Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on 12/05/2025 have been fully considered and are made of record.
Claims 1, 3-8, 10-15, 17 and 20 have been amended.
Claim 2 has been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 12/05/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding 103 rejection, applicant argued in page 17 that “Thus, Richmond can never meet the claimed limitation: wherein the Kelvin sensor structure obtains an electrical characteristic measurement that excludes a metal/contact resistance drop.That is, applying the structure of Richmond to Peng will not result in obtaining a more accurate reading of information of the device self-heating by the excluding a power consumption component due to voltage drops due to contact resistances. The whole design of Richmond requires the additional conductive structures 36, 44, when making Kelvin sensor measurement which is an opposite configuration and a teaching away of the present claims which seeks to improve electrical impedance measurement for more accurate determining of self-heating phenomena while avoiding voltage drops along the wiring or contact in the current measurement loop (See applicant's specification paragraph [0035], Claim 4). This is contrary to the operation of the Peng device and applicant's device. That is, the combination of Richmond is unworkable in Peng, as the Kelvin sensor drain contact sensing is at 46-2 or 48-2 and Richmond's drain contact is vertically disposed beneath Richmond device's the substrate layer (element 18) which does not exist in Peng's structure. Richmond has an active region that forms a vertical contact structure (See paragraph [0029] of Richmond)”. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
In response to applicant's argument that “applying the structure of Richmond to Peng will not result in obtaining a more accurate reading of information of the device self-heating by the excluding a power consumption component due to voltage drops due to contact resistances”, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Furthermore, Richmond teaches measuring electrical characteristics that maintains very low a metal/contact resistance drop (See [0031]), but Peng in view of Richmond is silent about electrical characteristic measurement that excludes a metal/contact resistance drop.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Peng and Richmond by using electrical characteristic measurement that excludes a metal/contact resistance drop in order to reduce power loss, heat generation and therefore achieve improved performance (Richmond; [0031]).
Therefore applicant’s arguments regarding 103 rejection are not persuasive.
Therefore the rejection stands.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6-7 11-13 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PENG et al. (Pub NO. US 2015/0035568 A1; hereinafter Peng) in view of Richmond et al. (Pub NO. US 2022/0178979 A1; hereinafter Richmond).
Regarding Claim 1, Peng teaches a semiconductor device (semiconductor device 60 in Fig. 6 and Fig. below; See [0035]) comprising:
a first semiconductor transistor heater device (601 in Fig. 6 and Fig. below; See [0035]) having a drain region, a source region and a gate region formed therebetween (See Gate G, Drain D and Source S of 601 in Fig. 6 and Fig. below; See [0035]),
the drain, source and gate regions configured to receive an electrical stimulus to place said first semiconductor transistor heater device in an on or off state (it is inherent property of transistor that gate, drain, source controls on/off; See [0062]);
a second semiconductor transistor device (602 in Fig. 6 and Fig. below; See [0035]) situated on or adjacent and electrically connected to a drain contact or source region of the first semiconductor transistor heater device (See Gate G, Drain D and Source S of 602 is connected to G, S D of 601 in Fig. 6 and Fig. below; See [0035]); and
a sensor (senor 603 in Fig. 6 and Fig. below) operatively connected to said first semiconductor transistor heater device (603 is connected to 601 in Fig. 6 and Fig. below; See [0035]) for measuring an electrical characteristic at said second semiconductor transistor device (resistance of 603 varies with temperature of 602; See [0035]).
Peng is silent about wherein said sensor is a four-terminal Kelvin sensor structure operatively connected to said first semiconductor transistor heater device, said Kelvin sensor structure having first and second Kelvin terminals configured to apply voltage at said drain region and said source region, and having third and fourth kelvin terminals configured to measure the electrical characteristic at said drain region and said source region, wherein the Kelvin sensor structure obtains an electrical characteristic measurement that excludes a metal/contact resistance drop.
Richmond teaches wherein said sensor is a four-terminal Kelvin sensor structure operatively connected to said first semiconductor transistor heater device (See [0031]), said Kelvin sensor structure having first and second Kelvin terminals configured to apply voltage at said drain region and said source region, and having third and fourth kelvin terminals configured to measure the electrical characteristic at said drain region and said source region (See [0031]), wherein the Kelvin sensor structure obtains an (See [0031]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Peng by using said sensor is a four-terminal Kelvin sensor structure operatively connected to said first semiconductor transistor heater device, said Kelvin sensor structure having first and second Kelvin terminals configured to apply voltage at said drain region and said source region, and having third and fourth kelvin terminals configured to measure the electrical characteristic at said drain region and said source region, as taught by Richmond in order to make accurate characterization of low on-resistance devices (Richmond; [0031]).
Richmond teaches measuring electrical characteristics that maintains very low a metal/contact resistance drop (See [0031]), but Peng in view of Richmond is silent about electrical characteristic measurement that excludes a metal/contact resistance drop.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Peng and Richmond by using electrical characteristic measurement that excludes a metal/contact resistance drop in order to reduce power loss, heat generation and therefore achieve improved performance (Richmond; [0031]).
Regarding Claim 3, Peng in view of Richmond teaches the semiconductor device as claimed in Claim 1. Richmond further teaches
wherein the drain region of said first semiconductor transistor heater device comprises a drain contact structure formed atop the drain region (drain contact 46-2 formed on drain region; See [0038]) and the source region of said first semiconductor transistor heater device comprises a source contact structure formed atop the source region (source contact 46-1 formed on drain region; See [0038]), and wherein the drain contact of said first semiconductor transistor heater device comprising a first contact via structure (46-2 is formed by via through drain 42 in Fig. 2; See [0038]); and
the source contact of the first semiconductor transistor heater device comprising a second contact via structure (46-1 is formed by via through source 34 in Fig. 2; See [0038]),
said first and second contact via structures for connecting to a respective first and second Kelvin terminal configured to apply an electrical stimulus to said first semiconductor transistor heater device (stimulus IF is applied to 46-1 and 46-2 by kelvin sensor in Fig. 2; See [0031], [0038]); and
said drain contact of said first semiconductor transistor heater device further comprising a third contact via structure spaced apart from said first contact via structure (third contact 48-2 spaced apart from first contact 46-2 in Fig. 2; See [0038], [0040]), and
said source contact of said first semiconductor transistor heater device further comprising a fourth contact via structure spaced apart from said second contact via structure (fourth contact 48-1 spaced apart from second contact 48-2 in Fig. 2; See [0038], [0040]),
said third and fourth contact vias for connecting to a respective third and fourth Kelvin terminal configured for measuring an electrical parameter of said Kelvin sensor (See [0042]).
Regarding Claim 6, Peng in view of Richmond teaches the semiconductor device as claimed in Claim 1. Peng further teaches wherein the drain region of said first semiconductor transistor heater device comprises:
a first drain region having a first drain contact structure formed on top the first drain region (first drain region 203 has drain contact D formed on top of drain region in Fig. 2; See [0027]); and
a second drain region having a second drain contact structure formed on top the second drain region (second drain region 207 has drain contact formed on top of drain region in Fig. 2; See [0022], [0027]); and
a first dummy gate structure separating said first drain and second drain regions and drain contact structures (temperature detector gate 2062 is dummy gate separating 203 and 207 in Fig. 2; See [0027], [0033]); and
the source region of said first semiconductor transistor device comprises:
a first source region having a first source contact structure formed on top the first source region (shared source region 205 for drain 203 and has source contact S formed on top of source region in Fig. 2; See [0022], [0027]); and
a second source region having a second source contact structure formed on top the second source region (shared source region 205 is second source for drain 207 and has source contact S formed on top of source region in Fig. 2; See [0022], [0027]); and
a second dummy gate structure separating said first source and second source regions and source contact structures (2062 is stack of dummy gate, therefore 2062 has first and second dummy gate in Fig. 2; See [0027]).
Regarding Claim 7, Peng in view of Richmond teaches the semiconductor device as claimed in Claim 6. Richmond further teaches wherein the first drain contact structure of said first semiconductor transistor heater device comprises a first drain contact via structure (46-2 is formed by via through drain 42 in Fig. 2; See [0038]); and
the first source contact structure of said first semiconductor transistor heater device comprises a second contact via structure (46-1 is formed by via through source 34 in Fig. 2; See [0038]), said first and second contact via structures for connecting to a Kelvin sensor configured to apply an electrical stimulus (stimulus IF is applied to 46-1 and 46-2 by kelvin sensor in Fig. 2; See [0031], [0038]); and
the second drain contact structure of said first semiconductor transistor heater device comprises a third contact via structure (third contact 48-2 spaced apart from first contact 46-2 in Fig. 2; See [0038], [0040]), and the second source contact structure of said first semiconductor transistor heater device comprises a fourth contact via structure (fourth contact 48-1 spaced apart from second contact 48-2 in Fig. 2; See [0038], [0040]),
said third and fourth contact via structures for connecting to a measuring device also function as Kelvin sensor for measuring an electrical characteristic of said first semiconductor transistor heater device or second semiconductor transistor device (See [0042]).
Regarding Claim 11, Peng in view of Richmond teaches the semiconductor device as claimed in Claim 1. Peng further teaches wherein the first semiconductor transistor heater device and second semiconductor transistor device are FET devices (all transistor devices in Fig. 2 are FET; See [0027]),
said drain region of said first semiconductor transistor heater device comprising: a first drain region having a first drain contact structure formed atop the first drain region (first drain region 203 has drain contact D formed on top of drain region in Fig. 2; See [0027]),
a second drain region having a second drain contact structure formed atop the second drain region (second drain region 207 has drain contact formed on top of drain region in Fig. 2; See [0027]), and said first drain region and second drain region being separated with or without a dummy gate therebetween (temperature detector gate 2062 is dummy gate separating 203 and 207 in Fig. 2; See [0027], [0033]), and
said source region of the first semiconductor transistor heater device comprising a source region common to both said first and second FET devices (source region 205 is common for first transistor drain 203 and second transistor drain 207 and in Fig. 2; See [0027]),
said source region having a corresponding common source contact structure formed atop the common source region (source region 205 has contact structure S on top in Fig. 2; See [0027]); and
the second semiconductor transistor device further comprising: a further drain region having a further drain contact structure formed atop the further drain region and separated from said common source region and common source contact structure (all drain contacts 203 and 207 are separated from source contact 205 in Fig. 2; See [0027]).
Regarding Claim 12, Peng in view of Richmond teaches the semiconductor device as claimed in Claim 11. Richmond further teaches wherein:
said first drain contact structure of said first semiconductor transistor heater device comprises a first contact via structure (46-2 is formed by via through drain 42 in Fig. 2; See [0038]);
said common source contact structure of said first semiconductor transistor heater and adjacent second semiconductor transistor devices comprising a second contact via structure (46-1 is formed by via through source 34 in Fig. 2; See [0038]),
said first and second contact via structures for connecting to a Kelvin sensor configured to apply an electrical stimulus (stimulus IF is applied to 46-1 and 46-2 by kelvin sensor in Fig. 2; See [0031], [0038]); and
said further drain contact structure of said second semiconductor transistor device comprising a third contact via structure (third contact 48-2 spaced apart from first contact 46-2 in Fig. 2; See [0038], [0040]), and
said second drain contact structure comprising a fourth contact via structure (fourth contact 48-1 spaced apart from second contact 48-2 in Fig. 2; See [0038], [0040]),
said third and fourth contact via structures for connecting to a measuring device of said Kelvin sensor for measuring an electrical characteristic while said first semiconductor transistor device is in an off or on state (See [0042]).
Regarding Claim 13, Peng in view of Richmond teaches the semiconductor device as claimed in Claim 12. Peng further teaches
wherein said gate structure of said first semiconductor transistor heater (gate structure of first semiconductor 601 in Fig. 6) device comprises:
a gate contact via structure formed on top said gate structure (gate contact via structure G in Fig. 6 is on top of gate in Fig. 2; See [0027]),
wherein a-stimulus applied to one or more said first and second contact via structures and said gate contact via structure operably place said first semiconductor transistor heater device in said on or off state (stimulus applied to G, S, D to turn transistor 601 ON/OFF state in Fig. 6),
said measured electrical characteristic used to determine a power consumption component of the first semiconductor transistor heater device while said first semiconductor transistor heater device is in the on or off state (generates heat is power; See [0023]-[0024]).
Regarding Claim 16, Peng in view of Richmond teaches the semiconductor device as claimed in Claim 13. Peng further teaches wherein the further drain region of said second semiconductor transistor device is doped with a first type doping material (See [0034]), and a further semiconductor region abutting (See [0020]) said further drain region is doped with a second opposite type doping material to form a semiconductor junction device comprising oppositely doped regions (doping type is changed, therefore it can dope with opposite type; See [0034]).
Regarding Claim 17, Peng teaches a computer-implemented method for determining a semiconductor transistor device characteristics (semiconductor device 60 in Fig. 6 and Fig. below; See [0035]) comprising:
operatively connecting a sensor device (senor 603 in Fig. 6 and Fig. below) to a first semiconductor transistor heater device (first semiconductor transistor heater device 601 in Fig. 6 and Fig. below; See [0035]) and a second semiconductor device (second semiconductor device 602 in Fig. 6 and Fig. below; See [0035]) situated adjacent said first semiconductor transistor heater device (601 and 602 are adjacent in Fig. 6),
said first semiconductor transistor heater device having a drain region having a drain contact structure disposed thereon (See Gate G, Drain D and Source S of 601 in Fig. 6 and Fig. below; See [0035]),
a source region having a source contact structure disposed thereon (See Gate G, Drain D and Source S of 601 in Fig. 6 and Fig. below; See [0035]), and
a gate region formed between said source and drain regions and corresponding source and drain contact structures (See Gate G, Drain D and Source S of 601 in Fig. 6 and Fig. below; See [0035]); and
the sensor device being operatively connected to further contacts of the first semiconductor transistor heater device and said second semiconductor device (senor 603 connects 60 and 602 in Fig. 6 and Fig. below);
source contact or gate region for placing said first semiconductor transistor heater device in an on or off state (it is inherent property of transistor that it is ON/OFF by gate/source; See [0022]-[0025]); and
measuring an electrical characteristic of said second semiconductor device while said first semiconductor transistor heater device is in said on or off state (resistance of 603 varies with temperature of 602; See [0035]),
said electrical characteristic of said second semiconductor device used to correlate temperature to a corrected power consumption impact from first semiconductor transistor heater device (resistance varies with temperature because heat is generated and heat is generated by corrected power consumption; See [0035]).
Peng is silent about wherein said sensor is a four-terminal Kelvin sensor structure operatively connected to said first semiconductor transistor heater device, said Kelvin sensor structure having first and second Kelvin terminals configured to apply voltage at said drain region and said source region, and having third and fourth kelvin terminals configured to measure the electrical characteristic at said drain region and said source region; configuring the sensor device to apply an electrical stimulus to one or more said drain contact, wherein the Kelvin sensor structure obtains an electrical characteristic measurement that excludes a metal/contact resistance drop.
Richmond teaches wherein said sensor is a four-terminal Kelvin sensor structure operatively connected to said first semiconductor transistor heater device (See [0031]), said Kelvin sensor structure having first and second Kelvin terminals configured to apply voltage at said drain region and said source region, and having third and fourth kelvin terminals configured to measure the electrical characteristic at said drain region and said source region (See [0031]), teaches regarding sensing resistance of semiconductor device (See [0029]) configuring the sensor device to apply an electrical stimulus to one or more said drain contact (kelvin sensor to apply electrical stimulus/drive current; See [0031])
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Peng by using sensor is a four-terminal Kelvin sensor structure operatively connected to said first semiconductor transistor heater device, said Kelvin sensor structure having first and second Kelvin terminals configured to apply voltage at said drain region and said source region, and having third and fourth kelvin terminals configured to measure the electrical characteristic at said drain region and said source region; configuring the sensor device to apply an electrical stimulus to one or more said drain contact, as taught by Richmond in order to make accurate characterization of low on-resistance devices (Richmond; [0031]).
Richmond teaches measuring electrical characteristics that maintains very low a metal/contact resistance drop (See [0031]), but Peng in view of Richmond is silent about electrical characteristic measurement that excludes a metal/contact resistance drop.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Peng and Richmond by using electrical characteristic measurement that excludes a metal/contact resistance drop in order to reduce power loss, heat generation and therefore achieve improved performance (Richmond; [0031]).
Regarding Claim 18, Peng in view of Richmond teaches the computer-implemented method of Claim 17. Peng further teaches wherein the configuring the sensor device to apply an electrical stimulus comprises:
altering the electrical stimulus applied to said drain, source and gate contact structures of said first semiconductor transistor heater device (altering connections between terminals is altering stimulus voltage/current levels of transistors in Fig. 2 and Fig. 6; See [0025]),
said altering electrical stimulus achieving a different power level at said first semiconductor transistor heater device; (by altering connections between source/drain/gate terminals also voltage/current varies, therefore different power levels are achieved; See [0025]) and
measuring an electrical characteristic of said second semiconductor device while said first semiconductor transistor heater device is in said on or off state (measuring electrical characteristics of device 60 includes all transistors in Fig. 6; See [0022], [0026]).
Regarding Claim 19, Peng in view of Richmond teaches the computer-implemented method of Claim 18. Peng further teaches further comprising: calibrating a real power consumed at said first semiconductor transistor heater device (comparing heat with threshold is calibrating power; See [0039]) at each said different power level applied at said first semiconductor transistor heater device (by shorting source/drain/gate terminals voltage/current varies, therefore different power levels are achieved; See [0025]).
Regarding Claim 20, Peng in view of Richmond teaches the computer-implemented method of Claim 19. Peng further teaches further comprising: correlating a temperature of said first semiconductor transistor heater device (correlating temperature/heat to resistance value; See [0022]) at each said different power level applied at said first semiconductor transistor heater device (correlating temperature with heat and heat is power; See [0025], [0039]-[0042]).
Claim(s) 4-5, 8-10 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng in view of Richmond further in view of Tuan et al. (Patent NO. US 5,872,952 A; hereinafter Tuan).
Regarding Claim 4, Peng in view of Richmond teaches the semiconductor device as claimed in Claim 3. Richmond teaches wherein said electrical stimulus is a current applied across a channel connecting the drain region and said source region of said first semiconductor transistor heater device (stimulus current If is applied by connecting source terminal 46-1 and drain terminal 46-2 in Fig. 2; See [0031]), and said measured electrical characteristic comprises a second voltage differential (differential voltage is measured from terminal 48-1 and 48-2 in Fig. 2; See [0031]).
Peng in view of Richmond is silent about a first voltage differential applied across a channel, said second voltage differential used to determine a power consumption of the first semiconductor transistor heater device while said first transistor device is in an on or off state, wherein said power consumption determination excludes a power consumption due to voltage drops at said contact via structures and avoids a power consumption at any metal conductor connecting to contact via structures.
Tuan teaches a first voltage differential applied across a channel (applying different voltage; Col. 4, Lines 40-65), said second voltage differential used to determine a power consumption of the first semiconductor transistor heater device while said first transistor device is in an on or off state (power net analyzer determines power consumption; Col. 4, Lines 40-65), wherein said power consumption determination excludes a power consumption due to voltage drops at said contact via structures and avoids a power consumption at any metal conductor connecting to contact via structures (as voltage drops are calculated therefore it can be excluded; See Col. 5, Lines 40-55).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Peng and Richmond by first voltage differential applied across a channel, said second voltage differential used to determine a power consumption of the first semiconductor transistor heater device while said first transistor device is in an on or off state, wherein said power consumption determination excludes a power consumption due to voltage drops at said contact via structures and avoids a power consumption at any metal conductor connecting to contact via structures, as taught by Tuan in order to achieve improved analysis of power (Tuan; Col. 1, Lines 10-20).
Regarding Claim 5, Peng in view of Richmond further in view of Tuan teaches the semiconductor device as claimed in Claim 4. Peng further teaches wherein the first semiconductor transistor heater device is a nanosheet FinFET transistor comprising one or more nanosheet channel structures connected between said drain region and said source region and extending though said gate structure (See [0003], [0021]-[0023], [0031]).
Regarding Claim 8, Peng in view of Richmond teaches the semiconductor device as claimed in Claim 7. Peng in view of Richmond is silent about wherein said measured electrical characteristic comprising one or more of a voltage, current or resistance measurement for determining a power consumption component of the first semiconductor transistor heater device while said first semiconductor transistor heater device is in an off or on state, wherein said power consumption avoids a power consumption component due to a voltage drop at a said contact via structure and avoids a power consumption component due to any metal conductor connecting to a contact via structure.
Tuan teaches wherein said measured electrical characteristic comprising one or more of a voltage, current or resistance measurement for determining a power consumption component of the first semiconductor transistor heater device while said first semiconductor transistor heater device is in an off or on state (power net analyzer determines power consumption; Col. 4, Lines 40-65), wherein said power consumption avoids a power consumption component due to a voltage drop at a said contact via structure and avoids a power consumption component due to any metal conductor connecting to a contact via structure (as voltage drops are calculated therefore it can be excluded; See Col. 5, Lines 40-55).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Peng and Richmond by measuring electrical characteristic comprising one or more of a voltage, current or resistance measurement for determining a power consumption component of the first semiconductor transistor heater device while said first semiconductor transistor heater device is in an off or on state, wherein said power consumption avoids a power consumption component due to a voltage drop at a said contact via structure and avoids a power consumption component due to any metal conductor connecting to a contact via structure, as taught by Tuan in order to achieve improved analysis of power (Tuan; Col. 1, Lines 10-20).
Regarding Claim 9, Peng in view of Richmond teaches the semiconductor device as claimed in Claim 7. Peng in view of Richmond is silent about wherein the applied electrical stimulus is a first voltage differential and said measured electrical characteristic comprises: a second voltage difference across a channel structure connecting the first drain region and the first source region.
Tuan teaches wherein the applied electrical stimulus is a first voltage differential (applying different voltage; Col. 4, Lines 40-65), and said measured electrical characteristic comprises: a second voltage difference across a channel structure connecting the first drain region and the first source region (power net analyzer determines power consumption; Col. 4, Lines 40-65).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Peng and Richmond by using applied electrical stimulus is a first voltage differential and said measured electrical characteristic comprises: a second voltage difference across a channel structure connecting the first drain region and the first source region, as taught by Tuan in order to achieve improved analysis of power (Tuan; Col. 1, Lines 10-20).
Regarding Claim 10, Peng in view of Richmond further in view of Tuan teaches the semiconductor device as claimed in Claim 9. Peng further teaches wherein the first semiconductor transistor heater device is a nanosheet FinFET transistor, said channel structure comprising one or more nanosheet channel structures directly connecting said first drain region and second drain and extending though said gate structure (See [0003], [0021]-[0023], [0031]); and
said first semiconductor transistor heater device further comprises:
one or more nanosheet channel structures connected between said first drain region and second drain region and extending said kelvin sensor (nanosheet/nanowire channels between first drain 203 and second drain 207 extending to sensor 2062 in fig. 2; See [0027]) wherein a voltage at said first drain region and second drain region are equal (all drains D are connected together, therefore same voltage is applied in Fig. 6); and one or more nanosheet channel structures connected between said first source region and second source region and extending said kelvin sensor (nanosheet/nanowire channels between first and second source 205 extending to sensor 2062 in fig. 2; See [0027]) wherein a voltage at said first source region and second source region are equal (all sources S are connected together, therefore same voltage is applied in Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 14, Peng in view of Richmond teaches the semiconductor device as claimed in Claim 13. Richmond teaches wherein said electrical stimulus (stimulus current If is applied by connecting source terminal 46-1 and drain terminal 46-2 in Fig. 2; See [0031]), said Kelvin sensor configured to measure an electrical characteristic comprising a second voltage difference between said third and fourth contact via structures while said first semiconductor transistor heater device in an off or on state (differential voltage is measured from terminal 48-1 and 48-2 in Fig. 2; See [0031]).
Peng in view of Richmond is silent about electrical stimulus is a first voltage differential, said second voltage difference used to determine a power consumption of said first semiconductor transistor heater device.
Tuan teaches electrical stimulus is a first voltage differential (applying different voltage; Col. 4, Lines 40-65), said second voltage difference used to determine a power consumption of said first semiconductor transistor heater device (power net analyzer determines power consumption; Col. 4, Lines 40-65).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Peng and Richmond by using electrical stimulus is a first voltage differential, said second voltage difference used to determine a power consumption of said first semiconductor transistor heater device, as taught by Tuan in order to achieve improved analysis of power (Tuan; Col. 1, Lines 10-20).
Regarding Claim 15, Peng in view of Richmond further in view of Tuan teaches the semiconductor device as claimed in Claim 14. Tuan further teaches wherein the measured electrical characteristic at said first semiconductor transistor heater device excludes a voltage drop due to a contact resistance at each said contact via structures and avoids a voltage drop component due to any metal conductor connecting to a contact via structure (as voltage drops are calculated therefore it can be excluded; See Col. 5, Lines 40-55).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZANNATUL FERDOUS/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858