The instant application having Application No. 17/850,028 filed on 6/27/2022 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to the communication filed 12/11/2025.
The amendments to claims 1, 3, 5-7, 10-11, 13, 15-17, and 19, filed 12/11/2025, are acknowledged and accepted.
The cancellation of claim 20, filed 12/11/2025, is acknowledged and accepted.
The addition of claim 21, filed 12/11/2025, is acknowledged and accepted.
Claims 1-19 and 21 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to “the microstructure layer comprising a base portion having a predetermined thickness and being in direct contact with a surface of the transparent substrate” have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments regarding “each of the plurality of light blocking layers partially covers a corresponding one of the plurality of protrusions” and “the third side surface of the triangular prism is exposed” have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Matsukawa teaches an ultraviolet absorber-containing layer which is an entire layer applied to the light source-facing surface of an optical sheet, not partially covering protrusions in a microstructure as claimed. Applicant further claims that Matsukawa’s full-layer application does not suggest partial coverage on specific protrusion surfaces. Examiner argues that Matsukawa is used in combination with Wu, where Wu teaches transparent microstructure layer including a plurality of transparent protrusions and Matsukawa teaches each of the plurality of light blocking layers comprises an absorbing film. One of ordinary skill in the art could be reasonably expected to combine these references in order to achieve partial coverage on specific protrusion surfaces. Additionally, A person of ordinary skill in the art is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.” KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). “[I]n many cases a person of ordinary skill will be able to fit the teachings of multiple patents together like pieces of a puzzle.” Id. at 420, 82 USPQ2d 1397. Office personnel may also take into account “the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” Id. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396. See MPEP §2141.03(I).
Applicant also argues that all cited references including Wu, Matsukawa, Ahuja, Xu, and Yamagata do not disclose the feature “the third side surface of the triangular prism is exposed” so that light can pass through, as recited in claim 3. Examiner argues that Wu does disclose “the third side surface of the triangular prism is exposed” in page 13, paragraph 3 of translation which states "the material of the micro-prism is a refractive index is more than 1 of the transparent material, including but not limited to polymethyl methacrylate (Polymethyl Methacrylate, PMMA), polycarbonate (Polycarbonate, PC) or glass and so on" and in page 13, paragraph 2 of translation which states “the plurality of light source 100 directly or indirectly emitted light firstly passes through the light orientation layer 301, light emitted along at least two different directions, and then diffused by the light diffusion layer 302 into at least two different directions of the light beam, as shown in FIG. 8”. Therefore the third side surface must be exposed due to light passing through 301 “light orientation layer” and the material being made of transparent glass.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (CN 111948816 A)(see attached machine translation), in view of Ahuja (US 10495879 B1), in view of Matsukawa (WO 2010035746 A1)(see attached machine translation), and further in view of Hay (US 20040043234 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wu discloses an optical film, in at least Figure 9b, comprising:
a substrate (302 “light diffusion layer”, Figure 9b);
a transparent microstructure layer (301 "light orientation layer", page 13, paragraph 3 of translation states "the light orientation layer 301 comprises a plurality of micro-prism structure... the material of the micro-prism is a refractive index is more than 1 of the transparent material, including but not limited to polymethyl methacrylate (Polymethyl Methacrylate, PMMA), polycarbonate (Polycarbonate, PC) or glass and so on,” so therefore the third side surface must be transparent due to the material being made of transparent glass) on the substrate (302 “light diffusion layer”, Figure 9b), the microstructure layer (301 "light orientation layer") comprising a base portion (see examiner’s first markup of Figure 9b) in direct contact with a surface of the substrate (302 “light diffusion layer”) and a plurality of protrusions (“micro-prism structure”, page 13, paragraph 3 of translation states "the light orientation layer 301 comprises a plurality of micro-prism structure, as shown in FIG. 9a. FIG. 9b, the micro-prism structure comprises a triangular cross section of the triangular prism structure", Figure 9b) protruding from the base portion (see examiner’s first markup of Figure 9b) toward a side away from the substrate (302 “light diffusion layer”, Figure 9b).
Below is an examiner’s first markup of Figure 9b of Wu pointing out the base portion.
However, Wu does not disclose a transparent substrate and a plurality of light blocking layers, wherein each of the plurality of light blocking layers partially covers a corresponding one of the plurality of protrusions, and each of the plurality of light blocking layers comprises an absorbing film configured for absorbing light or a reflective film configured for reflecting light, and a base portion having a predetermined thickness.
Ahuja teaches a transparent substrate (351 "substrate", column 10, lines 3-4 state "the substrate 351 and micro-prism structure 355 are formed of the same transparent material", Figure 3B).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the optical film of Wu modified by a transparent substrate, as taught by Ahuja, in order to allow light to pass through the film.
Matsukawa teaches each of the plurality of light blocking layers comprises an absorbing film (“ultraviolet absorber-containing layer”) configured for absorbing light (page 12, paragraph 7 of translation states "The ultraviolet absorber-containing layer is preferably provided at least on the light source-facing surface side of the first optical sheet").
Therefore, it would be obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the optical film of Wu modified by each of the plurality of light blocking layers comprises an absorbing film configured for absorbing light, as taught by Matsukawa, in order to suppress the coloring of the optical sheet in order to extend the life of the electronic device (page 12, paragraph 7 of translation).
Hay teaches a base portion (10 “film”, Figure 5) having a predetermined thickness (paragraph 0045 states “Film 10 initially had parallel front and back surfaces and was between 0.0015 to 0.008 inches thick”).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the optical film of Wu modified by a base portion having a predetermined thickness, as taught by Hay, in order to direct the light rays into the desired area (paragraphs 0045-0046).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Wu, Ahuja, Matsukawa, and Hay disclose all the limitations of claim 1 and Wu further discloses wherein each of the plurality of protrusions (“micro-prism structure”) extends in a strip shape along a first direction (Figure 9b shows the micro-prism structure extending in a strip shape), and the plurality of protrusions (“micro-prism structure”) are distributed continuously along a second direction intersecting with the first direction (Figure 9b shows the micro-prism structure is distributed along a second direction which is orthogonal with the first direction).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Wu, Ahuja, Matsukawa, and Hay disclose all the limitations of claim 2 and Wu further discloses wherein each of the protrusions is a triangular prism (page 13, paragraph 3 of translation states "the micro-prism structure comprises a triangular cross section of the triangular prism structure"), and the triangular prism comprises a first side surface (see examiner’s second markup of Figure 9b), a second side surface (see examiner’s second markup of Figure 9b) and a third side surface (see examiner’s second markup of Figure 9b) which are connected in sequence (see examiner’s second markup of Figure 9b); each of the first, the second and the third side surfaces is a quadrilateral (Figure 9b shows that the first, second, and third side surfaces have four sides, meeting the definition of quadrilateral); the first side surface is in direct contact with the base portion (see examiner’s second markup of Figure 9b), and the third side surface of the triangular prism is exposed (page 13, paragraph 3 of translation states "the material of the micro-prism is a refractive index is more than 1 of the transparent material, including but not limited to polymethyl methacrylate (Polymethyl Methacrylate, PMMA), polycarbonate (Polycarbonate, PC) or glass and so on", page 13, paragraph 2 of translation states “the plurality of light source 100 directly or indirectly emitted light firstly passes through the light orientation layer 301, light emitted along at least two different directions, and then diffused by the light diffusion layer 302 into at least two different directions of the light beam, as shown in FIG. 8”, so therefore the third side surface must be exposed due to light passing through 301 “light orientation layer” and the material being made of transparent glass).
Below is an examiner’s second markup of Figure 9b of Wu pointing out the first side surface, the second side surface, the third side surface, and the base portion.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Wu, Ahuja, Matsukawa, and Hay disclose all the limitations of claim 3, however Wu does not disclose wherein an angle between the second side surface and the third side surface ranges from 30 degrees to 150 degrees.
The combination of Wu, Ahuja, and Matsukawa discloses the claimed invention except for an angle between the second side surface and the third side surface ranges from 30 degrees to 150 degrees. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to restrict the angle between the second side surface and the third side surface ranges from 30 degrees to 150 degrees, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Wu, Ahuja, Matsukawa, and Hay disclose all the limitations of claim 1, however Wu does not disclose wherein the absorbing film is made of an ultraviolet absorber or a polarizing material, and the reflective film is made of a material comprising metal particles or a material comprising oxide particles.
Matsukawa teaches wherein the absorbing film (“ultraviolet absorber-containing layer”) is made of an ultraviolet absorber (last paragraph on page 12 of translation – first paragraph on page 13 of translation) or a polarizing material.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the optical film of Wu modified by wherein the absorbing film is made of an ultraviolet absorber or a polarizing material, as taught by Matsukawa, in order to suppress the coloring of the optical sheet in order to extend the life of the electronic device (page 12, paragraph 7 of translation).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Wu, Ahuja, Matsukawa, and Hay disclose all the limitations of claim 1, however Wu does not disclose wherein the base portion and the plurality of protrusions are integrally formed from a same transparent material.
Hay teaches wherein the base portion (10 “film”, Figure 5) and the plurality of protrusions (12 “retroreflective elements”, Figure 5) are integrally formed from a same transparent material (paragraph 0045 states “The film 10 is of transparent thermoplastic material having embossed on one surface thereof a repeating pattern of cube-corner type reflector elements 12”).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the optical film of Wu modified by wherein the base portion and the plurality of protrusions are integrally formed from a same transparent material, as taught by Hay, in order to direct the light rays into the desired area (paragraphs 0045-0046).
Claims 7, 8, 10-12, 17-19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (CN 111948816 A)(see attached machine translation), in view of Xu (CN 213338211 U)(Embodiment 1)(see attached machine translation), in view of Ahuja (US 10495879 B1), in view of Matsukawa (WO 2010035746 A1)(see attached machine translation), and further in view of Hay (US 20040043234 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Wu discloses a head up display (HUD), in at least Figures 16 and 17, comprising:
a housing (201 "hollow shell”) comprising an accommodating cavity (see examiner’s markup of Figure 16) and a light outlet (2012 "light outlet opening", Figure 16) formed in a wall of the housing (Figure 16 shows that 2012 “light outlet opening” is formed in a wall 201 “hollow shell”) and providing a light path from the accommodating cavity to an exterior the housing (Figure 16 shows that 2012 “light outlet opening” provides a light path for the light from 100 “plurality of light sources” from the accommodating cavity to an exterior of the housing);
a transparent cover (600 "collimating element", Figure 16 shows 600 being used as a cover for 201 “hollow shell”) mounted on the housing (last paragraph of page 14 of translation states "the collimating element 600 can be set in the hollow shell 201") and located at the light outlet (Figure 16 shows element 600 “collimating element” is located at the 2012 “light outlet”);
a picture generation unit (100 "plurality of light sources"; this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as the light source for generating light based on paragraph 0021 of the specification) in the accommodating cavity (see examiner’s markup of Figure 16) for emitting image light;
a reflection assembly in the accommodating cavity (see examiner’s markup of Figure 16, first paragraph on page 15 of translation states "inner reflecting surface of the hollow shell 201"), the reflection assembly being configured for reflecting the image light from the picture generation unit (100 "plurality of light sources"; this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as the light source for generating light based on paragraph 0021 of the specification) to the light outlet (2012 “light outlet”, first paragraph on page 15 of translation states “the plurality of light source emitting angle larger than the light emitted by the inner reflecting surface of the hollow shell 201 is reflected”, Figure 16 shows the light from 100 “plurality of light sources” pointing towards 2012 “light outlet”); and
…, an optical film (300 “transparent film”) comprising:
a substrate (302 “light diffusion layer”, Figure 9b);
a transparent microstructure layer (301 "light orientation layer", page 13, paragraph 3 of translation states "the light orientation layer 301 comprises a plurality of micro-prism structure... the material of the micro-prism is a refractive index is more than 1 of the transparent material, including but not limited to polymethyl methacrylate (Polymethyl Methacrylate, PMMA), polycarbonate (Polycarbonate, PC) or glass and so on", so therefore the third side surface must be transparent due to the material being made of transparent glass) on the substrate (302 “light diffusion layer”, Figure 9b), the microstructure layer (301 "light orientation layer") comprising a base portion (see examiner’s first markup of Figure 9b) in direct contact with a surface of the substrate (302 “light diffusion layer”) and a plurality of protrusions (“micro-prism structure”, page 13, paragraph 3 of translation states "the light orientation layer 301 comprises a plurality of micro-prism structure, as shown in FIG. 9a. FIG. 9b, the micro-prism structure comprises a triangular cross section of the triangular prism structure", Figure 9b) protruding from the base portion (see examiner’s first markup of Figure 9b) toward a side away from the substrate (302 “light diffusion layer”, Figure 9b);
… ;
wherein the image light reflected by the reflection assembly is emitted from the optical film (300 “transparent film”) to a projection medium (500 “transflective element”) for imaging (the abstract states “the head-up display system comprises: a plurality of light sources, a light guide element, a separated light diffusion element, an image forming element and a transflective element, the light emitted by the plurality of light sources is transmitted to the image forming element through the light guide element; the separated light diffusion element diffuses the light emitted by the light source into at least two light beams in different directions; each light beam comprises a section with a preset shape, the image forming element converts the light into image light; the image light is reflected on the transflective element; the reflected light is emitted to at least two different observation areas”).
Below is an examiner’s markup of Figure 16 of Wu pointing out an accommodating cavity.
However, Wu does not disclose an optical film on the transparent cover, a transparent substrate, and a plurality of light blocking layers, wherein each of the plurality of light blocking layers partially covers a corresponding one of the plurality of protrusions, and each of the plurality of light blocking layers comprises an absorbing film configured for absorbing light or a reflective film configured for reflecting light, and a base portion having a predetermined thickness.
Xu (Embodiment 1) teaches an optical film (120 “first polarizing element”) on the transparent cover (see examiner’s markup of Figure 2, the last paragraph of page 6 of translation states “liquid crystal module 12 comprises a first polarizing element 120 arranged adjacent to the light emitting side of the backlight module 11” and page 6, paragraph 9 of translation states “the liquid crystal module 12 is disposed on the light outlet side of the backlight module 11, so that the backlight module 11 provides a backlight for the liquid crystal module 12, and both of them form a display module”).
Below is an examiner’s markup of Figure 2 of Xu (Embodiment 1) pointing out the transparent cover.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the optical film and transparent cover of Wu modified by placing the optical film on the transparent cover, as taught by Xu (Embodiment 1), in order to allow the light to pass from one side of the cover through to the optical film in order to form a display (page 6, paragraph 9 of translation).
Ahuja teaches a transparent substrate (351 "substrate", column 10, lines 3-4 state "the substrate 351 and micro-prism structure 355 are formed of the same transparent material").
Therefore, it would be obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the optical film of Wu modified by a transparent substrate, as taught by Ahuja, in order to allow light to pass through the film.
Matsukawa teaches each of the plurality of light blocking layers comprises an absorbing film (“ultraviolet absorber-containing layer”) for absorbing light (page 12, paragraph 7 of translation states "The ultraviolet absorber-containing layer is preferably provided at least on the light source-facing surface side of the first optical sheet").
Therefore, it would be obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the optical film of Wu modified by each of the plurality of light blocking layers comprises an absorbing film for absorbing light, as taught by Matsukawa, in order to suppress the coloring of the optical sheet in order to extend the life of the electronic device (page 12, paragraph 7 of translation).
Hay teaches a base portion (10 “film”, Figure 5) having a predetermined thickness (paragraph 0045 states “Film 10 initially had parallel front and back surfaces and was between 0.0015 to 0.008 inches thick”).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the optical film of Wu modified by a base portion having a predetermined thickness, as taught by Hay, in order to direct the light rays into the desired area (paragraphs 0045-0046).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Wu, Xu (Embodiment 1), Ahuja, Matsukawa, and Hay disclose all the limitations of claim 7 and Wu further discloses wherein the transparent cover (600 “collimating element”) comprises a first surface (see examiner’s markup of Figure 17) and a second surface (see examiner’s markup of Figure 17) opposite to the first surface (see examiner’s markup of Figure 17), the first surface (see examiner’s markup of Figure 17) faces the accommodating cavity (see examiner’s markup of Figure 16).
Below is an examiner’s markup of Figure 17 of Wu pointing out the first surface and second surface of the transparent cover.
However, Wu does not disclose the optical film is on one of the first surface and the second surface.
Xu (Embodiment 1) teaches the optical film (120 “first polarizing element”) is on one of the first surface (see examiner’s markup of Figure 2) and the second surface.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the optical film and transparent cover of Wu modified by placing the optical film on the first surface of the transparent cover, as taught by Xu (Embodiment 1), in order to allow the light to pass from one side of the cover through to the optical film in order to form a display (page 6, paragraph 9 of translation).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Wu, Xu (Embodiment 1), Ahuja, Matsukawa, and Hay disclose all the limitations of claim 7, however Wu does not disclose wherein the absorbing film is made of an ultraviolet absorber or a polarizing material, and the reflective film is made of a material comprising metal particles or a material comprising oxide particles.
Matsukawa teaches wherein the absorbing film (“ultraviolet absorber-containing layer”) is made of an ultraviolet absorber (last paragraph on page 12 of translation – first paragraph on page 13 of translation) or a polarizing material.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the optical film of Wu modified by wherein the absorbing film is made of an ultraviolet absorber or a polarizing material, as taught by Matsukawa, in order to suppress the coloring of the optical sheet in order to extend the life of the electronic device (page 12, paragraph 7 of translation).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Wu, Xu (Embodiment 1), Ahuja, Matsukawa, and Hay disclose all the limitations of claim 7, however Wu does not disclose wherein the base portion and the plurality of protrusions are integrally formed from a same material.
Hay teaches wherein the base portion (10 “film”, Figure 5) and the plurality of protrusions (12 “retroreflective elements”, Figure 5) are integrally formed from a same transparent material (paragraph 0045 states “The film 10 is of transparent thermoplastic material having embossed on one surface thereof a repeating pattern of cube-corner type reflector elements 12”).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the optical film of Wu modified by wherein the base portion and the plurality of protrusions are integrally formed from a same transparent material, as taught by Hay, in order to direct the light rays into the desired area (paragraphs 0045-0046).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Wu, Xu (Embodiment 1), Ahuja, Matsukawa, and Hay disclose all the limitations of claim 7, and Wu further discloses(Figure 9b shows the micro-prism structure is distributed along a second direction which is orthogonal with the first direction).
Regarding claim 17, Wu discloses a vehicle, in at least Figure 1, comprising:
a windshield (500 “transflective element”, first paragraph on page 9 of translation states "Specifically, the transflective element 500 can be the windshield of the vehicle"); and
a head up display (HUD) (“head up display system”), comprising:
a housing (201 "hollow shell”) comprising an accommodating cavity (see examiner’s markup of Figure 16) and a light outlet (2012 "light outlet opening", Figure 16) formed in a wall of the housing (Figure 16 shows that 2012 “light outlet opening” is formed in a wall 201 “hollow shell”) and providing a light path from the accommodating cavity to an exterior the housing (Figure 16 shows that 2012 “light outlet opening” provides a light path for the light from 100 “plurality of light sources” from the accommodating cavity to an exterior of the housing);
a transparent cover (600 "collimating element", Figure 16 shows 600 being used as a cover for 201 “hollow shell”) mounted on the housing (last paragraph of page 14 of translation states "the collimating element 600 can be set in the hollow shell 201") and located at the light outlet (Figure 16 shows element 600 “collimating element” is located at the 2012 “light outlet”);
a picture generation unit (100 "plurality of light sources"; this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as the light source for generating light based on paragraph 0021 of the specification, Figure 1) in the accommodating cavity (see examiner’s markup of Figure 1) for emitting image light;
a reflection assembly in the accommodating cavity (see examiner’s markup of Figure 16, first paragraph on page 15 of translation states "inner reflecting surface of the hollow shell 201"), the reflection assembly being configured for reflecting the image light from the picture generation unit (100 "plurality of light sources"; this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as the light source for generating light based on paragraph 0021 of the specification) to the light outlet (2012 “light outlet”, first paragraph on page 15 of translation states “the plurality of light source emitting angle larger than the light emitted by the inner reflecting surface of the hollow shell 201 is reflected”, Figure 16 shows the light from 100 “plurality of light sources” pointing towards 2012 “light outlet”); and
…, the optical film (300 “transparent film”) comprising:
a substrate (302 “light diffusion layer”, Figure 9b);
a transparent microstructure layer (301 "light orientation layer", page 13, paragraph 3 of translation states "the light orientation layer 301 comprises a plurality of micro-prism structure... the material of the micro-prism is a refractive index is more than 1 of the transparent material, including but not limited to polymethyl methacrylate (Polymethyl Methacrylate, PMMA), polycarbonate (Polycarbonate, PC) or glass and so on", so therefore the third side surface must be transparent due to the material being made of transparent glass) on the substrate (302 “light diffusion layer”, Figure 9b), the microstructure layer (301 "light orientation layer") comprising a base portion (see examiner’s first markup of Figure 9b) in direct contact with a surface of the substrate (302 “light diffusion layer”) and a plurality of protrusions (“micro-prism structure”, page 13, paragraph 3 of translation states "the light orientation layer 301 comprises a plurality of micro-prism structure, as shown in FIG. 9a. FIG. 9b, the micro-prism structure comprises a triangular cross section of the triangular prism structure", Figure 9b) protruding from the base portion (see examiner’s first markup of Figure 9b) toward a side away from the substrate (302 “light diffusion layer”, Figure 9b);
wherein the image light reflected by the reflection assembly is emitted from the optical film (300 “separated light diffusion element”) to the windshield (500 “transflective element”) for imaging (Figure 1).
Below is examiner’s markup of Figure 1 of Wu pointing out the accommodating cavity.
However, Wu does not disclose an optical film on the transparent cover, a transparent substrate, and a plurality of light blocking layers, wherein each of the plurality of light blocking layers partially covers a corresponding one of the plurality of protrusions, and each of the plurality of light blocking layers comprises one of an absorbing film configured for absorbing light and a reflective film configured for reflecting light, a base portion having a predetermined thickness.
Xu (Embodiment 1) teaches an optical film (120 “first polarizing element”) on the transparent cover (see examiner’s markup of Figure 2, the last paragraph of page 6 of translation states “liquid crystal module 12 comprises a first polarizing element 120 arranged adjacent to the light emitting side of the backlight module 11” and page 6, paragraph 9 of translation states “the liquid crystal module 12 is disposed on the light outlet side of the backlight module 11, so that the backlight module 11 provides a backlight for the liquid crystal module 12, and both of them form a display module”).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the optical film and transparent cover of Wu modified by placing the optical film on the transparent cover, as taught by Xu (Embodiment 1), in order to allow the light to pass from one side of the cover through to the optical film in order to form a display (page 6, paragraph 9 of translation).
Ahuja teaches a transparent substrate (351 "substrate", column 10, lines 3-4 state "the substrate 351 and micro-prism structure 355 are formed of the same transparent material").
Therefore, it would be obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the optical film of Wu modified by a transparent substrate, as taught by Ahuja, in order to allow light to pass through the film.
Matsukawa teaches each of the plurality of light blocking layers comprises an absorbing film (“ultraviolet absorber-containing layer”) for absorbing light (page 12, paragraph 7 of translation states "The ultraviolet absorber-containing layer is preferably provided at least on the light source-facing surface side of the first optical sheet").
Therefore, it would be obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the optical film of Wu modified by each of the plurality of light blocking layers comprises an absorbing film for absorbing light, as taught by Matsukawa, in order to suppress the coloring of the optical sheet in order to extend the life of the electronic device (page 12, paragraph 7 of translation).
Hay teaches a base portion (10 “film”, Figure 5) having a predetermined thickness (paragraph 0045 states “Film 10 initially had parallel front and back surfaces and was between 0.0015 to 0.008 inches thick”).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the optical film of Wu modified by a base portion having a predetermined thickness, as taught by Hay, in order to direct the light rays into the desired area (paragraphs 0045-0046).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Wu, Xu (Embodiment 1), Ahuja, Matsukawa, and Hay disclose all the limitations of claim 17, and Wu further discloses wherein the transparent cover (600 “collimating element”) comprises a first surface (see examiner’s markup of Figure 17) and a second surface (see examiner’s markup of Figure 17) opposite to the first surface (see examiner’s markup of Figure 17), the first surface (see examiner’s markup of Figure 17) faces the accommodating cavity (see examiner’s markup of Figure 16).
However, Wu does not teach the optical film is on one of the first surface and the second surface.
Xu (Embodiment 1) teaches the optical film (120 “first polarizing element”) is on one of the first surface (see examiner’s markup of Figure 2) and the second surface.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the optical film and transparent cover of Wu modified by placing the optical film on the first surface of the transparent cover, as taught by Xu (Embodiment 1), in order to allow the light to pass from one side of the cover through to the optical film in order to form a display (page 6, paragraph 9 of translation).
Regarding claim 19, t the combination of Wu, Xu (Embodiment 1), Ahuja, Matsukawa, and Hay disclose all the limitations of claim 18, and Wu further disclosessecond markup of Figure 9b), a second side surface (see examiner’s second markup of Figure 9b) and a third side surface (see examiner’s second markup of Figure 9b) which are connected in sequence (see examiner’s second markup of Figure 9b); each of the first, the second and the third side surfaces is a quadrilateral (Figure 9b shows that the first, second, and third side surfaces have four sides, meeting the definition of quadrilateral); the first side surface is in direct contact with the base portion (see examiner’s second markup of Figure 9b), and the third side surface of the triangular prism is exposed (page 13, paragraph 3 of translation states "the material of the micro-prism is a refractive index is more than 1 of the transparent material, including but not limited to polymethyl methacrylate (Polymethyl Methacrylate, PMMA), polycarbonate (Polycarbonate, PC) or glass and so on", page 13, paragraph 2 of translation states “the plurality of light source 100 directly or indirectly emitted light firstly passes through the light orientation layer 301, light emitted along at least two different directions, and then diffused by the light diffusion layer 302 into at least two different directions of the light beam, as shown in FIG. 8”, so therefore the third side surface must be exposed due to light passing through 301 “light orientation layer” and the material being made of transparent glass).
However, Wu does not disclose the corresponding one of the plurality of light blocking layers covers the second side surface.
Omae (Embodiment 6) teaches the corresponding one of the plurality of light blocking layers covers the second side surface (examiner's markup of Figure 29 shows that the light blocking layers (12b "second portion") cover the second side surfaces).
Below is an examiner’s markup of Figure 29 of Omae (Embodiment 6) pointing out the second side surface.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the head up display of Wu (Figures 16 and 17) modified by one of the plurality of light blocking layers covering the second side surface, as taught by Omae (Embodiment 6), in order to reflect light that is incident upon one of the plurality of protrusions on the second side surface so that light from only a specific direction will be refracted.
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Wu, Xu (Embodiment 1), Ahuja, Matsukawa, and Hay disclose all the limitations of claim 17, however Wu does not disclose wherein the base portion and the plurality of protrusions are integrally formed of a same transparent material.
Hay teaches wherein the base portion (10 “film”, Figure 5) and the plurality of protrusions (12 “retroreflective elements”, Figure 5) are integrally formed from a same transparent material (paragraph 0045 states “The film 10 is of transparent thermoplastic material having embossed on one surface thereof a repeating pattern of cube-corner type reflector elements 12”).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the optical film of Wu modified by wherein the base portion and the plurality of protrusions are integrally formed from a same transparent material, as taught by Hay, in order to direct the light rays into the desired area (paragraphs 0045-0046).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (CN 111948816 A)(see attached machine translation), in view of Ahuja (US 10495879 B1), in view of Xu (CN 213338211 U)(Embodiment 1)(see attached machine translation), in view of Matsukawa (WO 2010035746 A1)(see attached machine translation), in view of Hay (US 20040043234 A1), and further in view of Yamagata (WO 2017163292 A1)(Embodiment 3)(see attached machine translation).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Wu, Xu (Embodiment 1), Ahuja, Matsukawa, and Hay disclose all the limitations of claim 7, however Wu does not disclose wherein the reflection assembly comprises a spherical mirror with adjustable position.
Yamagata (Embodiment 3) teaches wherein the reflection assembly comprises a spherical mirror (120 “movable mirror”, page 10, paragraph 3 of translation states “The movable mirror 120 may be an aspherical mirror or a spherical mirror”) with adjustable position (last paragraph of page 9 of translation states “the movable unit 130 can adjust the display position of the virtual image 190 by moving the movable mirror 120”).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the mirror in the reflection assembly of Wu modified by making it spherical and adjustable, as taught by Yamagata (Embodiment 3), in order to be able to adjust the display position of virtual images (last paragraph of page 9 of translation).
Claims 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (CN 111948816 A)(see attached machine translation), in view of Ahuja (US 10495879 B1), in view of Xu (CN 213338211 U)(Embodiment 1)(see attached machine translation), in view of Matsukawa (WO 2010035746 A1)(see attached machine translation), in view of Hay (US 20040043234 A1), and further in view of Omae (JP 2007116097 A)(Embodiment 6)(see attached machine translation).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Wu, Xu (Embodiment 1), Ahuja, Matsukawa, and Hay disclose all the limitations of claim 12, and Wu further discloses wherein each of the protrusions is a triangular prism (page 13, paragraph 3 of translation states "the micro-prism structure comprises a triangular cross section of the triangular prism structure"), and the triangular prism comprises a first side surface (see examiner’s second markup of Figure 9b), a second side surface (see examiner’s second markup of Figure 9b) and a third side surface (see examiner’s second markup of Figure 9b) which are connected in sequence (see examiner’s second markup of Figure 9b); each of the first, the second and the third side surfaces is a quadrilateral (Figure 9b shows that the first, second, and third side surfaces have four sides, meeting the definition of quadrilateral); the first side surface is in direct contact with the base portion (see examiner’s second markup of Figure 9b), and the third side surface of the triangular prism is exposed (page 13, paragraph 3 of translation states "the material of the micro-prism is a refractive index is more than 1 of the transparent material, including but not limited to polymethyl methacrylate (Polymethyl Methacrylate, PMMA), polycarbonate (Polycarbonate, PC) or glass and so on", page 13, paragraph 2 of translation states “the plurality of light source 100 directly or indirectly emitted light firstly passes through the light orientation layer 301, light emitted along at least two different directions, and then diffused by the light diffusion layer 302 into at least two different directions of the light beam, as shown in FIG. 8”, so therefore the third side surface must be exposed due to light passing through 301 “light orientation layer” and the material being made of transparent glass).
Below is an examiner’s second markup of Figure 9b of Wu pointing out the first side surface, the second side surface, the third side surface, and the base portion.
However, Wu does not disclose the corresponding one of the plurality of light blocking layers covers the second side surface.
Omae (Embodiment 6) teaches the corresponding one of the plurality of light blocking layers covers the second side surface (examiner's markup of Figure 29 shows that the light blocking layers (12b "second portion") cover the second side surfaces).
Below is an examiner’s markup of Figure 29 of Omae (Embodiment 6) pointing out the second side surface.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the head up display of Wu (Figures 16 and 17) modified by one of the plurality of light blocking layers covering the second side surface, as taught by Omae (Embodiment 6), in order to reflect light that is incident upon one of the plurality of protrusions on the second side surface so that light from only a specific direction will be refracted.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Wu, Xu (Embodiment 1), Ahuja, Matsukawa, Omae, and Hay (Embodiment 6) disclose all the limitations of claim 13, however Wu does not disclose wherein an angle between the second side surface and the third side surface ranges from 30 degrees to 150 degrees.
The combination of Wu, Ahuja, Matsukawa, and Omae (Embodiment 6) discloses the claimed invention except for an angle between the second side surface and the third side surface ranges from 30 degrees to 150 degrees. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to restrict the angle between the second side surface and the third side surface ranges from 30 degrees to 150 degrees, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Wu, Xu (Embodiment 1), Ahuja, Matsukawa, Omae, and Hay (Embodiment 6) disclose all the limitations of claim 13, however Wu does not disclose wherein the optical film is positioned such that an angle between the image light incident on the optical film and the third side surface ranges from 5 degrees to I50 degrees.
The combination of Wu, Ahuja, Matsukawa, and Omae (Embodiment 6) discloses the claimed invention except for the optical film is positioned such that an angle between the image light incident on the optical film and the third side surface ranges from 5 degrees to I50 degrees. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to restrict the angle between the image light incident on the optical film and the third side surface ranges from 5 degrees to I50 degrees, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Wu, Xu (Embodiment 1), Ahuja, Matsukawa, Omae, and Hay (Embodiment 6) disclose all the limitations of claim 13, however Wu does not disclose wherein the optical film is positioned such that an angle of ambient light incident on the optical film and the second side surface ranges from 5 degrees to I50 degrees.
The combination of Wu, Ahuja, Matsukawa, and Omae (Embodiment 6) discloses the claimed invention except for the optical film is positioned such that an angle of ambient light incident on the optical film and the second side surface ranges from 5 degrees to I50 degrees. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to restrict the angle between the ambient light incident on the optical film and the second side surface ranges from 5 degrees to I50 degrees, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALAINA MARIE SWANSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872