DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 24, 26, 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon (US 20190073505) in view of Kim (US 20180293420)
With regard claim 29, Kwon discloses An electronic device (abstract, see also fig 1-3, fig 9-10) comprising: a display including a plurality of pixels (paragraph [65]-[67]; see also fig 9-11), and wherein a cover layer is provided over a panel of the display (paragraph [65]-[67]; see also fig 9-11; any layers on top of the display can be a cover layer); a sensor coupled to the display via at least an adhesive (paragraph [72]-[74], [76]; see also fig 9-11; ), wherein the display is provided between at least the cover layer and the sensor (paragraph [65]-[67]; see also fig 9-11); a flexible circuit electrically connected to the sensor (paragraph [75]-[77]; see also fig 9-11), wherein part of the sensor is provided between at least the flexible circuit and the display (paragraph [75]-[77]; see also fig 9-11); and a first layer provided on the panel of the display (at least fig 9-11; the layer provided on the panel of the display with opening; at least 41, 42, or 43 can be the first layer), the first layer having an opening defined therein in which the sensor is located as viewed from above and/or below (at least fig 9-11), wherein the flexible circuit overlaps at least part of the first layer as viewed from above and/or below (at least fig 9-11); light shielding material (at least fig 9-11; paragraph [115]-[117]) provided in the opening to surround and contact a periphery of the adhesive and a periphery of the sensor as viewed from above and/or below (at least fig 9-11; paragraph [115]-[117]), wherein at least part of the light shielding material fills in a gap between the adhesive and an inner edge of the first layer defining at least part of the opening (at least fig 9-11); wherein the adhesive, for coupling the sensor to the display, is provided between at least the display and the sensor (paragraph [106]-[107], [76]; see also fig 9-11).
Kwon lacks teaching: wherein at least a part of the light shielding material, as view in a direction perpendicular to a surface where the sensor is coupled by the adhesive, is overlapping at least a part of the adhesive.
Kim teaches a sensor with adhesive and epoxy material comprising (at least fig 7, 749, DAF, and sensor above DAF or 71): at least a part of the epoxy material, as view in a direction perpendicular to a surface where the sensor is coupled by the adhesive, is overlapping at least a part of the adhesive (at least fig 7, fig 6-8, paragraph [96]-[102]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, or at the time of the invention was made, to include this feature (change the area/size of the adhesive to be bigger than the sensor) and modify to previous discussed structure (modified the adhesive to have a wider area; and further extend the opening of the other layer; the filling of the light shielding material is still the same and cover more area of the adhesive including the surface as view in a direction perpendicular to a surface where the sensor is coupled by the adhesive) so as to have (Kwon in view of Kim): at least a part of the light shielding material (Kwon), as view in a direction perpendicular to a surface where the sensor is coupled by the adhesive (modified by Kim with a bigger area extended out of the sensor as view in a direction perpendicular to a surface where the sensor is coupled by the adhesive), is overlapping at least a part of the adhesive (Kwon in view of Kim).
The motivation to modify the previous discussed structure (a bigger area of the adhesive under the sensor) with the current feature is to provide more contact area with the light shielding material and/or more support for the sensor.
Regarding claim 21, Kwon disclosed An electronic device (abstract, see also fig 1-3, fig 9-10) comprising: a housing (at least fig 1-3); a display including a plurality of pixels (paragraph [65]-[67]; see also fig 9-11), and wherein a cover layer is provided over a panel of the display (paragraph [65]-[67]; see also fig 9-11; any layers on top of the display can be a cover layer); a sensor coupled to the display via at least an adhesive (paragraph [72]-[74], [76]; see also fig 9-11), wherein the display is provided between at least the cover layer and the sensor (paragraph [75]-[77]; see also fig 9-11); a flexible circuit electrically connected to the sensor (paragraph [75]-[77]; see also fig 9-11), wherein part of the sensor is provided between at least the flexible circuit and the display (paragraph [75]-[77]; see also fig 9-11); a first layer provided on the panel of the display (at least fig 9-11; the layer provided on the panel of the display with opening, at least 41, 42, or 43), the first layer having an opening defined therein in which the sensor is located as viewed from above and/or below (at least fig 9-11), wherein the flexible circuit overlaps at least part of the first layer as viewed from above and/or below; epoxy provided in the opening to surround and contact a periphery of the adhesive and a periphery of the sensor as viewed from above and/or below (at least fig 9-11; paragraph [115]-[117]), wherein at least part of the epoxy fills in a gap between the adhesive and an inner edge of the first layer defining at least part of the opening (at least fig 9-11; paragraph [115]-[117]); wherein the adhesive, for coupling the sensor to the display, is provided between at least the display and the sensor (paragraph [106]-[107], [76]; see also fig 9-11).
Kwon lacks teaching: wherein at least a part of the epoxy, as view in a direction perpendicular to a surface where the sensor is coupled by the adhesive, is overlapping at least a part of the adhesive.
Kim teaches a sensor with adhesive and epoxy material comprising (at least fig 7, 749, DAF, and sensor above DAF or 71): at least a part of the epoxy material, as view in a direction perpendicular to a surface where the sensor is coupled by the adhesive, is overlapping at least a part of the adhesive (at least fig 7, fig 6-8, paragraph [96]-[102]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, or at the time of the invention was made, to include this feature (change the area/size of the adhesive to be bigger than the sensor) and modify to previous discussed structure (modified the adhesive to have a wider area; and further extend the opening of the other layer; the filling of the epoxy is still the same and cover more area of the adhesive including the surface as view in a direction perpendicular to a surface where the sensor is coupled by the adhesive) so as to have (Kwon in view of Kim): at least a part of the epoxy (Kwon), as view in a direction perpendicular to a surface where the sensor is coupled by the adhesive (modified by Kim with a bigger area extended out of the sensor as view in a direction perpendicular to a surface where the sensor is coupled by the adhesive), is overlapping at least a part of the adhesive (Kwon in view of Kim).
The motivation to modify the previous discussed structure (a bigger area of the adhesive under the sensor) with the current feature is to provide more contact area with the epoxy and/or more support for the sensor.
Regarding claim 24, modified Kwon further disclosed a second layer provided between the first layer and the flexible circuit (at least fig 9-11; the layer provided between the first layer and the flexible circuit with opening), the second layer having another opening defined therein that overlaps with the opening defined in the first layer (at least fig 9-11).
Regarding claim 26, modified Kwon further disclosed the epoxy comprises a light shielding material disposed in a mounting area between the adhesive and the inner edge of the first layer (Kwon’s light shielding material was modified with epoxy, the original Kwon’s material already have light shielding function with colors or black; see also modification by Kim as discussed above).
Regarding claim 30, Kwon lacks teaching the light shielding material comprises an epoxy. Kim teaches using epoxy material in a sensor device (paragraph [164]-[166]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, or at the time of the invention was made, to include this feature (use epoxy material) and modify to previous discussed structure (modify to Kwon’s opening area to surround a periphery of the adhesive and sensor; replaced epoxy as a material of the light shielding material) so as to further fill the gap for the modified structure and/or reduce the cost by using the known material and/or shield the light in that area.
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon (US 20190073505) in view of Kim (US 20180293420) further in view of AAPA.
Regarding claims 27, The primary art and/or the modified structure discussed in the preceding claim disclosed all the subject matter except for the light shielding material is configured to be dried at a room temperature.
However, Examiner take official notice (EON) that the above limitations (the light shielding material is configured to be dried at a room temperature) are well known. (EON was Now Admitted prior art, see MPEP 2144.03)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to include this feature (the light shielding material is configured to be dried at a room temperature) and modify to previous discussed structure. The motivation to modify the previous discussed structure with AAPA feature is to further improve the production process for the modified structure. (EON was Now Admitted prior art, see MPEP 2144.03)
Claim 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon (US 20190073505) in view of Kim (US 20180293420) and AAPA.
Regarding claims 36, The primary art and/or the modified structure discussed in the preceding claim disclosed all the subject matter except for the light shielding material is configured to be dried at a room temperature.
However, Examiner take official notice (EON) that the above limitations (the light shielding material is configured to be dried at a room temperature) are well known.
(EON was Now Admitted prior art, see MPEP 2144.03)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to include this feature (the light shielding material is configured to be dried at a room temperature) and modify to previous discussed structure. The motivation to modify the previous discussed structure with AAPA feature is to further improve the production process for the modified structure. (EON was Now Admitted prior art, see MPEP 2144.03)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the Applicants’ remarks that, “The office action argues that Kim (US 20210200020) would suggest to Kwon that the Kwon structure be modified so that Kwon's resin 80 does overlap Kwon's adhesive 60. The office action alleges that Kim (US 20210200020) Fig. 5 discloses such overlapping, e.g., of Kim's front surface optical shielding layer 221 and the optically clear adhesive film 203.” (pages 7-10).
Examiner’s Answer: the Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that:Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to current ground of rejection in the office action.
With respect to the Applicants’ remarks that, “Newly applied Kim (US 20180293420) relates to attaching an optical sensor to a printed circuit board (PCB), for which attachment which is fundamentally different from the attachment described by the independent claims. Furthermore, when employing an optical sensor, the sensor cannot be directly attached to the rear of the display; instead, it must be coupled via a housing as disclosed in KIM3. Therefore, KIM3 lacks motivation for combination with other cited references.” (pages 10 to the end).
Examiner’s Answer: the Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that:
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In this case, Examiner modify the area/size of the adhesive layer under the sensor.
It’s not Examiner’s position to further modify the other parts such as different type of sensor, PCB, etc.
In this case, Kim teaches a sensor with adhesive and epoxy material comprising (at least fig 7, 749, DAF, and sensor above DAF or 71): at least a part of the epoxy material, as view in a direction perpendicular to a surface where the sensor is coupled by the adhesive , is overlapping at least a part of the adhesive (at least fig 7, fig 6-8, paragraph [96]-[102]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, or at the time of the invention was made, to include this feature (change the area/size of the adhesive to be bigger than the sensor) and modify to previous discussed structure (modified the adhesive to have a wider area; and further extend the opening of the other layer; the filling of the light shielding material is still the same and cover more area of the adhesive including the surface as view in a direction perpendicular to a surface where the sensor is coupled by the adhesive) so as to have (Kwon in view of Kim): at least a part of the light shielding material (Kwon), as view in a direction perpendicular to a surface where the sensor is coupled by the adhesive (modified by Kim with a bigger area extended out of the sensor as view in a direction perpendicular to a surface where the sensor is coupled by the adhesive), is overlapping at least a part of the adhesive (Kwon in view of Kim).
The motivation to modify the previous discussed structure (a bigger area of the adhesive under the sensor) with the current feature is to provide more contact area with the light shielding material and/or more support for the sensor.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JERRY WU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841