DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 11/07/2025 does not place the application in condition for allowance.
In view of the cancellation of claim 7, the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 7 has been withdrawn.
The basis of the rejection of claims 1, 4, and 8-19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 is maintained, the addition of claim 19 has been acknowledged.
In view of the amendment to claim 1, the rejection under U.S.C 112(a) and 112(b) of claim 1 and its dependent claims is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that having a flow control member with a smaller inner diameter provides the new/unexpected result of reduced flow and pressure, however the result of reducing the diameter of a pipe, for example, is an expected reduction of flow and pressure therefore this argument is not persuasive as the result is not unexpected.
Applicant also argues the amended claim 15 overcomes the teachings of Han with the amendment including “two separate streams” however the examiner respectfully disagrees. The annotated Figures 10 and 12 in applicants’ arguments dated 11/07/2025 identify the two separate streams from the incoming path 33 to the outgoing introduction paths 41 and 42. The incoming stream may be divided between these two streams at a choice of flow rates and quantities depending on the requirements of the system. Furthermore the teaching of two separate events providing the two separate streams is not excluded from meeting the limitations of the claim as written. Also, see the current rejection of this newly amended claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 9-15 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Villanueva et. al. (US20200339010), and further in view of Han (US20200171914).
Regarding claim 1, Villanueva discloses a cooling device (i.e. battery thermal management system 100, ¶[0030]) for a high voltage (¶[0062] see the battery pack can range up to over 600V which a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as high voltage) battery which cools a plurality of batteries (¶[0067], Fig. 12 see battery packs 110) wherein the thermal management system includes a first and second battery cooler (i.e. onboard heat exchanger ¶[0099]) each associated with a battery pack and permanently integrated and thus mounted onto the battery pack (¶[0098]).
Villanueva does not disclose a fluid distributor configured to receive cooling fluid from outside, and distribute the cooling fluid to the battery coolers; and a flow control member coupled to the fluid distributor, and configured to control a flow rate of the cooling fluid distributed to the battery coolers.
Han, related to battery cooling devices, teaches a fluid distributer (i.e. six-way valve 20, Fig. 4, ¶[0056]) configured to receive and distribute cooling fluid which comprises a first introduction path (i.e. first outlet 41, Fig. 5) and a second introduction path (i.e. second outlet 42, Fig. 5) both the first and second introduction paths are configured to transfer cooling fluid.
Han additionally teaches a flow control member (i.e. valve member 25) configured to control the flow rate via rotation by the actuator 26 (¶[0069]) where the flow control member (valve member 25) configured to transfer cooling fluid to the corresponding battery cooler and has a hollow cylindrical shape (Fig. 4) and is coupled to the second outlet (¶[0072]) but is silent as to the interior diameter of the flow control member.
However, changes in size or proportion does not render the claimed subject matter patentably distinct from the prior art. M.P.E.P. § 2144.05 IV. A. Here, one having ordinary skill in the art would have been able to select the interior diameter appropriate to be workable in the envisioned application, such as fitting within the interior of the fluid distributor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to have provided an interior diameter smaller than the interior diameter of the first introduction path.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized adding the fluid distributer and flow control member of Han between the condenser and battery packs (see Fig. 15 of Villanueva) would have significantly improved thermal management performance.
Therefore it would have been obvious to have added the fluid distributer and flow control member to improve thermal management performance.
Annotated Figure 5 of Han
Regarding claim 4, modified Villanueva discloses the cooling device of claim 3, and Han additionally teaches wherein the fluid distributer comprises a body part (i.e. housing 21, Fig. 4, ¶[0066]) which further comprises a discharge path (i.e. first inlet 31, see annotated Fig. 5) configured to transfer fluid from the battery cooler into the body part and a connection path (i.e. third inlet 33) configured to transfer cooling fluid from the outside to the introduction path (¶[0058]). The first surface of Han is the lower shell (23) of the fluid distributer (Fig. 6) and the second surface is the upper shell (22) of the fluid distributer (Fig. 6). The introduction path and discharge path are positioned within the fluid distributer on the first surface and the connection path of the fluid distributor is positioned on the second surface (see annotated Fig. 5 and Fig. 6).
Han further teaches the first and second introduction path are both located at a position closer to the connection path than the discharge path. As seen in Fig. 5 of Han the second outlet (introduction path) is closer to the third inlet (discharge path) than the second inlet (connection path).
Regarding claim 9, modified Villanueva discloses the cooling device of claim 4 where the discharge path comprises a first discharge path (i.e. first inlet 31, Fig. 5) and a second discharge path (i.e. second inlet 32, Fig. 5) both at the first surface (see annotated fig. 5 and Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 10, modified Villanueva discloses the cooling device of claim 9 where the connection path comprises a first connection path (i.e. third inlet 33, Fig. 5) and a second connection path (i.e. third outlet 43, Fig. 5) both with openings at the second surface of the housing as seen in Figure 5.
Regarding claim 11, modified Villanueva discloses the cooling device of claim 10 but does not disclose wherein the second connection path is positioned under the first connection path away from the first surface.
However, this is merely a rearrangement of the parts disclosed by modified Villanueva and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to rearrange the parts as claimed in order to, for example, accommodate the fluid distributer within the cavity of the cooling device, because the mere rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Regarding claim 12, modified Villanueva discloses the cooling device of claim 10 wherein the first connection path, first discharge path, and the second discharge path are connected and therefore in communication (Fig. 5 of Han). Han also teaches the second connection path and the first and second introduction paths are also connected and therefore in communication (Fig. 5 of Han).
Regarding claim 13, modified Villanueva discloses the cooling device of claim 9 wherein Villanueva discloses the first battery cooler comprises a first cooling channel (¶[0096]-[0097]) where it directly abuts the battery (Fig. 11B, see cold plate containing the channels, ¶[0099] see glued to bottom of cells), a first header (i.e. hose coupling) which is fluidically connected to the cooling channels (see Fig. 11B), a first introduction pipe leading to the first header from the first introduction path of the fluid distributor of Han illustrated as a working fluid distribution line arrow going to the battery 110 (and battery cooler containing the header) in Fig. 12 of Villanueva and a first discharge pipe leading from the first header to the first introduction path of the fluid distributor of Han illustrated as a working fluid distribution line arrow going from the battery 110 (and battery cooler containing the header) in Fig. 12 of Villanueva.
Regarding claim 14, modified Villanueva discloses the cooling device of claim 13 wherein the second battery also has a second cooling channel, a second header, a second introduction pipe and a second discharge pipe as described for the first battery cooler in the rejection of claim 13.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Villanueva et. al. (US20200339010), and further in view of Han (US20200171914) and further in view of Houston (US5375622A).
Regarding claim 15, Villanueva discloses a cooling device (i.e. battery thermal management system 100, ¶[0030]) for a high voltage (¶[0062] see the battery pack can range up to over 600V which a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as high voltage) battery which cools a plurality of batteries (¶[0067], Fig. 12 see battery packs 110). Villanueva also discloses the onboard heat exchanger as part of the battery thermal management system is permanently integrated and thus mounted onto the mattery pack (¶[0098]).
Villanueva does not disclose a fluid distributor configured to receive cooling fluid from outside, and distribute the cooling fluid to the battery coolers.
Han, related to battery cooling devices, teaches a fluid distributer (i.e. six-way valve 20, Fig. 4, ¶[0056]) configured to receive and distribute cooling fluid.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized adding the fluid distributer of Han between the condenser and battery packs (see Fig. 15 of Villanueva) would have significantly improved thermal management performance. Therefore it would have been obvious to have added the fluid distributer to improve thermal management performance.
Han additionally teaches the fluid distributer comprises a body part (i.e. housing 21, Fig. 4, ¶[0066]) an introduction path (second outlet 42, see annotated Fig. 5) configured to transfer cooling fluid to the corresponding battery cooler, a discharge path (i.e. first inlet 31, see annotated Fig. 5) configured to transfer fluid from the battery cooler into the body part and a connection path (i.e. third inlet 33) configured to transfer cooling fluid from the outside to the introduction path (¶[0058]).
Villanueva and Han do not disclose a sealing cap configured to seal a processing hole.
Houston, related to multiport valves, teaches a multiport valve with a minor conduit (92) attached to a hole (i.e. respective port 96) with a valve (100) and valve actuator which acts as a sealing element to the hole (Fig. 2 page 8, col. 1, lines 1-12). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize adding a minor conduit with a attached value and value actuator would provide the flexibility of pressurizing or venting the interior space of the fluid distributor (abstract of Houston).
Therefore it would have been obvious to have provided the minor conduit of Houston to provide pressurizing and venting options to the fluid distributor.
Villanueva additionally discloses a first and second battery cooler (i.e. onboard heat exchanger ¶[0099]) each associated with a battery pack. The battery packs containing the battery coolers may not be symmetrically distributed (¶[0058]) depending on the design needs of the aircraft including weight distribution and location of other components. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the fluid distributer may be disposed closer to one battery and cooler than the other to balance the load from the center of mass (¶[0079], Fig. 13D) and reach all the battery cooler. Therefore, it would have been obvious to have a fluid distributor closer to the second battery cooler than the first cooler to distribute the components about the center of mass.
Han further teaches the introduction path comprises a first introduction path (i.e. first outlet 41, Fig. 5) and a second introduction path (i.e. second outlet 42, Fig. 5) and both positioned at the first surface (lower shell 23, Fig, 6) of the body of the fluid distributor. Both the first and second introduction paths are configured to transfer cooling fluid.
Han further teaches and a connection path (i.e. third inlet 33) and the second surface is the upper shell (22) of the fluid distributer (Fig. 6) and the connection path of the fluid distributor is positioned on the second surface (see annotated Fig. 5 and Fig. 6) and configured to divide/provide flow from the cooling fluid received from the outside, into the first introduction path(41) via fourth passage 54 as a first stream and the second introduction path(42) via forth passage 52 (Fig. 6, ¶[0075]) as a second stream resulting in two separate streams.
Regarding claim 17, modified Villanueva discloses a cooling device according to claim 15 and Han further teaches where the discharge path comprises a first discharge path (i.e. first inlet 31, Fig. 5) and a second discharge path (i.e. second inlet 32, Fig. 5) both at the first surface (see annotated fig. 5 and Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 18, modified Villanueva discloses a cooling device according to claim 15 and Han further teaches a second connection path (i.e. third outlet 43, Fig. 5) with an openings at the second surface of the housing as seen in Figure 5.
Regarding claim 19, modified Villanueva discloses a cooling device according to claim 1 and Villanueva further teaches the battery packs containing the battery cooler may not be symmetrically distributed (¶[0058]) depending on the design needs of the aircraft including weight distribution and location of other components.
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the fluid distributer may be disposed closer to one battery and battery cooler than the other to balance the load from the center of mass (¶[0079], Fig. 13D) and reach all the battery coolers.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have a fluid distributor closer to the second battery cooler than the first battery cooler to distribute the components about the center of mass.
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Villanueva et. al. (US20200339010) and Han (US20200171914) as applied to claims 1-5 and further in view of Kostanski (US20200166145A1).
Regarding claim 8, modified Villanueva discloses the cooling device of claim 5, but does not disclose the flow control member is connected by a screw connection.
Kostanski teaches a flow controller (comprising rotary valve body 8 in valve body 4 ¶[0037]) attached via threaded engagement at lip 60a (Fig. 2, ¶[0046]). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the connection of the flow control member of Han, which is connected to the first introduction path (see Fig. 4 of Han and annotated Fig. 5 above), could be connected by the screw connection of Kostanski to provide a functioning valve. Therefore, it would have been obvious to have provided a screw connection to the flow control member to provide a functioning valve.
The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Regarding claim 16, modified Villanueva discloses a cooling device according to claim 15 however Villanueva and Han do not disclose a sealing cap configured to seal a processing hole.
Houston, related to multiport valves, teaches a multiport valve with a minor conduit (92) attached to a hole (i.e. respective port 96) with a valve (100) and valve actuator which acts as a sealing element to the hole (Fig. 2 page 8, col. 1, lines 1-12). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize adding a minor conduit with a attached value and value actuator would provide the flexibility of pressurizing or venting the interior space of the fluid distributor (abstract of Houston).
Therefore it would have been obvious to have provided the minor conduit of Houston to provide pressurizing and venting options to the fluid distributor.
Conclusion
/K.J.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1726
/JEFFREY T BARTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1726 30 January 2026