DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A, D, and E in the reply filed on 7 August 2026 is acknowledged. In response to the amendment to claim 26, no claims are withdrawn.
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 19 October 2026. As directed by the amendment: claim 1 has been amended, claim 29 has been added. Thus claims 1-29 are presently pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites “wherein the distal luminal portion of the catheter has a length that is greater than 40 cm and sufficient to allow the distal end of the distal luminal portion to reach a target site within the intracranial vessel and the point of attachment between the distal luminal portion and the proximal extension to be positioned within a vessel proximal to the brachiocephalic take-off.” This limitation is broader than the originally filed limitation which required an upper limit (“up to less than a working length of the guide sheath through which the system is advanced”). Removing the upper limit broadens the claim to include a length of the distal luminal portion of the catheter that is greater than the working length of the guide sheath through which the system is advanced. There is no description in the specification to provide support for such a length. In REMARKS filed 19 October 2026, the applicant cites written support in paragraphs [0128]-[0129] and [0168], however, there does not appear to be support for the claimed open ended range of the distal luminal portion in these paragraphs.
Claim(s) 2-28 are rejected as being dependent on, and failing to cure the deficiencies of, rejected independent claim 1. The examiner notes claim 29 is not rejected under 112(a) as it cures the deficiency of claim 1.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the proximal opening of the flexible elongate body". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The examiner notes a proximal opening of the flexible elongate body is introduced in claim 11.
Claim 7 is rejected as being dependent on, and failing to cure the deficiencies of, rejected claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-16, and 19-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garrison et al. (US 2016/0367272 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Garrison et al. discloses a catheter system for performing a medical procedure in an intracranial vessel of a patient, the system comprising:
a catheter (320 Fig 1) comprising:
a flexible distal luminal portion ([0047] “a relatively flexible, distal luminal portion 322”, 322 Fig 1) having a proximal end ([0087] “where the portion 322 couples to the spine 330”), a proximal end region (326 Fig 1), a proximal opening (see the opening in the proximal end in Fig 8A), a distal end ([0047] “a proximal end and a distal end of the luminal portion 322”), and a lumen (323 Fig 8A) extending between the proximal end and the distal end ([0047] “inner lumen 323 extending between a proximal end and a distal end of the luminal portion 322”); and
a proximal extension (330) extending proximally from a point of attachment adjacent the proximal opening (the proximal end of the transition 326 Fig 1), wherein the proximal extension is less flexible than the flexible distal luminal portion ([0047] “the spined aspiration catheter 320 can include a relatively flexible, distal luminal portion 322 coupled to a stiff and kink-resistant proximal spine 330”) and is configured to control movement of the catheter ([0085] “The spine 330 can be configured with sufficient stiffness to allow advancement and retraction of the distal luminal portion 322 of the spined aspiration catheter 320, yet also be flexible enough to navigate through the cerebral anatomy as needed.”), wherein the proximal extension has an outer diameter at the point of attachment ([0085] “the outer diameter of the spine 330 is sized to avoid taking up too much luminal area in the lumen 223 of the access sheath 220 and sheath body 222. In an implementation, the spine 330 is a round wire, with dimensions from 0.014″ to 0.018″”) that is smaller than an outer diameter of the distal luminal portion at the point of attachment (the angled cut [0087] at the transition section would have the larger diameter of the luminal portion 322 and the proximal extension would have the smaller diameter dimension of the spine); and
a catheter advancement element (340, using the embodiment described in [0091] “the dilator 340 can incorporate a proximal spine that aligns side-by-side with the spine of the catheter 320. The proximal spine can be positioned co-axial or eccentric to a distal end region of the dilator 340. The co-axial proximal spine of the dilator 340 can have a lumen extending through it.”, the embodiment shown in Fig 12B includes a proximal spine) comprising:
a flexible elongate body ([0092] “the material of the dilator 340 can be flexible”) having a proximal end region (the proximal end of the dilator portion 1360 Fig 12A), an outer diameter ([0090] “The dilator 340 can have an outer diameter”, see the outer diameter of 1360 Fig 12A), a tapered distal tip portion (346 Fig 1), a distal opening, and a single lumen extending longitudinally through the flexible elongate body to the distal opening ([0090] “the distal tapered tip 346 that provides a smooth transition down to the guidewire that extends out the inner lumen of the dilator 340”, the distal opening is the opening through which the guidewire extends out of the lumen); and
a proximal portion (1362 Fig 12A) extending proximally from the proximal end region to a proximal-most end of the catheter advancement element (1362 extends from the proximal end of 1360 to the proximal most end at 1364 Fig 12A),
wherein the catheter advancement element is sized to be positioned through the proximal opening of the flexible distal luminal portion into the catheter lumen ([0090] “The dilator 340 is sized and shaped to be inserted through the internal lumen 323 of the distal luminal portion 322 of the catheter 320 in a coaxial fashion”, As shown in Fig 12A) such that the tapered distal tip portion extends distal to the distal end of the distal luminal portion ([0090] “The length of the dilator 340 can be at least as long as the spined aspiration catheter 320 allowing for the distal tapered tip 346 as a minimum to protrude from the distal end of the luminal portion 322 of the spined catheter 320.”), and wherein the flexible distal luminal portion and the proximal extension are configured to pass through a guide sheath (220 Fig 1, [0046] “The spined aspiration catheter 320 is sized to extend through the inner lumen 223 of the access sheath 220”), and
wherein the distal luminal portion of the catheter has a length that is about 10 cm to about 25 cm ([0014] “The length of the luminal portion can be between 10 cm and 25 cm.”).
However, Garrison et al. fails to teach wherein the distal luminal portion of the catheter has a length that is greater than 40 cm, and the length sufficient to allow the distal end of the distal luminal portion to reach a target site within the intracranial vessel and the point of attachment between the distal luminal portion and the proximal extension be positioned within a vessel proximal to the brachiocephalic take-off, as required by the claim.
Garrison et al discloses that the length of the distal luminal portion needs to be optimized by “Taking into account the variation in occlusion sites and sites where the access sheath distal tip may be positioned” [0076] and the access sheath is “advanced until the sheath tip is positioned at a site as distal as safely possible in the internal or common carotid artery” and “The spined aspiration catheter 320 is advanced through access sheath and positioned until the distal tip is at the treatment site” [0126]. As such the length of the distal luminal portion of the catheter is disclosed to be a result effective variable in that changing the length changes the distance the distal luminal portion can be advanced to reach the treatment site beyond the safest site possible for the access sheath to reach. Further, it appears that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the Garrison et al. device to have a length within the claimed range, as it involves only adjusting the dimension of a component disclosed to require adjustment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the device of Garrison et al. by making the length of the distal luminal portion be greater than 40 cm as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
The modification to make the distal luminal portion at least 40 cm would result in the distal luminal portion being a length sufficient to allow the distal end of the distal luminal portion to reach a target site within the intracranial vessel and the point of attachment between the distal luminal portion and the proximal extension be positioned within a vessel proximal to the brachiocephalic take-off (as described in the instant specification in [00106] a length of 35 cm-60 cm would be sufficient to position the distal end of the distal luminal portion distal to the carotid siphon when the point of attachment is positioned proximal to the brachiocephalic take-off, so a length of at least 40 cm as modified would also be sufficient).
Regarding claim 2, modified Garrison et al. teaches the system of claim 1. Modified Garrison et al. further teaches wherein the length of the distal luminal portion is sufficient to position the distal end of the distal luminal portion distal to the carotid siphon when the point of attachment is positioned proximal to the brachiocephalic take-off (as modified in the rejection of claim 1, the distal end of the distal luminal portion is modified to be at least 40 cm, as described in the instant specification in [00106] a length of 35 cm-60 cm would be sufficient so a length of at least 40 cm as modified would also be sufficient).
Regarding claim 3, modified Garrison et al. teaches the system of claim 1. Modified Garrison et al. further teaches wherein the proximal portion of the catheter advancement element (1362 Fig 12A) is coupled to the proximal end region of the flexible elongate body (1360 Fig 12A) at a point of attachment (1326 Fig 12A), the proximal portion extending proximally from the point of attachment to the proximal-most end of the catheter advancement element (1362 extends from the proximal end of 1360 at the point of attachment at 1326 to the proximal most end at 1364 Fig 12A).
Regarding claim 4, modified Garrison et al. teaches the system of claim 1. Modified Garrison et al. further teaches wherein proximal portion of the catheter advancement element has a single lumen extending through an entire length of the proximal portion that communicates with the single lumen of the elongate body ([0091] “The tubular body of the dilator 340 can extend along the entire length of the catheter 320. […] The co-axial proximal spine of the dilator 340 can have a lumen extending through it.”).
Regarding claim 5, modified Garrison et al. teaches the system of claim 3. Modified Garrison et al. further teaches wherein the elongate body has a length sufficient to allow the point of attachment between the elongate body and the proximal portion to remain within or proximal to the aortic arch when assembled with the catheter, the distal end of the catheter positioned near the target site within the intracranial vessel off (as modified in the rejection of claim 1, the distal end of the distal luminal portion is modified to be greater than 40 cm, as described in the instant specification in [00106] a length of 35 cm-60 cm would be sufficient to allow the distal luminal portion of the catheter to be positioned as claimed, because the flexible elongate body extends the length of the distal luminal portion [0090] its length would also be sufficient).
Regarding claim 6, modified Garrison et al. teaches the system of claim 5. However, modified Garrison et al. fails to teach wherein the proximal opening of the flexible elongate body is through a sidewall of the flexible elongate body and is located a distance distal to the proximal portion of the catheter advancement element coupled to the proximal end region.
Another embodiment of Garrison et al. teaches wherein the proximal opening of the flexible elongate body is through a sidewall of the flexible elongate body ([0095] “The transition section 1326 can incorporate an angled cut”, [0095] “The dilator portion 1360 can be a tubular element as described elsewhere herein that forms a guidewire lumen running a length of the dilator portion 1360 (and an entire length of the distal luminal portion 1322 of the spined catheter 1320).”) and is located a distance distal to the proximal portion of the catheter advancement element coupled to the proximal end region (the distal opening resulting from the angled cut would be located a distance from the proximal portion because it is angled). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to include the limitations of the other embodiment as they are disclosed as obvious alternatives [0095].
Regarding claim 7, modified Garrison et al. teaches the system of claim 6. However, modified Garrison et al. is silent to wherein the distance is about 10 cm from the distal tip portion up to about 20 cm from the distal tip portion.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of modified Garrison et al. to have the distance about 10 cm from the distal tip portion up to about 20 cm from the distal tip portion since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Garrison et al. would not operate differently with the claimed distance range and since the device would function appropriately having the claimed distance range. Further, it appears that applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating simply that the distance “can” be within the claimed range (specification pp. [0014]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Garrison et al. teaches the system of claim 1. Modified Garrison et al. further teaches wherein at least a portion of the proximal extension of the catheter is color-coded ([0084] “the spine 330 is colored a bright color, or marked with a bright color, to make it easily distinguishable from guidewire, retrievable stent tethers, or the like.”).
Regarding claim 10, modified Garrison et al. teaches the system of claim 1. Modified Garrison et al. further teaches wherein the single lumen of the flexible elongate body is sized to accommodate a guidewire ([0090] “In an implementation, the tapered dilator 340 is designed to accommodate a guidewire that may be in the range of 0.014″ and 0.018″ diameter for example”).
Regarding claim 11, modified Garrison et al. teaches the system of claim 10. However, modified Garrison et al. fails to teach wherein the flexible elongate body comprises a proximal opening sized to accommodate the guidewire.
Another embodiment of Garrison et al. teaches wherein the flexible elongate body comprises a proximal opening sized to accommodate the guidewire ([0095] “The transition section 1326 can incorporate an angled cut”, [0095] “The dilator portion 1360 can be a tubular element as described elsewhere herein that forms a guidewire lumen running a length of the dilator portion 1360 (and an entire length of the distal luminal portion 1322 of the spined catheter 1320).”) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to include the limitations of the other embodiment as they are disclosed as obvious alternatives [0095].
Regarding claim 12, modified Garrison et al. teaches the system of claim 11. Modified Garrison et al. further teaches wherein the proximal opening of the flexible elongate body is located within the proximal end region of the flexible elongate body ([0095] “The transition section 1326 can incorporate an angled cut”).
Regarding claim 13, modified Garrison et al. teaches the system of claim 1. Modified Garrison et al. further teaches wherein a flexibility of the flexible elongate body transitions to be less flexible proximally towards the proximal portion forming a first plurality of material transitions ([0093] “The dilator 340 can be constructed to have variable stiffness between the distal and proximal ends of the dilator 340. For example, the distal most section that extends beyond the distal end of the luminal portion 322 of the catheter 320 can be made from a more flexible material, with increasingly stiffer materials towards the more proximal sections”).
Regarding claim 14, modified Garrison et al. teaches the system of claim 1. Modified Garrison et al. further teaches wherein the distal tip portion comprises a material having a material hardness that is no more than 35D ([0065] “The distal section of the soft, second dilator may be, for example, 35 or 40D PEBAX”, the 35D embodiment is no more than 35D), and wherein the proximal end region of the elongate body comprises a material having a material hardness that is between 55D to 72D ([0065] “a proximal portion made of, for example 72D PEBAX”).
Regarding claim 15, modified Garrison et al. teaches the system of claim 1. Modified Garrison et al. further teaches wherein the elongate body comprises a first segment including the distal tip portion having a hardness of no more than 35D ([0065] “The distal section of the soft, second dilator may be, for example, 35 or 40D PEBAX”, the 35D embodiment is no more than 35D), wherein the elongate body comprises a second segment located proximal to the first segment having a hardness of no more than 55D ([0065] “An intermediate mid portion or portions may be included on the second dilator to provide a smooth transition between the soft distal section and the stiffer proximal section.” A smooth transition between 35D and 72D would include a segment with a hardness under 55D), and wherein the elongate body comprises a third segment located proximal to the second segment having a hardness of no more than 72D ([0065] “a proximal portion made of, for example 72D PEBAX”).
Regarding claim 16, modified Garrison et al. teaches the system of claim 15. Modified Garrison et al. further teaches wherein the proximal portion (1362 Fig 12A) couples to the elongate body (1360 Fig 12A) within the third segment (the proximal portion of the dilator is where the dilator 1360 transitions to the spine 1362 Fig 12A, the third segment is the proximal portion of the dilator).
Regarding claim 19, modified Garrison et al. teaches the system of claim 15. Modified Garrison et al. further teaches wherein the first, second, and third segments combine to form an insert length of the elongate body (the segments define the dilator 1360 Fig 12A, this forms an insert length).
Regarding claim 20, modified Garrison et al. teaches the system of claim 1. Modified Garrison et al. further teaches wherein a flexibility of the flexible distal luminal portion transitions to be less flexible proximally towards the proximal extension ([0078] “The outer jacket layer may be composed of discreet sections of polymer with different durometers, composition, and/or thickness to vary the flexibility along the length of the distal luminal portion 322. In an implementation the lubricious inner liner is a PTFE liner, with one or more thicknesses along variable sections of flexibility.”), wherein the flexible distal luminal portion comprises a second plurality of material transitions (the transitions between the discrete sections of polymer of 322), wherein the flexible elongate body is positioned within the lumen of the catheter such that the distal tip portion of the flexible elongate body extends distally beyond the distal end of the catheter (as shown in Fig 12A the distal tip 1346 extends distally) such that the first plurality of material transitions of the flexible elongate body are staggered relative to and do not overlap with the second plurality of material transitions of the flexible distal luminal portion ([0093] “The dilator 340 can be constructed to have variable stiffness between the distal and proximal ends of the dilator 340. For example, the distal most section that extends beyond the distal end of the luminal portion 322 of the catheter 320 can be made from a more flexible material, with increasingly stiffer materials towards the more proximal sections”) (the transitions of the flexible elongate body are offset radially so as to not overlap).
Regarding claim 21, modified Garrison et al. teaches the system of claim 1. Modified Garrison et al. further teaches wherein the length of the distal luminal portion allows for the distal end of the distal luminal portion to extend distal to a carotid siphon into the cerebral portion of an internal carotid artery while the proximal end of the distal luminal portion remains within the descending aorta (as modified in the rejection of claim 1, the distal end of the distal luminal portion is modified to be greater than 40 cm, and as described in the instant specification in [00108] a length of greater than 40 cm up to less than the working length of the sheath body would be sufficient to allow the distal luminal portion of the catheter to be positioned as claimed).
Regarding claim 22, modified Garrison et al. teaches the system of claim 1. Modified Garrison et al. teaches wherein the lumen of the distal luminal portion of the catheter is defined by a wall and a distal end region of the proximal extension is sandwiched within layers of the wall of the distal luminal portion ([0081] “the spine 330 and luminal portion 322 are coupled together by sandwiching the spine 330 between layers of the distal luminal portion 322”).
Regarding claim 23, modified Garrison et al. teaches the system of claim 1. Modified Garrison et al. further teaches wherein the flexible elongate body (1360 Fig 12A) incorporates a segment located distal to the proximal end region and proximal to the tapered distal tip portion (the portion of 1360 that is positioned within 1322 as shown in Fig 12A), wherein the outer diameter of the flexible elongate body is within the segment (the outer diameter of 1322 Fig 12A), and wherein an outer diameter of the proximal end region is smaller than the outer diameter of the flexible elongate body within the segment (an outer diameter of 1326 at the attachment point is smaller than the outer diameter of 1360).
Regarding claim 24, modified Garrison et al. teaches the system of claim 1. Modified Garrison et al. further teaches wherein the proximal portion of the catheter advancement element and the proximal extension of the catheter extend side-by-side when assembled as a system (See the side by side assembly in Fig 12A).
Regarding claim 25, modified Garrison et al. teaches the system of claim 25. However modified Garrison et al. fails to teach wherein the proximal portion of the catheter advancement element comprises a hypotube having a distal end coupled to the flexible elongate body.
Garrison et al. teaches the spine of the catheter 330 comprises a hypotube. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing for the spine of the proximal portion of the catheter advancement element to be a hypotube as a hypotube is taught as an alternative structure for a spine [0085].
Regarding claim 26, modified Garrison et al. teaches the system of claim 1. Modified Garrison et al further teaches wherein the proximal extension of the catheter (330 Fig 1) is a solid metal wire or ribbon ([0085] “In an implementation, the spine 330 is a round wire”, “In another implementation, the spine 330 is a ribbon”, “the spine 330 material is a metal”).
Regarding claim 27, modified Garrison et al. teaches the system of claim 1. Modified Garrison et al. further teaches further comprising a tab positioned on a proximal end of the proximal extension of the catheter (334 Fig 1), wherein the tab is positioned relative to the proximal opening (the tab is necessarily some length from the proximal opening) to prevent over-insertion of the catheter relative to the guide sheath so as to maintain the proximal opening within the guide sheath (the user would be capable of determining the position of the catheter in the guide sheath from the position of the tab relative to the valve 234 Fig 1).
Regarding claim 28, modified Garrison et al. teaches the system of claim 27. Modified Garrison et al. further teaches wherein the tab is sized to abut against a connector (234 Fig 1) on the guide sheath preventing further advancement of the distal luminal portion of the catheter through the guide sheath (the valve 234 is a hemostasis valve that would seal against the sheaths inserted therein, the sheaths are narrower than the tab as shown in Fig 1 so the tab would abut against the connector preventing further advancement as claimed).
Regarding claim 29, modified Garrison et al. teaches the system of claim 1. Garrison et al. further teaches wherein the distal luminal portion of the catheter has a length up to less than a working length of the guide sheath through which the system is advanced ([0076] “The length of the distal luminal portion 322 is less than the length of the sheath body 222 of the access sheath 220”).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garrison et al. (US 2016/0367272 A1) in view of Kashkarov et al. (US 2009/0318951 A1).
Regarding claim 8, modified Garrison et al. teaches the system of claim 1. Modified Garrison et al. further teaches wherein the catheter system is formed as a kit ([0119] “the system 100 may include a kit of multiple devices”) and the catheter advancement element positioned within the lumen of the distal luminal portion such that the proximal portion of the flexible elongate body is locked with the proximal extension of the catheter ([0093] “a tab 1364 that allows the dilator 340 to lock with the tab 334 on the proximal end of the spine 330 of the catheter 320”).
However, modified Garrison et al. is silent to the assembled catheter system is pre-packaged.
Kashkarov et al. teaches a pre-packaged catheter system is assembled ([0097] “the catheter dilator 18 may be inserted into the introducer 16 at the manufacturer and sealed together in a sterile package”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing for the pre-packaged catheter system of modified Garrison et al. to be assembled as taught by Kashkarov et al. “such that the clinician can unpack and use the two components as a unit.” [0097]
Claim(s) 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garrison et al. (US 2016/0367272 A1) in view of Varma et al. (US 2005/0070880 A1).
Regarding claim 17, modified Garrison et al. teaches the system of claim 15. However, modified Garrison et al. fails to teach wherein the first segment is unreinforced and the third segment is reinforced.
Varma et al. teaches a first segment is unreinforced (distal end of 104 Fig 1) and a third segment is reinforced (108 Fig 1 reinforced with 140). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing for the first segment to be unreinforced and the third segment to be reinforced as taught by Varma et al. to controllably provide a gradual transition in flexibility [0068].
Regarding claim 18, modified Garrison et al. teaches the system of claim 17. Modified Garrison et al. further teaches wherein the second segment is at least partially reinforced (Varma et al.- 112 Fig 1).
Conclusion
/A.E.V./Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/COURTNEY FREDRICKSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783