DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 10/06/2025 with respect to claims 1-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8, 12-19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Ong (US Publication No. 20210232475).
Regarding claim 1, Ong discloses an apparatus to remove dust from an electronic device (100, see for example fig. 1, para. [0030]- [0052]), the apparatus (100, see for example fig. 1, para. [0030]- [0052]) comprising: a fan (i.e., 101A-101E; Each of the plurality of cooling components 101A-101E may be a cooling fan; see para. [0030]) to rotate in a first direction (i.e., a first direction; the control module 301 to receive and interpret the rotation signals and to operate in normal and reverse cycles accordingly (e.g., rotate in a first direction normally, and rotate in an opposite direction when directed); see for example fig. 3, para. [0057]) in a first mode of operation (i.e., a first temperature threshold; The performance threshold may be exceeded when the present temperature is above a first temperature threshold (e.g., a maximum operating temperate, or a range thereof); see para. [0032]), machine readable instructions (i.e., 102, 104; may be performed by processor-executable instructions such as a first processor 102 and a second processor 104; see para. [0030]); and at least one programmable circuitry (i.e., 106, 108; Each of the first component 106 and the second component 108 may be a communication module; a transceiver; a motherboard component; a sensor; a memory; a video card; a peripheral device; an optical drive; a resistor; a capacitor; and/or the like; see para. [0030]) to be programmed by the machine-readable instructions (i.e., 102, 104; may be performed by processor-executable instructions such as a first processor 102 and a second processor 104; see para. [0030]) to: determine an operation time (i.e., operation time; The control device 110 may send an instruction directly to the one or more of the plurality of cooling components 101A-101E that causes the maintenance procedure to be performed at the determined time for the determined duration; see para. [0035]) of the fan (i.e., 101A-101E; Each of the plurality of cooling components 101A-101E may be a cooling fan; see para. [0030]) in the first mode of operation (i.e., a first temperature threshold; The performance threshold may be exceeded when the present temperature is above a first temperature threshold (e.g., a maximum operating temperate, or a range thereof); see para. [0032]); and cause the fan (i.e., 101A-101E; Each of the plurality of cooling components 101A-101E may be a cooling fan; see para. [0030]) to operate in a second mode of operation (i.e., a second temperature threshold; The performance threshold is exceeded when an absolute value of the difference (e.g., a difference between the temperature before and after performing the maintenance procedure) is greater than a second temperature threshold (e.g., the difference may be 8 degrees, while the second temperature threshold may be 10 degrees). This may indicate that the maintenance procedure was not effective, since the present temperature has not changed by an amount indicated by the second temperature threshold; see para. [0038]) in response to the operation time (i.e., operation time; The control device 110 may send an instruction directly to the one or more of the plurality of cooling components 101A-101E that causes the maintenance procedure to be performed at the determined time for the determined duration; see para. [0035]) exceeding a threshold time (i.e., threshold time; the control device 210C may determine that the cooling component of the electronic device 202C is exceeding a performance threshold based on the one or more hardware parameters received from the electronic device 202C; see for example fig. 2C, para. [0053]), and, in the second mode of operation (i.e., a second temperature threshold; The performance threshold is exceeded when an absolute value of the difference (e.g., a difference between the temperature before and after performing the maintenance procedure) is greater than a second temperature threshold (e.g., the difference may be 8 degrees, while the second temperature threshold may be 10 degrees). This may indicate that the maintenance procedure was not effective, since the present temperature has not changed by an amount indicated by the second temperature threshold; see para. [0038]), the fan (i.e., 101A-101E; Each of the plurality of cooling components 101A-101E may be a cooling fan; see para. [0030]) is to rotate the fan (i.e., 101A-101E; Each of the plurality of cooling components 101A-101E may be a cooling fan; see para. [0030]) in a second direction (i.e., the second direction; The component 303 (e.g., fan) may include a plurality of blades that rotate in the first or the second direction to generate the first or the second air flows, respectively; see for example fig. 3, para. [0058]) opposite (i.e., opposite; such as causing one or more of the pluralities of cooling components 101A-101E to rotate in an opposite direction and/or in a preconfigured pattern (e.g., to create a pulsing effect) to dislodge dust and/or other fouling mechanisms; see para. [0033]) the first direction (i.e., a first direction; the control module 301 to receive and interpret the rotation signals and to operate in normal and reverse cycles accordingly (e.g., rotate in a first direction normally, and rotate in an opposite direction when directed); see for example fig. 3, para. [0057]).
Regarding claim 2, Ong discloses the apparatus (100, see for example fig. 1, para. [0030]- [0052]), wherein one or more of the at least one programmable circuitry (i.e., 106, 108; Each of the first component 106 and the second component 108 may be a communication module; a transceiver; a motherboard component; a sensor; a memory; a video card; a peripheral device; an optical drive; a resistor; a capacitor; and/or the like; see para. [0030]) is to cause rotation of the fan (i.e., 101A-101E; Each of the plurality of cooling components 101A-101E may be a cooling fan; see para. [0030]) for a first time period (i.e., a first time and a first duration; the control device 210C may use the at least one usage parameter received from the electronic device 202C to determine a first time and a first duration for the cooling component of the electronic device 202C to perform a maintenance procedure; see for example fig. 2C, para. [0053]); pause the fan (i.e., 101A-101E; Each of the plurality of cooling components 101A-101E may be a cooling fan; see para. [0030]) for a second time period (i.e., a second time and a second duration; and the control device 210C may use the at least one usage parameter received from the electronic device 212 to determine a second time and a second duration for the cooling component of the electronic device 212 to perform a maintenance procedure; see for example fig. 2C, para. [0053]) following the first time period (i.e., a first time and a first duration; the control device 210C may use the at least one usage parameter received from the electronic device 202C to determine a first time and a first duration for the cooling component of the electronic device 202C to perform a maintenance procedure; see for example fig. 2C, para. [0053]); and cause rotation of the fan (i.e., 101A-101E; Each of the plurality of cooling components 101A-101E may be a cooling fan; see para. [0030]) for a third time period (i.e., a third time for a third duration; the electronic device 202C to cause its cooling component to perform the maintenance procedure a second time (or more). The maintenance procedure may be performed at the first time and for the first duration, or it may be performed at a third time for a third duration; see for example fig. 2C, para. [0053]), following the second time period (i.e., a second time and a second duration; and the control device 210C may use the at least one usage parameter received from the electronic device 212 to determine a second time and a second duration for the cooling component of the electronic device 212 to perform a maintenance procedure; see for example fig. 2C, para. [0053]), the third time period (i.e., a third time for a third duration; the electronic device 202C to cause its cooling component to perform the maintenance procedure a second time (or more). The maintenance procedure may be performed at the first time and for the first duration, or it may be performed at a third time for a third duration; see for example fig. 2C, para. [0053]) having the same duration (i.e., The first duration and the third duration may be a same length of time, or they may be different lengths of time; see para. [0054]) as the first time period (i.e., a first time and a first duration; the control device 210C may use the at least one usage parameter received from the electronic device 202C to determine a first time and a first duration for the cooling component of the electronic device 202C to perform a maintenance procedure; see for example fig. 2C, para. [0053]).
Regarding claim 3, Ong discloses the apparatus (100, see for example fig. 1, para. [0030]- [0052]), wherein one or more of the at least one programmable circuitry (i.e., 106, 108; Each of the first component 106 and the second component 108 may be a communication module; a transceiver; a motherboard component; a sensor; a memory; a video card; a peripheral device; an optical drive; a resistor; a capacitor; and/or the like; see para. [0030]) is to determine the first time period (i.e., a first time and a first duration; the control device 210C may use the at least one usage parameter received from the electronic device 202C to determine a first time and a first duration for the cooling component of the electronic device 202C to perform a maintenance procedure; see for example fig. 2C, para. [0053]), the second time period (i.e., a second time and a second duration; and the control device 210C may use the at least one usage parameter received from the electronic device 212 to determine a second time and a second duration for the cooling component of the electronic device 212 to perform a maintenance procedure; see for example fig. 2C, para. [0053]), and the third time period (i.e., a third time for a third duration; the electronic device 202C to cause its cooling component to perform the maintenance procedure a second time (or more). The maintenance procedure may be performed at the first time and for the first duration, or it may be performed at a third time for a third duration; see for example fig. 2C, para. [0053]) based on the operation time (i.e., operation time; the one or more hardware parameters may include an internal temperature within the electronic device 302, a rotational speed of the component 303, a difference in the internal temperature over a period of time, a combination thereof, and/or the like; see for example fig. 3, para. [0062]) of the fan (i.e., 101A-101E; Each of the plurality of cooling components 101A-101E may be a cooling fan; see para. [0030]) in the first mode of operation (i.e., a first temperature threshold; The performance threshold may be exceeded when the present temperature is above a first temperature threshold (e.g., a maximum operating temperate, or a range thereof); see para. [0032]).
Regarding claim 4, Ong discloses the apparatus (100, see for example fig. 1, para. [0030]- [0052]), wherein one or more of the at least one programmable circuitry (i.e., 106, 108; Each of the first component 106 and the second component 108 may be a communication module; a transceiver; a motherboard component; a sensor; a memory; a video card; a peripheral device; an optical drive; a resistor; a capacitor; and/or the like; see para. [0030]) is to estimate an amount of dust accumulation (i.e., dust build ups; the ambient air may contain foreign particles, such as dust, which tend to accumulate on and thereby hinder the operation of the heat transfer surface(s) of the electronic device 302 and/or the component 303. As such, the reverse cycle of the component 303 may generate the second air flow in order to dislodge dust and/or other fouling mechanisms from one or both of the heat transfer surface(s) of the electronic device 302 or the component 303; see for example fig. 3, para. [0059]) based on the operation time (i.e., operation time; the one or more hardware parameters may include an internal temperature within the electronic device 302, a rotational speed of the component 303, a difference in the internal temperature over a period of time, a combination thereof, and/or the like; see for example fig. 3, para. [0062]) of the fan (i.e., 101A-101E; Each of the plurality of cooling components 101A-101E may be a cooling fan; see para. [0030]) in the first mode of operation (i.e., a first temperature threshold; The performance threshold may be exceeded when the present temperature is above a first temperature threshold (e.g., a maximum operating temperate, or a range thereof); see para. [0032]).
Regarding claim 5, Ong discloses the apparatus (100, see for example fig. 1, para. [0030]- [0052]), including a tachometer (i.e., a tachometer; a tachometer output wire (TACH) 310B and a pulse width modulation (PWM) wire 310C. The tachometer output wire 310B allows the component 303 to indicate to the control module 301 a present rotational speed of the component 303; see for example fig. 3, para. [0060]) to determine a number of rotations (i.e. number of rotations; the present rotational speed of the component 303; see for example fig. 3, para. [0060]) of the fan (i.e., 101A-101E; Each of the plurality of cooling components 101A-101E may be a cooling fan; see para. [0030]), one or more of the at least one programmable circuitry (i.e., 106, 108; Each of the first component 106 and the second component 108 may be a communication module; a transceiver; a motherboard component; a sensor; a memory; a video card; a peripheral device; an optical drive; a resistor; a capacitor; and/or the like; see para. [0030]) to determine an amount of dust accumulation (i.e., dust build ups; the ambient air may contain foreign particles, such as dust, which tend to accumulate on and thereby hinder the operation of the heat transfer surface(s) of the electronic device 302 and/or the component 303. As such, the reverse cycle of the component 303 may generate the second air flow in order to dislodge dust and/or other fouling mechanisms from one or both of the heat transfer surface(s) of the electronic device 302 or the component 303; see for example fig. 3, para. [0059]) of the electronic device (100, see for example fig. 1, para. [0030]- [0052]) based on a comparison (i.e., a comparison; The pulse width modulation (PWM) wire 310C allows the control module 301, which may compare the present rotational speed of the component 303 to a desired/expected speed of rotation, to send a speed-up, a slow-down, or an initiate reverse cycle instruction to the component 303 via a PWM signal 310F; see for example fig. 3, para. [0060]) between the number of rotations (i.e. number of rotations; the present rotational speed of the component 303; see for example fig. 3, para. [0060]) and a number of expected rotations (i.e., a number of expected rotations; a desired/expected speed of rotation; see for example fig. 3, para. [0060]).
Regarding claim 6, Ong discloses the apparatus (100, see for example fig. 1, para. [0030]- [0052]), including a temperature sensor (i.e., a temperature sensor; The electronic device 100 may include one or more sensors 116, the sensor 116 may be a temperature sensor, and a hardware parameter may be a present temperature within (e.g., inside) the electronic device 100; see para. [0032]) one or more of the at least one programmable circuitry (i.e., 106, 108; Each of the first component 106 and the second component 108 may be a communication module; a transceiver; a motherboard component; a sensor; a memory; a video card; a peripheral device; an optical drive; a resistor; a capacitor; and/or the like; see para. [0030]) to, in response to a first temperature measurement (i.e., a first temperature threshold; The performance threshold may be exceeded when the present temperature is above a first temperature threshold (e.g., a maximum operating temperate, or a range thereof); see para. [0032]) from the temperature sensor (i.e., a temperature sensor; The electronic device 100 may include one or more sensors 116, the sensor 116 may be a temperature sensor, and a hardware parameter may be a present temperature within (e.g., inside) the electronic device 100; see para. [0032]), cause the fan (i.e., 101A-101E; Each of the plurality of cooling components 101A-101E may be a cooling fan; see para. [0030]) to enter the first mode of operation (i.e., a first temperature threshold; The performance threshold may be exceeded when the present temperature is above a first temperature threshold (e.g., a maximum operating temperate, or a range thereof); see para. [0032]) to cool the electronic device (100, see for example fig. 1, para. [0030]- [0052]), and in response to a second temperature measurement (i.e., a second temperature threshold; The performance threshold may be exceeded when an absolute value of the difference is greater than a second temperature threshold; see para. [0032]) that is less than (i.e., 2 degrees; (e.g., the difference may be 10 degrees, while the second temperature threshold may be 8 degrees); see para. [0032]) the first temperature measurement (i.e., a first temperature threshold; The performance threshold may be exceeded when the present temperature is above a first temperature threshold (e.g., a maximum operating temperate, or a range thereof); see para. [0032]), cause the fan (i.e., 101A-101E; Each of the plurality of cooling components 101A-101E may be a cooling fan; see para. [0030]) to enter the second mode of operation (i.e., a second temperature threshold; The performance threshold is exceeded when an absolute value of the difference (e.g., a difference between the temperature before and after performing the maintenance procedure) is greater than a second temperature threshold (e.g., the difference may be 8 degrees, while the second temperature threshold may be 10 degrees). This may indicate that the maintenance procedure was not effective, since the present temperature has not changed by an amount indicated by the second temperature threshold; see para. [0038]).
Regarding claim 8, Ong discloses the apparatus (100, see for example fig. 1, para. [0030]- [0052]), wherein one or more of the at least one programmable circuitry (i.e., 106, 108; Each of the first component 106 and the second component 108 may be a communication module; a transceiver; a motherboard component; a sensor; a memory; a video card; a peripheral device; an optical drive; a resistor; a capacitor; and/or the like; see para. [0030]) is to select a rotation scheme (i.e., a threshold rotational speed; The electronic device 100 may determine that one or more of the plurality of cooling components 101A-101E is exceeding a performance threshold based on the one or more hardware parameters. For example, the sensor 116 may be a rotational speed sensor for one or more of the plurality of cooling components 101A-101E, and a performance threshold may be exceeded when a present rotational speed for one or more of the plurality of cooling components 101A-101E is less than a threshold rotational speed associated with a present level of voltage provided to the cooling component(s) (e.g., a voltage level of X volts should produce a rotational speed between A and B rotations-per-minute); see para. [0032]) for the fan (i.e., 101A-101E; Each of the plurality of cooling components 101A-101E may be a cooling fan; see para. [0030]) based on sensor data (i.e., performance characteristics; The electronic device 100 may include one or more sensors 116 that may be used to determine one or more performance characteristics such as various mechanical and/or physical characteristics. Such performance characteristics are generally referred to herein as hardware parameters; see para. [0032]).
Regarding claim 12, Ong discloses the apparatus (100, see for example fig. 1, para. [0030]- [0052]), including a network interface (i.e., network adapter 817; Such network connections may be through the network adapter 817; see for example fig. 8, para. [0094]) to retrieve at least one fan (i.e., 101A-101E; Each of the plurality of cooling components 101A-101E may be a cooling fan; see para. [0030]) rotation scheme (i.e., a threshold rotational speed; The electronic device 100 may determine that one or more of the pluralities of cooling components 101A-101E is exceeding a performance threshold based on the one or more hardware parameters. For example, the sensor 116 may be a rotational speed sensor for one or more of the plurality of cooling components 101A-101E, and a performance threshold may be exceeded when a present rotational speed for one or more of the plurality of cooling components 101A-101E is less than a threshold rotational speed associated with a present level of voltage provided to the cooling component(s) (e.g., a voltage level of X volts should produce a rotational speed between A and B rotations-per-minute); see para. [0032]) from an online database (i.e., online data via 815, offline data via 804; The databases may be centralized or distributed across locations within the network 815; see for example fig. 8, para. [0091]).
Regarding claim 13, Ong discloses at least one non-transitory computer readable storage medium (100, see for example fig. 1, para. [0030]- [0052]), comprising instructions (i.e., instructions; These processor-executable instructions may also be stored in a computer-readable memory that may direct a computer or other programmable data processing apparatus to function in a particular manner; see para. [0021]) that cause at least one programmable circuitry (i.e., 106, 108; Each of the first component 106 and the second component 108 may be a communication module; a transceiver; a motherboard component; a sensor; a memory; a video card; a peripheral device; an optical drive; a resistor; a capacitor; and/or the like; see para. [0030]) to at least: determine an operation time (i.e., operation time; The control device 110 may send an instruction directly to the one or more of the pluralities of cooling components 101A-101E that causes the maintenance procedure to be performed at the determined time for the determined duration; see para. [0035]) of a fan (i.e., 101A-101E; Each of the plurality of cooling components 101A-101E may be a cooling fan; see para. [0030]) in a first mode of operation (i.e., a first temperature threshold; The performance threshold may be exceeded when the present temperature is above a first temperature threshold (e.g., a maximum operating temperate, or a range thereof); see para. [0032]), the first mode of operation (i.e., a first temperature threshold; The performance threshold may be exceeded when the present temperature is above a first temperature threshold (e.g., a maximum operating temperate, or a range thereof); see para. [0032]) corresponding to user operation (i.e., user operation; A user may enter commands and information into the computer 801; see for example fig. 8, para. [0092]) of an electronic device (100, see for example fig. 1, para. [0030]- [0052]), the fan (i.e., 101A-101E; Each of the plurality of cooling components 101A-101E may be a cooling fan; see para. [0030]) to rotate in a first direction (i.e., a first direction; the control module 301 to receive and interpret the rotation signals and to operate in normal and reverse cycles accordingly (e.g., rotate in a first direction normally, and rotate in an opposite direction when directed); see for example fig. 3, para. [0057]) in the first mode of operation (i.e., a first temperature threshold; The performance threshold may be exceeded when the present temperature is above a first temperature threshold (e.g., a maximum operating temperate, or a range thereof); see para. [0032]); cause the fan (i.e., 101A-101E; Each of the plurality of cooling components 101A-101E may be a cooling fan; see para. [0030]) to operate in a second mode of operation (i.e., a second temperature threshold; The performance threshold is exceeded when an absolute value of the difference (e.g., a difference between the temperature before and after performing the maintenance procedure) is greater than a second temperature threshold (e.g., the difference may be 8 degrees, while the second temperature threshold may be 10 degrees). This may indicate that the maintenance procedure was not effective, since the present temperature has not changed by an amount indicated by the second temperature threshold; see para. [0038]) in response to the operation time (i.e., operation time; The control device 110 may send an instruction directly to the one or more of the pluralities of cooling components 101A-101E that causes the maintenance procedure to be performed at the determined time for the determined duration; see para. [0035]) exceeding a threshold time (i.e., threshold time; the control device 210C may determine that the cooling component of the electronic device 202C is exceeding a performance threshold based on the one or more hardware parameters received from the electronic device 202C; see for example fig. 2C, para. [0053]); and in the second mode of operation (i.e., a second temperature threshold; The performance threshold is exceeded when an absolute value of the difference (e.g., a difference between the temperature before and after performing the maintenance procedure) is greater than a second temperature threshold (e.g., the difference may be 8 degrees, while the second temperature threshold may be 10 degrees). This may indicate that the maintenance procedure was not effective, since the present temperature has not changed by an amount indicated by the second temperature threshold; see para. [0038]), cause the fan (i.e., 101A-101E; Each of the plurality of cooling components 101A-101E may be a cooling fan; see para. [0030]) to rotate the fan (i.e., 101A-101E; Each of the plurality of cooling components 101A-101E may be a cooling fan; see para. [0030]) in a second direction (i.e., the second direction; The component 303 (e.g., fan) may include a plurality of blades that rotate in the first or the second direction to generate the first or the second air flows, respectively; see for example fig. 3, para. [0058]) opposite (i.e., opposite; such as causing one or more of the pluralities of cooling components 101A-101E to rotate in an opposite direction and/or in a preconfigured pattern (e.g., to create a pulsing effect) to dislodge dust and/or other fouling mechanisms; see para. [0033]) the first direction (i.e., a first direction; the control module 301 to receive and interpret the rotation signals and to operate in normal and reverse cycles accordingly (e.g., rotate in a first direction normally, and rotate in an opposite direction when directed); see for example fig. 3, para. [0057]).
Regarding claim 14, Ong discloses the computer readable storage medium (100, see for example fig. 1, para. [0030]- [0052]), wherein the instructions (i.e., instructions; These processor-executable instructions may also be stored in a computer-readable memory that may direct a computer or other programmable data processing apparatus to function in a particular manner; see para. [0021]) cause one or more of the at least one programmable circuitry (i.e., 106, 108; Each of the first component 106 and the second component 108 may be a communication module; a transceiver; a motherboard component; a sensor; a memory; a video card; a peripheral device; an optical drive; a resistor; a capacitor; and/or the like; see para. [0030]) to cause rotation of the fan (i.e., 101A-101E; Each of the plurality of cooling components 101A-101E may be a cooling fan; see para. [0030]) for a first time period (i.e., a first time and a first duration; the control device 210C may use the at least one usage parameter received from the electronic device 202C to determine a first time and a first duration for the cooling component of the electronic device 202C to perform a maintenance procedure; see for example fig. 2C, para. [0053]); pause the rotation of the fan (i.e., 101A-101E; Each of the plurality of cooling components 101A-101E may be a cooling fan; see para. [0030]) for a second time period (i.e., a second time and a second duration; and the control device 210C may use the at least one usage parameter received from the electronic device 212 to determine a second time and a second duration for the cooling component of the electronic device 212 to perform a maintenance procedure; see for example fig. 2C, para. [0053]) following the first time period (i.e., a first time and a first duration; the control device 210C may use the at least one usage parameter received from the electronic device 202C to determine a first time and a first duration for the cooling component of the electronic device 202C to perform a maintenance procedure; see for example fig. 2C, para. [0053]); and cause rotation of the fan (i.e., 101A-101E; Each of the plurality of cooling components 101A-101E may be a cooling fan; see para. [0030]) for a third time period (i.e., a third time for a third duration; the electronic device 202C to cause its cooling component to perform the maintenance procedure a second time (or more). The maintenance procedure may be performed at the first time and for the first duration, or it may be performed at a third time for a third duration; see for example fig. 2C, para. [0053]), the third time period (i.e., a third time for a third duration; the electronic device 202C to cause its cooling component to perform the maintenance procedure a second time (or more). The maintenance procedure may be performed at the first time and for the first duration, or it may be performed at a third time for a third duration; see for example fig. 2C, para. [0053]) following the second time period (i.e., a second time and a second duration; and the control device 210C may use the at least one usage parameter received from the electronic device 212 to determine a second time and a second duration for the cooling component of the electronic device 212 to perform a maintenance procedure; see for example fig. 2C, para. [0053]), the third time period (i.e., a third time for a third duration; the electronic device 202C to cause its cooling component to perform the maintenance procedure a second time (or more). The maintenance procedure may be performed at the first time and for the first duration, or it may be performed at a third time for a third duration; see for example fig. 2C, para. [0053]) having the same duration (i.e., The first duration and the third duration may be a same length of time, or they may be different lengths of time; see para. [0054]) as the first time period (i.e., a first time and a first duration; the control device 210C may use the at least one usage parameter received from the electronic device 202C to determine a first time and a first duration for the cooling component of the electronic device 202C to perform a maintenance procedure; see for example fig. 2C, para. [0053]).
Regarding claim 15, Ong discloses the computer readable storage medium (100, see for example fig. 1, para. [0030]- [0052]), wherein the instructions (i.e., instructions; These processor-executable instructions may also be stored in a computer-readable memory that may direct a computer or other programmable data processing apparatus to function in a particular manner; see para. [0021]) cause one or more of the at least one programmable circuitry (i.e., 106, 108; Each of the first component 106 and the second component 108 may be a communication module; a transceiver; a motherboard component; a sensor; a memory; a video card; a peripheral device; an optical drive; a resistor; a capacitor; and/or the like; see para. [0030]) to determine the first time period (i.e., a first time and a first duration; the control device 210C may use the at least one usage parameter received from the electronic device 202C to determine a first time and a first duration for the cooling component of the electronic device 202C to perform a maintenance procedure; see for example fig. 2C, para. [0053]), the second time period (i.e., a second time and a second duration; and the control device 210C may use the at least one usage parameter received from the electronic device 212 to determine a second time and a second duration for the cooling component of the electronic device 212 to perform a maintenance procedure; see for example fig. 2C, para. [0053]), and the third time period (i.e., a third time for a third duration; the electronic device 202C to cause its cooling component to perform the maintenance procedure a second time (or more). The maintenance procedure may be performed at the first time and for the first duration, or it may be performed at a third time for a third duration; see for example fig. 2C, para. [0053]) based on the operation time (i.e., operation time; The control device 110 may send an instruction directly to the one or more of the pluralities of cooling components 101A-101E that causes the maintenance procedure to be performed at the determined time for the determined duration; see para. [0035]) of the fan (i.e., 101A-101E; Each of the plurality of cooling components 101A-101E may be a cooling fan; see para. [0030]) in the first mode of operation (i.e., a first temperature threshold; The performance threshold may be exceeded when the present temperature is above a first temperature threshold (e.g., a maximum operating temperate, or a range thereof); see para. [0032]).
Regarding claim 16, Ong discloses the computer readable storage medium (100, see for example fig. 1, para. [0030]- [0052]), wherein the instructions (i.e., instructions; These processor-executable instructions may also be stored in a computer-readable memory that may direct a computer or other programmable data processing apparatus to function in a particular manner; see para. [0021]) cause one or more of the at least one programmable circuitry (i.e., 106, 108; Each of the first component 106 and the second component 108 may be a communication module; a transceiver; a motherboard component; a sensor; a memory; a video card; a peripheral device; an optical drive; a resistor; a capacitor; and/or the like; see para. [0030]) to determine a usage mode (i.e., software/hardware parameters; These and other input devices may be connected to the one or more processors 803 via a human machine interface 802 that is coupled to the bus 813, but may be connected by other interface and bus structures, such as a parallel port, game port, an IEEE 1394 Port (also known as a Firewire port), a serial port, network adapter 817, and/or a universal serial bus (USB); see for example fig. 8, para. [0092]) of the electronic device (100, see for example fig. 1, para. [0030]- [0052]), and in response to determination (i.e., determination; the electronic device may cause the cooling component to perform the maintenance procedure at the determined time and for the determined duration; see for example para. [0028]) that the usage mode (i.e., software/hardware parameters; These and other input devices may be connected to the one or more processors 803 via a human machine interface 802 that is coupled to the bus 813, but may be connected by other interface and bus structures, such as a parallel port, game port, an IEEE 1394 Port (also known as a Firewire port), a serial port, network adapter 817, and/or a universal serial bus (USB); see for example fig. 8, para. [0092]) of the electronic device (100, see for example fig. 1, para. [0030]- [0052]) is a gaming mode (i.e., software/hardware parameters via game port; These and other input devices may be connected to the one or more processors 803 via a human machine interface 802 that is coupled to the bus 813, but may be connected by other interface and bus structures, such as a parallel port, game port, an IEEE 1394 Port (also known as a Firewire port), a serial port, network adapter 817, and/or a universal serial bus (USB); see for example fig. 8, para. [0092]), the instructions (i.e., instructions; These processor-executable instructions may also be stored in a computer-readable memory that may direct a computer or other programmable data processing apparatus to function in a particular manner; see para. [0021]) cause one or more of the at least one processor programmable circuitry (i.e., 106, 108; Each of the first component 106 and the second component 108 may be a communication module; a transceiver; a motherboard component; a sensor; a memory; a video card; a peripheral device; an optical drive; a resistor; a capacitor; and/or the like; see para. [0030]) to cause the fan (i.e., 101A-101E; Each of the plurality of cooling components 101A-101E may be a cooling fan; see para. [0030]) to operate in the second mode of operation (i.e., a second temperature threshold; The performance threshold is exceeded when an absolute value of the difference (e.g., a difference between the temperature before and after performing the maintenance procedure) is greater than a second temperature threshold (e.g., the difference may be 8 degrees, while the second temperature threshold may be 10 degrees). This may indicate that the maintenance procedure was not effective, since the present temperature has not changed by an amount indicated by the second temperature threshold; see para. [0038]).
Regarding claim 17, Ong discloses a method to remove dust from an electronic device (100, see for example fig. 1, para. [0030]- [0052]), the method (100, see for example fig. 1, para. [0030]- [0052]) comprising: determining an operation time (i.e., operation time; The control device 110 may send an instruction directly to the one or more of the pluralities of cooling components 101A-101E that causes the maintenance procedure to be performed at the determined time for the determined duration; see para. [0035]) of a fan (i.e., 101A-101E; Each of the plurality of cooling components 101A-101E may be a cooling fan; see para. [0030]) in a first mode of operation (i.e., a first temperature threshold; The performance threshold may be exceeded when the present temperature is above a first temperature threshold (e.g., a maximum operating temperate, or a range thereof); see para. [0032]), the first mode of operation (i.e., a first temperature threshold; The performance threshold may be exceeded when the present temperature is above a first temperature threshold (e.g., a maximum operating temperate, or a range thereof); see para. [0032]) corresponding to user operation (i.e., user operation; A user may enter commands and information into the computer 801; see for example fig. 8, para. [0092]) of the electronic device (100, see for example fig. 1, para. [0030]- [0052]), the fan (i.e., 101A-101E; Each of the plurality of cooling components 101A-101E may be a cooling fan; see para. [0030]) to rotate in a first direction (i.e., a first direction; the control module 301 to receive and interpret the rotation signals and to operate in normal and reverse cycles accordingly (e.g., rotate in a first direction normally, and rotate in an opposite direction when directed); see for example fig. 3, para. [0057]) in the first mode of operation (i.e., a first temperature threshold; The performance threshold may be exceeded when the present temperature is above a first temperature threshold (e.g., a maximum operating temperate, or a range thereof); see para. [0032]); and causing the fan (i.e., 101A-101E; Each of the plurality of cooling components 101A-101E may be a cooling fan; see para. [0030]) to operate in a second mode of operation (i.e., a second temperature threshold; The performance threshold is exceeded when an absolute value of the difference (e.g., a difference between the temperature before and after performing the maintenance procedure) is greater than a second temperature threshold (e.g., the difference may be 8 degrees, while the second temperature threshold may be 10 degrees). This may indicate that the maintenance procedure was not effective, since the present temperature has not changed by an amount indicated by the second temperature threshold; see para. [0038]) in response to the operation time (i.e., operation time; The control device 110 may send an instruction directly to the one or more of the pluralities of cooling components 101A-101E that causes the maintenance procedure to be performed at the determined time for the determined duration; see para. [0035]) exceeding a threshold time (i.e., threshold time; the control device 210C may determine that the cooling component of the electronic device 202C is exceeding a performance threshold based on the one or more hardware parameters received from the electronic device 202C; see for example fig. 2C, para. [0053]); and, wherein, in the second mode of operation (i.e., a second temperature threshold; The performance threshold is exceeded when an absolute value of the difference (e.g., a difference between the temperature before and after performing the maintenance procedure) is greater than a second temperature threshold (e.g., the difference may be 8 degrees, while the second temperature threshold may be 10 degrees). This may indicate that the maintenance procedure was not effective, since the present temperature has not changed by an amount indicated by the second temperature threshold; see para. [0038]), the fan (i.e., 101A-101E; Each of the plurality of cooling components 101A-101E may be a cooling fan; see para. [0030]) is to rotate in a second direction (i.e., the second direction; The component 303 (e.g., fan) may include a plurality of blades that rotate in the first or the second direction to generate the first or the second air flows, respectively; see for example fig. 3, para. [0058]) opposite (i.e., opposite; such as causing one or more of the pluralities of cooling components 101A-101E to rotate in an opposite direction and/or in a preconfigured pattern (e.g., to create a pulsing effect) to dislodge dust and/or other fouling mechanisms; see para. [0033]) from the first direction (i.e., a first direction; the control module 301 to receive and interpret the rotation signals and to operate in normal and reverse cycles accordingly (e.g., rotate in a first direction normally, and rotate in an opposite direction when directed); see for example fig. 3, para. [0057]).
Regarding claim 18, Ong discloses the method (100, see for example fig. 1, para. [0030]- [0052]), including: applying power to cause rotation of the fan (i.e., 101A-101E; Each of the plurality of cooling components 101A-101E may be a cooling fan; see para. [0030]) for a first time period (i.e., a first time and a first duration; the control device 210C may use the at least one usage parameter received from the electronic device 202C to determine a first time and a first duration for the cooling component of the electronic device 202C to perform a maintenance procedure; see for example fig. 2C, para. [0053]); pausing the fan (i.e., 101A-101E; Each of the plurality of cooling components 101A-101E may be a cooling fan; see para. [0030]) for a second time period (i.e., a second time and a second duration; and the control device 210C may use the at least one usage parameter received from the electronic device 212 to determine a second time and a second duration for the cooling component of the electronic device 212 to perform a maintenance procedure; see for example fig. 2C, para. [0053]) following the first time period (i.e., a first time and a first duration; the control device 210C may use the at least one usage parameter received from the electronic device 202C to determine a first time and a first duration for the cooling component of the electronic device 202C to perform a maintenance procedure; see for example fig. 2C, para. [0053]); and applying power for a third time period (i.e., a third time for a third duration; the electronic device 202C to cause its cooling component to perform the maintenance procedure a second time (or more). The maintenance procedure may be performed at the first time and for the first duration, or it may be performed at a third time for a third duration; see for example fig. 2C, para. [0053]), the third time period (i.e., a third time for a third duration; the electronic device 202C to cause its cooling component to perform the maintenance procedure a second time (or more). The maintenance procedure may be performed at the first time and for the first duration, or it may be performed at a third time for a third duration; see for example fig. 2C, para. [0053]) following the second time period (i.e., a second time and a second duration; and the control device 210C may use the at least one usage parameter received from the electronic device 212 to determine a second time and a second duration for the cooling component of the electronic device 212 to perform a maintenance procedure; see for example fig. 2C, para. [0053]), the third time period (i.e., a third time for a third duration; the electronic device 202C to cause its cooling component to perform the maintenance procedure a second time (or more). The maintenance procedure may be performed at the first time and for the first duration, or it may be performed at a third time for a third duration; see for example fig. 2C, para. [0053]) having the same duration (i.e., The first duration and the third duration may be a same length of time, or they may be different lengths of time; see para. [0054]) as the first time period (i.e., a first time and a first duration; the control device 210C may use the at least one usage parameter received from the electronic device 202C to determine a first time and a first duration for the cooling component of the electronic device 202C to perform a maintenance procedure; see for example fig. 2C, para. [0053]).
Regarding claim 19, Ong discloses the method (100, see for example fig. 1, para. [0030]- [0052]), including determining an amount of dust accumulation (i.e., dust build ups; the ambient air may contain foreign particles, such as dust, which tend to accumulate on and thereby hinder the operation of the heat transfer surface(s) of the electronic device 302 and/or the component 303. As such, the reverse cycle of the component 303 may generate the second air flow in order to dislodge dust and/or other fouling mechanisms from one or both of the heat transfer surface(s) of the electronic device 302 or the component 303; see for example fig. 3, para. [0059]) based on a comparison (i.e., a comparison; The pulse width modulation (PWM) wire 310C allows the control module 301, which may compare the present rotational speed of the component 303 to a desired/expected speed of rotation, to send a speed-up, a slow-down, or an initiate reverse cycle instruction to the component 303 via a PWM signal 310F; see for example fig. 3, para. [0060]) between a number of rotations (i.e. number of rotations; the present rotational speed of the component 303; see for example fig. 3, para. [0060]) of the fan (i.e., 101A-101E; Each of the plurality of cooling components 101A-101E may be a cooling fan; see para. [0030]) and a number of expected rotations (i.e., a number of expected rotations; a desired/expected speed of rotation; see for example fig. 3, para. [0060]).
Regarding claim 21, Ong discloses the apparatus (100, see for example fig. 1, para. [0030]- [0052]), wherein one or more of the at least one programmable circuitry (i.e., 106, 108; Each of the first component 106 and the second component 108 may be a communication module; a transceiver; a motherboard component; a sensor; a memory; a video card; a peripheral device; an optical drive; a resistor; a capacitor; and/or the like; see para. [0030]) is to compare (i.e., compare; The pulse width modulation (PWM) wire 310C allows the control module 301, which may compare the present rotational speed of the component 303 to a desired/expected speed of rotation, to send a speed-up, a slow-down, or an initiate reverse cycle instruction to the component 303 via a PWM signal 310F; see for example fig. 3, para. [0060]) the operation time (i.e., operation time; the one or more hardware parameters may include an internal temperature within the electronic device 302, a rotational speed of the component 303, a difference in the internal temperature over a period of time, a combination thereof, and/or the like; see for example fig. 3, para. [0062]) to the threshold time (i.e., threshold time; the control device 210C may determine that the cooling component of the electronic device 202C is exceeding a performance threshold based on the one or more hardware parameters received from the electronic device 202C; see for example fig. 2C, para. [0053]), and the fan (i.e., 101A-101E; Each of the plurality of cooling components 101A-101E may be a cooling fan; see para. [0030]) is to operate in the second mode (i.e., a second temperature threshold; The performance threshold is exceeded when an absolute value of the difference (e.g., a difference between the temperature before and after performing the maintenance procedure) is greater than a second temperature threshold (e.g., the difference may be 8 degrees, while the second temperature threshold may be 10 degrees). This may indicate that the maintenance procedure was not effective, since the present temperature has not changed by an amount indicated by the second temperature threshold; see para. [0038]) when the operation time (i.e., operation time; The control device 110 may send an instruction directly to the one or more of the pluralities of cooling components 101A-101E that causes the maintenance procedure to be performed at the determined time for the determined duration; see para. [0035]) exceeds the threshold time (i.e., threshold time; the control device 210C may determine that the cooling component of the electronic device 202C is exceeding a performance threshold based on the one or more hardware parameters received from the electronic device 202C; see for example fig. 2C, para. [0053]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ong (US Publication No. 20210232475) in view of Chen (US Publication No. 20170374760).
Regarding claim 7, Ong discloses the apparatus (100, see for example fig. 1, para. [0030]- [0052]), including a motion sensor (i.e., motion sensor; motion sensor, and the like. These and other input devices may be connected to the one or more processors 803 via a human machine interface 802 that is coupled to the bus 813; see for example fig. 8 para. [0092]), wherein one or more of the at least one programmable circuitry (i.e., 106, 108; Each of the first component 106 and the second component 108 may be a communication module; a transceiver; a motherboard component; a sensor; a memory; a video card; a peripheral device; an optical drive; a resistor; a capacitor; and/or the like; see para. [0030]); when the motion sensor (i.e., motion sensor; motion sensor, and the like. These and other input devices may be connected to the one or more processors 803 via a human machine interface 802 that is coupled to the bus 813; see for example fig. 8 para. [0092]) detects that the electronic device (100, see for example fig. 1, para. [0030]- [0052]) is in motion (i.e., motion sensor; motion sensor, and the like. These and other input devices may be connected to the one or more processors 803 via a human machine interface 802 that is coupled to the bus 813; see for example fig. 8 para. [0092]).
Ong does not explicitly disclose to prevent activation of the fan.
Chen discloses (100, see for example fig. 1, para. [0020]) a heat flux of a plurality of vents of a device by at least one heat flux sensor and generating a fan control signal to control at least one fan of the device; wherein to prevent activation of the fan (i.e., the controller module 140 may include a power saving mode that generates a fan control signal to decrease the fan speed of the fan 120 (including possibly a full stop of the fan 120) when the measured heat flux of the plurality of the vents 110 is higher than a target heat flux; see para. [0020])
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included switching off the fan during the electronic device mobility in Ong, as taught by Chen, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards ensuring stable operation.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ong (US Publication No. 20210232475) in view of Shaw et al (US Publication No. 20130344794).
Regarding claim 9, Ong discloses the apparatus (100, see for example fig. 1, para. [0030]- [0052]).
Ong does not explicitly disclose including a global positioning system to determine a location of the electronic device, one or more of the at least one programmable circuitry to determine a climate based on the location and to determine when to apply the power to the fan based on the climate.
Shaw discloses (100, 126, see for example fig. 1, para. [0018]- [0020]) climate regulation within an enclosure (e.g., a case of a workstation or a rack or cabinet of servers) may be achieved through a climate regulator featuring several selectable climate regulator settings (e.g., a variable-speed fan array); wherein a global positioning system (i.e., (GPS) receiver); see para. [0035]) to determine a location of the electronic device (100, 126, see for example fig. 1, para. [0018]- [0020]), one or more of the at least one programmable circuitry (i.e., to encompass a computer program accessible from any computer-readable device, carrier, or media; see para. [0058]) to determine a climate (i.e., the climate regulator settings of climate regulators are adjusted based on detected or predicted climate conditions within the enclosure; see para. [0004]) based on the location (i.e., (GPS) receiver); see para. [0035]) and to determine when to apply the power to the fan (i.e., 110; see for example fig. 1, para. [0018]- [0020]) based on the climate (i.e., the climate regulator settings of climate regulators are adjusted based on detected or predicted climate conditions within the enclosure; see para. [0004]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the climate operational fan in Ong, as taught by Shaw, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards improving the efficiency and the reliability of the electronic device.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ong (US Publication No. 20210232475) in view of Lee et al (US Publication No. 20030173915).
Regarding claim 10, Ong discloses the apparatus (100, see for example fig. 1, para. [0030]- [0052]), wherein one or more of the at least one programmable circuitry (i.e., 106, 108; Each of the first component 106 and the second component 108 may be a communication module; a transceiver; a motherboard component; a sensor; a memory; a video card; a peripheral device; an optical drive; a resistor; a capacitor; and/or the like; see para. [0030]) is to monitor (i.e., monitor; the electronic device 202A may monitor the one or more hardware parameters (e.g., via the plurality of sensors) while the maintenance procedure is being performed; see for example fig. 2A, para. [0040]) fan usage (i.e., operation time; the one or more hardware parameters may include an internal temperature within the electronic device 302, a rotational speed of the component 303, a difference in the internal temperature over a period of time, a combination thereof, and/or the like; see for example fig. 3, para. [0062]) of the fan (i.e., 101A-101E; Each of the plurality of cooling components 101A-101E may be a cooling fan; see para. [0030]), and of activating rotation of the fan (i.e., 101A-101E; Each of the plurality of cooling components 101A-101E may be a cooling fan; see para. [0030]) based on the fan usage (i.e., operation time; The control device 110 may send an instruction directly to the one or more of the pluralities of cooling components 101A-101E that causes the maintenance procedure to be performed at the determined time for the determined duration; see para. [0035]).
Ong does not explicitly disclose adjust a frequency of activating rotation of the fan.
Lee discloses (202, see for example fig. 202, para. [0018]); wherein adjust a frequency (i.e., rotation rate; see para. [0018]) of activating rotation (i.e., actual rotation rate A can be of frequency signals; see para. [0018]) of the fan (i.e., 206; see for example fig. 202, para. [0018]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the adjusted frequency fan in Ong, as taught by Lee, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards saving energy and reducing noise.
Regarding claim 11, Ong in view of Lee and the teachings of Ong as modified by Lee have been discussed above.
Ong further discloses the apparatus (100, see for example fig. 1, para. [0030]- [0052]), wherein, in response to the determination (i.e., determination; the electronic device may cause the cooling component to perform the maintenance procedure at the determined time and for the determined duration; see for example para. [0028]) that the electronic device (100, see for example fig. 1, para. [0030]- [0052]) is in a gaming mode (i.e., software/hardware parameters via game port; These and other input devices may be connected to the one or more processors 803 via a human machine interface 802 that is coupled to the bus 813, but may be connected by other interface and bus structures, such as a parallel port, game port, an IEEE 1394 Port (also known as a Firewire port), a serial port, network adapter 817, and/or a universal serial bus (USB); see for example fig. 8, para. [0092]), one or more of the at least one programmable circuitry (i.e., 106, 108; Each of the first component 106 and the second component 108 may be a communication module; a transceiver; a motherboard component; a sensor; a memory; a video card; a peripheral device; an optical drive; a resistor; a capacitor; and/or the like; see para. [0030]) is to increase a duration (i.e., duration; The duration for performing the maintenance procedure may correspond to a length of time that is based on the interval of time (e.g., interval of time may between 2:00 AM and 4:15 AM, and the duration of time may be at most 2 hours and 15 minutes). The duration may be fixed (e.g., a set amount of time) or it may be dynamic; see for example para. [0027]) of operating the fan (i.e., 101A-101E; Each of the plurality of cooling components 101A-101E may be a cooling fan; see para. [0030]) in the second mode of operation (i.e., a second temperature threshold; The performance threshold is exceeded when an absolute value of the difference (e.g., a difference between the temperature before and after performing the maintenance procedure) is greater than a second temperature threshold (e.g., the difference may be 8 degrees, while the second temperature threshold may be 10 degrees). This may indicate that the maintenance procedure was not effective, since the present temperature has not changed by an amount indicated by the second temperature threshold; see para. [0038]).
Claim 20 is canceled.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MUAAMAR QAHTAN AL-TAWEEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838