DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections – 35 USC 112
In regards to claims 16-18, Applicant's arguments filed 4/8/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts Fig. 4 and paragraph [0105] discloses a mapping unit, and is sufficient disclosure because “such disclosure is not required under the law, the only requirement being that the invention be disclosed in such manner that a skilled person would be able to make and use it without undue experimentation”. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Fig. 4 shows a mapping unit as a block, and the discussion about the description in the specification merely restate the claimed functions of the mapping unit. Both discussions do not show a specific structure of the mapping unit or an algorithm that performs the functions.
Furthermore, Applicant’s assertion that “the only requirement being that the invention be disclosed in such manner that a skilled person would be able to make and use it without undue experimentation” is not germane to the rejection set forth in the Office Action, as the assertion addresses enablement, which is not the basis of the written description rejection as to whether the Applicant has provided sufficient disclosure to show possession of the invention. See MPEP 2163.03(VI).
In regards to claims 11-12, Applicant has amended the claims at issue, and the previous 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections for claims 11-12 have therefore been withdrawn.
Double Patenting
Applicant's arguments filed 4/8/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts the Wikipedia discussion of “discrete convolution” does not establish that a graph of neural network operations of “at least one transformation and at least one convolution operation” corresponds to a graph of neural network operations of “at least one element-wise operation”. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The Wikipedia discussion of “discrete convolution shows the equation for the convolution of f and g, which equals the summation of all elements in f and g in the manner depicted”. This is interpreted as a summation of element-wise products, and thus at least one element-wise operation. Furthermore, Applicant’s argument merely addresses Wikipedia and not the combination of US Pat. No. 12,488,253 in view of Wikipedia.
The Examiner notes Applicant’s discussion shows circuitry performing a convolution operation and distinct circuitry performing an element-wise operation, however the claim merely recites “mapping the matrix multiplication operation to a graph of neural network operation including at least one element-wise operation”. The claim as currently recited does not require the element-wise operation to be performed by a distinct circuit from the convolution circuit, or that it is a distinct operation that is separate from an element-wise operation within a convolution operation.
Applicant asserts claim 1 as amended further includes a permute operation, which is not obvious from patented claim 1. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
US Pat. No. 12,488,253 col 5 lines 23-25 states “In this case, the at least one transformation may comprise a permute operation performed on at least one of the tensors”. Therefore, the permute operation is obvious from the transformation operation of patented claim 1.
Prior Art Rejections
Applicant’s arguments, filed 4/8/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The prior art of record does not explicitly discuss a permute operation. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of different interpretation of the previously applied references necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Mapping unit in claim 16.
Memory manipulation module in claims 13, 17.
As to claims 13, 17’s memory manipulation module, the examiner interprets the means plus function limitation to the corresponding structure: memory reading block, internal buffer, memory writing block as disclosed in Fig. 5; [00107] of the applicant’s specification.
As to claim 16’s mapping unit, corresponding structure does not seem to be disclosed in applicant’s specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 16’s limitation of “mapping unit” invokes USC 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 USC 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to provide an adequate description of the structure, material, or acts to perform the claimed functions of these limitations. See rejection under 35 USC 112(b) below for further details.
Claims 17-18 are rejected upon being dependent to claim 16 without correcting the issue.
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “mapping unit” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification appears to only disclose the functions of the mapping unit without suggestion as to the structure or acts for performing the functions. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 8, 14-16, 17-19, 20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 11, 12-14, 16-18, 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12488253, hereinafter “the ‘253 patent”. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because application claims 1, 8, 14-16, 17-19, 20 are anticipated by patent claims 1, 11, 12-14, 16-18, 20.
Claim 1 in the instant application recites a method of mapping a matrix multiplication operation including at least one element-wise operation, while claim 1 of the ‘253 patent recites a method of mapping a matrix multiplication operation including at least one convolution operation and at least one transformation operation. It is understood by one of ordinary skill in the art that a convolution is made up of a series of element-wise operations, as it is the multiplication of pairs of data and summation of those products (See Wikipedia page on Convolution, of note the Discrete Convolution section). Therefore, including at least one convolution operation anticipates including at least one element-wise operation.
Furthermore, col 5 lines 23-25 of the ‘253 patent states “In this case, the at least one transformation may comprise a permute operation performed on at least one of the tensors”. Therefore, including at least one transformation anticipates including at least one permute operation.
The same analysis applies for Claim 16 in the instant application with claim 14 in the ‘253 patent. The same analysis applies for Claim 20 in the instant application with claim 20 in the ‘253 patent.
Current Application: 17/851306
U.S. Patent No. 12,488,253
Claim 1
Claim 1
A method of implementing, using a neural network accelerator comprising fixed-function hardware, a neural network comprising a plurality of layers, wherein at least one of the layers comprises a matrix multiplication operation defined in two or more dimensions between a first tensor X having dimensions [..., P,..., Q,...] and a second tensor Y having dimensions [..., Q,..., R,...], the method comprising:
A method of implementing, using a neural network accelerator comprising fixed-function hardware, a neural network comprising a plurality of layers, wherein at least one of the layers comprises a matrix multiplication operation defined in two or more dimensions between a first tensor X having dimensions [..., P,..., Q,...] and a second tensor Y having dimensions [..., Q,..., R,...], the method comprising:
mapping the matrix multiplication operation to a graph of neural network operations including at least one element-wise operation and at least one permute operation;
mapping the matrix multiplication operation to a graph of neural network operations including at least one transformation and at least one convolution operation;
and evaluating the graph of neural network operations to thereby evaluate the matrix multiplication operation;
evaluating the graph of neural network operations to thereby evaluate the matrix multiplication operation,
wherein the at least one element-wise operation is evaluated in the fixed-function hardware.
wherein the at least one convolution operation is evaluated in the fixed- function hardware;
and implementing, in said fixed-function hardware, said neural network to include a matrix multiplication layer configured to perform a matrix multiplication operation in dependence on the evaluation of the graph.
Claim 8
Claim 11
The method of claim 1, wherein the first tensor X has dimensions [M, N, P, 1] and the second tensor Y has dimensions [M', N', 1, R].
The method of claim 1, wherein the first tensor X has dimensions [M, N, P, 1] and the second tensor Y has dimensions [M', N', 1, R].
Claim 14
Claim 12
The method of claim 1, further comprising, before mapping the matrix multiplication operation to the graph of neural network operations: analysing the matrix multiplication operation; and determining, based on a result of the analysing, how to implement the matrix multiplication operation, comprising determining that the matrix multiplication operation should be implemented using the at least one element-wise operation, and rejecting at least one alternative method for implementing the matrix multiplication operation.
The method of claim 1, further comprising, before mapping the matrix multiplication operation to the graph of neural network operations, analysing the matrix multiplication operation, and determining, based on a result of the analysing, how to implement the matrix multiplication operation, comprising determining that the matrix multiplication operation should be implemented using the at least one transformation and the at least one convolution operation, and rejecting at least one alternative method for implementing the matrix multiplication operation.
Claim 15
Claim 13
The method of claim 14, wherein the determining how to implement the matrix multiplication operation is based on one or more of:
a size of the first tensor in one or more dimensions;
a size of the second tensor in one or more dimensions;
a memory-access bandwidth required to implement the matrix multiplication operation using the selected method;
a memory size required to implement the matrix multiplication operation using the selected method;
a number of hardware passes through the fixed-function hardware that will be required to implement the matrix multiplication operation using the selected method;
an execution time on the fixed function hardware that will be required to implement the matrix multiplication operation using the selected method;
a power consumption required to implement the matrix multiplication operation using the selected method;
and a capability of the fixed-function hardware.
The method of claim 12, wherein the determining how to implement the matrix multiplication operation is based on one or more of:
a size of the first tensor in one or more dimensions;
a size of the second tensor in one or more dimensions;
a memory-access bandwidth required to implement the matrix multiplication operation using the selected method;
a memory size required to implement the matrix multiplication operation using the selected method;
a number of hardware passes through the fixed-function hardware that will be required to implement the matrix multiplication operation using the selected method;
an execution time on the fixed function hardware that will be required to implement the matrix multiplication operation using the selected method;
a power consumption required to implement the matrix multiplication operation using the selected method;
and a capability of the fixed-function hardware.
Claim 17
Claim 16
The data processing system of claim 16, wherein the graph of neural network operations further comprises at least one transformation, applied to the first tensor X and/or the second tensor Y; wherein the data processing system comprises
Claim 14:
the data processing system comprising: a mapping unit, configured to map the matrix multiplication operation to a graph of neural network operations including at least one transformation
a memory manipulation module for manipulating data stored in a memory; and wherein the data processing system is configured to perform the at least one transformation using memory manipulation module.
The data processing system of claim 14, further comprising a memory manipulation module, for manipulating data stored in a memory, wherein the at least one transformation is performed using the memory manipulation module.
Claim 18
Claim 17
The data processing system of claim 17, wherein the memory manipulation module comprises:
an internal buffer;
a memory reading block, configured to read data from the memory and write the data to the internal buffer;
a memory writing block, configured to read the data from the internal buffer and write the data to the memory;
and a control channel between the memory reading block and the memory writing block, wherein the memory reading block and the memory writing block are configured to communicate via the control channel to maintain synchronisation between them when writing the data to the internal buffer and reading the data from the internal buffer, respectively.
The data processing system of claim 16, wherein the memory manipulation module comprises:
an internal buffer;
a memory reading block, configured to read data from the memory and write the data to the internal buffer;
a memory writing block, configured to read the data from the internal buffer and write the data to the memory;
and a control channel between the memory reading block and the memory writing block, wherein the memory reading block and the memory writing block are configured to communicate via the control channel to maintain synchronisation between them when writing the data to the internal buffer and reading the data from the internal buffer, respectively.
Claim 19
Claim 18
The method of claim 1, wherein the layer comprising the matrix multiplication operation is a classification layer for classifying an input to the neural network into one of a number of categories.
The method of claim 1, wherein the layer comprising the matrix multiplication operation is a classification layer, for classifying an input to the neural network into one of a number of categories.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8-9, 16, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sworna et al. (A LUT-Based Matrix Multiplication Using Neural Networks, hereinafter “Sworna”) in view of Zhang et al. (Caffeine: Toward Uniformed representation and Acceleration for Deep Convolutional Neural Networks, provided in IDS filed 01/31/2023, hereinafter “Zhang”) in further view of Zjeda et al. (US 11036827 B1, hereinafter “Zjeda”).
As per claim 1, Sworna teaches A method of implementing, using a neural network accelerator comprising fixed- function hardware, a neural network comprising a plurality of layers, wherein at least one of the layers comprises a matrix multiplication operation defined in two or more dimensions between a first tensor X having dimensions [..., P,..., Q,...] and a second tensor Y having dimensions [..., Q,..., R,...] (Sworna: Section IV equation (1), wherein i corresponds to P, k corresponds to Q, and j corresponds to R), the method comprising:
and evaluating the graph of neural network operations to thereby evaluate the matrix multiplication operation (Sworna: Fig. 2; section IV.4);
wherein the at least one element-wise operation is evaluated in the fixed-function hardware (Sworna: Fig. 3; pg. 1984 right col).
However, while Sworna discloses a method of matrix multiplication using neural networks, Sworna does not explicitly disclose the act of mapping the matrix multiplication. Thus, Sworna does not teach mapping the matrix multiplication operation to a graph of neural network operations including at least one element-wise operation and at least one permute operation;
Zhang teaches mapping the matrix multiplication operation to a graph of neural network operations including at least one element-wise operation (Section VI.A, of note the section describes mapping high-level network definitions to customized instructions for specialized hardware);
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify, with a reasonable expectation of success, the method of Sworna with the mapping of Zhang. One would have been motivated to combine these references because both references disclose neural network accelerators, and combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (how Sworna can command the proposed matrix multiplication method).
However, while Sworna/Zhang shows the organization of inputs (Sworna: Fig. 2, wherein matrix inputs are not presented in the same order as matrices in the problem cases in Fig. 3), Sworna/Zhang does not explicitly teach at least one permute operation.
Zjeda teaches at least one permute operation (Zjeda: Fig. 7; col 11 lines 3-6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify, with a reasonable expectation of success, the matrix input order of Sworna with the transpose of Zjeda. One would have been motivated to combine these references because both references disclose neural network accelerators, and ordering the matrix data to a compute-engine friendly format increases the double data rate (Zjeda: col 3 lines 15-24).
As per claim 2, Sworna/Zhang/Zjeda further teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the graph of neural network operations further comprises at least one transformation, applied to the first tensor X and/or the second tensor Y (Zhang: Section IV.A.3).
As per claim 8, Sworna/Zhang/Zjeda further teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the first tensor X has dimensions [M, N, P, 1] and the second tensor Y has dimensions [M', N', 1, R] (Sworna: pg. 1983 left col; Fig. 2, wherein both input tensors are processed on a one-dimensional vector basis regardless of their original dimensions).
As per claim 9, Sworna/Zhang/Zjeda further teaches The method of claim 1, wherein: the first tensor X has dimensions [M, N, P, 1] and the second tensor Y has dimensions [M', N', 1, R]; and the element-wise operation comprises an element-wise multiplication of a first input comprising the first tensor, with a second input comprising the second tensor (Sworna: pg. 1983 left col; Fig. 2, wherein both input tensors are processed on a one-dimensional vector basis regardless of their original dimensions).
As per claim 16, the claim is directed to a data processing system that implements the same or similar features as the method of claim 1, and is therefore rejected for at least the same reasons therein.
As per claim 20, the claim is directed to a non-transitory computer readable storage medium that implements the same or similar features as the method of claim 1, and is therefore rejected for at least the same reasons therein.
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sworna/Zhang/Zjeda in further view of Chen et al. (Eyeriss v2: A Flexible Accelerator for Emerging Deep Neural Networks on Mobile Devices, hereinafter “Chen”).
As per claim 10, Sworna/Zhang/Zjeda further teaches The method of claim 9,
However, Sworna does not explicitly teach wherein the element-wise multiplication is performed using broadcasting over two dimensions.
Chen teaches wherein the element-wise multiplication is performed using broadcasting over two dimensions (Chen: Fig. 5(b); section II, wherein the mesh network is 2-dimensional).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify, with a reasonable expectation of success, the memory accessing of Sworna with the network on chip of Chen. One would have been motivated to combine these references because both references disclose neural network accelerators, and the on-chip network of Chen improves energy efficiency and processing seeds (Chen: section I.C).
As per claim 11, Sworna/Zhang/Zjeda further teaches The method of claim 9,
However, Sworna does not explicitly teach wherein the element-wise multiplication is performed using broadcasting over one dimension and repeating one of the first input and the second input over the other dimension.
Chen teaches wherein the element-wise multiplication is performed using broadcasting over one dimension and repeating one of the first input and the second input over the other dimension (Chen: Fig. 8(c); section III.B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify, with a reasonable expectation of success, the memory accessing of Sworna with the network on chip of Chen. For at least the same reasons as discussed above in claim 10.
As per claim 12, Sworna/Zhang/Zjeda further teaches The method of claim 9,
However, Sworna does not explicitly teach wherein the element-wise multiplication comprises repeating one of the first input and the second input over one dimension and repeating the other of the first input and the second input over the other dimension.
Chen teaches wherein the element-wise multiplication comprises repeating one of the first input and the second input over one dimension and repeating the other of the first input and the second input over the other dimension (Chen: Fig. 8(e); section III.B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify, with a reasonable expectation of success, the memory accessing of Sworna with the network on chip of Chen. For at least the same reasons as discussed above in claim 10.
Claims 13, 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sworna/Zhang/Zjeda in further view of Kumar et al. (US 20200174747 A1, hereinafter “Kumar”).
As per claim 13, Sworna/Zhang/Zjeda further teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the at least one transformation is performed (Zhang: Section IV.A.3).
However, while Sworna/Zhang/Zjeda discloses rearranging the matrix data, Sworna/Zhang/Zjeda does not explicitly disclose circuitry for performing the function. Thus, Sworna/Zhang/Zjeda does not teach at least in part using a memory manipulation module configured to manipulate data stored in a memory;
Kumar teaches at least in part using a memory manipulation module configured to manipulate data stored in a memory (Kumar: Fig. 3; [0046]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify, with a reasonable expectation of success, the data arrangement of Sworna with the data reordering system of Kumar. One would have been motivated to combine these references because both references disclose neural network accelerators, and the reordering system of Kumar improves computational efficiency (Kumar: [0032]).
As per claim 17, the claim is directed to a data processing system that implements the same or similar features as the method of claim 13, and is therefore rejected for at least the same reasons therein.
As per claim 18, Sworna/Zhang/Zjeda/Kumar further teaches The data processing system of claim 17, wherein the memory manipulation module comprises:
an internal buffer (Kumar: Fig. 3 elements 320, 340; [0049]);
a memory reading block, configured to read data from the memory and write the data to the internal buffer (Kumar: Fig. 3 element 304; [0046], [0048]]);
a memory writing block, configured to read the data from the internal buffer and write the data to the memory (Kumar: Fig. 3 element 350; [0046])
and a control channel between the memory reading block and the memory writing block, wherein the memory reading block and the memory writing block are configured to communicate via the control channel to maintain synchronisation between them when writing the data to the internal buffer and reading the data from the internal buffer, respectively (Fig. 3 element 370; [0050]).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sworna/Zhang/Zjeda in further view of Brothers et al. (US 20170011288 A1, hereinafter “Brothers”).
As per claim 19, Sworna/Zhang/Zjeda further teaches The method of claim 1,
However, while Sworna discloses matrix multiplication using neural networks, Sworna does not explicitly disclose the matrix multiplication may be used as a classification layer. Thus, Sworna does not teach wherein the layer comprising the matrix multiplication operation is a classification layer for classifying an input to the neural network into one of a number of categories.
Brothers teaches wherein the layer comprising the matrix multiplication operation is a classification layer for classifying an input to the neural network into one of a number of categories (Brothers: [0025], wherein Brothers states matrix multiplies are applicable to feature classification layers).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify, with a reasonable expectation of success, the matrix multiplication method of Sworna with the teaching of Brothers. One would have been motivated to combine these references because both references disclose matrix multiplication related neural networks, and combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (performing neural network classification through matrix multiplication).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7, 14-15 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter is discussed in the Office Action mailed 1/8/2026.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/P.N.L./
Phat LeExaminer, Art Unit 2182 (571) 272-0546
/ANDREW CALDWELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2182