Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 10, the limitation “a scanned portion of the three-dimensional surface” is unclear if it is referring to the scanned portion of the three-dimensional surface recited in claim 1 or a different scanned portion of the three dimensional surface.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JIANG (CN 107999967) in view of SCHAEFFER (US 11,156,106).
Regarding claim 1, JIANG teaches a system (Fig. 1-2) for forming slots (14) in a component (8), the system comprising: an electromagnetic radiation beam emitting device (1) including a base (as shown in Fig. 1-2), an arm (J1-J5) coupled to the base, and a scan head (3) coupled to the arm (as shown in Fig. 1-2), the scan head configured to emit an electromagnetic radiation beam (as shown in Fig. 1-2), at least one of the arm or the scan head being moveable to provide the scan head with motion about at least three axes relative to the component (para. 0042); and a computing system (5, 7) configured to control an operation of the arm to move a position of the electromagnetic radiation beam such that a portion of a three-dimensional surface is scanned with the electromagnetic radiation beam (JIANG; para. 0013; 0017-0018; 0041; 0046); and determine a three-dimensional profile of the three-dimensional portion of the surface (para. 0013; 0046); generate a slot pattern (pattern formed by slots 14; as shown in Fig. 2) based on the determined three-dimensional profile (para. 0013-0019); and control an operation of at least one of the arm or scan head to adjust a position of the electromagnetic radiation beam relative to the three-dimensional surface such that material is ablated from the three-dimensional surface to form the slot pattern (pattern formed by slots 14; as shown in Fig. 2) in the three-dimensional surface (para. 0040-0041; 0043).
JIANG fails to disclose forming slots in a thermal barrier coating present on a component by ablating material from the thermal barrier coating on the three-dimensional surface to form the slot pattern in the thermal barrier coating.
SCHAEFFER teaches a system (264; laser system; Col. 7, lines 55-59) for forming slots (244) in a thermal barrier coating (220, or TBC layer 224 on TBC system 220; Col. 5, lines 34-61) present on a component (200) by ablating material from the coating on a three-dimensional surface to form a slot pattern (242; pattern formed by slots 244; as shown in Fig. 6 and 10A-10I) in the coating (as shown in Fig. 5-16).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the component of JIANG, with SCHAEFFER, by using the system of JIANG to form slots in a thermal barrier coating of the component of SCHAEFFER, for a faster and more precise forming of the slot pattern by the use of a multi-axis robot. POSITA would have known that using the system of JIANG (that uses a multi-axis robot) to form slots in a thermal barrier coating of the component of SCHAEFFER would have a reasonable expectation of success and predictable results such as faster and more precise forming of the slot pattern.
Regarding claim 4, JIANG and SCHAEFFER combined teach the system of claim 1, wherein, when controlling the operation of the arm, the computing system is configured to initiate movement of the arm about one or more of the at least three axes to move the position of the electromagnetic radiation beam relative to the three-dimensional surface of the component such that the material is ablated from the thermal barrier coating to form the slot pattern in the thermal barrier coating (JIANG; para. 0040-0043; Fig. 1-2).
Regarding claim 5, JIANG and SCHAEFFER combined teach the system of claim 3, wherein, when generating the slot pattern, the computing system is configured to morph a design model associated with the scanned portion of the three-dimensional surface based on the determined three-dimensional profile to create a morphed design model (JIANG; CAD model; para. 0013; 0015; 0028; 0032; 0046).
Regarding claim 6, JIANG and SCHAEFFER combined teach the system of claim 5, wherein, when generating the slot pattern, the computing system is configured to apply the slot pattern to the morphed design model (JIANG; para. 0013-0016; 0046-0049).
Regarding claim 7, JIANG and SCHAEFFER combined teach the system of claim 1, wherein the scan head comprises a plurality of mirrors and a lens (JIANG; para. 0042; a galvanometer scanning head inherently comprises mirrors and lenses).
Regarding claim 8, JIANG and SCHAEFFER combined teach the system of claim 1, wherein the arm comprises a first arm segment (JIANG; any segment from J1-J5) and a second arm segment (JIANG; any segment from J1-J5 different from the first segment) that is moveable relative to the first arm segment (JIANG; para. 0042).
Regarding claim 9, JIANG and SCHAEFFER combined teach the system of claim 1, wherein the component is stationary relative to the base (JIANG; as shown in Fig. 1-2).
Regarding claim 10, JIANG and SCHAEFFER combined teach the system of claim 1, wherein the computing system is further configured to: control the operation of the electromagnetic radiation beam emitting device such that a scanned portion of the three-dimensional surface is scanned with the electromagnetic radiation beam after the slot pattern is formed in the thermal barrier coating to inspect the slot pattern (JIANG; surface data is analyzed and processed until etching is completed, so the slot pattern is constantly inspected to determine completion; para. 0013-0019; 0048-0052).
Regarding claim 11, JIANG and SCHAEFFER combined teach the system of claim 1, wherein at least some of the scanned portion of the three-dimensional surface of the component is curved (JIANG, para. 0007, Fig. 1-2; SCHAEFFER, as shown in Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 13, JIANG and SCHAEFFER combined teach the system of claim 1, wherein the component is a gas turbine engine component (SCHAEFFER; Col. 1, lines 10-16; Col. 8, lines 65-67).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues that “Jiang appears to only discuss scanning to find an anchor point on the workpiece so that the robot can work within a distinct work surface section. Thus, there is no determination of a 3D profile nor is there any slot pattern generated by Jiang… Jiang teaches that their robot is positioned within a section of the component. That is, the component is divided into multiple zone (in Fig. 2 shown in 14). According to Jiang, when the device is navigated above each zone, the robot can carry out complete lithography to the zone and then can be moved to another zone. There is no teaching or suggestion that any slots are formed between the zones according to the methods of Jiang. Thus, Jiang does not disclose ablation of material to form a slot pattern, much less ablation of a thermal barrier coating.” On remarks page 6, lines 11-13 and 15-19, and page 7, lines 1-2. In response to Applicant’s arguments, JIANG clearly discloses determining a three-dimensional profile of the three-dimensional portion of the surface (three-dimensional CAD model; para. 0013; 0046); and generating a slot pattern (pattern formed by slots 14; as shown in Fig. 2) based on the determined three-dimensional profile (para. 0013-0019). JIANG also discloses control an operation of at least one of the arm or scan head to adjust a position of the electromagnetic radiation beam relative to the three-dimensional surface such that material is ablated from the three-dimensional surface to form the slot pattern (pattern formed by slots 14; as shown in Fig. 2) in the three-dimensional surface (para. 0040-0041; 0043). SCHAEFFER teaches a system (264; laser system; Col. 7, lines 55-59) for forming slots (244) in a thermal barrier coating (220, or TBC layer 224 on TBC system 220; Col. 5, lines 34-61) present on a component (200) by ablating material from the coating on a three-dimensional surface to form a slot pattern (242; pattern formed by slots 244; as shown in Fig. 6 and 10A-10I) in the coating (as shown in Fig. 5-16). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the component of JIANG, with SCHAEFFER, by using the system of JIANG to form slots in a thermal barrier coating of the component of SCHAEFFER, for a faster and more precise forming of the slot pattern by the use of a multi-axis robot. POSITA would have known that using the system of JIANG (that uses a multi-axis robot) to form slots in a thermal barrier coating of the component of SCHAEFFER would have a reasonable expectation of success and predictable results such as faster and more precise forming of the slot pattern.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALBA T ROSARIO-APONTE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 06/24/2026
/ELIZABETH M KERR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761