DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Status of the Claims
Receipt of Applicant’s response, filed 20 Aug 2026 has been entered.
Claims 28-33, 35-44, and 46-49 remain pending in the application.
Claims 28-33, 35-40, 42-44, 46, and 47 are amended.
Claims 1-27, 34 and 45 are cancelled.
Claims 48 and 49 are new.
Claims 35, 36, 44, 46, 47, and 49 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention. Claims 35, 36 and 44 are withdrawn as they are directed toward alternative humectants from the elected glycerin. Applicant notes in the remarks (page 9) that claim 35 now recites glycerin which is the elected species of humectant, but the examiner notes that claim 35 requires a combination of humectants including glycerin and the elected species of humectant was only to glycerin and did not include a combination of humectants.
Claims 28-33, 37-43 and 48 are under consideration to the extent of the elected species, i.e., that the polyphenol is tannic acid, the second gum is sclerotium gum and the humectant is glycerin.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 05 Jan 2026, 02 Feb 2026, 08 Apr 2026, and 09 Oct 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, except where noted. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Rejections Withdrawn
Rejections Pursuant to 35 USC § 112
The rejections of pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 17 Jul 2025 are hereby partially withdrawn in light of applicants amendment of the claims.
Rejections Maintained – in modified form
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejections below were made previously and are updated to better address the amendments made by the applicant
Claims 28-33 and 37-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 40 lacks proper antecedent basis for “the total amount of non-aqueous solvents” as the claim previously refers to “at least one non-aqueous solvent.” It is unclear if the “non-aqueous solvents” is intended to refer to one non-aqueous solvent, more than one non-aqueous solvent or all possible non-aqueous solvents.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 28-33, 37-43, and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a natural phenomenon without significantly more.
Claim interpretation: Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the terms of the claim are presumed to have their plain meaning consistent with the specification as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2111.
Claim 28 is directed to a hair styling composition comprising 0.1-8% tannic acid, 0.1-2% at least one first gum chosen from carrageenans, 0.01-3% at least one second gum, 1-18% at least one humectant chosen from glycerin, glycols, inulin and sorbitol, an optional buffer, a solvent comprising water and a weight ratio of the first gum to the second gum from 1:1 to about 1:10.
The composition of claim 28 requires, at minimum, tannic acid, a carrageenan first gum, a second gum a humectant and a solvent comprising water. Since the claim states ‘comprising’ language which is open language, allowing for the incorporation of unclaimed/undisclosed subject matter, the composition may include additional components not recited.
Claims 29-32 recite percentage amounts of the tannic acid and first/second gums. Claim 33 further defines the carrageenan gum and the second gum and claim 37 and 38 define the buffer. Claims 39 and 40 define amounts of the water and claim 40 recites at least one non-aqueous solvent less than about 20% by weight. Claim 41 recites a negative limitation that the composition is not a mascara composition. Claim 42 recites the addition of components such as antioxidants and vitamins. Claim 43 is a similar hair styling composition for treating keratin fibers comprising 0.1-8% tannic acid, 0.1-2% carrageenans, 0.0-3% a second gum such as sclerotium gum, 1-18% a humectant such as glycerin, a buffer such as citric acid, water in at least 50% by weight and the carrageenan to second gum is from 1:1 to 1:8 and claim 48 further limits the percentages and ratios of the components.
In accordance with the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Mater Eligibility Guidance (aka 2019 PEG), the following analysis is based on the flowchart found in MPEP §2106(III) and is used when considering whether or not a claimed invention recites eligible subject matter.
Step 1: Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, claims 28-33, 37-43, and 48 are directed to a composition of matter.
Step 2A: Is the claim directed to a judicial exception (i.e. a law of nature, a natural phenomenon (product of nature) or an abstract idea)?
Analysis of Step 2A is divided into two prongs.
Step 2A Prong One: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature or natural phenomenon?
This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim recites a judicial exception. As explained in MPEP 2106.04(II), a claim “recites” a judicial exception when the judicial exception is “set forth” or “described” in the claim.
Claims 28-33, 37-43, and 48 are directed to hair styling compositions comprising tannic acid, carrageenans, gums such as sclerotium gum, humectants such as glycerin, buffers such as citric acid, water, non-aqueous solvents (broadly defined and including natural solvents such as ethanol), components such as antioxidants and vitamins (e.g. claim 42) and various percentages and ratio amounts for different components. Each of these components are naturally occurring and thus, each of the components of hair styling composition as recited in claims 28-33, 37-43, and 48 are natural in origin.
Since the composition contains products which are naturally-occurring, the claim is ‘directed to’ a nature-based product. Since the claims recite a nature-based product limitation, the markedly different characteristics analysis is used to determine if the nature-based product limitation is a product of nature exception. MPEP 2106.04(c)(I). The markedly different characteristics analysis is performed by comparing the nature-based product limitation in the claim to its naturally occurring counterpart to determine if it has markedly different characteristics from the counterpart. MPEP 2106.04(c)(II). Here, the closest natural counterpart is naturally occurring tannic acid, carrageenans, gums such as sclerotium gum, humectants such as glycerin, buffers such as citric acid, water, non-aqueous solvents such as ethanol, components such as antioxidants and vitamins as they occur separately in nature. There is no indication that mixing the tannic acid, carrageenans, gums such as sclerotium gum, humectants such as glycerin, buffers such as citric acid, water, non-aqueous solvents such as ethanol, components such as antioxidants and vitamins would change the structure, function or other characteristics of the individual components in any way. Rather, when mixed, each of the individual components would retain its naturally-occurring structure and function.
Even when considering the distinct percentages and ratios of each component as recited in the claims, the percentages and ratios do not impart any markedly different qualities or characteristics to the components. Thus, by combining the claimed tannic acid, carrageenans, gums such as sclerotium gum, humectants such as glycerin, buffers such as citric acid, water, non-aqueous solvents such as ethanol and components such as antioxidants and vitamins the applicants have not altered the components in any way. Claim 43 recites that the hair styling composition is for styling curly hair and that the gum provide hair styling benefits to the curly hair but provides no further limitation as to how the composition is configured for application and the limitations that the composition is “styling curly hair” and that the gums “provide hair styling benefits to the curly hair” is an intended use and does not impart markedly different qualities of the components from their natural counterparts.
Therefore, claims 28-33, 37-43, and 48 recite a product of nature exception. Association for Molecular Pathology v. Myriad Genetics Inc., 569 U.S. 576, 589-90 (2013) (naturally occurring things are “products of nature” which cannot be patented). Accordingly, the claim recites a judicial exception, and the analysis must therefore proceed to Step 2A Prong Two.
Step 2A Prong Two: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim as a whole integrates the recited judicial exception into a practical application of the exception. This evaluation is performed by (1) identifying whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception, and (2) evaluating those additional elements individually and in combination to determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application. MPEP 2106.04(d)II.
Claims 28-33, 37-43, and 48 do not recite an additional element beyond the natural components of tannic acid, carrageenans, gums such as sclerotium gum, humectants such as glycerin, buffers such as citric acid, water, non-aqueous solvents and components such as antioxidants and vitamins and that the composition is for treating keratin fibers and specific amounts and ratios for the components. As described above, the intended use of styling curly hair and that the gums provide hair styling benefits to the curly hair does not impart any distinct qualities or characteristics to the components and there is no indication that the percentage of each component in the composition imparts any markedly different qualities or characteristics to the components. Thus, claims 28-33, 37-43, and 48 do not present elements or components in addition to the judicial exception that could be interpreted as imposing a meaningful limitation over the claim scope. Accordingly, claims 28-33, 37-43, and 48 do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application and the claims are therefore directed to the judicial exception.
Step 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim as a whole amounts to significantly more than the recited exception, i.e., whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, adds an inventive concept to the claim. MPEP 2106.05. As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, claims 28-33, 37-43, and 48 do not recite an additional element beyond the natural components of the composition and amounts of the components and the use for styling curly hair and that the gum provide hair styling benefits to the curly hair. Regarding the amount and ratios for the components it is noted that the presence of each of the components in a single composition would necessarily require distinct percentages of each component in the composition and there is nothing to indicate that the percentage and ratio of each component as recited offers a distinct or inventive concept to the claim. Therefore, claims 28-33, 37-43, and 48 do not include any additional element which would amount to ‘significantly more’ than the judicial exception itself and thus the claims as a whole do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Conclusion: Claims 28-33, 37-43, and 48 which are directed toward a composition comprising the natural components of tannic acid, carrageenans, gums such as sclerotium gum, humectants such as glycerin, buffers such as citric acid, water, non-aqueous solvents and components such as antioxidants and vitamins, are not markedly different in structure or function as compared to the closest naturally-occurring counterpart. Subsequently, claims 28-33, 37-43, and 48 are directed toward a judicial exception under 35 USC 101. Claims 28-33, 37-43, and 48 do not recite any element which would be considered to provide ‘significantly more’ than the judicial exception.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The rejection below was made previously and is now made again with updates to address the claim amendments and new claim 48.
Claims 28-33, 37-43, and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carvalho et al. (WO 2019/195900, published 17 Oct 2019) in view of Parikh et al. (WO 2019/212710, published 07 Nov 2019).
Carvalho teaches hair treatment compositions comprising reducing agents (title). Carvalho teaches that the compositions may be used on curly hair (page 18 line 34) and that it is desirable to have hair car regimens that relax or straighten curly hair (page 2 lines 23-24). Carvalho teaches the compositions comprise at least one reducing agent selected from thiol-based and non-thiol based compounds, at least one disulfide compound, at least one non-polymeric and non-thiol, mono-, di-, and/or tri-carboxylic acid and water (page 3 lines 13-22). Carvalho teaches that the hair treatment compositions effectively condition the hair and provide manageability properties to hair including straightening effects, frizz control, volume reduction or control, light weight feel on the hair and styling or shaping effects (page 4 lines 8-14). Carvalho teaches that the non-thiol based reducing compounds include ortho-diphenol derivatives (page 20 lines 10-11) such as tannic acid (page 22 line 26), rendering obvious the at least one polyphenol of tannic acid as in the instant claims. Carvalho teaches that the reducing agent is present from about 0.1 to about 20% by weight (page 28 lines 7-8), rendering obvious the amount of tannic acid of claims 28, 29, 43 and 48.
Carvalho teaches that the compositions include at least one thickening agent (page 9 lines 15-16) which may be carrageenan and sclerotium gum (page 46 lines 4 and 8) rendering obvious the first gum and the second gum of the instant claims. Carvalho teaches that the at least one thickening agent is present from about 0.01 to about 10 wt% (page 10 lines 3-6). Carvalho teaches that the compositions include at least one water-soluble solvent which may be alcohols, organic solvents, polyols, glycols and mixtures thereof (page 62 lines 11-19) and is typically about 0.01 to 10% by weight (page 63 lines 21-22), rendering obvious the non-aqueous solvent less than about 20% by weight of claim 40. Carvalho teaches that the organic solvent may be glycerin (page 62 lines 11-12, 18, 28), rendering obvious the at least one humectant and its amount as in claims 28, 43,and 48. Carvalho teaches that the tricarboxylic acid of the composition may be citric acid (page 29 lines 29-31) which may be present from about 0.1 to about 20 wt% rendering obvious the buffer agent and the amount in claims 28, 37, 38, 43, and 48. Carvalho teaches that the water in the composition is from about 50 to about 99% by weight (page 62 lines 6-7), rendering obvious the water in an amount of at least about 50% by weight as in instant claims 39, 43 and 48. Regarding the various amounts taught by Carvalho in comparison to the instantly claimed amounts, the examiner notes that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). Carvalho does not describe the composition as a mascara or a makeup composition, rendering obvious the limitation of claim 41. Carvalho teaches the inclusion of vitamins (page 68 table 1), rendering obvious instant claim 42.
As noted above, Carvalho teaches the inclusion of carrageenan and sclerotium gum as thickening agents where the thickening agents are from about 0.01 to about 10% by weight. It is additionally noted that Carvalho teaches that the compositions may be configured as a leave-on compositions (page 11 lines 18-19). Carvalho does not teach the individual percentages of carrageenan and sclerotium (as in claims 28, 31-33, 43, and 48) or the ratio of first gum (e.g. carrageenan) to second gum (e.g. sclerotium gum) from 1:1 to about 1:10 (claim 28), about 1:1 to about 1:6 (claim 30), about 1:1 to about 1:8 (claim 43), or about 1:1 to about 1:7 (claim 48). These deficiencies are made up for in the teachings of Parikh.
Parikh teaches leave-on hair styling compositions comprising at least one sugar alcohol, inulin, sclerotium gum, at least one water-soluble solvent and water (abstract). Parikh teaches that the amount of sclerotium gum in the compositions may vary from about 0.1 to about 5 wt.% (page 5 lines 11-15). Parikh further teaches that the compositions may include thickening agents such as carrageenan (page 7 lines 1-4) and that thickening agents may vary from about 0.01 to about 10 wt% (page 7 lines 25-26). Parikh and teaches an example composition where the sclerotium gum is at 0.5 wt% and carrageenan is at 0.1 wt% (page 28 Example 1). The percentage of carrageenan and sclerotium gum render obvious the claimed amounts of first and second gum and the amounts of carrageenan and sclerotium gum in the example are at a ratio of 1:5 which renders obvious the ratio values of clams 28, 30, 43, and 48.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the
art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the carrageenan from about 0.01 to about 10 wt% and sclerotium gum from about 0.1 to about 5 wt.% or at a ratio of 1:5 in the composition of Carvalho. One of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success in forming the composition with the components at these amounts and at this ratio as it is taught by Parikh as suitable for hair styling compositions. Carvalho and Parikh both teach compositions that are useful for a similar purpose of styling hair and even may be specifically used as leave-on compositions. The use of carrageenan and sclerotium gum in the compositions is taught by Carvalho and distinct amounts of the components are taught by Parikh. As Carvalho and Parikh teach the same components for similar hair styling compositions, it would be obvious to have the carrageenan from about 0.01 to about 10 wt% and sclerotium gum from about 0.1 to about 5 wt.% or at a ratio of 1:5 as this is known for hair care compositions.
Regarding the limitation of claim 28 and 43 and “the composition is substantially free of chemical reducing agents,” the examiner understands this limitation to be met by the obvious composition described above based on at least two separate interpretations of the limitation “substantially free of reducing agents.” First, as described in the instant specification, “substantially free” allows for the agents to be present in small amounts such as less than 2% by weight ([0088]). As described above, Carvalho teaches that the reducing agent is present from about 0.1 to about 20% by weight, which includes low amounts of the reducing agent and is understood to meet the limitation of “substantially free.” Alternatively, the claim may be interpreted to exclude tannic acid from the “substantially free of chemical reducing agents” limitation as tannic acid required in line (a). Carvalho teaches that only one reducing agent needs to be present and that the reducing agent may be tannic acid and thus the inclusion of tannic acid is understood to be consistent with the teachings of Carvalho and meet the limitation of the instant claims.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 20 Aug 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant states that it would not have been obvious to exclude Carvalho’s required chemical reducing agent (page 10 of remarks). Applicant argues that the claimed compositions provide advantageous straightening benefits to curly hair without the harsh effects of reducing agents (page 11 of remarks).
The examiner does not find this persuasive. As noted in the rejection above, the teachings of Carvalho are understood to meet the limitation of “substantially free of chemical reducing agents” even though Carvalho requires a reducing agent. First, the term “substantially free” does not exclude all reducing agent from the composition. The instant specification provides context for understanding the term “substantially free” by noting that it allows for the agents to be present in small amounts such as less than 2% by weight ([0088]). Carvalho does teach reducing agents but Carvalho teaches that the reducing agent is present from about 0.1 to about 20% by weight, which includes low amounts of the reducing agent (e.g. between 0.1 and 2%). Thus, it would be obvious to have the reducing agent at a lower amount which is understood to meet the limitation of “substantially free.” Alternatively, the claim may be interpreted to allow for tannic acid, which is known as a reducing agent, as it is positively recited as component (a) in the claims. Carvalho teaches that only one reducing agent needs to be present and that the reducing agent may be tannic acid. The inclusion of only tannic acid as the reducing agent is understood to be consistent with the teachings of Carvalho and to render obvious the instant claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 28-33, 37-43 and 48 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 41, 42, 44-56 and 61 of copending Application No. 17/853,071 in view of Carvalho et al. (WO 2019/195900, published 17 Oct 2019) and Parikh et al. (WO 2019/212710, published 07 Nov 2019).
The claims of the ‘071 application are drawn to a hair styling composition comprising 0.5-5% tannic acid, 0.01-5% at least one nonionic polysaccharide polymer, 0.01-10% cationic surfactant, at least one emulsifier such as a fatty alcohol and at least one solvent comprising water. The claims do not require a reducing agent.
The copending application differs from the instant claims as they do not include a first gum chose from carrageenan, a second gum of sclerotium gum, the humectant glycerin, a buffer agent and a non-aqueous solvent and the amounts and ratios recited in the instant claims. These deficiencies are made up for in the teachings of Carvalho and Parikh.
The teachings of Carvalho and Parikh are described supra. It is further noted that Carvalho additionally teaches cationic surfactants and fatty alcohols.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the
art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the hair styling composition of the claims of the ‘071 application by including carrageenan and sclerotium gum, less than 20% glycerin, citric acid and organic solvents in amounts that render obvious the instant claims as each of the components are known to be suitable for hair styling compositions, as taught by Carvalho. It would have been obvious from Parikh to include the carrageenan from about 0.01 to about 10 wt% and sclerotium gum from about 0.1 to about 5 wt.% or at a ratio of 1:5 as these percentages and ratios are known to be suitable for hair styling compositions from the teachings of Parikh. Thus, Carvalho and Parikh teach similar types of compositions as the claims of the ‘071 application, specifically for styling hair, and teach that each of the components are known and may be used for such compositions and thus the combination of components merely represents the selection of known materials for their known intended purpose which is prima facie obvious.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 28-33, 37-43 and 48 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 30-47 of copending Application No. 17/852,729 in view of Carvalho et al. (WO 2019/195900, published 17 Oct 2019) and Parikh et al. (WO 2019/212710, published 07 Nov 2019).
The claims of the ‘729 application are drawn to a hair styling composition comprising at least one polyphenol such as tannic acid from 0.01 to about 10%, at least one film former such as carrageenan from 0.01 to about 5% by weight, at least one emulsifier, at least one fatty alcohol, at least one solvent comprising water where the solvent has at least 50% water by weight and a non-aqueous solvent less than about 20% and at least one humectant such as glycerin. The claims do not require a reducing agent.
The copending application differs from the instant claims as they do not include a second gum of sclerotium gum, a buffer agent. These deficiencies are made up for in the teachings of Carvalho and Parikh.
The teachings of Carvalho and Parikh are described supra.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the
art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the hair styling composition of the claims of the ‘729 application by including citric acid and sclerotium gum and organic solvents in amounts that render obvious the instant claims as each of the components are known to be suitable for hair styling compositions, as taught by Carvalho. It would have been obvious from Parikh to include the carrageenan from about 0.01 to about 10 wt% and sclerotium gum from about 0.1 to about 5 wt.% or at a ratio of 1:5 as these percentages and ratios are known to be suitable for hair styling compositions from the teachings of Parikh. Thus, Carvalho and Parikh teach similar types of compositions as the claims of the ‘071 application, specifically for styling hair, and teach that each of the components are known and may be used for such compositions and thus the combination of components merely represents the selection of known materials for their known intended purpose which is prima facie obvious.
Claims 28-33, 37-43 and 48 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 33-50 of copending Application No. 17/853,128 in view of Carvalho et al. (WO 2019/195900, published 17 Oct 2019) and Parikh et al. (WO 2019/212710, published 07 Nov 2019).
The claims of the ‘128 application are drawn to a hair styling composition comprising at least one polyphenol such as tannic acid from 0.01 to about 10%, at least one film former such as carrageenan from 0.01 to about 5% by weight, at least one gum such as sclerotium gum from 0.01 to about 5% by weight, at least one emulsifier, at least one fatty alcohol, at least one solvent comprising water where the solvent has at least 50% water by weight and a non-aqueous solvent less than about 20% and at least one humectant such as glycerin. The claims do not require a reducing agent.
The copending application differs from the instant claims as it does not specify the ratio of carrageenan to sclerotium and does not present the components as a single composition. These deficiencies are made up for in the teachings of Carvalho and Parikh.
The teachings of Carvalho and Parikh are described supra.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the
art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the hair styling composition of the claims of the ‘128 application by including each of the tannic acid, carrageenan, sclerotium gum, and glycerin in a composition as each of the components are known to be suitable for hair styling compositions, as taught by Carvalho. Further, the specific ratio of carrageenan to sclerotium is obvious as it known that a ratio of 1:5 is suitable for hair styling compositions from the teachings of Parikh. Thus, Carvalho and Parikh teach similar types of compositions as the claims of the ‘128 application, specifically for styling hair, and teach that each of the components are known and may be used for such compositions and thus the combination of components merely represents the selection of known materials for their known intended purpose which is prima facie obvious.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 20 Aug 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the same reason provided against the103 rejection, namely that Carvalho nor Parikh would have motivated one to formulate a composition without Carvalho’s chemical reducing agent (page 11-12 of remarks). The examiner does not find this persuasive, at least for the same reasons provided above. The claims do not actually require a total absence of reducing agent as “substantially free” is understood to allow for low amounts of the component. Additionally, Carvalho does not require additional reducing agents besides tannic acid, which is obvious to include from the reference applications.
New Grounds of Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 28-33, 37-43 and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 28 and 43 recite “the composition is substantially free of chemical reducing agents.” This is unclear as the claims also positively recite the presence of tannic acid. Tannic acid is known to be a reducing agent. It is thus unclear what is intended by the limitation that “the composition is substantially free of chemical reducing agents.” For example, it is not clear if this is intended to prevent all reducing agents other than tannic acid, or if tannic acid is intended to be limited in some manner or if it is intended to limit a certain class of reducing agents. Claims 29-33, 27-42, and 48are included in this rejection as they depend directly, indirectly, or include all the limitations of independent claim 28.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Correspondence
/EDWIN COLEMAN MITCHELL/Examiner, Art Unit 1619