DETAILED ACTION
Previous Rejections
Applicant’s arguments, filed June 17, 2026, have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 (Maintained)
Claims 30-41 and 43-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being as being obvious over Gregolin (WO 2019/195901 A1) in view of Combs et al. (US 2014/0093466 A1).
Regarding claims 30 and 47 Gregolin discloses a hair treatment composition to provide styling effects to hair (e.g., straightening effects, volume reduction, frizz control, styling or shaping effects, curling effects) (abstract; pg. 4, lines 8-14) comprising at least one reducing agent, such as the tannin, tannic acid (pg. 24, line 13), at least one thickening agent, such as the polysaccharide, carrageenan (pg. 10, line 12), at least one nonionic surfactant, such as a fatty alcohol (pg. 42-43), and water in an amount of 50 to 99 wt.% (pg. 62, lines 23-24) (pg. 3, lines 13-28). The reducing agent (such as tannic acid, pg. 24, line 13) is present in the composition in an amount of 0.1 to 20 wt.% (pg. 20, bottom – pg. 29). Gregolin discloses the thickening agent (such as the polysaccharide, carrageenan, pg. 10, line 12) is present in the composition in an amount of 0.01 to 10 wt.% (pg. 10, lines 9-26). Gregolin discloses that the composition is in the form of a cream or a lotion (pg. 11, lines 12-14).
It is prima facie obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods, to yield predictable results. In the instant case, the claimed elements (e.g., tannic acid, carrageenan, fatty alcohol, and water) were known in the prior art (e.g., Gregolin) and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results (e.g., a hair styling composition) to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2143.A.
Gregolin does not disclose that the composition includes an emulsifier, such as acrylamide/sodium acryloyldimethyltaurate copolymer, isohexadecane, and polysorbate 80.
Combs discloses a hair care composition (abstract) with the combination of acrylamide/sodium acryloyldimethyl taurate copolymer, isohexadecane, and polysorbate 80 as a rheology modifier [0065]. Combs teaches that the rheology modifier increases the substantivity of the composition such that it does not drip undesirably onto other areas of the body, onto clothing, or onto home furnishings [0065].
Since Gregolin generally teaches a composition for the hair, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the combination of acrylamide/sodium acryloyldimethyl taurate copolymer, isohexadecane, and polysorbate 80, within the teachings of Gregolin, because Combs teaches this combination is a hair care composition. An ordinarily skilled artisan would be motivated to use the combination of acrylamide/sodium acryloyldimethyl taurate copolymer, isohexadecane, and polysorbate 80 because Combs teaches that this combination acts as a rheology modifier which increases the substantivity of the composition such that it does not drip undesirably onto other areas of the body, onto clothing, or onto home furnishings [0065].
Regarding the limitation of the combined amount of (a) and (b) being sufficient to style the hair, Gregolin teaches that the compositions of the disclosure can be used to provide styling effects (e.g., straightening effects, volume reduction, frizz control, styling or shaping effects, curling effects) (abstract; pg. 4, lines 8-14), therefore, it would be reasonably expected that the combined amount of the reducing agent (i.e., tannic acid) and the thickener (i.e., carrageenan), in the amounts taught by Gregolin, is sufficient to provide styling effects to the hair.
In regards to the specific amounts of the individual components (i.e., tannic acid and carrageenan), in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 A.
Claims 31-33 are rendered prima facie obvious because Gregolin discloses that the reducing agent (such as the tannin, tannic acid, pg. 24, line 13) is present in the composition in an amount of 0.1 to 20 wt.% (pg. 20, bottom – pg. 29). A prima facie case of obviousness exists because of overlap, as previously discussed.
Claims 34-36 are rendered prima facie obvious because Gregolin discloses that the thickening agent (such as the polysaccharide, carrageenan, pg. 10, line 12) is present in the composition in an amount of 0.01 to 10 wt.% (pg. 10, lines 9-26). A prima facie case of obviousness exists because of overlap, as previously discussed.
Regarding claims 37-38, it would have been prima facie obvious to include the combination of acrylamide/sodium acryloyldimethyl taurate copolymer, isohexadecane, and polysorbate 80, within the teachings of Gregolin, as taught by Combs, as previously discussed and Combs teaches this combination as a rheology modifier which is present in the composition in an amount of 0.5-20 wt.% [0068] [0009]. A prima facie case of obviousness exists because of overlap, as previously discussed.
Claims 39-40 are rendered prima facie obvious because Gregolin discloses the fatty alcohol comprises cetyl alcohol (pg. 43, lines 8-9).
Claim 41 is rendered prima facie obvious because Gregolin discloses the nonionic surfactant, such as fatty alcohols (pg. 42-43) are present in the composition in an amount of 0.01% to 15% by weight (pg. 48, lines 4-6). A prima facie case of obviousness exists because of overlap, as previously discussed.
Claims 43-44 are rendered prima facie obvious because Gregolin discloses the composition further includes a water-soluble solvent (pg. 3, lines 13-28), such as the humectant, propylene glycol (pg. 63, lines 3-12), in an amount of 0.01% to 10% by weight (pg. 64, lines 5-6). A prima facie case of obviousness exists because of overlap, as previously discussed.
Claim 45 is rendered prima facie obvious because Gregolin discloses the composition includes water in an amount of 50 to 99 wt.% (pg. 62, lines 23-24). A prima facie case of obviousness exists because of overlap, as previously discussed.
Claim 46 is rendered prima facie obvious because Gregolin discloses the composition including water further includes a water-soluble solvent (pg. 3, lines 13-28), such as the non-aqueous solvent, isopropyl alcohol (pg. 63, line 4), in an amount of 0.01% to 10% by weight (pg. 64, lines 5-6). A prima facie case of obviousness exists because of overlap, as previously discussed.
Response to Arguments
Applicants arguments with respect to claims 30-41 and 43-47 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues at pg. 8-9 that tannic acid is not a “reducing agent” because polyphenols are poor reducing agents for covalent-covalent bonds.
The Examiner disagrees because tannic acid is taught as a component of the compositions of Gregolin and is disclosed as a reducing agent (pg. 24, line 13). The reducing agent (such as tannic acid, pg. 24, line 13) is present in the composition in an amount of 0.1 to 20 wt.% (pg. 20, bottom – pg. 29).
Applicant argues at pg. 9-11 that Gregolin does not specify tannins as a useful subgenera and discloses tannic acid among an infinite number of possibilities.
The Examiner disagrees. Patents are relevant as prior art for all that they contain and nonpreferred or alternative embodiments constitute prior art. See MPEP 2123. Therefore, although Gregolin has many teachings, the large number of teachings does not detract from teaching the claimed components (i.e. tannic acid) for use in the composition for the hair.
Claim 42 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being as being obvious over Gregolin (WO 2019/195901 A1) in view of Combs et al. (US 2014/0093466 A1) and further in view of Noll et al. (US 2020/0129407 A1).
The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection over Gregolin in view of Combs was previously discussed.
Gregolin does not disclose that the composition comprises at least one oil, wherein the total amount of oils ranges from about 2 to about 20% by weight relative to the total weight of the composition, as recited in claim 42.
Noll teaches a cosmetic agent for hair (abstract) where the cosmetic agent includes at least one nourishing oil in an amount of 0.5 to 10% by weight [0052]-[0053]. Noll teaches that oils are advantageous as nourishing substances since they give hair a silky shine and make the hair more resistant [0052].
Since Gregolin generally teaches a composition for the hair, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include an oil, in the amount taught by Noll, within the teachings of Gregolin, because Noll teaches an oil in a composition for the hair. An ordinarily skilled artisan would be motivated to use an oil because Noll teaches that oils are advantageous as nourishing substances since they give hair a silky shine and make the hair more resistant [0052].
Response to Arguments
Applicants argument with respect to claim 42 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues at pg. 11 that Noll does not cure the deficiency in Gregolin.
The Examiner disagrees because Gregolin in view of Combs is not deficient expect where Noll teaches an oil.
Double Patenting
Claims 30-47 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 33-52 of U.S. Patent Application No. 17/853,128 in view of Gregolin (WO 2019/195901 A1) and Combs et al. (US 2014/0093466 A1).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The copending claims recite all of the features instantly recited for the composition except for the composition being a lotion or a cream and the composition including a combination of acrylamide/sodium acryloyldimethyl taurate copolymer, isohexadecane, and polysorbate 80.
Gregolin discloses a hair treatment composition to provide styling effects to hair (e.g., straightening effects, volume reduction, frizz control, styling or shaping effects, curling effects) (abstract; pg. 4, lines 8-14) where the composition is in the form of a cream or a lotion (pg. 11, lines 12-14).
Combs discloses a hair care composition (abstract) with the combination of acrylamide/sodium acryloyldimethyl taurate copolymer, isohexadecane, and polysorbate 80 as a rheology modifier [0065]. Combs teaches that the rheology modifier increases the substantivity of the composition such that it does not drip undesirably onto other areas of the body, onto clothing, or onto home furnishings [0065].
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to formulate the composition as a lotion or a cream and include a combination of acrylamide/sodium acryloyldimethyl taurate copolymer, isohexadecane, and polysorbate 80 within the copending claims. The ordinarily skilled artisan would be motivated to formulate the hair styling composition as a lotion or cream as taught by Gregolin (pg. 11, lines 12-14). The ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to include a combination of acrylamide/sodium acryloyldimethyl taurate copolymer, isohexadecane, and polysorbate 80 because Combs teaches that it increases the substantivity of the composition such that it does not drip undesirably onto other areas of the body, onto clothing, or onto home furnishings [0065].
The specific amounts of the components, as recited in the instant claims, would be achieved by one of ordinary skill in the art through routine optimization. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not been patented.
Claims 30-47 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 28-33, 35-44 and 46-47 of U.S. Patent Application No. 17/853,580 in view of Gregolin (WO 2019/195901 A1) and Combs et al. (US 2014/0093466 A1).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The copending claims recite all of the features instantly recited for the composition except for a fatty alcohol, an emulsifier (such as a combination of acrylamide/sodium acryloyldimethyl taurate copolymer, isohexadecane, and polysorbate 80) and the composition being in the form of a lotion or a cream.
Gregolin discloses a hair treatment composition to provide styling effects to hair (e.g., straightening effects, volume reduction, frizz control, styling or shaping effects, curling effects) (abstract; pg. 4, lines 8-14) where the composition is in the form of a cream or a lotion (pg. 11, lines 12-14). Gregolin teaches the composition includes at least one nonionic surfactant, such as a fatty alcohol (pg. 42-43) (pg. 3, lines 13-28).
Combs discloses a hair care composition (abstract) with the combination of acrylamide/sodium acryloyldimethyl taurate copolymer, isohexadecane, and polysorbate 80 as a rheology modifier [0065]. Combs teaches that the rheology modifier increases the substantivity of the composition such that it does not drip undesirably onto other areas of the body, onto clothing, or onto home furnishings [0065].
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to formulate the composition as a lotion or a cream and include a fatty alcohol and an emulsifier within the copending claims. The ordinarily skilled artisan would be motivated to formulate the hair styling composition as a lotion or cream and include a fatty alcohol as a nonionic surfactant as taught by Gregolin (pg. 11, lines 12-14; pg. 42-43; pg. 3, lines 13-28). The ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to include an emulsifier (such as the combination of acrylamide/sodium acryloyldimethyl taurate copolymer, isohexadecane, and polysorbate 80) because Combs teaches that it increases the substantivity of the composition such that it does not drip undesirably onto other areas of the body, onto clothing, or onto home furnishings [0065].
The specific amounts of the components, as recited in the instant claims, would be achieved by one of ordinary skill in the art through routine optimization. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not been patented.
Claims 30-47 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 and 17-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,622,852 in view of Gregolin (WO 2019/195901 A1) and Combs et al. (US 2014/0093466 A1).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The claims recite all of the features instantly recited for the composition except for a fatty alcohol, the composition including a combination of acrylamide/sodium acryloyldimethyl taurate copolymer, isohexadecane, and polysorbate 80, and the composition being in the form of a lotion or a cream.
Gregolin discloses a hair treatment composition to provide styling effects to hair (e.g., straightening effects, volume reduction, frizz control, styling or shaping effects, curling effects) (abstract; pg. 4, lines 8-14) where the composition is in the form of a cream or a lotion (pg. 11, lines 12-14). Gregolin teaches the composition includes at least one nonionic surfactant, such as a fatty alcohol (pg. 42-43) (pg. 3, lines 13-28).
Combs discloses a hair care composition (abstract) with the combination of acrylamide/sodium acryloyldimethyl taurate copolymer, isohexadecane, and polysorbate 80 as a rheology modifier [0065]. Combs teaches that the rheology modifier increases the substantivity of the composition such that it does not drip undesirably onto other areas of the body, onto clothing, or onto home furnishings [0065].
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to formulate the composition as a lotion or a cream and include a fatty alcohol and a combination of acrylamide/sodium acryloyldimethyl taurate copolymer, isohexadecane, and polysorbate 80 within the claims. The ordinarily skilled artisan would be motivated to formulate the hair styling composition as a lotion or cream and include a fatty alcohol as a nonionic surfactant as taught by Gregolin (pg. 11, lines 12-14; pg. 42-43; pg. 3, lines 13-28). The ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to include a combination of acrylamide/sodium acryloyldimethyl taurate copolymer, isohexadecane, and polysorbate 80 because Combs teaches that it increases the substantivity of the composition such that it does not drip undesirably onto other areas of the body, onto clothing, or onto home furnishings [0065].
The specific amounts of the components, as recited in the instant claims, would be achieved by one of ordinary skill in the art through routine optimization. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/ASHLEE E WERTZ/Examiner, Art Unit 1612
/SAHANA S KAUP/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612