DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-6, and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Trygubova (10,681,844).
Regarding Claim 1: Trygubova teaches a compute device comprising: a chassis (204); a circuit board (206); an integrated circuit component (212) mounted on the circuit board (figs. 10-10); a heat sink (314) mounted on the integrated circuit component (figs. 10-12); and a spring (310) pressing against the chassis (figs. 10-12) and pressing the heat sink (figs. 10-12) and the integrated circuit component together (figs. 10-12).
Regarding Claim 2: Trygubova teaches wherein the spring is a leaf spring (figs. 10-12).
Regarding Claim 5: Trygubova teaches wherein the spring presses against the heat sink (figs. 10-12).
Regarding Claim 6: Trygubova teaches of wherein the circuit board (206) comprises a first side (fig. 9) and second side (fig. 9), wherein the integrated circuit component (212) is mounted on the first side of the circuit board (fig. 9), wherein the spring (202-7) presses against the second side of the circuit board (fig. 9).
Regarding Claim 12: Trygubova teaches wherein the spring does not require attachment holes passing through the circuit board (figs. 10-12).
Regarding Claim 13: Trygubova teaches wherein the circuit board comprises a first side and second side (figs. 10-12), wherein the integrated circuit component is mounted on the first side of the circuit board (figs. 10-12), wherein the spring does not require a keep-out zone on the first side of the circuit board (figs. 10-12).
Regarding Claim 14: Trygubova teaches wherein the integrated circuit component is a processor (col. 5 lines 32-42).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 10, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trygubova (10,681,844) as applied to claims above, and further in view of Paavola (2021/0321541).
Regarding Claim 3: Trygubova lacks a specific teaching of wherein the spring is a coil spring.
Paavola teaches wherein the spring is a coil spring (152a and 152b in fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Trygubova by having wherein the spring is a coil spring as disclosed by Paavola in order to allow for a more secure and tight connection between the spring devices and the electronic components to the heat dissipation portions of the apparatus which decreases the chance of the apparatus over heating which would require repair or replacement of the damaged components.
Regarding Claim 10: Trygubova lacks a specific teaching of wherein the heat sink comprises a vapor chamber.
Paavola teaches wherein the heat sink comprises a vapor chamber (chamber of heat pipe 110).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Trygubova by having wherein the heat sink comprises a vapor chamber as disclosed by Paavola in order to allow for an increased heat dissipation quality of the heat sink module which decreases the chance of the apparatus over heating which would require repair or replacement of the damaged components.
Regarding Claim 11: Trygubova lacks a specific teaching of wherein the heat sink comprises a heat pipe.
Paavola teaches wherein the heat sink comprises a heat pipe (110).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Trygubova by having wherein the heat sink comprises a heat pipe as disclosed by Paavola in order to allow for an increased heat dissipation quality of the heat sink module which decreases the chance of the apparatus over heating which would require repair or replacement of the damaged components.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trygubova (10,681,844) as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Guo (2022/0394875).
Regarding Claim 4: Trygubova lacks a specific teaching of wherein the spring is a strip of foam.
Guo teaches wherein the spring is a strip of foam (paragraphs [0009] and [0051]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Trygubova by having the spring is a strip of foam as disclosed by Guo in order to allow for a lighter weight component within the device while still holding the integrity of what is needed for the apparatus to function properly.
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trygubova (10,681,844) as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Stolz (6,226,184).
Regarding Claim 7: Trygubova lacks a specific teaching of wherein the compute device is a laptop.
Stolz teaches wherein the compute device is a laptop (col. 1 lines 10-16, portable computer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Trygubova by having the compute device is a laptop as disclosed by Stolz in order to allow for a variability of the devices in which the user can benefit from the improved heat dissipation qualities which in turn would decrease the chances of damage to the internal components of the apparatus.
Regarding Claim 8: Trygubova lacks a specific teaching of wherein the laptop comprises a display portion and a base portion, wherein the chassis comprises a bottom cover of the base portion, wherein the spring presses against the bottom cover of the base portion.
Stolz teaches wherein the laptop comprises a display portion (20) and a base portion (18), wherein the chassis comprises a bottom cover of the base portion (fig. 1 wherein 18 is seen as a bottom of the device), wherein the spring presses against the bottom cover of the base portion (fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Trygubova by having the laptop comprises a display portion and a base portion, wherein the chassis comprises a bottom cover of the base portion, wherein the spring presses against the bottom cover of the base portion as disclosed by Stolz in order to allow for a variability of the devices in which the user can benefit from the improved heat dissipation qualities which in turn would decrease the chances of damage to the internal components of the apparatus.
Regarding Claim 9: Trygubova lacks a specific teaching of wherein the compute device is a tablet.
Stolz teaches wherein the compute device is a tablet (col. 1 lines 10-16, portable computer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Trygubova by having wherein the compute device is a tablet as disclosed by Stolz in order to allow for a variability of the devices in which the user can benefit from the improved heat dissipation qualities which in turn would decrease the chances of damage to the internal components of the apparatus.
Claim(s) 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trygubova (10,681,844) in further view of Stolz (6,226,184).
Regarding Claim 15: Trygubova teaches an electronic device (figs. 9-12) comprising: a base portion (204), the base portion comprising a top cover (figs. 9-12) and bottom cover (figs. 9-12); a circuit board (206) disposed in the base portion (figs. 9-12); an integrated circuit component (212) mounted on the circuit board (figs. 9-12); a heat sink (314) mounted on the integrated circuit component (figs. 9-12); and a spring (202-7) pressing against the bottom cover (figs. 9-12) and pressing the heat sink and the integrated circuit component together (figs. 9-12), but lacks a specific teaching of the electronic device being a laptop comprising a display portion.
Stolz teaches the electronic device being a laptop comprising a display portion (col. 1 lines 10-16, portable computer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Trygubova by having the electronic device being a laptop comprising a display portion as disclosed by Stolz in order to allow for a variability of the devices in which the user can benefit from the improved heat dissipation qualities which in turn would decrease the chances of damage to the internal components of the apparatus.
Regarding Claim 16: Trygubova teaches wherein the spring is a leaf spring (fig. 9-12).
Regarding Claim 17: Trygubova teaches wherein the spring presses against the heat sink (figs. 9-12).
Regarding Claim 18: Trygubova teaches of wherein the circuit board (206) comprises a first side (fig. 9) and second side (fig. 9), wherein the integrated circuit (212) component is mounted on the first side of the circuit board (fig. 9), wherein the spring (202-7) presses against the second side of the circuit board (fig. 9).
Regarding Claim 19: Trygubova teaches wherein the spring does not require attachment holes passing through the circuit board (figs. 9-12).
Claim(s) 20-22, and 25-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trygubova (10,681,844) as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Guo (2022/0394875).
Regarding Claim 20: Trygubova teaches a compute device comprising: a chassis (204); a circuit board (206); an integrated circuit component (212) mounted on the circuit board (figs. 10-12); a heat sink (314) mounted on the integrated circuit component (figs. 10-12); and means for pressing the heat sink (310) and the integrated circuit component together (figs. 10-12), but lacks a specific teaching of wherein the means for pressing the heat sink and the integrated circuit component together comprises a foam strip.
Guo teaches means for pressing the heat sink (fig. 2) and the integrated circuit component (fig. 2) together comprises a foam strip (paragraphs [0009] and [0051]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Trygubova by having the means for pressing the heat sink and the integrated circuit component together comprises a foam strip as disclosed by Guo in order to allow for a lighter weight component within the device while still holding the integrity of what is needed for the apparatus to function properly.
Regarding Claim 21: Trygubova teaches wherein the means for pressing the heat sink and the integrated circuit component together comprises a leaf spring (figs. 10-12).
Regarding Claim 22: Trygubova lacks a specific teaching of wherein the means for pressing the heat sink and the integrated circuit component together comprises a strip of foam.
Guo teaches the means for pressing the heat sink (fig. 2) and the integrated circuit component (fig. 2) together comprises a strip of foam (paragraphs [0009] and [0051]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Trygubova by having the means for pressing the heat sink and the integrated circuit component together comprises a strip of foam as disclosed by Guo in order to allow for a lighter weight component within the device while still holding the integrity of what is needed for the apparatus to function properly.
Regarding Claim 25: Trygubova teaches wherein the means for pressing the heat sink and the integrated circuit component together does not pass through holes in the circuit board (figs. 10-12).
Regarding Claim 26: Trygubova teaches wherein the spring is in direct physical contact with the heat sink (figs. 10-12).
Regarding Claim 27: Trygubova teaches wherein the heat sink is not fastened to the circuit board (figs. 10-12).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 1-7, filed 2/2/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-25 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) and 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Trygubova (10,681,844).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art cited in the notice of references cited PTO-892 but not relied upon in the rejections above relate to the current application as they include the cooling of electronic components with multiple difference configurations of springs and heat dissipating components.
/ANTHONY M HAUGHTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841