DETAILED ACTION
This is the first office action regarding application number 17849636, filed on 06/25/2022, which claims benefit of U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/215,385 filed June 25, 2021.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the primary light interface elements configured in part to absorb the incoming light in claim 20 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 recites “discreet”, the word should be “discrete”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
"a marking zone" in claim 1, interpreted as conveyor as described “the marking zone 106 may be defined in part by a conveyor element 156” in paragraph [28 ] of the original disclosure, and equivalents thereof,
“laser transmission element” in claim 1, interpreted as laser source as described in Fig. 1 of the original disclosure, and equivalents thereof,
“primary light interface elements” in claims 14 and 15, interpreted as pattern as described “Light interface elements may be selected to take on a variety of shapes, depending upon, for example, the desired optical properties of the indelible identifier” in paragraph [40 ] of the original disclosure, and equivalents thereof,
“secondary light interface elements” in claim 15, interpreted as pattern as described “Light interface elements may be selected to take on a variety of shapes, depending upon, for example, the desired optical properties of the indelible identifier” in paragraph [40 ] of the original disclosure, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8-18, 21, 28-30, 61-63, 72 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Dassie et al., US 20130244002 (hereafter Dassie).
Regarding claim 1,
An ultrashort pulse laser marking apparatus (Fig. 1 in Dassie)
for forming indelible identifiers on discreet consumable articles, the apparatus comprising: (Fig. 2)
a marking zone configured to retain one or more discrete consumable articles; and (Paragraph [63] teaches “The tablet C is present in a cavity 10 of cylindrical form used to position the tablet C within the field of the laser.” Paragraph [64] teaches “The relative movement of the surface of the tablet and of the laser ray is here obtained by means for displacing the tablet linked to the tool.” Here cavity with a means for displacing corresponds to the marking zone.)
Fig. 1 and Fig. 2 in Dassie
an ultrashort pulse laser transmission element configured to transmit a beam of laser energy toward the marking zone (Paragraph [24] teaches “an infrared laser can be used with a pulse duration of 100 to 1000 fs”)
to form an optically-readable (Paragraph [35] teaches “this marking makes it possible to distinguish said pharmaceutical form from counterfeit products by virtue of the use of an optical microscope,”)
indelible identifier on a said discrete consumable article, (Paragraph [39] teaches “the marking pattern has a particularly long life.”)
the beam having a pulse duration less than 10 picosecond, (Paragraph [24] teaches “an infrared laser can be used with a pulse duration of 100 to 1000 fs”. Here the range taught in Dassie is within the claimed range of less than 10 ps and thus anticipated. MPEP 2131.03-I teaches “"If the prior art discloses a point within the claimed range, the prior art anticipates the claim." UCB, Inc. v. Actavis Labs. UT, Inc., 65 F.4th 679, 687, 2023 USPQ2d 448 (Fed. Cir. 2023).”)
and a wavelength of less than 1.5 microns. (Paragraph [24] teaches “a laser is used with a wavelength of 1030 nm.” Here the range taught in Dassie is within the claimed range of less than 1.5 microns and thus anticipated. MPEP 2131.03-I teaches “"If the prior art discloses a point within the claimed range, the prior art anticipates the claim." UCB, Inc. v. Actavis Labs. UT, Inc., 65 F.4th 679, 687, 2023 USPQ2d 448 (Fed. Cir. 2023).” )
Regarding claim 8,
The apparatus as defined in claim 1, wherein the one or more consumable articles comprise a photoreactive pigment configured to undergo a color change upon exposure to the beam of laser energy, and the indelible identifier is defined by the color change. (This limitation is directed to material or article worked upon by the apparatus in claim 1. The material or article worked upon is “the one or more consumable articles”. MPEP 2115 teaches “Claim analysis is highly fact-dependent. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements. Thus, "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935).” MPEP 2115 further teaches “In Young, a claim to a machine for making concrete beams included a limitation to the concrete reinforced members made by the machine as well as the structural elements of the machine itself. The court held that the inclusion of the article formed within the body of the claim did not, without more, make the claim patentable.”)
Regarding claim 9,
The apparatus as defined in claim 8, wherein the photoreactive pigment comprises one or more materials selected from the group consisting of titanium dioxide, yellow iron oxide, and red iron oxide. (This limitation is directed to material or article worked upon by the apparatus in claim 1. The material or article worked upon is “photoreactive pigment”. MPEP 2115 teaches “Claim analysis is highly fact-dependent. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements. Thus, "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935).” MPEP 2115 further teaches “In Young, a claim to a machine for making concrete beams included a limitation to the concrete reinforced members made by the machine as well as the structural elements of the machine itself. The court held that the inclusion of the article formed within the body of the claim did not, without more, make the claim patentable.”)
Regarding claim 10,
The apparatus as defined in claim 8, wherein the color change results from transformation of the photoreactive pigment into one or more other color pigments that are approved by the United States Food and Drug Administration (FDA) for human consumption. (This limitation is directed to material or article worked upon by the apparatus in claim 1. The material or article worked upon is “photoreactive pigment”. MPEP 2115 teaches “Claim analysis is highly fact-dependent. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements. Thus, "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935).” MPEP 2115 further teaches “In Young, a claim to a machine for making concrete beams included a limitation to the concrete reinforced members made by the machine as well as the structural elements of the machine itself. The court held that the inclusion of the article formed within the body of the claim did not, without more, make the claim patentable.”)
Regarding claim 11,
The apparatus as defined in claim 9, wherein the photoreactive pigment transforms into black iron oxide when exposed to the beam of laser energy. (This limitation is directed to material or article worked upon by the apparatus in claim 1. The material or article worked upon is “photoreactive pigment”. MPEP 2115 teaches “Claim analysis is highly fact-dependent. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements. Thus, "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935).” MPEP 2115 further teaches “In Young, a claim to a machine for making concrete beams included a limitation to the concrete reinforced members made by the machine as well as the structural elements of the machine itself. The court held that the inclusion of the article formed within the body of the claim did not, without more, make the claim patentable.”)
Regarding claim 12,
The apparatus as defined in claim 9, wherein the color change is by way of multiphoton absorption. (This limitation is directed to material or article worked upon by the apparatus in claim 9. The material or article worked upon is “photoreactive pigment” . MPEP 2115 teaches “Claim analysis is highly fact-dependent. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements. Thus, "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935).” MPEP 2115 further teaches “In Young, a claim to a machine for making concrete beams included a limitation to the concrete reinforced members made by the machine as well as the structural elements of the machine itself. The court held that the inclusion of the article formed within the body of the claim did not, without more, make the claim patentable.”)
Regarding claim 13,
The apparatus as defined in claim 12, wherein (a) the color pigment is configured to change color under UV exposure but not under IR exposure; and(This limitation is directed to material or article worked upon by the apparatus in claim 1. The material or article worked upon is “the color pigment” . MPEP 2115 teaches “Claim analysis is highly fact-dependent. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements. Thus, "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935).” MPEP 2115 further teaches “In Young, a claim to a machine for making concrete beams included a limitation to the concrete reinforced members made by the machine as well as the structural elements of the machine itself. The court held that the inclusion of the article formed within the body of the claim did not, without more, make the claim patentable.”)
(b) the ultrashort pulse laser transmission element is only configured to operate in the IR range. (Paragraph [24] in Dassie teaches “a laser is used with a wavelength of 1030 nm.” It is inherent that wavelength of 1030 nm is within IR range.)
Regarding claim 14,
The apparatus as defined in claim 1, wherein (a) the indelible identifier is defined at least by a primary pattern field having a primary array of primary light interface elements distributed therein, (Paragraph [21] in Dassie teaches “the production of a continuous groove on the surface of the form by means of laser ablation by the laser ray and by means of the relative displacement of the surface and of the laser ray.” Here The groove corresponds to the primary light interface elements.)
the primary light interface elements being configured to interact with rays from a source of incoming light and thereby collectively present a primary pattern reflected light intensity, (Paragraph [35] teaches “this marking makes it possible to distinguish said pharmaceutical form from counterfeit products by virtue of the use of an optical microscope,”. It is understood that when the grooves are inspected under optical microscope they interact with rays of light, part of the light is reflected towards the microscope.)
(b) the article has a precursor surface configured to interact with the source of incoming light to present a baseline reflected light intensity, and (This limitation is directed to material or article worked upon by the apparatus in claim 1. The material or article worked upon is “the one or more consumable articles”. MPEP 2115 teaches “Claim analysis is highly fact-dependent. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements. Thus, "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935).” MPEP 2115 further teaches “In Young, a claim to a machine for making concrete beams included a limitation to the concrete reinforced members made by the machine as well as the structural elements of the machine itself. The court held that the inclusion of the article formed within the body of the claim did not, without more, make the claim patentable.”)
(c) the optical readability is at least in part by way of the primary pattern reflected light intensity being distinguishable from the baseline reflected light intensity from a viewpoint outward of the article. (Paragraph [66] teaches “The verification of the marking pattern, which comprises two closed continuous grooves alongside one another, was done by optical microscopy.” It is implied that patterns are visible under optical microscopy because they reflect light that is distinguishable from other lights.)
Regarding claim 15,
The apparatus as defined in claim 1, wherein (a) the indelible identifier is defined in part by a primary pattern field having a primary array of primary light interface elements distributed therein, (Paragraph [21] in Dassie teaches “the production of a continuous groove on the surface of the form by means of laser ablation by the laser ray and by means of the relative displacement of the surface and of the laser ray.” Here The groove corresponds to the primary light interface elements.)
the primary light interface elements being configured to interact with rays from a source of incoming light and thereby collectively present a primary pattern reflected light intensity, (Paragraph [35] teaches “this marking makes it possible to distinguish said pharmaceutical form from counterfeit products by virtue of the use of an optical microscope,”. It is understood that when the grooves are inspected under optical microscope they interact with rays of light, part of the light is reflected towards the microscope.)
(b) the indelible identifier is defined in part by a secondary pattern field having a secondary array of secondary light interface elements distributed therein, (Paragraph [38] teaches “It is also possible to envisage marking the pharmaceutical form with a marking pattern that is visible to the naked eye which makes it possible to identify the point where the groove invisible to the naked eye is located, according to one or more particular criteria.” Here the pattern visible to naked eye corresponds to the secondary light interface elements.)
the secondary light interface elements being configured to interact with rays from the source of incoming light and thereby collectively present a secondary pattern reflected light intensity, and (Paragraph [38] teaches “It is also possible to envisage marking the pharmaceutical form with a marking pattern that is visible to the naked eye which makes it possible to identify the point where the groove invisible to the naked eye is located, according to one or more particular criteria. This may allow the customs officer easier access to the groove, by optical microscopy”. It is understood that the marking pattern interacts with ray of light and thus becomes visible.)
(c) the optical readability is at least in part by way of the primary pattern reflected light intensity being distinguishable from the secondary reflected light intensity from a viewpoint outward of the article. (Paragraph [66] teaches “The verification of the marking pattern, which comprises two closed continuous grooves alongside one another, was done by optical microscopy.” It is implied that patterns are visible under optical microscopy because they reflect light that is distinguishable from other lights.)
Regarding claim 16,
The apparatus as defined in claim 14, wherein (a) a light source axis is defined as extending between the source and the indelible identifier, (b) a viewing axis is defined as extending between the indelible identifier and the viewpoint, and (c) the viewing axis is off-angle from the light source axis. (The limitation is directed towards the method of reading the article prepared by the apparatus. MPEP 2115 teaches “Claim analysis is highly fact-dependent. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements. Thus, "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935). In Otto, the claims were directed to a core member for hair curlers (i.e., a particular device) and a method of making the core member (i.e., a particular method of making that device) and "not to a method of curling hair wherein th[e] particular device is used." 312 F.2d at 940. The court held that patentability of the claims cannot be based "upon a certain procedure for curling hair using th[e] device and involving a number of steps in the process." The court noted that "the process is irrelevant as is the recitation involving the hair being wound around the core" in terms of determining patentability of the particular device. Therefore, the inclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims.”)
Regarding claim 17,
The apparatus as defined in claim 14, wherein the primary light interface elements are configured in part to obstruct the incoming light. (Abstract teaches forming “a continuous groove on the surface thereof, said groove preferably being 20 .mu.m to 50 .mu.m deep and preferably 5 .mu.m to 120 .mu.m wide.” Paragraph [1] teaches “Such a laser marking is invisible to the naked eye, but can be revealed by optical microscopy.” It is inherent that the groove reflects light towards the microscope, thus groove obstructs the incoming light.)
Regarding claim 18,
The apparatus as defined in claim 14, wherein the primary light interface elements are configured in part to reflect the incoming light. (Abstract teaches forming “a continuous groove on the surface thereof, said groove preferably being 20 .mu.m to 50 .mu.m deep and preferably 5 .mu.m to 120 .mu.m wide.” Paragraph [1] teaches “Such a laser marking is invisible to the naked eye, but can be revealed by optical microscopy.” It is inherent that the groove reflects light towards the microscope.)
Regarding claim 21,
The apparatus as defined in claim 14, wherein the indelible identifier includes one or more characters selected from the group consisting of a letter, a number, a symbol, a punctuation mark, a logo, a graphic design and a machine-readable optical code. (Paragraph [16] in Dassie teaches “the pharmaceutical form most commonly comprises at least two grooves each forming a closed continuous line.”)
Regarding claim 28,
The apparatus as defined in claim 1, wherein the optical readability is within the optical radiation portion of the electromagnetic spectrum. (Dassie teaches in paragraph [1] “Such a laser marking is invisible to the naked eye, but can be revealed by optical microscopy.” It is implied that the identifier is within the optical radiation portion because the identifier is visible with an optical microscope.)
Regarding claim 29,
The apparatus as defined in claim 28, wherein the optical readability is within the human-visible portion of the electromagnetic spectrum. (Dassie teaches in paragraph [38] “It is also possible to envisage marking the pharmaceutical form with a marking pattern that is visible to the naked eye which makes it possible to identify the point where the groove invisible to the naked eye is located”.)
Regarding claim 30,
The apparatus as defined in claim 14, wherein the beam of laser energy is configured to form the array of light interface elements by etching of the article. (Dassie teaches in paragraph [30] “The pharmaceutical form is marked (or etched) with the groove (or incision).”)
Regarding claim 61, similar scope to claim 16, therefore rejected under the same argument.
Regarding claim 62, similar scope to claim 17, therefore rejected under the same argument.
Regarding claim 63, similar scope to claim 18, therefore rejected under the same argument.
Regarding claim 66, similar scope to claim 21, therefore rejected under the same argument.
Regarding claim 72, similar scope to claim 30, therefore rejected under the same argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dassie as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Bunick et al., US 8383159 (hereafter Bunick).
The apparatus as defined in claim 14, wherein the primary light interface elements are configured in part to refract the incoming light. (Dassie is silent about this.
Bunick teaches lenticules 920 formed on a tablet in Fig. 11c. Column 32, lines 55-60 teaches “when light passes through the lenticules 920 of a microrelief coating on a core 921 as illustrated in FIG. 11, it is reflected from an underlying surface, i.e., e.g., the tablet surface that contains printed information or an image. The lenticule refracts the returning light and magnifies the underlying information or image.”
Fig. 11 in Bunick teaches lights reflecting and refracting from patterns
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to design the pattern on article to refract light as taught in Bunick to the apparatus in Dassie. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “As the orientation of the lenticular surface is changed in relation to the line of sight by an observer, different image stripes can then be seen as complete images” as taught in column 32, lines 64-66 in Bunick.)
Claim(s) 64 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dassie as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Bunick et al., US 8383159 (hereafter Bunick).
Regarding claim 64, similar scope to claim 19, therefore rejected under the same argument.
Claim(s) 20, 22-24, 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dassie as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Klocke et al., WO 2009051794 (hereafter Klocke).
Regarding claim 20,
The apparatus as defined in claim 14, wherein the primary light interface elements are configured in part to absorb the incoming light. (Primary combination of references is silent about this.
Klocke teaches on page 9, paragraph 6 “complex random or semi-random nanostructures with sizes between 10nm and 500nm which significantly enhance the optical surface area of the pill and/or also trap the light leading to increased absorption and therefore darkening of the surface;”.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to add the nanostructures to absorb light as taught in Klocke to the pattern in Dassie. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “Depending on the precise surface geometry a single or a combination of several optical mechanisms are responsible for contrast formation: interference, diffuse single and/or multiple scattering, single and/or multiple reflection and single and/or multiple absorption of visible light” as taught in page 8, paragraph 8 in Klocke.)
Regarding claim 22,
The apparatus as defined in claim 14, wherein the primary light interface elements are homogeneously shaped with respect to one another. (Primary combination of references is silent about this.
Klocke teaches homogenous structures 10b in Fig. 1b.
Fig. 1b in Klocke
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to add the structures in Fig. 1b as taught in Klocke to the pattern in Dassie. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “Depending on the precise surface geometry a single or a combination of several optical mechanisms are responsible for contrast formation: interference, diffuse single and/or multiple scattering, single and/or multiple reflection and single and/or multiple absorption of visible light” as taught in page 8, paragraph 8 in Klocke.)
Regarding claim 23,
The apparatus as defined in claim 14, wherein the primary light interface elements are arranged randomly throughout a majority or an entirety of the primary pattern field. (Primary combination of references is silent about this.
Klocke teaches randomly arranged structures in Fig. 5B.
Fig. 5 in Klocke
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to add the random structures as taught in Klocke to the pattern in Dassie. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “Depending on the precise surface geometry a single or a combination of several optical mechanisms are responsible for contrast formation: interference, diffuse single and/or multiple scattering, single and/or multiple reflection and single and/or multiple absorption of visible light” as taught in page 8, paragraph 8 in Klocke.)
Regarding claim 24,
The apparatus as defined in claim 14, wherein the primary light interface elements are arranged equidistantly in a first direction throughout a majority or entirety of the primary pattern field. (Primary combination of references is silent about this.
Klocke teaches equidistant structures 10b in Fig. 1b.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to add the structures in Fig. 1b as taught in Klocke to the pattern in Dassie. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “Depending on the precise surface geometry a single or a combination of several optical mechanisms are responsible for contrast formation: interference, diffuse single and/or multiple scattering, single and/or multiple reflection and single and/or multiple absorption of visible light” as taught in page 8, paragraph 8 in Klocke.)
Regarding claim 27,
The apparatus as defined in claim 15, wherein (a) the primary light interface elements are spaced apart from one another to define primary interstitial surfaces therebetween; (Fig. 5a in Klocke)
(b) the secondary light interface elements are spaced apart from one another to define secondary interstitial surfaces therebetween; and (Fig. 5a in Klocke)
(c) the primary interstitial surfaces are non-coplanar with the secondary interstitial surfaces. (Fig. 5a in Klocke)
Fig. 5 in Klocke
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to add the structures in Fig. 5a as taught in Klocke to the pattern in Dassie. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “Depending on the precise surface geometry a single or a combination of several optical mechanisms are responsible for contrast formation: interference, diffuse single and/or multiple scattering, single and/or multiple reflection and single and/or multiple absorption of visible light” as taught in page 8, paragraph 8 in Klocke.)
Claim(s) 65-69 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dassie as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Klocke et al., WO 2009051794 (hereafter Klocke).
Regarding claim 65, similar scope to claim 20, therefore rejected under the same argument.
Regarding claim 67, similar scope to claim 22, therefore rejected under the same argument.
Regarding claim 68, similar scope to claim 23, therefore rejected under the same argument.
Regarding claim 69, similar scope to claim 24, therefore rejected under the same argument.
Claim(s) 25-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dassie and Klocke as applied to claim 24 above, and further in view of Posage, WO 9748384 (hereafter Posage).
Regarding claim 25,
The apparatus as defined in claim 24, wherein the primary light interface elements are arranged equidistantly in a second direction throughout a majority or an entirety of the primary pattern field. (Primary combination of references is silent about this.
Posage teaches “An alternative comprises moving a solid dosage form past a plurality of pulsed laser beams arranged along a single line thus creating dot matrix patterns on the surface of the solid dosage form” in page 3, paragraph 7.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to add the matrix structures as taught in Posage to the pattern in Dassie. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “Finally, the method using a laser has the further advantage of not introducing any new materials into the dosage form, which is a distinct advantage in pharmaceutical applications” as taught in page 3, paragraph 4 of Posage.)
Regarding claim 26,
The apparatus as defined in claim 25, wherein the first direction and the second direction are perpendicular to one another. (Posage teaches “An alternative comprises moving a solid dosage form past a plurality of pulsed laser beams arranged along a single line thus creating dot matrix patterns on the surface of the solid dosage form” in page 3, paragraph 7. It is inherent that a matrix pattern has two directions perpendicular to one another.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to add the matrix structures as taught in Posage to the pattern in Dassie. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “Finally, the method using a laser has the further advantage of not introducing any new materials into the dosage form, which is a distinct advantage in pharmaceutical applications” as taught in page 3, paragraph 4 of Posage.)
Claim(s) 70-71 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dassie and Klocke as applied to claim 69 above, and further in view of Posage, WO 9748384 (hereafter Posage).
Regarding claim 70, similar scope to claim 25, therefore rejected under the same argument.
Regarding claim 71, similar scope to claim 26, therefore rejected under the same argument.
Conclusion
/FAHMIDA FERDOUSI/ Examiner, Art Unit 3761