DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 8-12 and 18-20 are currently pending in the present application. Claims 1-7 and 13-17 are canceled; claims 8 and 20 are currently amended; claims 9-10 and 12 are original; and claims 11 and 18-19 are previously presented. The amendment dated May 19, 2026 has been entered into the record.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the newly amended claims 1 and 20, the applicant describes the present specification (Remarks, Pages 7-8), summarizes the waveguide assembly as disclosed by the prior art of Born (Remarks, Pages 9-10), and argues that “Born recites that the input coupler 52, cross-coupler 54, and/or output coupler 56 may be based on holographic optics including volume holograms, surface relief gratings, etc. Applicant submits that such a description does not further suggest that the input coupler includes a volume holographic fold grating that "simultaneously folds and splits the propagating light into at least two light waves that are turned around an axis perpendicular to a plane including the waveguide and are propagated by the waveguide" or that the output coupler includes "at least two multiplexed volume holographic fold gratings that are each matched to a different propagation direction in the waveguide and that simultaneously fold and split received propagating light into two light waves that are turned around the axis perpendicular to the plane including the waveguide" as recited. Instead, Born describes cross-coupling between respective diffractive elements” (Remarks, Page 11).
Regarding the applicant’s arguments “Instead, Born describes cross-coupling between respective diffractive elements”, the examiner respectively disagrees by the following reasons:
Born teaches
(a) the input coupler (or output coupler) of Born includes diffractive gratings, e.g., volume holograms and surface relief gratings (SRGs) (Paragraph [0028] “couplers 52, 54, and 56 may include diffractive gratings (e.g., volume holograms, surface relief gratings, etc.)”);
(b) the surface relief gratings (SRGs) of Born perform a functionality of a cross-coupler that expands the image light in the +Z direction and -Z direction (Paragraph [0040]);
(c) if desired, the operation of SRG structure may be performed by any desired type of diffractive grating structure, e.g., by one or more respective volume holograms (Paragraph [0062]).
Because the input coupler of Born includes the surface relief gratings (SRGs), where the SRGs perform a functionality of a cross-coupler that expands the image light in the +Z direction and -Z direction, and the operations of SRG structure may be replaced by one or more respective volume holograms, the examiner considers Born teaches an input coupler, which is capable of performing a functionality of a cross-coupler that expands the image light in the +Z direction and -Z direction, i.e., simultaneously folds and splits light into two light waves that are turned around the axis perpendicular to the plane including the waveguide.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-12 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Born (WO 2022/235804; US 2024/0045147 as the equivalent translation document), of record.
Regarding claim 8, Born discloses a waveguide assembly (Figures 1-5 and 8), comprising:
a waveguide (coupler 52, 54, 56 in a waveguide 50; Paragraphs [0007]-[0011]) that propagates light at angles of incidence greater than a critical angle at which total internal reflection occurs (Figure 2; Paragraph [0027]);
an input coupler (52) comprising at least two volume hologram gratings multiplexed within a first three-dimensional (3D) volume (Figure 2 and Paragraph [0024] “waveguide 50 may include holographic phase gratings such as volume holograms … multiple multiplexed gratings (e.g., holograms) that at least partially overlap within the same volume” and Paragraph [0047] “The two-dimensional grating outline may be blazed in three dimensions”), each volume hologram grating within the first 3D volume operating independently of each other volume hologram grating within the first 3D volume in response to input light of different wavelengths (see Figure 4 teaching the image light 38 propagating in two different directions, as gratings operate independently of each other, and see Paragraph [0062] “one or more of the SRGs in SRG structure 74 may be replaced with one or more volume holograms” teaching replacing the SRG structure with volume holograms, and see Paragraph [0037] “bandwidth of each SRG in SRG structure 74 may encompass each of the wavelengths in image light 38, for example (e.g., the entire visible spectrum” teaching gratings in responsive to image light 38 having more than one wavelength) to reflect or transmit the input light into the waveguide as propagating light (see Paragraph [0027] “When image light 48 strikes input coupler 52, input coupler 52 may redirect image light 38 so that the light propagates within waveguide 50 via total internal reflection towards output coupler 56”), each volume hologram grating within the first 3D volume having at least one of a (1) same periodicity but a different orientation (see Paragraph [0038] “Grating vector k2 has a second orientation that is different from the orientation of grating vector k1 and has a corresponding magnitude. The magnitude of grating vector k2 may be equal to the magnitude of grating vector k1” teaching a same periodicity and different orientations; the examiner notes that the magnitude of grating vector is inversely proportional to the grating spacing, given by: K = 2π/Λ, i.e., having the same magnitude is having the same grating period) or (2) a same orientation but a different periodicity as each other volume hologram grating within the first 3D volume, to provide a different refractive index relative to each other volume hologram grating within the first 3D volume to increase a field of view of the input coupler in at least one dimension (A claim term is functional when it recites a feature "by what it does rather than by what it is" (e.g., as evidenced by its specific structure or specific ingredients). In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210, 212, 169 USPQ 226, 229 (CCPA 1971). See MPEP 2173.05(g). In this case, Born teaches gratings which are capable of providing a different refractive index relative to each other volume hologram grating within the first 3D volume since the incoming light can propagate different directions as shown in Figures 4-5 and increasing a field of view of the input couple in at least one dimension. The examiner notes the applicant also acknowledges in Paragraph [0056] of the specification that volume gratings multiplexed in the same volume increase the field of view), wherein the at least two volume hologram gratings of the input coupler comprise a volume holographic fold grating that simultaneously folds and splits the propagating light into at least two light waves that are turned around an axis perpendicular to a plane including the waveguide and are propagated by the waveguide (Paragraph [0028] “input coupler 52 … 52, 54, and 56 may include diffractive gratings (e.g., volume holograms” teaching the input coupler includes volume holograms and see Figure 4 teaching an incoming light is being simultaneously folded and split the propagating light into at least two light waves that are turned around an axis perpendicular to a plane including the waveguide and are propagated by the waveguide); and
an output coupler (56) comprising at least two volume hologram gratings multiplexed within a second 3D volume (Figure 2 and Paragraph [0024] “waveguide 50 may include holographic phase gratings such as volume holograms … multiple multiplexed gratings (e.g., holograms) that at least partially overlap within the same volume” and Paragraph [0047] “The two-dimensional grating outline may be blazed in three dimensions”), each volume hologram grating within the second 3D volume operating independently of each other volume hologram grating within the second 3D volume in response to propagating light of different wavelengths propagating in the waveguide within an angle of incidence of the output coupler at which the propagating light is reflected or transmitted out of the waveguide (see Figures 2 and 4 teaching the image light 38 propagating in two different directions, as gratings operate independently of each other, and propagating in the waveguide within an angle of incidence of 56 at which the propagating light 38 is reflected or transmitted out of the waveguide and see Paragraph [0062] teaching replacing the SRG structure with volume holograms, and see Paragraph [0037] teaching gratings in responsive to image light 38 having more than one wavelength), each volume hologram grating within the second 3D volume having at least one of a (1) same periodicity but a different orientation (see Paragraph [0038] “Grating vector k2 has a second orientation that is different from the orientation of grating vector k1 and has a corresponding magnitude. The magnitude of grating vector k2 may be equal to the magnitude of grating vector k1” teaching a same periodicity and different orientations; the examiner notes that the magnitude of grating vector is inversely proportional to the grating spacing, given by: K = 2π/Λ, i.e., having the same magnitude is having the same grating period) or (2) a same orientation but a different periodicity as each other volume hologram grating within the second 3D volume, to provide a different refractive index relative to each other volume hologram grating within the second 3D volume to increase a field of view of the output coupler in at least one dimension (A claim term is functional when it recites a feature "by what it does rather than by what it is" (e.g., as evidenced by its specific structure or specific ingredients). In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210, 212, 169 USPQ 226, 229 (CCPA 1971). See MPEP 2173.05(g). In this case, Born teaches gratings which are capable of providing a different refractive index relative to each other volume hologram grating within the second 3D volume since the incoming light can propagate different directions as shown in Figures 4-5 and increasing a field of view of the input couple in at least one dimension. The examiner notes the applicant also acknowledges in Paragraph [0056] of the specification that volume gratings multiplexed in the same volume increase the field of view), wherein the at least two volume hologram gratings of the output coupler comprise at least two multiplexed volume holographic fold gratings that are each matched to a different propagating direction in the waveguide and that simultaneously fold and split received propagating light into two light waves that are turned around the axis perpendicular to the plane including the waveguide, the output coupler outcoupling the folded and split light from the volume holographic fold grating of the input coupler out of the waveguide in a direction of the axis perpendicular to the plane including the waveguide (Paragraph [0028] “output coupler 56 … couplers 52, 54, and 56 may include diffractive gratings (e.g., volume holograms” teaching the output coupler includes volume holograms and see Figures 4-5 and 8 teaching the output coupler comprise at least two multiplexed volume holographic fold gratings that are each matched to a different propagating direction in the waveguide and that simultaneously fold and split received propagating light into two light waves that are turned around an axis perpendicular to a plane including the waveguide and outcouple the folded and split light from the volume holographic fold grating of the input coupler out of the waveguide in each different propagation direction) for each different propagation direction in the waveguide (see arrows 90 and 92 in Figures 4-5, teaching each different propagation direction in the waveguide 50).
Regarding claim 9, Born discloses the limitations of claim 8 above, and further discloses wherein the propagating light output by the input coupler is reflected or transmitted by the waveguide to the output coupler, whereby the reflected or transmitted propagating light output by the input coupler has an angle of incidence that is within an acceptance angle of the output coupler upon interaction with the output coupler (see Figures 2 and 4 and Paragraph [0027] teaching total internal reflection and reflecting or transmitting of light in the waveguide).
Regarding claim 10, Born discloses the limitations of claim 8 above, and further discloses wherein the output coupler extends in a propagation direction of the propagating light within the waveguide so as to have at least two interactions with the propagating light as the propagating light propagates in the propagation direction within the waveguide (see Figures 2-3 wherein gratings in the couplers extends along the x direction and have more than two interactions with the light 38 within the waveguide 50).
Regarding claim 11, Born discloses the limitations of claim 10 above, and further discloses wherein the refractive index of each volume hologram grating of the second 3D volume has a value whereby the propagating light at the different wavelengths may be reflected or transmitted by the output coupler to an angle less than the critical angle so as to escape the waveguide (see Figures 2 and 4 and Paragraph [0027] teaching total internal reflection and light 38 is reflected or transmitted out of the waveguide) (the examiner also notes that grating structures inherently have a periodic modulation of refractive index that diffracts light wave; Paragraph [0042]).
Regarding claim 12, Born discloses the limitations of claim 11 above, and further discloses wherein the output coupler has a diffraction efficiency profile as a function of length that is adapted to control an intensity of the propagating light at each interaction with the output coupler whereby light output by the output coupler has a desired intensity profile along the length of the output coupler (see Figure 7 and Paragraphs [0050]-[0052] teaching diffraction efficiency as a function of position along the length of 74 in the couplers).
Regarding claim 18, Born discloses the limitations of claim 8 above, and further discloses wherein the input coupler is disposed in a first layer of the waveguide and the output coupler is disposed in a second layer of the waveguide, wherein the second layer is different from the first layer (Figures 9 and 11; Paragraphs [0061], [0064]).
Regarding claim 19, Born discloses the limitations of claim 8 above, and further discloses wherein the input coupler comprises at least two volume holographic fold gratings oriented to receive an input light wave incident at an angle of incidence to the waveguide that is less than the critical angle of the waveguide and that transmits or reflects the input light wave to form an output light wave that propagates in the waveguide at an angle of incidence greater than the critical angle and different than the angle of incidence of the input light wave (see Figure 4, in which 74 comprising 100 and 102 folds and splits 38 into two light waves around the y-axis; see Paragraph [0027] teaching the input coupler 52 further comprises a cross-coupler and Paragraph [0027] teaching total internal reflection in the waveguide), and the output coupler comprises at least two volume holographic fold gratings oriented to receive propagating light from the waveguide at an angle of incidence greater than the critical angle and that transmits or reflects the propagating light to form an output light wave that has an angle of incidence less than the critical angle so as to escape the waveguide (see Figure 5, in which 74 folds and splits 38 into two light waves around the y-axis and outcouples the light out of the waveguide; Paragraph [0027]).
Regarding claim 20, Born discloses an eyewear device (Figures 1-5 and 8; Paragraph [0016] “The displays in system 10 may include near-eye displays 20 mounted within support structure (housing) 8)”, comprising:
an image source (20A; Paragraph [0016]);
a display (20; Paragraph [0016]) comprising an eye box (24);
a waveguide (coupler 52, 54, 56 in a waveguide 50; Paragraphs [0007]-[0011]) that propagates light at angles of incidence greater than a critical angle at which total internal reflection occurs (Figure 2; Paragraph [0027]);
an input coupler (52) comprising at least two volume hologram gratings multiplexed within a first three-dimensional (3D) volume (Figure 2 and Paragraph [0024] “waveguide 50 may include holographic phase gratings such as volume holograms … multiple multiplexed gratings (e.g., holograms) that at least partially overlap within the same volume” and Paragraph [0047] “The two-dimensional grating outline may be blazed in three dimensions”), each volume hologram grating within the first 3D volume operating independently of each other volume hologram grating within the first 3D volume in response to input light of different wavelengths from the image source (see Figure 4 teaching the image light 38 propagating in two different directions, as gratings operate independently of each other, and see Paragraph [0062] “one or more of the SRGs in SRG structure 74 may be replaced with one or more volume holograms” teaching replacing the SRG structure with volume holograms, and see Paragraph [0037] “bandwidth of each SRG in SRG structure 74 may encompass each of the wavelengths in image light 38, for example (e.g., the entire visible spectrum” teaching gratings in responsive to image light 38 having more than one wavelength) to reflect or transmit the input light into the waveguide as propagating light (see Paragraph [0027] “When image light 48 strikes input coupler 52, input coupler 52 may redirect image light 38 so that the light propagates within waveguide 50 via total internal reflection towards output coupler 56”), each volume hologram grating within the first 3D volume having at least one of a (1) same periodicity but a different orientation (see Paragraph [0038] “Grating vector k2 has a second orientation that is different from the orientation of grating vector k1 and has a corresponding magnitude. The magnitude of grating vector k2 may be equal to the magnitude of grating vector k1” teaching a same periodicity and different orientations; the examiner notes that the magnitude of grating vector is inversely proportional to the grating spacing, given by: K = 2π/Λ, i.e., having the same magnitude is having the same grating period) or (2) a same orientation but a different periodicity as each other volume hologram grating within the first 3D volume, to provide a different refractive index relative to each other volume hologram grating within the first 3D volume to increase a field of view of the input coupler in at least one dimension (A claim term is functional when it recites a feature "by what it does rather than by what it is" (e.g., as evidenced by its specific structure or specific ingredients). In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210, 212, 169 USPQ 226, 229 (CCPA 1971). See MPEP 2173.05(g). In this case, Born teaches gratings which are capable of providing a different refractive index relative to each other volume hologram grating within the first 3D volume since the incoming light can propagate different directions as shown in Figures 4-5 and increasing a field of view of the input couple in at least one dimension. The examiner notes the applicant also acknowledges in Paragraph [0056] of the specification that volume gratings multiplexed in the same volume increase the field of view); wherein the at least two volume hologram gratings of the input coupler comprise a volume holographic fold grating that simultaneously folds and splits the propagating light into at least two light waves that are turned around an axis perpendicular to a plane including the waveguide and are propagated by the waveguide (Paragraph [0028] “input coupler 52 … 52, 54, and 56 may include diffractive gratings (e.g., volume holograms” teaching the input coupler includes volume holograms and see Figure 4 teaching an incoming light is being simultaneously folded and split the propagating light into at least two light waves that are turned around an axis perpendicular to a plane including the waveguide and are propagated by the waveguide); and
an output coupler (56) comprising at least two volume hologram gratings multiplexed within a second 3D volume (Figure 2 and Paragraph [0024] “waveguide 50 may include holographic phase gratings such as volume holograms … multiple multiplexed gratings (e.g., holograms) that at least partially overlap within the same volume” and Paragraph [0047] “The two-dimensional grating outline may be blazed in three dimensions”), each volume hologram grating within the second 3D volume operating independently of each other volume hologram grating within the second 3D volume in response to propagating light of different wavelengths propagating in the waveguide within an angle of incidence of the output coupler at which the propagating light is reflected or transmitted out of the waveguide to the eye box of the display (see Figures 2 and 4 teaching the image light 38 propagating in two different directions, as gratings operate independently of each other, and propagating in the waveguide within an angle of incidence of 56 at which the propagating light 38 is reflected or transmitted out of the waveguide and see Paragraph [0062] teaching replacing the SRG structure with volume holograms, and see Paragraph [0037] teaching gratings in responsive to image light 38 having more than one wavelength), each volume hologram grating within the second 3D volume having at least one of a (1) same periodicity but a different orientation (see Paragraph [0038] “Grating vector k2 has a second orientation that is different from the orientation of grating vector k1 and has a corresponding magnitude. The magnitude of grating vector k2 may be equal to the magnitude of grating vector k1” teaching a same periodicity and different orientations; the examiner notes that the magnitude of grating vector is inversely proportional to the grating spacing, given by: K = 2π/Λ, i.e., having the same magnitude is having the same grating period) or (2) a same orientation but a different periodicity as each other volume hologram grating within the second 3D volume, to provide a different refractive index relative to each other volume hologram grating within the second 3D volume to increase a field of view of the output coupler in at least one dimension (A claim term is functional when it recites a feature "by what it does rather than by what it is" (e.g., as evidenced by its specific structure or specific ingredients). In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210, 212, 169 USPQ 226, 229 (CCPA 1971). See MPEP 2173.05(g). In this case, Born teaches gratings which are capable of providing a different refractive index relative to each other volume hologram grating within the second 3D volume since the incoming light can propagate different directions as shown in Figures 4-5 and increasing a field of view of the input couple in at least one dimension. The examiner notes the applicant also acknowledges in Paragraph [0056] of the specification that volume gratings multiplexed in the same volume increase the field of view), wherein the at least two volume hologram gratings of the output coupler comprise at least two multiplexed volume holographic fold gratings that are each matched to a different propagating direction in the waveguide and that simultaneously fold and split received propagating light into two light waves that are turned around the axis perpendicular to the plane including the waveguide, the output coupler outcoupling the folded and split light from the volume holographic fold grating of the input coupler out of the waveguide in a direction of the axis perpendicular to the plane including the waveguide (Paragraph [0028] “output coupler 56 … couplers 52, 54, and 56 may include diffractive gratings (e.g., volume holograms” teaching the output coupler includes volume holograms and see Figures 4-5 teaching the output coupler comprise at least two multiplexed volume holographic fold gratings that are each matched to a different propagating direction in the waveguide and that simultaneously fold and split received propagating light into two light waves that are turned around an axis perpendicular to a plane including the waveguide and outcouple the folded and split light from the volume holographic fold grating of the input coupler out of the waveguide in each different propagation direction) for each different propagation direction in the waveguide (see arrows 90 and 92 in Figures 4-5, teaching each different propagation direction in the waveguide 50).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN Y JUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871