Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 01/20/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-16 and 29-41 are pending in the application, the 112(b) rejections previously set forth are withdrawn in view of the arguments and amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments concerning Bozenmayer have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In response to applicant’s argument that Petrucci is not a wide mouth configuration, applicant’s argument is not commensurate in scope with the claim language, additionally, Petrucci is provided to teach thread free connection. Additionally, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
In response to applicant’s argument that the instant application is directed to high pressure applications, see modified rejections below, examiner notes absent clarification of structural differences the art meets the claims language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16, 29-36, 38-41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fritze (US PG Pub 2003/0019819), in view of Petrucci (US 4,735,716), in view of Bassett (US PG Pub 2005/0067342).
With respect to claim 1, Fritze teaches a filter assembly comprising a cartridge and a cartridge top, fluid inlet and outlet (abstract, a filter, an inlet port; an outlet port; a filter element), a cartridge housing assembly 18 with filter medium (0044-0046, Fig. 9-10, a filter housing having an open end, a closed end and a sidewall and filter media), fluid flows through inlet flow passage 29, receiver well 106 in cartridge top member 16, inlet bores 114, into the filter, and out outlet tube 188 (0050-0055, Figs. 1-12, a flow passageway extending from the inlet port through the filter media to the outlet port); cartridge top 16, (Figs. 5-10, a baseplate connected to the filter housing at the open end), orifices 114 and bore 122 (the baseplate including an annular mouth with the inlet port and the outlet port radially inside of the annular mouth (Fig. 5), tabs 104 (0034-0037, Fig. 8, at least one radial projection projecting radially outward from the mouth between the filter housing and a distal end of the mouth).
Additional limitations of: the at least on radial projection free of threading. While Fritze teaches a helical connection between the tabs, the use of connections free of threading is known in the art as illustrated by at least Petrucci, Petrucci teaches a similar filter comprising, inlet openings and outlet openings 70, 72 (C7/L55-65, Fig. 6, an inlet port; an outlet port; a flow passageway extending from the inlet port through the filter media to the outlet port) a housing comprising a top and a bottom portion of a housing when a filtering material (a filter element including a filter media) is disposed in the housing (C7/L40-50, Figs. 1,2, a filter housing having an open end, a closed end and a sidewall extending between the open end and the closed end, the sidewall disposed around the filter element); top housing 56 (Fig. 1 C7/L40-50, C5/L42-54, a baseplate connected to the filter housing at the open end) with tabs 58, 60 protruding radially (C7/L40-50, C3/L18-C4/L11, at least one radial projection free of threading and projecting radially outward) and neck 64 (C9/L29-62 the baseplate including an annular mouth with the inlet port and the outlet port radially inside of the annular mouth, and at least one radial projection free of threading and projecting radially outward from the mouth).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fritze’s taught filter to including thread free connection as taught by Petrucci as the use of thread free connection is known in the art as shown by Petrucci, in order to allow for quick change of the filter (abstract, C3/L62-C4/L10), and the courts have held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date, see MPEP §2143.
Alternatively, while Petrucci does not teach the tabs between the filter housing and a distal end of the mouth, positioning the tabs between the housing and the mouth is known in the art as shown by Fritze, such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Petrucci’s taught filter to the provide tabs between the filter housing and a distal end of the mouth, as this configuration is known in the art as shown by Fritze, and the courts have held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date, see MPEP §2143.
Applicant amended to require: at least three radial projections. While Petrucci teaches a pair of tabs and not explicitly three projections, the use of three or more projections is known in the art as shown by Basset, Basset teaches similar filters (Figures, 0002-0007), and in embodiments the neck portion of the cartridge has three circumferentially spaced lugs (projections, 0013-0016, 0041, 0096, Fig. 41, 45). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the taught combination to include at least three projections as the use of three or more projections is known in the art as shown by Bassett and the courts have held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date, see MPEP §2143.
With respect to claim 2, the filter of claim 1, is taught above. Fritze teaches inside margin 112 for sealing with O-ring 34 (0036, a ring seal supported within a first annular channel defined by the mouth toward a distal end of the mouth).
With respect to claim 3, the filter of claim 1 is taught above. Basset teaches three or more projections as discussed above, Fritze teaches top member 16 and cartridge housing 17 (Fig. 9, the baseplate and the filter housing are separate component parts), Fritze teaches a liquid filter (abstract, examiner notes intended use of the apparatus is not accorded patentable weight where the statement of intended use does not distinguish over the prior art apparatus (see MPEP 2114)), cartridge top 16 and tabs as discussed above (baseplate and projection) an interconnection design preventing rapid, violent, and unintentional separation of the components (0006) locking tabs can be designed to prevent decoupling of the filter assembly under the structural strength limits of the filter assembly, design of the locking tabs determines a pressure condition where components will decouple by providing a more aggressive or less aggressive design, a more aggressive design can be used for greater pressure requirements (0040), but is silent as the material or method of producing the cartridge top, as Fritze teaches more or less aggressive design based on the specific structural strength of the filter assembly, the use of a machined structure and a casting from at least one of steel or aluminum, would be obvious design choices to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for use cases requiring higher strength.
With respect to claim 4, the filter of claim 1 is taught above. Basset teaches three or more projections as discussed above, Fritze teaches tabs as discussed above (projections) an interconnection design preventing rapid, violent, and unintentional separation of the components (0006) locking tabs can be designed to prevent decoupling of the filter assembly under the structural strength limits of the filter assembly, design of the locking tabs determines a pressure condition where components will decouple by providing a more aggressive or less aggressive design, a more aggressive design can be used for greater pressure requirements (0040, the at least one radial projection serves as a mounting base retainer providing a strength property such that the mounting base retainer can provide an axial retaining force when the filter is subjected to a pressure), but is silent as a particular pressure, as Fritze teaches more or less aggressive design based on the specific structural strength of the filter assembly, and decoupling of the assembly as defined by the level of aggressive design upon an overpressure condition within the filter assembly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the aggressiveness of the tab design, to obtain an assembly capable of a retaining force when the filter is subjected to pressure greater than 100 PSI depending on the application, since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
With respect to claim 5, the filter of claim 1 is taught above. Basset teaches three or more projections as discussed above, Fritze teaches tabs 104 (Figs. 6, 7, the at least one radial projection comprises a plurality of radial projections in spaced relation with radial gaps defined between adjacent projections around the mouth, and wherein the plurality of radial projections project radially outwardly away from the mouth), Petrucci teaches keyed engagement surfaces mate with a compatible reception assembly (0014, 0052, 0080).
With respect to claim 6, the filter of claim 5 is taught above. Basset teaches at least three lugs, as discussed above at least 3 of the radial projections at least 3 of the radial gaps are provided, and with the radial projections and the radial gaps being matched of substantially similar geometric size and configuration.
With respect to claim 7, the filter of claim 5 is taught above. Basset teaches three or more projections as discussed above, Fritze teaches the annular mouth is stepped to include a thicker diameter region from which the radial projections extend and a thinner diameter region along distal tip region above the radial projections (Fig. 6).
With respect to claim 8, the filter of claim 1 is taught above. The taught combination provides three projections, Fritze teaches outlet bore 122 with a reduced body portion 56 of cartridge insert 50 is engaged, and a lip 124 provides positioning of the filter 19 (0038, Fig. 7, 8, an annular receiving groove region is arranged below the at least three radial projection and axially between the at least three radial projection and the filter housing that is sized and configured for receiving mounting protrusions from a filter head).
With respect to claim 9, the filter of claim 1 is taught above. The taught combination provides three projections as discussed above. Fritze teaches the baseplate further comprising a step in outer diameter from a terminating cylindrical portion extending axially away from the at least one radial projection to a terminating end, and an intermediate cylindrical portion supporting the at least one radial projection (Fig. 8).
With respect to claim 14, the filter of claim 1 is taught above. Fritze teaches cartridge top member is permanently attached to the cartridge filter housing (0007, the filter housing is permanently mounted to the baseplate), and a removable filter element (0011).
With respect to claim 15, the filter of claim 1 is taught above. Fritze teaches filter 19 dams at either end of the filter element (0045-0048, Fig. 9, 10, wherein the filter element further comprises an open-end cap and a closed end cap, the open-end cap bonded to the filter media proximate the open end and the closed end cap bonded to the filter media proximate the closed end, the baseplate being non-unitary as a separate structure from the open end cap).
With respect to claim 16, the filter of claim 1 is taught above. Fritze teaches manifold assembly 12 (0029, a filter base including an unfiltered fluid outlet, and a filtered fluid inlet); the filter removably connected to the filter base (0011); cartridge receiver 72 comprising tabs 70 the top member rotatably mates with the manifold assembly (0034-0038, Fig. 4, a rotating collar retaining the filter to the filter base, the collar including a plurality of protrusions interlocking with the filter and axially engaging against the at least one radial projection to retain the filter to the filter base,); Petrucci teaches head 12 with plate 16, tab receptacles 22 and 24 (C7/L1-17, Fig. 1, forming a collar that rotates.
Alternatively, If the amendment is meant to indicate a separate collar that rotates separately from the filter base, Basset teaches a similar filter as discussed above, and in a preferred embodiment an annular insert in the form of a key ring having recesses designed to mate with corresponding lugs, that rotates through relative to the head portion as the filter cartridge is rotated into engagement with head portion (0052, 0099-00102, Fig. 52). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the taught combination with a separate collar that separately rotates, as described by Bassett in order to ensure the integrity of the system with which filter assembly is associated, such that compatible replacement cartridges have cam lugs with keyed surface formations that mate with the recessed areas of the key ring, and the courts have held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date, see MPEP §2143.
With respect to claim 29, Fritze teaches filter (filter 19), for use with a filter head that includes a filter base that includes an unfiltered fluid outlet, and a filtered fluid inlet, and a collar (cartridge receiver 72) for retaining the filter to the filter base (manifold assembly 12), the collar including a plurality of protrusions and receiving gaps between adjacent protrusions (tabs 70), a filter housing containing a filter media (cartridge housing 18); a mounting interface adjacent an end of the filter housing, the mounting interface including an inlet port, an outlet port and a plurality of radial projections, the mounting interface configured for fluid communication filter head with the unfiltered fluid outlet sized and arranged to communicate with the inlet port, and the outlet port sized and arranged to communicate with filtered fluid inlet, wherein an internal fluid passageway is within the filter housing and passes from the inlet port through the filter media to the outlet port for filtering fluid (cartridge top 16, as discussed with respect to claim 1 above); projections configured to pass through the receiving gaps and also configured to axially engage the protrusions (receiver 72 rotatably mates with the cartridge top member (0034-0038, Fig. 4), tabs 104 radial projections being arranged in an annular array being configured to pass through the receiving gaps and also configured to axially engage the protrusion examiner notes array is given its broadest reasonable interpretation of a regular order or arrangement or series).
Fritze does not teach a thread free interface, or at least three projections, as noted above with respect to claims 1 and 16, while Fritze teaches a helical connection between the tabs, the use of connections free of threading is known in the art as illustrated by Petrucci and Basset, Petrucci teaches a similar filter comprising tabs 58, 60 protruding radially (C7/L40-50, C3/L18-C4/L11), Basset teaches similar filters as discussed above (Figures, 0002-0007), and in embodiments the neck portion of the cartridge has at least three circumferentially spaced lugs (projections, 0013-0016, 0041, 0096, Fig. 41, 45), at least three radial projections free of threading and projecting radially outward), and in a preferred embodiment an annular insert in the form of a key ring having recesses designed to mate with corresponding lugs, that rotates through relative to the head portion as the filter cartridge is rotated into engagement with head portion (0052, 0099-00102, Fig. 52, a rotatable collar to secure the filter), additionally as discussed with respect to claim 16, alternatively, if the amendment is meant to indicate a separate collar that rotates separately from the filter base, Basset teaches a similar filter as discussed above, and in a preferred embodiment an annular insert in the form of a key ring having recesses designed to mate with corresponding lugs, that rotates through relative to the head portion as the filter cartridge is rotated into engagement with head portion (0052, 0099-00102, Fig. 52). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the taught combination with a separate collar that separately rotates, as described by Bassett in order to ensure the integrity of the system with which filter assembly is associated, such that compatible replacement cartridges have cam lugs with keyed surface formations that mate with the recessed areas of the key ring, and the courts have held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date, see MPEP §2143.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fritze’s taught filter to including thread free connection as taught by Petrucci and Basset, as the use of thread free connections is known in the art as shown by Petrucci and Bassett, in order to allow for quick change of the filter (abstract, C3/L62-C4/L10), and a rotatable collar and the courts have held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date, see MPEP §2143.
With respect to claim 30, the filter of claim 29 is taught above. Fritze teaches outlet tube 188 (Fig. 8 and as discussed with respect to claims 10 and 11 above the mounting interface comprises an annular mouth and an annular divider, the annular divider concentric within the annular mouth).
With respect to claim 31, the filter of claim 30 is taught above. The taught combination teaches three projections as discussed above. Fritze teaches cartridge top 16, inlet flow passage 29, receiver well 106 in cartridge top member 16, inlet bores 114, into the filter, and out outlet tube 188 (0050-0055, Figs. 1-12, the mounting interface includes a baseplate connected to the filter housing, the baseplate including the annular mouth with the inlet port and the outlet port radially inside of the annular mouth), tabs 104 (Figs. 6, 7, the plurality of radial projections being spaced around the mouth between the filter housing and a distal end of the mouth, and projecting outwardly, away from the mouth).
With respect to claim 32, the filter of claim 31 is taught above. Fritze teaches cartridge top 16 and cartridge housing 18 (Fig. 9, the baseplate and the filter housing are non-unitary and separate component parts).
With respect to claim 33, the filter of claim 32 is taught above. Fritze teaches filter 19 dams at either end of the filter element, and outlet 188 (0045-0048, Fig. 10, an open end cap capping an end of the filter media, the end cap being non-unitary and separate from the baseplate and arranged adjacent the baseplate to provide a tubular extension that provides the annular divider).
With respect to claim 34, the filter of claim 32 is taught above. Fritze teaches disk 185, supports 186, and outlet tube 188 (0047, Fig. 9, the baseplate further comprises a central hub providing the annular divider and ribs), cartridge top member is permanently attached to the cartridge filter housing (0007, integrally connecting the central hub and the annular mouth).
With respect to claim 35, the filter of claim 29 is taught above. Fritze teaches manifold assembly 12 and cartridge receiver 72 with tabs 70 which mate with tabs 104 (0037, the filter head for which the filter is for use with further defines a plurality of flange segments in the filter base, and wherein the radial projections are configured to interfit and key with the plurality of flange segments), additionally Petrucci and Basset teaches mating lug/protrusion as discussed above, see Petrucci Fig. 1, and Basset Fig. 52).
With respect to claim 36, Fritze teaches a filter (abstract) filter 180 (0045-0048, Fig. 10, comprising a ring of media circumscribing a central axis and defining a central cavity); cartridge top 16, caps 184, 184, (0045-0048, Fig. 9, 10, b. an end cap fixed at an end of the media ring, the end cap adjacent a baseplate), cartridge top 16 providing (Fig. 5-7, and as discussed above, baseplate having a central circular opening, and an annular mouth projecting outwardly from the baseplate, coaxial with the central axis), cartridge top mates with cartridge housing through coupling of margin 116 with the cartridge housing (0042-0049), margin 116 and inside margin 112 for sealing with O-ring 34, sealing both interior sealing surface 192 of outlet tube 188 on FIG. 8, as well as sealing surface 112 of cartridge top member 16. (0036, 0051, a first channel circumscribing the mouth toward a distal end of the annular mouth), and tabs 104 (0034-0037, Fig. 8, one or more radial projections spaced around the circumference of the annular mouth between the baseplate and distal end of the mouth, and projecting outwardly, away from the annular mouth).
Additional limitations of: the at least on radial projection free of threading. While Fritze teaches a helical connection between the tabs, the use of connections free of threading is known in the art as illustrated by at least Petrucci, Petrucci teaches a similar filter comprising filtering material (Fig. 2, 6, 8, C8/L1-41, a. a ring of media circumscribing a central axis and defining a central cavity); each of Figures 2, 6, 8 appear to provide b. an end cap fixed at an end of the media ring (portion 133, Fig. 8), the end cap adjacent a baseplate (56 in Fig. 8), the baseplate having a central circular opening outward, neck 64 C9/L29-62, an annular mouth projecting outwardly from the baseplate (Fig. 8), free of threading, seals 66 a seal supported within a first channel circumscribing the mouth toward a distal end of the annular mouth (Fig. 8, C7/L55-65) housing 56 (Fig. 1 C7/L40-50, C5/L42-54) with tabs 58, 60 protruding radially (C7/L40-50, C3/L18-C4/L11, one or more radial projections spaced around the circumference of the annular mouth and projecting radially outwardly, away from the annular mouth.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fritze’s taught filter to including thread free connection as taught by Petrucci as the use of thread free connection is known in the art as shown by Petrucci, in order to allow for quick change of the filter (abstract, C3/L62-C4/L10), and the courts have held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date, see MPEP §2143.
Applicant amended to require: at least three radial projections. While Petrucci teaches a pair of tabs and not explicitly three projections, the use of three or more projections is known in the art as shown by Basset, Basset teaches similar filters (Figures, 0002-0007), and in embodiments the neck portion of the cartridge has three circumferentially spaced lugs (projections, 0013-0016, 0041, 0096, Fig. 41, 45). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the taught combination to include at least three projections as the use of three or more projections is known in the art as shown by Bassett and the courts have held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date, see MPEP §2143.
With respect to claim 38, the filter of claim 36 is taught above. Fritze teaches disk 185, supports 186, and outlet tube 188 (0047, Fig. 9, an annular divider radially inward of the mouth and projecting axially outward, the annular divider dividing flow into an inner and outer flow path).
With respect to claim 39, the filter of claim 38 is taught above. Fritze teaches disk 185, supports 186, and outlet tube 188 and sealing surface 192 with o-rings 32 (0047-0048, Fig. 9, a second seal supported within a second channel circumscribing the annular divider toward a distal end of the annular divider).
With respect to claim 40, the filter of claim 36 is taught above. Fritze teaches cartridge housing 18 (Fig. 10, a can enclosing the media ring, the can including an open end formed around an annular shoulder on the baseplate to fix the can to the baseplate).
With respect to claim 41, the filter of claim 36 is taught above. Fritze teaches manifold assembly 12, a filter assembly including a base having a flow path (abstract), and cartridge receiver 72 (0034-0036, Fig. 4, collar fixed to the base including an outer annular body, an inner annular ledge circumscribing an inner surface of the outer annular body, and a series of internal, radially-inward projecting protrusions spaced around the inner periphery of the collar, and configured to allow the annular mouth of the filter to be inserted into the collar, and the collar rotated so as to capture the one or more projections between an upper surface of one or more protrusions, and the ledge, to fix the filter to the base. Fritze teaches cartridge receiver 72 a collar, Fritze teaches a manifold assembly 12 comprising a manifold body 20 and cartridge receiver 72, and the manifold body is formed by press fitting, while Fritze does not explicitly teach the collar rotatably fixed to the base, fitting components together via rotation (requiring threads or tabs as shown by the connection of the cartridge top and the receiver, would be an obvious design choice to it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in order to provide replaceable parts that are easily assembled and disassembled.
Fritze teaches manifold assembly 12 (0029, a filter base including an unfiltered fluid outlet, and a filtered fluid inlet); the filter removably connected to the filter base (0011); cartridge receiver 72 comprising tabs 70 the top member rotatably mates with the manifold assembly (0034-0038, Fig. 4, a rotating collar retaining the filter to the filter base, the collar including a plurality of protrusions interlocking with the filter and axially engaging against the at least one radial projection to retain the filter to the filter base,); Petrucci teaches head 12 with plate 16, tab receptacles 22 and 24 (C7/L1-17, Fig. 1, forming a collar that rotates.
Alternatively, If the amendment is meant to indicate a separate collar that rotates separately from the filter base, Basset teaches a similar filter as discussed above, and in a preferred embodiment an annular insert in the form of a key ring having recesses designed to mate with corresponding lugs, that rotates through relative to the head portion as the filter cartridge is rotated into engagement with head portion (0052, 0099-00102, Fig. 52). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the taught combination with a separate collar that separately rotates, as described by Bassett in order to ensure the integrity of the system with which filter assembly is associated, such that compatible replacement cartridges have cam lugs with keyed surface formations that mate with the recessed areas of the key ring, and the courts have held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date, see MPEP §2143.
Claims 3 and 4, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fritze (US PG Pub 2003/0019819), in view of Petrucci (US 4,735,716), in view of Bassett (US PG Pub 2005/0067342), in view of Williams (US PG Pub 2010/0170857).
With respect to claim 3, the filter of claim 1 is taught above. Fritze teaches top member 16 and cartridge housing 18 (Fig. 9, the baseplate and the filter housing are separate component parts), a liquid filter (abstract, examiner notes intended use of the apparatus is not accorded patentable weight where the statement of intended use does not distinguish over the prior art apparatus (see MPEP 2114)), cartridge top 16 and tabs as discussed above (baseplate and projection) an interconnection design preventing rapid, violent, and unintentional separation of the components (0006) locking tabs can be designed to prevent decoupling of the filter assembly under the structural strength limits of the filter assembly, design of the locking tabs determines a pressure condition where components will decouple by providing a more aggressive or less aggressive design, a more aggressive design can be used for greater pressure requirements (0040), but is silent as the material or method of producing the cartridge top, as Fritze teaches more or less aggressive design based on the specific structural strength of the filter assembly, the use of a machined structure and a casting from at least one of steel or aluminum, would be obvious design choices to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for use cases requiring higher strength, and as the use of steel and aluminum is known in the art as shown by Williams, Williams teaches a similar filter (abstract, Fig. 1, 9), with a pressure vessel 15 and head 13, each of machined stainless steel or aluminum (0004, 0034).
With respect to claim 4, the filter of claim 3 is taught above. Fritze teaches tabs as discussed above (projections) an interconnection design preventing rapid, violent, and unintentional separation of the components (0006) locking tabs can be designed to prevent decoupling of the filter assembly under the structural strength limits of the filter assembly, design of the locking tabs determines a pressure condition where components will decouple by providing a more aggressive or less aggressive design, a more aggressive design can be used for greater pressure requirements (0040, the at least one radial projection serves as a mounting base retainer providing a strength property such that the mounting base retainer can provide an axial retaining force when the filter is subjected to a pressure), but is silent as a particular pressure as Fritze teaches more or less aggressive design based on the specific structural strength of the filter assembly, and decoupling of the assembly as defined by the level of aggressive design upon an overpressure condition within the filter assembly, and the use of steel or aluminum vessel and head as taught by Williams, the taught combination appears to be capable of the recited retaining force, or alternatively, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the aggressiveness of the tab design, to provide an assembly capable of a retaining force when the filter is subjected to pressure greater than 100 PSI depending on the application, since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Claims 10, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fritze (US PG Pub 2003/0019819), in view of Petrucci, in view of Basset, in view of Ouweleen (US PG Pub 2020/0384395).
With respect to claims 10 and 11, the filter of claim 1 is taught above. Fritze teaches filter 19 dams at either end of the filter element (0045-0048, Fig. 10, the filter element comprises a tubular ring of the filter media, an open end cap and a closed end cap, the open end cap bonded to the tubular ring of the filter media proximate the open end and the closed end cap bonded to the tubular ring of the filter media proximate the closed end); disk 185, supports 186, and outlet tube 188 (0047, Fig. 9, an annular hub including a tubular extension), supports 186 and sealing surface 192 with o-rings 32 (0048, Fig. 9, the annular hub connected to the annular mouth by a plurality of ribs to define the inlet port, the outlet port defined within the tubular extension providing an annular divider between the inlet portion and the outlet port, the tubular extension having groove carrying a ring seal).Fritze teaches supports 154 and alignment projectile 156 support the filter (0044-0045, Fig. 10), but does teach a spring engaging between the closed end and the closed end cap urging the filter element against the baseplate, however the use of a biasing spring is known in the art as shown by Ouweleen, Ouweleen teaches a filtration system having an interlocking housing (abstract), where the bottom end includes a spring to receive the filter element (0074, Fig. 14), such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a spring as springs are known in the art for biasing filter elements as shown by Ouweleen and the courts have held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date, see MPEP §2143.
Claims 12, 13, 36-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fritze (US PG Pub 2003/0019819), in view of Petrucci, in view of Bassett, in view of Krull (US PG Pub 2011/0100898).
With respect to claim 12, the filter of claim 1 is taught above. Fritze teaches the baseplate further including an outermost annular wall and an annular ledge, the outermost annular wall depending and axially extending from the ledge, with the ledge extending radially inward from the outermost annular wall to the annular mouth (Fig. 6, 7, 9), and the filter housing comprising a cylindrical canister, and the baseplate directly connected the filter housing (Fig. 9, 0049), and the use of gaskets and o-rings to seal connections (0030-0036, 0048, 0056), while Fritze does not teach a cylindrical metal canister having a terminating lip edge bent over the baseplate; or a ring gasket sealing between the baseplate and the outermost annular wall. Fritze teaches more aggressive design can be used for greater pressure requirements (0040).
Krull teaches a fluid filter including a base plate, a canister, and filtering media contained in the canister, where a terminated lip of the canister is bent over a base (abstract), a metal canister (0002), and a seal between the base and canister (0029). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fritze’s taught filter assembly to include a metal canister, lip, and gasket, as taught by Krull, as according to Krull the configuration provides reduced forces during pressure loads which thereby improves fatigue resistance and overall strength of the filter (0002-0006).
With respect to claim 13, the filter of claim 12 is taught above. Krull teaches annular bead 82 (0034, an annular bead or neck formed into the cylindrical metal canister engaging a terminating end of the outermost annular wall).
With respect to claim 36, Fritze teaches a filter (abstract) filter 180 (0045-0048, Fig. 10, comprising a ring of media circumscribing a central axis and defining a central cavity); cartridge top 16, caps 184, 184, (0045-0048, Fig. 9, 10, b. an end cap fixed at an end of the media ring, the end cap adjacent a baseplate), cartridge top 16 providing (Fig. 5-7, and as discussed above, baseplate having a central circular opening, and an annular mouth projecting outwardly from the baseplate, coaxial with the central axis), cartridge top mates with cartridge housing through coupling of margin 116 with the cartridge housing (0042-0049), margin 116 and inside margin 112 for sealing with O-ring 34, sealing both interior sealing surface 192 of outlet tube 188 on FIG. 8, as well as sealing surface 112 of cartridge top member 16. (0036, 0051, a first channel circumscribing the mouth toward a distal end of the annular mouth), and tabs 104 (0034-0037, Fig. 8, one or more radial projections spaced around the circumference of the annular mouth between the baseplate and distal end of the mouth, and projecting outwardly, away from the annular mouth).
If Fritze’s o-ring and margin are not found to satisfy a channel circumscribing the mouth toward a distal end of the annular mouth, Fritze teaches the use of gaskets and o-rings to seal connections (0030-0036, 0048, 0056), and more aggressive design can be used for greater pressure requirements (0040).
Krull teaches a fluid filter including a base plate (mouth), and filtering media (abstract) the base plate may include an external annular groove 56 which receives the external seal 28 for providing a seal between the filter 10 and the mounting adaptor 12 and an outer peripheral groove 58 which receives an internal seal 26 for purposes of sealing between the base plate 14 and the canister 16 to prevent fluid leakage (0029). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fritze’s taught filter assembly to include a circumferential seal channel as taught by Krull, to prevent fluid leakage and as according to Krull the configuration provides reduced forces during pressure loads which thereby improves fatigue resistance and overall strength of the filter (0002-0006).
Applicant amended to require: three projections, as discussed above. Fritze teaches a helical connection between the tabs, the use of connections free of threading is known in the art as illustrated by at least Petrucci, Petrucci teaches a similar filter comprising filtering material (Fig. 2, 6, 8, C8/L1-41, a. a ring of media circumscribing a central axis and defining a central cavity); each of Figures 2, 6, 8 appear to provide b. an end cap fixed at an end of the media ring (portion 133, Fig. 8), the end cap adjacent a baseplate (56 in Fig. 8), the baseplate having a central circular opening outward, neck 64 C9/L29-62, an annular mouth projecting outwardly from the baseplate (Fig. 8), free of threading, seals 66 a seal supported within a first channel circumscribing the mouth toward a distal end of the annular mouth (Fig. 8, C7/L55-65) housing 56 (Fig. 1 C7/L40-50, C5/L42-54) with tabs 58, 60 protruding radially (C7/L40-50, C3/L18-C4/L11, one or more radial projections spaced around the circumference of the annular mouth and projecting radially outwardly, away from the annular mouth.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fritze’s taught filter to including thread free connection as taught by Petrucci as the use of thread free connection is known in the art as shown by Petrucci, in order to allow for quick change of the filter (abstract, C3/L62-C4/L10), and the courts have held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date, see MPEP §2143.
Applicant amended to require: at least three radial projections. While Petrucci teaches a pair of tabs and not explicitly three projections, the use of three or more projections is known in the art as shown by Basset, Basset teaches similar filters (Figures, 0002-0007), and in embodiments the neck portion of the cartridge has three circumferentially spaced lugs (projections, 0013-0016, 0041, 0096, Fig. 41, 45). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the taught combination to include at least three projections as the use of three or more projections is known in the art as shown by Bassett and the courts have held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date, see MPEP §2143.
With respect to claim 37, the filter of claim 36 is taught above. Krull teaches the seal channel is in an outer surface of the annular mouth (Fig. 4), Fritze teaches a cartridge member comprising projections and various o-rings and gaskets, Krull teaches a circumscribed annular seal channel on an outer surface, absent evidence of criticality the particular placement of the seal and channel with respect to the projections such that the one or more radial projections is located axially between the baseplate and the channel, would be an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention depending the application.
With respect to claim 38, the filter of claim 36 is taught above. Fritze teaches disk 185, supports 186, and outlet tube 188 (0047, Fig. 9, an annular divider radially inward of the mouth and projecting axially outward, the annular divider dividing flow into an inner and outer flow path).
With respect to claim 39, the filter of claim 38 is taught above. Fritze teaches disk 185, supports 186, and outlet tube 188 and sealing surface 192 with o-rings 32 (0047-0048, Fig. 9, a second seal supported within a second channel circumscribing the annular divider toward a distal end of the annular divider).
With respect to claim 40, the filter of claim 36 is taught above. Fritze teaches cartridge housing 18 (Fig. 10, a can enclosing the media ring, the can including an open end formed around an annular shoulder on the baseplate to fix the can to the baseplate).
ConclusionThe prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fairey US 3,361,261, metal filter and tabs
Thalmann US 2022/0134262, similar filter, fuel/engine
/JEANNIE MCDERMOTT/Examiner, Art Unit 1777
/BRADLEY R SPIES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777