Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 10/31/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending. Claims 12-15 are rejected. Claims 1-11 and 16-20 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-15, filed 10/31/2025, with respect to claims 1-11 and 16-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of 08/13/2025 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 10/31/2025, with respect to claims 12-15, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues there is no teaching or suggestion of the feature “a length of the first buffer member in the optical axis direction is less than a length of the first buffer member in the second direction perpendicular to the optical axis.” Specifically, applicant argues that the protrusions 175 of Kim ‘089 are disposed on the stopper not on a lens holder, therefore the limitation is not met. However, Wu is used to disclose the first buffer members disposed on the lens holder. Kim ‘089 is only used to teach the shape of the first buffer members. It has been held that a mere change in shape of an element is generally recognized as being with in the level of ordinary skill in the art when the change in shape is not significant to the function of the combination. In re Dailey 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (US 20150346587 A1), hereinafter Lim, in view of Wu et al. (US 20220385136 A1), hereinafter Wu, and further in view of Kim (US 20220163089 A1), hereinafter Kim '089.
Regarding independent claim 12, Lim discloses a camera module comprising:
a housing (housing 110; ¶0026; Figure 1);
a carrier (first frame 310; ¶0032; Figure 1) accommodated in the housing (housing 110) (Figure 1) and configured to move in an optical axis direction (first frame 310 may move in a height direction (the Z axis direction based on Fig. 1); ¶0038; Figure 1);
and a lens holder (third frame 330; ¶0034; Figure 1) accommodated in the carrier (first frame 310) (Figure 1).
Lim does not disclose a first buffer member disposed on a first side surface of the lens holder and configured to face a first sidewall of the carrier in a first direction perpendicular to an optical axis; and a second buffer member, separate from the first buffer member, and disposed on a second side surface of the lens holder and configured to face a second sidewall of the carrier in a second direction perpendicular to both the optical axis and the first direction, wherein a length of the first buffer member in the optical axis direction is less than a length of the first buffer member in the second direction perpendicular to the optical axis.
However, Wu teaches a first buffer member (shock-absorbing components 600; ¶0038; Figure 3) disposed on a first side surface (side walls 330; ¶0038; Figure 3) of the lens holder (frame 300; ¶0038; Figure 3) and configured to face a first sidewall (side walls 520; ¶0038; Figure 3) of the carrier (housing 500; ¶0038; Figure 3) in a first direction perpendicular to an optical axis (Figure 3); and a second buffer member (shock-absorbing components 600; ¶0038; Figure 3), separate from the first buffer member (600; Figure 3), and disposed on a second side surface (side walls 330; ¶0038; Figure 3) of the lens holder (frame 300) and configured to face a second sidewall (side walls 520; ¶0038; Figure 3) of the carrier (housing 500) in a second direction perpendicular to both the optical axis and the first direction (Figure 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lim to incorporate the teachings of Wu to include first and second buffer members on the lens holder and configured to contact the carrier in order to absorb shock if the assembly is subjected to an impact or vibration (¶0038 of Wu).
Wu does not teach a length of the first buffer member in the optical axis direction is less than a length of the first buffer member in the second direction perpendicular to the optical axis.
However, Kim ‘089 teaches a similar camera module comprising a housing (110; Fig. 1; ¶0036), a carrier (120; Fig. 1; ¶0036), and a lens holder (130; Fig. 1; ¶0036), and further comprises a first buffer member (175; Fig. 3; ¶0076) and a second buffer member (175; Fig. 3; ¶0076), wherein a length of the first buffer member (175) in the optical axis direction is less than a length of the first buffer member (175) in the second direction perpendicular to the optical axis (Fig. 3).
It has been held that a mere change in shape of an element is generally recognized as being with in the level of ordinary skill in the art when the change in shape is not significant to the function of the combination. In re Dailey 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lim and Wu to change the shape of the first buffer member as taught by Kim ‘089 for the purpose of more efficiently fitting it on the existing shape of the lens holder and since it has been held that a mere change in shape of an element is generally recognized as being with in the level of ordinary skill in the art when the change in shape is not significant to the function of the combination. In re Dailey 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 13, Lim in view of Wu and further in view of Kim ‘089 discloses the camera module of claim 12, including the first buffer members and second buffer members, as set forth above. Lim fails to disclose the second buffer members are configured to contact the carrier based on a movement of the lens holder in at least one of a first direction perpendicular to the optical axis and a second direction perpendicular to both the optical axis and the first direction.
However, Wu teaches the second buffer members (shock-absorbing components 600) are configured to contact the carrier (housing 500) based on a movement of the lens holder (frame 300) in at least one of a first direction perpendicular to the optical axis (in lateral directions; ¶0038; Figure 3); and a second direction perpendicular to both the optical axis and the first direction (in lateral directions; ¶0038; Figure 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lim to incorporate the teachings of Wu to include first and second buffer members on the lens holder and configured to contact the carrier for the purpose of absorbing shock if the assembly is subjected to an impact or vibration (¶0038 of Wu).
Regarding claim 14, Lim in view of Wu and further in view of Kim ‘089 discloses the camera module of claim 12, including the first buffer members and second buffer members, as set forth above. Neither Lim nor Wu disclose the lens holder comprises insertion members at least partially inserted in the lens holder, and the second buffer members are disposed on the insertion members.
However, Kim ‘089 teaches an element (150; Fig. 3) comprises insertion members (170; Fig. 3; ¶0082) at least partially inserted in the element (Fig. 3; ¶0082), and the second buffer members (175) are disposed on the insertion members (170) (Fig. 3; ¶0076).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lim and Wu to incorporate the insertion members of Kim ‘089 for the purpose of more effectively implementing a step-by-step shock absorption (¶0077 of Kim ‘089).
Regarding claim 15, Lim in view of Wu and further in view of Kim ‘089 discloses the camera module of claim 12, as set forth above. Lim further comprises:
a shield case (shield can 120; ¶0026; Figure 1) coupled to the housing (housing 110) (Figure 1) and configured to cover an upper portion of the carrier (first frame 310);
and third buffer members (buffer member 500; ¶0025; Figures 1, 3A) configured to contact the shield case (¶0058-¶0059; Figures 1, 3A) based on a movement of the carrier (first frame 310) in the optical axis direction (to move smoothly in the optical axis direction; ¶0050) with respect to the housing (housing 110) (Figure 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-11 and 16-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art taken either singly or in combination fails to anticipate or fairly suggest the features/limitations of applicant's independent claims, in such a manner that a rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 102 or § 103 would be proper.
Regarding independent claim 1, the prior art taken either singly or in combination fails to anticipate or fairly suggest the camera module as claimed. None of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach of a camera module specifically including, as the distinguishing features in combination with the other limitations, first buffer members coupled to the OIS cover, wherein a distance between the lens holder and the first buffer members is less than a distance between the lens holder and the OIS cover, and wherein an air gap is formed in an optical axis direction between the OIS cover and the lens holder when the lens holder is in contact with the first buffer members. Specifically, the examiner agrees with applicant’s arguments in the remarks of 10/31/2025.
Regarding independent claim 16, the prior art taken either singly or in combination fails to anticipate or fairly suggest the camera module as claimed. None of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach of a camera module specifically including, as the distinguishing features in combination with the other limitations, first dampers disposed on a lower surface of the OIS cover, and configured to protrude toward an upper surface of the OIS movable body, wherein the OIS movable body is configured to contact the first dampers when the OIS movable body moves toward the OIS cover in the optical axis direction, and wherein an air gap is formed in the optical axis direction between the OIS cover and the OIS movable body when the OIS movable body contacts the first dampers. Specifically, the examiner agrees with applicant’s arguments in the remarks of 10/31/2025.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NATASHA NIGAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2872 January 5th, 2026
/George G. King/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872