the weld plate" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This should be “weld platelet”. Claim 25 recites the limitation "the recess" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 21 or 24 do not discuss the recess. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 16 -20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Sung (JP Publication 2014-154553) . Regarding claim 1 6 , Sung discloses a battery module comprising a plurality of battery devices 210 including a plurality of battery cells, a first fixing case 231 and a second fixing case 232 (housing), a circuit board 220 on the surface of the second fixing case, and electrode pieces 212 (cell connector) that connect the battery devices to the top of the circuit board at connection pads 242 (connection point) (Paragraphs 0021-0023, 0028 an Figs. 2 and 4B). As claim 17, Sung teaches that the module comprises a guide structure 311 that aids in position the circuit board and electrode piece (Paragraph 0026 and Fig. 4A). Regarding claim 18, Sung states that the module has positioning grooves 241 that the circuit board and guide structures are positioned with (Paragraph 0027). Sung shows in Figs. 4A and 4B that the guide structure 311 is longer than a thickness of the circuit board 220. As to claim 19, Sung shows in Figs. 4A and 4B that the guide structures have a rounded edge on both sides and that the electrode pieces are bent over these edges. Regarding claim 20, Sung teaches that the circuit board is installed in the second fixing case (Paragraph 0025). Thus, the second fixing case acts as a support element. Sung teaches every limitation of claims 16-20 of the present invention and thus anticipates the claims. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. Claim (s) 21-26 and 31-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sung (JP Publication 2014-154553) in view of Sunaga (WO Publication 2020-255878, U.S. Patent Publication 2022/0344783 will be used as an English translation) . The teachings of Sung have been discussed in paragraph 7 above. Regarding claim 22, Sung teaches that the electrode piece can include a buffer portion 224, which has an arc (dimple) shape (Paragraph 0024 and Fig. 3B). Although the buffer portion is not at a point that is connected to the connection pad of the circuit board, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that it could be formed there because Sung teaches that the buffer portion can have different shapes and be positioned so that it provides the best adhesion of the electrode piece to the batteries and circuit board. As to claim 33, Sung teaches that the electrode piece is welded to a connection pad on the circuit board to create an electrical connection (Paragraph 0028). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that connection pads of circuit boards are generally made of metals and also that electrically conductive materials, such as metals, are needed in order to create an electrical connection between the circuit board and batteries. Sung fails to disclose that the connection pads are connected to the circuit board through a solder layer and contact surface that is metallized , that one of the layers of the connection structure for the connection pads has a recess, that the connection pad has a dimple facing away from the circuit board, that the dimple and recess are in the same weld area, that the connection structure has a degassing channel, and that the welding can be either resistance or laser welding. Regarding claims 21 , 31 , 3 2 and 36 , Sunaga discloses a connection structure between a bus bar 21 and a flexible printed circuit 30 in an electricity storage module including a metallic connection land 34 of the printed circuit surface (contact surface), a bus bar connection piece 50 (weld platelet) welded to the bus bar, and a solder portion S connecting the bus bar connection piece with the connection land (Paragraphs 0060-0062 and 0081-0082 and Figs. 4 and 5 ). As to claims 23, 31 and 32, Sunaga teaches that the connection land has a through hole 35 that is below the connection point of the bus bar connection piece to the bus bar (Paragraphs 0078 and 0082, Figs. 4 and 5). Regarding claim 24, Sunaga states that the bus bar connection portion can include a welding mark M, which is the shape of a dimple, which extends away from the printed circuit (Paragraph 0082 and Figs. 4 and 5). As to claim 25, Sunaga shows in Fig. 4 that the dimple and through hole are in the same area. Regarding claim 26, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the through hole would act as an area where gas could expand and escape. Regarding claims 34 and 35, Sunaga discloses that the welding can be resistance welding or laser welding (Paragraph 0028). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention that the connection pad of Sung could have the layered structure, dimples and through holes of Sunaga because Sunaga teaches that this arrangement allows for the layers to be adhered well together to create an improved electrical connection while preventing short circuits. It also would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the welding between the connection pad and electrode pieces of Sung could be resistance or laser welding because Sunaga teaches that these are common types of welding used to combine metal pieces to circuit boards in battery packs. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT BRITTANY L RAYMOND whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-6545 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday-Friday 9 am-6 pm . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Niki Bakhtiari can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-272-3433 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. FILLIN "Examiner Stamp" \* MERGEFORMAT BRITTANY L. RAYMOND Primary Examiner Art Unit 1722 /BRITTANY L RAYMOND/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722