Election/Restriction
Amended claim 68 is directed to the non-elected species (i.e. “malic acid”), per the Applicant’s response to the Election/Restriction requirement (See response dated 08/22/2023). Accordingly, claims 68 is withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention.
Newly submitted claims 85 & 86 are directed to the non-elected species (i.e. “further comprising at least one amino acid chose from alanine...” and “further comprising at least one carboxylic acid chosen from oxalic acid…”), per the Applicants response to the Election/Restriction requirement (See response dated 08/22/2023). Accordingly, claims 85 & 86 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention.
Claim Status
Applicant’s claim amendments, declaration and arguments in the response filed 22 October 2025 are acknowledged.
Claims 65-71 & 74-86 are pending.
Claims 85 & 86 are new.
Claims 1-64, 72 & 73 are cancelled.
Claims 65-71 & 74-84 are amended.
Claims 68, 74, 78-82 & 84-86 are withdrawn.
Claims 65-67, 69-71, 75-77 & 83 are under consideration.
Examination on the merits is extended to the extent of the following species:
(A) amino acid - taurine;
(B) carboxylic acid - citric acid;
(C) surfactant - surfactant mixture of coco-betaine as an amphoteric surfactant and sodium C14-C16 olefin sulfonate as an anionic surfactant;
(D) coupler - 2,4-diaminophenoxyethanol HCI; and
(E) whether the composition further comprises one or more additional oxidative bases and/or additional couplers - no additional oxidation bases or couplers.
Declaration Filed Under § 1.132
The declaration filed on 22 October 2025 by Applicant is acknowledged. The declaration is addressed in the response to Applicant’s traverse below.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Withdrawn Objections/Rejections
The rejection of claim 68 under 35 USC 103 is withdrawn due to claim amendments to recite the at least one carboxylic acid comprising malic acid.
The rejection of claim 72 & 73 under 35 USC 103 is withdrawn due to cancellation of the claims.
New & Maintained Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 65-67, 69-71, 75-77 & 83 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krueger (WO 2009/062804; Published 05/22/2009).
*Please note that in the process of searching for the elected embodiment, the examiner found art which reads on the broader recitation of the claims (i.e. cocoamidopropyl betaine which is a species in the genera of amphoteric surfactants to which the elected species of coco-betaine belongs; 2,4-diaminophenoxyethanol which is a species in the genera of couplers to which the elected species of 2,4-diaminophenoxyethanol HCI belongs; sodium Laureth-6 carboxylate which is a species in the genera of anionic surfactants to which the elected species of sodium C14-C16 olefin sulfonate belongs) and in an effort to expedite prosecution, this art has been applied. The species election is still in effect.
** All references refer to the English language translation.
With regard to claims 65(a), 65(b), 65 ( c), 65(d), 65 ( e), 65 (f), 65 (g), 65 (h), 66, 69-71, 75, 77, 83 (a), 83 (b), 83 ( c), 83 (d), 83 ( e), 83 ( f), 83 (g) & 83 (h), Krueger in Example F5 teaches a coloring crème comprising 1.50% taurine, 0.1% ascorbinsaure (i.e. citric acid), 6.3% 2-aminoethanol (i.e. monoethanolamine), 0.65% Eumulgin B1 (i.e. nonionic surfactant), 0.65% Eumulgin B1 (i.e. ceteareth -20; nonionic surfactant), Akypo Soft 45 NV (sodium Laureth-6 carboxylate; anionic surfactant), 7.15% Hydrenol D (i.e. cetylstearyl alcohol; fatty alcohol/fatty compound), 1.10% p-toluenediamisulfate (i.e. 2,5 toluene diamine salt), 0.07 of the coupler 2-amino-3-hydroxypyridine, water/solvent, 1.0 glycine (i.e. conditioning compound; pg. 110-112). With regard to claims 65 (d), Krueger teaches a amphoteric and zwitterionic surfactants “leads to an increased deposition of the agents on the surface of the skin and the hair, which manifests itself in the overall cosmetic appearance of the skin and the hair” and that cocoamidopropyl betaine is particularly preferred and alkyl betaines are typical (pg. 36). Krueger in Example F4 teaches inclusion of Dehyton K (i.e. amphoteric surfactant) in an amount of 5.0% (pg. 110-112). With regard to claim 65(d), it would have been prima facie obvious to the ordinary skilled artisan at before the effective filing date to have modified Kruegar’s F5 coloring crème by adding 5.0% cocoamidopropyl betaine to the composition in order increase deposition of the agents on the surface of the skin and the hair as taught by Krueger. The ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so in order to manifest and provide an overall cosmetic appearance on the hair as taught by Krueger. With regard to claim 65 (g) & 83 (g), Krueger teaches 2,4-diaminophenoxyethanol as a “preferred coupler component” (pg. 16). With regard to claims 65 (g) & 83 (g), it would have been prima facie obvious to the ordinary skilled artisan before the effective filing date to have modified Krueger’s Example F5 composition by substituting the 2-amino-3-hydroxypyridine coupler with 2,4-diaminophenoxyethanol. The ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so, with an expectation of success, in order to use a preferred coupler component. With regard to claims 67 & 83 (a), Krueger teaches inclusion of betaines that are not understood to betaine with surface active properties that are suitable for their invention as those having the formula AI in which taurine is taught for use (pg. 94 & 95). The amount of betaines, which include taurine, for use in the invention include 0.05 to 10 wt% and in Examples F1-F6 Kruegar teaches taurine in an amount of 1.0-1.5 (pg. 95 & 112). With regard to claims 67 & 83 (a), it would have been prima facie obvious to the ordinary skilled artisan before the effective filing date to have adjusted the amount of taurine in Krueger’s F5 coloring crème to be between 0.05-1.0% because Krueger teaches this amount of taurine/non-surface active betaines as suitable. The ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so, with an expectation of success, in order to use Krueger’s taurine in an amounts that are preferred and exemplified. With regard to claims 76 & 83 ( c), Krueger teaches 2-aminoethanol/monoethanolamine and L-arginine are alkalizing agents (pg. 105). Krueger in the coloring crème F2 teaches inclusion of L-arginine in an amount of 1.0 % (pg. 110-112). With regard to claims 76 & 83 ( c), it would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date to have looked to Kruegar’s teachings and adjusted the amount of 2-aminoethanol to be 1.0% because Kruegar teaches 2-aminoethanol/monoethanolamine and L-arginine are alkalizing agents. The ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so, with expectation of success, in order to reduce the alkalinity of the composition by reducing the amount of 2-aminoethanolamine.
With regard to the recited amounts of taurine/at least one amino acid, citric acid/at least one carboxylic acid, monoethanolamine, surfactant mixture/at least one surfactant, at least one fatty compound, toluene-2,5 diamine, 2,4-diaminophenoxyethanol/coupler, Krueger teaches these reagents in amounts which overlap with the claimed ranges. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claims 65-67, 69-71, 75-77 & 83 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Charrier (US 2015/0202142; previously cited), Ferrer (WO 2020/109859; previously cited) and Machover (US 2019/0201309; IDS: 08/24/2022; previously cited).
Charrier teaches a dyeing composition (title). With regard to claims 65 (a), 66, 77, & 83 (a), Charrier teaches inclusion of amino acids, which may be taurine, in the compositions of their invention as one of the amine alkaline agents ([0322], [0332] & [0333]). With regard to claims 65 (b), 69 & 83 (b), more broadly, Charrier teaches adjusting the pH of the composition through inclusion of an acidifying agent which may be citric acid (i.e. at least one carboxylic acid; [0422]). With regard to claims 65( c) & 83 ( c), Charrier in Composition 1 teaches inclusion of an alkaline agent (e.g. ethanolamine/-monoethanolamine) in an amount of 5% and more broadly teaches monoethanolamine as a “better still” alkaline agent ([0163], [[0343], & [0344]). With regard to claim 76 & 83 ( c), more broadly, Charrier teaches “[a]dvantageously, the composition has a content of alkaline agent(s), and preferably of organic amine(s), when it (they) is (are) present, ranging from 0.01% to 30% by weight… and better still from 1% to 10% by weight, relative to the weight of said composition” [0345].With regard to claims 65 (d)(i) & 83 (d), and the elected species, Charrier teaches a dyeing composition comprising at least one nonionic, anionic and amphoteric surfactant (title). With regard to claims 65 (d)(i) & 83 (d), Charrier in Composition 1 teaches the composition comprises the amphoteric surfactant, cocobetaine, in an amount of 3% [0446]. With regard to claims 65(d)(ii) & 83(d), more broadly, Charrier teaches inclusion of alpha-olefin sulphonates as the anionic surfactant for use in their invention (Charrier’s claim 12). With regard to claim 65 ( e), 71 & 83( e), more broadly, Charrier teaches inclusion of fatty alcohols having “at least one saturated or unsaturated and linear or branched hydrocarbon-based group which comprises from 6 to 30 and better still from 8 to 30 carbon atoms…”, including cetearyl alcohol”([0178]; Composition 2-[0447]; Charrier’s claim 14’ [0249]). With regard to claim 65 (f) & 83(f),Charrier in Composition 1 teaches inclusion of 2,5-toluenediamine oxidation base in an amount of 0.6732% [0446]. With regard to claim 65 (f) & 83(f), more broadly, Charrier teaches the oxidation base is “generally each present in an amount from 0.0001% to 10% by weight relative to the total weight of the composition of the invention, and preferably from 0.005% to 5% by weight“ [0043]. With regard to claims 65 (g)(I) & 83, Charrier in Composition 1 teaches inclusion of 2,4 diaminophenoxyethanol hydrochloride coupler in an amount of 0.019 % [0446]. With regard to 65 (g)(I) & 83(g), more broadly, Charrier teaches the coupler “generally represent[s] from 0.0001% to 10% by weight relative to the total weight of the composition and preferably from 0.005% to 5% by weight relative to the total weight of the composition” [0044]. With regard to claims 65 (h) & 83 (h), Charrier in Composition 1 teaches inclusion of water as the solvent [0446]. With regard to claim 75, Charrier in Composition 1 teaches inclusion of mineral oil (i.e. conditioning agent; [0446]). Charrier teaches the “pH of the composition according to the invention, if it is aqueous, generally ranges from 6 to 11 and preferentially from 8.5 to 11” [0421].
Charrier does not teach the anionic surfactant is sodium C14-C15 olefin sulphonate, the total amount of citric acid/carboxylic acids, or the amount of taurine for inclusion in the invention.
In the same field of invention, Ferrer teaches compositions for dyeing keratin fibers (title). With regard to claims 70 & 83 (b), Ferrer teaches the composition comprises an oxidation dye with oxidation bases and couplers (pg. 15, ll. 5-10). Ferrer teaches “[i]t may also be desirable to add small amounts of acids or buffering systems to adjust the pH of the dyeing compositions to the desired pH range of 7.1 to 11. Suitable acids include…citric acid, and the like. Suggested ranges of pH adjusters are from about 0.00001-8 wt.%, or about 0.00005-6 wt.%, or about 0.0001-5 wt.%, based on the total weight of the composition”. With regard to claims 65 (d)(ii) & 83(d), Ferrer teaches the composition comprises at least one anionic surfactant in an amount of “about 0.1 to about 25 wt.%, or about 0.3 to about 15 wt. %, or about 0.5 to about 10 wt.%” which may be olefin sulfonates and exemplifies sodium C14-C16 olefin sulphonate in an amount of 0.7 in Table 1 C2 (pg. 9, ll. 35-end to pg. 10, ll. 1-10).
In the same field of invention, Machover teaches compositions for altering the color of hair comprising oxidation bases and couplers [0066]. With regard to claims 65 (a), 65 (b), 83 (a) & (83 (b), Machover teaches “[a]dditionally, citric acid/or taurine may also provide protect the hair from damage when undergoing color alteration” [0040]. With regard to claims 65 (a), 67 & 83 (a) “[i]n some embodiments, the at least one amino acid or amino sulfonic acid and/or salt thereof is taurine and/or a salt thereof. In one or more embodiments, the composition comprises from about 0.01 wt. % to about 10 wt. % of the at least one amino acid or amino sulfonic acid and/or a salt thereof. In some embodiments, the at least one amino acid or amino sulfonic acid and/or a salt thereof is present in an amount of from about 0.01 wt. % to about 5 wt. %“ [0015]. With regard to claims 65 (b), 70 & 83 (b), Machover teaches the carboxylic acid, which may be citric acid, is present in “at least 0.01 wt. % to about 10 wt. %” [0015]. “In some embodiments, the at least one carboxylic acid and/or a salt thereof is present in an amount of from about 0.01 wt. % to about 7 wt. %. “[0015]. Machover in Example 1, Inventive Composition Ex. 3, teaches a composition in the form of cream comprising water, mineral oil, cetearyl alcohol, ethanolamine (i.e. monoethanolamine), 2.16% taurine and 3.31% citric acid [0233].
The Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) identified a number of rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness which are consistent with the proper “functional approach” to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham. The key to supporting any rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is the clear articulation of the reason(s) why the claimed invention would have been obvious. The Supreme Court in KSR noted that the analysis supporting a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 should be made explicit.
Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;
(G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Note that the list of rationales provided is not intended to be an all-inclusive list. Other rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness may be relied upon by Office personnel.
Here, at least rationale (G) may be employed in which it would have been obvious to the ordinary skilled artisan at the time of filing the invention to have modified Charrier’s dye composition by adjusting the amount of Charrier’s taurine from about 0.01 wt. % to 2.16 wt % of the composition, the amount of Charrier’s citric acid to be about 0.0001-3.31 wt.% of the composition, and substituting Charrier’s generically taught alpha-olefin sulphonates anionic surfactants with about 0.5 to about 10 wt.% sodium C14-C16 olefin sulphonate as suggested by the combined teachings of Ferrer and Machover because Charrier, Ferrer and Machover are all directed to hair dyes having oxidation bases and couplers and it is obvious to modify similar compositions in the same way. The ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so, with an expectation of success, in order to protect hair from damage through use of Charrier’s taurine and citric acid in amounts of 0.01 wt. % to about 2.16 wt % and about 0.0001-3.31 wt.% respectively as taught by Ferrer and Machover and use the art accepted olefin sulphonate anionic surfactant, sodium C14-C14 olefin sulphonate, in the art accepted amount of about 0.5 to about 10 wt.% of the composition as taught by Ferrer.
With regard to the recited amounts of taurine/amino acid, citric acid/carboxylic acid/pH adjuster, monoethanolamine, toluene-2,5 diamine/oxidation base, 2,4-diaminophenoxyethanol/ coupler; length of the carbon chain in the fatty alcohols; and pH range, the combined teachings of Charrier, Ferrer and Machover teach these parameters with values that overlap or fall within the claimed ranges. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues the claimed composition has unexpected properties which is a stable composition that includes amino acids and carboxylic acids, as well as additional components such as alkalizers, surfactants, fatty compounds, solvents, and oxidizing agents (reply, pg. 10-11). Applicant argues in the declaration the inventive composition (INV) was compared to three comparative compositions (C1-C3; Declaration, pg. 3 & 4). Applicant argues “every one of the comparative compositions failed stability on day 1” (reply, pg. 11; Declaration, pg. 4). Applicant argues when INV was mixed with an oxidizing composition the pH “changed only slightly”, the viscosity “changed only slightly”, and “were found to impart the expected shade of color to hair” (reply, pg. 12; Declaration, pg. 5). Applicant further argues Inventor Kluck concludes his testing "demonstrate the importance of the combination of from about 0.05% to about 1.5% of toluene-2,5-diamine and from about 0.001 % to about 1.5% of one or more couplers chosen from 2,4-diaminophenoxyethanol, meta-aminophenol (1-hydroxy- 3-aminobenzene), and 4-amino-2-hydroxy toluene, in a hair color altering composition that includes an amino acid and a carboxylic acid, to stability of the composition and the mixture of the composition with an oxidizing composition," because as compositions C1 and C2 show, using an oxidation base other than toluene-2,5-diamine in the same composition, even within the claimed concentration range, "results in compositions and mixtures that are not stable and therefore not suitable for commercialization” (reply, pg. 12; Declaration, pg. 6). Applicant argues these studies "demonstrate the importance to stability of the amounts of amino acids, carboxylic acids, toluene-2,5-diamine, and couplers chosen from 2,4- diaminophenoxyethanol, meta-aminophenol (1-hydroxy-3-aminobenzene), and 4-amino-2- hydroxy toluene, in hair color altering compositions," because while the data for compositions 1 H, 11, and INV show those compositions are stable, comparative composition C3 which included amounts outside the claimed range was not” (reply, pg. 13). Declarant states that it is their opinion that the results from their study and Example 4 of the ‘663 application would achieve stability across the full scope of the claims (Declaration, pg. 7).
This is not persuasive. The inventive compositions examined (i.e.1H, 1I and INV) are not commensurate with the scope of the claims. In particular, only two amounts of taurine or glycine were assessed and these were at the midpoint to upper end of the claimed range. Only one amount of citric acid (0.2 %) or malic acid (0.4%) was evaluated and these are at the lower end of the claimed range. The claims are generic to the amphoteric, anionic and nonionic surfactants and the at least one surfactant and their amount yet only sodium C14-16 olefin sulfonate (anionic surfactant), cocobetaine (i.e. amphoteric surfactant), and a mixture of nonionic surfactants (PPG-5-ceteth-10 phosphate and deceth-3) in singular amounts were evaluated. The claims are generic to the fatty compound and its amount but only fatty alcohols in singular amounts were evaluated. The claims are also generic to the amount of monoethanolamine and only one amount was evaluated (0.2%). The claims recite amounts of couplers as low as 0.001%, however the lowest amount of couplers evaluated was 0.06%. "[O]bjective evidence of nonobviousness must be commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support." In other words, the showing of unexpected results must be reviewed to see if the results occur over the entire claimed range. In re Clemens, 622 F.2d 1029, 1036, 206 USPQ 289, 296 (CCPA 1980).
Further, Applicant has not compared their inventive composition to that of the closest prior art which is Krueger’s F5. An affidavit or declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 must compare the claimed subject matter with the closest prior art to be effective to rebut a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Burckel, 592 F.2d 1175, 201 USPQ 67 (CCPA 1979). "A comparison of the claimed invention with the disclosure of each cited reference to determine the number of claim limitations in common with each reference, bearing in mind the relative importance of particular limitations, will usually yield the closest single prior art reference." In re Merchant, 575 F.2d 865, 868, 197 USPQ 785, 787 (CCPA 1978) (emphasis in original). Where the comparison is not identical with the reference disclosure, deviations therefrom should be explained, In re Finley, 174 F.2d 130, 81 USPQ 383 (CCPA 1949), and if not explained should be noted and evaluated, and if significant, explanation should be required. In re Armstrong, 280 F.2d 132, 126 USPQ 281 (CCPA 1960) (deviations from example were inconsequential).
With regard to Applicant’s argument that when INV was mixed with an oxidizing composition the pH “changed only slightly”, the viscosity “changed only slightly”, and “were found to impart the expected shade of color to hair”, Applicant does not state whether these changes were statistically insignificant.
Declarant argues that C1 and C2 demonstrate that using an oxidation base other than toluene-2,5-diamine results in compositions and mixtures that are not stable (Declaration, pg. 6).
This is not persuasive. Charrier in Composition 1 teaches inclusion of 2,5-toluenediamine oxidation base in an amount of 0.6732% [0446]. Charrier’s Composition is presumed to be stable. Prior art is presumed to be operable/enabling” (MPEP 2121. I).
Applicant argues the results are surprising because "a person of skill in the art in June 2021 would not have predicted that a hair color altering composition comprising the claimed amounts and combination of oxidation base and couplers, amino acids, carboxylic acids, and monoethanolamine, would not only achieve the shade that was desired, but would also be stable for up to a year or more under typical storage conditions for such compositions” (Declaration, pg. 7).
This is not persuasive. Charrier, Ferrer, and Machover teach the recited reagents in amounts which overlap with the claimed range and are taught as suitable for oxidative dyes. “Prior art is presumed to be operable/enabling” (MPEP 2121. I). In other words, Applicant is optimizing for a hair dye within a range known as suitable for hair dyes.
Double Patenting
Claims 65-67, 69-71, 75-77 & 83 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,036,299 (hereinafter the ‘299; Patented: 07/16/2024; previously cited) in view of Charrier (US 2015/0202142; previously cited).
The instant application and ‘299 are both drawn to hair coloring toning compositions. The ‘299 recites a hair toning composition and a method of using a hair toning composition comprising an amino acid which may be taurine, at least one carboxylic acid which may be citric acid, monoethanolamine, a surfactant mixture comprising a mixture of surfactants which include (i) at least one amphoteric surfactant and (ii) at least one surfactant chosen from anionic or nonionic surfactants, at least one fatty compound which may be lauryl alcohol (i.e. a fatty alcohol), a further conditioning agent, an oxidation base, an oxidation coupler, and a solvent. The ‘299 recites the amount of amino acids, which may be taurine, in an amount from about 0.1 to about 1% by weight; the amount of carboxylic acid, which may be citric acid, in an amount of about 0.01 to about 3% by weight; and monoethanolamine present in an amount from about 0.01% to about 3% by weight. The ‘299 does not teach the oxidation base is toluene 2,5-diamine, the amount of oxidation base, the oxidation coupler is chosen from “ 2,4-diaminphenoxyethanol…” or the amount of oxidation coupler. The teachings of Charrier are described above. In brief, Charrier teaches a dyeing composition comprising amphoteric and anionic surfactants; taurine; monoethanolamine; fatty alcohols; and citric acid. Charrier in Composition 1 teaches inclusion of 2,5-toluenediamine oxidation base in an amount of 0.6732% [0446]. More broadly, Charrier teaches the oxidation base is “generally each present in an amount from 0.0001% to 10% by weight relative to the total weight of the composition of the invention, and preferably from 0.005% to 5% by weight“ [0043]. Charrier in Composition 1 teaches inclusion of 2,4 diaminophenoxyethanol hydrochloride coupler in an amount of 0.019 % [0446]. More broadly, Charrier teaches the coupler “generally represent[s] from 0.0001% to 10% by weight relative to the total weight of the composition and preferably from 0.005% to 5% by weight relative to the total weight of the composition” [0044]. It would have been prima facie obvious at the time of filing to have modified the hair toning composition recited by the ‘299 claims by selecting 2,5-toluenediamine as the oxidation base and adding it in an amount from 0.0001% to 10% by weight and selecting 2,4 diaminophenoxy-ethanol hydrochloride as the coupler and adding it in an amount of from 0.0001% to 10% as taught by Charrier because the ‘299 and Charrier are both directed to hair dying compositions comprising amphoteric and anionic surfactants, taurine, citric acid, monoethanolamine, solvent, fatty alcohols, and further conditioning agents and it is obvious to modify similar compositions in the same way. The ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so, with an expectation of success, in order to select art recognized couplers and oxidation bases suitable for a hair dye and use them in an amounts art recognized as suitable for the purpose of coloring/dyeing hair.
The instant claims are therefore an obvious variation of the ‘299 patent claims in view of the prior art.
Claims 65-67, 69-71, 75-& 83 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13, 19 & 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,109,289 (hereinafter the ‘289; Patented: 10/08/2024).
The instant application and ‘289 are both drawn to hair color toning compositions. The ‘289 recites a hair toning composition comprising an amino acid which may be taurine in an amount of about 0.1 to about 2%, at least one carboxylic acid which may be citric acid in an amount of about 0.1 to about 3%, monoethanolamine in an amount of about 0.1% to about 1.3%, a surfactant mixture comprising a mixture of surfactants which include (i) at least one amphoteric surfactant and (ii) at least one surfactant chosen from anionic or nonionic surfactants (i.e. at least one surfactant), at least one fatty compound which are chosen from C12-C22, a further conditioning agent, an oxidation base which may be toluene-2,5-diamine in an amount of about 0.001% to about 20%, an oxidation coupler which may be 2,4-diaminophenoxyethanol in an amount of about 0.001% to about 20% and a solvent. The ‘289 recites the composition further includes at least one conditioning agent.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to vary the amount of taurine/amino acid, citric acid/carboxylic acid, monoethanolamine, toleuene-2,5-diamine/oxidation base, 2,4-diaminophenoxyethanol/coupler through routine experimentation to arrive at the recited concentrations in order to optimize the resulting product. Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
The instant claims are therefore an obvious variation of the ‘289 patent claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant requests the double patenting rejections be held in abeyance (reply, pg. 9).
A request to hold a rejection in abeyance is not a proper response to a rejection. Rather, a request to hold a matter in abeyance may only be made in response to an OBJECTION or REQUIREMENTS AS TO FORM (see MPEP 37 CFR 1.111(b) and 714.02). Thus, the double patenting rejection is maintained as no action regarding these rejections has been taken by applicants at this time.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LORI K MATTISON/ Examiner, Art Unit 1619
/NICOLE P BABSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1619