DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-20 are pending.
3. This office action is in response to the Applicant’s communication filed 02/11/2026 in response to PTO Office Action mailed 12/31/2025. The Applicant’s remarks and amendments to the claims and/or the specification were considered with the results that follow.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant’s argument with respect to amended independent claims has been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments are summarized as:
1) “Claim 1 of the present application recites in part "a second integrated circuit die comprising a second die-to-die interface circuit and a compute circuit that performs computations for the processing integrated circuit die, wherein the first and the second die-to-die interface circuits are coupled together, and wherein the compute circuit is coupled to exchange information with the first memory interface circuit through the first and the second die-to-die interface circuits." At least these features of claim 1 of the present application are not disclosed in or rendered obvious by the cited references, either taken alone or in combination.”
2) “Independent claim 16 of the present application recites in part "wherein the accelerator integrated circuit die comprises a second die-to-die interface circuit that is coupled to the first die-to-die interface circuit, and wherein the accelerator integrated circuit die is coupled to exchange information with the first and the second memory interface circuits through the first and the second die-to-die interface circuits." At least these features of claim 16 of the present application are not disclosed in or rendered obvious by the cited references, either taken alone or in combination.”
As per argument 1, in response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Leong’s IC die 203’ is a mere duplication of parts, in this case IC die 203, that with the combination of Gutala’s teachings of coprocessor IC die that performs computations (Gutala – par. [0074]) would result in the ability to implement the claimed limitations.
As per argument 2, in response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Leong’s IC die 203’ is a mere duplication of parts, in this case IC die 203, that with the combination of Gutala’s teachings of coprocessor IC die that performs computations as part of a function being accelerated (Gutala – par. [0074]) would result in the ability to implement the claimed limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-13, 15-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leong (US Pub. No. 2019/0181865 A1 hereinafter “Leong”) in view of Gutala et al. (US Pub. No. 2019/0012116 A1 hereinafter “Gutala”).
Referring to claim 1, Leong discloses a circuit system (Leong – Fig. 2 & par. [0024] disclose a multichip package 200.) comprising:
a processing integrated circuit die comprising a first die-to-die interface circuit and a first memory interface circuit (Leong – Fig. 2 & par. [0024-0026] disclose an IC die 203 which could be a CPU. Par. [0030] disclose an external input-output (IO) blocks may include an HSI block 312 that supports communications with other dies within package 200 (e.g., IC die 203′). As shown in FIG. 2, a communications bus such as communications bus 313 may couple HSI block 312 in IC die 203 to IC die 203′. Par. [0027] discloses IC die 203 may also include on-package interconnect circuitry such as universal interface block (UIB) 204 for communicating with on-package components such as memory die 206 via bus 205.); and
a second integrated circuit die comprising a second die-to-die interface circuit, wherein the first and the second die-to-die interface circuits are coupled together (Leong – Fig. 2 & par. [0024-0026, 0030] discloses IC die 203’. Par. [0030] disclose an external input-output (IO) blocks may include an HSI block 312 that supports communications with other dies within package 200 (e.g., IC die 203′). As shown in FIG. 2, a communications bus such as communications bus 313 may couple HSI block 312 in IC die 203 to IC die 203′. In this illustrative example, external IO block 312 may support GPIO, LVDS, or other suitable interfaces to communicate with IC die 203′. ), and wherein the compute circuit is coupled to exchange information with the first memory interface circuit through the first and the second die-to-die interface circuits (Leong – Fig. 2 & par. [0024-0026, 0030] discloses IC die 203’ which could be a GPU coupled to exchange information with the UIB 204 through HSI 312 and communication bus 313.).
Leong fails to explicitly disclose a second integrated circuit die comprising a compute circuit that performs computations for the processing integrated circuit die.
Gutala discloses an integrated circuit die comprising a compute circuit that performs computations for the processing integrated circuit die (Gutala – Par. [0074] discloses in operation 1101, logic circuitry in one or more logic sectors in a coprocessor IC die (e.g., one or more of logic sectors 410) generates an intermediate result of a multi-part computation performed as part of a function being accelerated for a host processor (e.g., host processor 302).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Gutala’s teachings with Leong’s techniques for the benefit of configuring or reconfiguring the programmable integrated circuit as an accelerator circuit to efficiently perform parallel processing tasks (Gutala – Par. [0025]).
Referring to claim 2, Leong and Gutala disclose the circuit system of claim 1, wherein the second integrated circuit die further comprises an accelerator circuit that accelerates functions for the processing integrated circuit die, and wherein the accelerator circuit (Gutala – Par. [0074] discloses in operation 1101, logic circuitry in one or more logic sectors in a coprocessor IC die (e.g., one or more of logic sectors 410) generates an intermediate result of a multi-part computation performed as part of a function being accelerated for a host processor (e.g., host processor 302). Par. [0037] discloses as shown in FIG. 3, host processor 302 may be coupled to a coprocessor circuit 310 via path 312. Coprocessor circuit 310 is in an integrated circuit (IC) die and is also referred to herein as coprocessor IC die 310. Coprocessor circuit 310 may be, for example, a programmable integrated circuit such as IC 10 of FIG. 1. Alternatively, multiple coprocessor or accelerator circuits may be in a programmable integrated circuit. Host processor 302 is in an integrated circuit die that is separate from the coprocessor integrated circuit die 310. Coprocessor circuit 310 functions as an accelerator circuit for host processor 302. As an accelerator circuit, coprocessor circuit 310 may include various processing nodes (e.g., processing cores, processor cores) such as cores P1-P4 to help accelerate the performance of host processor 302.) is coupled to exchange information with the first memory interface circuit through the first and the second die- to-die interface circuits (Leong – Fig. 2 & par. [0024-0026, 0030] discloses IC die 203’ which could be a GPU coupled to exchange information with the UIB 204 through HSI 312 and communication bus 313.).
Referring to claim 3, Leong and Gutala disclose the circuit system of claim 1 further comprising: an accelerator integrated circuit die comprising a third die-to-die interface circuit, wherein the processing integrated circuit die further comprises a fourth die-to-die interface circuit, wherein the third and the fourth die-to-die interface circuits are coupled together, and wherein the accelerator integrated circuit die (Gutala – Par. [0074] discloses in operation 1101, logic circuitry in one or more logic sectors in a coprocessor IC die (e.g., one or more of logic sectors 410) generates an intermediate result of a multi-part computation performed as part of a function being accelerated for a host processor (e.g., host processor 302). Par. [0037] discloses as shown in FIG. 3, host processor 302 may be coupled to a coprocessor circuit 310 via path 312. Coprocessor circuit 310 is in an integrated circuit (IC) die and is also referred to herein as coprocessor IC die 310. Coprocessor circuit 310 may be, for example, a programmable integrated circuit such as IC 10 of FIG. 1. Alternatively, multiple coprocessor or accelerator circuits may be in a programmable integrated circuit. Host processor 302 is in an integrated circuit die that is separate from the coprocessor integrated circuit die 310. Coprocessor circuit 310 functions as an accelerator circuit for host processor 302. As an accelerator circuit, coprocessor circuit 310 may include various processing nodes (e.g., processing cores, processor cores) such as cores P1-P4 to help accelerate the performance of host processor 302.) is coupled to exchange information with the first memory interface circuit through the third and the fourth die-to- die interface circuits (Leong – Fig. 2 & par. [0024-0026, 0030] discloses IC die 203’ which could be a GPU coupled to exchange information with the UIB 204 through HSI 312 and communication bus 313.).
Referring to claim 5, Leong and Gutala disclose the circuit system of claim 1, wherein the processing integrated circuit die further comprises a second memory interface circuit, and wherein the compute circuit is coupled to exchange information with the second memory interface circuit through the first and the second die-to-die interface circuits (Leong – Fig. 2 & par. [0024-0026, 0030] discloses IC die 203’ which could be a GPU coupled to exchange information with the UIB 204 through HSI 312 and communication bus 313. Par. [0037] discloses one or more of blocks 204, 208, 312 in IC die 203 in FIG. 2.).
Referring to claim 6, Leong and Gutala disclose the circuit system of claim 1, wherein the first memory interface circuit is configured to exchange signals with a memory device external to the processing integrated circuit die (Leong – Fig. 2 shows a UIB 204 to exchange signals with a high bandwidth memory 206 external to the IC die 203.).
Referring to claim 7, Leong and Gutala disclose the circuit system of claim 1, wherein the processing integrated circuit die is a programmable logic integrated circuit (Leong – Fig. 2 & par. [0024-0026] disclose an IC die 203 which could be a FPGA.).
Referring to claim 9, Leong and Gutala disclose the circuit system of claim 1, wherein the first and the second die- to-die interface circuits are coupled together through interconnects in one of an interposer, a package substrate, or an interconnection bridge in the circuit system (Gutala – Par. [0056] discloses IC die 522 is coupled to coprocessor IC die 310 through conductors in interconnection bridge 508.).
Referring to claim 10, note the rejections of claim 1 above. The Instant Claim recites substantially same limitations as the above-rejected and is therefore rejected under same prior-art teachings.
Referring to claim 11, note the rejections of claim 2 above. The Instant Claim recites substantially same limitations as the above-rejected and is therefore rejected under same prior-art teachings.
Referring to claim 12, note the rejections of claim 3 above. The Instant Claim recites substantially same limitations as the above-rejected and is therefore rejected under same prior-art teachings.
Referring to claim 13, note the rejections of claims 5 and 6 above. The Instant Claim recites substantially same limitations as the above-rejected and is therefore rejected under same prior-art teachings.
Referring to claim 15, note the rejections of claims 3 and 6 above. The Instant Claim recites substantially same limitations as the above-rejected and is therefore rejected under same prior-art teachings.
Referring to claim 16, Leong discloses a circuit system (Leong – Fig. 2 & par. [0024] disclose a multichip package 200.) comprising:
a processing integrated circuit die comprising a first die-to-die interface circuit, a first memory interface circuit, and a second memory interface circuit, wherein the first and the second memory interface circuits are adjacent to opposite sides of the processing integrated circuit die (Leong – Fig. 2 & par. [0024-0026] disclose an IC die 203 which could be a CPU. Par. [0030] disclose an external input-output (IO) blocks may include an HSI block 312 that supports communications with other dies within package 200 (e.g., IC die 203′). As shown in FIG. 2, a communications bus such as communications bus 313 may couple HSI block 312 in IC die 203 to IC die 203′. Par. [0027] discloses IC die 203 may also include on-package interconnect circuitry such as universal interface block (UIB) 204 for communicating with on-package components such as memory die 206 via bus 205. Par. [0037] discloses one or more of blocks 204 (universal interface block (UIB)), 208, 312 in IC die 203 in FIG. 2.); and
an accelerator integrated circuit die (Leong – Fig. 2 & par. [0024-0026] disclose an IC die 203’ which could be a GPU.), wherein the accelerator integrated circuit die comprises a second die-to-die interface circuit that is coupled to the first die-to-die interface circuit, and wherein the accelerator integrated circuit die is coupled to exchange information with the first and the second memory interface circuits through the first and the second die-to- die interface circuits (Leong – Fig. 2 & par. [0024-0026, 0030] discloses an external input-output (IO) blocks may include an HSI block 312 that supports communications with other dies within package 200 (e.g., IC die 203′). As shown in FIG. 2, a communications bus such as communications bus 313 may couple HSI block 312 in IC die 203 to IC die 203′. IC die 203’ which could be a GPU coupled to exchange information with the UIB 204 through HSI 312 and communication bus 313.).
Leong fails to explicitly disclose an accelerator integrated circuit die that accelerates functions for the processing integrated circuit die.
Gutala discloses an accelerator integrated circuit die that accelerates functions for the processing integrated circuit die (Gutala – Par. [0074] discloses in operation 1101, logic circuitry in one or more logic sectors in a coprocessor IC die (e.g., one or more of logic sectors 410) generates an intermediate result of a multi-part computation performed as part of a function being accelerated for a host processor (e.g., host processor 302).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Gutala’s teachings with Leong’s techniques for the benefit of configuring or reconfiguring the programmable integrated circuit as an accelerator circuit to efficiently perform parallel processing tasks (Gutala – Par. [0025]).
Referring to claim 17, Leong and Gutala disclose the circuit system of claim 16, wherein the accelerator integrated circuit die and the processing integrated circuit die are mounted side-by-side in the circuit system (Leong – Fig. 2 discloses the IC die 203’ and IC die 203 are mounted side-by-side.).
Referring to claim 20, Leong and Gutala disclose the circuit system of claim 16, wherein each of the first and the second die-to-die interface circuits comprises input driver circuits and output driver circuits configured to transmit signals according to an interconnect protocol (Leong – Fig. 2 & par. [0030] disclose external input-output (IO) blocks may include an HSI block 312 that supports communications with other dies within package 200 (e.g., IC die 203′). As shown in FIG. 2, a communications bus such as communications bus 313 may couple HSI block 312 in IC die 203 to IC die 203′. In this illustrative example, external IO block 312 may support GPIO, LVDS, or other suitable interfaces to communicate with IC die 203′.).
8. Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leong in view of Gutala, and further in view of Sano (US Pub. No. 2003/0097467 A1 hereinafter “Sano”).
Referring to claim 4, Leong and Gutala disclose the circuit system of claim 1, however, fail to explicitly disclose wherein the compute circuit is configured to set up routing tables for connections for routing packets of data within the circuit system.
Sano discloses the compute circuit is configured to set up routing tables for connections for routing packets of data within the circuit system (Sano – Par. [0079] discloses one or more coprocessors 312A-312B may be configured to perform the lookup packet processing function (in which the packet is looked up in various routing tables that may be programmed into the line card 302A).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Sano’s teachings with Leong and Gutala’s techniques for the benefit of a coprocessor having circuitry designed to perform a specified function on an input to produce an output (Sano – Par. [0079]).
Referring to claim 14, note the rejections of claim 4 above. The Instant Claim recites substantially same limitations as the above-rejected and is therefore rejected under same prior-art teachings.
9. Claims 8 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leong in view of Gutala, and further in view of Huang et al. (US Pub. No. 2019/0129874 A1 hereinafter “Huang”).
Referring to claim 8, Leong and Gutala disclose the circuit system of claim 1, wherein the processing integrated circuit die is configured (Leong – Fig. 2 & par. [0024-0026] disclose an IC die 203 which could be a CPU.), however fail to explicitly disclose the processing integrated circuit die is configured to accelerate storage virtualization functions and network virtualization functions.
Huang discloses to accelerate storage virtualization functions and network virtualization functions (Huang – Par. [0095] discloses the NFVI 130 includes computing hardware 112, storage hardware 114, network hardware 116, acceleration hardware 115, a virtualization layer, virtual computing 110, virtual storage 118, a virtual network 120, and virtual acceleration 123. The NFV management and orchestration system 101 is configured to perform monitoring and management on the virtualized network function 108 and the NFV infrastructure layer 130.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Huang’s teachings with Leong and Gutala’s techniques for the benefit of the acceleration resource being selected according to the service acceleration resource scheduling policy, so that a specific requirement such as latency sensitivity of a service can be met, thereby reducing a latency service and improving service performance (Huang – Abstract).
Referring to claim 19, note the rejections of claim 8 above. The Instant Claim recites substantially same limitations as the above-rejected and is therefore rejected under same prior-art teachings.
10. Claims 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leong in view of Gutala, and further in view of Pappu et al. (US Pub. No. 2019/0033368 A1 hereinafter “Pappu”).
Referring to claim 18, Leong and Gutala disclose the circuit system of claim 16, however, fail to explicitly disclose wherein the accelerator integrated circuit die and the processing integrated circuit die are vertically stacked in the circuit system.
Pappu discloses the accelerator integrated circuit die and the processing integrated circuit die are vertically stacked in the circuit system (Pappu – Fig. 1 & par. [0023] disclose computing die 110 couples to graphics accelerator die 160 via an interconnect 155. In an embodiment, interconnect 155 may be implemented as an in-package interconnect, such as an embedded interconnect bridge, a hyper-chip technology to couple stacked die.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Pappu’s teachings with Leong and Gutala’s techniques for the benefit of enabling functional and debug testing of integrated circuits (ICs) to readily identify specific locations/components that suffer failures, errors and so forth (Pappu – Par. [0010]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAYTON LEWIS-TAYLOR/
Examiner, Art Unit 2181
/Farley Abad/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2181