DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “attaching part” in claims 1-8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ishizawa (JP 2013-244583), reference made to the translated document submitted by applicant on 07/05/2022.
Regarding claim 1, Ishizawa discloses a shank 14 of a head-replaceable cutting tool 11, comprising an attaching part 16 to which a head 1 is attached, wherein the shank is L-shaped (Figs 1-2, 4-5), having exactly one stepped portion 11a on one side extending in a direction perpendicular to an axis of the shank (shown in the annotated figure below), and the attaching part 16 is arranged in the stepped portion at an off-center position relative to the axis of the shank (Fig 4, the lower attaching part 16 is off center of the longitudinal axis shown in the annotated figure).
Regarding claim 2, Ishizawa discloses the shank according to claim 1, wherein the axis of the shank corresponds to an axis that extends in a longitudinal direction of the shank (shown in the annotated figure above), and the attaching part 16 for the head is arranged so as to be off-center in the direction perpendicular to the axis (Fig 4, the lower attaching part 16 is off center of the longitudinal axis shown in the annotated figure).
Regarding claim 3, Ishizawa discloses the shank according to claim 1, wherein the axis of the shank extends in a longitudinal direction of the shank (shown in the annotated figure above), and the attaching part is arranged so as to be off- center relative to the axis of the shank along a feeding direction of a workpiece, the workpiece being an object to be cut ([0057]).
Regarding claim 4, Ishizawa discloses the shank according to claim 1, comprising one or more additional attaching parts 16 (Fig 4).
Regarding claim 5, Ishizawa discloses the shank according to claim 4, wherein the one or more additional attaching parts are arranged along a direction in which the attaching part is arranged off-center (Fig 4, the lower attaching part 16 is off center of the longitudinal axis shown in the annotated figure).
Regarding claim 6, Ishizawa discloses the shank according to claim 4, wherein one of the one or more additional attaching parts 16 is arranged at a position on the axis of the shank (Fig 4, shown in the annotated figure below claim 1).
Regarding claim 9, Ishizawa discloses a cutting tool 11 comprising a shank according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, Ishizawa discloses the shank according to claim 1, wherein a cross-section of the shank 14 in the direction perpendicular to the axis of the shank is rectangular (Figs 1-2, 4-5 show the cross-section of a square).
Regarding claim 11, Ishizawa discloses the shank according to claim 1, wherein the attaching part 16 is arranged such that the head 1 extends parallel to the axis of the shank when the head is attached to the attaching part (Fig 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishizawa as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lin (US 20100322722 A1).
Regarding claims 7-8, Ishizawa discloses the shank according to claim 1. Ishizawa does not explicitly disclose an oil hole configured to discharge cutting oil toward the head attached to the attaching part. Ishizawa also does not explicitly disclose the oil hole is provided on a surface where the attaching part is arranged, at a portion other than the attaching part.
However, Lin teaches an oil hole (152,18) configured to discharge cutting oil toward the head 20 attached to the attaching part 12 ([0025]). In addition, Lin teaches the oil hole (152, 18) is provided on a surface where the attaching part (12) is arranged (Figs 1-4), at a portion other than the attaching part (12) (Figs 1-4).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ishizawa to include the cutting oil hole as taught by Lin in order to increase the efficiency and precision of the cutting as a result of utilizing the cutting liquid at the cutter (Lin, [0010]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection relies on a new combination of references than that applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/ERIC DANIEL WHITMIRE/Examiner, Art Unit 3722
/SUNIL K SINGH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3722