DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon (US 20190073505) in view of Kim (US 20210200020)
With regard claim 29, Kwon discloses An electronic device (abstract, see also fig 1-3, fig 9-10) comprising: a display including a plurality of pixels (paragraph [65]-[67]; see also fig 9-11), and wherein a cover layer is provided over a panel of the display (paragraph [65]-[67]; see also fig 9-11; any layers on top of the display can be a cover layer); a sensor coupled to the display via at least an adhesive (paragraph [72]-[74], [76]; see also fig 9-11; ), wherein the display is provided between at least the cover layer and the sensor (paragraph [65]-[67]; see also fig 9-11); a flexible circuit electrically connected to the sensor (paragraph [75]-[77]; see also fig 9-11), wherein part of the sensor is provided between at least the flexible circuit and the display (paragraph [75]-[77]; see also fig 9-11); and a first layer provided on the panel of the display (at least fig 9-11; the layer provided on the panel of the display with opening), the first layer having an opening defined therein in which the sensor is located as viewed from above and/or below (at least fig 9-11), wherein the flexible circuit overlaps at least part of the first layer as viewed from above and/or below (at least fig 9-11); light shielding material (at least fig 9-11; paragraph [115]-[117]) provided in the opening to surround and contact a periphery of the adhesive and a periphery of the sensor as viewed from above and/or below (at least fig 9-11; paragraph [115]-[117]), wherein at least part of the light shielding material fills in a gap between the adhesive and an inner edge of the first layer defining at least part of the opening (at least fig 9-11); wherein the adhesive, for coupling the sensor to the display, is provided between at least the display and the sensor (paragraph [106]-[107], [76]; see also fig 9-11).
Kwon lacks teaching: wherein at least a part of the light shielding material, as viewed from above and/or below, is overlapping at least a part of the adhesive.
Kim teaches: at least a part of the light shielding material, as viewed from above and/or below, is overlapping at least a part of the adhesive (at least fig 5, fig 6-8, paragraph [101]-[103], ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, or at the time of the invention was made, to include this feature (at least a part of the light shielding material, as viewed from above and/or below, is overlapping at least a part of the adhesive) and modify to previous discussed structure (modified the adhesive to have a wider area; and further extend the opening of the other layer) so as to further support the component structure of the modified structure.
Examiner’s note: when the structure is viewed from above and/or below, the claimed two materials will be overlapped as long as the view point is not 90 degree.
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon (US 20190073505) in view of Kim (US 20210200020) and Kim (US 20180120586; called Kim2).
Regarding claim 30, Kwon lacks teaching the light shielding material comprises an epoxy. Kim2 teaches using epoxy material in a light sensor device (paragraph [164]-[166]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, or at the time of the invention was made, to include this feature (epoxy material) and modify to previous discussed structure (modify to Kwon’s opening area to surround a periphery of the adhesive and sensor; replaced as a material of the light shielding material) so as to further fill the gap for the modified structure and/or reduce the cost by using the known material.
Claims 21, 24, 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon (US 20190073505) in view of Kim (US 20180293420).
Regarding claim 21, Kwon disclosed An electronic device (abstract, see also fig 1-3, fig 9-10) comprising: a housing (at least fig 1-3); a display including a plurality of pixels (paragraph [65]-[67]; see also fig 9-11), and wherein a cover layer is provided over a panel of the display (paragraph [65]-[67]; see also fig 9-11; any layers on top of the display can be a cover layer); a sensor coupled to the display via at least an adhesive (paragraph [72]-[74], [76]; see also fig 9-11), wherein the display is provided between at least the cover layer and the sensor (paragraph [75]-[77]; see also fig 9-11); a flexible circuit electrically connected to the sensor (paragraph [75]-[77]; see also fig 9-11), wherein part of the sensor is provided between at least the flexible circuit and the display (paragraph [75]-[77]; see also fig 9-11); a first layer provided on the panel of the display (at least fig 9-11; the layer provided on the panel of the display with opening), the first layer having an opening defined therein in which the sensor is located as viewed from above and/or below (at least fig 9-11), wherein the flexible circuit overlaps at least part of the first layer as viewed from above and/or below; epoxy provided in the opening to surround and contact a periphery of the adhesive and a periphery of the sensor as viewed from above and/or below (at least fig 9-11; paragraph [115]-[117]), wherein at least part of the epoxy fills in a gap between the adhesive and an inner edge of the first layer defining at least part of the opening (at least fig 9-11; paragraph [115]-[117]); wherein the adhesive, for coupling the sensor to the display, is provided between at least the display and the sensor (paragraph [106]-[107], [76]; see also fig 9-11).
Kwon lacks teaching: wherein at least a part of the epoxy, as viewed from above and/or below, is overlapping at least a part of the adhesive.
Kim teaches: at least a part of the epoxy, as viewed from above and/or below, is overlapping at least a part of the adhesive (at least fig 7, paragraph [93]-[98]).
Examiner’s note: Kim’s light shielding material (Epoxy) also surround and contact a periphery of the adhesive and a periphery of the sensor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, or at the time of the invention was made, to include this feature (at least a part of the epoxy, as viewed from above and/or below, is overlapping at least a part of the adhesive) and modify to previous discussed structure (modified the adhesive to have a wider area; and further extend the opening of the other layer) so as to further support the component structure of the modified structure.
Regarding claim 24, modified Kwon further disclosed a second layer provided between the first layer and the flexible circuit (at least fig 9-11; the layer provided between the first layer and the flexible circuit with opening), the second layer having another opening defined therein that overlaps with the opening defined in the first layer (at least fig 9-11).
Regarding claim 26, modified Kwon further disclosed the epoxy comprises a light shielding material disposed in a mounting area between the adhesive and the inner edge of the first layer (Kwon’s light shielding material was modified with epoxy, the original Kwon’s material already have light shielding function with colors or black; see also modification by Kim as discussed above).
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon (US 20190073505) in view of Kim (US 20180293420) further in view of Examiner’s Official Notice (EON, now AAPA).
Regarding claims 27, The primary art and/or the modified structure discussed in the preceding claim disclosed all the subject matter except for the light shielding material is configured to be dried at a room temperature.
However, Examiner take official notice (EON) that the above limitations (the light shielding material is configured to be dried at a room temperature) are well known. (EON is Now Admitted prior art, see MPEP 2144.03)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to include this feature (the light shielding material is configured to be dried at a room temperature) and modify to previous discussed structure. The motivation to modify the previous discussed structure with EON feature is to further improve the production process for the modified structure. (EON is Now Admitted prior art, see MPEP 2144.03)
Claim 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon (US 20190073505) in view of Kim (US 20210200020 ) and Examiner’s Official Notice (EON, now AAPA).
Regarding claims 36, The primary art and/or the modified structure discussed in the preceding claim disclosed all the subject matter except for the light shielding material is configured to be dried at a room temperature.
However, Examiner take official notice (EON) that the above limitations (the light shielding material is configured to be dried at a room temperature) are well known.
(EON is Now Admitted prior art, see MPEP 2144.03)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to include this feature (the light shielding material is configured to be dried at a room temperature) and modify to previous discussed structure. The motivation to modify the previous discussed structure with EON feature is to further improve the production process for the modified structure. (EON is Now Admitted prior art, see MPEP 2144.03)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the Applicants’ remarks that, “Applicant stresses that the alleged overlapping of Kim (US 20210200020) is in an entirely different location from the adhered sensor of Kwon and that the Kim alleged adhesive serves for adhering different elements.” (pages 7-10).
Examiner’s Answer: the Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that:
It’s not Examiner’s position to modify the whole structure of the 2nd art to the primary.
In this case, Kwon lacks teaching: wherein at least a part of the light shielding material, as viewed from above and/or below, is overlapping at least a part of the adhesive.
Kim teaches: at least a part of the light shielding material, as viewed from above and/or below, is overlapping at least a part of the adhesive (at least fig 5, fig 6-8, paragraph [101]-[103], ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, or at the time of the invention was made, to include this feature (at least a part of the light shielding material, as viewed from above and/or below, is overlapping at least a part of the adhesive) and modify to previous discussed structure (modified the adhesive to have a wider area; and further extend the opening of the other layer) so as to further support the component structure of the modified structure.
Examiner’s note: when the structure is viewed from above and/or below, the claimed two materials will be overlapped as long as the view point is not 90 degree.
With respect to the Applicants’ remarks that, “Moreover, Kim's front surface optical shielding layer 221 and the Kim's optically clear adhesive film 203 do not both surround and contact a periphery of a structural element, as now claimed. At best, Kim's front surface optical shielding layer 221 and the Kim's optically clear adhesive film 203 surround only a cut-out region 210. Kim's optically clear adhesive film 203 is not in contact with or co-terminal with the cut-out region 210 or any other element. Therefore, Kim provides no suggestion or motivation for restructuring the sensor region of Kwon in the manner speculated by the final office action.” (pages 9 to the end).
Examiner’s Answer: the Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that:
Cited new art provide all the missing limitations as discussed above.
Kim teaches: at least a part of the epoxy, as viewed from above and/or below, is overlapping at least a part of the adhesive (at least fig 7, paragraph [93]-[98]).
Examiner’s note: Kim’s light shielding material (Epoxy) also surround and contact a periphery of the adhesive and a periphery of the sensor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, or at the time of the invention was made, to include this feature (at least a part of the epoxy, as viewed from above and/or below, is overlapping at least a part of the adhesive) and modify to previous discussed structure (modified the adhesive to have a wider area; and further extend the opening of the other layer) so as to further support the component structure of the modified structure.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/JERRY WU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841