DETAILED ACTION
This action is pursuant to claims filed on 11/12/2025. Claims 1-7, 9-18, 22, 24, and 25 are pending. A final action on the merits of claims 1-7, 9-18, 22, 24, and 25 is as follows.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5, 9-16 and 22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s amendments result in claims 6-7 and 17-18 now being objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The 103 rejections of claims 6-7 and 17-18 are withdrawn.
New claim 24 is allowable as discussed in the interview dated 11/12/2025.
Regarding claim 25, while the examiner had initially noted in the interview dated 8/12/2025 that the subject matter appeared allowable, upon further search and consideration prior art disclosing the claimed limitations was found and the reasoning is described below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 9, 11-16, 22, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Veen et al (hereinafter ‘Veen’, US 2012/0116198) in view of Chung (US 20140213882 A1), and in further view of Brun del Re et al. (hereinafter ‘Brun’, WO 02065905 A1).
Regarding independent claim 1, Veen discloses an integrated differential voltage measuring system (system shown in Fig. 5) for measuring bioelectrical signals of a patient ([Abstract]: the invention relates to an apparatus for capacitive measurement of electrophysiological signals wherein an average voltage between the electrode and body is controlled to reduce motion-induced signals), the integrated differential voltage measuring system comprising:
at least two signal measuring circuits (circuit connecting electrodes 1 and 12 in Fig. 5), each of the at least two signal measuring circuits including,
a sensor electrode (sensor electrodes 1 and 12 in Fig. 5); and
a reference measuring circuit (circuit connecting electrode 11 in Fig. 5) comprising a reference electrode (reference electrode 11 in Fig. 5);
a layer disposed between the sensor electrodes and the patient ([0198]: Since capacitive sensors have the unique capability to measure through insulating materials new possibilities arise like measuring through bandages, e.g. in case of burn wounds or measure electrophysiological signals in a `smart bed`) and a layer between the reference electrodes and the patient ([0087]: a reference electrode 4 that touches the body 3 only indirectly through a slightly conductive medium is sufficient. An extreme but practical case is a relatively large electrode 4 that has a clear capacitive link to the body 3 and only a very poorly conductive contact, e.g. through a layer of textile; [0088]: The embodiment of FIG. 5 comprises the components of FIG. 4 connected as described above).
However, Veen does not disclose that the electrode covering layer is a hygroscopic electrically conductive layer placed between the sensor and reference electrodes and the garment of the patient that superimposes at least a region that is formed by base areas of the sensor and reference electrodes.
Chung teaches an electrode structure for measuring a biosignal and an apparatus for measuring an electrocardiogram using the electrode via a capacitive coupling between the electrode pad and the human skin, similar to the capacitive coupling of Veen ([Abstract]). Chung further teaches an absorption layer that absorbs moisture from the surrounding air in order to dissipate static charges accumulated in the electrode pads ([0049]). The absorption layer is formed of a superabsorbent polymer selected from the group consisting of a polymer produced by graft-polymerizing acrylonitrile to starch or cellulose, a block copolymer of acrylic acid and vinyl alcohol, and a block copolymer of salt and vinyl alcohol ([0018]). The superabsorbent nature of these materials mean they are hygroscopic materials as they absorb moisture from the surrounding environment. The moisture inherently allows for the conduction of electricity as sweat/water is capable of conducting electricity. Chung further teaches that the layer may be provided at one side of the earth electrode in order to further enhance the prevention of static electricity ([0073]). The conductive layer can additionally be placed between the sensor electrodes and the clothing as seen in Fig. 3 where the conductive covering 212 and 222 are between the sensor electrodes and the clothing B. This is possible because Chung is a non-contact electrode system, similar to that of Veen. Furthermore, utilizing the conductive covering between the clothing and the electrodes means that the user does not have to remove their clothes in order to have their condition measured ([0010]). While Chung teaches that there could be three individual layers of the same material, it would be of routine skill in the art to combine the individual parts into a single layer that superimposes each electrode in order to save space, since that is a mere change of shape. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the electrically conductive layer of Chung with the system of Veen such that a shared hygroscopic conductive layer is disposed between the sensing and reference electrodes and the garment of the patient in order to prevent the buildup of static electricity and allow the user to keep their clothing on during operation.
While the shared electrically conductive covering of the Veen/Chung combination would inherently provide for some ohmic resistance between the patient and the sensor electrode due to the fact that the system utilizes capacitive coupling, the combination is silent to that result.
Brun teaches a bioelectrode for obtaining ECGs with an enhancement layer that can carry moisture which creates an ionically conductive interface which reduces tribo-electric noise such that a signal can be obtained through clothing, which is very similar to the electrically conductive layer of the Veen/Chung combination ([Abstract]). Brun further explains that it is desirable for the electrical features of the enhancer layer, which corresponds to the conductive layer of the Veen/Chung combination, to have a bulk resistance of less than 1 MOhm when moistened and that this conductivity may be permanent with the addition of a conductive material ([page 6]). The layers electrical conductivity creates an ohmic link between the body signal and the source electrode and in the case of capacitive electrodes the layer serves to shunt parasitic interface capacitances arising from the skin, clothing, and air gaps ([page 6]). This helps to stabilize the net capacitive coupling between the electrode and the body over time and ensures the coupling is nearer to the nominal capacitance of the electrode ([page 6]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further combine the conductive layer of the Veen/Chung combination with the absorbent enhancer layer manufactured with permanent conductive particles of Brun to facilitate an ohmic link between the sensor electrode and the body in order to stabilize the net capacitive coupling between the electrode and the body over time.
Regarding claim 2, the Veen/Chung/Brun combination discloses the invention substantially in claim 1 and described above.
However, the combination is silent to the structure of the sensor electrodes and the reference electrode.
Chung further teaches that the electrode structure is a sandwich type structure consisting of two opposite electrode pads 110 and 120 and a moisture absorption layer 130 disposed between ([0042]). Chung further states that the electrode pads 110 and 120 are made from electrically conductive fiber or metal for electric conductions ([0043]). The electrode pads 110 and 120 each are so equipped with an absorption layer 130 that the electrodes can keep moisture all the time. In this state, when a testee sits in a chair equipped with the electrode pads 110 and 120, the electrocardiogram can be measured, by which it is possible to reduce the initial noises when obtaining electrocardiogram signals and to greatly reduce the initial noise stabilization time which is required so as to obtain clear signals ([0045]). Because the combination of record is silent to the electrode structure and utilizing a layered electrode with a conductive plate and hygroscopic material would not affect the operability, the combination is of ordinary skill in the art to complete. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the electrode structure of Chung with the device of the combination of record such that the electrode has a layered type structure with a top conductive layer and an absorbent layer that would provide for additional noise reduction due to static electricity.
Regarding claim 3, the Veen/Chung/Brun combination discloses the invention substantially in claim 1 and described above. Chung and Brun further disclose that one of the factors effecting capacitance is the distance between the capacitor plates, which in the present case are the skin and the electrode surface (Chung [0061]-[0062], Brun [page 16]). Furthermore, the electrically conductive covering has a thickness as shown in Fig. 3 of Chung and Fig. 12 of Brun.
However, the Veen/Chung/Brun combination is silent to the thickness of the electrically conductive covering.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to set the thickness of the conductive layer to less than 100µm, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Because the Veen/Chung/Brun combination discloses a layer with arbitrary thickness that effects the capacitance measurement, it is of routine skill in the art to determine the optimum thickness for ideal operation. The instant application does not state that the thickness of this layer effects functionality, only that it would result in a slimer profile that is easy to shape ([0050]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the layer of the combination to the claimed thickness of less than 100 µm.
Regarding claim 4, the Veen/Chung/Brun combination discloses the invention substantially in claim 1 and described above. The combination further teaches the electrically conductive electrode covering is made from a synthetic material ([0018]: the superabsorbent polymer of the absorption layer is one selected among a polymer produced by graft-polymerizing acrylonitrile to starch or cellulose, a block copolymer of acrylic acid and vinyl alcohol, and a block copolymer of salt and vinyl alcohol – these are synthetic materials as they are not naturally occurring).
Regarding claim 9, the Veen/Chung/Brun combination discloses the invention substantially in claim 1, wherein the base area of the reference electrode corresponds to a multiple of the base area of one of the sensor electrodes (base of reference electrode 11 in Fig. 5 of Veen is substantially larger than the sensing electrodes 1 and 12).
Regarding claim 11, the Veen/Chung/Brun combination discloses the invention substantially in claim 1 as described above. The combination further teaches an impedance between the reference electrode and each sensor electrode greater than 100MOhm in each case (there is air space between the electrodes as shown in Veen Fig. 5 and air is known in the art to have a resistivity of 1.3×1016 to 3.3×1016 Ohm-m, as evidenced by ThoughtCo, thus a impedance between the sensor electrodes and the reference electrode is well over 100MOhm).
Regarding claim 12, the Veen/Chung/Brun combination discloses the invention substantially in claim 1, further comprising:
a grounding circuit (grounding circuit connected to grounding potential 6 in Veen Fig. 5) including a grounding electrode ([0006]: at least one reference electrode may be provided – thus multiple reference electrodes are disclosed; [0088]: 6 can be a ground or reference potential – thus the device can have a reference electrode to a reference potential and a reference electrode to a ground),
wherein a base area (Veen [0084]: the ground can be chosen at the body near the electrode potential) of the grounding electrode is superimposed by the electrically conductive electrode covering (the covering of the Veen/Chung/Brun combination covers all electrodes as described above).
Regarding claim 13, the Veen/Chung/Brun combination discloses the invention of claim 12 as described above. The combination further teaches
an impedance between the grounding electrode and each sensor is greater than 1 GOhm (there is air space between the electrodes as shown in Veen Fig. 5 and air is known in the art to have a resistivity of 1.3×1016 to 3.3×1016 Ohm-m, as evidenced by ThoughtCo, thus an impedance between the sensor electrodes and the grounding electrode is well over 1GOhm), and
an impedance between the grounding electrode and the reference electrode is greater than 200 MOhm (there is air space between all of the electrodes as shown in Veen Fig. 5 and air is known in the art to have a resistivity of 1.3×1016 to 3.3×1016 Ohm-m, as evidenced by ThoughtCo, thus, since the reference and ground electrode are two separate electrodes which means there would be air space between them, an impedance exists between the grounding electrode and the reference electrode that is well over 200MOhm).
Regarding claim 14, the Veen/Chung/Brun combination discloses the invention substantially in claim 2/1 and described above. Chung and Brun further disclose that one of the factors effecting capacitance is the distance between the capacitor plates, which in the present case are the skin and the electrode surface (Chung [0061]-[0062], Brun [page 16]). Furthermore, the electrically conductive covering has a thickness as shown in Fig. 3 of Chung and Fig. 12 of Brun.
However, the Veen/Chung/Brun combination is silent to the thickness of the electrically conductive covering.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to set the thickness of the conductive layer to less than 100µm, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Because the Veen/Chung/Brun combination discloses a layer with arbitrary thickness that effects the capacitance measurement, it is of routine skill in the art to determine the optimum thickness for ideal operation. The instant application does not state that the thickness of this layer effects functionality, only that it would result in a slimer profile that is easy to shape ([0050]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the layer of the combination to the claimed thickness of less than 100 µm.
Regarding claim 15, the Veen/Chung/Brun combination discloses the invention substantially in claim 2/1 and described above. The combination further teaches the electrically conductive electrode covering is made from a synthetic material ([0018]: the superabsorbent polymer of the absorption layer is one selected among a polymer produced by graft-polymerizing acrylonitrile to starch or cellulose, a block copolymer of acrylic acid and vinyl alcohol, and a block copolymer of salt and vinyl alcohol – these are synthetic materials as they are not naturally occurring).
Regarding claim 16, the Veen/Chung/Brun combination discloses the invention substantially in claim 3/1 and described above. The combination further teaches the electrically conductive electrode covering is made from a synthetic material ([0018]: the superabsorbent polymer of the absorption layer is one selected among a polymer produced by graft-polymerizing acrylonitrile to starch or cellulose, a block copolymer of acrylic acid and vinyl alcohol, and a block copolymer of salt and vinyl alcohol – these are synthetic materials as they are not naturally occurring).
Regarding claim 22, the Veen/Chung/Brun combination discloses the invention substantially in claim 1 as described above. The combination further teaches the shared electrically conductive electrode covering is electrically connected to the sensor electrodes (based on paragraph [0078] of the instant application, the electrical connection between the conductive covering and the sensor electrodes is a capacitive resistance that is created between the patient and the sensor electrodes; (Chung [0057]: the electrode is designed to obtain a bio-signal from the testee based on a capacitance formation at a human body skin, and the device has an absorption layer on one surface of the electrode for minimizing the effects of static electricity; furthermore, as explained on Brun page 27, the presence of an enhancer layer, together with the skin and small air gaps, is modelled by parasitic resistance and capacitance in parallel - thus the electrical connection is the capacitive coupling that the electrically conductive layer aids in forming between the electrode and skin which is consistent with the instant application).
Regarding independent claim 25, Veen discloses an integrated differential voltage measuring system (system shown in Fig. 5) for measuring bioelectrical signals of a patient ([Abstract]: the invention relates to an apparatus for capacitive measurement of electrophysiological signals wherein an average voltage between the electrode and body is controlled to reduce motion-induced signals), the integrated differential voltage measuring system comprising:
at least two signal measuring circuits (circuit connecting electrodes 1 and 12 in Fig. 5), each of the at least two signal measuring circuits including,
a sensor electrode (sensor electrodes 1 and 12 in Fig. 5); and
a reference measuring circuit (circuit connecting electrode 11 in Fig. 5) comprising a reference electrode (reference electrode 11 in Fig. 5);
a layer disposed between the sensor electrodes and the patient ([0198]: Since capacitive sensors have the unique capability to measure through insulating materials new possibilities arise like measuring through bandages, e.g. in case of burn wounds or measure electrophysiological signals in a `smart bed`) and a layer between the reference electrodes and the patient ([0087]: a reference electrode 4 that touches the body 3 only indirectly through a slightly conductive medium is sufficient. An extreme but practical case is a relatively large electrode 4 that has a clear capacitive link to the body 3 and only a very poorly conductive contact, e.g. through a layer of textile; [0088]: The embodiment of FIG. 5 comprises the components of FIG. 4 connected as described above).
However, Veen does not disclose that the electrode covering layer is an electrically conductive layer placed between the sensor and reference electrodes and the garment of the patient which superimposes at least a region formed by base areas of the sensor and reference electrodes.
Chung teaches an electrode structure for measuring a biosignal and an apparatus for measuring an electrocardiogram using the electrode via a capacitive coupling between the electrode pad and the human skin, similar to the capacitive coupling of Veen ([Abstract]). Chung further teaches an absorption layer that absorbs moisture from the surrounding air in order to dissipate static charges accumulated in the electrode pads ([0049]). The moisture inherently allows for the conduction of electricity as sweat/water is capable of conducting electricity. Chung further teaches that the layer may be provided at one side of the earth electrode in order to further enhance the prevention of static electricity ([0073]). The conductive layer can additionally be placed between the sensor electrodes and the clothing as seen in Fig. 3 where the conductive covering 212 and 222 are between the sensor electrodes and the clothing B. This is possible because Chung is a non-contact electrode system, similar to that of Veen. Furthermore, utilizing the conductive covering between the clothing and the electrodes means that the user does not have to remove their clothes in order to have their condition measured ([0010]). While Chung teaches that there could be three individual layers of the same material, it would be of routine skill in the art to combine the individual parts into a single layer that superimposes each electrode in order to save space, since that is a mere change of shape. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the electrically conductive layer of Chung with the system of Veen such that a shared hygroscopic conductive layer is disposed between the sensing and reference electrodes and the garment of the patient in order to prevent the buildup of static electricity and allow the user to keep their clothing on during operation.
While the shared electrically conductive covering of the Veen/Chung combination would inherently provide for some ohmic resistance between the patient and the sensor electrode due to the fact that the system utilizes capacitive coupling, the combination is silent to the garment and the shared electrically conductive electrode covering creating an ohmic resistance connected in parallel with a capacitive resistance between the patient and the sensor electrode. The combination is also silent to the layer comprising a conductive material.
Brun teaches a bioelectrode for obtaining ECGs with an enhancement layer that can carry moisture which creates an ionically conductive interface which reduces tribo-electric noise such that a signal can be obtained through clothing, which is very similar to the electrically conductive layer of the Veen/Chung combination ([Abstract]). Brun further explains that it is desirable for the electrical features of the enhancer layer, which corresponds to the conductive layer of the Veen/Chung combination, to have a bulk resistance of less than 1 MOhm when moistened and that this conductivity may be permanent with the addition of a conductive material ([page 6]). The layer’s electrical conductivity creates an ohmic link between the body signal and the source electrode and in the case of capacitive electrodes the layer serves to shunt parasitic interface capacitances arising from the skin, clothing, and air gaps ([page 6]). This helps to stabilize the net capacitive coupling between the electrode and the body over time and ensures the coupling is nearer to the nominal capacitance of the electrode ([page 6]). The electrodes with the enhancer layer can be placed on the clothing ([page 13]) and the connection can be modelled like in Fig. 26, which depicts the parasitic resistance and capacitance connected in parallel ([page 27]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further combine the conductive layer of the Veen/Chung combination with the absorbent enhancer layer manufactured with permanent conductive particles of Brun to facilitate an ohmic link connected in parallel with the capacitive resistance between the sensor electrode and the body in order to stabilize the net capacitive coupling between the electrode and the body over time.
Claims 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Veen/Chung/Brun combination as applied to claim 4/1 and described above in view of Kolpin et al. (hereinafter ‘Kolpin’, US 20050177038 A1).
Regarding claim 5, the Veen/Chung/Brun combination discloses the invention substantially in claim 4/1 and described above. The combination further teaches that the shared electrically conductive covering can comprise a permanent conductive material (Brun [page 6])
However, the Veen/Chung/Brun combination is silent to the exact conductive material that makes up the permanent conductive material.
Kolpin teaches a bioelectrode for detecting heart signals and the like which has a surface with an elevated resistivity to reduce the effect of noise ([Abstract]). Specifically, as seen in Fig. 3, Kolpin has a substrate layer 7 between the bottom of the electrode and the conductive layer 6. The substrate layer 7 is a molded-rubber sheet containing a suspension of fine carbon particles, making it mildly conductive ([0101]). The conductive carbon allows for conductive pathways to form in the substrate material ([0047]). Modifying the resistance of the skin contacting layer allows for reduced noise from polarization effects as well as those arising from static electricity ([0043]). Reducing the effect of noise caused by static electricity is the same goal as that of the Veen/Chung/Brun combination. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize carbon as the permanent conductive material since it has been shown to be an effective conductive particle for adjusting the conductivity of a layer to reduce the buildup of static charges.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Veen/Chung/Brun combination as applied to claim 1 and described above in view of Stone (hereinafter ‘Stone ‘810’, US 2017/0303810 A1).
Regarding claim 10, the Veen/Chung/Brun combination discloses the system as claimed in claim 1 and described above. The combination further discloses a large reference electrode (reference electrode 11 in Fig. 5).
However, the combination is silent to whether the reference electrodes surround the sensing electrodes.
Stone ‘810 teaches a capacitive physiological monitoring system with multiple sensing electrodes and a large reference electrode ([Abstract]). Stone further teaches that the reference electrode 4 surrounds both of the sensing electrodes 2a and 2b as seen in Fig. 2. The shape allows for the reference electrode shield the first and second electrodes ([0059]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the shape of the reference electrode of Stone ‘810 with the large reference electrode of the Veen/Chung/Brun combination such that the reference electrode surrounds the sensing electrode which imparts enhanced shielding capabilities, thus arriving at the claimed invention.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 7, 17, and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 6/5/1, 17/2/1, and 18/3/1 the Veen/Chung/Brun/Kolpin combination and the Veen/Chung/Brun combination disclose the inventions in claims 5/1, 2/1, and 3/1 respectively as described above. The combination further teaches that the shared electrically conductive layer comprises a bulk resistance of less than 1MOhm and preferably less than several kilo-ohms (Brun [page 6]).
However, the combination is silent to the surface resistance of the electrically conductive electrode covering.
Kolpin further teaches that between the conductive layer 6 and the skin, there is a partially conductive layer 7 as seen in Fig. 3. This layer is a partially conductive material formed of rubber with a suspension of carbon to render the material partially conductive ([0101]). Kolpin goes on to further state that any substrate materials possessing low bulk conductivity of the desired value will suffice ([0101]). Kolpin further states that the substrate layer 7 may have a volume resistivity in the range of 103 Ohm-cm to 1011 Ohm-cm in the X-Y plane of the electrode surface ([0102]).
However, while it is possible to modify the density of conductive material on the surface of the electrically conductive layer to achieve the claimed surface resistance, it would not be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify a layer with a low bulk resistance as taught by Brun and Kolpin to have a much higher surface resistance as is claimed in claims 6, 17, and 18. Creating a high surface resistance would be contradictory to forming a low bulk resistance as taught by the prior art. Therefore, the prior art of record taken alone or in combination fail to disclose, teach, or suggest modifying a layer of a low bulk resistance to simultaneously have a high surface resistance. Thus, claims 6, 17, and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. This is due to its dependance on claim 6.
Claim 24 is allowed.
Claim 24 is allowable because it incorporates the subject matter of an objected to dependent claim, base claim, and all intervening claims as described in the office action dated 8/12/2025.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LINDA C DVORAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/W.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3794