This non-final rejection is in response to the application remarks 04/11/2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,2,11,12,16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chandrashekar et al, US 20240323707 A1, in view of Wu et al, US 20200229049 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Chandrashekar discloses A method for managing user experiences during a cellular telecommunication network outage involving a radio resource management (RRM) module, the method comprising.
The DU detecting there exists a failure in communication between the DU and a corresponding central unit control plane (CU-CP) of a 5G NR centralized unit (CU) (Fig. 1 [0035] [0038] DU 112 detects the failure of CU-CP of CU 110, it may report it to the core network and/or CU 120.DU 112, may report to backup CU 120 that CU 110 has possibly developed a failure, before reporting to a node tasked with deciding on detecting failure of CU 110 that CU 110 has failed.)
Chandrashekar does not disclose including an RRM module in a distributed unit (DU) of a fifth-generation New Radio (5G NR) cellular telecommunication radio access network (RAN) provided by a particular mobile network operator and served by a particular 5G NR cellular site base station
However, Wu does disclose including an RRM module in a distributed unit (DU) ([0199][0202].the DU includes a radio resource management module and a DU-UE management control module. When the DU serves as the target DU, the handover request message which is sent by the CU during triggering the UE to switch between the DUs, apply to the radio resource management module for the radio resource admission)of a fifth-generation New Radio (5G NR) cellular telecommunication radio access network (RAN) provided by a particular mobile network operator and served by a particular 5G NR cellular site base station ([0002][0177] (A 5G base station) may be divided into two functional entities, namely a Centralized Unit (CU) and a Distributed Unit (DU). There are interfaces between the CU and the core network, the neighbor base station and the DU established on the CU, the CU is responsible for the synergy inside and outside the base station);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify including an RRM module in a distributed unit (DU) of Chandrashekar with of a fifth-generation New Radio (5G NR) cellular telecommunication radio access network (RAN) provided by a particular mobile network operator and served by a particular 5G NR cellular site base station as taught by Wu. The motivation for doing so would be to improve the processing efficiency of the CU and the DU. (Wu, [0046])
Regarding claims 2,12, and 17 Chandrashekar discloses The method/ system(as recited in claim 12)/ non-transitory computer-readable storage medium(as recited in claim 17) wherein the DU detecting there exists a failure in communication between the DU and a corresponding central unit control plane (CU-CP) includes the DU detecting an inactive network link to the CU-CP or detecting an inactive CU-CP (Fig. 1 [0035][0038] DU 112 detects the failure of CU-CP of CU 110, it may report it to the core network and/or CU 120.DU 112, may report to backup CU 120 that CU 110 has possibly developed a failure, before reporting to a node tasked with deciding on detecting failure of CU 110 that CU 110 has failed.).
Regarding claim 11, Chandrashekar discloses A system for managing user experiences during a cellular telecommunication network outage involving a radio resource management (RRM) module, the system comprising.
At least one memory that stores computer executable instructions ([0047] Memory 320 may comprise computer instructions that processor 310 is configured to execute.);
and at least one processor that executes the computer executable instructions to cause actions to be performed, the actions including ([0047] Computer instructions configured to cause processor 310 to perform certain actions are stored in memory 320.):
and the DU detecting there exists a failure in communication between the DU and a corresponding central unit control plane (CU-CP) of a 5G NR centralized unit (CU) (Fig. 1 [0035] [0038] DU 112 detects the failure of CU-CP of CU 110, it may report it to the core network and/or CU 120.DU 112, may report to backup CU 120 that CU 110 has possibly developed a failure, before reporting to a node tasked with deciding on detecting failure of CU 110 that CU 110 has failed.).
Chandrashekar does not disclose including an RRM module in a distributed unit (DU) of a fifth-generation New Radio (5G NR) cellular telecommunication radio access network (RAN) provided by a particular mobile network operator and served by a particular 5G NR cellular site base station
However, Wu does disclose including an RRM module in a distributed unit (DU) ([0199][0202] the DU includes a radio resource management module and a DU-UE management control module. When the DU serves as the target DU, the handover request message which is sent by the CU during triggering the UE to switch between the DUs, apply to the radio resource management module for the radio resource admission) of a fifth-generation New Radio (5G NR) cellular telecommunication radio access network (RAN) provided by a particular mobile network operator and served by a particular 5G NR cellular site base station([0002][0177] (A 5G base station) may be divided into two functional entities, namely a Centralized Unit (CU) and a Distributed Unit (DU). There are interfaces between the CU and the core network, the neighbor base station and the DU established on the CU, the CU is responsible for the synergy inside and outside the base station).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify including an RRM module in a distributed unit (DU) of Chandrashekar with of a fifth-generation New Radio (5G NR) cellular telecommunication radio access network (RAN) provided by a particular mobile network operator and served by a particular 5G NR cellular site base station as taught by Wu. The motivation for doing so would be to improve the processing efficiency of the CU and the DU. (Wu, [0046])
Regarding claim 16, Chandrashekar teaches A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having computer- executable instructions stored thereon that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to cause actions to be performed, the actions including ([0047] Memory 320 may comprise computer instructions that processor 310 is configured to execute. Computer instructions configured to cause processor 310 to perform certain actions are stored in memory 320.):
and the DU detecting there exists a failure in communication between the DU and a corresponding central unit control plane (CU-CP) of a 5G NR centralized unit (CU) (Fig. 1 [0035] [0038] DU 112 detects the failure of CU-CP of CU 110, it may report it to the core network and/or CU 120.DU 112, may report to backup CU 120 that CU 110 has possibly developed a failure, before reporting to a node tasked with deciding on detecting failure of CU 110 that CU 110 has failed.).
wherein the DU detecting there exists the failure in communication between the DU and the corresponding central unit control plane (CU-CP) includes the DU detecting an inactive network link to the CU-CP or detecting an inactive CU-CP (Fig. 1 [0035] [0038] The failure of CU-CP of CU 110 may be detected by CU 120, a DU or by core network 140. DU 112 detects the failure of CU-CP of CU 110, it may report it to the core network and/or CU 120.DU 112, may report to backup CU 120 that CU 110 has possibly developed a failure, before reporting to a node tasked with deciding on detecting failure of CU 110 that CU 110 has failed.).
Chandrashekar does not disclose including an RRM module in a distributed unit (DU) of a fifth-generation New Radio (5G NR) cellular telecommunication radio access network (RAN) provided by a particular mobile network operator and served by a particular 5G NR cellular site base station.
However, Wu does disclose including an RRM module in a distributed unit (DU) ([0199][0202] the DU includes a radio resource management module and a DU-UE management control module. When the DU serves as the target DU, the handover request message which is sent by the CU during triggering the UE to switch between the DUs, apply to the radio resource management module for the radio resource admission) of a fifth-generation New Radio (5G NR) cellular telecommunication radio access network (RAN) provided by a particular mobile network operator and served by a particular 5G NR cellular site base station ([0002][0177] (A 5G base station) may be divided into two functional entities, namely a Centralized Unit (CU) and a Distributed Unit (DU). There are interfaces between the CU and the core network, the neighbor base station and the DU established on the CU, the CU is responsible for the synergy inside and outside the base station).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify including an RRM module in a distributed unit (DU) of Chandrashekar with of a fifth-generation New Radio (5G NR) cellular telecommunication radio access network (RAN) provided by a particular mobile network operator and served by a particular 5G NR cellular site base station as taught by Wu. The motivation for doing so would be to improve the processing efficiency of the CU and the DU. (Wu, [0046])
Claims 3-10,13-15,18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chandrashekar et al, US 20240323707 A1, in view of Wu et al, US 20200229049 A1., and further in view of Cheng et al, US 20200077310 A1.
Regarding claim 3, Chandrashekar discloses The method further comprising the DU detecting an inactive network link to the CU-CP(Fig. 1 [0035] [0038] DU 112 detects the failure of CU-CP of CU 110, it may report it to the core network and/or CU 120.DU 112, may report to backup CU 120 that CU 110 has possibly developed a failure).
Chandrashekar and Wu do not disclose The method wherein in response to detecting an inactive CU-CP network link activating the radio resource management (RRM) module of the DU instead of sending a radio resource control (RRC) connection release message to user equipment devices (UEs) connected to the DU, the DU immediately redirecting the UEs to use services of a wireless carrier roaming partner of the particular mobile network operator or another cellular telecommunications service carrier of the particular mobile network operator serviced by another cellular site base station.
However, Cheng discloses The method wherein in response to detecting an inactive CU-CP network link activating the radio resource management (RRM) module of the DU instead of sending a radio resource control (RRC) connection release message to user equipment devices (UEs) connected to the DU, the DU immediately redirecting the UEs to use services of a wireless carrier roaming partner of the particular mobile network operator or another cellular telecommunications service carrier of the particular mobile network operator serviced by another cellular site base station([0028] The gNB/DU may then transmit a network connection failure indication to the UE to inform the UE that the network connection has failed by means including MAC, DCI, or an RRC message such as a system information. The UE may then perform a connection redirection procedure to connect to another network access node in response to receiving the network connection failure indication from its serving gNB-remote/DU. The gNB/DU may then transmit a network connection failure indication to the UE to inform the UE that the network connection has failed by means including an RRC message.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chandrashekar and Wu with The method wherein in response to detecting an inactive CU-CP network link activating the radio resource management (RRM) module of the DU instead of sending a radio resource control (RRC) connection release message to user equipment devices (UEs) connected to the DU, the DU immediately redirecting the UEs to use services of a wireless carrier roaming partner of the particular mobile network operator or another cellular telecommunications service carrier of the particular mobile network operator serviced by another cellular site base station as taught by Cheng to reduce the amount of required network activities upon detecting a backhaul connection failure.(Cheng, [0027])
Regarding claim 4, Chandrashekar discloses The method further comprising the DU detecting an inactive network link to the CU-CP(Fig. 1 [0035] [0038] DU 112 detects the failure of CU-CP of CU 110, it may report it to the core network and/or CU 120.DU 112, may report to backup CU 120 that CU 110 has possibly developed a failure).
Chandrashekar does not disclose the RRM module in the DU.
However, Wu does disclose the RRM module in the DU([0199][0202] the DU includes a radio resource management module and a DU-UE management control module. When the DU serves as the target DU, the handover request message which is sent by the CU during triggering the UE to switch between the DUs, apply to the radio resource management module for the radio resource admission).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chandrashekar with the RRM module in the DU as taught by Wu. The motivation for doing so would be to improve the processing efficiency of the CU and the DU. (Wu, [0046])
Chandrashekar and Wu do not disclose The method wherein in response to detecting an inactive CU-CP network link instead of sending an RRC connection release message to the UEs connected to the DU, immediately redirects the UEs to use services of a wireless carrier roaming partner of the particular mobile network operator.
However, Cheng discloses The method wherein in response to detecting an inactive CU-CP network link instead of sending an RRC connection release message to the UEs connected to the DU, immediately redirects the UEs to use services of a wireless carrier roaming partner of the particular mobile network operator ([0028] The gNB/DU may then transmit a network connection failure indication to the UE to inform the UE that the network connection has failed by means including MAC, DCI, or an RRC message such as a system information. The UE may then perform a connection redirection procedure to connect to another network access node in response to receiving the network connection failure indication from its serving gNB-remote/DU. The gNB/DU may then transmit a network connection failure indication to the UE to inform the UE that the network connection has failed by means including an RRC message.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chandrashekar and Wu with The method wherein in response to detecting an inactive CU-CP network link instead of sending an RRC connection release message to the UEs connected to the DU, immediately redirects the UEs to use services of a wireless carrier roaming partner of the particular mobile network operator as taught by Cheng. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce the amount of required network activities upon detecting a backhaul connection failure.(Cheng, [0027])
Regarding claim 5, 15, and 20 Chandrashekar discloses The method/system(as recited in claim 15)/ non-transitory computer-readable storage medium(as recited in claim 20) wherein detecting an inactive network link to the CU-CP(Fig. 1 [0035] [0038] DU 112 detects the failure of CU-CP of CU 110, it may report it to the core network and/or CU 120.DU 112, may report to backup CU 120 that CU 110 has possibly developed a failure).
Chandrashekar does not disclose the RRM module in the DU.
However, Wu discloses the RRM module in the DU ([0199] [0202] The DU includes a radio resource management module and a DU-UE management control module. When the DU serves as the target DU, the handover request message which is sent by the CU during triggering the UE to switch between the DUs, apply to the radio resource management module for the radio resource admission).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chandrashekar with the RRM module in the DU as taught by Wu. The motivation for doing so would be to improve the processing efficiency of the CU and the DU. (Wu, [0046])
Chandrashekar and Wu do not disclose The method/system(as recited in claim 15)/ non-transitory computer-readable storage medium(as recited in claim 20)wherein in response to detecting an inactive CU-CP network link instead of sending an RRC connection release message to the UEs connected to the DU, immediately redirects the UEs to use services of another cellular telecommunications service carrier of the particular mobile network operator serviced by another cellular site base station.
However, Cheng discloses The method/system(as recited in claim 15)/ non-transitory computer-readable storage medium(as recited in claim 20)wherein in response to detecting an inactive CU-CP network link instead of sending an RRC connection release message to the UEs connected to the DU, immediately redirects the UEs to use services of another cellular telecommunications service carrier of the particular mobile network operator serviced by another cellular site base station([0028] The gNB/DU may then transmit a network connection failure indication to the UE to inform the UE that the network connection has failed by means including MAC, DCI, or an RRC message such as a system information. The UE may then perform a connection redirection procedure to connect to another network access node in response to receiving the network connection failure indication from its serving gNB-remote/DU. The gNB/DU may then transmit a network connection failure indication to the UE to inform the UE that the network connection has failed by means including an RRC message.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chandrashekar and Wu with The method/system(as recited in claim 15)/ non-transitory computer-readable storage medium(as recited in claim 20)wherein in response to detecting an inactive CU-CP network link instead of sending an RRC connection release message to the UEs connected to the DU, immediately redirects the UEs to use services of another cellular telecommunications service carrier of the particular mobile network operator serviced by another cellular site base station as taught by Cheng. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce the amount of required network activities upon detecting a backhaul connection failure. (Cheng, [0027])
Regarding claim 6, Chandrashekar does not disclose the RRM in the DU.
However, Wu does disclose the RRM in the DU.
However, Wu does disclose the RRM in the DU ([0199] [0202] The DU includes a radio resource management module and a DU-UE management control module. When the DU serves as the target DU, the handover request message which is sent by the CU during triggering the UE to switch between the DUs, apply to the radio resource management module for the radio resource admission).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chandrashekar with the RRM module in the DU as taught by Wu. The motivation for doing so would be to improve the processing efficiency of the CU and the DU. (Wu, [0046])
Chandrashekar and Wu do not disclose The method further comprising before the DU detecting there exists the failure in communication between the DU and the corresponding CU-CP pre-configuring to send the radio resource control RRC connection release message to the UEs after detecting there exists the failure in communication between the DU and the corresponding CU-CP according to one or more preconfigured triggers.
However, Cheng discloses The method further comprising before the DU detecting there exists the failure in communication between the DU and the corresponding CU-CP pre-configuring to send the radio resource control RRC connection release message to the UEs after detecting there exists the failure in communication between the DU and the corresponding CU-CP according to one or more preconfigured triggers ([0028] The gNB/DU may then transmit a network connection failure indication to the UE to inform the UE that the network connection has failed by means including MAC, DCI, or an RRC message such as a system information. The UE may then perform a connection redirection procedure to connect to another network access node in response to receiving the network connection failure indication from its serving gNB-remote/DU. In response to detecting backhaul connection failure, the gNB-remote/DU may implement a pre-configured handover procedure. The trigger for the pre-configured handover procedure could be communicated through an RRC message.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chandrashekar and Wu with The method further comprising before the DU detecting there exists the failure in communication between the DU and the corresponding CU-CP pre-configuring to send the radio resource control RRC connection release message to the UEs after detecting there exists the failure in communication between the DU and the corresponding CU-CP according to one or more preconfigured triggers as taught by Cheng. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce the amount of required network activities upon detecting a backhaul connection failure.(Cheng, [0027])
Regarding claims 7 and 9 Chandrashekar and Wu do not discloses The method wherein the pre-configuring is performed network orchestrator or another external entity outside the RAN
However, Cheng discloses The method wherein the pre-configuring is performed network orchestrator or another external entity outside the RAN ([0028-0029] The gNBremote/DU may implement a pre-configured handover procedure. The nodes may include all network access nodes between the gNB-remote/DU and the gNB-head/CU in the RAN.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chandrashekar and Wu with The method wherein the pre-configuring is performed network orchestrator or another external entity outside the RAN as taught by Cheng. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce the amount of required network activities upon detecting a backhaul connection failure. (Cheng, [0027])
Regarding claim 8, Chandrashekar does not disclose the RRM in the DU.
However, Wu does disclose the RRM in the DU([0199] [0202] The DU includes a radio resource management module and a DU-UE management control module. When the DU serves as the target DU, the handover request message which is sent by the CU during triggering the UE to switch between the DUs, apply to the radio resource management module for the radio resource admission).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chandrashekar with the RRM module in the DU as taught by Wu. The motivation for doing so would be to improve the processing efficiency of the CU and the DU. (Wu, [0046])
Chandrashekar and Wu do not disclose The method further comprising. Before the DU detecting there exists the failure in communication between the DU and the corresponding CU-CP pre-configuring to perform one or more actions regarding redirecting the UEs to reduce service interruption after detecting there exists the failure in communication between the DU and the corresponding CU-CP according to one or more preconfigured triggers.
However, Cheng discloses The method further comprising. Before the DU detecting there exists the failure in communication between the DU and the corresponding CU-CP pre-configuring to perform one or more actions regarding redirecting the UEs to reduce service interruption after detecting there exists the failure in communication between the DU and the corresponding CU-CP according to one or more preconfigured triggers ( [0028-0029] The gNB/DU may then transmit a network connection failure indication to the UE to inform the UE that the network connection has failed by means including MAC, DCI, or an RRC message such as a system information. The UE may then perform a connection redirection procedure to connect to another network access node in response to receiving the network connection failure indication from its serving gNB-remote/DU. In response to detecting backhaul connection failure, the gNB-remote/DU may implement a pre-configured handover procedure. The trigger for the pre-configured handover procedure could be communicated through an RRC message.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chandrashekar and Wu with pre-configuring to perform one or more actions regarding redirecting the UEs to reduce service interruption after detecting there exists the failure in communication between the DU and the corresponding CU-CP according to one or more pre-configured triggers as taught by Cheng. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce the amount of required network activities upon detecting a backhaul connection failure.(Cheng, [0027])
Regarding claim 10, Chandrashekar discloses another cellular telecommunications service carrier of the particular mobile network ([0048] such as those used in a radio-access and core network of a cellular communication network.)
Chandrashekar and Wu do not disclose The method wherein the one or more actions include: redirecting one or more of the UEs to use a particular pre-configured frequency; redirecting one or more of the UEs to use services of a particular wireless carrier roaming partner of the particular mobile network operator; or redirecting one or more of the UEs to use services operator serviced by another cellular site base station
However, Cheng discloses The method wherein the one or more actions include: redirecting one or more of the UEs to use a particular pre-configured frequency( [0028-0029] In response to detecting backhaul connection failure, the gNB-remote/DU may implement a pre-configured handover procedure. The UE may then perform a connection redirection procedure to connect to another network access node in response to receiving the network connection failure indication from its serving gNB-remote/DU.);
redirecting one or more of the UEs to use services of a particular wireless carrier roaming partner of the particular mobile network operator (FIG. 7 [0028][0051] The UE may then perform a connection redirection procedure to connect to another network access node in response to receiving the network connection failure indication from its serving gNB-remote/DU. The concept of the network access node could be extended to any remote access node that is controlled by a base station of the RAN.);
or redirecting one or more of the UEs to use services operator serviced by another cellular site base station(optional element not required).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chandrashekar and Wu with The method wherein the one or more actions include: redirecting one or more of the UEs to use a particular pre-configured frequency; redirecting one or more of the UEs to use services of a particular wireless carrier roaming partner of the particular mobile network operator; or redirecting one or more of the UEs to use services operator serviced by another cellular site base station as taught by Cheng. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce the amount of required network activities upon detecting a backhaul connection failure. (Cheng, [0027])
Regarding claim 13, Chandrashekar discloses The system wherein the at least one processor executes the computer executable instructions to cause further actions to be performed including ([0047] Memory 320 may comprise computer instructions that processor 310 is configured to execute. Computer instructions configured to cause processor 310 to perform certain actions are stored in memory 320.):
The method further comprising the DU detecting an inactive network link to the CU-CP (Fig. 1 [0035] [0038] DU 112 detects the failure of CU-CP of CU 110, it may report it to the core network and/or CU 120.DU 112, may report to backup CU 120 that CU 110 has possibly developed a failure).
Chandrashekar and Wu do not disclose The method wherein in response to detecting an inactive CU-CP network link activating the radio resource management (RRM) module of the DU; instead of sending a radio resource control (RRC) connection release message to user equipment devices (UEs) connected to the DU, the DU immediately redirecting the UEs to use services of a wireless carrier roaming partner of the particular mobile network operator or another cellular telecommunications service carrier of the particular mobile network operator serviced by another cellular site base station.
However, Cheng discloses The method wherein in response to detecting an inactive CU-CP network link activating the radio resource management (RRM) module of the DU; instead of sending a radio resource control (RRC) connection release message to user equipment devices (UEs) connected to the DU, the DU immediately redirecting the UEs to use services of a wireless carrier roaming partner of the particular mobile network operator or another cellular telecommunications service carrier of the particular mobile network operator serviced by another cellular site base station ([0028] The gNB/DU may then transmit a network connection failure indication to the UE to inform the UE that the network connection has failed by means including MAC, DCI, or an RRC message such as a system information. The UE may then perform a connection redirection procedure to connect to another network access node in response to receiving the network connection failure indication from its serving gNB-remote/DU. The gNB/DU may then transmit a network connection failure indication to the UE to inform the UE that the network connection has failed by means including an RRC message.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chandrashekar and Wu with The method wherein in response to detecting an inactive CU-CP network link activating the radio resource management (RRM) module of the DU; instead of sending a radio resource control (RRC) connection release message to user equipment devices (UEs) connected to the DU, the DU immediately redirecting the UEs to use services of a wireless carrier roaming partner of the particular mobile network operator or another cellular telecommunications service carrier of the particular mobile network operator serviced by another cellular site base station as taught by Cheng. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce the amount of required network activities upon detecting a backhaul connection failure. (Cheng, [0027])
Regarding claim 14, Chandrashekar discloses The method further comprising the DU detecting an inactive network link to the CU-CP (Fig. 1 [0035] [0038] DU 112 detects the failure of CU-CP of CU 110, it may report it to the core network and/or CU 120.DU 112, may report to backup CU 120 that CU 110 has possibly developed a failure).
Chandrashekar does not disclose the RRM module in the DU.
However, Wu does disclose the RRM module in the DU([0199][0202] The DU includes a radio resource management module and a DU-UE management control module. When the DU serves as the target DU, the handover request message which is sent by the CU during triggering the UE to switch between the DUs, apply to the radio resource management module for the radio resource admission.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chandrashekar with the RRM module in the DU as taught by Wu. The motivation for doing so would be to improve the processing efficiency of the CU and the DU. (Wu, [0046])
Chandrashekar and Wu do not disclose The method wherein in response to detecting an inactive CU-CP network link instead of sending an RRC connection release message to the UEs connected to the DU, immediately redirects the UEs to use services of a wireless carrier roaming partner of the particular mobile network operator.
However, Cheng discloses The method wherein in response to detecting an inactive CU-CP network link instead of sending an RRC connection release message to the UEs connected to the DU, immediately redirects the UEs to use services of a wireless carrier roaming partner of the particular mobile network operator ([0028] The gNB/DU may then transmit a network connection failure indication to the UE to inform the UE that the network connection has failed by means including MAC, DCI, or an RRC message such as a system information. The UE may then perform a connection redirection procedure to connect to another network access node in response to receiving the network connection failure indication from its serving gNB-remote/DU.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chandrashekar and Wu with The method wherein in response to detecting an inactive CU-CP network link instead of sending an RRC connection release message to the UEs connected to the DU, immediately redirects the UEs to use services of a wireless carrier roaming partner of the particular mobile network operator as taught by Cheng. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce the amount of required network activities upon detecting a backhaul connection failure. (Cheng, [0027])
Regarding claim 15, Chandrashekar discloses The system wherein, to detecting an inactive network link to the CU-CP (Fig. 1 [0035] [0038] DU 112 detects the failure of CU-CP of CU 110, it may report it to the core network and/or CU 120.DU 112, may report to backup CU 120 that CU 110 has possibly developed a failure) .
Chandrashekar does not disclose the RRM module in the DU.
However, Wu does disclose the RRM module in the DU ([0199][0202] The DU includes a radio resource management module and a DU-UE management control module. When the DU serves as the target DU, the handover request message which is sent by the CU during triggering the UE to switch between the DUs, apply to the radio resource management module for the radio resource admission.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chandrashekar with the RRM module in the DU as taught by Wu. The motivation for doing so would be to improve the processing efficiency of the CU and the DU. (Wu, [0046])
Chandrashekar and Wu do not disclose The system wherein in response to detecting an inactive CU-CP network link instead of sending an RRC connection release message to the UEs connected to the DU, immediately redirects the UEs to use services of another cellular telecommunications service carrier of the particular mobile network operator serviced by another cellular site base station.
However, Cheng discloses The system wherein in response to detecting an inactive CU-CP network link instead of sending an RRC connection release message to the UEs connected to the DU, immediately redirects the UEs to use services of another cellular telecommunications service carrier of the particular mobile network operator serviced by another cellular site base station ([0028] The gNB/DU may then transmit a network connection failure indication to the UE to inform the UE that the network connection has failed by means including MAC, DCI, or an RRC message such as a system information. The UE may then perform a connection redirection procedure to connect to another network access node in response to receiving the network connection failure indication from its serving gNB-remote/DU. The gNB/DU may then transmit a network connection failure indication to the UE to inform the UE that the network connection has failed by means including an RRC message.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chandrashekar and Wu with The system wherein in response to detecting an inactive CU-CP network link instead of sending an RRC connection release message to the UEs connected to the DU, immediately redirects the UEs to use services of another cellular telecommunications service carrier of the particular mobile network operator serviced by another cellular site base station as taught by Cheng. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce the amount of required network activities upon detecting a backhaul connection failure. (Cheng, [0027])
Regarding claim 18, Chandrashekar discloses The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium wherein the DU detecting an inactive network link to the CU-CP (Fig. 1 [0035] [0038] DU 112 detects the failure of CU-CP of CU 110, it may report it to the core network and/or CU 120.DU 112, may report to backup CU 120 that CU 110 has possibly developed a failure):
Chandrashekar and Wu do not disclose The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium wherein in response to detecting an inactive CU-CP network link: activating the radio resource management (RRM) module of the DU and instead of sending a radio resource control (RRC) connection release message to user equipment devices (UEs) connected to the DU, the DU immediately redirecting the UEs to use services of a wireless carrier roaming partner of the particular mobile network operator or another cellular telecommunications service carrier of the particular mobile network operator serviced by another cellular site base station.
However, Cheng discloses The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium wherein in response to detecting an inactive CU-CP network link: activating the radio resource management (RRM) module of the DU and instead of sending a radio resource control (RRC) connection release message to user equipment devices (UEs) connected to the DU, the DU immediately redirecting the UEs to use services of a wireless carrier roaming partner of the particular mobile network operator or another cellular telecommunications service carrier of the particular mobile network operator serviced by another cellular site base station([0028] The gNB/DU may then transmit a network connection failure indication to the UE to inform the UE that the network connection has failed by means including MAC, DCI, or an RRC message such as a system information. The UE may then perform a connection redirection procedure to connect to another network access node in response to receiving the network connection failure indication from its serving gNB-remote/DU. The gNB/DU may then transmit a network connection failure indication to the UE to inform the UE that the network connection has failed by means including an RRC message.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chandrashekar and Wu with The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium wherein in response to detecting an inactive CU-CP network link: activating the radio resource management (RRM) module of the DU and instead of sending a radio resource control (RRC) connection release message to user equipment devices (UEs) connected to the DU, the DU immediately redirecting the UEs to use services of a wireless carrier roaming partner of the particular mobile network operator or another cellular telecommunications service carrier of the particular mobile network operator serviced by another cellular site base station as taught by Cheng. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce the amount of required network activities upon detecting a backhaul connection failure.(Cheng, [0027])
Regarding claim 19, Chandrashekar discloses The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium wherein the DU detecting an inactive network link to the CU-CP (Fig. 1 [0035] [0038] DU 112 detects the failure of CU-CP of CU 110, it may report it to the core network and/or CU 120.DU 112, may report to backup CU 120 that CU 110 has possibly developed a failure):
Chandrashekar does not disclose the RRM module in the DU.
However, Wu discloses the RRM module in the DU([0199][0202] the DU includes a radio resource management module and a DU-UE management control module. When the DU serves as the target DU, the handover request message which is sent by the CU during triggering the UE to switch between the DUs, apply to the radio resource management module for the radio resource admission);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chandrashekar with the RRM module in the DU as taught by Wu. The motivation for doing so would be to improve the processing efficiency of the CU and the DU. (Wu, [0046])
Chandrashekar and Wu do not disclose The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium wherein in response to detecting an inactive network link to the CU-CP or detecting an inactive CU-CP instead of sending an RRC connection release message to the UEs connected to the DU, immediately redirects the UEs to use services of a wireless carrier roaming partner of the particular mobile network operator.
However, Cheng discloses The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium wherein in response to detecting an inactive network link to the CU-CP or detecting an inactive CU-CP instead of sending an RRC connection release message to the UEs connected to the DU, immediately redirects the UEs to use services of a wireless carrier roaming partner of the particular mobile network operator ([0028] The gNB/DU may then transmit a network connection failure indication to the UE to inform the UE that the network connection has failed by means including MAC, DCI, or an RRC message such as a system information. The UE may then perform a connection redirection procedure to connect to another network access node in response to receiving the network connection failure indication from its serving gNB-remote/DU. The gNB/DU may then transmit a network connection failure indication to the UE to inform the UE that the network connection has failed by means including an RRC message.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chandrashekar and Wu with The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium wherein in response to detecting an inactive network link to the CU-CP or detecting an inactive CU-CP instead of sending an RRC connection release message to the UEs connected to the DU, immediately redirects the UEs to use services of a wireless carrier roaming partner of the particular mobile network operator as taught by Cheng. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce the amount of required network activities upon detecting a backhaul connection failure.(Cheng, [0027])
Conclusion
/RYA TEON NELSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419