DETAILED ACTION
Introduction
This is a response to the applicant’s response filed on 12/30/2025. Claims 1-16 are currently presented in the instant application. Claims 17-25 are withdrawn.
Drawings
The drawing submitted on 06/29/2022 has been considered by Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Specification
The specification submitted on 06/29/2022 has been considered by Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-16 in the reply filed on 12/30/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mantrawadi et al. (US Pub. No.: 2022/0329271, hereinafter, “Mantrawadi”) in view of Elsherbini et al. (US Pub. No.: 2018/0090803, hereinafter, “Elsherbini”).
Regarding claim 1, Mantrawadi teaches a package comprising (see figure 24A, IC package 2402, [0160]):
a waveguide launcher (see figure 24A, plurality of waveguide launchers 2406 and 2408, [0160]);
transceiver circuitry electrically coupled with the waveguide launcher (see figures 24A-24B, RF IC 2404 is connected to 2 side waveguide launcher, [0160]); and
wherein the waveguide launcher and at least a portion of the transceiver circuitry are in a stack formation with respect to a plane of the waveguide launcher (see figures 24A-24B, RF IC 2404, 2 side waveguide launcher, RF IC 2404 is positioned to partially overlap the first waveguide launcher structure 2406 and second waveguide launcher structure 2408, [0146, 0160]).
It should be noticed that Mantrawadi fails to teach a waveguide launcher array. However, Elsherbini teaches a waveguide launcher array (see figure 5, plurality of waveguide 150A-150F, waveguide launcher 110A-100F, it is clearly seen that the waveguide launcher 110A-100F is a waveguide launcher array because it is supporting the plurality of waveguide 150A-150F, [0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Elsherbini into view of Mantrawadi in order to provide the energy transfer from the millimeter-wave launcher to the waveguide member is maximized.
Regarding claim 9, after combine, Elsherbini teaches a waveguide launcher array (see figure 5, plurality of waveguide 150A-150F, waveguide launcher 110A-100F, it is clearly seen that the waveguide launcher 110A-100F is a waveguide launcher array because it is supporting the plurality of waveguide 150A-150F, [0053]). Mantrawadi further teaches the waveguide launcher is in a layer that includes electrical routings; and wherein the layer is physically coupled with the transceiver circuitry (see figures 14b, 24A-24B, RF IC 2404, 2 side waveguide launcher, RF IC 2404 is positioned to partially overlap the first waveguide launcher structure 2406 and second waveguide launcher structure 2408, [0123, 0146, 0160], it is clearly seen that the waveguide launcher is in a layer).
Regarding claim 15, Mantrawadi further teaches the package is coupled with a substrate, wherein the substrate further includes a die on the substrate, the die electrically coupled with the transceiver circuitry (see figures 3A, 5A, 11, 14B, 24A-24B, RF IC 2024, [0081, 0094, 0016-0017, 0205]).
Regarding claim 16, Mantrawadi further teaches the die is electrically coupled with the transceiver circuitry using a selected one or more of: a bridge, an interconnect, conductive traces, or a routing layer proximate to a side of the substrate (see figures 3A, 5A, 11, 14B, 24A-24B, RF IC 2024, [0081, 0094, 0016-0017, 0205]).
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mantrawadi et al. (US Pub. No.: 2022/0329271, hereinafter, “Mantrawadi”) in view of Elsherbini et al. (US Pub. No.: 2018/0090803, hereinafter, “Elsherbini”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of TODA (US Pub. No.: 2015/0295098).
Regarding claim 2, Mantrawadi disclosed transceiver (see [0146, 0150]). Mantrawadi and Elsherbini, in combination, fails to teach the transceiver circuitry includes digital circuitry and analog circuitry. However, TODA teaches teach the transceiver circuitry includes digital circuitry and analog circuitry (see figure 1A, chip package 100, die 140, die 150, [0024, 0070], it is clearly seen that the transceiver is included ADC and DAC).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of TODA into view of Mantrawadi and Elsherbini in order to process the analog and digital signal.
Regarding claim 3, after combine, Mantrawadi teaches the waveguide launcher array and at least a portion of the transceiver are in the stack formation (see figures 24A-24B, RF IC 2404, 2 side waveguide launcher, RF IC 2404 is positioned to partially overlap the first waveguide launcher structure 2406 and second waveguide launcher structure 2408, [0146, 0160]). TODA teaches the transceiver is included ADC and DAC (see [0024]).
Rearrangement of Parts
In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice).
Regarding claim 4, TODA further teaches the digital circuitry is in a first die and the analog circuitry is in a second die that is separate and distinct from the first die (see figure 1A, die 140, 150 and 160, [0024]).
Claim(s) 5-8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mantrawadi et al. (US Pub. No.: 2022/0329271, hereinafter, “Mantrawadi”) in view of Elsherbini et al. (US Pub. No.: 2018/0090803, hereinafter, “Elsherbini”) and further in view of TODA (US Pub. No.: 2015/0295098) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Demin et al. (US Pub. No.: 2014/0291835, hereinafter, “Demin”).
Regarding claim 5, TODA teaches first and second die (see figure 1A, chip package 100, die 140, die 150, [0024, 0070]). Mantrawadi, Elsherbini and TODA, in combination, fails to teach the second die is electrically coupled with the waveguide launcher array through backside metal layers of the second die. However, Demin teaches the die is electrically coupled with the waveguide launcher array through backside metal layers of the die (see figure 6, [0042-0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Demin into view of Mantrawadi, Elsherbini and TODA in order to increased data transfer rates, switching architectures that require longer interconnects, and extremely cost and power competitive solutions.
Regarding claim 6, Mantrawadi, Elsherbini, TODA and Demin, in combination, teaches all the limitation of claim 6. It appear to examiner that arrange a backside metal layer of the first die is facing in a first direction away from the waveguide launcher array, and wherein a backside metal layer of the second die is facing in a second direction toward the waveguide launcher array would depend more upon the choice of the manufacturer and the choice of engineering, than on any inventive concept.
Rearrangement of Parts
In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice).
Regarding claim 7, Mantrawadi, Elsherbini, TODA and Demin, in combination, fails to teach the first die is implemented in a scaled digital node, and wherein the second die is an RF-optimized node. Examiner, however, takes Official Notice that such features are well known in the art of telecommunications.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Mantrawadi, Elsherbini, TODA and Demin in order to increased data transfer rates, switching architectures that require longer interconnects, and extremely cost and power competitive solutions.
Regarding claim 8, Mantrawadi, Elsherbini, TODA and Demin, in combination, fails to teach the first die and the second die are embedded in a selected one of: a ceramic interposer or a glass interposer. Examiner, however, takes Official Notice that such features are well known in the art of telecommunications.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Mantrawadi, Elsherbini, TODA and Demin in order to increased data transfer rates, switching architectures that require longer interconnects, and extremely cost and power competitive solutions.
Regarding claim 10, Mantrawadi, Elsherbini, TODA and Demin, in combination, fails to teach the electrical routings in the layer provide power to the transceiver circuitry. Examiner, however, takes Official Notice that such features are well known in the art of telecommunications.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Mantrawadi, Elsherbini, TODA and Demin in order to increased data transfer rates, switching architectures that require longer interconnects, and extremely cost and power competitive solutions.
Claim(s) 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mantrawadi et al. (US Pub. No.: 2022/0329271, hereinafter, “Mantrawadi”) in view of Elsherbini et al. (US Pub. No.: 2018/0090803, hereinafter, “Elsherbini”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kamgaining et al. (US Pub. No.: 2018/0191049, hereinafter, “Kamgaining”).
Regarding claim 11, Mantrawadi and Elsherbini, in combination, fails to teach a connector for a plurality of waveguides coupled with the waveguide launcher array. However, Kamgaining teaches a connector for a plurality of waveguides coupled with the waveguide launcher array (see figure 9A, a plurality of waveguides 130, waveguide launcher array 212A, 212B, connector 312, [0058]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Kamgaining into view of Mantrawadi and Elsherbini in order to increased data transfer rates, switching architectures that require longer interconnects, and extremely cost and power competitive solutions.
Regarding claim 12, Kamgaining further teaches a first subset of the plurality of waveguides are transmit waveguides, and a second plurality of the waveguides are receive waveguides (see figure 1, [0031]).
Regarding claim 13, Kamgaining further teaches a connector for a plurality of waveguides coupled with the waveguide launcher array (see figure 9A, a plurality of waveguides 130, waveguide launcher array 212A, 212B, connector 312, [0058]). Mantrawadi, Elsherbini and Kamgaining, in combination, fails to teach connector for a selected one or more of: is a dielectric clad dielectric waveguide or a metallic shielded dielectric waveguide. Examiner, however, takes Official Notice that such features are well known in the art of telecommunications.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Mantrawadi, Elsherbini and Kamgaining in order to increased data transfer rates, switching architectures that require longer interconnects, and extremely cost and power competitive solutions.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 14, the prior art made of record fails to clearly teach or fairly suggest the feature of the metallic shielded dielectric waveguide that has a first end at the connector, and a second end opposite the first end; and a dielectric clad dielectric waveguide converter at the second and of the metallic shielded dielectric waveguide, wherein the dielectric clad dielectric waveguide converter couples the metallic shielded dielectric waveguide with a dielectric clad dielectric.
Conclusion
/TUAN PHAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649