DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendments filed 03/30/2026 have been entered.
Claims 1 and 6 have thereby been amended.
Claims 3 and 7 have thereby been cancelled.
Claims 21 and 22 have been added.
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, and 8-22 are being examined in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8-10 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeuchi (US 20190001112) in view of Parris (US 5976115).
Regarding claim 1, Takeuchi discloses a medical device, comprising: a distal connector (1), comprising: a first lever arm (30; see annotated Fig. 14B below), comprising a distal end and a proximal end, wherein the distal end of the first lever arm comprises a first protrusion (32; see annotated Fig. 14B below); a second lever arm opposing the first lever arm (30; see annotated Fig. 14B below), the second lever arm comprising a distal end and a proximal end, wherein the distal end of the second lever arm comprises a second protrusion (30; see annotated Fig. 14B below); and a blunt cannula disposed between the first lever arm and the second lever arm (10; page 5, para. [0104], sentences 1-3); and a protective cover removably coupled to the distal connector (protective cover 100; removable from distal connector 1, para. [0241], sentences 2-3) and comprising an annular wall surrounding the blunt cannula (Fig. 12D: 116 & 117), wherein an outer surface of the annular wall comprises at least one catch (Fig. 14B: catch between 111 and 112), wherein the first protrusion and the second protrusion contact the at least one catch (Fig. 14B: 32 between 112 and 111), wherein the proximal end of the first lever arm and the proximal end of the second lever arm are configured to be pinched together toward a longitudinal axis of the distal connector to remove the first protrusion and the second protrusion from the at least one catch (page 12, para. [0199], sentence 3), thereby enabling removal of the protective cover from the distal connector (para. [0241], sentences 2-3), wherein the protective cover is attached to the distal connector when the medical device is in an initial configuration (initial configuration seen in Fig. 14B), with the first and second protrusions of the first and second lever arms engaged with the at least one catch to secure the protective cover to the distal connector (see annotated Fig. 14B below of lever arms engaged with catches), thereby protecting the blunt cannula (see annotated Fig. 14B below, wherein 100 covers/surrounds, and thereby protects cannula 10), and wherein the protective cover is removable from the distal connector via pinching of the proximal end of the first and second lever arms (para. [0241], sentences 2-3, force F being the pinching), to transition the medical device to a use configuration where the blunt cannula is completely exposed (Fig. 13: demonstration of how the cannula 10 is exposed upon the removal of 100 from 1, nothing being in direct contact with the cannula), thereby enabling engagement of the distal connector with a catheter assembly. However, Takeuchi teaches an intermediate structure (45) between the cannula and the cover that surrounds it, thereby failing to disclose the cannula being spaced apart from an inner surface of the cover without an intervening component between them.
Parris teaches an analogous medical device with an analogous lever-armed connector for securing a protective cover over a cannula (Figs. 3-4; col. 8, lines 27-44), wherein an entirety of an outer surface of the blunt cannula (Fig. 4: 80 being analogous to the Takeuchi blunt cannula) is spaced apart from an inner surface of the protective cover (Fig. 4: protective cover 36, spaced away from 80), with the protective cover inter-fitting with the distal connector such that there is no intervening component between the outer surface of the blunt cannula and the inner surface of the protective cover (Fig. 4: protective cover 36, spaced away from 80 with nothing in-between). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Takeuchi device by incorporating the structures of the cover surrounding and spaced apart from the cannula as taught by Parris, in order to eliminate the need and related costs of an extra intermediate component, and to also maintain space around the cannula when covered to maintain sterility.
Annotated Fig. 14B, Takeuchi
Regarding claim 2, Takeuchi in view of Parris teaches the medical device of claim 1, as described above, wherein the at least one catch comprises an annular stepped surface (Takeuchi: Fig. 14B: stepped surface between 111 and 112).
Regarding claim 4, Takeuchi in view of Parris teaches the medical device of claim 1, as described above, wherein the annular wall comprises a proximal end and a distal end, wherein the proximal end of the annular wall forms a proximal opening (Takeuchi: Fig. 12D: proximal opening at 118), wherein a lumen extends from the proximal opening to the distal end of the annular wall, wherein the protective cover comprises an inner surface forming the lumen (Takeuchi: Fig. 12D: lumen formed at 116, 117 and 118).
Regarding claim 5, Takeuchi in view of Parris teaches the medical device of claim 1, as described above, wherein in response to orienting the blunt cannula to be perpendicular to the ground and pinching the proximal end of the first lever arm and the proximal end of the second lever arm together toward the longitudinal axis of the distal connector such that the first protrusion and the second protrusion are removed from the at least one catch (Takeuchi: page 12, para. [0199], sentences 1-3), the cover is configured to fall off of the distal connector under force of gravity. The recitations of the protective cover is configured to fall off of the distal connector under force of gravity is not explicitly discloses, but are intended use limitations and as such are given no patentable weight, as the disclosed structures of the Takeuchi cap, levers, and cap removal (page 12, para. [0199], sentences 1-3) would be capable of falling off due to gravity because it is disclosed that no additional mechanisms, actions, or forces are required for the removal.
Regarding claim 6, Takeuchi in view of Parris teaches the medical device of claim 1, as described above, wherein the outer surface of the annular wall comprises a ramp proximal to the at least one catch and extending outwardly in a distal to proximal direction or in a proximal to distal direction (Takeuchi: ramp between 111 and 112; see annotated Fig. 14B above).
Regarding claim 8, Takeuchi in view of Parris teaches the medical device of claim 1, as described above, wherein the outer surface of the annular wall comprises a plurality of protrusions distal to the at least one catch (Takeuchi: Fig. 14A: protrusions around 102) and configured for gripping.
Regarding claim 9, Takeuchi in view of Parris teaches the medical device of claim 8, as described above, wherein the protrusions comprise a plurality of ribs generally aligned with the longitudinal axis of the distal connector (Takeuchi: Fig. 14A: ribs 127, around 102 and extending proximally on other side of 105).
Regarding claim 10, Takeuchi in view of Parris teaches the medical device of claim 9, as described above, wherein each of the plurality of ribs comprises a proximal end that is stepped or tapered inwardly (see annotated Fig. 14B above).
Regarding claim 22, Takeuchi in view of Parris teaches the medical device of claim 1, as described above, wherein with the protective cover attached to the distal connector, the entirety of the outer surface of the blunt cannula is apart from the inner surface of the protective cover and there is no interference between the protective cover and the distal connector (Parris: Fig. 4: protective cover 36, spaced away from 80 with nothing in-between).
Claims 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeuchi (US 20190001112) in view of Parris (US 5976115) in further view of Sonderegger (US 9795777) in further view of Gardner (US 10166381).
Regarding claim 11, Takeuchi in view of Parris teaches the medical device of claim 1, as described above, but fails to disclose the cover comprising an annular enclosure surrounding the annular wall and lever arms.
Sonderegger teaches an analogous medical connector with lever arms wherein the protective cover further comprises an enclosure extending from the distal end of the annular wall and configured to surround the first lever arm and the second lever arm (Figs. 42-44: 214, surrounding lever arms 216/218), wherein the annular enclosure is spaced apart from the annular wall by a channel (Fig. 42: channel between inner annular wall 210 and outer rim of encloser 214), wherein the first lever arm and the second lever arm are disposed within the annular channel (Fig. 42, lever arms 216/218 disposed in channel). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cover of Takeuchi-Parris by incorporating the outer enclosure taught by Sonderegger in order to provide an outer interface for the user to hold/handle to help prevent direct contact and contamination to the connector/inner cover components.
Takeuchi-Parris in view of Sonderegger, however, fails to teach the encloser and channel formed by the encloser as completely annular.
Gardner teaches an analogous medical connector and cover with an outer encloser, wherein the cover further comprises an annular enclosure extending from the distal end of the annular wall (Fig. 16: annular encloser 928 extending from distal end of annular wall 930), wherein the annular enclosure is spaced apart from the annular wall by an annular channel (Fig. 16: space depicted as white between sides of 930 and 928). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the annular configuration of the encloser relative to the annular wall of the cover taught by Gardner into the Takeuchi-Parris-Sonderegger combination in order to enclose all sides of the annular wall taught by Takeuchi, thereby providing the benefits of the protection from contamination to the entire device.
Regarding claim 12, Takeuchi in view of Parris in view of Sonderegger in further view of Gardner teaches the medical device of claim 11, as described above, wherein the annular enclosure comprises an inner surface (Sonderegger: Fig. 44: inner wall of semi-spherical 214; Gardner: Fig. 16: inner wall of sidewall 52 of cap holder 28), wherein the inner surface of the annular enclosure comprises a portion that is angled outwardly in a distal to proximal direction (Sonderegger: Fig. 44: bottom portion of inner wall of semi-spherical 214; Gardner: Fig. 16: 913 of sidewall 52 of cap holder 28) such that in response to pinching the proximal end of the first lever arm and the proximal end of the second lever arm together toward the longitudinal axis of the distal connector, the first protrusion and the second protrusion contact the portion and cam against the portion to facilitate removal of the protective cover from the distal connector (Sonderegger: col. 13, line 64 – col. 14, line 5; visualized in Fig. 42).
Regarding claim 13, Takeuchi in view of Sonderegger in further view of Gardner teaches the medical device of claim 12, as described above, wherein the enclosure is constructed of an elastomeric material (Gardner: col. 4, lines 54-57). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the Gardner teaching of the elastomeric material of the cover into the Takeuchi-Parris-Sonderegger-Gardner combination in order to create a compressible annular wall that is resilient to breaking (col. 8, lines 50-52).
Regarding claim 14, Takeuchi in view of Parris in view of Sonderegger in further view of Gardner teaches the medical device of claim 11, as described above, wherein the annular enclosure and the annular wall are monolithically formed as a single unit (Gardner: col. 4, lines 59-61). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the Gardner teaching of the annular wall and annular enclosure being formed as a single unit into the Takeuchi-Parris-Sonderegger-Gardner combination in order to create a simple and cost-effective cover that remains in one piece regardless of removal.
Regarding claim 15, Takeuchi in view of Parris in view of Sonderegger in further view of Gardner teaches the medical device of claim 11, as described above, wherein a proximal end of the protective cover comprises a flange (Takeuchi: 105) configured for gripping.
Regarding claim 16, Takeuchi in view of Parris in view of Sonderegger in further view of Gardner teaches the medical device of claim 15, as described above, wherein the flange is annular (Takeuchi: 105).
Regarding claim 17, Takeuchi in view of Parris in view of Sonderegger in further view of Gardner teaches the medical device of claim 15, as described above, wherein the annular enclosure, the annular wall, and the flange are monolithically formed as a single unit (upon combination of: annular encloser and annular wall being monolithically formed as a single unit, Gardner: col. 4, lines 59-61; and the annular wall and the flange being monolithically formed as a single unit, Takeuchi: page 11, para. [0191], last sentence).
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeuchi (US 20190001112) in view of Parris (US 5976115) in further view of Burkholz (US 20200016374).
Regarding claim 18, Takeuchi in view of Parris teaches the medical device of claim 1, as described above, but fails to explicitly disclose a catheter assembly coupled to the distal connector.
Burkholz teaches an analogous medical connector with lever arms wherein the medical device comprises a vascular access device (Fig. 6: 84), wherein the vascular access device comprises an instrument (34) configured to advance distally through the distal connector when the protective cover is removed from the distal connector (page 4, para. [0047]). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the connector device of Takeuchi-Parris by incorporating its connection to the vascular access device taught by Burkholz in order to integrate the easily connectable and easily removable Takeuchi connector into a system for vascular access of a patient (Fig. 6; page 5, para. 0061]).
Regarding claim 19, Takeuchi in view of Parris in view of Burkholz teaches the medical device of claim 18, as described above, wherein the instrument comprises a tube or a guidewire (Burkholz: 34; page 4, para. [0047], sentence 2).
Regarding claim 20, Takeuchi in view of Parris teaches the medical device of claim 1, as described above, but fails to explicitly disclose a catheter assembly coupled to the distal connector.
Burkholz teaches an analogous medical connector with lever arms wherein the distal connector is configured to couple to a catheter assembly when the protective cover is removed from the distal connector (Fig. 6: 40 connected to catheter assembly 62 via connector 82). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the connector device of Takeuchi-Parris by incorporating its connection to the vascular access device taught by Burkholz in order to integrate the easily connectable and easily removable Takeuchi connector into a catheter assembly for vascular access of a patient (Fig. 6; page 5, para. 0062]).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeuchi (US 20190001112) in view of Parris (US 5976115) in further view of Jepson (US 6213996).
Regarding claim 21, Takeuchi in view of Parris teaches the medical device of claim 1, as described above, wherein the distal connector comprises a first extension and a second extension extending between the first lever arm and the blunt cannula and between the second lever arm and the blunt cannula, respectively, about which the first lever arm and the second lever arm may pivot, respectively, when the proximal end of the first lever arm and the proximal end of the second lever arm are pinched together toward the longitudinal axis of the distal connector (Takeuchi: Fig. 14B: extensions 15). However, Takeuchi-Parris fails to explicitly teach the proximal end of the annular wall of the cover abutting the extensions.
Jepson teaches an analogous medical device with an analogous lever-armed connector for securing a protective cover over a cannula (Fig. 5B), wherein, when the protective cover (Fig. 5B: 34/40) is attached to the distal connector and the medical device is in the initial configuration (Fig. 5B), a proximal end of the annular wall abuts the first and second extensions (Fig. 5B: end 54 of 40 abuts extensions between 100a and 98a). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Takeuchi-Parris device by elongating the annular wall of the cover distally, such that it abuts the extensions, as taught by Jepson, in order to create a sealed covering for the cannula and ensure sterility of the cannula before detachment of the cover.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/30/2026 regarding the prior art rejections of independent claim 1 and its depending claims have been fully considered but are considered moot in light of the claim amendments and new rejections. Takeuchi is no longer solely relied upon to teach all limitations of independent claim 1. Parris is relied upon in combination with Takeuchi to teach the structural relationship of the cover and cannula being spaced apart without intervening components.
For these reasons, claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8-22 stand rejected as recited above, in view of Parris.
Conclusion
/K.A.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/NATHAN R PRICE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783