DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for domestic benefit based on provisional application 63/215,871 filed on June 28, 2021.
DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 6 and 8 – 10, 12, 19, and 20 are pending in the application.
Claims 1, 8, and 10 are independent.
Claims 7, 11, 17, and 18 are cancelled.
This action is Final based on a new 35 U.S.C. §103 prior art reference that was necessitated by the applicant' s amendment; see MPEP §706.07(a).
Claim 1 and 8 objections are rescinded based on the amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell (US PG Pub. No. 20140024313), herein “Campbell” in view of Makarovich et al. (US Patent No. 9,633,536), herein “Makarovich” in further view of Friell et al. (US PG Pub. No. 20210368696), herein “Friell” in further view of Graefe et al. (US PG Pub. No. 20190222652), herein ““Graefe.”
Regarding claim 1,
Campbell teaches an irrigation system for use in determining location of an autonomous device, (Abstract: “A data collection network for agriculture and other applications is disclosed herein. Multiple monitors positioned in an area receive an energy signal from a receiver of a transport device. The energy signal powers a wireless signal from the transceiver of the monitor to the transceiver of the transport device. The wireless signal comprises soil data for the geographical area.” Par. 0047: “The present invention is also applicable to lateral irrigation lines and even farm equipment--a sprayer equipped with differential GPS and the repeater travels along a course picking up sensor data along the way.” Claim 13: “. The system according to claim 8 wherein the transport device is one of irrigation center pivots, lateral lines, tractors, harvesters, motor vehicles, field man-transportable devices, and autonomous or semi-autonomous vehicles.” See also Par. 0035 and 0051.) the system comprising: an irrigation controller (Par. 0034: “The mobile receivers 10 collect data from the monitors 20 and communicate along a wire on the irrigation boom 35 to a central location at the center of the pivot. In this configuration, the energy harvesting monitors 20 are located strategically on the path 11 of the mobile receivers 10 such that the mobile receivers 10 pass directly overhead and stimulate a transmission from the monitor 20 after the sensor has absorbed sufficient energy from the stimulating antenna on the mobile receiver 10. The mobile receiver 10 communicates over a wired connection to a fixed repeater 30 at the center of the center pivot which then relays the data, wirelessly from repeater to repeater, along the network backbone 40 until encountering a repeater that has a connection to the internet, and in this case, a wired Ethernet connection 41. In this manner, the monitors 20, which comprise at least one sensor capable of measuring soil parameters, relay soil data to a central location without the need for a battery.” See also Figure 5 and Par. 0043.) comprising a controller processor, the irrigation controller in communication with at least two irrigation sensors and the irrigation controller in communication with the autonomous device; the at least two irrigation sensors (Par. 0043: “ FIG. 5 shows the main components of the communication between an energy saving monitor 20 and a receiver 10. The monitor 20 has a microchip to store data, power management, which can include a battery, and an antenna. The receiver 10 has an antenna and a microchip, and the data received is sent to an application that processes the sensor measurements. The receiver 10 provides energy and clock synchronization to the monitor 20 and the monitor 20 transmits collected data to the receiver 10.” Examiner’s Note – See also Funk used in the previous final rejection and Par. 0142, 0062, 0143, 0047, 0059, 0064, 0082, 0084, 0086, 0093, 0100, 0105, 0106, 0117, 0122, 0135, 0156 and other paragraphs that teach that the IoT devices such as a computing system sensors send instructions to the automated devices such as a lawn mower.)
Campbell also teaches the amended portion of: wherein the means for
determining the location of the autonomous device include an auxiliary coil, and wherein the auxiliary [autonomous] device includes a detector powered to detect a presence of the auxiliary coil, (Par. 0011: “Sensors preferably harvest energy, and are equipped with receiving antennas/coils and associated circuitry that allow the sensor to absorb and store electromagnetic energy.” Par. 0018: “Yet another aspect of the present invention is a drone. Drones are mobile receivers placed on manned or unmanned ground or aerial vehicles which travel along a course that brings them into close proximity of the sensors such that, depending on sensor type, the drone's mobile receiver either receives a sensor's regularly scheduled data transmission, or stimulates transmission through either a proximity trigger or by the sensor harvesting enough energy from a stimulating coil to trigger a transmission.” Par. 0035: “FIG. 2 illustrates an application 200 of a data collection network involving an autonomous surface travelling drone 75 with data dependent paths and utilizing energy harvesting monitors 20. The first path 61 results when collected soil moisture values are considered within nominal desired ranges. The alternate path 62 shown is triggered by very low soil moisture values in the first three monitors, which results in the drone returning to base 70 to report the urgent need for irrigation.” Par. 0044: “Also, even without energy harvest benefits, stimulating coils are useful in serving as a "tickler" to let monitor know it is time to broadcast. The tickler approach uses relatively simple circuits that can detect the presence of the stimulating coil and direct the microcontroller that it is time to wake up, make a measurement and communicate. The tickler approach is low cost and very low power (about 1 uA of current is used to monitor for the tickler). This very low current draw allows a lithium coin cell like battery to power a simple soil/air/crop canopy sensor for approximately 20 years. Unique power management techniques make it possible to use one or two of the coin cells to power a soil moisture sensor for similar time frames. The small size and low profile as well as no need to change the batteries allows for low cost over mold or even liquid dipping of the circuitry for water sealing.” See also Par. 0012, 0019 (drone monitors an area and thus a sensor), 0021, 0035, and 0037. See also Figure 5 that shows the sensor with an antenna/coil.)
and send a signal to the irrigation controller relating to the location of the autonomous device based on the autonomous device (Par. 0035: “autonomous surface travelling drone 75”) moving proximate one of the at least two irrigation sensors, (Par. 0035: “ FIG. 2 illustrates an application 200 of a data collection network involving an autonomous surface travelling drone 75 with data dependent paths and utilizing energy harvesting monitors 20. The first path 61 results when collected soil moisture values are considered within nominal desired ranges. The alternate path 62 shown is triggered by very low soil moisture values in the first three monitors, which results in the drone returning to base 70 to report the urgent need for irrigation.” Par. 0017: “Alternatively, the mobile receivers display some of the data, as well as communicate with a network backbone to the cloud or other control/interpretation device.” Par. 0014, 0020, 0023, and figure 2.)
Campbell may teach elements that Makarovich teaches; however, Makarovich explicitly teaches that the at least two irrigation sensors comprising means for determining the location of the autonomous device with respect to the at least two irrigation sensors, the at least two irrigation sensors further comprising a processor configured to generate and send a signal to the irrigation controller relating to the location of the autonomous device. (Col. 5, line 49 – Col. 6, line 5: “The method of installing and utilizing the system 10 may be achieved by performing the following steps: procuring a model of the system 10 having a desired number of detection assemblies 20; mounting the detection assemblies 20 to the dwelling 100, such as a soffit portion 105, to monitor a respective enhanced detection area 22; wiring a control panel 50 and other portions of the system 10 so as to be in electrical communication with an existing sprinkler system 150; allowing the existing sprinkler system 150 to function in a normal manner, when desired; adjusting the sensitivity adjustment switch 25 so as to able the system 10 to distinguish between a child and an adult; selection of the proper operation mode via the mode control switch 200; arming the system 10 so as to monitor the enhanced detection area 22 for an adult intruder; allowing the system 10 activate the sprinkler system 150 upon detecting an intruder present within the enhanced detection area 22; allowing the sprinkler system 150 to broadcast a spray pattern of water 152 to douse, startle, and scare away the possible criminal; deactivating the system 10 using the control panel 50, when desired, during activities such as lawn mowing, parties, and the like; and, benefiting from a system 10 which detects an intruder, and utilizes an existing sprinkler system 150 to deter the intruder, afforded a user of the present invention 10.” Col. 2, lines 19 – 22: “sensor assembly to a suitable support structure; and lastly, selectively programming the control panel to activate the sprinkler system…” Examiner’s Note – the detection assemblies, which are part of the irrigation system, can distinguish between a child and adult in an area and detect lawn mowing activities; therefore can discern details of objects such as size and distances. See also Col. 3, lines 60 – 67 that teaches the sophisticated detector assemblies are equipped with microwave and ultrasonic technologies which are a type of distance determining equipment. Col. 3, lines 60 – 67: “The detector assemblies 20 include equipment which results in an enhanced detection area 22 and consequently reduces a number of sensors 24 required to monitor a large target area. The motion detecting sensors 24 are envisioned to include technologies such as, but not limited to: passive infrared, microwave, ultrasonic, video camera software, and dual-technology motion detection.”)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the data collection network for agricultural application such as irrigation wherein the system incorporates an autonomous robot device that communicates the sensor data, that contains an antenna or coil, and can determine a need for irrigation as in Campbell with a sprinkler system that has two or more sensors that can sense details of a yard area including discerning a high level of details of objects in the yard including a lawn mower and/or distances or sizes of objects wherein the sensors communicate with a control panel of the sprinkler system as in Makarovich in order to deactivate the sprinklers during activities such as parties and lawn mowing. (Col. 3, lines 47 – 53)
Campbell and Makarovich do not teach the portion that a signal is sent to a controller relating to the location of the autonomous device and interrupt an action of the device based on the location. However, Friell does teach that the at least two irrigation sensors (Par. 0049, last sentence: “While described as a single sensor, the sensor 128-1 may utilize more than one detector ("stereo" detection) to, for example, also estimate target area size/volume.” Par. 0051: “By providing such multiple sensors 128-2, a three-dimensional map of the target area 201 may be generated. In other embodiments, depth may be estimated by sensors of other configurations. For example, vertical depth probes or other ground-following devices are contemplated. Still further, laser scanners may be used to estimate target area size and depth.” See also Par. 0045.) further comprise a wireless communications module to send the signal relating to the location of the autonomous device to the controller, (Par. 0053: “…the controller 120/sensor 128 may be adapted to not only record the coordinates of the identified target area, but also to wireless transmit data or status information regarding this and other aspects of the treatment to the remote computer 119 (e.g., golf course central computer, cellular phone, internet site, remote server, etc.). The status information may include various data in addition to the coordinates of the areas treated.” Par. 0046: “The sensor 128-1, which may be in communication (directly or indirectly) with the controller 120, may use data (e.g., image) analysis to identify target areas. For example, the sensor 128-1 may be a camera having appropriate sensors that capture differences in color, contrast, and/or reflectivity between the target area and the surrounding ground surface as it views the work region. That is, as target areas 201 may present as areas of different contrast, color, and/or reflectivity compared to surrounding turf areas, the sensor 128-1, via image/data analysis routines (e.g., performed by the controller 120 or by another controller/processor associated with the sensor including algorithms running on remote computers and servers), may be able to identify target areas and relay corresponding locations to the controller 120.” See also Par. 0047.)
and the controller sends the signal to the autonomous device to interrupt an action of the autonomous device based on the location. (Par. 0068: “As stated herein above, after the vehicle 100 has completed dispersing treating material in and around a target area 201, the time and/or date of the application, and the coordinates of the treated area, may be recorded (e.g., within the memory of the controller 120 and/or transmitted to the remote computer 119). Recording the location of the target area may be beneficial to avoid unnecessary re-treatment of the same target area at a later date. Moreover, recording the location may also permit onboard or remote sensors 128-1 and 128-2 to monitor the progress of the treated area over time, and/or to check for washout of the infill material at a later date. Still further, recording the location of a treated area and transmitting that location to the remote computer 119 (see FIG. 6) may allow the remote computer to communicate with an irrigation controller 144 to operate the irrigation zone encompassing the treated area using a planting irrigation cycle. A planting irrigation cycle may deliver less water than a normal irrigation cycle to reduce the opportunity for washout of the infill/treating material 109, and/or to keep the target area damp to facilitate seed germination.” Par. 0053: “Once a target area is identified, e.g., via any of the methods and sensors described herein, the geographic location of the target area may be recorded in the memory 124 of the controller 120 for treatment at a later time and the location wirelessly transmitted to the remote computer. Such a configuration may be typical when the detection function is provided by a sensor remote from the vehicle 100 (e.g., when detection occurs via the vehicle 300, the pole-mounted sensor, or an aerial-based sensor). In other embodiments, data may be transmitted (unidirectionally or bi-directionally) via a wired connection (e.g., when the vehicle returns to base and docks as described below)…” See also Par. 0002 – 0004, 0006, 0052, 0076, 0088, and 0104.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the data collection network for agricultural application such as irrigation wherein the system incorporates an autonomous robot device that communicates the sensor data, that contains an antenna or coil, and can determine a need for irrigation as in Campbell with a sprinkler system that has two or more sensors that can sense details of a yard area including discerning a high level of details of objects in the yard including a lawn mower and/or distances or sizes of objects wherein the sensors communicate with a control panel of the sprinkler system as in Makarovich with an autonomous turf maintenance system that may be a watering device that has more than one sensors that communicate with a controller and then operate (such as return the device to the base or move to a different area) the autonomous device based on location sensed by the sensors as in Friell in order to have an autonomous watering device be able to operate required repairs to a turf area and return to base based on the location of the device. (Par. 0004, 0005, and 0052.)
The previous prior art references do not teach wherein two irrigation sensors are calibrated using GPS signals. However, Graefe does teach wherein the at least two irrigation sensors are calibrated using GPS coordinates collected from the autonomous device. (Par. 0098: “As discussed previously, the arrangement DB 330 stores the sensor arrangement parameters such as the positions, or current and preferred sensing directions. In embodiments, the configuration subsystem 306 is in full control of the sensors 262 assigned to the observation area 63, and is calibrated to correctly interpret sensor outputs in relation to a global coordinate system. Existing sensor-data-fusion techniques are available to the configuration subsystem 306. Additionally, configuration subsystem 306 (or the sensor interface subsystem 310) is able to detect sensor failures. A failure can manifest itself in the form of a halt failure or an erratic failure, which requires different detection techniques such as watchdog services or anomaly detection, respectively.” Par. 0052: “The sensor interface subsystem 310 communicatively couples the infrastructure equipment 61 and the SAS 301 with the sensor array 62, and facilitates communication with sensors 262 and actuators 322 in the sensor array 62. In particular, sensor interface subsystem 310 is configured to receive data from sensors 262 and actuators 322, and transmit commands to sensors 262 and actuators 322 for operation/control of the sensors 262 and actuators 322. Example of commands to sensors 262 and actuators 322 may include, but are not limited to, calibration commands…” Par. 0055: “…the configuration subsystem 306 sending commands or instructions, with the assistance of sensor interface subsystem 310…” Examiner’s Note - Sensor interface subsystem 310, communicates with Sensor Arrangement Service 301 that comprises the configuration subsystem 306 that sends commands (calibration) to the sensors (262) via the sensor interface (310). See figure 3.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the data collection network for agricultural application such as irrigation wherein the system incorporates an autonomous robot device that communicates the sensor data, that contains an antenna or coil, and can determine a need for irrigation as in Campbell with a sprinkler system that has two or more sensors that can sense details of a yard area including discerning a high level of details of objects in the yard including a lawn mower and/or distances or sizes of objects wherein the sensors communicate with a control panel of the sprinkler system as in Makarovich with an autonomous turf maintenance system that may be a watering device that has more than one sensors that communicate with a controller and then operate (such as return the device to the base or move to a different area) the autonomous device based on location sensed by the sensors as in Friell with an autonomous driving vehicle that uses a GPS to calibrate sensors as in Graefe in order to provide accurate and up-to-date services and to improve sensor deployment strategies. (Par. 0013).
Regarding claim 4 ,
Campbell, Makarovich, Friell, and Graefe teach the limitations of claim 1 which claim 4 depends. Campbell also teaches that the at least two irrigation sensors comprise at least one of moisture sensors, flow sensors, and temperature sensors. (Par. 0035: “FIG. 2 illustrates an application 200 of a data collection network involving an autonomous surface travelling drone 75 with data dependent paths and utilizing energy harvesting monitors 20. The first path 61 results when collected soil moisture values are considered within nominal desired ranges. The alternate path 62 shown is triggered by very low soil moisture values in the first three monitors, which results in the drone returning to base 70 to report the urgent need for irrigation.” See figure 2. Examiner’s Note – See also Gungl, cited below in the conclusion section that teaches two sensors 140 and 142 associated with sprinklers 130, and 132 that sense moisture: Par. 0020: “…various sensors may be employed by insertion of such sensors into soil for monitoring soil or other growing conditions (e.g., lighting levels, moisture levels…”)
Regarding claim 6 ,
Campbell, Makarovich, Friell, and Graefe teach the limitations of claim 1 which claim 6 depends. Campbell also teaches that the at least two irrigation sensors further comprise a wireless communications module to send the signal relating to the location of the autonomous device to at least one of the controller and the autonomous device. (Par. 0011: “Further, the system utilizes very low power simple radio transmission links that require no FCC license, allows the sensor to have no internal time-keeping that determines when the sensor must transmit by transmitting only when the mobile receiver is nearby it helps to reduce radio network traffic, and since the energy harvesting range is typically quite low, the monitor data packet (wireless signal) doesn't not need to contain a network address indicating it's specific identity as this is known from the mobile receiver position.” Par. 0036. Examiner’s Note – See also Ouyang Par. 0054.)
Claims 2, 3, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell in view of Makarovich in further view of Friell in further view of Graefe in further view of UK patent document Edwards (GB 2,277,152 A), herein “Edwards.”
Regarding claim 2,
Campbell, Makarovich, Friell, and Graefe teach the limitations of claim 1 which claim 2 depends. Campbell may implicitly teach claim 2 limitations in claim 5; however, they do not explicitly teach detecting an autonomous device by way of a loop resonant frequency measurement. However, Edwards does teach the means for determining the location of the autonomous device (robotic lawn mower, Page 6, line 18.) with respect to the at least two irrigation sensors comprises field sensing means. (Page 16, lines 4 – 26: “The three reference stations 5 to 7 are located at convenient positions on the lawn boundary 10 and may be mounted on posts, although this is not absolutely necessary. Also, the reference stations 5 to 7 are provided with rechargeable batteries, using solar power for recharging and/or 10 operating. The precise positions of the fixed 15 reference stations 5 to 7 are not critical, provided that they are reasonably spread out and fixed in position once installed. Initially, the system calibration phase wherein the is subjected mower 1 is to a placed randomly between the three fixed reference stations 5 to 7 on the lawn, as shown in the drawing. Using ultrasonic radiation, the microprocessor unit of the 20 mower 1 activates and interrogates each station 5 to 7, such that the mower can determine its distance from and bearing with respect to each of the reference stations. In this manner, the mower 1 localises itself with respect to the fixed reference stations 5 25 to 7 and, to a certain extent, with respect to the shape of the lawn L to be mowed.” Page 13, lines 27 – 31: “…as an inductive communication loop, in that any mobile station within the area can detect the strength of the magnetic field created by a wire loop, which can be modulated to carry information.” Examiner’s Note – See also Jonsson et al. cited below in the conclusion section.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the data collection network for agricultural application such as irrigation wherein the system incorporates an autonomous robot device that communicates the sensor data, that contains an antenna or coil, and can determine a need for irrigation as in Campbell with a sprinkler system that has two or more sensors that can sense details of a yard area including discerning a high level of details of objects in the yard including a lawn mower and/or distances or sizes of objects wherein the sensors communicate with a control panel of the sprinkler system as in Makarovich with an autonomous turf maintenance system that may be a watering device that has more than one sensors that communicate with a controller and then operate (such as return the device to the base or move to a different area) the autonomous device based on location sensed by the sensors as in Friell with an autonomous driving vehicle that uses a GPS to calibrate sensors as in Graefe with having stations placed in the lawn boundary that give precise position of a lawn mower where the stations create a magnetic field by a loop wire and modulates as in Edwards in order to detect the location of the mower accurately. (Page 20, lines 30 – 36)
Regarding claim 3,
Campbell, Makarovich, Friell, Graefe, and Edwards teach the limitations of claim 2 which claim 3 depends. Edwards also teaches that the field sensing means comprises at least one sense loop and wherein the processor of the at least two irrigation sensors determines the location (Page 14, lines 24 – 25: “…a robotic lawn mower embodiment in an inventive location system…” Page 16, lines 20 – 23: “…the mower 1 activates and interrogates each station 5 to 7, such that the mower can determine its distance from and bearing with respect to each of the reference stations.” ) of the autonomous devices based on sense loop resonant frequency measurements. (Page 13, lines 22 – 31: “…to act as a fail-safe boundary for the area the mobile station works, whereby that station is able to detect the presence of an alternating current of specific frequency in the wire(s) and, as a result, will not cross it; 4. as an inductive communication loop, in that any mobile station within the area can detect the strength of the magnetic field created by a wire loop, which can be modulated to carry information.”)
Regarding claim 8,
Campbell, Makarovich, Friell, and Graefe teach the limitations of claims 1 which parallel most of those elements of claim 8 and the amendments of claim 8. Campbell, Makarovich, Friell, Graefe, and Edwards teach the coil and magnetic field elements in claim 3. Campbell also teaches a coil in the sensor. Campbell also teaches the amended portion of correlating the location of an autonomous device with the sensor in paragraph 0035, 0036, 0038, and 0039. Therefore, Campbell, Makarovich, Friell, Graefe, and Edwards teach the elements of claim 8. Examiner’s Note - See also Da Rocha et al. cited below in the conclusion section teaches that the auxiliary coil that is in the autonomous device. Paragraph 0011: “In one embodiment, robotic mower navigation system 100 may include a robotic mower having a plurality of sensors 108, 109, 110 that may be electrically connected to electronic vehicle control unit 112. Each sensor may include a coil that senses the polarity and strength of the electromagnetic field from the boundary wire. The sensors may be arranged on the robotic mower in a known geometry that will provide signal data for different points on the robotic mower at the same time, and allows acquisition of field surface data.” See also Da Rocha Par. 0010.
Regarding claim 9,
Campbell, Makarovich, Friell, Graefe, and Edwards teach the limitations of claim 8 which claim 9 depends. Campbell also teaches that a user input device configured to accept user input from a user and to output information responsive to the user input to an irrigation controller; an irrigation controller comprising a processor in communication with the user input device and configured to generate a control signal responsive to the information; a storage medium storing instructions that, when executed, configure the processor to: send a signal to the autonomous device to change the location of the autonomous device. (Par. 0021: “Alternatively, the path over which the drone travels (or over which the user is directed to steer) may in turn be sensor-data dependent, such that the data, as it is collected, may be used with certain algorithms to alter the path traveled to capture data in a more efficient or useful manner.” Examiner’s Note – See also Funk, used in the previous final rejection and Par. 0115. Examiner’s Note – See also Doughty et al. cited below in the conclusion section that teaches an autonomous robot lawnmower that communicates with a server acting as or communicates directly to an irrigation system wherein a user device controls the robotic lawnmower. Paragraph 0108 teaches; “For example, the user transmits instructions from the user device 510 to the robotic lawnmower to decrease frequencies of mowing operations within portion 740c.” See paragraphs 0121, 0131, 0132, 0152, 0156, and 0158.)
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell in view of Makarovich in further view of Friell in further view of Graefe in further view of Ouyang (US PG Pub. No. 20120290165), herein “Ouyang.”
Regarding claim 5,
Campbell, Makarovich, Friell, and Graefe teach the limitations of claim 1 which claim 5 depends. Campbell may teach claim 5 elements in paragraph 0035 wherein the drone takes a different path based on sensor data. However, Ouyang explicitly teaches the autonomous device (robotic lawn mower) is configured to change its location based on the signal relating to the location of the autonomous device received at the autonomous device. (Par. 0053: “FIG. 5 illustrates the application of the flexible robotic lawn mower system. The system contains one or more robotic mowers 1. The robotic lawn mower 1 is to be put inside a lawn region 10 to be mowed. The region's geometry and size could be different. To define the mowing region 10, the easiest way is to put stands 2 near the outer border or at the peripheral of the lawn region 10. Before the usage of the flexible robotic mower system, the stands 2 may be inserted into the ground along the border of the lawn. In one embodiment, the more number of stands 2 will be better to capture the geometry of the mowing region. However, if the geometry is quite simple, then there is no need to put lots of stands 2. For a square lawn region, four of stands 2 may be enough to depict the mowing area. For a lawn region which has curves or irregular shapes on the border, more stands 2 may be needed for the robotic mower to accurately capture the region.” Par. 0065: “After the mowing region is defined and the position of the robotic mower is being tracked, the next step is to determine the mowing direction, path, and pattern. FIG. 12 illustrates a possible mowing direction which is from one end of mowing area, traveling back and forth, in parallel direction, toward the other end of the mowing area. In one embodiment, at a specific time of operation, the flexible robotic mower may travel along the border of the mowing region, as shown the dash line along the border in the figure, to ensure the peripheral region is mowed. FIG. 13 illustrates another possible rout of lawn mowing which is from outer peripheral toward the center, moving in a spiral or circular pattern. In one embodiment, the route may be from the center toward the outer peripheral.” Par. 0054: “…the relative distances from stands 2 to mower can be obtained.” See also Par. 0057, 0066 (change routes depending on the stands item 2), 0068, and 0070. Examiner’s Note – Friell may also teach this element in Par. 0051 – 0055.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the data collection network for agricultural application such as irrigation wherein the system incorporates an autonomous robot device that communicates the sensor data, that contains an antenna or coil, and can determine a need for irrigation as in Campbell with a sprinkler system that has two or more sensors that can sense details of a yard area including discerning a high level of details of objects in the yard including a lawn mower and/or distances or sizes of objects wherein the sensors communicate with a control panel of the sprinkler system as in Makarovich with an autonomous turf maintenance system that may be a watering device that has more than one sensors that communicate with a controller and then operate (such as return the device to the base or move to a different area) the autonomous device based on location sensed by the sensors as in Friell with an autonomous driving vehicle that uses a GPS to calibrate sensors as in Graefe with an automated lawn mower that uses two or more stands that are located around the lawn and calculate the location of the mower depending on the relative distances of the stands to the mower wherein the mower’s route can be changed depending on the location of the stands (item 2) as in Ouyang in order to have a flexible mowing, or use as a mobile watering, system and use the system freely on different lawns and to vary the mowing/irrigation regions. (Par. 0005)
Claims 10 and 12 - 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell in view of Makarovich in further view of Friell in further view of Graefe in further view of Einecke (US PG Pub. No. 20200221633), herein “Einecke.”
Regarding claim 10,
it is directed to a method of steps to implement the system or apparatuses with limitations that are similar to those in claim 1. Campbell, Makarovich, Friell, and Graefe teach the claimed system or apparatuses in claim 1. Campbell teaches the amended element of an irrigation sensor (20). Einecke teaches the portion of generating an electromagnetic field; detecting a perturbation in the electromagnetic field; based on the perturbation in the electromagnetic field, identifying a location of the autonomous device; and based on the location of the autonomous device, sending an instruction to the autonomous device, the instruction causing the autonomous device to interrupt an activity; and (Par. 0002: “Autonomous mobile devices have become more and more popular over the last years. Such autonomous mobile devices are capable of executing a working task thereby assisting a person to fulfill such working task. One example of such an autonomous mobile device is an autonomous lawnmower, but of course, there are a plurality of different autonomous mobile devices useful to assist us in our daily life. Further examples are vacuum cleaners, garden robots, storage robots. It is in particular known for outdoor robots that the working area where the autonomous mobile device shall operate is indicated by a so-called boundary wire. The boundary wire is connected to a signal source, usually provided in the base station, which is also equipped with charging equipment for recharging the battery of the autonomous mobile device. The boundary wire emits an electromagnetic signal that is generated in such base station. During operation, the autonomous mobile device usually drives around in the working area randomly and thus approaches the boundary wire, where the electromagnetic field emitted by the boundary wire is sensed by sensors that are mounted on the autonomous mobile device. From the signal strength the autonomous mobile device can derive its distance to the boundary wire. Consequently, when the signal strength exceeds a certain value, the autonomous mobile device recognizes that it reached the edge of its working area. The mobile device will perform a turning maneuver in order to return more to the center of the working area.” Par. 0057: “Other possibilities would be the communication between different kinds of autonomous mobile devices. For example, a watering robot…” See also Par. 0004)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the data collection network for agricultural application such as irrigation wherein the system incorporates an autonomous robot device that communicates the sensor data, that contains an antenna or coil, and can determine a need for irrigation as in Campbell with a sprinkler system that has two or more sensors that can sense details of a yard area including discerning a high level of details of objects in the yard including a lawn mower and/or distances or sizes of objects wherein the sensors communicate with a control panel of the sprinkler system as in Makarovich with an autonomous turf maintenance system that may be a watering device that has more than one sensors that communicate with a controller and then operate (such as return the device to the base or move to a different area) the autonomous device based on location sensed by the sensors as in Friell with an autonomous driving vehicle that uses a GPS to calibrate sensors as in Graefe with an autonomous watering robot that comprises at least EMF sensors wherein if a change (perturbation) of the magnetic field is sensed by the sensors will cause the robot to turn and maneuver or return to the base station as in Einecke in order to directly influence operation, driving direction and driving speed due to the needs of an operator. In such a case it is for example possible, that, using an operator's terminal, the operator instructs the autonomous mobile device to return to the base station, to stop the current working task, move to a certain position, move to a zone within the working area or adjust some working parameters. (Par. 0013).
Regarding claim 12,
Campbell, Makarovich, Friell, Graefe, and Einecke teach the limitations of claim 11 which claim 12 depends. Campbell also teaches that the plurality of sensors comprise at least one of a moisture sensor and a flow sensor. (Par. 0044: “Unique power management techniques make it possible to use one or two of the coin cells to power a soil moisture sensor for similar time frames.” Par. 0035.)
Regarding new claim 13,
Campbell, Makarovich, Friell, Graefe, and Einecke teach the limitations of claim 10 which claim 13 depends. Einecke also teaches that the instruction further causes the autonomous device to change the location of the autonomous device to a new location. (Par. 0002, last sentence: “The mobile device will perform a turning maneuver in order to return more to the center of the working area.” See paragraph 0002 fully cited above.)
Regarding new claim 14,
Campbell, Makarovich, Friell, Graefe, and Einecke teach the limitations of claim 13 which claim 14 depends. Einecke also teaches that herein the new location is a storage position. (Par. 0004: One approach for following the boundary wire in order to return to the base station…” See also Friell Par. 0088.)
Regarding new claim 15,
Campbell, Makarovich, Friell, Graefe, and Einecke teach the limitations of claim 10 which claim 15 depends. Einecke also teaches that the instruction further causes the autonomous device to implement a new action. (Einecke Par. 0008: “Such additional information may be operating times of the like, which are set by the operator of the system. Of course, such information may also enable the system to automatically adapt to the information. For example, based on weather information, the autonomous mobile device may automatically return to the base station even before it starts to rain.” See also Par. 0013 and 0055. See also Friell Par. 0088.)
Regarding new claim 16,
Campbell, Makarovich, Friell, Graefe, and Einecke teach the limitations of claim 10 which claim 16 depends. Einecke also teaches that the instruction further causes the autonomous device to run a pre-determined program. (Par. 0023: “Move to Wi-Fi range of house network" may either cause the autonomous mobile device to move to an area that was pre-programmed during setup of the system and that is known to be covered by the house network, or it may cause the autonomous mobile device to move around within the work area and search for the house network and to stop when a connection to the house network can be successfully established.” See also Par. 0044.)
Claims 19 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell in view of Makarovich in further view of Friell in further view of Graefe in further view of Einecke in further view of Clernon (US PG Pub. No. 20170187807), herein “Clernon.”
Regarding new claim 19,
Campbell, Makarovich, Friell, Graefe, and Einecke, teach the limitations of claim 10 which claim 19 depends. They do not teach calibrating a sensor by a point on a map. However, Clernon does teach herein calibrating the sensor location includes correlating the sensor location with a pinned point on an overlay map. (Abstract: “…present a map of the location; receive a designation of a location point on the map that indicates where the IoT device is to be installed; determine whether the IoT device is to be updated; update the IoT device in response to a determination that an update for the IoT device is available; calibrate one or more sensors of the IoT device.” Par. 0016: “The software allows the user to store IoT management information of the IoT device at the IoT management portal. Additionally, the software allows the user to confirm that the IoT device is properly calibrated and communicating with the IoT server.” Par. 0053: “As described further below, installer 152 includes logic that provides various functions pertaining to the maps, such a maps editor to indicate points of interest (e.g., locations at which IoT device 130 is to be installed), as well as other map-related functionalities, such as indoor/outdoor positioning, indoor/outdoor navigation and routing, and position calibration. Mapper 208 also includes logic that provides a geographic information service (GIS). For example, when user 155 intends to install IoT device 130 at an outdoor location, user 155 may select a map via mapper 208 and be presented with a map of the outdoor location. Mapper 208 may use a third party service to provide the GIS. Mapper 208 may also indicate a position of user 155 on the map.” See also Par. 0037 that teaches the IoT devices can be mobile devices or vehicles.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the data collection network for agricultural application such as irrigation wherein the system incorporates an autonomous robot device that communicates the sensor data, that contains an antenna or coil, and can determine a need for irrigation as in Campbell with a sprinkler system that has two or more sensors that can sense details of a yard area including discerning a high level of details of objects in the yard including a lawn mower and/or distances or sizes of objects wherein the sensors communicate with a control panel of the sprinkler system as in Makarovich with an autonomous turf maintenance system that may be a watering device that has more than one sensors that communicate with a controller and then operate (such as return the device to the base or move to a different area) the autonomous device based on location sensed by the sensors as in Friell with an autonomous driving vehicle that uses a GPS to calibrate sensors as in Graefe with an autonomous watering robot that comprises at least EMF sensors wherein if a change (perturbation) of the magnetic field is sensed by the sensors will cause the robot to turn and maneuver or return to the base station as in Einecke with an IoT calibration process that may be a mobile vehicle wherein a mapping of locations can be used to calibrate the one or more sensors as in Clernon in order to determine that the IoT data is accurate in view of samples measured by the sensor and allow the user to perform various tasks to the sensor such as resetting. (Par. 0070)
Regarding new claim 20,
Campbell, Makarovich, Friell, Graefe, Einecke, and Clernon teach the limitations of claim 19 which claim 20 depends. Clernon also teaches wherein the pinned point is set by a user. (Claim 1: “…a map of the location; receiving, by the end device, from the user, a designation of a location point on the map…” See also Par. 0053, 0100, and claim 9.)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to all claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply in light of the new reference being used in the current rejection necessitated by amendment. Applicant has amended the application to include the elements that an to the autonomous device to interrupt an action of the autonomous device based on the location, wherein the at least two irrigation sensors are calibrated using GPS coordinates collected from the autonomous device. A new reference was found (Graefe) that teaches configuration of a subsystem using GPS and sends configuration commands to sensors as rejected above. The new reference was necessitated by amendment and therefore this action is a final action.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Ebrahimi Afrouzi; Ali et al. (US PG Pub. No. 20220026920). Although Afrouzi does not teach that the irrigation controller that determines the location of the autonomous device, rather the controller is on the autonomous device. However, Afrouzi does teach some elements of claim 1 wherein the at least two irrigation sensors, the at least two irrigation sensors further comprising a processor configured to generate and send a signal to the irrigation controller relating to the location of the autonomous device. (Par. 0004: “Robotic devices are increasingly used within commercial and consumer environments. Some examples include robotic lawn mowers….” Par. 0780: “…wherein the accuracy of approximations are low, the approximations may be enhanced using a deep architecture that converges over a period of training time. Over time, the processor of the robot determines a strength of signal received from each AP at different locations within the floor map. This is shown for two different runs in FIGS. 43B and 43C, wherein the signal strength from AP1 to AP4 is determined for different locations within the floor map. In the first run, sensors of the robot observe signal strengths from APs as a function of time and a location of the robot. In the first run, as the robot moved from position 1 to position 2, signal 4300 weakened a little, signal 4301 strengthened and signals 4302 and 4303 remained substantially the same. In the second run, the robot moves from position 1 to position 2. Note trajectory does not have to be the same as long as the processor obtains measurements from each position. Sensors of the robot may collect multiple measurements from each position in the same run. Although the places of the APs are fixed, because of different noise factors and other variables, the signal strengths are not deterministic. In the second run, the signal strength 4302 at position 1 remained almost the same but at position 2 reduced in strength by a minimal amount. Signal 4303 slightly increased in strength in moving from position 1 to 2 at a faster pace than in run 1. The same was observed with signal 4301 while the signal strength of 4300 remained substantially the same. FIG. 43D illustrates run 1 to run n combined. Eventually, the data collected on signal strength at different locations are combined to provide better estimates of a location of the robot based on the signal strengths from different APs received.”
Smith et al. (US Patent No. 7,250,860) teaches irrigation controllers (items 301) that collectively sense the location of mobile device and communicates the location with a base station (315) and/or computer device (311). Smith may teach the portion of claim 1 wherein the at least two irrigation sensors comprising means for determining the location of the autonomous device (Col. 1, lines 10 – 11: “…providing control of an environment of an autonomous mobile object.”) with respect to the at least two irrigation sensors, the at least two irrigation sensors further comprising a processor configured to generate and send a signal to the irrigation controller relating to the location of the autonomous device. (Col. 3, lines 27 – 40: “One or more embodiments provide a controller for use in connection with determining a location of a mobile object, and controlling an environment of the mobile object. nor is it is included a global positioning system (GPS), for sensing a location of the mobile object. Also included is a processor, connected to the GPS, wherein the processor is configured to facilitate communicating via a transceiver; to facilitate collecting information representative of the mobile object including at least the location; to facilitate transmitting, to a controller via the transceiver, a communication including the information representative of the mobile object; to facilitate receiving a command via the transceiver from the controller; and to facilitate controlling an operation of the mobile object responsive to the command.” Col. 7, lines 58 – 64: “At least a portion of the controllers 301 include a communication device, e.g., server radios 307. A service area in the illustrated example encompasses the ranges 319a, 319b, 319c. The server radios 307 optionally can communicate with a location determination device, for example a GPS server 305a, 305b, 305c, to obtain a location of the mobile objects.” Col. 10, lines 21 – 30: “In accordance with one or more embodiments, operation of the mobile object can be controlled, responsive to commands received from the communication interface. Where the mobile object includes equipment to affect the environmental conditions (e.g., the mobile object is a vehicle equipped with a mower), for example, the equipment can be controlled to be on or off or at certain levels in response to such commands. As another example, the mobile object itself can be powered off and/or on, in response to such a command.” See also Col. 8, lines 38 – 50, and Col. 8, lines 14 – 38. Examiner’s Note –See also Col. 7 that teaches the elements of Figure 3 where multiple irrigation controllers coupled to GPS devices that determine the location of the mobile vehicle. Figures 3, 8, and 2 that show irrigation controllers that track the location of mobile devices (303a, 303b, and 303c).)
Gungl et al. (US PG Pub. No. 20190090440) teaches in Par. 0030 that the sensors are attached or associated with the sprinkler heads located in various locations in the parcel: “One or more sensors (e.g., first sensor 140 and second sensor 142) may also be provided at various locations in the parcel that is served by the sprinklers to detect or sense conditions proximate to the corresponding sensors. The first and second sensors 140 and 142 may each correspond to a respective one of the first and second sprinklers 130 and 132, and the app at the user terminal 50 may be configured to note such correspondence so that information received from a respective one of the first or second sensor 140 or 142 can be correlated to actions that may be ordered to the watering pump 120, if needed, based on the information.” See also Par. 0043 and 0048 which is on point with the instant application of not sprinkling in an area where the robotic rover is located.
Hoofard et al. (US PG Pub. No. 20220214694) may also teach the elements of claim 7 wherein a central control system (item 132) (central processing center) uses dock sensors 320a and 320b that are located on the building and controls an autonomous vehicle. (Abstract, Par. 0050, 0051, and 0074)
Da Rocha et al. (US PG Pub. No. 20140379196) may also teach the auxiliary coil that is in the autonomous device. See paragraph 0011: “In one embodiment, robotic mower navigation system 100 may include a robotic mower having a plurality of sensors 108, 109, 110 that may be electrically connected to electronic vehicle control unit 112. Each sensor may include a coil that senses the polarity and strength of the electromagnetic field from the boundary wire. The sensors may be arranged on the robotic mower in a known geometry that will provide signal data for different points on the robotic mower at the same time, and allows acquisition of field surface data.” See also Par. 0010.
Doughty et al. (US PG Pub. No. 20170020064Z) teaches an autonomous robot lawnmower that communicates with a server acting as or communicates directly to an irrigation system wherein a user device controls the autonomous lawnmower. Paragraph 0108 teaches; “For example, the user transmits instructions from the user device 510 to the robotic lawnmower to decrease frequencies of mowing operations within portion 740c.” See paragraphs 0121, 0131, 0132, 0152, 0156, 0158.)
Wykman et al. (US PG Pub. No. 20180213731) wherein an autonomous watering device (or mower) has a controller and communicates wirelessly with a sensor network (30) and implements automatic functionality based on sensor data. (See Par. 0094 and 0095).
Younis et al. (US PG Pub. No. 20170020087) teaches control of a steerable irrigation delivery system and controls direction of the device based on images from the sensor unit. (See Par. 0018, 0031 and 0019.)
Funk et al. (US PG Pub. No. 20180178781) was cited in the previous office action and overlaps many of the same elements as Campbell cited in this office action. Those applicable paragraphs are cited in the office action above.
Many other references, such as Jonsson et al. (US PG Pub. No. 20230009964) may also teach sensing; using field sensing means as in claims 2, 8, and 10; the location of a watering robot (Par. 0038: “Other examples of robotic work tools are watering robots…”) in paragraph 0038: “For enabling the robotic lawnmower 100 to navigate with reference to a boundary cable emitting a magnetic field caused by a control signal transmitted through the boundary cable, the robotic lawnmower 100 may be further configured to have at least one magnetic field sensor 170 arranged to detect the magnetic field (not shown) and for detecting the boundary cable and/or for receiving (and possibly also sending) information from a signal generator (will be discussed with reference to FIG. 2).” Examiner’s Note – this reference was found using search string L254 in the attached PE2E search history.
Schlacks et al. (US PG Pub. No. 20200356088) may also teach the element of calibration of sensors using GPS receivers. (Par. 0063: “this embodiment, the use of both the rotary position sensor 216 and the GPS receivers to determine the steering angle between front compartment 202 and rear compartment 204 provides several advantages. For example, one skilled in the art will understand that a rotary position sensor (e.g., rotary potentiometer) must typically be manually calibrated. Here, the GPS receivers are used to calibrate the rotary position sensor, thus eliminating the manual calibration step.”)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHAD G ERDMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116