DETAILED ACTION
Status
In response to the claims filed on 01/12/2026, no claim has been amended. Claims 1-26 are pending and under examination.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the suction foot (21) attached to the operating bar (7) as recited in claim 25 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 25, the phrase “wherein the suction foot is attached to the operating bar” renders claim indefinite. Claim 25 depends from claim 22, and claim 22 recites “a suction foot coupled to the base”. Specification states the floor cleaning machine can be provided with a suction foot, attached to the base or to the operating bar, for sucking up cleaning liquid from the floor surface (¶ 0038). The suction foot is supposed to be attached to either the base or the operating bar. However, claim 25 claims the suction foot coupled to the base (claim 22) is also attached to the operating bar. It is difficult to comprehend the same suction foot is attached to both the base and the operating bar.
For examination purposes the examiner has interpreted the operating bar comprises a suction device such as a duct or a motor coupled to the suction foot at the base. Applicant may amend dependency of claim 25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-9, and 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsang (JP H09168496A), in view of Borinato et al. (US 7,104,873, hereinafter Borinato).
Regarding claim 1, Tsang discloses, in fig. 14, a floor cleaning machine (floor polisher) comprising:
a base (main housing 48),
a cleaning element (polishing disc 49, 50) arrangement, held on an underside of the base, the cleaning element arrangement being configured for engagement with a floor surface (fig. 14, the polishing disc is disposed under the base and is configured to engage a floor surface), and
a drive motor having an output shaft for driving the cleaning element arrangement, wherein the output shaft is drivable in rotation by the drive motor and extends along an output axis (figs. 2 and 15, Tsang English translation, p. 6:16-20, fig. 2 shows an embodiment of a household appliance, and fig. 15 shows another embodiment of a shoe cleaner. They operate the same principle as the floor polisher shown in fig. 14. A motor rotates a rotary shaft 2 along an output axis shown as a dashed line in fig. 2, and it rotates bristles 9, 10 which are equivalent to the polishing disc of the floor polisher),
wherein the cleaning element arrangement comprises an inner cleaning element and an outer cleaning element that is arranged externally around the inner cleaning element (fig. 14, the cleaning element comprises an internal polishing disc 48 and an outer polishing disc 50 wherein the outer disc is arranged externally around the inner brush),
wherein the inner and outer cleaning elements are drivable in such a way that each of the inner and outer cleaning elements performs a movement (Tsang English translation, p. 10:22-26 and 8:6-8, the internal polishing disc 48 and the outer polishing disc 50 can rotate in opposite directions with different rotation speeds),
in which, when viewed perpendicularly to a cleaning body plane, the inner and outer cleaning elements move substantially circularly about axes parallel to the output axis (fig. 14, the internal polishing disc 48 and the outer polishing disc 50 rotate circularly about the output axis), and
in which, for one cleaning element, all points move in one direction of movement at any point in time, when viewed perpendicularly to the cleaning body plane (fig. 14, the entire internal disc 49 or the entire outer disc 50 rotates circularly in one direction about the output axis),
wherein the movements of the inner cleaning element and of the outer cleaning element are phase-shifted with respect to one another in such a way that, when viewed perpendicularly to the cleaning body plane, the direction of movement of the points of the inner cleaning element is different at any point in time from the direction of movement of the points of the outer cleaning element (Tsang English translation, p. 8:6-8, the internal polishing disc 48 and the outer polishing disc 50 can rotate in opposite directions with different rotation speeds),
wherein the inner cleaning element has an inner cleaning body and the outer cleaning element has an outer cleaning body (Tsang English translation, p. 7:16-21 and fig. 3, in an equivalent embodiment, inner bristles 165 are coupled to an inner brush head 160 [corresponds to the recited inner cleaning body] and outer bristles 165’ are coupled to an outer brush head 163 [corresponds to the recited outer cleaning body]), wherein the cleaning bodies extend jointly in the cleaning body plane (fig 3, the inner brush head 160 and the outer brush head 163 lie on the same plane), and wherein engagement elements extend from the cleaning bodies away from the cleaning body plane to one side thereof (fig. 3, the bristles 165, 165’ [correspond to the recited engagement elements] extend away from the inner brush head 160 and the outer brush head 163),
wherein the inner cleaning body has a first receiving opening and the outer cleaning body has a second receiving opening, wherein the inner cleaning body is arranged in the second receiving opening (fig. 3, the inner brush head 160 [corresponds to the recited inner cleaning body] is disposed in one receiving opening and the outer brush head 163 [corresponds to the recited outer cleaning body] is disposed in another receiving opening. The inner brush head 160 is disposed inside of the another receiving opening),
wherein the output shaft extends with an output shaft section into the first and second receiving openings (fig. 3, a set screw 161 [corresponds to the recited output shaft] extends into the first and second receiving openings. As Applicant asserts in Applicant Remarks, a part of the output shaft is referred as the output shaft section. Therefore, the screw set 161 contains the output shaft section), but does not disclose the inner and outer cleaning elements move circularly about separate axes that are spaced from the output axis, and each of the inner and outer cleaning elements performs an eccentric movement, wherein a first eccentric element is attached to the output shaft section and is connected to the inner cleaning body in such a way that, when the output shaft is rotated, the inner cleaning body performs the eccentric movement, and wherein a second eccentric element is attached to the output shaft section and is connected to the outer cleaning body in such a way that, when the output shaft is rotated, the outer cleaning body performs the eccentric movement.
Borinato teaches, in a mechanical device field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, the inner and outer cleaning elements move circularly about separate axes that are spaced from the output axis (fig. 3 and col. 7:66-8:15, Borinato discloses a sanding machine, which can be utilized for a surface treatment, comprising two rotating pads 16, 22 which rotate in opposite directions. An outer pad 16 rotates about an axis 15, and an inner pad 22 rotates about an axis 21. Both axes are spaced from a rotary axis 12 of a drive shaft 11 [corresponds to the recited output shaft]), and each of the inner and outer cleaning elements performs an eccentric movement (figs. 3 and 5 and col. 8:4-7, cams 18a, 18b provides eccentricities to the outer pad 16 and the inner pad 22 respectively), wherein a first eccentric element is attached to the output shaft section and is connected to the inner cleaning body in such a way that, when the output shaft is rotated, the inner cleaning body performs the eccentric movement, and wherein a second eccentric element is attached to the output shaft section and is connected to the outer cleaning body in such a way that, when the output shaft is rotated, the outer cleaning body performs the eccentric movement (figs. 3 and 5 and col. 7:27-8:7, a second cam 18b [corresponds to the recited first eccentric element] and a first cam 18a [corresponds to the recited second eccentric element] are attached to the rotary drive shaft 11 [corresponds to the recited output shaft]. When the drive shaft 11 rotates, the second cam 18b and the first cam 18a rotate to move bodies of the inner pad 22 and the outer pad 16 eccentrically respectively. Borinato teaches the inner and outer cleaning elements of Tsang can rotate eccentrically about the separate rotation axes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the floor cleaning machine of Tsang to provide the cleaning elements wherein their rotation axes are separated and spaced from the output axis as taught by Borinato in order to have multiple eccentrically rotating tools driven by one motor for optimal surface treatment.
Regarding claim 3, Tsang as modified by Borinato teaches the floor cleaning machine as in the rejection of claim 1, further having an operating bar, attached to the base, for guiding and actuating the floor cleaning machine (Tsang fig. 14, a handle 17 [corresponds to the recited operating bar] is attached to the main housing 48 [corresponds to the recited base] for positioning and directing the base across the floor surface to be cleaned).
Regarding claim 4, Tsang as modified by Borinato teaches the floor cleaning machine as in the rejection of claim 3, wherein the operating bar extends along a longitudinal axis and is pivotably attached to the base via a joint in such a way that it can be pivoted in any direction relative to the base (Tsang English translation, p. 10:23-24 and fig. 14, the handle 47 [corresponds to the recited operating bar] extends along a longitudinal axis and is pivotally attached to the housing 48. Tsang discloses the handle is the pivot handle. A joint is shown at a bottom of the handle), wherein the joint is configured in such a way that a torque is exerted on the base when the operating bar is rotated about its longitudinal axis, said torque being oriented in such a way as to cause the base to rotate about a vertical axis which runs perpendicularly to the cleaning plane (the claimed limitation is that when a user rotates the operating bar about a vertical axis, the base also rotates about the vertical axis. The handle and the housing of Tsang can do the same).
Regarding claim 5, Tsang as modified by Borinato teaches the floor cleaning machine as in the rejection of claim 3, wherein the first eccentric element has a first eccentric disc, which is connected for conjoint rotation to the output shaft section and to an outer circumference of which a first receiving element is attached in such a way that it can be rotated with respect to the first eccentric disc about a first axis of rotation, which runs parallel to the output axis and is arranged at a distance from the latter, wherein the first receiving element is secured on the inner cleaning body, and wherein the second eccentric element has a second eccentric disc, which is connected for conjoint rotation to the output shaft section, and to the outer circumference of which a second receiving element is attached in such a way that it can be rotated with respect to the second eccentric disc about a second axis of rotation, which runs parallel to the output axis and is arranged at a distance from the latter, wherein the second receiving element is secured on the outer cleaning body (see annotated Borinato fig. 5 below for the recited elements).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the floor cleaning machine of Tsang as modified by Borinato to provide the first and second eccentric discs and the first and second receiving elements as taught by Borinato in order to treat a surface effectively with the complex scrubbing motion.
Annotated Borinato Figure 5
Regarding claim 6, Tsang as modified by Borinato teaches the floor cleaning machine as in the rejection of claim 5, wherein the first and the second eccentric discs are arranged one behind the other on the output shaft section when viewed along the output axis and are connected thereto (see annotated Borinato fig. 5 above, the recited first eccentric disc is disposed behind the recited second eccentric disc when viewed along the recited output axis).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the floor cleaning machine of Tsang as modified by Borinato to dispose the first and second eccentric discs as recited as taught by Borinato. The arrangement would be beneficial regarding space management of the device.
Regarding claim 15, Tsang as modified by Borinato teaches the floor cleaning machine as in the rejection of claim 5, wherein the output axis, the first axis of rotation and the second axis of rotation run in a common plane (see annotated Borinato fig. 5 above, the recited output axis, first axis, and second axis are on the same plane running parallel with the drive shaft 11 [corresponds to the recited output shaft]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the floor cleaning machine of Tsang as modified by Borinato to provide the recited axes in the common plane as taught by Borinato so that rotational output of a single motor can drive both outer and inner pads effectively.
Regarding claim 7, Tsang as modified by Borinato teaches the floor cleaning machine as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the output shaft section extends over a region of the output shaft in which a projection of the inner or outer cleaning body onto the output shaft falls (Tsang fig. 3, the rotary shaft 151 [equivalent to the output shaft section] is disposed in a middle region of the inner brush head 160 and the outer brush head 163).
Regarding claim 8, Tsang as modified by Borinato teaches the floor cleaning machine as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein, when viewed in the axial direction of the output shaft, the first eccentric element and the second eccentric element are arranged in a region of the output shaft in which a projection of the inner or outer cleaning body onto the output shaft falls (Borinato, fig. 1, the second cam 18b [corresponds to the recited first eccentric element] and the first cam 18a [corresponds to the recited second eccentric element] are disposed on a lower region of the drive shaft 11 [corresponds to the recited output shaft]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the floor cleaning machine of Tsang as modified by Borinato to arrange the first and second eccentric elements as recited as taught by Borinato in order to have a centrally rotating brush for effective spot cleaning.
Regarding claim 9, Tsang as modified by Borinato teaches the floor cleaning machine as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein a projection of the inner cleaning body onto the output shaft at least partially overlaps a projection of the outer cleaning body onto the output shaft (Tsang fig. 3, the inner brush head 160 or the outer brush head 163 is disposed around the rotary shaft 151 [corresponds to the recited output shaft]).
Regarding claim 14, Tsang as modified by Borinato teaches the floor cleaning machine as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the eccentric movement of the inner cleaning element is phase-shifted by 180º with respect to the eccentric movement of the outer cleaning element (Borinato, col. 8:4-17, the rotation axis 15 of the outer pad 16 and the rotation axis 21 of the inner pad 22 have a phase differential of 180º).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the floor cleaning machine of Tsang as modified by Borinato to provide the 180º phase shift for the inner and outer cleaning elements as taught by Borinato in order to achieve the effective scrubbing result during cleaning.
Tsang as modified by Borinato further teaches, with the result that, when viewed perpendicularly to the cleaning body plane, the direction of movement of the points of the inner cleaning element is opposite to the direction of movement of the points of the outer cleaning element at any point in time (Tsang English translation, p. 8:6-8 and fig. 14, the internal polishing disc 48 and the outer polishing disc 50 rotate in opposite directions).
Claims 2, 12, 21-23, 25, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsang in view of Borinato, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Cipolla et al. (US 2006/0000051, hereinafter Cipolla).
Regarding claim 2, Tsang as modified by Borinato teaches the floor cleaning machine as in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose explicitly the machine further comprises an autonomously or manually controlled driven chassis for movement over the floor surface to be cleaned, wherein the base is held on the chassis.
Cipolla teaches, in an analogous floor cleaning device field of endeavor, an autonomously or manually controlled driven chassis for movement over the floor surface to be cleaned, wherein the base is held on the chassis (figs. 2-3 and ¶ 0035, a floor cleaner comprises a base 12 including a base housing 16 [corresponds to the recited chassis] wherein the base housing moves over the floor surface to scrub the floor; ¶ 0065, the cleaner is operated manually by a user).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the floor cleaning machine of Tsang as modified by Borinato to provide the chassis as taught by Cipolla so that the cleaner can include various components used for effective operation. It also allows the components can be removably installed for convenient replacement or repair (Cipolla ¶ 0006-07).
Regarding claim 12, Tsang as modified by Borinato teaches the floor cleaning machine as in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose guide wheels, which are rotatable about a common wheel axis, are held on the base.
Cipolla teaches, in the analogous floor cleaning device field of endeavor, guide wheels, which are rotatable about a common wheel axis, are held on the base (figs. 1 and 3 and ¶ 0036, the base has rear wheels 28, 30 rotatable about a common wheel axis).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the floor cleaning machine of Tsang as modified by Borinato to provide the guide wheels as taught by Cipolla so that the cleaner can be easily transported.
Regarding claim 21, Tsang as modified by Borinato teaches the floor cleaning machine as in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose the machine has a cleaning liquid container coupled to the base, wherein a cleaning fluid dispensing system is provided on the base and which is connected to the cleaning liquid container, the cleaning fluid dispensing system being configured to apply cleaning liquid from the cleaning liquid container to a floor surface on which the floor cleaning machine is arranged.
Cipolla teaches, in the analogous floor cleaning device field of endeavor, the machine has a cleaning liquid container (Cipolla, fig. 4, reservoir chamber 50) coupled to the base, wherein a cleaning fluid dispensing system is provided on the base and which is connected to the cleaning liquid container, the cleaning fluid dispensing system being configured to apply cleaning liquid from the cleaning liquid container to a floor surface on which the floor cleaning machine is arranged (Cipolla, fig. 4 and ¶ 0038-39, the reservoir chamber 50 contains cleaning liquid for distribution onto the floor; claim 59, the base includes a distributor [corresponds to the recited cleaning fluid dispensing system] for distributing cleaning liquid onto the surface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the floor cleaning machine of Tsang as modified by Borinato to provide the cleaning liquid container and the cleaning fluid dispensing system as taught by Cipolla so that dry and wet cleaning can be done by one cleaning device (Cipolla ¶ 0004).
Regarding claim 22, Tsang as modified by Borinato teaches the floor cleaning machine as in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose the machine has a suction foot coupled to the base that is configured for sucking up cleaning liquid from the floor surface.
Cipolla teaches, in the analogous floor cleaning device field of endeavor, the machine has a suction foot coupled to the base that is configured for sucking up cleaning liquid from the floor surface (Cipolla, fig. 2 and ¶ 0036, a suction nozzle 18 [corresponds to the recited suction foot] is coupled to the base for recovery of dirty liquid from the floor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the floor cleaning machine of Tsang as modified by Borinato to provide the suction foot as taught by Cipolla so that no dirty liquid is left on the floor after the cleaning operation.
Regarding claim 23, Tsang as modified by Borinato and Cipolla teaches the floor cleaning machine as in the rejection of claim 22, wherein a suction device is coupled to the base, which suction device acts on the suction foot with a suction air flow (Cipolla, fig. 4 and ¶ 0040, a source of suction 52 [corresponds to the recited suction device] such as a fan and motor assembly is coupled to the base to draw dirt from a suction inlet 20 of the base).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the floor cleaning machine of Tsang as modified by Borinato and Cipolla to provide the suction device as taught by Cipolla in order to perform complete cleaning by suctioning solid and liquid waste.
Regarding claim 26, Tsang as modified by Borinato and Cipolla teaches the floor cleaning machine as in the rejection of claim 23, further having an operating bar, attached to the base, for guiding and actuating the floor cleaning machine, and wherein the suction foot is attached to the base (Cipolla, fig. 1 and ¶ 0035, the handle assembly 14 [corresponds to the recited operating bar] is attached to the base 12 and is positioned to direct a travel direction of the base; fig. 2 and ¶ 0036, a suction nozzle 18 [corresponds to the recited suction foot] is attached to the base for recovery of dirty liquid from the floor).
Regarding claim 25, Tsang as modified by Borinato and Cipolla teaches the floor cleaning machine as in the rejection of claim 22, further having an operating bar, attached to the base, for guiding and actuating the floor cleaning machine, and wherein the suction foot is attached to the operating bar (Cipolla, fig. 1 and ¶ 0035, the handle assembly 14 [corresponds to the recited operating bar] is attached to the base 12 and is positioned to direct a travel direction of the base; fig. 4 and ¶ 0040, the source of suction 52 such as a fan and motor assembly is mounted within a handle assembly housing 40. As discussed in 112(b) rejection above, the examiner has interpreted the suction foot is a suction device such as a duct or a motor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the floor cleaning machine of Tsang as modified by Borinato and Cipolla to provide the suction foot attached to operating bar as taught by Cipolla so that complete suctioning components for dry and wet cleaning are equipped in one cleaning device.
Claims 10, 11, 13, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsang in view of Borinato, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Walker (US 7140060) and Cho et al. (KR 20160017540A, hereinafter Cho).
Regarding claim 10, Tsang as modified by Borinato teaches the floor cleaning machine as in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose a drive motor holding element, to which the drive motor is fixedly attached, is provided on the base.
Walker teaches, in an analogous floor cleaner device field of endeavor, a drive motor holding element, to which the drive motor is fixedly attached, is provided on the base (figs. 1 and 4 and col. 3:1-9, a pair of brackets 28, 30 and a band 32 form a drive motor holding element to attach a motor 26 on a mounting plate 14 [corresponds to the recited base]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the floor cleaning machine of Tsang as modified by Borinato to provide the drive motor holding element as taught by Walker in order to keep the motor in place. Since a motor is usually heavy, it needs to be securely fixed.
Tsang as modified by Borinato and Walker does not disclose the first elastic elements are provided, which are fixedly connected to the inner cleaning body and to the drive motor holding element.
Cho teaches, in a cleaner field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, the first elastic elements are provided, which are fixedly connected to the inner cleaning body and to the drive motor holding element body (Cho English translation, p. 11:13-14 and fig. 10, elastic member 35 is attached to the inner spindle 31 [corresponds to the recited inner cleaning body] and a motor 50 coupled to the inner spindle 31. Because Walker teaches the motor can be fixed with the drive motor holding element, it can be coupled to the rotating component of the cleaner).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the floor cleaning machine of Tsang as modified by Borinato and Walker to provide the first elastic elements as taught by Cho in order to provide a stable resilient force to the cleaning body so that the component of cleaner can endure repeated down pressure during cleaning operation (Cho English translation, p. 12:9-12).
Tsang as modified by Borinato, Walker, and Cho does not disclose the second elastic elements are provided, which are fixedly connected to the outer cleaning body and to the drive motor holding element.
Because Tsang as modified by Borinato, Walker, and Cho teaches the first elastic elements connected to the inner cleaning body and the drive motor holding element, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the floor cleaning machine of Tsang as modified by Borinato, Walker, and Cho to provide the second elastic elements for the same reason discussed above. It has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B).
Regarding claim 11, Tsang as modified by Borinato, Walker, and Cho teaches the floor cleaning machine as in the rejection of claim 10, wherein the drive motor holding element is held on the base in such a way as to be movable (Walker, figs. 1 and 4 and col. 3:1-18, a pair of brackets 28, 30 and a band 32 form a drive motor holding element to attach a motor 26 on a mounting plate 14 [corresponds to the recited base] and the brackets are pivotably attached to the mounting plate 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the floor cleaning machine of Tsang as modified by Borinato, Walker, and Cho to provide the movable drive motor holding element as taught by Walker in order to adjust position of the cleaner for different cleaning operations (Walker col. 3:15-17).
Regarding claim 24, Tsang as modified by Borinato, Walker, and Cho teaches the floor cleaning machine as in the rejection of claim 11, wherein the drive motor holding element is pivotable relative to the base about a pivot axis that runs parallel to the cleaning body plane (annotated Walker fig. 1 below, the brackets 28, 30 [correspond to the recited drive motor holding element] are pivotable about an axis parallel to a plane enclosing the mounting plate 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the floor cleaning machine of Tsang as modified by Borinato, Walker, and Cho to provide the pivot axis as recited as taught by Walker so that different cleaning positions can be easily adjusted (Walker col. 1:33-35).
Annotated Walker Figure 1
Regarding claim 13, Tsang as modified by Borinato, Walker, and Cho teaches the floor cleaning machine as in the rejection of claim 24, wherein the wheel axis and the pivot axis run parallel to one another (see annotated Walker fig. 1 above, the wheel axis and the pivot axis run parallel to one another).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the floor cleaning machine of Tsang as modified by Borinato, Walker, and Cho to provide the wheel axis as taught by Walker so that the cleaner position can be adjusted while transporting the cleaner.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsang in view of Borinato, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Cho.
Regarding claim 16, Tsang as modified by Borinato teaches the floor cleaning machine as in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose the inner cleaning element and the outer cleaning element are configured in such a way that their masses are equal, and/or wherein the inner cleaning element and the outer cleaning element have engagement surfaces of the same size by means of which the cleaning elements engage with the floor surface.
Cho teaches, in the cleaner field of endeavor, the inner cleaning element and the outer cleaning element are configured in such a way that their masses are equal, and/or wherein the inner cleaning element and the outer cleaning element have engagement surfaces of the same size by means of which the cleaning elements engage with the floor surface (Cho English translation p. 4:33-35, bristles of the inner brush and the outer brush can be identical. Therefore, they can have the equal mass and/or the equal engagement surface size. The term “mo’ in English translation is a typo of machine translation. Mo is the bristle in Korean).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the floor cleaning machine of Tsang as modified by Borinato to provide the inner and outer cleaning elements having the equal mass and/or the equal engagement surface size as taught by Cho so that the inner and outer cleaning elements have balanced rotation. It will allow the cleaner to stand stably during cleaning.
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsang in view of Borinato, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Turner (US 20100043166).
Regarding claim 17, Tsang as modified by Borinato teaches the floor cleaning machine as in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose the outer cleaning element has a triangular outer contour in the cleaning body plane.
Turner teaches, in a cleaning device field of endeavor and capable solving primary problem, the outer cleaning element has a triangular outer contour in the cleaning body plane (fig. 1 and ¶ 0028, a brush head 300 can be shaped triangular, thus a second set of bristles on an outer edge 360 of the brush head can have the triangular outer contour).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the outer cleaning element of Tsang as modified by Borinato to provide the triangular outer contour as taught by Turner so that bristles can clean a particularly shaped object better (Turner ¶ 0013).
Regarding claim 18, Tsang as modified by Borinato and Turner teaches the floor cleaning machine as in the rejection of claim 17, wherein the sides of the triangular outer contour of the outer cleaning element are of convex design (Turner fig. 2, sides of the triangular outer contour of the outer cleaning elements have a convex configuration).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sides of the outer cleaning element of Tsang as modified by Borinato and Turner to provide the convex design as taught by Turner so that bristles can clean a particularly shaped object better (Turner ¶ 0013).
Regarding claim 19, Tsang as modified by Borinato teaches the floor cleaning machine as in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose the second receiving opening has a triangular inner contour in the cleaning body plane, and wherein the inner cleaning element has a triangular outer contour in the cleaning body plane.
Turner teaches, in the cleaning device field of endeavor and capable solving primary problem, the second receiving opening has a triangular inner contour in the cleaning body plane, and wherein the inner cleaning element has a triangular outer contour in the cleaning body plane (fig. 1 and ¶ 0028, the outer edge 360 forms a triangular receiving opening within. A first set of bristles on bottom surface 340 of the brush head can have the triangular outer contour).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the inner cleaning element of Tsang as modified by Borinato to provide the triangular outer contour as taught by Turner so that bristles can clean a particularly shaped object better (Turner ¶ 0013).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsang in view of Borinato, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Li (CN 105816137A).
Regarding claim 20, Tsang as modified by Borinato teaches the floor cleaning machine as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the inner cleaning element and the outer cleaning element have bristles pointing towards the floor surface as engagement elements (Tsang, fig. 14, the internal polishing disc 49 and the outer polishing disc 50 point the floor surface as it cleans the floor; fig. 2, in another embodiment, the cleaning element can be inner bristles 9 and outer bristles 10), but does not disclose the bristles of the inner cleaning element comprise a first group of bristles and wherein a subset of the first group of bristles is arranged uniformly inclined in a first direction with respect to the output axis, while the bristles of the first group which are not included in said subset extend parallel to the output axis, and/or the bristles of the outer cleaning element comprise a second group of bristles and wherein a subset of the second group of bristles is arranged uniformly inclined in a first direction with respect to the output axis, while the bristles of the second group which are not included in said subset extend parallel to the output axis.
Li teaches, in an analogous floor cleaning device filed of endeavor, the bristles of the inner cleaning element comprise a first group of bristles and wherein a subset of the first group of bristles is arranged uniformly inclined in a first direction with respect to the output axis, while the bristles of the first group which are not included in said subset extend parallel to the output axis, and/or the bristles of the outer cleaning element comprise a second group of bristles and wherein a subset of the second group of bristles is arranged uniformly inclined in a first direction with respect to the output axis, while the bristles of the second group which are not included in said subset extend parallel to the output axis (fig. 3 and Li English translation, p. 5:1-10, a head of a cleaning device comprises bristles. A subset of the bristles is arranged to have an inclined angle and the remaining subset of the bristles is arranged perpendicular to the head).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning element of Tsang as modified by Borinato to provide a subset of inclined bristles as taught by Li in order to improve the cleaning effect because it can be used for different cleaning requirements (Li English translation, p. 5:8-10).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Borinato.
Applicant argues Tsang, Bohler, and Linsbichler do not teach or suggest the claim limitations of claim 1. Applicant asserts Bohler lacks inner and outer cleaning elements such that they could reasonably be viewed as rotating relative to each other in the way recited in claim 1. Examiner acknowledges the arguments are persuasive.
However, Borinato teaches a surface treatment device comprising an inner pad and an outer pad wherein the pads rotate in opposite directions. In addition, the pads rotate eccentrically about different rotation axes spaced away from a main rotation axis.
Borinato’s device is a sander, not a cleaner. While Tsang discloses a household apparatus which may include rotating cleaning brushes, Borinato is combined with Tsang to teach that the rotating cleaning brushes can rotate about the separate axes. Therefore, the Borinato reference is reasonably pertinent to the particular problem faced by the inventor even if it is not in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. See MPEP 2141.01(a).
Applicant argues Bohler does not address any problem of the present application such as the continuously produced thrust by the rotationally driven cleaning elements, the user’s application of a considerable force, the unsuitable structure for a floor cleaning, and the impossible maneuvering in small spaces. Although Bohler is not cited in the current rejections, the arguments are relevant to the newly cited Borinato reference.
The addressed problems are related to the intended benefits which are not claimed. As Examiner stated above, Borinato solves the problem of two rotating elements with different rotation axes.
Regarding 112(b) rejections about the term “projection”, Applicant previously provided insufficient drawings to fully comprehend the claim limitations of claims 7-9. The drawing submitted on 06/28/2022 shows the output shaft section 39’ is the same as the output shaft 39. The replacement drawing submitted on 06/30/2025 shows the output shaft section 39’ is the second axis of rotation D2. Then, the most recent replacement drawing submitted on 01/12/2026 shows the output shaft section 39’ is a part of the output shaft 39. Examiner has interpreted the output shaft section is a viewed portion on the output shaft. Thus, the previous 112(b) rejections regarding claims 7-9 have been withdrawn.
However, 112(b) rejection regarding claim 25 remains. Claim 25 depends from claim 22. Claim 22 recites the suction foot is coupled to the base, but dependent claim 25 recites the same suction foot is also attached to the operating bar. Specification states the suction foot is attached to the base or the operating bar (¶ 0038). In order to avoid the 112(b) rejection, claim 25 should not be dependent from claim 22.
Conclusion
/SUKWOO JAMES CHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3723