Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on July 31st, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-4, 6, 8-21 and 23 are pending in the application. Claims 5, 7, and 22 have been cancelled.
The rejection of claims 1-4, 6, 9-10, 17-18, and 20-21 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Ivanov (US 20160201016 A1) and Yoshizaki (US 20190300821 A1) is maintained.
The rejection of claim 8 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Ivanov (US 20160201016 A1), Yoshizaki (US 20190300821 A1), and Anjur (US 20090156006 A1) is maintained.
The rejection of claim 12 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Ivanov (US 20160201016 A1), Yoshizaki (US 20190300821 A1), and Zhang (WO 2008144501 A2) is maintained.
The rejection of claim 13 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Ivanov (US 20160201016 A1), Yoshizaki (US 20190300821 A1), and Carter (US 20050090109 A1) is maintained.
The rejection of claims 14-16 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Ivanov (US 20160201016 A1), Yoshizaki (US 20190300821 A1), and Takahashi (JP 2017504190 A) is maintained.
The rejection of claim 19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Ivanov (US 20160201016 A1), Yoshizaki (US 20190300821 A1), and Takahashi (US 20170309492 A1) is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 9-10, 17-18, 20-21, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ivanov (US 20160201016 A1) and further in view of Yoshizaki (US 20190300821 A1).
With regard to claims 1-4, 6, 9, 20-21, and 23, Ivanov discloses a composition for cleaning contaminants from semiconductor wafers following chemical-mechanical polishing (see Abstract). Ivanov further teaches one or more organic amines (see Abstract) and monoethanolamine (MEA), triethanolamine (TEA), diethanolamine (DEA), or combinations thereof as suitable organic amines (see [0050]) for use in the composition. Ivanov further discloses MEA as a preferred organic amine (see [0051]). MEA, TEA, and DEA are disclosed in the instant specification as suitable second amine compounds. Ivanov further discloses less aggressive organic amines may be present from 6wt% to 20wt% in a concentrate and 0.12wt% to 0.4wt% in a diluted form (see [0058]). Ivanov further teaches organic amines are strong chelating agents which significantly improve cleaning ability, reduce post-CMP roughness, and lower metal loss from a semiconductor wafer (see [0019]). Ivanov further discloses the composition as having a pH of 10-14 (see [0006]).
However, Ivanov fails to disclose a first amine compound.
Yoshizaki discloses a surface treatment composition, an analogous art (see Abstract). Yoshizaki further discloses 2-amino-2-ethyl-1,3-propanediol as a pH adjustor (see [0101]). Yoshizaki further teaches aliphatic amines as suitable pH adjustors (see [0101]). Yoshizaki further teaches pH adjustors may be used alone or as mixtures of two or more (see [0102]). Yoshizaki further discloses pH adjustors at greater than 0.01wt% and preferably 5wt% or less to maintain the pH of the surface treatment (see [0118]) at between 4 and 12 (see [0121]). Yoshizaki further discloses that maintaining the pH within this range prevents a decrease in foreign body removing effect (see [0118]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to utilize the 2-amino-2-ethyl-1,3-propanediol of Yoshizaki in the composition of Ivanov for the purpose of maintaining a desired pH, which prevents a decrease in foreign body removing effect, as disclosed by Yoshizaki.
Ivanov further fails to disclose the ratio of first amine to second amine as 1 to 100.
With respect to the ratio of 1 to 100, considering that Yoshizaki teaches 2-amino-2-ethyl-1,3-propanediol in the range of 0.01wt% to 5wt% as disclosed in [0175] and [0182] and Ivanov teaches triethanolamine in the range of 6wt% to 20wt% in a concentrate and 0.12wt% to 0.4wt% in a diluted form as disclosed in [0058], one having ordinary skill in the art would know to optimize the concentrations of the above compounds in order to produce a desired concentrated or dilute solution. Further, one having ordinary skill in the art would know to optimize said concentrations based on a desired pH. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) MPEP 2144.05.
With regard to claim 10, Ivanov discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
However, Ivanov fails to disclose an anionic surfactant.
Yoshizaki discloses the solution may comprise 0.005wt% to 3wt% of an anionic surfactant (see [0068]-[0069]). Yoshizaki further discloses the anionic surfactant is adsorbed on the object to be polished after polishing and foreign bodies, the adsorption takes place in a larger area. As a result, particularly foreign bodies form micelles more easily, whereby the foreign body removing effect caused by the dissolution/dispersion of the micelles is improved (see [0068]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to utilize the anionic surfactant of Yoshizaki in the composition for cleaning contaminants from semiconductor wafers of Ivanov as surfactants are adsorbed on the object to be polished after polishing and foreign bodies, the adsorption takes place in a larger area. As a result, particularly foreign bodies form micelles more easily, whereby the foreign body removing effect caused by the dissolution/dispersion of the micelles is improved, as disclosed by Yoshizaki.
With regard to claim 11, Ivanov discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
However, Ivanov fails to disclose two or more organic acids.
Yoshizaki discloses organic acids, such as acetic acid and butyric acid, as pH adjustors (see [0100]). Yoshizaki further discloses that the pH adjustor may be used alone or as a mixture of two or more kinds (see [0102]). The 2-amino-2-ethyl-1,3-propanediol of claim 1 is disclosed as a basic pH adjustor (see [0101]). However, acetic acid and butyric acid are disclosed as acids usable as pH adjustors (see [0100]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to utilize the acetic acid and butyric acid of Yoshizaki in the composition of Ivanov to decrease the pH as necessary, particularly as the pH adjustor may be a mixture of two or more kinds, as disclosed by Yoshizaki.
With regard to claim 17, Ivanov discloses the semiconductor thin films may be composed of copper, tungsten, or cobalt (see [0001]).
With regard to claim 18, Ivanov discloses a cleaning method comprising (a) providing a semiconductor wafer having contaminants resulting from chemical-mechanical polishing of the semiconductor wafer and (b) contacting the surface of the semiconductor wafer with a cleaning composition in accordance with embodiments of the invention to remove at least some of the contaminants from the surface of the semiconductor wafer (see [0007]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ivanov (US 20160201016 A1) and Yoshizaki (US 20190300821 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Anjur (US 20090156006 A1).
With regard to claim 8, Ivanov and Yoshizaki disclose all of the limitations of claim 1.
However, Ivanov and Yoshizaki fail to disclose a second amine compound including 2-(methylamino)-2-methyl-1-propanol.
Ivanov discloses a composition for cleaning contaminants from semiconductor wafers following chemical-mechanical polishing (see [Abstract]). Ivanov further teaches one or more organic amines, which are disclosed as strong chelating agents which significantly improve cleaning ability, reduce post-CMP roughness, and lower metal loss from a semiconductor wafer (see [0019]). Ivanov further teaches amino alcohols as organic amines (see [0050]).
Anjur discloses a CMP compound used for polishing. Anjur further discloses an organic compound, including 2-(methylamino)-2-methyl-1-propanol (see [0021]).
MEA, DEA, and 2-(methylamino)-2-methyl-1-propanol, are amino alcohols. MEA and DEA are essentially functional equivalents of the 2-(methylamino)-2-methyl-1-propanol. Substituting equivalents, namely amino alcohols, motivated by the reasonable expectation that the respective species will behave in a comparable manner or even provide comparable results in related circumstances, see In re Ruff, 256 F.2d 590, 118 USPQ 340 (CCPA 1958) is prima facie obvious. Moreover, the expressed suggestion to substitute one equivalent for another need not be present to render the substitution obvious, see In re Font 213 USPQ 532. See MPEP 2144.06
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to substitute MEA or DEA for 2-(methylamino)-2-methyl-1-propanol as both are amino alcohols and thus it would be reasonable to expect 2-(methylamino)-2-methyl-1-propanol would perform in the same manner as other amino alcohols in a similar composition.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ivanov (US 20160201016 A1) and Yoshizaki (US 20190300821 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Zhang (WO 2008144501 A2).
With regard to claim 12, Ivanov and Yoshizaki disclose all of the limitations of claim 1.
However, Ivanov and Yoshizaki fail to disclose two or more reducing agents.
Zhang discloses a cleaning composition for post chemical mechanical polishing residue and contaminants, an analogous art (see [Abstract]). Zhang further discloses a composition comprising one or more reducing agents (see [0045]).
Ivanov, Yoshizaki, and Zhang disclose a cleaning composition for a semi-conductor. Applicant is reminded of In re Kerkhoven, which affirmed that "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose....the idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art". In re Kerkhoven, 626 F .2d 846, 850, 205, USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). Therefore, one having ordinary skill in the art would find the claimed invention obvious because Ivanov, Yoshizaki, and Zhang disclose a cleaning composition for a semi-conductor. As stated above, Ivanov, Yoshizaki, and Zhang g disclose a cleaning composition for a semi-conductor. It would, therefore, have been obvious to combine the at least one reducing agent, as disclosed by Zhang, with the post-CMP cleaning composition disclosed by Ivanov and Yoshizaki to produce a cleaning composition for a semi-conductor.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ivanov (US 20160201016 A1) and Yoshizaki (US 20190300821 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Carter (US 20050090109 A1).
With regard to claim 13, Ivanov and Yoshizaki disclose all of the limitations of claim 1.
However, Ivanov and Yoshizaki fail to disclose two or more surfactants.
Carter discloses a fluid composition for chemical mechanical polishing of substrates, an analogous art (see Abstract). Carter discloses a combination of two or more surfactants, which may be anionic, for the purpose of reducing within-wafer-non-uniformity (see [0072]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to utilize the two or more surfactants of Carter in the solution of Ivanov for the purpose of reducing within-wafer-non-uniformity.
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ivanov (US 20160201016 A1) and Yoshizaki (US 20190300821 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Takahashi (JP 2017504190 A).
With regard to claims 14-16, Ivanov and Yoshizaki disclose all of the limitations of claim 1.
However, Ivanov and Yoshizaki fail to disclose a composition comprising a nitrogen-containing heteroaromatic compound and a specific chelating agent in which a coordination group is a nitrogen-containing group.
Takahashi teaches a composition for cleaning a semiconductor substrate, an analogous art (see [Abstract]). Takahashi further teaches said composition comprising at least one first chelating agent, at least two nitrogen containing groups, and at least one second chelating agent (see [Abstract]). Takahashi further discloses 2-guanidinobenzimidazole (see [0042]). Imidazoles are disclosed in the instant specifications as suitable nitrogen-containing heteroaromatic compounds. Takahashi further discloses ethylene dibiguanide as a second chelating agent (see [0045]). Ethylene dibiguanide is stated in the instant specifications as a suitable specific chelating agent.
Ivanov, Yoshizaki, and Takahashi disclose a cleaning composition for a semi-conductor. Applicant is reminded of In re Kerkhoven, which affirmed that "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose....the idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art". In re Kerkhoven, 626 F .2d 846, 850, 205, USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). Therefore, one having ordinary skill in the art would find the claimed invention obvious because Ivanov, Yoshizaki, and Takahashi disclose a cleaning composition for semiconductor substrates. As stated above, Ivanov, Yoshizaki, and Takahashi disclose cleaning compositions for semiconductor substrates. It would, therefore, have been obvious to combine the nitrogen-containing heteroaromatic compound and specific chelating agent, as disclosed by Takahashi, with cleaning composition for semiconductor substrates disclosed by Ivanov and Yoshizaki to produce a cleaning composition for semiconductor substrates.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ivanov (US 20160201016 A1) and Yoshizaki (US 20190300821 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Takahashi (US 20170309492 A1).
With regard to claim 19, Ivanov and Yoshizaki disclose all of the limitations of claim 1.
However, Ivanov and Yoshizaki fail to disclose R1, R2, and R3 of Formula I each representing an alkyl group with no hydroxy group.
US 20170309492 A1, hereafter Takahashi-2, discloses a liquid for use in post CMP treatment (see [0232]). Takahashi-2 further discloses tertiary butylamine listed as a pH adjustor for the purpose of raising or lowering the pH of the composition to the desired value (see [0177], [0178]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to utilize the tertiary butylamine of Takahashi-2, in the residue removing solution of Ivanov and Yoshizaki, for the purpose of maintaining the pH between 10 and 14 as disclosed by Ivanov.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 31st, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that, while Ivanov and Yoshizaki describe broad ranges for "organic amines" or "pH buffers" as a general group, they fail to provide any motivation to select two specific compounds-2- amino-2-ethyl-l,3-propanediol (First Amine) and triethanolamine (Second Amine)-and adjust their individual amounts to the specific mass ratio of 1 to 100 as alleged in the Office Action. Applicant further argues that without such teaching, the Office's combination relies on impermissible hindsight.
Regarding the organic amines, Ivanov specifically states that monoethanolamine is preferred. One having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to select monoethanolamine as the second amine as Ivanov discloses monoethanolamine as particularly desirable among a list of organic amines.
Regarding the pH buffers, the list disclosed by Yoshizaki comprises several options. However, 2-amino-2-ethyl-1,3-propanediol is disclosed in both the general list and a subsequent list detailing preferred pH buffers which further improve foreign body removability. Therefore, one having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to select 2-amino-2-ethyl-1,3-propanediol for the purpose of increased improvement in foreign body removability, as disclosed by Yoshizaki.
Applicant further argues the ratio of 1 to 100 is a critical threshold. As stated above, with respect to the ratio of 1 to 100, considering that Yoshizaki teaches 2-amino-2-ethyl-1,3-propanediol in the range of 0.01wt% to 5wt% as disclosed in [0175] and [0182] and Ivanov teaches triethanolamine in the range of 6wt% to 20wt% in a concentrate and 0.12wt% to 0.4wt% in a diluted form as disclosed in [0058], one having ordinary skill in the art would know to optimize the concentrations of the above compounds in order to produce a desired concentrated or dilute solution. Further, one having ordinary skill in the art would know to optimize said concentrations based on a desired pH. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) MPEP 2144.05.
One having ordinary skill in the art would be able to determine the critical range claimed through routine experimentation within the ranges disclosed by Ivanov and Yoshizaki.
Applicant further argues the amendment to 5.0 mass% of the first amine is justified by a distinct improvement in performance. As evidenced by a comparison between Example 24 (3.0 mass%) and Example 25 (5.0 mass%), the cleaning performance for Cobalt (Co) improves from a "B" to the highest "A" rating. The Specification confirms that exceeding 3 mass% is essential for "more excellent" cleaning of specific metal films. Further, Table 1 discloses AMP and TEAH as the amines necessary to achieve this rating. The instant claims disclose neither AMP nor TEAH. Therefore, the results are not commensurate in scope with the instant claims.
As stated above, Yoshizaki discloses 2-amino-2-ethyl-1,3-propanediol as a pH adjustor (see [0101]). Yoshizaki further teaches aliphatic amines as suitable pH adjustors (see [0101]). Yoshizaki further teaches pH adjustors may be used alone or as mixtures of two or more (see [0102]). Yoshizaki further discloses pH adjustors at greater than 0.01wt% and preferably 5wt% or less (see [0118]). As shown, 5wt% is within the range disclosed by Yoshizaki. Therefore, one having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the disclosed 5wt% of 2-amino-2-ethyl-1,3-propanediol as a pH adjustor for the purpose of maintaining a desirable pH level.
Applicant further argues the upper limit of 15wt% of the first amine is critical to the performance of the composition.
Claim 23 states “the content of the first amine compound is 5.0 to 15 mass% based on a total mass of the cleaning liquid”.
As stated above, Yoshizaki further discloses pH adjustors at greater than 0.01wt% and preferably 5wt% or less (see [0118]).
While Yoshizaki discloses 5wt% or less as preferred, the requirement for the composition of Yoshizaki is “preferably 0.01 mass % or more based on the total mass of the surface treatment composition”. The entire reference must be considered. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to utilize the preferably 0.01 mass % or more of 2-amino-2-ethyl-1,3-propanediol based on the total mass of the surface treatment composition of Yoshizaki in the composition for cleaning contaminants from semiconductor wafers following chemical-mechanical polishing of Ivanov.
Conclusion
/B.S.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1761
/ANGELA C BROWN-PETTIGREW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1761