DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is a final office action in response to Applicant's remarks and amendments filed on 12/8/2025. Claims 1, 8, 11 and 17-19 is currently amended. Claims 7, 9, 15-16 and 20 are cancelled. Claims 21-25 are newly added. Claims 1-6, 8, 10-14, 17-19 and 21-25 are pending review in this action.
The 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections in the previous Office Action are withdrawn.
New grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant's amendments are presented below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/8/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, pertaining amended claim 1 including subject matter of cancelled claim 7, that Xiaorong fails to anticipate the traction battery pack, as claimed. In particular, Applicant submits that Xiaorong does not describe any projections, let alone “finger-like” projections, and that according to Figs. 1-3 and paragraphs [0010,0049-57], partition 3 is a planar partition with glue grooves 30 formed therein, the partition essentially being a flat plate with recesses rather than a structure having a base with discrete projections extending therefrom.
Examiner finds the arguments unpersuasive because Applicant merely relies on one embodiment of Xiaorong illustrated specifically in Fig. 2 on which Examiner did not rely. Specifically, Examiner relied on the embodiment not illustrated in the figures explicitly. That is, Exaimer cited Fig. 1 for the overall illustration of the battery pack comprising the enclosure assembly, cell-to-pack system housed therein, and a cell row separator arranged to structurally couple via glue the first cell stack and the second cell stack together, and further cited paragraph [0010] which states that the partition/separator has an adhesive groove with “an opening on at least one side along the thickness direction of the separator.” This interpretation of this statement for the opening being provided as spatial gaps being other portions of the partition such that finger-like projections are necessarily formed is further supported by the recitation in paragraph [0011] which describes that “[o]ptionally, the adhesive groove is open on one side along the thickness direction of the separator.” The support for Examiner’s position can further be found in paragraph [0053] which states that “[t]he adhesive groove 30 can be open on both sides along the thickness direction of the separator 3, that is, the adhesive groove 30 is a through groove that penetrates the separator 3 along the thickness direction of the separator 3. The adhesive in the adhesive groove 30 is simultaneously bonded to the battery units 1 on both sides of the separator 3, thus bonding and connecting the battery units 1 on both sides of the separator 3. Since the battery units 1 on both sides of the separator 3 can share a single adhesive groove 30, the number of adhesive grooves 30 is reduced, simplifying the assembly of the battery module.” Thus, it is Examiner’s position that the subject matter of amended claim 1 is still anticipated by Xiaorong.
Claim 11 has been amended to include subject matter which changes scope of the invention, and Claim 25 is introduced as a new claim. Although arguments have not been directed to these claims, the response to arguments for claim 1 applies to the manner in which these claims are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8, 10-11, 13-14, 18-19, 21-22 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xiaorong (CN209016158U – see IDS; machine translation attached).
Regarding Claim 1, Xiaorong discloses a traction battery pack (i.e., battery module for energy vehicles) [par. 0004,0010,0049,0053; Fig. 1], comprising:
an enclosure assembly (“fixing device provided around the plurality of battery cells 1”); and
a cell-to-pack battery system (at least two rows of battery cells 1) housed within the enclosure assembly,
wherein the cell-to-pack battery system includes a first cell stack (i.e., one row including plurality of batteries 10), a second cell stack (not shown), and a cell row separator (partition 3) arranged to structurally couple (i.e., via glue – not shown) the first cell stack and the second cell stack together, and
wherein the cell row separator includes a base (folded edge 38) and a plurality of projections that protrude upwardly from the base (see annotated Fig. 1 below) {Note: As explained in Response to Arguments above, the adhesive groove 30 can be open on both sides along the thickness direction of the separator 3, that is, the adhesive groove 30 is a through groove that penetrates the separator 3 along the thickness direction of the separator 3. The adhesive in the adhesive groove 30 is simultaneously bonded to the battery units 1 on both sides of the separator 3, thus bonding and connecting the battery units 1 on both sides of the separator 3 [par. 0053]}.
Regarding Claim 8, Xiaorong discloses wherein the plurality of finger-like projections are spaced apart from one another along a length of the base, a gap (glue groove 30) extends between adjacent projections of the plurality of projections, and a structural adhesive (glue – not shown) is received within the gap [pars. 0049,0053,0060; annotated Fig. 1].
Regarding Claim 10, Xiaorong fails to explicitly teach wherein the cell-to-pack battery system establishes a total high voltage bus electrical potential of the traction battery pack. However, since Xiaorong teaches the battery pack includes high-energy-density modules intended for energy vehicles with long mileage [par. 0004], the battery pack of Xiaorong is necessarily a cell-to-pack battery system establishing a total high voltage bus electrical potential.
Regarding Claim 11, Xiaorong discloses a traction battery pack (i.e., battery module for energy vehicles) [par. 0004,0010,0049,0053; Fig. 1], comprising:
a first cell stack (row of battery cells 1);
a second cell stack (not shown);
a cell row separator (partition 3) attached to the first cell stack and the second cell stack and including a base (folded edge 38), first and second projections that extend from the base, (see annotated Fig. 1 below), and a gap (glue groove 30) that extends continuously from the first projection to the second projection and continuously from a first side of the base that faces toward the first cell stack to a second side of the base that faces toward the second cell stack {Note: As explained in Response to Arguments above, the adhesive groove 30 can be open on both sides along the thickness direction of the separator 3, that is, the adhesive groove 30 is a through groove that penetrates the separator 3 along the thickness direction of the separator 3. The adhesive in the adhesive groove 30 is simultaneously bonded to the battery units 1 on both sides of the separator 3, thus bonding and connecting the battery units 1 on both sides of the separator 3 [par. 0053]}; and
a structural adhesive (glue) received within the gap such that the structural adhesive contacts both the first cell stack and the second cell stack and, upon curing, the cell row separator and the structural adhesive cooperate to structurally couple the first cell stack and the second cell stack [par. 0053].
Regarding Claim 13, Xiaorong discloses wherein the first and second projections are finger-like projections.
Regarding Claim 14, Xiaorong discloses wherein the first and second projections taper toward a distal end portion (i.e., towards the bottom end).
Regarding Claim 18, Xiaorong discloses wherein the first cell stack includes a plurality of battery cells 10, and wherein the cell row separator provides a common datum reference plane for aligning the plurality of battery cells (i.e., the partition extends orthogonally between adjacent rows and the cells are aligned therebetween).
Regarding Claim 19, Xiaorong fails to explicitly teach wherein the first cell stack and the second cell stack are part of a cell-to-pack battery system that establishes a total high voltage bus electrical potential of the traction battery pack. However, since Xiaorong teaches the battery pack includes high-energy-density modules intended for energy vehicles with long mileage [par. 0004], the battery pack of Xiaorong is necessarily a cell-to-pack battery system establishing a total high voltage bus electrical potential.
Regarding Claim 21, Xiaorong discloses wherein the gap extends continuously from a first side of the base that faces toward the first cell stack to a second side of the base that faces toward the second cell stack [par. 0053].
Regarding Claim 22, Xiaorong discloses wherein the structural adhesive is received within the gap such that the structural adhesive bridges a distance between the first cell stack and the second cell stack and, upon curing, the cell row separator and the structural adhesive cooperate to structurally couple the first cell stack and the second cell stack together [par. 0053].
Regarding Claim 24, Xiaorong discloses wherein the first projection, the second projection, the base, a first battery cell of the first cell stack, and a second battery cell of the second cell stack establish a containment perimeter about the structural adhesive for confining the structural adhesive [Fig. 1].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiaorong, as applied to claims 1 and 11, respectively, and further in view of Ogino (US 20200212525 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Xiaorong fails to explicitly disclose wherein the enclosure assembly includes an enclosure cover and an enclosure tray. However, an ordinary skilled artisan would appreciate that the battery cells must be protected from moisture, debris, etc. and that it is well-known in the art to provide and enclosure assembly for a traction battery pack having an enclosure cover and an enclosure tray. For example, Ogino, from the same field of endeavor, discloses a traction battery pack 1 comprising a plurality of cell stacks (modules 50) housed within an enclosure assembly similar to that of Xiaorong (i.e., Xiaorong teaches the fixing device may include a fixed end piece 2 and fastening device 4 which can freely increase or decrease the length of the battery unit 1 for better adaptability), wherein the enclosure assembly comprises end plates 25,26, wherein each cell stack is separated by a cell row separator (restraining member 23) [Xiaorong – par. 0050; Ogino – pars. 0021,0026-27; Figs. 1-2], wherein the enclosure assembly further includes a case including an enclosure cover and an enclosure tray (bottom plate – not shown) [Ogino – par. 0022]. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled artisan to have employed the teachings of Ogino to have further modified the battery pack of Xiaorong, wherein the enclosure assembly includes an enclosure cover and an enclosure tray in order to house the cell-to-pack assembly.
Regarding Claim 3, Xiaorong discloses the enclosure assembly may include a fixed end piece 2 and fastening device 4 which can freely increase or decrease the length of the battery unit 1 for better adaptability [par. 0050; Fig. 1]. Ogino teaches when the main body of the integrated body battery pack is fastened to the enclosure tray (i.e., the bottom plate) at four corners of the main body, rigidity of the battery pack is increased and main body of the battery pack is accurately positioned [Ogino – par. 0022]. Ogino further teaches that the batteries of the battery modules are tightly stacked in a row between the cell row separator and the end plates [Ogino – par. 0023; Fig. 1-2]. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled artisan to have further modified the battery pack of Xiaorong to have fixed the main body of the battery pack to the enclosure tray, wherein the enclosure try provides a cell-compressing opening for compressing the first cell stack and the second cell stack in order to accurately position the cell stacks in a tight manner.
Claim(s) 4-5 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiaorong, as applied to claims 1 and 11, respectively, and further in view of He (US 20220416343 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Xiaorong fails to disclose wherein the cell row separator is secured to the first cell stack by a first two-sided adhesive tape and is secured to the second cell stack by a second two-sided adhesive tape. However, He, from the same field of endeavor, teaches a traction battery pack 300 (i.e., battery pack for an electric vehicle [par. 0002]) comprising a cell stack (battery assembly 200 including cells 203 arranged in a sequence to form rows, and a cell row separator (structural reinforcing member 202) attached to the cell stack, and a two-sided adhesive tape (structural adhesive 213) to secure the cell stack with the cell row separator to ensure a good bonding effect therebetween [He – pars. 0070-71,0112-113; Figs. 1-2,5-6]. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled artisan to have employed the teachings of He to have modified the battery pack of Xiaorong, wherein the cell row separator is secured to the cell stack by a two-sided adhesive tape in order to ensure a good bonding effect between the cell row separator and the cell stack.
Regarding Claim 5, modified Xiaorong discloses the battery pack comprises a structural adhesive (i.e., glue) received between a first projection and a second projection of the cell row separator {NOTE: Although not illustrated, the glue may be open to both sides of the partition along the thickness direction [par. 0010,0049]} [Annotated Fig. 1 above].
Regarding Claim 17, Xiaorong fails to disclose wherein the first cell row separator is secured to the cell stack by a two-sided adhesive tape. However, He, from the same field of endeavor, teaches a traction battery pack 300 (i.e., battery pack for an electric vehicle [par. 0002]) comprising a cell stack (battery assembly 200 including cells 203 arranged in a sequence to form rows, and a cell row separator (structural reinforcing member 202) attached to the cell stack, and a two-sided adhesive tape (structural adhesive 213) to secure the cell stack with the cell row separator to ensure a good bonding effect therebetween [He – pars. 0070-71,0112-113; Figs. 1-2,5-6]. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled artisan to have employed the teachings of He to have modified the battery pack of Xiaorong, wherein the cell row separator is secured to the first cell stack by a two-sided adhesive tape in order to ensure a good bonding effect between the cell row separator and the cell stack.
Claim(s) 6 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiaorong, as applied to claims 1 and 11, respectively, and further in view of Nishimori (US 20200350548 A1).
Regarding Claims 6 and 12, Xiaorong fails to explicitly teach wherein the cell row separator is a polymer-based component. However, Nishimori, from the same field of endeavor, discloses a traction battery pack (battery module 1 for vehicles) comprising a plurality of cell stacks (first and second battery groups 11,12) having a cell row separator (first block member 13), wherein the cell row separator may be a polymer-based component (i.e., resin such as polyethylene) which allows the cell row separator to be integrally molded with the enclosure assembly (case 56) contributing to reduction in number of components and cost [Nishimori – pars. 0003,0033,0039,0089; Fig. 1-4]. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to have employed the teachings of Nishimori to have modified the batter pack of Xiaorong, wherein the cell row separator is a polymer-based component in order to allow the cell row separator to be integrally formed with the enclosure assembly contributing to reduction in number of components and cost.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiaorong, as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Nietling (US20170125756A1).
Regarding Claim 23, Xiaorong teaches that the structural adhesive may be a glue [par. 0060], but fails to explicitly teach wherein the structural adhesive is an epoxy. However, using epoxy as a structural adhesive to structurally couple battery cells together is well-know in the art. For example, Nietling, from the same field of endeavor, discloses a battery pack 100 comprising a plurality of battery cells 114 with adhesive layer 130 positioned between each adjacent cell to adhesively secure each cell to an adjacent cell, wherein the structural adhesive layer may be glue or epoxy for providing a structural bond between the battery cells to thereby structurally stabilize the battery pack and prevent cells from sliding relative to each other [Nietling – pars. 0029-31; Fig. 1]. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to have employed the teachings of Nishimori to have modified the batter pack of Xiaorong, wherein the structural adhesive is an epoxy which is a well-known alternative to glue as a structural adhesive capable of structurally stabilizing the battery pack and prevent cells from sliding relative to each other.
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiaorong and He (US 20220416343 A1) in view of He (US 20220416343 A1).
Regarding Claim 25, Xiaorong discloses a traction battery pack (i.e., battery module for energy vehicles) [par. 0004,0010,0049,0053; Fig. 1], comprising:
a first cell stack (row of battery cells 1);
a second cell stack (not shown);
a cell row separator (partition 3) including a base (folded edge 38), first and second projections that extend from the base (see annotated Fig. 1 below), and a gap (adhesive groove 30) that extends continuously from a first side of the base that faces toward the first cell stack to a second side of the base that faces toward the second cell stack {Note: As explained in Response to Arguments above, the adhesive groove 30 can be open on both sides along the thickness direction of the separator 3, that is, the adhesive groove 30 is a through groove that penetrates the separator 3 along the thickness direction of the separator 3. The adhesive in the adhesive groove 30 is simultaneously bonded to the battery units 1 on both sides of the separator 3, thus bonding and connecting the battery units 1 on both sides of the separator 3 [par. 0053]}; and
a structural adhesive (glue) received within the gap such that the structural adhesive contacts both the first cell stack and the second cell stack and, upon curing, the cell row separator and the structural adhesive cooperate to structurally couple the first cell stack and the second cell stack together [par. 0053].
Xiaorong fails to disclose wherein the traction battery pack further comprises a first two-sided adhesive tape that secures the first projection to the first cell stack; and a second two-sided adhesive tape that secures the first projection to the second cell stack. However, He, from the same field of endeavor, teaches a traction battery pack 300 (i.e., battery pack for an electric vehicle [par. 0002]) comprising a cell stack (battery assembly 200 including cells 203 arranged in a sequence to form rows, and a cell row separator (structural reinforcing member 202) attached to the cell stack, and a two-sided adhesive tape (structural adhesive 213) to secure the cell stack with the cell row separator to ensure a good bonding effect therebetween as well as glue to form a whole inside the battery pack [He – pars. 0070-71,0112-113,0139; Figs. 1-2,5-6,13]. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled artisan to have employed the teachings of He to have modified the battery pack of Xiaorong, wherein the cell row separator is secured to the first cell stack by a two-sided adhesive tape in order to ensure a good bonding effect between the cell row separator and the cell stack in addition to using glue as a structural adhesive to form a whole inside the battery pack.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
HAROON S. SHEIKH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1751
/Haroon S. Sheikh/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751