Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1,22,27,29 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,3,10-17,22,27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rao et al. (US 20250119785; Claims are mapped using provisional application No. 63/309193; hereinafter “Rao”) in view of Hong (US 20250392550) in view of Chae (US 20230217298; hereinafter “Chae”).
Regarding claims 1, 22, Rao discloses:
A method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving, … from a network entity via a wireless communication link, first control information that includes a first packet data unit set identifier, wherein the first packet data unit set identifier indicates a plurality of different packet data units that collectively represent a data unit for decoding; ([00218] The WTRU may perform marking of QoS flows in UL and/or DL at an SDAP entity. For example, the WTRU may include one or more markings (e.g. indications, IDs, SNs) in the PDUs (e.g. PDU headers) associated with a PDU set,
possibly for identifying and/or ensuring integrity of the PDU set, during processing at
lower layers (e.g. at PDCP, MAC) and/or higher layers (e.g. at NAS). Such markings
may be included in an SDAP header, for example. Such markings may be done by the
WTRU based on configuration (e.g. RRC) and/or assistance information received from
network. In another example, such markings may be done based on detection of
indications/markings (e.g. QFI IDs, PDU set ID, SNs, IP header markings) identified
from SDUs/PDUs received from higher layers.)
identifying whether a packet data unit is a part of the plurality of different packet data units that corresponds to the first packet data unit set identifier based at least in part on the first control information; ([00215] the WTRU may identify the start of a PDU set when identifying a new ID/marking or a start of sequence number (SN) set (e.g. in the header of the PDUs) associated with a PDU set. The WTRU may map one or more (e.g., all) PDUs containing similar
IDs/marking/SNs associated with a PDU set to the same radio bearer.)
and determining whether to include the packet data unit in communications with a network entity ([00215] For example, the WTRU may map one or more PDUs
associated with a PDU set in a QoS flow received from high layers/application to one or
more configured radio bearers.), wherein the determining is based at least in part on the packet data unit being part of the plurality of different packet data units indicated by the first packet data unit set identifier. ([00215] the WTRU may identify the start of a PDU set when identifying a new ID/marking or a start of sequence number (SN) set (e.g. in the header of the PDUs) associated with a PDU set. The WTRU may map one or more (e.g., all) PDUs containing similar IDs/marking/SNs associated with a PDU set to the same radio bearer.)
However, Rao does not disclose:
first control information that includes a first packet data unit set identifier
Hong discloses:
first control information that includes a first packet data unit set identifier ([0161] the SDAP configuration information (sdap-config) included in the RRC message may indicate the information for indicating the QFIs list of the uplink QoS flows of the PDU session to be additionally mapped to the DRB independently of the information for indicating the PDU-Set-IDs list of the uplink PDU-Sets of the PDU session to be additionally mapped to the DRB.)
It would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling
date of the claimed invention, to modify markings may be done by the
WTRU based on configuration (e.g. RRC) of the teachings of Rao with RRC message includes sdap-config for indicating the PDU-Set-IDs list of the teachings of Hong, to
include first control information that includes a first packet data unit set identifier. The motivation would have been to recognize and process XR application traffic effectively (Hong ¶[0012])
However, combination of Rao and Hong does not disclose:
receiving, via downlink control information, first control information
Chae discloses:
receiving, via downlink control information, first control information ([0275] The one or more RRC configuration parameters may indicate one or more of: a size of a radio (time and/or frequency) resource; a transmission power parameter; a configuration of a reference signal; and/or SDAP configuration parameters … The one or more RRC configuration parameters may be indicated by one or more of: a system information block; an RRC message; DCI (e.g., a DCI message))
It would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling
date of the claimed invention, to modify markings may be done by the WTRU based on configuration (e.g. RRC) and RRC includes PDU-Set-IDs of the teachings of combination of Rao and Hong with RRC configuration parameters may be indicated by DCI of the teachings of Chae, to include receiving, via downlink control information, first control information. The motivation would have been to address QoS requirements of the wireless communications using quality of service (QoS) flows by PDU session (Chae ¶[0002]).
Regarding claims 3,7, Rao discloses:
wherein the first time duration is based at least in part on a packet delay budget associated with the first packet data unit set identifier. ([00241] For a PDU set comprising of N PDUs, the WTRU may transmit the N PDUs within a configured PSDB value.)
Regarding claim 10, Rao discloses:
wherein receiving the first control information that includes the first packet data unit set identifier further comprises: ([00218] The WTRU may perform marking of QoS flows in UL and/or DL at an SDAP entity. For example, the WTRU may include one or more markings (e.g.
indications, IDs, SNs) in the PDUs (e.g. PDU headers) associated with a PDU set,
possibly for identifying and/or ensuring integrity of the PDU set, during processing at
lower layers (e.g. at PDCP, MAC) and/or higher layers (e.g. at NAS) … such markings may be done based on detection of indications/markings (e.g. QFI IDs, PDU set ID, SNs, IP header markings) identified from SDUs/PDUs received from higher layers.)
receiving the first control information in association with a semi-persistent scheduling configuration or a configured grant configuration ([00249] Any of the CG/SPS
configurations or CG/SPS parameters may be used by the WTRU for transmitting data
in UL or receiving data in DL in one or more data flows.), wherein reception or transmission opportunities associated with the semi-persistent scheduling configuration or the configured grant configuration ([00249] Any of the CG/SPS configurations or CG/SPS parameters may be used by the WTRU for transmitting data in UL or receiving data in DL in one or more data flows.), respectively, are scheduled in accordance with a minimum size of a packet data unit set, ([00235] The WTRU may also estimate/predict the payload size of the expected PDUs in a PDU set based on tracking of the previously received/transmitted PDUs and/or based on marking/indications in the PDUs (e.g. in PDU headers)) a first subset of the plurality of different packet data units being received or transmitted during the reception or transmission opportunities. ([00215] The WTRU may identify the start of a PDU set when identifying a new ID/marking or a start of sequence number (SN) set (e.g. in the header of the PDUs) associated with a PDU set. The WTRU may map one or more (e.g., all) PDUs containing similar IDs/marking/SNs associated with a PDU set to the same radio bearer ([00249] Any of the CG/SPS configurations or CG/SPS parameters may be used by the WTRU for transmitting data in UL or receiving data in DL in one or more data flows.)
Regarding claim 11, Rao discloses:
further comprising: receiving, via a dynamic grant, second control information that includes the first packet data unit set identifier, the second control information scheduling a second subset of the plurality of different packet data units for receipt or transmission, the second subset including one or more packet data units that were not included in the first subset. ([00236] The WTRU may receive the resource allocation in one or more dynamic grants, where a first dynamic grant may be used for transmitting the default/average number of PDU and a second dynamic grant may be used for transmitting the excess PDUs.)
Regarding claim 12, Rao discloses:
wherein receiving the first control information that includes the first packet data unit set identifier further comprises: receiving the first control information via a dynamic grant. ([00236] The WTRU may receive the resource allocation in one or more dynamic grants, where a first dynamic grant may be used for transmitting the default/average number of PDU and a second dynamic grant may be used for transmitting the excess PDUs.)
Regarding claim 13, Rao discloses:
wherein receiving the first control information that includes the first packet data unit set identifier further comprises: receiving the first control information via activation downlink control information that activates a semi-persistent scheduling configuration or a configured grant configuration. ([00242] The information on the number of PDUs may be determined and/or indicated to network by the WTRU semi-statically (e.g. in RRC) and/or dynamically (e.g. in RRC, MAC CE, DCI) based on detection of marking/indications in the PDUs of the PDU set, higher layer configuration/indication (e.g. whether PDU set corresponds to I-frame/P-frame), etc. Based on such information, the WTRU may receive the configuration information or activation/deactivation indications from the network on the configuration parameters of the LCHs (e.g. priority, PBR, BSD, LCH restrictions) which may be used for ensuring the PSDB of the PDU set.)
Regarding claim 14, Rao discloses:
wherein the first packet data unit set identifier in the first control information pertains to a first activated resource instance of the semi-persistent scheduling configuration or of the configured grant configuration. ([00255] The WTRU may change the parameters associated with a CG/SPS configuration or select a new CG/SPS configuration when detecting reception of a higher layer/application layer indication. For example, the WTRU may change the parameters when receiving an indication from higher layers, from PDUs (e.g. marking in header (e.g., PDU set ID)) or from network indicating any of the following changes in the upcoming data which may be transmitted/received using any of CG/SPS configuration…)
Regarding claim 15, Rao discloses:
wherein subsequent activated resource instances of the semi-persistent scheduling configuration or of the configured grant configuration that are subsequent to the first activated resource instance are associated with different packet data unit set identifiers that have an incremented value with respect to previous activated resource instances. ([00255] The WTRU may change the parameters associated with a CG/SPS configuration or select a new CG/SPS configuration when detecting reception of a higher layer/application layer indication. For example, the WTRU may change the parameters when receiving an indication from higher layers, from PDUs (e.g. marking in header (e.g., PDU set ID)) or from network indicating any of the following changes in the upcoming data which may be transmitted/received using any of CG/SPS configuration…)
Regarding claim 16, Rao discloses:
further comprising: encoding the plurality of different packet data units based on the first packet data unit set identifier ([00230] For example, the WTRU may be configured with multiplexing rules indicating whether the PDUs associated with a PDU set are multiplexed into the same or different transport blocks based on the type of the PDU set, total payload size of PDU set, number of PDUs in PDU set, and/or QoS requirements of PDU set (e.g. latency, error rate, bit rate, priority); [00218] the WTRU may include one or more markings (e.g. indications, IDs, SNs) in the PDUs (e.g. PDU headers) associated with a PDU set,… such markings may be done based on detection of indications/markings (e.g. QFI IDs, PDU set ID, SNs, IP header markings) identified from SDUs/PDUs received from higher layers.), wherein an encoding scheme used for encoding the plurality of different packet data units comprises joint encoding over multiple slots associated with the first packet data unit set identifier ([00230] For example, the WTRU may be configured with multiplexing rules indicating whether the PDUs associated with a PDU set are multiplexed into the same or different transport blocks based on the type of the PDU set, total payload size of PDU set, number of PDUs in PDU set, and/or QoS requirements of PDU set (e.g. latency, error rate, bit rate, priority), over resources scheduled via semi-persistent scheduling and via dynamic grant associated with the first packet data unit set identifier, over resources scheduled via configured grant and via dynamic grant associated with the first packet data unit set identifier, or combinations thereof. ([0087] Radio resources may also be associated with configurated grants, dynamic grants and/or any other resource grants or grant free resources.)
Regarding claim 17, Rao discloses:
further comprising: decoding the plurality of different packet data units based on the first packet data unit set identifier ([00238] The receiving entity may send an ACK message, possibly along with PDU set ID and/or HARQ process ID, to the transmitting entity (e.g., only) when one or more (e.g, all) PDUs of a PDU set are successfully received/decoded at the receiving entity. Otherwise, when one or more PDUs are not received/decoded successfully, the receiving entity may transit a NACK message, possibly along with the PDU ID, PDU set ID and/or HARQ process ID, to the transmitting entity. [00218] the WTRU may include one or more markings (e.g. indications, IDs, SNs) in the PDUs (e.g. PDU headers) associated with a PDU set,… such markings may be done based on detection of indications/markings (e.g. QFI IDs, PDU set ID, SNs, IP header markings) identified from SDUs/PDUs received from higher layers.), wherein a decoding scheme used for decoding the plurality of different packet data units comprises joint decoding over multiple slots associated with the first packet data unit set identifier ([00238] The receiving entity may send an ACK message, possibly along with PDU set ID and/or HARQ process ID, to the transmitting entity (e.g., only) when one or more (e.g, all) PDUs of a PDU set are successfully received/decoded at the receiving entity. Otherwise, when one or more PDUs are not received/decoded successfully, the receiving entity may transit a NACK message, possibly along with the PDU ID, PDU set ID and/or HARQ process ID, to the transmitting entity. [00218] the WTRU may include one or more markings (e.g. indications, IDs, SNs) in the PDUs (e.g. PDU headers) associated with a PDU set,… such markings may be done based on detection of indications/markings (e.g. QFI IDs, PDU set ID, SNs, IP header markings) identified from SDUs/PDUs received from higher layers.), over resources scheduled via semi-persistent scheduling and via dynamic grant associated with the first packet data unit set identifier, over resources scheduled via configured grant and via dynamic grant associated with the first packet data unit set identifier, or combinations thereof. ([0087] Radio resources may also be associated with configurated grants, dynamic grants and/or any other resource grants or grant free resources.)
Regarding claim 27 based on claim 1, Rao discloses:
An apparatus for wireless communication a user equipment (UE), comprising: ([0029] FIG. 1B the WTRU 102 may include) one or more processors ([0029] a processor 118; [0030] The processor 118 may be a plurality of microprocessors); one or more memories ([0029] non-removable memory 130, removable memory 132) coupled with the one or more processors; and instructions stored in the one or more memories and executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: ([0034] the processor 118 may access information from, and store data in, any type of suitable memory, such as the non-removable memory 130 and/or the removable memory 132.)
Regarding claim 28 based on claim 2, Rao discloses:
wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: ([0034] the processor 118 may access information from, and store data in, any type of suitable memory, such as the non-removable memory 130 and/or the removable memory 132.)
Regarding claim 29 based on claim 22, Rao discloses:
An apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity, comprising ([0017] The communications systems 100 may also include a base station 114a) one or more processors ([00266] processor in association with software may be used to implement a radio frequency transceiver for use in a WTRU, UE, terminal, base station, RNC, and/or any host computer.); one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors; and instructions stored in the one or more memories and executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: ([00266] processor in association with software may be used to implement a radio frequency transceiver for use in a WTRU, UE, terminal, base station, RNC, and/or any host computer.)
Regarding claim 30 based on claim 23, Rao discloses:
wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: ([00266] processor in association with software may be used to implement a radio frequency transceiver for use in a WTRU, UE, terminal, base station, RNC, and/or any host computer.)
Claims 2,4-6,8-9,23-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rao et al. (US 20250119785; Claims are mapped using provisional application No. 63/309193; hereinafter “Rao”) in view of Hong (US 20250392550) in view of Chae (US 20230217298; hereinafter “Chae”) and further in view of Ke et al. (US 20250113239; hereinafter “Ke”).
Regarding claims 2,6, 23, 25, Rao discloses:
further comprising:
transmitting, to the network entity, a first subset of the plurality of different packet data units during a first time duration; ([00241] For a PDU set comprising of N PDUs, the WTRU may transmit the N PDUs within a configured PSDB value.)
Rao does not disclose:
identifying that the packet data unit is part of a second subset of the plurality of different packet data units that is scheduled to be transmitted after the first time duration;
and refraining from transmitting, to the network entity, the second subset of the plurality of different packet data units based at least in part on the second subset being scheduled to be transmitted after the first time duration, wherein the packet data unit is not included in the communications with the network entity as a result of the packet data unit being in the second subset of the plurality of different packet data units.
Ke discloses:
identifying that the packet data unit is part of a second subset of the plurality of different packet data units that is scheduled to be transmitted after the first time duration; ([0432] In an optional embodiment, decoding can be performed only after transmission of all the data packets in the data packet set is completed. For example, the data packet set has a total of 20 data packets. When the first delay budget expires, there remain two data packets that have not been transmitted or have not been unsuccessfully transmitted, and 18 data packets that are successfully transmitted cannot be decoded.)
and refraining from transmitting, to the network entity, the second subset of the plurality of different packet data units based at least in part on the second subset being scheduled to be transmitted after the first time duration, wherein the packet data unit is not included in the communications with the network entity as a result of the packet data unit being in the second subset of the plurality of different packet data units. ([0432] In an optional embodiment, decoding can be performed only after transmission of all the data packets in the data packet set is completed. For example, the data packet set has a total of 20 data packets. When the first delay budget expires, there remain two data packets that have not been transmitted or have not been unsuccessfully transmitted, and 18 data packets that are successfully transmitted cannot be decoded. [0356] the data packet in the data packet set is not allowed to continue to be transmitted when the first delay budget expires and/or the first timer expires)
It would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling
date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of combination of Rao, Hong, and Chae with the teachings of Ke, to include identifying that the packet data unit is part of a second subset of the plurality of different packet data units that is scheduled to be transmitted after the first time duration and refraining from transmitting, to the network entity, the second subset of the plurality of different packet data units. The motivation would have been to resolve problems such as how to support an exception to packet discard based on the PDB, how to determine an Access Network Packet Delay Budget (AN PDB) for a tail data packet (for example, the last one or more packets) of a PDU Set, and how to perform timing of the PDB when the PDB of the data packet expires and a remaining amount of the PSDB is still greater than the PDB. (Ke ¶ [0143] - [0149]).
Regarding claims 4,8, 24, 26, Rao discloses:
further comprising:
transmitting, to the network entity, a first subset of the plurality of different packet data units; ([00241] For a PDU set comprising of N PDUs, the WTRU may transmit the N PDUs within a configured PSDB value.)
Rao does not disclose:
receiving, after transmission of the first subset of the plurality of different packet data units and before transmission of a second subset of the plurality of different packet data units, second control information that includes a second packet data unit set identifier that is different from the first packet data unit set identifier;
and refraining from transmitting, to the network entity, the second subset of the plurality of different packet data units based at least in part on the second control information being received before transmission of the second subset of the plurality of different packet data units, wherein the packet data unit is not included in the communications with the network entity as a result of the packet data unit being in the second subset of the plurality of different packet data units.
Ke discloses:
receiving, after transmission of the first subset of the plurality of different packet data units and before transmission of a second subset of the plurality of different packet data units, second control information that includes a second packet data unit set identifier that is different from the first packet data unit set identifier; ([0180] Data packet sets of different types may be distinguished by identifiers of the data packet sets. [0176] In an optional embodiment of this application, the data packet set may be one of the following: a packet data unit set PDU Set)
and refraining from transmitting, to the network entity, the second subset of the plurality of different packet data units based at least in part on the second control information being received before transmission of the second subset of the plurality of different packet data units, wherein the packet data unit is not included in the communications with the network entity as a result of the packet data unit being in the second subset of the plurality of different packet data units. ([0434] In an optional embodiment, the performing the operation based on the first delay budget and/or the first timer on the data packet set includes at least one of the following: … [0436] performing the packet discard operation on a data packet set whose first delay budget expires and/or whose first timer expires; …)
It would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling
date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of combination of Rao, Hong, and Chae with the teachings of Ke, to receiving second control information that includes a second packet data unit set identifier that is different from the first packet data unit set identifier and refraining from transmitting the second subset of the plurality of different packet data units. The motivation would have been to resolve problems such as how to support an exception to packet discard based on the PDB, how to determine an Access Network Packet Delay Budget (AN PDB) for a tail data packet (for example, the last one or more packets) of a PDU Set, and how to perform timing of the PDB when the PDB of the data packet expires and a remaining amount of the PSDB is still greater than the PDB. (Ke ¶ [0143] - [0149]).
Regarding claims 5,9, Rao discloses:
further comprising:
transmitting, to the network entity, a first subset of the plurality of different packet data units; ([00241] For a PDU set comprising of N PDUs, the WTRU may transmit the N PDUs within a configured PSDB value.)
Rao does not disclose:
receiving, after transmission of the first subset of the plurality of different packet data units and before transmission of a second subset of the plurality of different packet data units, a cancelation signal that indicates that transmission of one or more packet data units of the plurality of different packet data units is canceled;
and refraining from transmitting, to the network entity, the second subset of the plurality of different packet data units based at least in part on the cancelation signal being received before transmission of the second subset of the plurality of different packet data units, wherein the packet data unit is not included in the communications with the network entity as a result of the packet data unit being in the second subset of the plurality of different packet data units.
Ke discloses:
receiving, after transmission of the first subset of the plurality of different packet data units and before transmission of a second subset of the plurality of different packet data units, a cancelation signal that indicates that transmission of one or more packet data units of the plurality of different packet data units is canceled; [(0121] The first indication indicates at least one of the following: [0122] whether a data packet in a data packet set is allowed to continue to be transmitted when a first delay budget of the data packet set expires and/or a first timer of the data packet set expires.)
and refraining from transmitting, to the network entity, the second subset of the plurality of different packet data units based at least in part on the cancelation signal being received before transmission of the second subset of the plurality of different packet data units, wherein the packet data unit is not included in the communications with the network entity as a result of the packet data unit being in the second subset of the plurality of different packet data units. ([0434] In an optional embodiment, the performing the operation based on the first delay budget and/or the first timer on the data packet set includes at least one of the following: … [0436] performing the packet discard operation on a data packet set whose first delay budget expires and/or whose first timer expires; …)
It would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling
date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of combination of Rao, Hong, and Chae with the teachings of Ke, to receiving second control information that includes a second packet data unit set identifier that is different from the first packet data unit set identifier and refraining from transmitting the second subset of the plurality of different packet data units. The motivation would have been to resolve problems such as how to support an exception to packet discard based on the PDB, how to determine an Access Network Packet Delay Budget (AN PDB) for a tail data packet (for example, the last one or more packets) of a PDU Set, and how to perform timing of the PDB when the PDB of the data packet expires and a remaining amount of the PSDB is still greater than the PDB. (Ke ¶ [0143] - [0149]).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rao et al. (US2025119785; Claims are mapped using provisional application No. 63/309193; hereinafter “Rao”) in view of Hong (US 20250392550) in view of Chae (US 20230217298; hereinafter “Chae”) and further in view of Maaref et al. (US 20150334712; hereinafter “Maaref”).
Regarding claim 18, combination of Rao, Hong, and Chae does not disclose:
wherein a coding scheme used to decode or encode the plurality of different packet data units comprises a rateless code.
Maaref discloses:
wherein a coding scheme used to decode or encode the plurality of different packet data units comprises a rateless code. ([0022] Fountain codes may be rate-less codes. [0032] a traffic flow 310 is encoded using a fountain code to produce a plurality of encoded packets 320. The encoded packets 320 are then multiplexed over the licensed band and unlicensed band, and received by the receiver 330. The receiver 330 may be able to decode the traffic flow 310 upon receiving and/or successfully decoding a threshold number of encoding packets 320.)
It would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling
date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of combination of Rao, Hong, and Chae with the teachings of Maaref, to a coding scheme used to decode or encode the plurality of different packet data units comprises a rateless code. The motivation would have been to joint transmission over licensed and unlicensed bands using fountain codes. (Maaref ¶ [0004]).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rao et al. (US2025119785; Claims are mapped using provisional application No. 63/309193; hereinafter “Rao”) in view of Hong (US 20250392550) in view of Chae (US 20230217298; hereinafter “Chae”) and further in view of Zhang1 et al. (US 20250158934; hereinafter “Zhang1”).
Regarding claim 19, combination of Rao, Hong, and Chae does not disclose:
wherein the first packet data unit set identifier comprises one bit with a logic value of one or zero.
Zhang1 discloses:
wherein the first packet data unit set identifier comprises one bit with a logic value of one or zero. ([0028] the receiving PDCP entity shall set in the bitmap field as ‘0’ for all PDCP SDUs that have not been received, and optionally PDCP SDUs for which decompression have failed; and the receiving PDCP entity shall set in the bitmap field as ‘1’ for all PDCP SDUs that have been received.)
It would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling
date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of combination of Rao, Hong, and Chae with the teachings of Zhang1, to include the first packet data unit set identifier comprises one bit with a logic value of one or zero. The motivation would have been to provide a mechanism for supporting a packet discarding operation in a PDCP layer due to a packet loss. (Zhang1 ¶ [0005]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rao et al. (US2025119785; Claims are mapped using provisional application No. 63/309193; hereinafter “Rao”) in view of Hong (US 20250392550) in view of Chae (US 20230217298; hereinafter “Chae”) and further in view of Zhang2 et al. (US 20220060886; hereinafter “Zhang2”).
Regarding claim 20, combination of Rao, Hong, and Chae does not disclose:
wherein the first packet data unit set identifier comprises more than one bit.
Zhang2 discloses:
wherein the first packet data unit set identifier comprises more than one bit. ([0009] receiving a second MAC PDU group, with a MAC Header of any MAC PDU in the second MAC PDU group comprising at least part of bits in a first old identity (ID))
It would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling
date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of combination of Rao, Hong, and Chae with the teachings of Zhang2, to include the first packet data unit set identifier comprises more than one bit. The motivation would have been to to update the UE parameters periodically or at intervals, including the UE ID and parameters relevant to the UE's security algorithm. (Zhang2 ¶ [0006]).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rao et al. (US2025119785; Claims are mapped using provisional application No. 63/309193; hereinafter “Rao”) in view of Hong (US 20250392550) further in view of Sun et al. (US 20240057107; hereinafter “Sun”).
Regarding claim 21, Rao discloses:
wherein packet data unit set-based transmission is enabled via a semi-persistent scheduling configuration or a configured grant configuration ([00248] The WTRU may change CG/SPS configuration parameters and/or select a
CG/SPS configuration for (re)aligning with data transmission/reception.)
Rao does not disclose:
via a non-fallback downlink control information message, via a dedicated control resource set or search space designated for enabling packet data unit set-based transmission, or via a downlink control information message designated for enabling packet data unit set-based transmission.
Sun discloses:
via a non-fallback downlink control information message, via a dedicated control resource set or search space designated for enabling packet data unit set-based transmission, or via a downlink control information message designated for enabling packet data unit set-based transmission. ([0093] In example 1, a baseband processor of a base station may comprise one or more processors configured to: receive, from a user equipment (UE), capability information indicating which cell can be configured to schedule non-fallback downlink control information (DCI) in a UE-specific search space (USS) for special cell (SpCell) scheduling; … cause the non-fallback DCI to be communicated to the UE in accordance with the DCI format and the USS.)
It would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling
date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of combination of Rao, Hong, and Chae with the teachings of Sun, to include via a non-fallback downlink control information message, via a dedicated control resource set or search space designated for enabling packet data unit set-based transmission, or via a downlink control information message designated for enabling packet data unit set-based transmission. The motivation would have been to configuring a UE-specific search spaces (USS) with non-fallback DCI, USS with fallback DCI, and overall search space for DSS enhancement. (Sun ¶ [0019]).
Conclusion
/NHU PHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2479 /JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479