DETAILED ACTION
Examiner Miller, who worked on the non-final Office action which was mailed on 1/26/26, is no longer with the Office. As such, this case has been transferred to the undersigned Examiner. The restriction requirement, mailed on 8/7/25, is wholly maintained. Claims 1-17 are currently pending with claims 18-30 being withdrawn to a non-elected invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicants arguments and amendments, filed on 3/31/26, have been fully considered but they do not confer patentability on the instantly filed claims. Applicants have amended independent claim 1 to include the limitation that the polymer is a polymer fiber. This amendment overcomes the prior art rejection to Huang et al. (CN-110317282). Huang et al. teaches the reaction of a cellulose (chitosan) with an amine-porphyrin. However, Huang et al. does not teach that the cellulose is in the form of a fiber which is required by independent claim 1. Applicants amendments to claims 6 and 14 overcome the 112(b) and 112(d) rejections, respectively, from the previous Office action. Further search has led to new prior art rejections as described below. A claim which was previously indicated as containing allowable subject matter has been included in one of the rejections below. As such, this Office action is non-final.
Claim Interpretation
The claim interpretation as recited in the non-final rejection from 1/26/26 also applies herein with equal force.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7, 8, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chauhan et al. (Chem. Commun. 2013, 49, 8525-8527, cited on Applicants information disclosure statement, filed on 12/29/23).
Claims 1-4: Chauhan et al. teaches the preparation of nanocrystalline cellulose-porphyrin hybrids wherein an amino-functional porphyrin is reacted with cellulose fibril. A fibril can be considered to be a fiber as a fibril is merely a micro- or nano-scale fiber component rather than a standalone textile fiber. However, claim 1 does not distinguish the limitation “fiber” in any way. Scheme 1 of Chauhan et al shows the reaction between a -COOH functionalized cellulose fibril (which reads on Applicants polymer comprising carboxyl groups on a surface) and an amino-functional porphyrin (which reads on Applicants amino-functionalized macrocycle). Cellulose is a polysaccharide satisfying claim 2 and claim 3 and the amino-functionalized porphyrin satisfies claim 4.
Claims 7, 8, 11, and 12: Chauhan et al. teaches that the reaction between the cellulose fibrils and the porphyrin is done using carbodiimide chemistry in water, which satisfies the limitations of claims 7, 8, 11, and 12 (page 8525, bottom right).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, 8, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (J. Appl. Polym. Sci. 2001, 82, 839-846).
Claims 1-5: Figure 2 of Cho et al. teaches a grafting reaction between a polypropylene fabric (which inherently comprises a plurality of fibers) and a macrocyclic compound. The difference between Figure 2 of Cho et al. and independent claim 1 is that the polypropylene fabric in Cho et al. is amine-functionalized and the macrocycle is carboxylic-acid functionalized while independent claim 1 is drawn to a polymer fiber having carboxyl groups on a surface and the macrocycle comprises an amine group. While Cho et al. and independent claim 1 differ, the resulting treated fiber comprises an amide bond between the polymer and the macrocycle in both Cho et al. and claim 1.
It is well established in the chemical arts that when two groups are joined via a standard condensation linkage (such as the creation of an amide bond between the reaction of an amine and a carboxylic acid), swapping the molecule which bears the nucleophile (-NH2) and which bears the electrophile (-COOH) is a matter of routine optimization. The resulting chemical bridge linking the macrocycle to the polymer backbone is functionally identical. A person having ordinary skill in the art would understand that the reaction shown in Figure 2 of Cho et al. could go either way. For example, grafting acrylic acid or maleic anhydride onto polypropylene to introduce -COOH group is just as common as plasma-modifying it to be -NH2 terminated. Coupling either variation to a complementary phthalocyanine uses the exact same water-soluble carbodiimide (WSC) chemistry shown in Figure 2 of Cho et al. Such a modification achieves the same exact structural goal, which is covalently anchoring a phthalocyanine to a polypropylene textile platform to exploit the catalytic or deodorizing properties described by Cho et al. A polypropylene fabric comprising a plurality of carboxylic acid groups also satisfies the limitations of claims 2 and 3 and an amino-functional phthalocyanine satisfies the limitations of claims 4 and 5.
Claims 7 and 8: The WSC chemistry described by Cho et al. involves mixing the polymer fabric and the macrocycle in a water soluble carbodiimide so as to react the polymer fiber and macrocycle, thereby satisfying claims 7 and 8.
Claims 11 and 12: The WSC chemistry described by Cho et al. employs 1-ethyl-3-dimethylaminopropyle carbodiimide which is a coupling agent satisfying the limitations of claims 11 and 12.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 9, 10, and 13-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/Robert S Loewe/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766