DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 10, 15, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ledbetter (US 2020/0150247) in view of Chen (US 2012/0281996).
Regarding Claim 1, Ledbetter teaches apparatus comprising a light source coupled to a reflector having a plurality of facets [0007; 0058; 0064], a controller connected to the light source [0007; 0058; 006. Ledbetter does not explicitly teach – but Chen does teach directed to map at least one of the plurality of facets [0012; 0035-41]. It would have been obvious to modify the apparatus of Ledbetter to map facets in order to effectively calibrate or determine whether a correction is needed.
Regarding Claim 4, Ledbetter teaches method comprising: coupling a light source [0007; 0058; 0064] to a reflector having a plurality of facets [0007; 0058; 0064]; directing light energy to the reflector, as directed by a controller [0007; 0058; 0064]. Ledbetter does not explicitly teach – but Chen does teach mapping at least one facet of the reflector in response to the light energy reflected by the reflector [0012; 0035-41]. It would have been obvious to modify the apparatus of Ledbetter to map facets in order to effectively calibrate or determine whether a correction is needed.
Regarding Claim 15, Ledbetter teaches a method comprising: coupling a light source to a reflector having a plurality of facets [0007; 0058; 0064]; directing light energy to the reflector, as directed by a controller [0007; 0058; 0064]; and bouncing light energy off the reflector [0007; 0058; 0064]; and sensing, with a detector connected to the controller, a downrange target [0007; 0039-41; 0058; 0064]. Ledbetter does not explicitly teach – but Chen does teach calibrating, with the controller, the reflector to accurately identify a downrange target [0012; 0035-41]. It would have been obvious to modify the method of Ledbetter to map facets in order to effectively calibrate or determine whether a correction is needed.
Regarding Claim 2, Ledbetter also teaches wherein the controller is connected to a segmented detector as part of a light detection and ranging system [0007; 0058; 0064].
Regarding Claim 10, Ledbetter does not explicitly teach – but Chen does teach wherein the controller assigns a reflection signature to at least one facet of the reflector [0007; 0058; 0064]. It would have been obvious to modify the method of Ledbetter to map facets with a specific signature in order to effectively calibrate or determine whether a correction is needed.
Regarding Claim 18, Ledbetter also teaches wherein the calibration involves varying a speed of rotation of the reflector over time [0081].
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ledbetter (US 2020/0150247) and Chen (US 2012/0281996), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cho (US 2022/0276350).
Regarding Claim 3, Ledbetter does not explicitly teach – but Cho does teach wherein the reflector is a non-symmetric polygon [0052; 0067-73]. It would have been obvious to modify the device of Ledbetter to include a non-symmetrical polygon reflector to scan the interested area with a resolution higher than a resolution of other area.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ledbetter (US 2020/0150247) and Chen (US 2012/0281996), as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Wang (US 2022/0334228).
Regarding Claim 19, Ledbetter does not explicitly teach – but Wang does teach wherein the calibration involves changing a position of the light source relative to the reflector [0102-0108; 0131]. It would have been obvious to modify the method of Ledbetter to include adjusting light source position relative to the reflector to compensate the facet non-uniformity differences and assembly errors associated with light steering device.
Claim Objections
Claims 5-9, 11-14, 16-17 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
JAMES R. HULKA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3645
/JAMES R HULKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645