DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1 (Figures 1-5 drawn to a container with divider locking notches formed from bottom flaps) in the reply filed on 04/04/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 3, 7, 10, and 14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 04/04/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Acevedo (US 2003/0029753 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Acevedo discloses a carton for containing an object during transport and storage and unitary blank for making comprising a front panel (18), a back panel (12), a first side panel (14), and a second side panel (24) foldably connected together (see Fig. 1); a first bottom flap (36) foldably connected (via 14c) to the first side panel; at least one divider (48) foldably connected (via 36a) to the first bottom flap; and a locking tab (48b; Examiner considers 48b to be a locking tab) foldably connected (via 48d) to the first bottom flap wherein the locking tab is configured to engage with a notch (40) on the carton.
Regarding claims 4-5, Acevedo discloses a carton further comprising a second bottom flap (30) foldably connected (via 24b) to the second side panel; and at least one divider (46b) foldably connected (via 46d) to the second bottom flap; and a second locking tab (46) foldably connected (via 30a) to the second bottom flap.
Regarding claim 6, Acevedo discloses a carton wherein the first locking tab is
configured to engage with the second locking tab (i.e. face-to-face engagement; see Fig. 13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Acevedo in view of Sumpmann et al. (US 8910856 B2; hereinafter Sumpmann).
Regarding claims 8 and 11-13, Acevedo discloses the claimed invention except for a removable portion defined by perforations. Sumpmann teaches a shipping and display container comprising a first side panel (7), wherein the first side panel includes a perforation (78) separating a removable portion of the first side panel from a remainder of the first side panel (see Figures 1-4); a front panel (5) foldably connected to the first side panel (see Fig. 3), wherein the front panel includes a perforation (77) separating a removable portion of the front panel from a remainder of the front panel; a second side panel (8) foldably connected to the front panel, wherein the second side panel includes a perforation (79) separating a removable portion of the second side panel from a remainder of the second side panel. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to modify Acevedo’s container to include a circumferential path of perforations around the container in order to define a removable portion for transforming the container into a display configuration (Sumpmann; Col 2 lines 35-50).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 5-7, filed 04/22/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 4-5 under USC 102(a)(1)—in view of Montealegre have been fully considered and are persuasive. Montealegre lacks locking notches. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of USC 102(a)(1)--Acevedo.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER R DEMEREE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734