2. This communication is responsive to Application No. 17/848,832 and the amendments filed on 10/2/2025.
3. Claims 1-5, 8-15, 18-20, and 22-24 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 4/5/2023, 1/11/2024, 4/11/2024, and 9/10/2024 have been fully considered by the Examiner.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant's arguments filed 10/2/2025 with respect to the rejection of claims 1-5, 8-15, 18-20, and 22-24 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding independent claims 1, the Applicant argues that the combination of US 20180275251 A1 to Choi and US 20200064475 A1 to Hibino fails to teach the amended limitations of “a mirror group including at least one first mirror installed on the turntable and a second mirror, wherein the at least one first mirror and the second mirror form a “Z”-shaped optical path,” and “wherein the motor is configured to drive the turntable to move the at least one first mirror to adjust an emission angle of the laser light from the at least one first mirror, wherein the mirror group is further configured to reflect, through the “Z”-shaped optical path and to the coaxial optical lens group, reflected light returned by the measured object.” However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. As is shown below with the rejection of Claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103, the Examiner submits that the combination of Choi and Hibino teaches all of the amendments above, in which will be described later.
Regarding independent claim 10, as this claim contains similar limitations as claim 1, the Examiner submits that the combination of Choi and Hibino teaches all of the amendments to the claim, in which will be described later.
Regarding dependent claims 2-5, 8-9, 11-15, 18-20, and 22-24, as all of these claims depend from either claims 1 or 10, are still rejected, in which will be described later.
The Examiner notes that dependent claims 7, 16, and 17 have been cancelled, and thus, are withdrawn from further consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 10, 11, 12, 22, 23, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 20180275251 A1 hereinafter Choi) in view of Hibino (US 20200064475 A1 hereinafter Hibino).
Regarding Claim 1, Choi teaches a ranging system ([0009] via “The present invention is directed to providing a scanning light detection and ranging (LiDAR) having an optical structure which shares a transmitting and receiving lens and of which a manufacturing cost is reducible to solve a problem in that spread corresponding to demand is not easy due to a high price thereof.”), comprising:
a laser ([0015] via “The beam source and the beam detector may be disposed on the same axis, and the scanning LiDAR may further include a hollow mirror which has a second predetermined angle with respect to the hole mirror to move the pulsed laser beam toward the measurement target through the hole and is disposed in the hole.”);
a receiver ([0039] via “The beam detector 120 may be disposed to face the reflecting surface of the hole mirror 130, may receive the reflected beams 121 and 122, which are reflected and returned from a measurement target, pass through the transmitting and receiving lens 140, reach the reflecting surface of the hole mirror 130, and are reflected by the corresponding reflecting surface, and may convert the reflected beams 121 and 122 into electronic signals. In addition, the beam detector 120 may output the converted electronic signals to the outside.”), (Note: The Examiner interprets beam detector 120 as the receiver.);
a mirror group including at least one first mirror ([0034] via “Referring to FIG. 1, the scanning LiDAR having an optical structure which shares a transmitting and receiving lens may include … and may further include a rotation mirror 150.”), (Note: The Examiner interprets the rotation mirror 150 of Choi as the first mirror within the mirror group.) and a second mirror ([0034] via “Referring to FIG. 1, the scanning LiDAR having an optical structure which shares a transmitting and receiving lens may include … a hole mirror 130, ….”), (Note: The Examiner interprets the hole mirror 130 of Choi as equivalent to the second mirror.), wherein the at least one first mirror and the second mirror form a "Z"-shaped optical path (See Annotated Figure 1 of Choi below, wherein the path between the first mirror and second mirror (i.e., hole mirror 130 and rotation mirror 150) forms a Z-shaped optical path.);
a coaxial optical lens group disposed between the mirror group and both the laser and the receiver ([0043] via “The transmitting and receiving lens 140 is disposed between the reflecting surface of the hole mirror 130 and the rotation mirror 150, and serves to condense pulsed laser beams and generate the collimated beams 111 and 112 so that the pulsed laser beams, which move toward the measurement target, directly move toward the measurement target, to receive the beams 121 and 122 reflected by the measurement target, and to transmit the beams 121 to the hole mirror 130.”), (Note: See Figures 1 and 2 of Choi wherein the lens 140 is in between the mirror group (hole mirror 130 and rotation mirror 150) and the laser and the receiver (beam source 110 and beam detector 120, respectively).);
a holed mirror disposed between the coaxial optical lens group and both the laser and the receiver ([0043] via “The transmitting and receiving lens 140 is disposed between the reflecting surface of the hole mirror 130 and the rotation mirror 150, and serves to condense pulsed laser beams and generate the collimated beams 111 and 112 so that the pulsed laser beams, which move toward the measurement target, directly move toward the measurement target, to receive the beams 121 and 122 reflected by the measurement target, and to transmit the beams 121 to the hole mirror 130.”), (Note: See Figures 1 and 2 where the hole mirror 130 is disposed between the optical lens group (lens 140) and both the laser (beam source 110) and the receiver (beam detector 120). The Examiner also notes that the hole mirror 130 of Choi is interpreted to be both the second mirror and the holed mirror, as this relationship is shown in Figures 3C, 8, and 10 of the drawings of the instant application. Specifically, in Figures 8 and 10 of the instant application where the holed mirror 6033/803 appears to double as the second mirror.); and
wherein the laser is configured to emit laser light to the coaxial optical lens group ([0040] via “The hole mirror 130 includes the hole and the reflecting surface, may transmit the pulsed laser beams 111 and 112 output from the beam source 110 to the transmitting and receiving lens 140 through the provided hole, may reflect the reflected beams 121 and 122
which are reflected by the measurement target and pass through the transmitting and receiving lens 140, and may transmit the reflected beams 121 and 122 to the beam detector
120 using the provided reflecting surface.”),
wherein the coaxial optical lens group is configured to transmit the laser light to the mirror group ([0043] via “The transmitting and receiving lens 140 is disposed between the reflecting surface of the hole mirror 130 and the rotation mirror 150, and serves to condense pulsed laser beams and generate the collimated beams 111 and 112 so that the pulsed laser beams, which move toward the measurement target, directly move toward the measurement target, to receive the beams 121 and 122 reflected by the measurement target, and to transmit the beams 121 to the hole mirror 130.”), (Note: See Figures 1 and 2 of Choi wherein beams 111/112 and 121/122 are transmitted from the lens 140 between the rotation mirror 150 and the hole mirror 130.),
wherein the mirror group is configured to reflect the laser light to a measured object ([0043] via “The transmitting and receiving lens 140 is disposed between the reflecting surface of the hole mirror 130 and the rotation mirror 150, and serves to condense pulsed laser beams and generate the collimated beams 111 and 112 so that the pulsed laser beams, which move toward the measurement target, directly move toward the measurement target, to receive the beams 121 and 122 reflected by the measurement target, and to transmit the beams 121 to the hole mirror 130.”), (Note: The Examiner interprets the measurement target as the measured object.),
wherein the mirror group is further configured to reflect, through the "Z"-shaped optical path and to the coaxial optical lens group, reflected light returned by the measured object ([0043] via “The transmitting and receiving lens 140 is disposed between the reflecting surface of the hole mirror 130 and the rotation mirror 150, and serves to condense pulsed laser beams and generate the collimated beams 111 and 112 so that the pulsed laser beams, which move toward the measurement target, directly move toward the measurement target, to receive the beams 121 and 122 reflected by the measurement target, and to transmit the beams 121 to the hole mirror 130.”), (Note: See Figures 1 and 2 wherein the reflected beams 121 and 122 are reflected by rotation mirror 150. Also, see the annotated Figure 1 of Choi below, wherein the reflected light is returned through the Z-shaped optical path.),
wherein the coaxial optical lens group is further configured to focus the reflected light to the receiver, wherein the receiver is configured to receive the reflected light ([0039] via “The beam detector 120 may be disposed to face the reflecting surface of the hole mirror 130, may receive the reflected beams 121 and 122, which are reflected and returned from a measurement target, pass through the transmitting and receiving lens 140, reach the reflecting surface of the hole mirror 130, and are reflected by the corresponding reflecting surface, and may convert the reflected beams 121 and 122 into electronic signals. In addition, the beam detector 120 may output the converted electronic signals to the outside.”), and
wherein an optical path of the laser light between the holed mirror and the mirror group and an optical path of the reflected light between the mirror group and the holed mirror are coaxial ([0040] via “The hole mirror 130 includes the hole and the reflecting surface, may transmit the pulsed laser beams 111 and 112 output from the beam source 110 to the transmitting and receiving lens 140 through the provided hole, may reflect the reflected beams 121 and 122 which are reflected by the measurement target and pass through the transmitting and receiving lens 140, and may transmit the reflected beams 121 and 122 to the beam detector 120 using the provided reflecting surface.”), (Note: See Figures 1 and 2 of Choi wherein the laser light paths between the hole mirror 130 and the rotation mirror 150 are coaxial.).
Choi is silent on a motor comprising a rotation shaft and a turntable installed on the rotation shaft of the motor; the at least one first mirror installed on the turntable; a processing circuit separately coupled to the laser and the receiver, wherein the motor is configured to drive the turntable to move the at least one first mirror to adjust an emission angle of the laser light from the at least one first mirror, and wherein the processing circuit is configured to calculate a distance between the ranging system and the measured object based on the laser light and the reflected light.
However, Hibino teaches a motor comprising a rotation shaft and a turntable installed on the rotation shaft of the motor; the at least one first mirror installed on the turntable ([0066] via “The optical scanner 4 is also referred to as a light deflector, and includes the light projecting mirror 4a, a light receiving mirror 4b, the motor 4c, and the like. The motor 4c is configured of a brushless motor. The light projecting mirror 4a is connected to an upper end part of a rotary shaft 4j (FIGS. 5A and 5B) of the motor 4c. The light receiving mirror 4b is connected to the lower end part of the rotary shaft 4j of the motor 4c.”), (Note: The Examiner interprets the motor 4c including a turntable, as is depicted in Figure 5A of Hibino. The Examiner also notes that while Choi is silent on a motor connected to the mirror group, the rotation mirror 150 of Choi is able to rotate to adjust an emission angle of the laser beam.);
a processing circuit separately coupled to the laser and the receiver ([0047] via “FIG. 3 is an electrical configuration diagram of each of the target detecting devices 10A to 10D. A controller 1 is configured of a CPU and the like, and controls operation of each unit. The controller 1 includes an object detector 1a and a dirt detector 1b. The function of each of the object detector 1a and the dirt detector 1b is realized by a software program executed by the CPU of the controller 1.”), ([0056] via “An interface 19 is configured of a communication circuit for communicating with the vehicle-side ECU 50. The controller 1 transmits and receives various control information to and from the vehicle-side ECU 50 via the interface 19
and transmits detection results of the object detector 1a and the dirt detector 1b to the vehicle-side ECU 50 via the interface 19.”), (Note: See Figure 3 of Hibino as well.),
wherein the motor is configured to drive the turntable to move the at least one first mirror to adjust an emission angle of the laser light from the at least one first mirror ([0069] via “In FIG. 5A, first, the LD of the LD module 2 emits light. Then, the transmitter lens 14 adjusts a spread and the like of the light, and the light strikes the light projecting mirror 4a of the optical scanner 4. At this time, the motor 4c rotates to change the angle (orientation) of the light projecting mirror 4a, and one of the reflecting surfaces of the light projecting mirror 4a is directed to a predetermined range Ea to Ed side. Therefore, after the light from the LD has penetrated the transmitter lens 14, the light is reflected by the light projecting mirror 4a and penetrates almost the upper half of the optical window 12, and the predetermined range Ea to Ed located outside is scanned with the light.”), and
wherein the processing circuit is configured to calculate a distance between the ranging system and the measured object based on the laser light and the reflected light ([0072] via “The PD module 7 and the ADC 8 process the light reception signal output from the PD according to the light reception state of the above reflected light. Then, the object detector 1a of the controller 1 detects existence of the target Q and calculates the distance to the target Q according to the processed light reception signal. At this time, according to the rotation angle of the motor 4c of the optical scanner 4, the object detector 1a detects the orientation in which the target Q exists in the horizontal direction. In addition, the object detector 1a detects the orientation in which the target Q exists in the vertical direction according to an output signal from each light receiving region of the PD.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hibino wherein the ranging system comprises: a motor comprising a rotation shaft and a turntable installed on the rotation shaft of the motor; the at least one first mirror installed on the turntable; a processing circuit separately coupled to the laser and the receiver, wherein the motor is configured to drive the turntable to move the at least one first mirror to adjust an emission angle of the laser light from the at least one first mirror, and wherein the processing circuit is configured to calculate a distance between the ranging system and the measured object based on the laser light and the reflected light. Doing so detects the distance an object is located away from the ranging system in multiple directions via the rotation of the mirror, as stated above by Hibino in paragraph [0072].
Annotated Figure 1 of Choi.
The added bolded dotted line represents the “Z”-shaped optical path.
Regarding Claim 2, modified reference Choi teaches the ranging system according to claim 1, wherein the holed mirror comprises a holed region and an unholed region; wherein the receiver is configured to receive the reflected light from the unholed region; and wherein the laser is configured to emit the laser light to the holed region ([0040] via “The hole mirror 130
includes the hole and the reflecting surface, may transmit the pulsed laser beams 111 and 112 output from the beam source 110 to the transmitting and receiving lens 140 through the provided hole, may reflect the reflected beams 121 and 122 which are reflected by the measurement target and pass through the transmitting and receiving lens 140, and may transmit the reflected beams 121 and 122 to the beam detector 120 using the provided reflecting surface.”).
Regarding Claim 3, modified reference Choi teaches the ranging system according to claim 1, but is silent on wherein the coaxial optical lens group is configured to perform beam shaping on the laser light from the at least one laser and to perform beam shaping on the reflected light.
However, Hibino teaches wherein the coaxial optical lens group is configured to perform beam shaping on the laser light from the at least one laser and to perform beam shaping on the reflected light ([0069] via “Then, the transmitter lens 14 adjusts a spread and the like of the light, and the light strikes the light projecting mirror 4a of the optical scanner 4.”), ([0071] via “Then, the reflected light guided to the reflecting mirror 15 by the optical scanner 4 is reflected by the reflecting mirror 15, enters the receiver lens 16, and is condensed and adjusted by the receiver lens 16, and then is further reflected by the reflecting mirror 17 and is received by the PD of the PD module 7.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hibino wherein the coaxial optical lens group is configured to perform beam shaping on the laser light from the at least one laser and to perform beam shaping on the reflected light. Doing so appropriately shapes the beam to be able to be reflected off the mirror group and received by the receiver, as stated above by Hibino in both citations.
Regarding Claim 10, Choi teaches a mobile platform comprises: a ranging system ([0009] via “The present invention is directed to providing a scanning light detection and ranging (LiDAR) having an optical structure which shares a transmitting and receiving lens and of which a manufacturing cost is reducible to solve a problem in that spread corresponding to demand is not easy due to a high price thereof.”); and
wherein the ranging system comprises: a laser ([0015] via “The beam source and the beam detector may be disposed on the same axis, and the scanning LiDAR may further include a hollow mirror which has a second predetermined angle with respect to the hole mirror to move the pulsed laser beam toward the measurement target through the hole and is disposed in the hole.”),
a receiver ([0039] via “The beam detector 120 may be disposed to face the reflecting surface of the hole mirror 130, may receive the reflected beams 121 and 122, which are reflected and returned from a measurement target, pass through the transmitting and receiving lens 140, reach the reflecting surface of the hole mirror 130, and are reflected by the corresponding reflecting surface, and may convert the reflected beams 121 and 122 into electronic signals. In addition, the beam detector 120 may output the converted electronic signals to the outside.”), (Note: The Examiner interprets beam detector 120 as the receiver.),
a mirror group including at least one first mirror ([0034] via “Referring to FIG. 1, the scanning LiDAR having an optical structure which shares a transmitting and receiving lens may include … and may further include a rotation mirror 150.”), (Note: The Examiner interprets the rotation mirror 150 of Choi as the first mirror within the mirror group.) and a second mirror ([0034] via “Referring to FIG. 1, the scanning LiDAR having an optical structure which shares a transmitting and receiving lens may include … a hole mirror 130, ….”), (Note: The Examiner interprets the hole mirror 130 of Choi as equivalent to the second mirror.), wherein the at least one first mirror and the second mirror forma "Z"-shaped optical path (See Annotated Figure 1 of Choi above, wherein the path between the first mirror and second mirror (i.e., hole mirror 130 and rotation mirror 150) forms a Z-shaped optical path.),
a coaxial optical lens group disposed between the mirror group and both the laser and the receiver ([0043] via “The transmitting and receiving lens 140 is disposed between the reflecting surface of the hole mirror 130 and the rotation mirror 150, and serves to condense pulsed laser beams and generate the collimated beams 111 and 112 so that the pulsed laser beams, which move toward the measurement target, directly move toward the measurement target, to receive the beams 121 and 122 reflected by the measurement target, and to transmit the beams 121 to the hole mirror 130.”), (Note: See Figures 1 and 2 of Choi wherein the lens 140 is in between the mirror group (hole mirror 130 and rotation mirror 150) and the laser and the receiver (beam source 110 and beam detector 120, respectively).),
a holed mirror disposed between the coaxial optical lens group and both the laser and the receiver ([0043] via “The transmitting and receiving lens 140 is disposed between the reflecting surface of the hole mirror 130 and the rotation mirror 150, and serves to condense pulsed laser beams and generate the collimated beams 111 and 112 so that the pulsed laser beams, which move toward the measurement target, directly move toward the measurement target, to receive the beams 121 and 122 reflected by the measurement target, and to transmit the beams 121 to the hole mirror 130.”), (Note: See Figures 1 and 2 where the hole mirror 130 is disposed between the optical lens group (lens 140) and both the laser (beam source 110) and the receiver (beam detector 120). The Examiner also notes that the hole mirror 130 of Choi is interpreted to be both the second mirror and the holed mirror, as this relationship is shown in Figures 3C, 8, and 10 of the drawings of the instant application. Specifically, in Figures 8 and 10 of the instant application where the holed mirror 6033/803 appears to double as the second mirror.), and
wherein the laser is configured to emit laser light to the coaxial optical lens group ([0040] via “The hole mirror 130 includes the hole and the reflecting surface, may transmit the pulsed laser beams 111 and 112 output from the beam source 110 to the transmitting and receiving lens 140 through the provided hole, may reflect the reflected beams 121 and 122
which are reflected by the measurement target and pass through the transmitting and receiving lens 140, and may transmit the reflected beams 121 and 122 to the beam detector
120 using the provided reflecting surface.”),
wherein the coaxial optical lens group is configured to transmit the laser light to the mirror group ([0043] via “The transmitting and receiving lens 140 is disposed between the reflecting surface of the hole mirror 130 and the rotation mirror 150, and serves to condense pulsed laser beams and generate the collimated beams 111 and 112 so that the pulsed laser beams, which move toward the measurement target, directly move toward the measurement target, to receive the beams 121 and 122 reflected by the measurement target, and to transmit the beams 121 to the hole mirror 130.”), (Note: See Figures 1 and 2 of Choi wherein beams 111/112 and 121/122 are transmitted from the lens 140 between the rotation mirror 150 and the hole mirror 130.),
wherein the mirror group is configured to reflect the laser light to a measured object ([0043] via “The transmitting and receiving lens 140 is disposed between the reflecting surface of the hole mirror 130 and the rotation mirror 150, and serves to condense pulsed laser beams and generate the collimated beams 111 and 112 so that the pulsed laser beams, which move toward the measurement target, directly move toward the measurement target, to receive the beams 121 and 122 reflected by the measurement target, and to transmit the beams 121 to the hole mirror 130.”), (Note: The Examiner interprets the measurement target as the measured object.),
wherein the mirror group is further configured to reflect, through the "Z"-shaped optical path and to the coaxial optical lens group, reflected light returned by the measured object ([0043] via “The transmitting and receiving lens 140 is disposed between the reflecting surface of the hole mirror 130 and the rotation mirror 150, and serves to condense pulsed laser beams and generate the collimated beams 111 and 112 so that the pulsed laser beams, which move toward the measurement target, directly move toward the measurement target, to receive the beams 121 and 122 reflected by the measurement target, and to transmit the beams 121 to the hole mirror 130.”), (Note: See Figures 1 and 2 wherein the reflected beams 121 and 122 are reflected by rotation mirror 150. Also, see the annotated Figure 1 of Choi above, wherein the reflected light is returned through the Z-shaped optical path.),
wherein the coaxial optical lens group is further configured to focus the reflected light to the receiver, wherein the receiver is configured to receive the reflected light ([0039] via “The beam detector 120 may be disposed to face the reflecting surface of the hole mirror 130, may receive the reflected beams 121 and 122, which are reflected and returned from a measurement target, pass through the transmitting and receiving lens 140, reach the reflecting surface of the hole mirror 130, and are reflected by the corresponding reflecting surface, and may convert the reflected beams 121 and 122 into electronic signals. In addition, the beam detector 120 may output the converted electronic signals to the outside.”), and
wherein an optical path of the laser light between the holed mirror and the mirror group and an optical path of the reflected light between the mirror group and the holed mirror are coaxial ([0040] via “The hole mirror 130 includes the hole and the reflecting surface, may transmit the pulsed laser beams 111 and 112 output from the beam source 110 to the transmitting and receiving lens 140 through the provided hole, may reflect the reflected beams 121 and 122 which are reflected by the measurement target and pass through the transmitting and receiving lens 140, and may transmit the reflected beams 121 and 122 to the beam detector 120 using the provided reflecting surface.”), (Note: See Figures 1 and 2 of Choi wherein the laser light paths between the hole mirror 130 and the rotation mirror 150 are coaxial.).
Choi is silent on a vehicle body comprising a controller configured to communicate with the ranging system to receive a distance measured by the ranging system, and to control the vehicle body based on the distance, a motor comprising a rotation shaft and a turntable, the turntable being installed on the rotation shaft of the motor, the at least one first mirror being installed on the turntable, a processing circuit separately coupled to the laser and to the receiver, wherein the motor is configured to drive the turntable to move the at least one first mirror to adjust an emission angle of the laser light from the at least one first mirror, and wherein the processing circuit is configured to calculate a distance between the ranging system and the measured object based on the laser light and the reflected light.
However, Hibino teaches a vehicle body comprising a controller configured to communicate with the ranging system ([0043] via “FIG. 1 is a configuration diagram of the target detecting system 100. The target detecting system 100 is mounted on a vehicle 30
configured of a four-wheeled vehicle together with a vehicle-side ECU 50 and the like. The target detecting system 100 includes a plurality of (four in this example) target detecting devices 10A, 10B, 10C, 10D. Each of the target detecting devices 10A to 10D is configured of a laser radar, and is electrically connected to the vehicle-side ECU 50.”), ([0045] via “In addition, the target detecting devices 10A to 10D output detection results of a target, a distance, and the like to the vehicle-side ECU 50 illustrated in FIG. 1. The vehicle-side ECU 50
controls operation of on-vehicle equipment (not illustrated) according to the detection results of the target detecting devices 10A to 10D.”) to receive a distance measured by the ranging system, and to control the vehicle body based on the distance ([0045] via “In addition, the target detecting devices 10A to 10D output detection results of a target, a distance, and the like to the vehicle-side ECU 50 illustrated in FIG. 1. The vehicle-side ECU 50 controls operation of on-vehicle equipment (not illustrated) according to the detection results of the target detecting devices 10A to 10D.”),
a motor comprising a rotation shaft and a turntable, the turntable being installed on the rotation shaft of the motor, the at least one first mirror being installed on the turntable ([0066] via “The optical scanner 4 is also referred to as a light deflector, and includes the light projecting mirror 4a, a light receiving mirror 4b, the motor 4c, and the like. The motor 4c is configured of a brushless motor. The light projecting mirror 4a is connected to an upper end part of a rotary shaft 4j (FIGS. 5A and 5B) of the motor 4c. The light receiving mirror 4b is connected to the lower end part of the rotary shaft 4j of the motor 4c.”), (Note: The Examiner interprets the motor 4c including a turntable, as is depicted in Figure 5A of Hibino. The Examiner also notes that while Choi is silent on a motor connected to the mirror group, the rotation mirror 150 of Choi is able to rotate to adjust an emission angle of the laser beam.),
a processing circuit separately coupled to the laser and to the receiver ([0047] via “FIG. 3 is an electrical configuration diagram of each of the target detecting devices 10A to 10D. A controller 1 is configured of a CPU and the like, and controls operation of each unit. The controller 1 includes an object detector 1a and a dirt detector 1b. The function of each of the object detector 1a and the dirt detector 1b is realized by a software program executed by the CPU of the controller 1.”), ([0056] via “An interface 19 is configured of a communication circuit for communicating with the vehicle-side ECU 50. The controller 1 transmits and receives various control information to and from the vehicle-side ECU 50 via the interface 19
and transmits detection results of the object detector 1a and the dirt detector 1b to the vehicle-side ECU 50 via the interface 19.”), (Note: See Figure 3 of Hibino as well.),
wherein the motor is configured to drive the turntable to move the at least one first mirror to adjust an emission angle of the laser light from the at least one first mirror ([0069] via “In FIG. 5A, first, the LD of the LD module 2 emits light. Then, the transmitter lens 14 adjusts a spread and the like of the light, and the light strikes the light projecting mirror 4a of the optical scanner 4. At this time, the motor 4c rotates to change the angle (orientation) of the light projecting mirror 4a, and one of the reflecting surfaces of the light projecting mirror 4a
is directed to a predetermined range Ea to Ed side. Therefore, after the light from the LD has penetrated the transmitter lens 14, the light is reflected by the light projecting mirror 4a and penetrates almost the upper half of the optical window 12, and the predetermined range Ea to Ed located outside is scanned with the light.”), and
wherein the processing circuit is configured to calculate a distance between the ranging system and the measured object based on the laser light and the reflected light ([0072] via “The PD module 7 and the ADC 8 process the light reception signal output from the PD according to the light reception state of the above reflected light. Then, the object detector 1a of the controller 1 detects existence of the target Q and calculates the distance to the target Q according to the processed light reception signal. At this time, according to the rotation angle of the motor 4c of the optical scanner 4, the object detector 1a detects the orientation in which the target Q exists in the horizontal direction. In addition, the object detector 1a detects the orientation in which the target Q exists in the vertical direction according to an output signal from each light receiving region of the PD.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hibino wherein the mobile platform comprises: a vehicle body comprising a controller configured to communicate with the ranging system to receive a distance measured by the ranging system, and to control the vehicle body based on the distance, a motor comprising a rotation shaft and a turntable, the turntable being installed on the rotation shaft of the motor, the at least one first mirror being installed on the turntable, a processing circuit separately coupled to the laser and to the receiver, wherein the motor is configured to drive the turntable to move the at least one first mirror to adjust an emission angle of the laser light from the at least one first mirror, and wherein the processing circuit is configured to calculate a distance between the ranging system and the measured object based on the laser light and the reflected light. Doing so detects the distance an object is located away from the ranging system in multiple directions via the rotation of the mirror, as stated above by Hibino in paragraph [0072].
Regarding Claim 11, modified reference Choi teaches the mobile platform according to claim 10, but is silent on wherein the ranging system is disposed on a head, a tail, a side, or a top of the vehicle body.
However, Hibino teaches wherein the ranging system is disposed on a head, a tail, a side, or a top of the vehicle body ([0044] via “In FIG. 2, … The target detecting devices 10A, 10B, 10C, 10D are installed at the front part, the rear part, the right side, and the left side of the vehicle 30, respectively, and detect existence of a target (person, an object, or the like) in predetermined ranges Ea, Eb, Ec, Ed in front of, behind, on the right side, and on the left side of the vehicle 30, respectively, and the distance or the like to the target.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hibino wherein the ranging system is disposed on a head, a tail, a side, or a top of the vehicle body. Doing so detects the presence of objects along multiple sides of the vehicle body, as stated above by Hibino.
Regarding Claim 12, modified reference Choi teaches the mobile platform according to claim 10, but is silent on wherein the controller is configured to control the vehicle body to move based on the distance.
However, Hibino teaches wherein the controller is configured to control the vehicle body to move based on the distance ([0045] via “In addition, the target detecting devices 10A to 10D output detection results of a target, a distance, and the like to the vehicle-side ECU 50
illustrated in FIG. 1. The vehicle-side ECU 50 controls operation of on-vehicle equipment (not illustrated) according to the detection results of the target detecting devices 10A to 10D.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hibino wherein the controller is configured to control the vehicle body to move based on the distance. Doing so appropriately controls the operation of the vehicle based on the detection results of any objects present around the vehicle, as stated above by Hibino.
Regarding Claim 22, modified reference Choi teaches the ranging system according to claim 1, wherein an area of the mirror group configured to reflect the laser light to the object to be measured coincides with an area of the mirror group configured to reflect the reflected light returned by the measured object ([0043] via “The transmitting and receiving lens 140 is disposed between the reflecting surface of the hole mirror 130 and the rotation mirror 150, and serves to condense pulsed laser beams and generate the collimated beams 111 and 112
so that the pulsed laser beams, which move toward the measurement target, directly move toward the measurement target, to receive the beams 121 and 122 reflected by the measurement target, and to transmit the beams 121 to the hole mirror 130.”), (Note: See Figures 1 and 2 of Choi wherein the hole mirror 130 and the rotation mirror 150 both reflect the laser light to the measurement target and reflects the returned light to the receiver.).
Regarding Claim 23, modified reference Choi teaches the ranging system according to claim 1, wherein an optical center of the optical path of the laser light between the holed mirror and the mirror group is the same as an optical center of the optical path of the reflected light between the mirror group and the holed mirror ([0040] via “The hole mirror 130 includes the hole and the reflecting surface, may transmit the pulsed laser beams 111 and 112 output from the beam source 110 to the transmitting and receiving lens 140 through the provided hole, may reflect the reflected beams 121 and 122 which are reflected by the measurement target and pass through the transmitting and receiving lens 140, and may transmit the reflected beams 121 and 122 to the beam detector 120 using the provided reflecting surface.”), (Note: See Figures 1 and 2 of Choi as well.).
Regarding Claim 24, modified reference Choi teaches the ranging system according to claim 3, but is silent on wherein the coaxial optical lens group comprises a lens configured to perform the beam shaping on the laser light from the at least one laser and to perform the beam shaping on the reflected light.
However, Hibino teaches wherein the coaxial optical lens group comprises a lens configured to perform the beam shaping on the laser light from the at least one laser and to perform the beam shaping on the reflected light ([0069] via “Then, the transmitter lens 14
adjusts a spread and the like of the light, and the light strikes the light projecting mirror 4a of the optical scanner 4.”), ([0071] via “Then, the reflected light guided to the reflecting mirror 15 by the optical scanner 4 is reflected by the reflecting mirror 15, enters the receiver lens 16, and is condensed and adjusted by the receiver lens 16, and then is further reflected by the reflecting mirror 17 and is received by the PD of the PD module 7.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hibino wherein the coaxial optical lens group comprises a lens configured to perform the beam shaping on the laser light from the at least one laser and to perform the beam shaping on the reflected light. Doing so appropriately shapes the beam to be able to be reflected off the mirror group and received by the receiver, as stated above by Hibino in both citations.
9. Claim(s) 4, 5, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 20180275251 A1 hereinafter Choi) in view of Hibino (US 20200064475 A1 hereinafter Hibino), and further in view of Pennecot et al. (US 8836922 B1 hereinafter Pennecot).
Regarding Claim 4, modified reference Choi teaches the ranging system according to claim 1, but is silent on the ranging system further comprising one or more additional lasers, wherein the laser and the one or more additional lasers are installed on a circuit board.
However, Pennecot teaches one or more additional lasers, wherein the laser and the one or more additional lasers are installed on a circuit board (Col. 5 lines 14-19, where “To facilitate such curved arrangement of the light sources, in some examples, the light sources can be mounted on a curved edge of one or more vertically-oriented printed circuit boards (PCBs), such that the curved edge of the PCB substantially matches the curvature of the focal surface in the vertical plane of the PCB.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Pennecot wherein the ranging system further comprises one or more additional lasers, wherein the laser and the one or more additional lasers are installed on a circuit board. Doing so arranges the lasers in such a way that matches the curvature of the focal surface the lasers are emitting light towards, as stated above by Pennecot.
Regarding Claim 5, modified reference Choi teaches the ranging system according to claim 4, but is silent on wherein the laser and the one or more additional lasers are installed on the circuit board in an arc shape.
However, Pennecot teaches wherein the laser and the one or more additional lasers are installed on the circuit board in an arc shape (Col. 5 lines 14-19, where “To facilitate such curved arrangement of the light sources, in some examples, the light sources can be mounted on a curved edge of one or more vertically-oriented printed circuit boards (PCBs), such that the curved edge of the PCB substantially matches the curvature of the focal surface in the vertical plane of the PCB.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Pennecot wherein the laser and the one or more additional lasers are installed on the circuit board in an arc shape. Doing so arranges the lasers in such a way that matches the curvature of the focal surface the lasers are emitting light towards, as stated above by Pennecot.
Regarding Claim 8, modified reference Choi teaches the ranging system according to claim 1, but is silent on wherein the laser or the receiver is installed on a circuit board in a form of a packaged component or a bare die chip.
However, Pennecot teaches wherein the laser or the receiver is installed on a circuit board in a form of a packaged component or a bare die chip (Col. 5 lines 14-19, where “To facilitate such curved arrangement of the light sources, in some examples, the light sources can be mounted on a curved edge of one or more vertically-oriented printed circuit boards (PCBs), such that the curved edge of the PCB substantially matches the curvature of the focal surface in the vertical plane of the PCB.”), (Note: The Examiner interprets the multiple light sources being mounted to the circuit board as being installed in the form of a packaged component.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Pennecot wherein the laser or the receiver is installed on a circuit board in a form of a packaged component or a bare die chip. Doing so arranges the lasers in such a way that matches the curvature of the focal surface the lasers are emitting light towards, as stated above by Pennecot.
10. Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 20180275251 A1 hereinafter Choi) in view of Hibino (US 20200064475 A1 hereinafter Hibino), and further in view of Weed et al. (US 20180284225 A1 hereinafter Weed).
Regarding Claim 9, modified reference Choi teaches the ranging system according to claim 1, but is silent on wherein the processing circuit is configured to calculate the distance between the ranging system and the measured object based on an emission time point of the laser light, a receiving time point of the reflected light, and a speed of light.
However, Weed teaches wherein the processing circuit is configured to calculate the distance between the ranging system and the measured object based on an emission time point of the laser light, a receiving time point of the reflected light, and a speed of light ([0049] via “The receiver 140 may receive or detect photons from the input beam 135 and generate one or more representative signals. … The receiver may send the electrical signal 145 to the controller 150. … More particularly, the controller 150 may analyze the time of flight or phase modulation for the beam of light 125 transmitted by the light source 110. If the lidar system 100 measures a time of flight of T (e.g., T represents a round-trip time of flight for an emitted pulse of light to travel from the lidar system 100 to the target 130 and back to the lidar system 100), then the distance D from the target 130 to the lidar system 100 may be expressed as D=c.Math.T/2, where c is the speed of light (approximately 3.0×10.sup.8 m/s).”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Weed wherein the processing circuit is configured to calculate the distance between the ranging system and the measured object based on an emission time point of the laser light, a receiving time point of the reflected light, and a speed of light. Doing so applies a mathematical formula taking in specific time points with a known speed of light to calculate how far the light traveled, as shown above by Weed.
11. Claim(s) 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 20180275251 A1 hereinafter Choi) in view of Hibino (US 20200064475 A1 hereinafter Hibino), and further in view of Lee et al. (US 9910443 B1 hereinafter Lee).
Regarding Claim 13, modified reference Choi teaches the mobile platform according to claim 10, but is silent on wherein the controller is further configured to generate a navigation route based on the distance.
However, Lee teaches wherein the controller is further configured to generate a navigation route based on the distance (Col. 5 lines 51-60, where “The sensor unit 110 includes a camera 111, a radar 112, a LiDAR (Light Detection and Ranging) 113, and a global positioning system (GPS) 114. The sensor unit 110 may detect images of the surroundings of the vehicle, and the information about the distance between the subject vehicle and the rear vehicle, the relative speed of the rear vehicle, the position of the front vehicle, the obstacles and/or the traffic lights through the camera 111, the radar 112, and the LiDAR 113, and detect a current position of the subject vehicle through the GPS 114.”), (Col. 6 lines 26-41, where “When the vehicle enters a pocket lane area (an area used for entering a pocket lane) on a forward path during autonomous driving, the driving path generator 150 may recognize and determine pocket lane conditions on the basis of the surrounding environment information. In other words, the driving path generator 150 may detect the degree of traffic congestion in the pocket lane, the distance between the rear vehicle and the subject vehicle, the relative speed of the rear vehicle, the color of a traffic light that is turned on, and the like, on the basis of the data measured by the sensor unit 110. The driving path generator 150 may analyze the detected pocket lane conditions to determine whether or not the subject vehicle is allowed to stop in a straight driving lane (a straight lane) in order to enter the pocket lane. The driving path generator 150 may plan a driving path within the pocket lane area according to the detected pocket lane conditions.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Lee wherein the controller is further configured to generate a navigation route based on the distance. Doing so uses the environment information to determine how the vehicle may navigate through the environment, as stated above by Lee in Col. 6 lines 26-41.
Regarding Claim 14, modified reference Choi teaches the mobile platform according to claim 13, but is silent on wherein the controller is connected to a display configured to display the distance and/or the navigation route.
However, Lee teaches wherein the controller is connected to a display configured to display the distance and/or the navigation route (Col. 7 lines 6-8, where “For example, the output 160 may display the driving path output from the driving path generator 150 on the detailed map in an overlapping manner.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Lee wherein the controller is connected to a display configured to display the distance and/or the navigation route. Doing so provides the user with a detailed map display of the driving path of the vehicle, as stated above by Lee.
12. Claim(s) 15 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 20180275251 A1 hereinafter Choi) in view of Hibino (US 20200064475 A1 hereinafter Hibino), and further in view of Lin et al. (US 20190277951 A1 hereinafter Lin).
Regarding Claim 15, modified reference Choi teaches the mobile platform according to claim 10, but is silent on wherein the distance is a distance between the vehicle body and an obstacle; and wherein the controller is configured to control the vehicle body to move in a direction away from the obstacle based on the distance being less than a preset threshold.
However, Lin teaches wherein the distance is a distance between the vehicle body and an obstacle; and wherein the controller is configured to control the vehicle body to move in a direction away from the obstacle based on the distance being less than a preset threshold ([0040] via “The driver assistance system 2 comprises at least one optical detection apparatus
3, which is configured in order to monitor a surrounding region 4 of the motor vehicle 1. In particular, by means of the detection apparatus 3 a distance and an orientation of an object O in the surrounding region 4 of the motor vehicle 1 can be recorded, and for example provided to a control device 5 of the driver assistance system 2. The control device 5 may, for example, automatically brake the motor vehicle 1 for collision avoidance, if the distance of the object O falls below a predetermined threshold value.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Lin wherein the distance is a distance between the vehicle body and an obstacle; and wherein the controller is configured to control the vehicle body to move in a direction away from the obstacle based on the distance being less than a preset threshold. Doing so allows the vehicle to perform an action in order to avoid a collision with the object, as stated above by Lin.
Regarding Claim 20, modified reference Choi teaches the mobile platform according to claim 15, but is silent on wherein the coaxial optical lens group is configured to perform beam shaping on the reflected light.
However, Hibino teaches wherein the coaxial optical lens group is configured to perform beam shaping on the reflected light ([0069] via “Then, the transmitter lens 14 adjusts a spread and the like of the light, and the light strikes the light projecting mirror 4a of the optical scanner 4.”), ([0071] via “Then, the reflected light guided to the reflecting mirror 15 by the optical scanner 4 is reflected by the reflecting mirror 15, enters the receiver lens 16, and is condensed and adjusted by the receiver lens 16, and then is further reflected by the reflecting mirror 17 and is received by the PD of the PD module 7.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hibino wherein the coaxial optical lens group is configured to perform beam shaping on the reflected light. Doing so appropriately shapes the beam to be able to be reflected off the mirror group and received by the receiver, as stated above by Hibino in both citations.
13. Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 20180275251 A1 hereinafter Choi) in view of Hibino (US 20200064475 A1 hereinafter Hibino), and further in view of Lin et al. (US 20190277951 A1 hereinafter Lin), and further in view of Pennecot et al. (US 8836922 B1 hereinafter Pennecot).
Regarding Claim 18, modified reference Choi teaches the mobile platform according to claim 15, but is silent on wherein the laser or the receiver is installed on a circuit board in a form of a packaged component or a bare die chip.
However, Pennecot teaches wherein the laser or the receiver is installed on a circuit board in a form of a packaged component or a bare die chip (Col. 5 lines 14-19, where “To facilitate such curved arrangement of the light sources, in some examples, the light sources can be mounted on a curved edge of one or more vertically-oriented printed circuit boards (PCBs), such that the curved edge of the PCB substantially matches the curvature of the focal surface in the vertical plane of the PCB.”), (Note: The Examiner interprets the multiple light sources being mounted to the circuit board as being installed in the form of a packaged component.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Pennecot wherein the laser or the receiver is installed on a circuit board in a form of a packaged component or a bare die chip. Doing so arranges the lasers in such a way that matches the curvature of the focal surface the lasers are emitting light towards, as stated above by Pennecot.
14. Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 20180275251 A1 hereinafter Choi) in view of Hibino (US 20200064475 A1 hereinafter Hibino), and further in view of Lin et al. (US 20190277951 A1 hereinafter Lin), and further in view of Weed et al. (US 20180284225 A1 hereinafter Weed).
Regarding Claim 19, modified reference Choi teaches the mobile platform according to claim 15, but is silent on wherein the processing circuit is configured to calculate the distance between the ranging system and the measured object based on an emission time point of the laser light, a receiving time point of the reflected light, and a speed of light.
However, Weed teaches wherein the processing circuit is configured to calculate the distance between the ranging system and the measured object based on an emission time point of the laser light, a receiving time point of the reflected light, and a speed of light ([0049] via “The receiver 140 may receive or detect photons from the input beam 135 and generate one or more representative signals. … The receiver may send the electrical signal 145 to the controller 150. … More particularly, the controller 150 may analyze the time of flight or phase modulation for the beam of light 125 transmitted by the light source 110. If the lidar system 100 measures a time of flight of T (e.g., T represents a round-trip time of flight for an emitted pulse of light to travel from the lidar system 100 to the target 130 and back to the lidar system 100), then the distance D from the target 130 to the lidar system 100 may be expressed as D=c.Math.T/2, where c is the speed of light (approximately 3.0×10.sup.8 m/s).”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Weed wherein the processing circuit is configured to calculate the distance between the ranging system and the measured object based on an emission time point of the laser light, a receiving time point of the reflected light, and a speed of light. Doing so applies a mathematical formula taking in specific time points with a known speed of light to calculate how far the light traveled, as shown above by Weed.
Examiner’s Note
15. The Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the
references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the
specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific
limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is
respectfully requested of the Applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references
in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the
context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. See MPEP
2141.02 [R-07.2015] VI. A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole,
including portions that would lead away from the claimed Invention. W.L. Gore & Associates,
Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 851
(1984). See also MPEP §2123.
Conclusion
examiner should be directed to BYRON X KASPER whose telephone number is (571)272-3895.
The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8 am - 5 pm EST.
using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is
encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at
http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
supervisor, Adam Mott can be reached on (571) 270-5376. The fax phone number for the
organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available
to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit:
https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for
more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for
information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic
Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO
Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/BYRON XAVIER KASPER/Examiner, Art Unit 3657
/ADAM R MOTT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3657