DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This communication is considered fully responsive to the amendment filed on 07/21/2026. Claims 1-3 and 16 have been amended. Claims 4, 12, and 17 were previously canceled. Thus, claims 1-3, 5-11, 13-16, and 18-20 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-3, 5-11, 13-16, and 18-20 filed 07/21/2026 have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments related solely to newly added limitations addressed in the instant Office Action with newly identified prior art with previously identified prior arts by mapping the relevant teachings for more clarification thereof that read on said added features, thus rendering Applicant’s arguments moot.
In particular, (i) Applicant’s assertion that Deng et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20190036569, hereinafter “Deng”) fails to teach “wherein the first configuration establishes an interference relationship between the plurality of links, the interference relationship indicating that the first link of the plurality of links causes interference to the second link of the plurality of links” is not persuasive. Deng discloses sending “CSI reporting mode indication information” (interpreted as the “first configuration”) to instruct joint CSI measurement based on N pieces of associated CSI measurement configuration information. Deng explicitly teaches in paragraph [0149] that:
[0149] in a process in which the terminal performs joint CSI measurement according to the first CSI reporting mode indication information, the terminal may first determine a PMI corresponding to a CSI-RS indicated by each of the N pieces of associated CSI measurement configuration information, and determine, based on a downlink channel and interference that are corresponding to each of the N pieces of associated CSI measurement configuration information, a CQI corresponding to each of the N pieces of associated CSI measurement configuration information... The interference corresponding to the CSI measurement configuration information includes interference outside antenna ports specified by the N pieces of associated CSI measurement configuration information, and interference obtained after corresponding PMI processing is performed on one piece of CSI measurement configuration information other than the CSI measurement configuration information.
Deng further clarifies in paragraphs [0173]- [0174] that “an equivalent channel of the cell 2 may act as interference to the cell 1 when equivalent interference to the cell 1.”
Therefore, Deng’s first CSI reporting mode indication information explicitly establishes an interference relationship where the transmission (PMI) of one link directly causes interference to another link.
(ii) Applicant argues that Deng and Kang are devoid of selecting a PMI that causes a lowest interference to the second link. However, Kim et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20140016508, hereinafter “Kim”) explicitly teaches a method for mitigating inter-cell interference by determining a precoding matrix index in which the interference is minimized
[0016] of Kim: a method for mitigating inter-cell interference includes measuring the channel from at least one neighboring base station generating interference with a signal received from a serving base station, determining... a second precoding matrix index in which the interference is minimized.
Specifically, Kim discloses applying a precoding matrix in which the signal strength of the serving base station is maximized and the signal strengths of neighboring base stations are minimized.
[0069] of Kim: a precoding matrix is applied in which signal strength of the serving base station is maximized and signal strengths of neighboring base stations are minimized.
Furthermore, Kim teaches that a scheduler determines the precoding matrix of adjacent base stations by combining this precoding matrix information to mitigate interference entering a corresponding mobile station
[0042] of Kim: A scheduler can determine a precoding matrix of a plurality of adjacent base stations by combining precoding matrix information received from the mobile station. Since channels of the adjacent base stations are considered, interference entering a corresponding mobile station from the adjacent base stations can be mitigated.
[0076] of Kim: To effectively use wireless resources based on information received via the backbone network, the scheduler may select or combine a precoding matrix suitable for each base station according to a specific scheduling algorithm and determine a PMI for each base station, in step S45.
[0112] of Kim: The scheduler performs scheduling by determining a PMI used between base stations through the precoding matrix set information and thus interference from neighboring cells can be mitigated, thereby improving a received SINR performance of a mobile station.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the joint CSI measurement and feedback method of Deng and Kang by incorporating the interference-minimizing PMI selection mechanism taught by Kim. The motivation would be to optimize network performance and actively mitigate cross-link interference in the coordinated multi-point (CoMP) system described by Deng, intentionally selecting a data transmission PMI for a first link that minimize (cause the lowest) interference to a second link to improve the overall Signal-to-interference-plus-Noise Ratio (SINR).
Therefore, the Applicant’s arguments overall are deemed unpersuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13 and 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Regarding Claims 13 and 15, the claims do not add more new features to the features of their dependent claim 3. The Applicant may add new features in the future amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-11, 13-16, and 18-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20190036569, hereinafter “Deng”) in view of Kang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20220201502, hereinafter “Kang”), and further in view of Kim et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20140016508, hereinafter “Kim”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Deng unless otherwise mentioned.
With respect to independent claims:
Regarding claim 1, Deng teaches A method, comprising:
determining, by a wireless communication node, a first configuration of a plurality of channel state information (CSI) reports corresponding to a plurality of links, the first configuration including a plurality of identifiers corresponding to the plurality of CSI reports (para [0123]: A base station sends CSI reporting mode indication information, where the CSI reporting mode indication information (interpreted as “the first configuration”) is used to instruct to perform joint CSI measurement and feedback based on N pieces of associated CSI measurement configuration information, and N is an integer greater than 1 (interpreted as “a plurality of channel state information (CSI) reports corresponding to a plurality of links”)) (para [0127]: The N pieces of associated CSI measurement configuration information in this step may be configured by the base station for the terminal. As described above, the N pieces of associated CSI measurement configuration information may be configured for the terminal by using one CSI process, N CSI processes, or M (M is an integer greater than 1 and less than N) CSI processes. If the N pieces of associated CSI measurement configuration information are configured for the terminal by using one CSI process, the CSI process includes CSI-RS resources of N coordinated transmission points. If the N pieces of associated CSI measurement configuration information are configured for the terminal by using N CSI processes, each of the N CSI processes is used to configure CSI measurement configuration information of one of the N coordinated transmission points.),
the first configuration including a plurality of identifiers corresponding to the plurality of CSI reports, the plurality of identifiers comprising (i) a first identifier corresponding to a first report of the plurality of CSI reports for a first link of the plurality of links and (ii) a second identifier corresponding to a second report of the plurality of CSI reports for a second link of the plurality of links (para [0199]: As shown in FIG. 6a , FIG. 6b , and FIG. 6c , a base station of the cell 1 configures two CSI processes (interpreted as “first configuration”): a CSI process # 1 and a CSI process # 2 for the terminal.) (para [0200]: The CSI process # 1 includes an NZP CSI-RS resource # 1 and an IMR # 1. The NZP CSI-RS resource # 1 represents a non-zero power CSI-RS resource numbered 1 (The NZP CSI-RS resource # 1 is interpreted as “a first identifier corresponding to a first report of the plurality of CSI reports for a first link of the plurality of links”), and the IMR # 1 represents an interference measurement resource numbered 1. The terminal may measure interference information of a cell other than the cell 1 based on the IMR# 1.) (para [0201]: The CSI process # 2 includes an NZP CSI-RS resource # 2 and an IMR # 2. The NZP CSI-RS resource # 2 represents a non-zero power CSI-RS resource numbered 2 (The NZP CSI-RS resource # 2 is interpreted as “a second identifier corresponding to a second report of the plurality of CSI reports for a second link of the plurality of links”), and the IMR # 2 represents an interference measurement resource numbered 2. The terminal may measure interference information of a cell other than the cell 2 based on the IMR# 2.),
wherein the first configuration establishes an interference relationship between the plurality of links, the interference relationship indicating that the first link of the plurality of links causes interference to the second link of the plurality of links; (para [0174]: For example, the first CSI measurement configuration information (interpreted as “first configuration”) is a CSI-RS resource configured for a cell 1 in the coordination set, and the coordination set further includes a cell 2. That is, an equivalent channel of the cell 2 may act as interference to the cell 1 when equivalent interference to the cell 1 is being calculated (interpreted as “the interference relationship indicating that the first link of the plurality of links causes interference to the second link of the plurality of links”), and the equivalent interference to the cell 1 is calculated with reference to the measured interference outside the coordination set.)
transmitting, by the wireless communication node, the first configuration to a wireless communication device (para [0123]: A base station sends CSI reporting mode indication information, where the CSI reporting mode indication information (interpreted as “the first configuration”) is used to instruct to perform joint CSI measurement and feedback based on N pieces of associated CSI measurement configuration information, and N is an integer greater than 1), wherein the first configuration indicates that the first link interferes with the second link (para [0174]: For example, the first CSI measurement configuration information is a CSI-RS resource configured for a cell 1 in the coordination set, and the coordination set further includes a cell 2. That is, an equivalent channel of the cell 2 may act as interference to the cell 1 when equivalent interference to the cell 1 is being calculated, and the equivalent interference to the cell 1 is calculated with reference to the measured interference outside the coordination set (interpreted as “wherein the first configuration indicates that the first link interferes with the second link”)…) (para [0199]: As shown in FIG. 6a , FIG. 6b , and FIG. 6c , a base station of the cell 1 configures two CSI processes: a CSI process # 1 and a CSI process # 2 for the terminal.) (para [0200]: The CSI process # 1 includes an NZP CSI-RS resource # 1 and an IMR # 1. The NZP CSI-RS resource # 1 represents a non-zero power CSI-RS resource numbered 1, and the IMR # 1 represents an interference measurement resource numbered 1. (interpreted as “wherein the first configuration indicates that the first link interferes with the second link”)),
wherein the first configuration specifies to the wireless communication device to provide a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) that comprises a data transmission PMI for the first link of the plurality of links, and wherein the first configuration specifies, through the interference relationship, that the data transmission PMI for the first link is configured as an interference PMI of the second link of the plurality of links (para [0149]: In some embodiments, in a process in which the terminal performs joint CSI measurement according to the first CSI reporting mode indication information, the terminal may first determine a PMI corresponding to a CSI-RS indicated by each of the N pieces of associated CSI measurement configuration information (interpreted as “the first configuration specifies to the wireless communication device to provide a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) that comprises a data transmission PMI for the first link of the plurality of links”), … A downlink channel and interference that are corresponding to one piece of CSI measurement configuration information are obtained based on the PMIs corresponding to the CSI-RSs indicated by the N pieces of associated CSI measurement configuration information (interpreted as “the data transmission PMI for the first link is configured as an interference PMI of the second link of the plurality of links”). The interference corresponding to the CSI measurement configuration information includes interference outside antenna ports specified by the N pieces of associated CSI measurement configuration information, and interference obtained after corresponding PMI processing is performed on one piece of CSI measurement configuration information other than the CSI measurement configuration information.);
(The missing/crossed out limitation will be discussed in view of Kang) for at least one of the plurality of links that interferes with another of the plurality of links (para [0173]: First CSI measurement configuration information is used as an example. The first CSI measurement configuration information is any one of the N pieces of associated CSI measurement configuration information, and interference that is corresponding to the first CSI measurement configuration information and that is measured by the terminal includes interference outside antenna ports specified by the N pieces of associated CSI measurement configuration information, that is, interference outside a coordination set. CSI determined by the terminal may include a CQI corresponding to each piece of CSI measurement configuration information.); and
receiving, by the wireless communication node, from the wireless communication device, at least one CSI report of the plurality of CSI reports for at least one link of the plurality of links based on the data transmission PMI for the first link being used as the interference PMI for the second link (para [0147]: Step 303: The base station receives CSI fed back after the terminal performs joint CSI measurement according to the CSI reporting mode indication information.) (para [0149]: In some embodiments, in a process in which the terminal performs joint CSI measurement according to the first CSI reporting mode indication information, the terminal may first determine a PMI corresponding to a CSI-RS indicated by each of the N pieces of associated CSI measurement configuration information, and determine, based on a downlink channel and interference that are corresponding to each of the N pieces of associated CSI measurement configuration information, a CQI corresponding to each of the N pieces of associated CSI measurement configuration information. A downlink channel and interference that are corresponding to one piece of CSI measurement configuration information are obtained based on the PMIs corresponding to the CSI-RSs indicated by the N pieces of associated CSI measurement configuration information (interpreted as “based on the data transmission PMI for the first link being used as the interference PMI for the second link”). The interference corresponding to the CSI measurement configuration information includes interference outside antenna ports specified by the N pieces of associated CSI measurement configuration information, and interference obtained after corresponding PMI processing is performed on one piece of CSI measurement configuration information other than the CSI measurement configuration information.), (The missing/crossed out limitation will be discussed in view of Kim).
As noted above, Deng does not explicitly teach the “transmitting, by the wireless communication node, a single downlink control information (DCI) transmission to the wireless communication device to initiate transmission of the plurality of CSI reports corresponding to the plurality of identifiers in the first configuration for at least one of the plurality of links” of claim 1.
It, however, had been known in the art at the time of instant application as shown by Kang. Kang teaches the missing features as follows.
transmitting, by the wireless communication node, a single downlink control information (DCI) transmission to the wireless communication device to initiate transmission of the plurality of CSI reports corresponding to the plurality of identifiers in the first configuration for at least one of the plurality of links (para [0153] of Kang: the UE may receive Downlink Control Information (DCI) through the PDCCH.) (para [0317] of Kang: The initial CSI reporting timing follows the PUSCH time domain allocation value indicated by DCI, ...) (para [0319] of Kang: DCI format 0_1 includes a CSI request field, and may activate/deactivation a specific configured SP-CSI trigger state (interpreted as “a single downlink control information (DCI) transmission to the wireless communication device to initiate transmission of the plurality of CSI reports corresponding to the plurality of identifiers in the first configuration for at least one of the plurality of links”)....) (para [0321]: Next, aperiodic CSI reporting is performed on PUSCH and is triggered by DCI.....)
Deng and Kang are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of Method for reporting Channel State Information. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Deng’s method (‘a base station of the cell 1 configures two CSI processes: a CSI process # 1 and a CSI process # 2 for the terminal’) to incorporate the teachings (DCI format 0_1 includes a CSI request field) of Deng and provide DCI format 0_1 includes a CSI request field to initiate transmission of at least one CSI report identified in the CSI reporting mode indication information.
Deng and Kang fail to explicitly teach or disclose the wherein the data transmission PMI is selected based on the interference relationship indicating that the data transmission PMI causes a lowest interference to the second link.
However, Kim explicitly teaches a method for mitigating inter-cell interference by determining a precoding matrix index in which the interference is minimized
[0016] of Kim: a method for mitigating inter-cell interference includes measuring the channel from at least one neighboring base station generating interference with a signal received from a serving base station, determining... a second precoding matrix index in which the interference is minimized.
Specifically, Kim discloses applying a precoding matrix in which the signal strength of the serving base station is maximized and the signal strengths of neighboring base stations are minimized.
[0069] of Kim: a precoding matrix is applied in which signal strength of the serving base station is maximized and signal strengths of neighboring base stations are minimized..
Furthermore, Kim teaches that a scheduler determines the precoding matrix of adjacent base stations by combining this precoding matrix information to mitigate interference entering a corresponding mobile station
[0042] of Kim: A scheduler can determine a precoding matrix of a plurality of adjacent base stations by combining precoding matrix information received from the mobile station. Since channels of the adjacent base stations are considered, interference entering a corresponding mobile station from the adjacent base stations can be mitigated.
para [0076] of Kim: To effectively use wireless resources based on information received via the backbone network, the scheduler may select or combine a precoding matrix suitable for each base station according to a specific scheduling algorithm and determine a PMI for each base station, in step S45.
[0112] of Kim: The scheduler performs scheduling by determining a PMI used between base stations through the precoding matrix set information and thus interference from neighboring cells can be mitigated, thereby improving a received SINR performance of a mobile station.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the joint CSI measurement and feedback method of Deng and Kang by incorporating the interference-minimizing PMI selection mechanism taught by Kim. The motivation would be to optimize network performance and actively mitigate cross-link interference in the coordinated multi-point (CoMP) system described by Deng, intentionally selecting a data transmission PMI for a first link that minimize (cause the lowest) interference to a second link to improve the overall Signal-to-interference-plus-Noise Ratio (SINR).
Regarding claim 2, it is a wireless communication node (Fig. 12, a base station) claim corresponding to the method claim 1, except limitations “at least one processor” (Fig. 12, a processor 1202) and “a transceiver” (Fig. 12, a transceiver 1201) , and is therefore rejected for the similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, it is a method claim, by a wireless communication device (Figs. 5 and 11) claim corresponding to the method claim 1, and is therefore rejected for the similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, it is A wireless communication device (Fig. 11 and para [0093]: a terminal) corresponding to the method claim 3, except limitation “at least one processor” (Fig. 11, a processor 1102) and is therefore rejected for the similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 3.
With respect to dependent claims:
Regarding claim 5, Deng, Kang, and Kim teach The method of claim 3, comprising: Deng further teaches:
receiving, by the wireless communication device, the first configuration, wherein the first configuration is of a first CSI report and the first link of the wireless communication device (para [0123] of Deng; A base station sends CSI reporting mode indication information, where the CSI reporting mode indication information (interpreted as “the first configuration”) is used to instruct to perform joint CSI measurement and feedback based on N pieces of associated CSI measurement configuration information, and N is an integer greater than 1) (para [0173] of Deng: The first CSI measurement configuration information (interpreted as “the first configuration is of a first CSI report and the first link of the wireless communication device”) is any one of the N pieces of associated CSI measurement configuration information,); and
receiving, by the wireless communication device, a second configuration of a second CSI report and the second link of the wireless communication device (para [0123] of Deng; A base station sends CSI reporting mode indication information, where the CSI reporting mode indication information (interpreted as “the first configuration”) is used to instruct to perform joint CSI measurement and feedback based on N pieces of associated CSI measurement configuration information, and N is an integer greater than 1) (para [0174] of Deng; second CSI measurement configuration information (that is, CSI measurement configuration information other than the first CSI measurement configuration information) (interpreted as “a second configuration of a second CSI report and the second link of the wireless communication device”),
wherein the first configuration assigns an identification to the first CSI report, includes an identification of the second CSI report, and indicates that the first link interferes with the second link (para [0123] of Deng; A base station sends CSI reporting mode indication information, where the CSI reporting mode indication information (interpreted as “the first configuration”) is used to instruct to perform joint CSI measurement and feedback based on N pieces of associated CSI measurement configuration information, and N is an integer greater than 1) (para [0149] of Deng: A downlink channel and interference that are corresponding to one piece of CSI measurement configuration information are obtained based on the PMIs corresponding to the CSI-RSs indicated by the N pieces of associated CSI measurement configuration information.) (para [0170] of Deng: The terminal may to the cell 1 based on measured interference outside the determine equivalent interference cell 1, a downlink channel of the cell 2, and a precoding matrix of the cell 2 (interpreted as “the first link is interfered with by the second link”)”). The terminal may determine equivalent interference to the cell 2 based on interference outside the cell 2, a downlink channel of the cell 1, and a precoding matrix of the cell 1.) (Examiner’s Note: The ‘based on N pieces of associated CSI measurement configuration information’ discussed in Deng is interpreted as “the first configuration assigns an identification to the first CSI report, includes an identification of the second CSI report, and indicates that the first link interferes with the second link”).
Regarding claim 6, Deng, Kang, and Kim teach The method of claim 3, comprising: Deng further teaches
receiving, by the wireless communication device, the first configuration, wherein the first configuration is of a first CSI report and the first link of the wireless communication device (para [0123] of Deng; A base station sends CSI reporting mode indication information, where the CSI reporting mode indication information (interpreted as “the first configuration”) is used to instruct to perform joint CSI measurement and feedback based on N pieces of associated CSI measurement configuration information, and N is an integer greater than 1)(para [0173] of Deng: The first CSI measurement configuration information (interpreted as “the first configuration is of a first CSI report and the first link of the wireless communication device”) is any one of the N pieces of associated CSI measurement configuration information,); and
receiving, by the wireless communication device, a second configuration of a second CSI report and the second link of the wireless communication device (para [0174] of Deng: second CSI measurement configuration information (that is, CSI measurement configuration information other than the first CSI measurement configuration information) (interpreted as “a second configuration of a second CSI report and the second link of the wireless communication device”),
wherein the first configuration assigns an identification to the first CSJ report, includes an identification of the second CSI report, and indicates that the first link is interfered with by the second link (para [0173] of Deng: First CSI measurement configuration information is used as an example. The first CSI measurement configuration information is any one of the N pieces of associated CSI measurement configuration information, and interference that is corresponding to the first CSI measurement configuration information and that is measured by the terminal includes interference outside antenna ports specified by the N pieces of associated CSI measurement configuration information, that is, interference outside a coordination set. CSI determined by the terminal may include a CQI corresponding to each piece of CSI measurement configuration information.)(para [0170] of Deng: The terminal may determine equivalent interference to the cell 1 based on measured interference outside the cell 1, a downlink channel of the cell 2, and a precoding matrix of the cell 2 (interpreted as “the first link is interfered with by the second link”). The terminal may determine equivalent interference to the cell 2 based on interference outside the cell 2, a downlink channel of the cell 1, and a precoding matrix of the cell 1.), and
wherein the second configuration assigns the identification of the second CSI report to the second CSI report , and specifies to the wireless communication device to provide a data transmission PMI for the second link (para [0187] of Deng: if a matrix of a downlink channel that is measured by the terminal and that is corresponding to second CSI measurement configuration information (interpreted as “a data transmission PMI for the second link”)).
Regarding claim 7, Deng, Kang, and Kim teach The method of claim 3, comprising:
receiving, by the wireless communication device, the first configuration, wherein the first configuration is of a first CSI report, and the first link and the second link of the wireless communication device (para [0123] of Deng: A base station sends CSI reporting mode indication information, where the CSI reporting mode indication information (interpreted as “the first configuration”) is used to instruct to perform joint CSI measurement and feedback based on N pieces of associated CSI measurement configuration information, and N is an integer greater than 1)(para [0173] of Deng: The first CSI measurement configuration information (interpreted as “the first configuration is of a first CSI report and the first link of the wireless communication device”) is any one of the N pieces of associated CSI measurement configuration information,),
wherein the first configuration assigns an identification to the first CSI report (para [0202] of Kang: CSI report configuration related information may be expressed as a CSI-ReportConfig IE, and Table 7 below shows an example of the CSI-ReportConfig IE.); Examiner’s note: the CSI-ReportConfig IE comprises a CRI (“CSI-RS resource indicator”) as shown in Table 7. Thus, the CRI is interpreted as “identification of at least one CSI report” , and indicates that the first link and the second link interfere with each other (para [0173] of Deng: First CSI measurement configuration information is used as an example. The first CSI measurement configuration information is any one of the N pieces of associated CSI measurement configuration information, and interference that is corresponding to the first CSI measurement configuration information and that is measured by the terminal includes interference outside antenna ports specified by the N pieces of associated CSI measurement configuration information, that is, interference outside a coordination set. CSI determined by the terminal may include a CQI (interpreted as “the first CSI report”) corresponding to each piece of CSI measurement configuration information.)(para [0170] of Deng: The terminal may determine equivalent interference to the cell 1 based on measured interference outside the cell 1, a downlink channel of the cell 2, and a precoding matrix of the cell 2 (interpreted as “the first link and the second link interfere with each other”). The terminal may determine equivalent interference to the cell 2 based on interference outside the cell 2, a downlink channel of the cell 1, and a precoding matrix of the cell 1.).
Regarding claim 8, Deng, Kang, and Kim teach The method of claim 3, comprising: Deng further teaches
receiving, by the wireless communication device, the first configuration of the at least one CSI report (para [0123] of Deng: A base station sends CSI reporting mode indication information, where the CSI reporting mode indication information (interpreted as “the first configuration”) is used to instruct to perform joint CSI measurement and feedback based on N pieces of associated CSI measurement configuration information, and N is an integer greater than 1)(para [0173] of Deng: The first CSI measurement configuration information (interpreted as “the first configuration of the at least one CSI report”) is any one of the N pieces of associated CSI measurement configuration information,),
wherein the first configuration includes information about interference between links of the wireless communication device (para [0173] of Deng: First CSI measurement configuration information is used as an example. The first CSI measurement configuration information is any one of the N pieces of associated CSI measurement configuration information, and interference that is corresponding to the first CSI measurement configuration information and that is measured by the terminal includes interference outside antenna ports specified by the N pieces of associated CSI measurement configuration information(interpreted as “information about interference between links of the wireless communication device”), that is, interference outside a coordination set. CSI determined by the terminal may include a CQI corresponding to each piece of CSI measurement configuration information.).
Regarding claim 9, Deng, Kang, and Kim teach The method of claim 3, comprising: Deng further teaches
receiving, by the wireless communication device, the first configuration, wherein the first configuration is of a first CSI report (para [0123] of Deng: A base station sends CSI reporting mode indication information, where the CSI reporting mode indication information (interpreted as “the first configuration”) is used to instruct to perform joint CSI measurement and feedback based on N pieces of associated CSI measurement configuration information, and N is an integer greater than 1)(para [0173] of Deng: The first CSI measurement configuration information (interpreted as “the first configuration is of a first CSI report”) is any one of the N pieces of associated CSI measurement configuration information) and a plurality of links of the wireless communication device, and indicates that the plurality of links interfere with each other ((para [0173] of Deng: First CSI measurement configuration information is used as an example. The first CSI measurement configuration information is any one of the N pieces of associated CSI measurement configuration information, and interference that is corresponding to the first CSI measurement configuration information and that is measured by the terminal includes interference outside antenna ports specified by the N pieces of associated CSI measurement configuration information,).
Regarding claim 10, Deng, Kang, and Kim teach The method of claim 3, comprising: Kang further teaches
receiving, by the wireless communication device, the first configuration, wherein the first configuration includes an identification of each of the plurality of CSI reports corresponding to a plurality of links of the wireless communication device (para [0202] of Kang: CSI report configuration related information may be expressed as a CSI-ReportConfig IE, and Table 7 below shows an example of the CSI-ReportConfig IE.); Examiner’s note: the CSI-ReportConfig IE comprises a CRI (“CSI-RS resource indicator”) as shown in Table 7. Thus, the CRI is interpreted as “identification of at least one CSI report”, and indicates that the plurality of links interfere with each other (para [0196] of Kang: The configuration information related to the CSI may include at least one of CSI-IM (interference management) resource related information, CSI measurement configuration related information, CSI resource configuration related information, CSI-RS resource related information or CSI report configuration related information.)
Regarding claim 11, Deng, Kang, and Kim teach The method of claim 3, further comprising:
receiving, by the wireless communication device, the first configuration (para [0123] of Deng: A base station sends CSI reporting mode indication information, where the CSI reporting mode indication information (interpreted as “the first configuration”) is used to instruct to perform joint CSI measurement and feedback based on N pieces of associated CSI measurement configuration information, and N is an integer greater than 1), wherein the first configuration is of a first CSI report and plurality of links of the wireless communication device, and indicates a subset of links from the plurality of links that interfere with a first link of the plurality of links (para [0173] of Deng: First CSI measurement configuration information is used as an example. The first CSI measurement configuration information is any one of the N pieces of associated CSI measurement configuration information, and interference that is corresponding to the first CSI measurement configuration information and that is measured by the terminal includes interference outside antenna ports specified by the N pieces of associated CSI measurement configuration information, that is, interference outside a coordination set. CSI determined by the terminal may include a CQI corresponding to each piece of CSI measurement configuration information (interpreted as “a first CSI report and plurality of links of the wireless communication device, and indicates a subset of links from the plurality of links that interfere with a first link of the plurality of links”)).
Regarding claim 13, Deng and Kang teach The method of claim 3, Kang further teaches wherein receiving the single DCI transmission further comprises receiving the single DCI transmission from the wireless communication node to initiate transmission of the plurality of CSI reports (para [0153] of Kang: the UE may receive Downlink Control Information (DCI) through the PDCCH.) (para [0263] of Kang: For a channel, if there is no PMI and RI feedback, a plurality of resources are set in the set, and the BS or network indicates a subset of NZP CSI-RS resources for channel/interference measurement through DCI.).
Regarding claim 14, Deng, Kang, and Kim teach The method of claim 3, Kang further teaches wherein receiving the single DCI transmission further comprises receiving the single DCI transmission from the wireless communication node to initiate transmission of a subset of the plurality of CSI reports (para [0263] of Kang: For a channel, if there is no PMI and RI feedback, a plurality of resources are set in the set, and the BS or network indicates a subset of NZP CSI-RS resources for channel/interference measurement through DCI.).
Regarding claim 15, Deng, Kang, and Kim teach The method of claim 3, Kang further teaches
wherein receiving the single DCI transmission further comprises receiving the single DCI transmission from the wireless communication node to initiate transmission of the plurality of CSI reports corresponding to the plurality of links of the wireless communication device that interfere with each other (para [0153] of Kang: the UE may receive Downlink Control Information (DCI) through the PDCCH.) (para [0263] of Kang: For a channel, if there is no PMI and RI feedback, a plurality of resources are set in the set, and the BS or network indicates a subset of NZP CSI-RS resources for channel/interference measurement through DCI.).
Regarding claim 18, Claim 18 has similar limitations as of Claim(s) 5, therefore it is rejected under the same reasons as Claim(s) 5.
Regarding claim 19, Claim 19 has similar limitation as of Claim(s) 6, therefore it is rejected under the same reasons as Claim(s) 6.
Regarding claim 20, Claim 20, has similar limitation as of Claim(s) 7, therefore it is rejected under the same reasons as Claim(s) 7.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WON JUN CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411