DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 07/06/26 has been entered. Claims 1-3, 6, 8, and 15-16 have been amended, and new claims 21-24 have been entered. Claims 1-3, 6, 8-17, and 21-24 are addressed in the following office action. Note, there were new limitations presented that should have been underlined as amendments to Claim 1. Specifically, “and leaving a tubeless channel in the target tissue layer” in line 2, “the tubeless” in line 15. Also, the objection to claim 9 has been withdrawn in view of further consideration of previously cited prior art.
Priority
The effective filing date for the application is 06/28/22 because parent applications fail to divulge “the target tissue is located inside the eye at the superonasal or inferonasal quadrants of the eye” detailed in claim 1.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 14, line 2: “its said” should read “said outer member is”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “a movement mechanism configured to advance said device along the axis X” in claim 15, “a movement mechanism configured to rotate said soft-tissue cutting tool” in claim 16, and “said movement mechanism is configured to rotate said soft-tissue cutting tool in reciprocal movement” in claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8, 10, 12, 15-17, and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaaf et al. (US 2001/0053873) in view of Rusnak (US 2010/0280408), Shmukler et al. (US 2015/0127037) and Kalina, JR. (US 2019/0091012). Note, Schaaf and Rusnak were cited in the previous office action.
Regarding claim 1, an invention relating to ophthalmologic devices, Schaaf discloses (Figs. 1-3, 4H, 5-6A) a method for removing a portion of soft tissue from a target tissue layer of the eye and leaving a tubeless channel in the target tissue layer to enable drainage of excessive fluid from inside the eye (Abstract), the method comprising: providing a device (200) comprising a soft-tissue cutting tool (35.6) extending along an axis X (X.3), the cutting tool comprising an elongated proximal part [i.e. a proximal portion including the proximal end] attached to a proximal handle [i.e. a portion that can be grasped by a hand (28, 50, 60)] for gripping the device (Fig. 6A; Par. 0073 & 0077-0078), a distal part (81) having an open distal end [i.e. the opening at the circular cutting edge] and a distal cutting edge (81.1) at the distal end of the distal part configured to attach to [i.e. contact] and cut the soft tissue portion (Par. 0065), and a cavity (see annotated figure below) extending inside the cutting tool from said open distal end to receive the cut soft tissue portion (Par. 0065-0066); positioning the device at a first point with respect to the eye [i.e. when element 30 of the device is located outside slit-like opening] (Par. 0039); advancing the device along the axis X until contacting said target tissue layer [i.e. element 30 inserted and directed towards the iridocorneal angle and the cutting tool extends out into contact with the trabecular meshwork to open a passageway] (Par. 0045, 0049, 0071); distally progressing at least the distal part of the cutting tool into the target tissue layer to thereby cut and remove the soft tissue portion, extending between two side walls [i.e. the two side wall of the trabecular meshwork] of the target tissue layer, by said distal part of the cutting tool, thereby creating the tubeless channel of a predetermined geometry across the target tissue layer (Par. 00049, 0065-0066, 0068-0069, 0071); retracting at least the distal part proximally out of the target tissue layer [i.e. retraction will be required to open a passageway at two or more locations] (Par. 0071); and withdrawing the device out of the eye substantially along the axis X [i.e. withdrawing the device from the trabecular meshwork leaving the created passageways would lead to a portion of element 30, that was inside the eye, being outside of the eye] (Fig. 2), thereby leaving the created tubeless channel allowing the drainage of the excessive fluid therethrough (Par. 0045, 0065-0066, 0071-0072); wherein: the elongated proximal part has a uniform outer diameter [i.e. the proximal part of element 35 in figure 6A appears to be uniform in diameter], the distal cutting edge is a round cutting edge (81.1), the round cutting edge having a first diameter [i.e. diameter at the open distal end (81.1)] smaller than said uniform outer diameter, the distal part has a continuously decreasing outer diameter [i.e. diameter along taper decreases] from said uniform outer diameter to said first diameter of the cutting edge (see annotated figure below & Par. 0065-0066), the cavity has a cavity diameter that decreases from said first diameter of the cutting edge at a distal side of the cavity [i.e. the cavity diameter is less than the cutting edge diameter which is the cavity diameter in addition to the wall thickness of the cutting edge]. However, Schaaf fails to disclose the elongated proximal part has a uniform outer diameter between 0.2 mm and 0.5 mm; and the target tissue layer is located inside the eye at the superonasal or inferonasal quadrants of the eye.
In the alternative and in the analogous art of surgical tools, Rusnak teaches (Fig. 5) a cavity has a cavity diameter that decreases from a first diameter of a cutting edge (134) at a distal side of the cavity (see annotated figure below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schaaf to have wherein the cavity has a cavity diameter that decreases from said first diameter of the cutting edge at a distal side of the cavity. Doing so would provide a mouth that more efficiently receives tissue into the needle lumen by aspiration (Par. 0014), as taught by Rusnak.
In the same field of endeavor, which is ophthalmologic devices, Shmukler teaches (Figs. 1A-B) an elongated proximal part (102) has a uniform outer diameter (Di) between 100-1000 μm (Par. 0031 & 0041). Also, Shmukler teaches the external diameter depends on the particular application of the device e.g. at different parts or organs of the body and/or in different species (Par. 0041). Note, both Schaaf and Shmukler are used to treat intraocular pressure in the eye which causes Glaucoma [see Schaaf paragraphs 0004-0005 and Shmukler paragraphs 0092].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schaaf, in view of Shmukler, from 100-1000 μm to between 0.2 mm and 0.5 mm since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Further, applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the claimed range [i.e. the external diameter “can be” about 0.2 - 0.5mm; see applicant’s original disclosure page 19, lines 11-13]. Also, modifying Schaaf’s device to have the claimed diameter range which is within the diameter range taught by Shmukler would provide a known and suitable dimension for a device for treating Glaucoma.
In the analogous art of glaucoma treatment device, Kalina teaches a target tissue layer is located inside an eye at an inferonasal quadrant of the eye (Par. 0026).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided Schaaf with the method steps: the target tissue layer is located inside the eye at the inferonasal quadrants of the eye. Doing so would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art [i.e. providing an effective fluid passageway between the anterior chamber and Schlemm's canal in the inferior quadrant as a rule of thumb or general guideline because collector ducts are believed to be more prevalent in the inferior quadrant] (Par. 0025-0026), as taught by Kalina.
Regarding claim 2, Schaaf, as modified by Rusnak in the alternative, Shmukler, and Kalina, discloses the method according to claim 1. Schaaf further discloses comprising repeating said positioning, progressing, and retracting steps for a plurality of times to create a respective plurality of tubeless channels at respective plurality of locations at said target tissue layer [i.e. opening a passageway at two or more locations] (Par. 0068-0069, 0071-0072).
Regarding claim 8, Schaaf, as modified by Rusnak in the alternative, Shmukler, and Kalina, discloses the method according to claim 1. However, Schaaf fails to explicitly disclose wherein said cavity has dimensions matching a shape of said soft tissue portion, and wherein said shape of the soft tissue portion has a length of 0.5-1.5mm and a diameter of between 0.1mm and 0.2mm substantially.
Shmukler like Schaaf, discloses a ophthalmologic device for reducing intraocular pressure to prevent development of glaucoma or glaucoma progression by creating a channel, wherein a cavity [i.e. depression] has dimensions matching a shape of said soft tissue portion [i.e. the volume of tissue received in the depression match the dimension of the depression once the depression is full], and wherein said shape of the soft tissue portion has a length of 0.5-1.5mm and a diameter of between 0.1mm and 0.2mm substantially [i.e. the shape of the soft tissue portion has the length and diameter of the depression once full] (Par. 0041-0042, 0044, 0071, 0092, 0095-0096).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schaaf, as modified by Rusnak in the alternative, Shmukler, and Kalina to have wherein said cavity has dimensions matching a shape of said soft tissue portion, and wherein said shape of the soft tissue portion has a length of 0.5-1.5mm and a diameter of between 0.1mm and 0.2mm substantially. Doing so would provide a device of suitable dimensions for treatment of the human eye, as taught by Shmukler; and doing so would prevent collapse of the eye (Par. 0096), as taught by Shmukler.
Regarding claim 10, Schaaf, as modified by Rusnak in the alternative, Shmukler, and Kalina, discloses the method according to claim 1. Schaaf further discloses wherein said cavity diameter is constant in the proximal direction after said distal side of the cavity (Fig. 4H).
Regarding claim 12, Schaaf, as modified by Rusnak in the alternative, Shmukler, and Kalina, discloses the method according to claim 1. Schaaf discloses further comprising rotating the distal part of the soft-tissue cutting tool to thereby cut and remove the soft tissue portion (Par. 0068-0069 & 0071-0072).
Regarding claim 15, Schaaf, as modified by Rusnak in the alternative, Shmukler, and Kalina, discloses the method according to claim 1. Schaaf further discloses (Fig. 6A) wherein said proximal handle comprises a movement mechanism [i.e. drive mechanism (60) comprising: sliding member (67), pressure spring (72), and housing (61) which are all considered structurally equivalent to corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof and interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph] configured to advance said device along the axis X [i.e. manually operating surgical tool into an axially directed operational position] (Par. 0030, 0042, 0068-0069, 0075, 0078).
Regarding claim 16, Schaaf, as modified by Rusnak in the alternative, Shmukler, and Kalina, discloses the method according to claim 12. Schaaf further discloses (Fig. 6A) wherein said proximal handle comprises a movement mechanism [i.e. drive mechanism (60) comprising: electric motor (65) which is considered structurally equivalent to corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof and interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph] configured to rotate said soft-tissue cutting tool [i.e. the surgical heads of the surgical tool is rotatable about the rotational axis by the electric motor] (Par. 0030, 0042, 0068-0069, 0078).
Regarding claim 17, Schaaf, as modified by Rusnak in the alternative, Shmukler, and Kalina, discloses the method according to claim 16. Schaaf further discloses wherein said movement mechanism [i.e. drive mechanism (60) comprising: electric motor (65) which is considered structurally equivalent to corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof and interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph] is configured to rotate said soft-tissue cutting tool in reciprocal movement (Par. 0030, 0042, 0068-0069, 0078).
Regarding claims 21-22, Schaaf, as modified by Rusnak in the alternative, Shmukler, and Kalina, discloses the method according to claim 1. Schaaf further discloses said round cutting edge i.e. a circular cutting edge (81.1; Fig. 4H; Par. 0065). However, Schaaf does not disclose wherein said round cutting edge is formed by sharpening from both an outside direction from the uniform outer diameter and from an inside direction from the cavity diameter; and wherein the sharpening includes grinding [Note, the claimed phrase is being treated as a product by process limitation; that is said round cutting edge i.e. a circular cutting edge. As set forth in MPEP 2113, product by process claims are not limited to the manipulation of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. Once a product appearing to be substantially the same or similar is found, a 35 USC 102/103 rejection may be made and the burden is shifted to applicant to show an unobvious difference. MPEP 2113]. The examiner maintains that the product by process limitation does not necessitate any particular final structure other than the round cutting edge.
Regarding claim 23, Schaaf, as modified by Rusnak in the alternative, Shmukler, and Kalina, discloses the method according to claim 1. However, Schaaf fails to further disclose wherein said uniform outer diameter is between about 0.2 mm and about 0.3 mm.
In the same field of endeavor, which is ophthalmologic devices, Shmukler teaches (Figs. 1A-B) an elongated proximal part (102) has a uniform outer diameter (Di) between 100-1000 μm (Par. 0031 & 0041). Also, Shmukler teaches the external diameter depends on the particular application of the device e.g. at different parts or organs of the body and/or in different species (Par. 0041). Note, both Schaaf and Shmukler are used to treat intraocular pressure in the eye which causes Glaucoma [see Schaaf paragraphs 0004-0005 and Shmukler paragraphs 0092].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schaaf, in view of Shmukler, from 100-1000 μm to between 0.2 mm and 0.3 mm since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Further, applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the claimed range [i.e. the external diameter “can be” about 0.2 - 0.5mm or about 0.3mm; see applicant’s original disclosure page 19, lines 11-13 & page 37, lines 29-31]. Also, modifying Schaaf’s device to have the claimed diameter range which is within the diameter range taught by Shmukler would provide a known and suitable dimension for a device for treating Glaucoma.
Regarding claim 24, Schaaf, as modified by Rusnak in the alternative, Shmukler, and Kalina, discloses the method according to claim 1. Schaaf fails to further disclose wherein said cavity diameter at a proximal side of the cavity is between 0.1 mm and 0.2 mm.
Shmukler teaches that a diameter of a channel greater than about 200 µm after tissue recoil, e.g. 1,000 µm, would cause collapse of the eye (probably due to excessive leakage of the fluids from the anterior chamber of the eye) (Par. 0096).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schaaf, in view of Rusnak in the alternative, Shmukler, and Kalina, to have wherein said cavity diameter at a proximal side of the cavity is between 0.1 mm and 0.2 mm. Doing so would prevent collapse of the eye (Par. 0096), as taught by Shmukler.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaaf et al. (US 2001/0053873) in view of Rusnak (US 2010/0280408), Shmukler et al. (US 2015/0127037) and Kalina, JR. (US 2019/0091012) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Baerveldt et al. (US 2018/0289544).
Regarding claim 6, Schaaf, as modified by Rusnak in the alternative, Shmukler, and Kalina, discloses the method according to claim 1. Schaaf further discloses wherein said advancing step comprises advancing the device through the anterior chamber until contacting the target tissue layer from inside the eye [i.e. advancing element 30 containing element 35 through the anterior chamber and then advancing element 35 to contact and cut the target tissue] (Par. 0039 & 0068-0071); said target tissue layer is a trabecular meshwork; said tubeless channel being created between an anterior chamber of the eye and a Schlemm's canal of the eye (Par. 0045 & 0071). However, Schaaf fails to disclose said positioning step comprises introducing said device into an anterior chamber of the eye through the temporal half of the eye, said tubeless channel having a length of 0.5mm substantially.
In the analogous art of glaucoma treatment device, Baerveldt teaches wherein said positioning step comprises introducing said device into the anterior chamber of the eye through a temporal half of the eye, said advancing step comprises advancing the device through the anterior chamber until contacting the target tissue layer from inside the eye (Par. 0049).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided Schaaf, in view of Rusnak in the alternative, Shmukler, and Kalina, to have said positioning step comprises introducing said device into the anterior chamber of the eye through the temporal half of the eye. Schaaf discloses inserting a device at the limbus across the anterior chamber to the target tissue to open a passageway for drainage of the aqueous humor is desired (Par. 0143 & 0204), thus Baerveldt’s method steps would have provided Schaaf with an approach to the target tissue where the passageway would be opened. Also, doing so would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art [i.e. the most commonly employed surgical approach] (Par. 0049), as taught by Baerveldt.
Shmukler like Schaaf, discloses a ophthalmologic device for reducing intraocular pressure to prevent development of glaucoma or glaucoma progression by creating a channel, wherein said tubeless channel having a length of 0.5mm substantially [i.e. the channel length depends on the dimensions/length of the depression that has the claimed length ] (Par. 0042, 0044, 0071, 0092).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schaaf, as modified by Rusnak in the alternative, Shmukler, Kalina, and Baerveldt, to have said tubeless channel having a length of 0.5mm substantially. Doing so would provide a device that can create a channel of suitable dimensions for treatment of the human eye, as taught by Shmukler.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaaf et al. (US 2001/0053873) in view of Rusnak (US 2010/0280408), Shmukler et al. (US 2015/0127037) and Kalina, JR. (US 2019/0091012) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sullivan et al. (US 2013/0046316).
Regarding claim 9, Schaaf, as modified by Rusnak in the alternative, Shmukler, and Kalina, discloses the method according to claim 1. However, Schaaf fails to disclose wherein the cavity diameter increases continuously after said distal side of the cavity towards a proximal end of the cavity.
In the same field of endeavor, which is ophthalmologic devices, Sullivan teaches (Fig. 14) wherein a cavity diameter [i.e. inner diameter] increases continuously after a distal side (397) of a cavity (see annotated figure below) towards a proximal end (399) of the cavity (Par. 0102).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided Schaaf, in view of Rusnak in the alternative, Shmukler, and Kalina, to have wherein the cavity diameter increases continuously after said distal side of the cavity towards a proximal end of the cavity. Doing so would may reduce the risk that the lumen may become clogged with solid matter (Par. 0102), as taught by Sullivan.
Claims 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaaf et al. (US 2001/0053873) in view of Rusnak (US 2010/0280408), Shmukler et al. (US 2015/0127037) and Kalina, JR. (US 2019/0091012) as applied to claim 1 above; or Schaaf et al. (US 2001/0053873) in view of Rusnak (US 2010/0280408), Shmukler et al. (US 2015/0127037) and Kalina, JR. (US 2019/0091012) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kahook et al. (US 2020/0129334).
Regarding claim 11, Schaaf, as modified by Rusnak in the alternative, Shmukler, and Kalina, discloses the method according to claim 1. Schaaf further discloses (Fig. 3A & 4H) wherein said device further comprises an elongated outer member (34) coaxially surrounding the soft-tissue cutting tool (Par. 0077); said outer member comprises an open distal side [i.e. the opening element 81 extend through (Fig. 4H)] configured for sticking to said target tissue layer when the device is brought to contact the target tissue layer during said advancing step [i.e. element 34 can be moved into contact with the target tissue such that it stabilizes/anchors the device for advancement of the surgical tool. Note applicant divulges that sticking is interchangeably called stabilizing or anchoring, see page 17, lines 7-13 of applicant’s original disclosure] (Par. 0049); said soft-tissue cutting tool being configured to project distally through said open distal side of the outer member in order to cut the soft tissue portion from the target tissue layer (Fig. 4H; Par. 0049, 0065-0066, 0071).
In the alternative and in the same field of endeavor of ophthalmologic devices, Kahook teaches (Figs. 2A-B) an outer member (260 & 299) comprises an open distal side [i.e. opening at distal end of element 299 that element 14 extends through (Fig. 2A; Par. 0038-0040)] configured for sticking to said target tissue layer when the device is brought to contact the target tissue layer during said advancing step [i.e. facilitating placement, acting as a guiding constraint on the target tissue layer] (Par. 0039-0040).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schaaf, in view of Rusnak in the alternative, Shmukler, and Kalina to have an outer member comprises an open distal side configured for sticking to said target tissue layer when the device is brought to contact the target tissue layer during said advancing step. Doing so would facilitate placement of the surgical tool at a desired penetration depth (Par. 0039), as taught by Kahook.
Regarding claim 13, Schaaf, as modified by Shmukler, Kalina, and Rusnak and Kahook in the alternative, discloses the method according to claim 11. Schaaf further discloses wherein said soft-tissue cutting tool is fixedly [i.e. rotatably fixed such that it shares the same longitudinal axis] attached to and housed within said outer member during said advancing of said outer member to contact the target tissue layer (Fig. 1; Par. 0039, 0049, 0052, 0068).
In the alternative, Kahook teaches (Figs. 2A-B) wherein said soft-tissue cutting tool (14) is fixedly [i.e. rotatably fixed such that it shares the same longitudinal axis] attached to and housed within said outer member (260 & 299) during said advancing of said outer member to contact the target tissue layer (Par. 0028 & 0042-0044).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schaaf, in view of Shmukler, Kalina, Rusnak and Kahook in the alternative, to have wherein said soft-tissue cutting tool is fixedly attached to and housed within said outer member during said advancing of said outer member to contact the target tissue layer. Doing so would facilitate placement of the surgical tool at a desired penetration depth (Par. 0039), as taught by Kahook.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaaf et al. (US 2001/0053873) in view of Rusnak (US 2010/0280408), Shmukler et al. (US 2015/0127037) and Kalina, JR. (US 2019/0091012) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Kahook et al. (US 2020/0129334).
Regarding claim 14, Schaaf, as modified by Shmukler, Kalina, and Rusnak and Kahook in the alternative, discloses the method according to claim 11. Schaff further discloses wherein said outer member is manually moved along the axis X during said advancing step (Par. 0049). However, Schaaf fails to explicitly disclose wherein said outer member is manually moved until its said sticking to the target tissue layer.
Kahook further teaches (Figs. 2A-B) wherein said outer member (260 & 299) is manually moved along the axis X during said advancing step until its said sticking to the target tissue layer [i.e. facilitating placement, acting as a guiding constraint on the target tissue layer] (Par. 0028 & 0039-0040).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schaaf, in view of Shmukler, Kalina, Rusnak and Kahook in the alternative, to have wherein said outer member is manually moved until its said sticking to the target tissue layer. Doing so would facilitate placement of the surgical tool at a desired penetration depth (Par. 0039), as taught by Kahook.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Concerning claim 3, cited prior art fails to disclose said target tissue layer is the sclera located at the supernasal quadrant of the eye. Primary reference Schaaf et al. (US 2001/0053873) discloses a procedure that creates drainage channels in the trabecular meshwork, and it is well known within the art that for such a procedure it is a rule of thumb or general guideline to target the nasal inferior quadrant of the trabecular meshwork where the collector ducts are believed to be more prevalent, as taught by Kalina, JR. (US 2019/0091012). Therefore, it would not be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Schaaf to have the method limitation of said target tissue layer is the sclera located at the supernasal quadrant of the eye.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-7, filed 07/06/26, with respect to claim 1 and dependent claims have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC § 112 rejection of claim 1 and dependents has been withdrawn.
Applicant's following prior art rejection arguments filed 07/06/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues the PTO has not demonstrated that the cited references teach or suggest "the target tissue layer is located inside the eye at the superonasal or inferonasal quadrants of the eye," as recited in independent claim 1, and prior art reference Kalina, JR. (US 2019/0091012) discloses placing stents or implants in the eye and does not teach or suggest forming tubeless drainage channel "at the superonasal or inferonasal quadrants of the eye," as recited in independent claim 1. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Previously cited primary reference Schaaf et al. (US 2001/0053873) discloses the tubeless drainage channel, as detail in the rejection above. Newly relied upon reference Kalina teaches a target tissue layer is located inside an eye at an inferonasal quadrant of the eye (Par. 0026), and doing so would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art [i.e. providing an effective fluid passageway between the anterior chamber and Schlemm's canal in the inferior quadrant as a rule of thumb or general guideline because collector ducts are believed to be more prevalent in the inferior quadrant] (Par. 0025-0026), as taught by Kalina.
Also, applicant argues the PTO has not demonstrated that the cited references teach or suggest a "distal part" having "a continuously decreasing outer diameter from said uniform outer diameter to said first diameter of the cutting edge" and "a cavity" having "a cavity diameter that decreases from said first diameter of the cutting edge at a distal side of the cavity," as recited in claim 1. Further, the PTO has not demonstrated that a person of ordinary skill in the art would combine the cited references to result in the subject matter of claim 1, because the recitations imply that material has been removed from both the outside (to reduce the outer diameter down to the cutting edge diameter) and the inside (to create a cavity diameter that is smaller than the cutting edge diameter); and because previously cited prior art reference Rusnak (US 2010/0280408) operates at a fundamentally different scale, it provides no motivation or teaching to remove material from both sides at the micro scale required by independent claim 1, and because Rusnak is non-analogous art and cannot properly be combined with Schaaf. Additionally, applicant argues there is no motivation to combine Rusnak's inner-grinding teaching with Schaaf, and the references teach away from the proposed combination because Rusnak discloses inner grinding to facilitate tissue acquisition by capillary forces while Schaaf discloses removing tissue particles by suction, therefore a person of ordinary skill reviewing Schaafs suction-based system would have no reason to incorporate Rusnak's inner-grinding approach because capillary-force tissue acquisition is rendered unnecessary by Schaafs suction mechanism. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Schaaf discloses (Figs. 3A & 4H) wherein: the elongated proximal part has a uniform outer diameter [i.e. the proximal part of element 35 in figure 6A appears to be uniform in diameter], the distal cutting edge is a round cutting edge (81.1), the round cutting edge having a first diameter [i.e. diameter at the open distal end (81.1)] smaller than said uniform outer diameter, the distal part has a continuously decreasing outer diameter [i.e. diameter along taper decreases] from said uniform outer diameter to said first diameter of the cutting edge (see annotated figure below & Par. 0065-0066), the cavity has a cavity diameter that decreases from said first diameter of the cutting edge at a distal side of the cavity [i.e. the cavity diameter is less than the cutting edge diameter which is the cavity diameter in addition to the wall thickness of the cutting edge].
In the alternative and in the analogous art of surgical tools, Rusnak teaches (Fig. 5) a cavity has a cavity diameter that decreases from a first diameter of a cutting edge (134) at a distal side of the cavity (see annotated figure below), and doing so would provide a mouth that more efficiently receives tissue into the needle lumen by aspiration (Par. 0014), as taught by Rusnak.
Furthermore, applicant does not claim explicitly claim material has been removed from both the outside, and Schaaf in view of Rusnak in the alternative provide the distal part with a continuously decreasing outer diameter from said uniform outer diameter to said first diameter of the cutting edge, and the cavity with a cavity diameter that decreases from said first diameter of the cutting edge at a distal side of the cavity, as detailed in the prior art rejection above. Additionally, Rusnak is considered analogous art because both Schaaf and Rusnak are surgical tools for removing tissue, and Rusnak is not being relied on to teach the larger scale of its device. Rusnak is relied upon to teach inner bevel defining a mouth that more efficiently receives tissue into the needle lumen by aspiration (Par. 0014), hence Rusnak does not teach away from Schaaf’s disclosure of removal of tissue via suction.
Conclusion
/CHIMA U IGBOKO/ Examiner, Art Unit 3771